View Full Version : Worst mil stories - share yours
MummyGoingMad
06-06-2009, 20:45
MIL and FIL came over today, without phoning first and warning us and then expecting me to be able to give them lunch (when I'm due for a shop so we didn't even have enough bread, and telling me I was starving my children who are big for their age and very healthy when she found out). Yep it annoys me, but they do it often so I'm getting used to it. MIL proceeded to comment that the house is dirty and after going to the toilet she said that there was fungus in the tiles (yes there is slight discolouration... which is normal! definitely not fungus) and that our house "would be so nice if we didnt let the kids trash it". So I ignored all this and laughed inwardly about it because MIL always makes comments like this.
DD and DS were playing outside in the garden and actually getting on, and playing really well together which is a rarity. Then DS spoiled it by filling his mouth up with water from his drink bottle and spitting it out all over DD on purpose. Yep, disgusting and DS got in trouble. MIL has already told me many tmes that the kids lack discipline, that something is wrong with DS and hes not normal (I have thought these things myself to some extent, she just exaggerates), that she cant stand being around the kids....
But today was a corker - after I told DS off, she said "It's so sad that he cant follow instructions, but we all know why." I asked her what she meant, and she said "Well you know, the childrens' intellect comes from both parents and I think in his case its just unfortunate that he takes after you". I was gobsmacked! I've never been good enough for her son because I dont have a university degree like he does... I might also add that DHs brother married the perfect woman - MIL LOVES her because although she doesnt have a degree, she has VERY wealthy parents.
Lucikly I was in a good mood (due mostly to DD and DS being relatively good all week, and especially today) and also I sold a lot of clothes and stuff on oztion and got more money than I expected for spending money. So... I just kind of looked at MIL and said "well im sorry you feel that way". She is such an evil witch!!
Anyway came on here to vent a bit and ask for your stories, cos I'm sure you have some :)
readytogo
06-06-2009, 20:53
I am amazed you kept your cool. I had numerous goes at my XMIL she wanted the perfect woman who she could tell what to do and I am far from that!!
treasurehim
06-06-2009, 20:54
WHY do you let her in your front door????
If she is going to complain about something, then don't come over.
If she is going to disrespect you like that, and put you down, then don't even listen to her!!
MIL and FIL came over today, without phoning first and warning us and then expecting me to be able to give them lunch (when I'm due for a shop so we didn't even have enough bread, and telling me I was starving my children who are big for their age and very healthy when she found out). Yep it annoys me, but they do it often so I'm getting used to it. MIL proceeded to comment that the house is dirty and after going to the toilet she said that there was fungus in the tiles (yes there is slight discolouration... which is normal! definitely not fungus) and that our house "would be so nice if we didnt let the kids trash it". So I ignored all this and laughed inwardly about it because MIL always makes comments like this.
DD and DS were playing outside in the garden and actually getting on, and playing really well together which is a rarity. Then DS spoiled it by filling his mouth up with water from his drink bottle and spitting it out all over DD on purpose. Yep, disgusting and DS got in trouble. MIL has already told me many tmes that the kids lack discipline, that something is wrong with DS and hes not normal (I have thought these things myself to some extent, she just exaggerates), that she cant stand being around the kids....
But today was a corker - after I told DS off, she said "It's so sad that he cant follow instructions, but we all know why." I asked her what she meant, and she said "Well you know, the childrens' intellect comes from both parents and I think in his case its just unfortunate that he takes after you". I was gobsmacked! I've never been good enough for her son because I dont have a university degree like he does... I might also add that DHs brother married the perfect woman - MIL LOVES her because although she doesnt have a degree, she has VERY wealthy parents.
Lucikly I was in a good mood (due mostly to DD and DS being relatively good all week, and especially today) and also I sold a lot of clothes and stuff on oztion and got more money than I expected for spending money. So... I just kind of looked at MIL and said "well im sorry you feel that way". She is such an evil witch!!
Anyway came on here to vent a bit and ask for your stories, cos I'm sure you have some :)
MamaKoala
06-06-2009, 20:55
Grrrr. I don't have a MIL or any horror stories of times gone by (because XP and I never got married and also because his parents live overseas) but OMG what horrible things to say to you. You should have asked her to leave! She's not too smart herself, being deliberately offensive to her son's wife AND mother of her grandchildren.
Yuck yuck yuck! Kind of glad I haven't been married or had to deal with XP's parents (although I doubt his mother would ever say anything like that to me).
And I don't think a boy spitting water at his sister is anything less than a boy being a boy. My boys chastise each other all the time and I don't think they're any different to any other boys out there.
What about one that screams at her son to "put the phone down and stop talking to that prostitute" while you are on the phone to him? Is that considered a horror story?:p
Yours is definately a horror story:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:.
JackzMumma
06-06-2009, 22:50
You shouldn't have said "I'm sorry you feel that way", I would have said, "get out, don't come back til your mother can teach you some manners!! Oh and call before you come around!":hair: I seriously think being polite only sets you up for future "comments", it's only gonna get worse, your gonna go grey quicker, unless you tell her where to get off. I had to. :yes:
My MIL can be good at times, quite helpful, financially or to look after the kids, but majority of the time she makes me want to scream. My DH is an apprentice carpenter, and he is fixing up the back and front porches of my MIL's house (where we live), he works 6 days a week and she can't understand why he hasn't finished them yet!! Does it matter? She's not living here, it doesn't affect her!!! GRRR!!! But everything has to be done on her schedule.
She looked after the kids last weekend. I cleaned up as much as I could before we left, I am 31 weeks pg. And the only room we left a mess was the laundry. They were there from late avo Sat to Sun avo, and instead of spending time with the kids, they cleaned the back yard and the laundry. I do not expect this of her and I would prefer that she read and play with the kids, and tend to their needs. The laundry can wait!! But the second we got in the door it was "did you see the backyard, I also cleaned the laundry. All your washing is in your room, clean." Um....yeah....thanks....It's almost "look what I can get done in such a short time, that you don't get done in weeks!!" I'm past thanking her for it, I've told her time and time again, that we don't expect it and it's not necessary. My parents, who had the kids the previous night, read to them, kicked the footy, played games. Then when they were gone, that's when mum cleaned. Much better time spent with the kiddies!!!
She's not an easy person to have a conversation with, so I tend to clam up. I think she doesn't like me because of this reason, like she thinks I'm judging her, she's probably right to a degree. But when you have said things in the past that she straight away shoots down for no reason and makes you feel dumb, you tend to learn that having a conversation with this woman will be mentally draining.:sleeping: She has to be right all the time. She has to know more than you. It's actually sad IMO.
My MIL was worse than she is now, but sometimes she still goes too far. She feels everything is her business. She used to say that our children had no structure, and that we let them run amok. We have a timetable, we discipline them when needed. There are days and special occasions where we are lenient, but who isn't? After I started justifying all this to myself, I then realised that she's here about once a month for about 16hours, including sleep. What would she know? She also had the nerve to say to DH that they were her grandchildren and so she had a say in how they were raised. Bull****!!!!!:banghead:
One time she kept having a go at DH over how messy the bathroom sink was, in front of me of course, and by the 3rd comment about the sink, I let rip. It was the best thing I have ever done. I mean, as if DH cleans anything!! She knew what she was doing.:yes: It was her way of getting to me. Silly thing was she thought I wouldn't say anything.
Another time DH and I were arguing, and they happened to be here. She started trying to give me advice, and getting (literally) in my face over it, I just had to say to her "this is between me and my husband, no-one else".
You need to stand up for yourself. A lot of wives expect their DH's to do it for them. And all though they should be on your side especially when MIL's go too far, they should step in, but sometimes the only way to stop the dreaded MIL in her path is to tell her straight. Otherwise she'll get what she wanted... to rule your world. :eek: I can't wait to move out.
PaperTiger
06-06-2009, 23:29
Lisa, your MIL is a very rude and disrespecful woman. She is also verbally abusive towards you and your children.
If she loves her other daughter in law only because she has wealthy parents then she is also not worthy of being a parent-in-law.
You are a treasure for keeping your cool arouind someone like that. :)
MummyGoingMad
07-06-2009, 01:39
I don't always keep my cool :laughing: I am not a shy person, and I have reacted to MIL by getting into an argument, screaming at her, stomping off and even crying in the past... Today was a rarity and it's strange that I am still laughing about it, I guess it's just because I'm happy about other things and MIL just fades into the background.
DH doesnt stick up for me and we've fought about this, but I also realise that DH had a difficult childhood, he is one of 4 kids (3 boys 1 girl) and he was the rejected one... so I think he still craves his mums affection now. He never agrees with her but he doesnt stand up for me either. When I bring it up with him he says "they're my parents, i still love them and they're not going to change"
I know my MIL is nasty and controlling, and I know she shouldnt behave like that but I dont really want to kick her out as it would cause so many problems, and I hope I'm able to just ignore her and be strong in myself. Another element to it is that when I was growing up as a child i was very close to my grandpa, but then we found out he was having an affair for 12 years and then he left my 74 year old sick grandma and moved in with his mistress who was younger than his oldest child (my mum)... that was a major dissapointment for me and really affected me, and he was someone i looked up to respected etc and i thought was perfect - so i learnt that everyone has their faults.
Oh and btw, my mum and MIL dont get on AT ALL, as my mum always tells her what she thinks of her... theyr a dangerous combination!!!
Gawd :confused:. What a silly woman.
I would not be letting her through my front door for a while :no:....
She is in your home and needs to show respect as such ...... Ask her if it's OK for you to come to her house and speak to her that way :laughing:
Well, my MIL has spoken to me about 5 times in the last 7 months. All times are when I'm physically with her (we went to her B'day etc). I'm 7 months preggers, never receive even a text msg to say "hows things?" I find it very weird. We are civil enough around each other, never actually had even an arguement, but I definately get the vibe she isn't overly impressed with me. The funny thing is, she introduced me to DH as a blind date..... bet she's sorry now! ha ha ha
When we announced to family we were expecting, MIL never even congratulated me! All my family & extended family congratulated me and then wanted to speak to DH to congratulate him. MIL did not even speak to me!
I thought was doing the right thing and sent her a email with a ultrasound pics. Never even heard back from her, no thanks or comments. Won't be doing that again.
MIL & her partner are planning totravel around AUS soon for 5 years, suits me great. She's obviously not planning on having much of an input into our childs life. Sad thing is, it's her own doing.
chrysalis
07-06-2009, 20:28
how hideous are all these stories??!
*shudder*
I'm so glad I'm not married :laughing:
miraclebaby
11-06-2009, 00:09
I have lots of MIL stories but won't go into them here. Just wanted to say that I DO have a Uni degree (high school teacher) and I let my toddler boy spit water wherever he wants so long as it is outside. Sometimes we have spitting competitions. I thought it was very creative when, at the age of about 2, he spat water in the air and said, in a voice of wonder, 'Raining!' as it all sprayed down on him.
You are doing a good job. In fact, you are doing a fantastic job because you are not letting MIL get to you too much.
Ignore your MIL or tell her what you want to say but preface it by saying 'Well, the latest research says ...'
Try saying 'The latest research says that a child's intelligence can be directly related back to the child's grandmother on the father's side. Wow! So that means that my children get their intelligence from you MIL! You must be so proud of them!' See if her attitude changes.
11-06-2009, 00:31
Oh wow, I would have kicked her out of my house!!
My MIL is lovely... when she wants to be! She really is. She offers to take the children on her days off, she cooks for us, buys us stuff, spoils the kids... on her good days.
On her bad days she slams religion down our throat. Has been trying to pressure us into getting the girl's christened since they were born, even went to the trouble of organising it herself, choosing her own friends as god parents and all! How lovely! Too bad we didn't show up.
Our kids are apparently 'evil' because they aren't baptized. When they get sick it's because they aren't blessed. They are always dirty, and because they are just petite girls, I am obviously starving them and they never eat :rolleyes: so she makes sure they eat her 'good food' when they go over there. Oh but the kids cousins who are christened- they got sick recently, they were only sick because there was a 'bug' going around :rolleyes:
She comes over and picks on everything in the house, claiming that I never do any housework and that we need to move out because the house just isn't good enough. Oh and I'm obviously not looking after DF as well as she could, so we should move back in with her so she can look after him. She takes down my family photos I have on the wall and replaces them with framed pictures of Jesus and mother mary then cracks the sh!ts when I take them down. I have nothing against religion- I am just not religious and would prefer my family on my walls.
I think if she wasn't over the top with the religion, she would be okay. But I really can't stand having religion slammed down my throat, espeically when she says crazy things like we all have chips in our body and the government is choosing who to kill and who to keep alive, and they are only choosing god's children to keep alive.... seriously! :confused:
Mummaholic
11-06-2009, 08:21
On her bad days she slams religion down our throat. Has been trying to pressure us into getting the girl's christened since they were born, even went to the trouble of organising it herself, choosing her own friends as god parents and all! How lovely! Too bad we didn't show up.
Our kids are apparently 'evil' because they aren't baptized. When they get sick it's because they aren't blessed. They are always dirty, and because they are just petite girls, I am obviously starving them and they never eat :rolleyes: so she makes sure they eat her 'good food' when they go over there. Oh but the kids cousins who are christened- they got sick recently, they were only sick because there was a 'bug' going around :rolleyes:
She comes over and picks on everything in the house, claiming that I never do any housework and that we need to move out because the house just isn't good enough. Oh and I'm obviously not looking after DF as well as she could, so we should move back in with her so she can look after him. She takes down my family photos I have on the wall and replaces them with framed pictures of Jesus and mother mary then cracks the sh!ts when I take them down. I have nothing against religion- I am just not religious and would prefer my family on my walls.
I think if she wasn't over the top with the religion, she would be okay. But I really can't stand having religion slammed down my throat, espeically when she says crazy things like we all have chips in our body and the government is choosing who to kill and who to keep alive, and they are only choosing god's children to keep alive.... seriously! :confused:
O. M. G. :eek:
tomnabbysmum
11-06-2009, 12:25
you poor women its hard to stay calm when they say things like that..
my mil is getting better but when i had my daughter she would always say shes hungry because she had her hands in her mouth but she always had her hands in her mouth id try to tell her she had a bottle before we arrived but shed keep goin on and on so sometimes id make her one but then bubs would reject it grrr there are so many more stories but the one that really got to me is she said my kids have a vitamin d deficiency:eek: because i always put suncream on them when they go outside ???
pennylane
11-06-2009, 13:22
well My MIL was fine until I got pregnant with my 1st DD,we TTC for 7 months before I fell but she still tells everyone that she was an 'accident' and that 'we all make mistakes'.Then when she was premmie they were embarrassed of her because she wasnt like all their friends grandkids and hardly had anything to do with her until she looked more 'acceptable' *rolls eyes*.Now theyre absolutely obbsessed with her.MIL buys her heaps and heaps of clothes that she finds on sale (shes a compulsive shopper),in HUGE sizes that never fit her and when we ask her not to keep buying her clothes (because DH is in the defence force and we move alot so dont like lugging un-neccessary stuff around) she says 'im the nan,I'll do what I want!'.She tells people at her work she buys all our kids clothes because we cant afford to provide for them which is a load of crap,you'll never meet 2 more spoiled little girls and DH makes a good wage!When Ive stayed there theyve come in the room in the middle of the night and tried to take DD1 out of the room and into theirs,they didnt let my family near her at her 1st birthday party and have let people think shes their daughter out in public and weve since had another little girl who they accused of not being DH's (weve been together 6 years and ive not been with anyone but him since the day we met!)because he was away with the Airforce when I fell and was only home for 3 days ,but i fell then.But MIL decided she wasnt DH's but the second she was born they demanded they come and see her and invited all their relatives to our house for dinner when id just got out of hospy after my c/section without even asking us first! She tells people my dad and step mum arent 'really like grandparents' because they arent married to eachother! ugh,theyve been together 9 years and my stepmums the only nan on my side my girls knw as theyve never met my mum and they adore my dad!
We got married about a month ago and she showed up at the hairdressers on my wedding day and asked the stylist to copy my hairstyle,so she showed up at my wedding with the same hair as me! (and yes she knew it was my hairstyle,I was getting it done when she was getting hers done!),they bagged out my family because my Dad didnt pay for the wedding so I shouldnt have been 'allowed' to have as many guests (My DH and I payed for our wedding,they put in for the bar tab,and they had more guests than I did,I only had 9,including my dad,step mum,nan and brothers in a wedding of 60 guests).
Im really close with my SIL and they drive her crazy too,shes had 2 miscarriages in the last year and MIL proceeded to blame her and say 'oh its for the best your not ready anyway' but now that her friends have moved up the road with their grandkids shes showing up on SILs doorstep with pamphlets on folate and asking her when shes going to try again!
My husband is sooo ashamed of them,they acted like spoiled brats at our wedding,were rude to my family and refused to speak to any other guests except the ones they invited.He wants nothing to do with them until they change.
Theres so much more but they just make me too mad to go on! lol
My MIL arrived on our door step the minute I got home from hospital after having DS, she stood at the door, stubbed out her ciggie then demanded to have a cuddle with ds who was sound asleep!
You silly witch, 1. He is asleep and 2. You just had a cigarette you filthy person!
Grrrrr she grates me big time not only does she owe us money but she never rings to see how her son is let alone her grandson and her hygiene is a HUGE issue, dogs in the house all the time (lives in a unit no yard), smokes & drinks like you wouldn't believe. Last time I went to visit (3 years ago) I took my shoes off to go inside, once inside I walked back out and put my shoes back on....her carpet was PUTRID:barf:, dog hair, dog poo and dog bones everywhere!!!!!
Does anyone have a nice MIL they are willing to share????:D
hailsntwang
11-06-2009, 16:02
I have a nice MIL story to share.
She's fantastic, doesn't try to shove any opinions down my throat, we can talk about anything and not have judgements thrown.
She doesn't give my son anything that I don't want him to have (understands that i'm his mother and I make the rules), always has time for us, respects my family (and always asks about them), takes an interest in what I've been doing.
I could go on and on:D:ecomcity:
I can't believe some of these stories on here that i've read.:eek:
You always hear jokes about crazy MIL's but... wow. To think they actually exist:no:
lachys_mama
11-06-2009, 17:15
LOL my future MIL is tops, then i've been friends with her almost as long as I have been with DF (we've known each other 7 years and only started seeing each other in December)...
Last night future FIL took us to dinner (MIL & FIL not together) and I was soo nervous and I didn't know what to wear so MIL came to the rescue helping me with a dress that she used to wear when she was younger (beautiful vintage 70s style 3/4 sleeve dress) and a beautiful gold chain to go with!!
I currently live with MIL cause I didn't have anywhere else to go when I got to Melbourne and she's great with DS reads to him and plays with him etc
XMIL however was the devil and had it in for me from day one LOL always commented on my parenting abilities, how i kept my home and how i didn't understand her son because he needed drugs to calm himself down!!! LOL
i have a great MIL....he only bad point is that she lives in Perth and im in canberra....too far away. DH parents are divorced and have both remarried so i have 2 sets of in laws. MIL's husband (SFIL) is lovely too, he cam and stayed with us a couple of days ago and just loves taking maddie out and buying her pressies but they are always so resectful and ask what she needs and what she likes rather than just buying whatever. they dont get to see her often enough to guess what she likes. My other MIL (SMIL) is great too, took me a while to warm to her, but shes nice too, not the same conection i have with MIL tho.
Boobycino
15-06-2009, 18:56
OMG what a horrible woman! Thats so unbelievably rude!
I usually 'win' (or lose) worst MIL stories, but I cant top that. Thats terrible.
My worse thing is an ongoing battle with my MIL since Jasper was 5 weeks old her convinced that he's underfed and he needs formular and solids, because my breast milk has him undernourished. Jasper since he was 3 weeks old has been between the 90% and 97% line for weight and height. He's a BIG boy!!! He's fat and healthy and beautiful. I think she just, in not so many words, doesn't think I know what I'm doing - though I've worked with children and babies for the last 4 years!!! I still know nothing aparently.
It peaked at Christmas when, after telling me herself Jasper needs a bottle, telling my FIL t tell me Jasper needs a bottle, telling my partner Jasper needs a bottle (he was terrafied when he had to say to me "ummm, okay, dont get mad, but, does Jasper need a bottle?" ) THEN at Christmas, she took MY MOTHER aside to tell MY MUM that I'm underfeeding Jasper and that maybe I would listen to her if she told me that Jasper needs a bottle.
So mad!
ALso, while I was pregnant, because I'm not Catholic, I'm not lebanese and we're not married, she lied and told people I wasn't pregnant - and one time we were visiting and I was about 5 months pregnant, her friends came over and she begged me to put a big jumper on! She was literally begging me!!! I refused, flatly refused. So first she told them I wasn't pregnant, then who's believing that! so she told them we were married.
She's a freakin nut!
But, still, what your MIL is worse, because at leat my MIL pretends to be polite. THOUGH its very hard to get angry at my MIL because she falls apart into "oh I'm so sorry, you know I just love my children so much and you're one of my children and I'd die before I'd hurt you and BLAH BLAH BLAH' Grovelling so badly it makes you feel physically ill, but its impossible to argue with someone who's gone into that position of begging.
God it's nice to know I'm not going crazy with the way my mil treats me. My mil hasn't liked me since day one. She wanted her son to be with a nurse or a doctor, as he's a radiographer. I met her for a week, I was 36 weeks pregnant. She was okay at that point. Apart from ringing me at 7am and other times during the day to see if I was looking after myself as I had gestational Diabetes. Mil was on my back about diet and meal sizes. When my bub was born healthy and well, mil wanted to come straight over and stay with us. We had just had a bub and moved into a new home. I was mad, I was a first x mum and just wanted to get used to that. I asked my bf to ask her to give me a few more weeks. She gave me 13 days left a msg that we'll will be at ur place mon/tues morn. As a trained midwife she'd know a new mom needs time alone not entertaining the inlaws until 12.30am. She stayed for 2 weeks, during that time she would walk into our brm anytime she wanted 2am, 4am. Without asking, pick up my son when he was asleep and would tell me I was doing everything wrong. I should use cloth nappies like her daughter, her D wouldn't do that. Mil said how awful bf looked, that he must be very stressed, that he needs more sleep. He's not the one to get up with bub, I am, even with being preg on top, of being a new mom. Mil met my sister's, one who is extra slim, mil says aren't I upset that I don't look like her. Asked my bf don't you think her sister looks great, mil said "I know I wished I looked like her". "Aren't Their homes are spotless, what wonderful ladies". Even my sister's didn't like her, they thought she was rude and very cold. I was made to feel like dirt alot of her stay with us in our new home. She said to bf don't plan on having anymore kids, anytime soon. Guess What I was pregnant with our 2nd. She also said with my 1st preg, You do know you can get 50/50 access, if you don't want to stay with her. I treat her with respect, still she hates me. What can I do? My bf sticks up for my mil and says, she is only showing she cares, she means no harm. So I know what ur going through. Good Luck :-)
JaneyLacey
15-06-2009, 23:05
You should be proud that you didn't scream. I'd be playing come backs in my mind for the rest of the day. 'Honey, and hopefully my children aren't getting their manners from your side." She is just so rude. Good luck.
Sparklydreamer
18-06-2009, 12:59
Oh, bad mother in law stories! I've got a tonne of those. I'm so glad I'm not the only one who has mil problems. It can seem quite isolating when I see everyone else getting a lot of support from their inlaws. Its also hard not to take it personally and I used to wonder a lot what I was doing wrong. I tried everything to get along with her. Now I just accept that she's insensitive and controlling.
Last year we agreed to travel interstate to spend a week with the inlaws for an early Christmas. DH took a week and half's leave - which is hard for him. It cost us a couple of thousand dollars in travel and accommodation (because they couldn't have us stay which I understood). Then MIL spends the week ignoring our DD under the pretence of 'spending equal time with BILs kids' which was only used an excuse to not play with DD. Never the other way round. DD had been so looking forward to seeing her it broke our heart. DD fell over and skinned her knee - MIL said disdainfully, 'show me the blood or stop crying'. I pointed out there *was* blood and she just shrugged. Then when the presents came out she gave the nephew an expensive $500 present and our DD playdoh. They're the same age. DD wasn't sleeping through the night and I was exhausted. She kept making comments about how it doesn't matter how little sleep SIL gets she's always amazing with the kids. And she told them not lend us anything because 'we can't be trusted.' Then to top it all off she had a talk with my DH about him being welcome back home when his marriage fails. :hair:
And DH let her get away with it. He was furious but he didn't stand up for me or DD once.
That was just one week. Everytime he talks to her she makes negative comments about me and DD. She seems to have this thing against girls.
It came to a head a few months ago when she really got venomous and he realised that she was trying to poison him against me. He told her to stop calling and things haven't been better. Sorry to go on about it. Its a topic that really gets me going.
All the other ladies on here with mean MILs have my complete sympathy and I'm amazed at how well you all seem to handle it!
Oh, bad mother in law stories! I've got a tonne of those. I'm so glad I'm not the only one who has mil problems. It can seem quite isolating when I see everyone else getting a lot of support from their inlaws. Its also hard not to take it personally and I used to wonder a lot what I was doing wrong. I tried everything to get along with her. Now I just accept that she's insensitive and controlling.
Last year we agreed to travel interstate to spend a week with the inlaws for an early Christmas. DH took a week and half's leave - which is hard for him. It cost us a couple of thousand dollars in travel and accommodation (because they couldn't have us stay which I understood). Then MIL spends the week ignoring our DD under the pretence of 'spending equal time with BILs kids' which was only used an excuse to not play with DD. Never the other way round. DD had been so looking forward to seeing her it broke our heart. DD fell over and skinned her knee - MIL said disdainfully, 'show me the blood or stop crying'. I pointed out there *was* blood and she just shrugged. Then when the presents came out she gave the nephew an expensive $500 present and our DD playdoh. They're the same age. DD wasn't sleeping through the night and I was exhausted. She kept making comments about how it doesn't matter how little sleep SIL gets she's always amazing with the kids. And she told them not lend us anything because 'we can't be trusted.' Then to top it all off she had a talk with my DH about him being welcome back home when his marriage fails. :hair:
And DH let her get away with it. He was furious but he didn't stand up for me or DD once.
That was just one week. Everytime he talks to her she makes negative comments about me and DD. She seems to have this thing against girls.
It came to a head a few months ago when she really got venomous and he realised that she was trying to poison him against me. He told her to stop calling and things haven't been better. Sorry to go on about it. Its a topic that really gets me going.
All the other ladies on here with mean MILs have my complete sympathy and I'm amazed at how well you all seem to handle it!
OMG WHAT A B!TCH! You wonder why some people are like that, where do they get their venom from? That is such a horrible thing to say! Your poor daughter! How can she not love her grandchild? Maybe she resents you for "stealing" her little boy away from her, even though her little boy is a man now? I have met a few MILs like that.
:hugs::hugs:sometimes MILs aren't definately ILs upon your family.
Sparklydreamer
18-06-2009, 13:12
Maybe she resents you for "stealing" her little boy away from her, even though her little boy is a man now? I have met a few MILs like that.
I think thats exactly what it is. She's divorced and has treated my DH as a surrogate husband forever. She has never forgiven me for moving in with him (as that was when he moved out of home). Then when we got married she grew nastier and nastier still when we had DD. We've just found out I'm pregnant again. I wonder how much worse she can get? Hehehe...