View Full Version : Want a really great Nappy bag
I have bub number two due in November and DS #1 will be 20 months.
I want to get a really great nappy bag
I find most are a bit small or they are big but have stupid compartments that dont really help you out.....
Does anyone have any recommendations?
pinkandblue
18-07-2005, 14:34
I am also looking for a great nappy bag as I have bub no 2 due in December and want to be able to fit everything for the new baby aswell as some stuff for my 2 year old daughter.
If anyone knows of a great nappy bag, please let us know.
Natalie
mumofethan
18-07-2005, 15:23
I have a Ryco nappy bag which i bought from target... i found this bag very usefull...
it has a fold out change mat that is attached to the bag so u dont lose it, it zips up to the bag when not in use, inside this area there is 2 plastic pouches for this like wipes and nappy cream.
It has a sealing plastic pouch that attaches to the inside of the bag to hold dirty clothes/nappies
has 2 mesh pockets on the inside which it great for holding small toys, dummies, panadol/teething gels and rusks so u dont have to go digging. it has a mesh pocket on the inside at one end which is great for holding a bottle. On the other side of the bag on the inside it has a zipper pocket for all your personal needs.
On the otherside of the bag on the outside it has a huge velcro pocket that is great for slipping paperwork in.
On one end of the bag there is a mobile phone holder, the other side has a elastic sealed pocket.
The inside of the bag is really big. I have been able to fit the following:
8 nappies
Travel wipes
Travel formula container
4 bottles
cup
3 tins of food
rusks
dummies
panadol/teething gel
2 small toys
2 changes of clothes
1 chuck cloth.
I was impressed on how much i can fit in this bag. It also has a big double zip on the top so u are not fighting with the edges of the bag to get things in.
It comes with two small handles and the velcro to join them together, plus the large handle which is more used for hanging it off the back of the pram.
I have also found it is very easy to clean the inside, as i discovered when panadol leaked everywhere.
aardvark
19-07-2005, 12:32
For DD#2, I bought myself an Oi-Oi nappy bag from Monica Monkhouse. It's great, as it looks more like a plain plack tote than a nursery bag.
It was not cheap, but it did a few years of hard use, and will still be up for the task when baby#3 arrives in Feb. To be honest, I nearly hijacked it when we finished using it for nappies after DD#2, to use it as a swimming bag for myself. I have seen women using them as travel bags on planes, with not a child in sight!
Oi-Oi make a variety of bags from backpacks to Totes, and a few in between. The one I had was basically a big black square flap-over bag. It had one large compartment, with some small mesh pockets in it to hold little bits, and a second compartment split into 3, which I could get 4 folded cloth nappies or heaps of disposables, a big pack of wipes, and the change mat that came with it. The outside had two small pockets, one under where the shoulder strap attached on each side - perfect for a mobile phone etc.
Hi. I'm looking for a new nappy bag too. I've got a small backpack one left over from DS1, which is ok but starting to show signs of wear and tear. Now I'm wondering about buying one of those groovy Crumpler bags to use - and hoping that DH will also be happy to carry it, rather than some fluffy nappy bag number. Has anyone else done this? Also, I wonder just which Crumpler to get - there are so many, and they're quite pricey too.
mumofethan
19-07-2005, 22:09
sorry forgot to add the ryco bag is plain black, looks like a standard weekend bag, u cant tell its a change mat on the side!
Hi MumofEthan
There is a Ryco bag in the current Target catalogue (the toy sale one)
Is it the same as this one?
Would appreciate your checking and letting me know as it sounds like a great bag !!
mumofethan
20-07-2005, 17:39
definately looks like it!
I have an Oroton baby bag, and it is great !
My most important criteria was that I did not want flowers or teddies, or anything "fluffy". The Oroton bag is black, and has a change matt inside that rolls up and ties with a cord. There are pockets on each end that hold bottles, and there is heaps of room on the inside. I generally carry around 5 nappies, scented nappy bags, bottom wipes, a change of clothes (for bubs, not me), bibs, face-washers, wet-ones, formula sachets, and the book from the Health Centre. There is heaps more room too, and on occasion, I have used the bag to carry my things as well (eg wallet, mobile, keys, etc. The material is the sort that can be wiped off with a wet sponge (handy !!). It is also really light to cart around (some bags that I looked at were sooooo heavy, even empty !!).
My favourite thing is that when I no longer need a nappy bag, I have a cool Oroton bag !
They are a little expensive - and that is the down-side of this bag BUT there is light at the end of the tunnel ! Let me explain ...
The bag costs about $130 (from Myer), but I bought mine from ebay for $35. They are out there !
hi Belinda
i have the same oroton bag and i hated it !!!
it was ok when bubba was really small but became useless very quickly...
certainly wont be any good for two of them !!
shame as its a very nice bag.
Thanks though
Im expecting my 3rd in December. When I had my second 18mths ago, I was given a Yojiki swagbag. Since I started using it I diced my cumbersome trad style nappy bag and just use this - I have found it brilliant and I never leave home without it. Id never seen anything like it.
When my 2nd baby was first born, I used the swagbag everywhere. It literally looks like a swag, but when you roll it out, inside there is a wipeable change mat, and a nappy bag, which also has a removeable coolerbag inside and of course the swag itself which is a large padded mattress.
I use the mattress to line change tables in public, and also at friends places as a playmat. I also used it when we went travelling o/seas and lined hotel cots with the swag section - it just gave me that piece of mind. Now that she is older, I leave the swag section in the back of the car as padding when I need to change her nappy on the fly.
The nappy bag holds about 8 nappies in one side pocket - (I also had a toddler so had both the largest size and smallest size nappies), It has enough room to hold all your nappy changing necessities, plus I could fit a spare change of clothes for both my toddler and baby. When using it together with the swag, if we were going away, I just rolled blankets and wraps into the swag. It fits in so much!
The best thing now is that the bag can be zipped up and used as a shoulder bag, and now I just take that around with me w/o the swag - with their lunch or snack and drinks in the cooler bag - it is compact but it fits everything I need. Its transformed as my girls have grown. What is really cool is that all items can be washed. The instructions said handwash, but i just put mine in the machine on the gentle cylce it was fine.
It all sounds a bit confusing the way I have described it, but look it up - it is just v clever and compact and pretty cool. I think they retail for about $100.00 which is great considering what you get.
squiglet
08-06-2008, 13:35
I love the Oi Oi range.
I have an oi oi and it's the best. I couldn't do it without my nappy bag;)
With my 3rd baby I had a Ryco which I didnt mind, with no.4 I got an oi oi bag and absolutely hated it.
I've just replaced it with a GR8X satchel Bag, won bnwt on Ebay for $35 inc post, and its the best one I've ever had, its got heaps of room and lots of little compartment and doesnt squish down so you cant find anything.
Piper404
16-03-2011, 15:31
I absolutely love my Vanchi Joplin in purple! Its big enough to hold everything i need but still looks great. The accessories are fantastic, a change mat, dummy holder, bottle holder (that i use for my water bottle as i breastfeed my son) and wetpack. The pram strap is handy when i want to hang it over the pram but comes off easily if i want a great handbag. The new mummy pouch is awesome too, i can have all MY stuff in there so it doesnt get lost. I could rave all day about it!!:cheerleader2:
I have three nappy bags and at the moment I really like my Ju Ju Be Tween in black (I don't like patterned / flowery nappy bag) . The Be Tween is cmpact with excellent organisation. Everything has its place and easy to access.
I never used a nappy bag and used a kids backpack instead. They come in various sizes (I have a big one and small one depending on where I'm going and how much stuff i need) and they can fit allot in and most have a handy zipped pocket or three on the outside. I found especially when I had my second child I could whack a few extra things for my eldest in no worries. They can be thrown over your shoulder, hung on a pram or fit in a prams storage.
Works perfect for me anyway, best thing I ever did was not bother with the 'traditional' nappy bags!
I know this isn't technically a nappy bag, but I bought this because I wanted something soft, that I could wash, and didn't matter if things spilled in it. I also didn't want something that was bulky. It works perfectly as a chuck everything into is bag. I can then just carry my own things in it. I just put all my nappies and changing stuff in a pouch and it works perfectly.
http://summerchild.com.au/collections/mama