View Full Version : Am I wrong ???

19-06-2006, 17:38
Okay so i've got a question for you all.. are any of the new bubbies sleeping a full night ?? If so, do you allow them to ?

Dakota is 5wks and for a little over a week now she's been sleeping almost a full nighter.. her last feed is at 10-10:30pm and then wakes up for a feed between 6 and 7 sometimes 8ish - 9ish. She hasn't lost any weight due to this as she is making up for it during the day having feeds every 2 1/2 - 3 hours, sometimes even 4 hours. See i don't seem to mind that, this way i get my full nights sleep.

Another thing is, my other bubs did the same thing.. sleeping full nights within no time.

So anyway.. here's the moral to the post. The MCHN seems to think it's not a very good idea and didn't state any reason as to why she would think this. I mean Dakota is happy and isn't losing weight so why not ????? And then i think, it didn't do any harm to the others !!!!

What do you guys think about this ?? any opinions ect welcome.

kadownie
19-06-2006, 17:40
gosh- I would enjoy it!! Babies know when they need to be fed- if this is her routine- then what a lucky mummy you are!!

borntobemummy
19-06-2006, 17:41
that sounds like heaven to me! My DD didn't sleep like that until about 4 months! It doesn't seem to be doing any harm then enjoy it I say!!

the_queen
19-06-2006, 17:45
Are you breastfeeding? The only reason I could see that it would be a bad thing, would be that if you're BFing you're boobs would be big and sore by the time she woke up, and supply may go down because there's not regular emptying of the breast overnight.
Reading your post, I can see why the nurse might be concerned - "normally" babies do eat more often and wake more often. But if she's having plenty of wet nappies, if she's generally well in herself, if she's putting on weight - then I would say pfft to the nurse. While there are good ECHN's out there, it seems the majority do nothing more than stress out new mums.

19-06-2006, 17:45
Hmm.. i was thinking the same thing but why it is the MCHN doesn't agree i wonder :confused:

Oh and btw, I am so damn sick and tired of the MCHN speaking to me as if i haven't had kids before :banghead: You can clearly see that my kids are happy and healthy. (sorry needed a whinge)

19-06-2006, 17:50
Are you breastfeeding? The only reason I could see that it would be a bad thing, would be that if you're BFing you're boobs would be big and sore by the time she woke up, and supply may go down because there's not regular emptying of the breast overnight.
Reading your post, I can see why the nurse might be concerned - "normally" babies do eat more often and wake more often. But if she's having plenty of wet nappies, if she's generally well in herself, if she's putting on weight - then I would say pfft to the nurse. While there are good ECHN's out there, it seems the majority do nothing more than stress out new mums.

No i'm not BFing.. stopped doing so after a week or two. She's on 120mls atm but she's the one who's upped her own bottles. Plenty of wet nappies ect..
As i said, she's a very happy baby and she doesn't cry alot.

I must say that i haven't had very good experiences with MCHN :/

19-06-2006, 17:51
Oh and btw, I am so damn sick and tired of the MCHN speaking to me as if i haven't had kids before :banghead:

I am yet to find a nice clinic nurse! I have said it before and I will say it again 'I swear they get brownie points for every mother who leaves the clinic feeling useless and as though she is doing wrong for the baby'!;)

19-06-2006, 17:58
I have said it before and I will say it again 'I swear they get brownie points for every mother who leaves the clinic feeling useless and as though she is doing wrong for the baby'!;)

:laughing: nicely said :thumbsup:

I swear im almost at my wits end with MCHN's.. i'm seriously contemplating just going to my family doctor.

Another reason as to why im iffy with them is because with DS#1 he was seriously sick at 3 wks old.. and when i went to the MCHN she said that it was just a flu.. so i believed her (stupid me) because it only got alot worse.. he was gasping for air ect.. i took him to the hosp and they said it was Broncilitis (sp?). My son nearly died :crying: Oh but the MCHN was more than sure it was only a common cold. Heh, YEAH RIGHT !!! (sorry having another B!t*h)

19-06-2006, 18:04
If my bubs slept through the night I wouldn't wake her, id enjoy the extra sleep myself@

Bubble*Crazy
19-06-2006, 18:05
No i'm not BFing.. stopped doing so after a week or two. She's on 120mls atm but she's the one who's upped her own bottles. Plenty of wet nappies ect..
As i said, she's a very happy baby and she doesn't cry alot.

I must say that i haven't had very good experiences with MCHN :/

I've posted in the May 2006 Mummies thread, but pretty much covered what the others have said.

Ethan & Dakota are 2 days apart and sound very similar - he has heaps of wet nappies, regular # 2's (sorry if TMI!) and doesn't cry alot - generally he wakes up and decided there & then he's hungry so has a half hearted cry to let me know. If I try & put off a feed he ups the ante, but apart from that doesn't cry a lot (apart from the witchy hour he's taken up recently between 6 & 8pm when he sometimes fusses over his bottle). Sorry that's a bit off topic!

But really, if they are happy why would you want to wake them (and probably set the alarm for you!) to throw in another feed:rolleyes: ????????? I have an appt with my CHN next week, so I'm going to ask her opinion and if she thinks they should be woken, I will ask her why! After all, we know our own bubs best :D

In regards to the CHN's, we have quite a few wonderfuly ones in our area, but I've had a few experiences with what I would call less than competant ones (ie the 'older' CHN's who can pass out all the 'advice' in the world, but haven't actually had their own children to 'test' their 'advice'...:thumbsdown: ) - sorry, my whinge for the day!

19-06-2006, 18:07
:laughing: sorry darl we are caught up in two threads with this one..

EskimoMumma
19-06-2006, 18:11
wheres my post!!!:confused:

bigglet
19-06-2006, 18:12
My DD started sleeping through from 11.30pm until 8am at 6 weeks and it was great! I hadn't had a full night sleep in so long (since when I was pregnant I kept waking up to go to toilet) and I was so refreshed and bouncing off the walls! (Amazing what a good night's sleep and coffee does! :laughing: )

My MCHN said that was common for babies to sleep through but once they get older and go through a growth spurt then they may wake up earlier for extra feeds and she was right! At about 16 weeks she started getting up earlier for an extra feed.

If your bub is healthy and gaining weight then there should be nothing to worry about! Go with your instincts!

Also if you aren't happy with your MCHN then you can ask your local council to be transferred to another area/division.

19-06-2006, 18:20
wheres my post!!!:confused:

What post Heather ?? :confused:

Bigglet - I can never find a good MCHN, this is my 5th MCHN since having DS#1 and it's driving me insane :banghead: It's like they have something against me :laughing: seriously !!!! I'm always nice to them, never rude or anything.. it's like "WHY ME ?!?!?"

At this point im seriously thinking that maybe going through our family doctor is the best option..

bigglet
19-06-2006, 18:55
Bigglet - I can never find a good MCHN, this is my 5th MCHN since having DS#1 and it's driving me insane :banghead: It's like they have something against me :laughing: seriously !!!! I'm always nice to them, never rude or anything.. it's like "WHY ME ?!?!?"

At this point im seriously thinking that maybe going through our family doctor is the best option..

That must be SOOO annoying! I'm sorry to hear that!!! :banghead:

I think the family doctor would be the best option then!
Can you complain to your council? Do you know any other mums in your area that have the same MHCN?

EskimoMumma
19-06-2006, 18:56
Family doctors are good but they do not weigh! i dont know why.. well thats what the doctor who i am actually changing from, told me. so not sure :confused:

but my post was (which magically disappeared) you are very lucky to have a second baby who sleeps through the night already and i would take every chance you have because im sure in a few weeks, or months, it will all change and no more sleeps for you :crying:

but dont be to concnered if bubsy isnt losing weight or looking unhealthy, i know your doinjg a fantastic job! so dont stress so much :hugs:

bigglet
19-06-2006, 19:11
In last weeks Harris Scarfe catalog they had an baby infant weighing machine which is exactly what the health centres uses so you can buy one yourself!! Cost just over $100 though!!!

EskimoMumma
19-06-2006, 19:12
Yes i saw that!!!

I hope its still on sale on wensday.:o

19-06-2006, 20:12
bigglet - I can't say i do know other's that use the same MCHN and if they do, god help them !!!! Also thank-you for letting me know about the baby weighing machine, i will grab one tomorrow as they are cheap as chips :laughing:

Mummy2AlexandMary - I guess i am lucky to have kids that are good sleepers.. all 4 of them were and still are... I have never had problems with them. Although, sometimes i think that sleepy children are boring children :p No seriously, i am blessed and my heart goes out to those parents who are struggling to get a decent nights sleep :sleeping: :hugs:

SassyMummy
19-06-2006, 22:47
DD slept through from week 3, from 10pm to about 8am...and as a result, I had to feed her more often during the day. That was fine by me...I wanted to sleep, and if she was happy to sleep too...then good!:thumbsup:

I've never had any problems...she's almost 11 months old now. She still sleeps excellently...and she's never had weight troubles (she's big for her age in both weight and height, but always has been...since birth).

I'd just do what you're doing. MCHN have good advice, but they're not child manuals...they don't KNOW everything. Children are all different...so if it works for both your and your baby...then keep at it!

20-06-2006, 08:02
Thanx everyone for the piece of mind.

I guess the only question on my mind now is, Is it worth reporting the MCHN ? She is rather rude and abrupt and as i said she speaks to me as if i havent had children before. Is it really worth it :confused:

20-06-2006, 09:09
my dd sleep for 12 hours her first night home, i freaked out, she was fine, unfortunately it didnt stay that way:D

filmgirlgail
20-06-2006, 10:56
I say leave her to it. My DD slept thru from 8 weeks and one thing you learn is - They are NOT going to go hungry - they will let you know when they're hungry so I'd say just leave her to it and get her to talk to my bump so that my bubba does the same :D

20-06-2006, 10:59
I say leave her to it. My DD slept thru from 8 weeks and one thing you learn is - They are NOT going to go hungry - they will let you know when they're hungry so I'd say just leave her to it and get her to talk to my bump so that my bubba does the same :D

Hehe.. no worries.. suppous we can organise a price ;)

Tarnya
20-06-2006, 11:03

I have only just found out about this site and it is facinating! In regard to your question I have a two and a half year old son who has never and I say never slept a whole night! His sister who is now 5 on the other hand slept like an angel compared to her brother. No matter what we try no matter how much we persist it just doesn't happen. Please take full advantage of your good sleeper and the one rule (as a midwife) is NEVER WAKE A SLEEPING BABY, babies know when they are hungry or need changing, enjoy your sleep and the fact your bub is so content. And if you feel your getting a little extra sleep than you think your entitled too send some to me!! :laughing: PLEASE! I'm due for my 3rd in January and am in serious doubt about my coping mechanism with only 3 hours sleep averaged a night. You are very lucky :wave:

mich71
20-06-2006, 12:10
cobin did 8.30 to 8.30 from 2wks enjoy it because my other 4 never did

20-06-2006, 12:24

I have only just found out about this site and it is facinating! In regard to your question I have a two and a half year old son who has never and I say never slept a whole night! And if you feel your getting a little extra sleep than you think your entitled too send some to me!! :laughing: PLEASE! I'm due for my 3rd in January and am in serious doubt about my coping mechanism with only 3 hours sleep averaged a night. You are very lucky :wave:

sounds like someone needs alot of these :hugs: and coffee.. I don't think i'll be giving up my sleep in a real hurry, sorry :laughing: Oh and welcome to Bubhub.. WARNING: You may become very addicted so make sure you have a comfy chair !!!!

angcaltam
20-06-2006, 12:41
I wouldn't wake her. DS2 started sleeping through 3rd night home and there is nothing wrong with him, DD has been sleeping through for some weeks now and she is only 9 weeks old but I'm not going to wake her when she is getting enough feed during the day. The Formula that I'm using says 5 bottles a day and she is having the 5 so that's all that matters.

Lets just keep our fingers crossed that they keep sleeping through for us.:fingerscrossed:

20-06-2006, 12:45
oh god yes :fingerscrossed:

I think im more angry about the MCHN more than anything though !!!

angcaltam
20-06-2006, 12:46
Is there anyone else that you can take her to for the check-ups?

20-06-2006, 12:49
Is there anyone else that you can take her to for the check-ups?

take her to the same MCHN ?? No thanx!! :laughing:

I rang our family doctor today and she was more that willing to do all of the checks on her.. so thats some awesome news :D