View Full Version : June bubs 08 - Birthday Month Thread!!!!

Pages : 1 2 [3]

k8y
25-06-2009, 20:17
Well I'm all done, and buggered at that, but extremely happy!

First up, SMO3 congrats on the ttc! going for a little girl awwww, best of luck :babydust2: and watch out for MOS at your meet, she bites :P

flick, yes I am up for the Friday afternoon meet if that time suits both you and ems, sounds good :thumbsup:

Ingi I wish docs would give you results regardless, instead of the wondering. Hope that everything is okay for you.

kotakai, thank you for those lovely pictures. Your right, they are very much alike. Your pram is amazing. I haven't seen the like in any shops yet, must be a new design? Chais seems to love it!

c38 is Mr G okay? I saw on FB you think it might have escalated from the man flu to viral? :hugs:

mybabyq I imagine it would be hard for you to think of your dad doing that though it sounds like a great opportunity. I hope it works out :fingerscrossed: Congrats on your friends bub and hope you've kicked butt on your grand final!
Your new saying on here could be TOTS 'think of the savings' lol....

BB thank you and yes, we do miss you. Another bestie down the gurgler :gloomy: lol....

Well you might have seen my post on facebook, but I got Sums the sandpit from toys r us and a couple of bags of balls. Plus, a gorgeous solid gold baby bangle, it's oval and flat around the inner but sortof rounded around the outer facing part IYKWIM? Engraving being done at the jewellers (so $$$ but I wanted it perfect) to say 'Summer, on your 1st birthday, Love Mum & Dad'. It's just too cute and they said that when she's older we can add gold to make it bigger so she can wear it for longer. One of the ladies there got her daughter one when she turned 1 and has just added gold now and she is 7. It was $310 down to $240, then engraving was $85 but I haven't told DP that :o
Bonbon I am not sure how Sums will go just yet wearing it so I will let you know. We had a bangle when we were growing up so I figured it would be lovely and easier for her to wear then a bracelet (which she got off a neighbour for her christening anyway).

Enjoyed a couple of wines tonight but need a good sleep.
Got some gym clothes today too, all set. Am going to do my first spin class in like 2 years on Sunday morning, am actually looking forward to it, crazy lady lol.

ems hope your eating properly. Can't believe they all guessed. Perhaps you're glowing.....

Kyles72
25-06-2009, 20:23

Kotakai - Love the photos! Your kids are all so gorgeous! Hope Cruz gets over his cold quickly, poor thing. I know what you mean about the sounding like hes struggling to breathe at night, I hear the same thing here atm

SMO3 - GL with the TTC! Sending you heaps of babydust:babydust2:

Stg - Ive been wondering about Liam transitioning to one sleep per day. He's not ready yet, but his sleeping habits are......different somehow:confused:. Im sure it wont be long.

Hello to everyone else!

Well, I know Im about a week late with this comment, but regarding the previous conversation about bubs who have lost their appetite, Liam's lost his, too. He's generally a big eater, but last couple of days, has just dwindled down to nothing. He wont even touch his yoghurt which he loves, just smacks my hand away. Not even very interested in his bottle. Thought it was teething and his cold. Hes also getting more confident standing unaided and taking a few wobbly steps, and is constantly practising that - that milestone might have disrupted his appetite too?

Well, Im braced for an ordinary night here tonight. Liam didnt sleep at Mums this arvo, and as soon as we got home, I put him down for a late nap 6-7.15ish. He woke up SO cranky. I knew he was still tired, but wanted to get him fed and bathed as per his routine, but he didnt want a bar of his dinner, or his bottle, and wailed all the way through his bath. Hes down again now, but Im sure he will be wide awake and starving and ready to party at midnight.

AF returned today! I was sure she'd run away and joined the circus. I feel a bit sad, like the whole "baby journey" has now finished. Must get onto DH about TTC number 2.

Well, Ive just made a batch of apple cinnamon muffins,:chef: and although the house smells divine, the dishes are waiting for me, so must get on! Have a great night all and take care:flowerz:

Mrs Molly Coddle
25-06-2009, 21:28
A very quick one. I'll do a proper post tomorrow some time.
Will show you some picks from coffee with Sam and MOS today tomorrow as well!
We're at mum's for the night as air con still not done so there are just big holes in the ceiling and the house is FREEZING. Elliot has a bit of a cough so thought we'd stay here to keep him warm.
Hope you're all well.
Had a great time today MOS, thank you for coming! :goodvibes:

mosac
25-06-2009, 21:32
Hey....

Have you missed me???

Yes! LOVE your new avatar - he's such a cutie!

mos yep ems is right , well thats what i thought too. for a girl u need to stop dtd a few days before o, which no doubt is probably not all that easy ...i mean how do i know a few days before i actually am going to o??? see how this maybebaby thingo goes

Is it a saliva tester that you're tracking with? If so, it shows something resembling snowflakes when you're O but for about 3 days before you O, the snowflakes look half-formed. HTH. How exciting! :yelclap:

I fought for 2 hours to get Sam to sleep and I FINALLY did! Just now... at 10:15pm. DH starts work at 4am tomorrow so he's up at 3... so no nudging tonight either. Silly Sam doesn't want a brother or sister. :hair:

Tomorrow am off for a walk early, will grab a coffee on my way, get a photo printed to enter a comp with and then come back. Hopefully Sam will be asleep in the pram and the sun will be out and I can start painting the balcony. If not, I'll paint the bannister inside instead. :)

I've seen the best wallpaper I want to get for the feature wall inside but I have to get these jobs done before I move onto the next...

Well Medium's over so off to bed. My eye balls are falling out. I hope the Panadol I gave Sam has knocked him out for at least 3 hours again tonight. :rolleyes:

mosac
25-06-2009, 21:34
Had a great time today MOS, thank you for coming! :goodvibes:

Me too thanks! :thumbsup:

dondons
25-06-2009, 21:43
Stg hannah has been having 1 day sleep for about 3 or 4 weeks. She still hits a wall about 11ish, but it was taking ages getting her to sleep, so now she goes down sometime after lunch. We have had a couple of times that she has slept nearly 3 hours, but mostly it is 1.5-2 hours. It works well for us, as most of our activities are in the morning, and DD1 needs some quiet time in the arvo too.

Kotakai, wow what a pram. The design is certainly unique, although I see lots of new prams out these days, obviously lots has changed in the 3 years since I bought mine. SM03, not sure if i missed this, but what about a pram with a toddler seat attachment? doesnt recline obviously though. Ours is a valco, and its great. For when they're older the skateboards are good too, we use it all the time. Lol but you need to be UTD before you worry about that hey :p

c38
25-06-2009, 23:19
Hiya All
Well I never got back lastnight and now I can't remember it all so I appologise for 1/2 personals.

Kotakai that pram is amazing! would be too tall for little me though..NOT that I'm planning anymore.

Tiggles a lot of people do have breakthough bleeding on the implant, (and the needle) though IM told if you push on with it it gets better. Have yout hought about getting an IUD? My friend had one for about 5years with no problems. There's also a kind of ring that you insert once a month, so that you dont have to remember to take a pill everyday. I'd forget when the month was up though:rolleyes:

Who else hasn't seen AF yet??

Stg G only has one sleep most days now...except last couple but hes sick. Its kind of annoying. As Dondon said he hits a wall around 11, but if he goes to sleep then for 1-2hrs then hes climbing the walls again by 6..but thats too early to put him to bed...but if I make him have a snooze at 4ish he's hard to get to bed. So I try to stretch him out to 12-1230 for his sleep. But that's hard for when Im working as I have to drop him off at 1245..and of course he wont go to sleep when he first gets to Mums so then is crabby for her. And Id rather he had a morning nap if he's going to CC for the arvo as I doubt that he wil sleep there and being tired hes more likely to fret. Its really hard getting him to go to sleep though before 1030-11am now.

K8y :yelclap:on finishing exams and on your lovely shopping trip
G is ok. He has had the snots for a few days and I made a remark this morning on FB about how much of a sook he was being considering all he had was a runny nose. Within an hour of that though he got a temp and has spent the afternoon on my lap..or in bed...with only short plays in between with a temp on and off. So looks like he has a virus. Hopefully one more day then Sat he will be better.

SPeaking of G.. sounds like he's ready for another feed and Panodol:wave:

bonbon
25-06-2009, 23:37
c38 - poor bubba, hope he gets better soon! As for the sleeps, Maddie has an hour in the morning about 9.30 (she gets up around 7.15) and then after lunch she goes down at 1.30 for another hour. If we are just at home, there is no way she would make it all morning without a sleep, but if she is out and about and being amused etc then she can keep going. I find it weird that she is SO tired by 9.30, after being up only 2 hours. I would actually prefer her to have one big avo nap so that I can get things done/sleep if I have worked etc and do my shopping and playgroup etc in the mornings. And most nites by 6 she is crabby and so tired, as she would have woken at about 3 in the avo, so I put her to bed. She goes to bed most nites about 6.30, sometimes 6.15pm cos I dont see any sense in trying to keep her up when she is miserable. She then sleeps till 7.15 the next morning except for a few wake ups, some nites more than others.
Oh and I havent got my AF yet either! What is going on!

We signed up with private health today so I have to wait about 3 months before we can start TTC which is perfect for us, I wanna as of Mon go real hard at eating well and exercising -we bought bikes and a trailer for maddie - so that Im in good shape to get fat again!!:laughing: So when I take Maddie to get her needles Im gonna get a check up.
I have noticed that she doesnt BF for as long as she used to, this avo was for like 5 mins? So I might give her cows milk for that one. Man I think I left my baby manual at the hospital! Its all so hard! How long do they have to even have milk for? Oh and do you guys give milk before breakfast or after.

k8y you must be sooo relieved! You wont know what to do with yourself. And that bangle sounds beautiful.

Im so tired, Im on nites but have got so much to do tomoz. Do a grocery shop for maddies party, just bits and pieces that I havent already got, make lolly bags - do ppl still do this?, make a pass the parcel, finish cleaning the house, and go pick up her bday pressies off layby! Phew!:thumbsup:

stg - charlotte did 8 poos in one day!!!! Holy Moley! That is crazy! maddie has been doing MASSIVE poos lately and they stink like , well CRAP. They are freakin rotten! I think teething poos!

On that nice note, good nite :wave:

smog
26-06-2009, 07:40
just a quickie be back soon
is anyone else with latrobe health insurance?? if so pm as ive just joined recently there is a deal for who ever refered me;)

k8y
26-06-2009, 08:26
happybirthday to my beautiful Summer!!!!

The ball pit was a hit this morning. Loves it sick lol.... She hasn't opened other pressies yet. Is due a sleep so will wait till she's awake after her nap and in a better frame of mind lol.

BeautifulBoys
26-06-2009, 08:32
:party:HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO GORGEOUS SUMMERhappybirthday

InGi
26-06-2009, 08:49
HAPPY BIRTHDAY SUMMER!!

stg Riley has one sleep a day usually around 12 its hard holding him off once it hits 11 though. But if i hold him off that bit longer he sleeps for usually 1.5-2hrs which is great!!
Hes also been doing SO many poos lately he did 8 the other day as well!!

OMG i cant believe Michael Jackson is dead wow. 2 celebs in one day!! Sad.

Im off to vic roads today to pay DHs rego im really trying to put it off but I have to go in to register our health care card or something then i have to go to my granparents to do my light washing boring!!
Better go get ready! have a good mornign all :wave:

smog
26-06-2009, 10:01
happybirthday summer!!

Mum of Midgeys
26-06-2009, 10:14
happybirthday to the beautiful Miss Sums!

Hope it's a wonderful day - she will just look like a princess in that bracelet K8y - sounds just perfect! And ball pits are definately are winner, lol.

BB - We have missed you!!! Think we were setting up an SES crew to come find you (or at least send C38 over to your place :p) Your avatar is gorgeous...gosh, he's starting to look more like Jake, isn't he?

Ingi - Well, no news is good news I guess! Hope you're feeling a bit better.

C38 - Poor, poor Mr G :hugs: Hope he gets better soon. Lucky for him he's got a Mummy like you on hand to look after him!

Tiggles - I've heard about the problems with breakthrough bleeding with friends who've had either the rod or the needle... one had the rod before having her DS, and she was fine on it, apart from the first few weeks when there was a bit of spotting, etc. My other friend had the rod, but had to have it removed due to issues. She then used to get the needle, but now she's using that ring C38 mentioned.... only thing with that one is I think it's costing her a fair bit a month... like $80 I think she said?! Will have to double check. Do they recommend tying tubes anymore? I reckon that's what I'll do when I'm finished to make sure there's nooo more coming :laughing:

Bonbon - Yay for TTC soon! Funny about loosing weight just to put it back on again... that's what I've done these past few weeks. Nevermind - i'm at a nicer starting weight now!

MOS - can't wait to see the photos of your place! Sounds like you've been working hard fixing it up!

Kyles - Yay for the return of AF!! And woohoo, another TTC-er??:D

Stg - glad you had a good time hun!

And hello to everyone else.

Well, I better get going. Got my bloods done this morning... had to give a urine sample...forgotten about that one...had gone to the toilet before I left, so didn't have much to work with,lol. Hope it was enough, lol.
Going with my Mum to meet my sister for lunch today so best get bags packed before Khirra wakes up.

Oh. Ha. before I go, have a MS story from last last... my stomach's not a strong as it was. Last night, as he does every night, DP farted in bed :rolleyes: Anyway, I got one whiff, and immediately my stomach lurched, and just started gagging - just made it to the toilet before spewing everywhere. Sooooo gross. Meanwhile, DP was still in bed p!ssing himself laughing. I was so cranky, lol. Swear to God, he can go and sleep with the dogs tonight if he does it again. Men are disgusting!!! lol

tiggles
26-06-2009, 10:33
happybirthdaySummer!!!!!

Thanks for the info re the contraception, Im going to the Dr on Monday, so ill see what she says.

My Little Sweet
26-06-2009, 10:57
happybirthday Summer!!!

The presents sound great! We bought Quinn some charms to start a bracelet which will be full of cool things from everywhere we go in europe! but i had a baby bangle that i loved, i have never heard of adding more gold though to make it bigger what a great idea.

Well we wooped them last night at netball, 35 to 24, it was a great game though and naturally i was awesome!! :laughing::laughing:

Ems that is terrible, how bad is your dp's gas???

Bonbon yay for siging up for health insurance, so much closer to ttc!! and good on you for getting healthy i really need to pay attention to my food intake i am just getting lazy.

With milk i am still breastfeeding and i give it to her about 45 minutes before breakfast pretty much first thing when she wakes and again first thing after she wakes from her morning nap. But i can't give Quinn any cows milk as she is allergic so just let her feed as long as she wants.

Still feeling pretty bad today such a bad headache but Quinn and i went back to bed for a few hours this morning only been up since 9 so can't complain! Looking forward to the weekend, more netball proper comp tomorrow and then a fun game against the footballers on sunday hopefully we don't emabaress ourselves!!

kotakai
26-06-2009, 11:26
happybirthday Summer!!!!!!

Daisy Boo
26-06-2009, 12:23
happybirthday Summer

Supermum - :smiliedance: for TTC. How exciting.

mybabyQ - Thats great news about your grandad and your friend. Not so sure about your dad going to Afganistan. It's pretty scary.

And :yelclap:K8y for finishing exams.

DH and I are off to the football tonight. Haven't been since I was pregnant with Kirilly.
Welcome back BB

oconky
26-06-2009, 13:26
happybirthdaySummer hope she has a great day.

well have been reading but no time to post...leaving for Sydney now and off to Auckland for a few days.

sorry i have missed stuff...enjoy your weekend and happybirthday to the bubs over the next few days.

mosac
26-06-2009, 13:59
I too p!ssed myself laughing... and so did Sam! He cracks up whenever DH or I laugh. So I'm sitting at the computer and I crack up and he starts going "ha ha ha ha...". He does it funny though. Trying to get him to have a nap but he won't have a bar of it. :rolleyes:

happybirthday Summer! Her bracelet sounds pretty - would suit her for sure. And love the ball pit idea... although Sam's scared of them so not good for us. He loves his trike though. I've taken him for a few laps around the church across the road and back. It's easy to carry him up the stairs whilst sitting in it and he also has a tray at the back for my bits and pieces. :D

I've gotten so much done today. We went for a our walk and I got a top. It's just a plain black tight bonds top with 3/4 sleeves but it's tight so gives me a good shape. I'm sick of feeling frumpy in baggy clothes. I'm entering that comp for the make-over so I had to print a photo of myself this morning - how embarrassing. :o

I've cut up the veggies and peeled potatoes for dinner, made a fruit salad, done DH's lunch for tomorrow. Sam had lunch too and I kept on giving him heaps of fruit as I was chopping it and he loved it. Kept him quiet, having him in the high chair all that time rather than tugging on my leg ("mumumumumuum":rolleyes:). I also made us a banana smoothie because I bought some bananas that were almost rotten (didn't look at the bottom of the bunch!). Luckily DH brought some home from work too so Sam LOVED his smoothie - YUMMO!

Well must get going now and get off the toilet (yes, it's funny where you get the time to post! :laughing:)... will see if the little non-sleepy monster will let me paint the balcony while he stays inside...

k8y
26-06-2009, 15:11
Well we've had a nice quiet day. Sums napping now. Mum and her DH came over to visit for a while. Brought pumpkin scones which Sums just loved. I had half a one, left the other sitting on a plate on the couch while I folded some washing and turned around and she was hoeing into it lol! She just had some with her lunch already! They were just woolies ones, but really nice, with whole pumpkin seeds and stuff in them.
My house is looking really clean, it's great what I can get done now without having to use every spare minute to study.
I'm going to clean out my car tomorrow and the fridge and I've got to write a list tonight of what I need for Sums b'day cake so I can go to the cake decorating store tomorrow. I want to do a practice cake first as the oven is new and I want to be sure how it goes.

mybabyq :yelclap: on flogging them in the grand final!!!!

MOS :fingerscrossed: you win the makeover. Sounds exciting!

Re the nap conversation, Sums is still doing 2 a day. She's down by 10.30am in the mornings and by 3pm in the afternoons.
We tried the one nap (2 hours in the early arvo) the other day and by bed time she was right nightmare to get to sleep - overtired. So we're back to the 2 naps a day for bit more.
It works for me because she usually does 1.5 hours per nap, so thats 3 whole hours during the day I get to do things.

ems, that story about you ralphing from your stinky DP is so gross :laughing: and then he laughed at you! men are so evil :rolleyes:

Daisy Boo have fun at the footy. Sounds great! Love your avatar.

bonbon I know how you feel. I'm being very good with my healthy eating atm.
I'm trying to shed so I'm back at a healthy weight to start ttc at the end of the year (which holy cow, is coming fast!). I want to be a bit more restrained with my eating habits this coming bub, with Summer I literally ate for 2 and put on almost 20kg :eek: (didn't lose much when she came out either :o).....

k8y
26-06-2009, 19:28
bonbon you may have mentioned, but what are you doing for your b'day tomorrow?

Kyles72
26-06-2009, 19:47
happybirthdaySummer! xx

:eek:Eek! Just found a bill I was meant to pay last week, its overdue! Gotta go sort it out, BBL take care:flowerz:

bonbon
26-06-2009, 22:14
Happy birthday Summer! Hope you guys had a beautiful day with your beautiful little girl. I actually think I will be a little emotional !

k8y well havent got alot planned for tomorrow, actually got a few things to do for Maddies bday on Sunday. I think for the rest of my life I will spend my bdays baking and planning Maddies! I have done alot of what I can, just a few little things left to do. I am going to write Maddie a letter, from mummy to maddie and put it in her keepsake box for when she is older. I bought her a little tikes cozy coupe, a fp bath toy set thingo and we are going to buy her a little pink cd player so she can play music in her room for naps. And boy, my mum has spend a fortune on her, she is getting a pink aeroplane ride on, music table and a whole heap of things!
But yeh, back to me! lol we are going to my fav restaurant, Sebastians, for dinner which will be nice.

I was going to ask, do babies actually wean themselves? The reason Im asking is that the last few days Maddie hasnt been feeding as long as usual, and will feed for a few minutes then cry and get frustrated, so Im wondering whether my milk isnt as aplenty as usual or is she weaning herself? I cant tell if my supply is ok, cos Ive never had that full feeling before a feed IYKWIM? So anyway, tonite before bed, she fed, fussed, i changed sides, she did the same thing, i put her in bed she cried etc, so I went and made a 200ml bottle up and she drank the whole thing, i burped her and she is sound asleep and has been for hours now. So what is with that? She isnt normally like that? Why would she drink a bottle instead? ANy advice?

Well I just made little lolly "cups" for Maddies party for when the kids leave. I just got a clear cup and put a pair of sunnies, a flute, a balloon, a mini playdoh, crayons, mini pack of apricots (was meant to pick up sultanas but got the wrong ones) some scratch and sniff stickers (flash back!!) and a couple of lolly snakes and freckles. I didnt want to send the kids home with a cup of lollies so got a few things from Red Dot for bargain prices. Will wrap them in cellophane and ribbon. Oh and for the little ones I put in some rusks instead of lollies lol.

Kyles - dont u love it when you find an overdue bill :rolleyes: in fact I hate bills. But im gonna win Lotto on Tues - 90 MIL!

Oconky - lucky you! Have fun in Auckland
:thumbsup:to everyone else, I cant remember much else. Im dead tired. Just gonna finish my cuppa tea then jump into bed.

Have a great weekend everyone. My little girl is 1 on SUnday :hissy:

k8y
27-06-2009, 07:59
happybirthday bonbon!!!!

Kyles all my bills go directly to DP, the sole breadwinner so I get them, then just pass them on lol....

Hmmm trying to get Sums organised so we can go to the cake decorating store. Thats about it here.

Oh and I have about 50 million friends tax returns to do that I have been putting off until after exams and now 30 June I think is on Tuesday! got to get them in so they can get their stimulus package!
Plus a guy who has moved in with my next door neighbour and her son has come over last night saying he has 4 years worth of returns he was wanting to me to help him with :rolleyes: He's a house painter so I cut a deal and he is going to help with our house painting ;)

babywez
27-06-2009, 08:48
:wave: from the comfort of my own home and own laptop!!!

It is great to be home. I hope you'll all forgive me if I don't try to "catch up"...just too much to read and we are going to shower, maybe nap and then go to my mum's...she's taken Nicklas home with her so we can unpack, etc.

But I hope everyone has had a great month, and that all bubs have had fabulous 1st birthday's and wonderful parties! I have missed you mums!

Our trip was overall really great. Certain parts were frustrating (could write a book about my MIL grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr), but for the most part it was great. Nicklas was AMAZING on all the flights we went on...we were so lucky.

So what has been going on? Anymore of you UTD?!?! :)

OK I should get going, but will be here more often now that I'm home! My MIL doesn't have wireless internet, so I tried not to spend too much time on her computer (that and she was on it most of the time - yeah, not playing with Nicklas or anything...ok not even going to get started)...what was I saying? :rolleyes:

Oh yeah, gotta go unpack and shower...:wave:

dondons
27-06-2009, 09:17
hi babywez wb. the thread became pretty quiet at times, especially when MOS and k8y were out of action, but starting to heat up again now.

A few UTD, and potentially more on the way ;). Not from me tho, DP would have a hernia :laughing:

mosac
27-06-2009, 11:55
YAY! Welcome back babywez! We missed you. :crying:

OK quick rundown:

* kotakai's Cruz is now at home
* SMO3 is now officially TTC (and myself since AF finally returned)
* Ems & Majick are PG (think you already knew that)
* Ems' DP made her :barf: by farting in bed
* k8y's exams are over and she's got more time to chat to us again :smiliedance:
* You're BACK!!!

lol That's about it I think... did I miss anything?

So you're quite relieved your MIL is on the other side of the world then? There are a few of us who are envious of that! lol

Ummm... did I mention we missed you terribly? Loved the pics on FB too. I can't believe you're back already. Time has flown but I guess more-so for you, eh?

Well I bought stuff for pizzas the other day when at Rouse Hill catching up with lambkin and Elliott... and between picking up the Bazaar pizza bases in Woolies and here, I've lost them. Don't even know if I paid for them or not and I can't see anything else I've lost, but I now have everything ready for dinner tonight EXCEPT THE BL00DY BASES! :hair: I just texted DH to check the car boot but his phone was dying this morning so not sure if he'll get it in time...

In our block of 6 units, there are 2 visitor's parking spots and I've noticed it's the same 2 cars always in them (2 of the other owners). In the past DH and I never parked in them as they are for visitors and we know it's always p!ssed everyone off (us included). Anyway now there are parking meters in our street as we're so close to the CBD and it's $2 per hour! I've called the council about getting a resident's permit but we need a utility bill mailed to this address in our name so prove we live here. So we're still waiting as those bills come 3-monthly and the phone is in the FIL's name as Optus are f***ed. I asked the guy on the phone when I called the local council if the fact that THEY BILL ME for the rates, surely that should be enough but noooooo, it's not.

So the other night, DH got a visitor's parking spot in our block so I told him to take my car to work for the next few days as I had nothing planned anyway and can always walk into Parra within 5 mins. This way he doesn't have to drop his car at his parent's place on Monday for his day off. Weekends are OK as the meters aren't operational then, but he has Mondays off and has had to drive his car to the IL's place. It's just annoying that these 2 other owners have had the monopoly over these two spots for so long - so it's my mission to make sure we get one of the spots as much as possible to show them how annoying it is! :D

The one thing I have up on them is that I'm at home during the day, so can always stick one car in a visitor's spot when it becomes free and leave our garage (one spot) for our other car when DH gets home. I'm laughing about this seriously... will p!ss them off until we get our permit. lol

OK so it's 1pm and Sam's not had one nap at all today. We went for a walk this morning when it was nap time and he wouldn't sleep. I got a Gloria Jeans coffee and then ducked into Aldi looking for some Turps to wash my brushes. They didn't have any but they had a plain glass rotating cake plate on stand thingo for $14.95. I've been looking for a plain and simple cake plate for a while now so this is perfect! So I got that and my turps, came home, still no nap. We had leftover roast veggies from last night for lunch followed by some fruit salad I made yesterday. I gave Sam some strawberries so will keep an eye out for any reaction but I think he'll be fine.

I might get going now and vacuum... whilst holding Sam on the hip. Does anyone else's bub scream like they're scared for their life when the vacuum cleaner goes on? Sam absolutely freaks out. :rolleyes:

kotakai
27-06-2009, 13:18
Chais slept for 5 hours yesterday :eek: He had a bit of a shocker the night before, then we had gym in the morning, & then I had a few things to do at the shops, so when we got home at lunch he was buggered. He went straight to sleep & I woke him up at 5pm! He went back down around 8.30 & slept all night, so not sure what was going on. I hope he's not getting sick.

Have any of you seen the Heinz 1-3 yrs little kids mini meals? I grabbed 1 for him to try the other day, Mango & Basil pasta with tuna & he loved it. I thought they'd be handy to keep in the nappy bag, incase I get caught out & run out of what I've taken & can't get him something to eat. He's also loving cheese & cheesesticks at the moment. I think he'd eat the whole packet if I let him!

What sort of snacks do you take out with you?

There's 1 negative to the pram & having Chais facing me, I can't eat chocolate when I'm out :laughing: Whatever anyone has, he wants some. He's like a garbage disposal!

Well I'm all done, and buggered at that, but extremely happy!

:yelclap: glad it's all over for you.

DD got a bangle when she was a baby. She wore it no problems & I loved it! Summer's sounds lovely.

Kotakai your boys are gorgeous that pram does look massive too, how tall is it and how tall are you?

Not sure how tall the pram is, but I'm about 170cms & I'm taller than it.

So re the contraception, have any of you had the 3 monthly shots or that thing they put under you skin? What are the pros and cons? Im on the pill ATM, and constantly forget to take. Im not interested in an IUD. Any comments greatly appreciated.

I've had the Implanon (thing under your skin) & hated it. It gave me headaches, made me moody & put on weight. I know others that have had no problems though.

That pram does look fantastic... I'm 5"11, so the height wouldn't be problem... how much was it, if that's not too rude to ask? I've been looking at (you might want a look SMO3) the Marco Sky L
http://www.babydaze.com.au/ (hope I'm allowed to post that link, Mods). It's $435 and has a newborn carry cot insert that's $85. Looks quite compact... the only thing is the toddler seat doesn't recline, but Khirra's never gone to sleep in the pram in her life, so that's not such a big deal here, I guess. What'd you guys reckon of that one? Saw it at the baby expo...

I paid $1140 including delivery. I think it's worth every cent! Haven't seen that one before, but the other ones we were tossing up between were the baby jogger ones. The city mini double & the elite one. The only thing I disliked about them is the size of the basket.

kotakai what sort of car do u have?
We got a kia carnival a couple of months ago. For a 'family' car, it really doesn't have much space! It has 2 seats in the middle & 3 in the back, so the 2 babies are in the middle & the older 2 in the back.

from the comfort of my own home and own laptop!!!

So what has been going on?

Welcome back :wave: Glad it was good & the plane trip was OK. MOS gave you a great rundown on what's been happening :laughing:

I might get going now and vacuum... whilst holding Sam on the hip. Does anyone else's bub scream like they're scared for their life when the vacuum cleaner goes on? Sam absolutely freaks out.

Chais doesn't mind if I'm vacuuming, but sh!ts himself if he turns it on himself :laughing:

mosac
27-06-2009, 18:12
Well it's 7pm and the little monster has just gone to sleep. The last 2 days he's had late morning naps and VERY late arvo naps which has left him hyper until around 10pm. So today I let him stay awake through his morning nap (since he didn't bother sleeping on our walk :rolleyes:) and then after lunch he had an hour and a half sleep followed by 20 mins of cuddles on the bean bag with mummy...

Then DH got home, quickly ran me to Woolies to get some pizza bases since I'd LOST the ones I bought the other day. I grabbed some beer. And we've come home, had some beer and pizza, bath time and BF and he's asleep. Not sure how long it'll last but we'll see...

Anyway I'm having another beer and watching the top 50 Michael Jackson songs with their video clips. Man there are soooo many songs I'd forgotten about.

I'm going jean shopping this weekend. DH said he'd come with me as I need someone's feedback. I hate jean shopping normally but I'm looking forward to this time. My size 8 jeans have been falling down and I've clocked 49.6kgs on the scales the last few mornings, leaving me 2kg lighter than when I got married. On the other hand, when I met DH I weighed 48kg and he said I was too skinny but don't feel like that this time as I suppose the weight's distributed differently.

Don't mean to rub it in or anything but I've seriously started eating like a pig again to stop the weight loss as I know it's not healthy... but it keeps on going. I'll worry when I drop below 48kg as I can't remember the last time I weighed less than that. Hopefully I don't go that far...

k8y, Sums is so cute pushing her pram along - love your giggles too! :flowerz:

kotakai, lol re Chais being a garbage disposal! :laughing:

Bye for now. Might see if we can christen the new rug in the living room... lol... just kidding! :D

babywez
27-06-2009, 18:20
Thanks for the rundown MOS! I'm so happy for you that you're in your place finally, but buggar about the guest parking spots! That used to happen at my mum's other place when we lived w/ my sister and her fiance there. They kept saying residents couldn't park there, and would be towed. Supposedly they were going to start enforcing that, but we moved out before that started happening.

YES, Glad the MIL is on the other side of the world. But partly just feel sorry for her. Her husband passed away 6 years ago and she has never gotten over it. Is still really bitter and feels cheated (they had grand retirement plans, etc. and he passed away from lung cancer). I could share multiple stories, but I'm too exhausted just thinking about it right now. I have been hit in the head by the jet-lag monster. We took a nap at about 2:30. Big mistake. I woke up at 6:30!! And reckon I could have gone straight back to sleep! But I'd be wide awake at 3 (which I might still be if Nicklas doesn't sleep well!).

I have so much new clothing for Nicklas that I have to organize/put away tomorrow. I don't think I'll have to buy clothes for him again until he's at least 3! I probably said that already. Man, jet-lag really messes with your head. I just went down to the car b4 I came up here, and could not figure out why there was a McDonalds bag in there, until I finally remembered we'd had it on the way home from the airport! We need a serious grocery shopping expedition tomorrow.

But now I have to go pay some bills online...worst part of vacation ever :(

OOH! My one big splurge purchase for myself was a Coach purse from the outlet. $398 down to $119!!!! Still ridiculous amount of money for a handbag, but I love it!

k8y
27-06-2009, 18:49
babywez we're glad you're back, we missed you :hugs: Handbag sounds great. I've spent max $300 on one once and DP has bought me a real LV for xmas 3 years ago and I know that would have set him back about $1k and it's a small little bag too lol... I love it.

MOS I must say, Sums tries to eat the vacuum. How is all that weight falling off you? do you have a fast metabolism? or do you not eat much or what?
Man pizza and beer and weight is still falling off, poohead :p

kotakai wow 5 hours! massive sleep. Perhaps just a catch up, how is now?

Quiet day on the threads today (well apart from MOS and I).

I have been looking at cake stuff all day. I love looking at what people create and work out how they do particular things so I can replicate later.
Sums cake is going to be quite simple because I just don't have the time to be elaborate. Plus I'm not one for cakes that are overdone crazy with decorations.

Hmmmm MOS yes that vid is so cute. She was walking to her room to get undressed for her bath, I am in the process of uploading the nudie version of her walking back past to the bath, stopping every second to do a queen wave at everything :rolleyes: I must upload her birthday pics. I didn't get time to bake her a birthday cake for her actual day (it only being me and DP here I wasn't too worried) so I picked her up a little banana cake from Woolies and I must say, it wasn't very nice. I wouldn't recommend it all :no:

Anyway I'm off for a shower, then pack my gym stuff ready for spin class tomorrow :eek:

tiggles
27-06-2009, 19:35
Sorry no personals, just catching up as usual.

Im so upset thought we had the lice under control and found them on miss c tonight....arghh will have to delice all 4 of us in the morning, strip beds etc..Im so tired and upset, Im just so over this. We arent dirty people, my kids are spotless, Im pedantic with the lice and they still haunt us, I just want to cry. Any hints greatly appreciated.

mosac
27-06-2009, 19:41
:hugs: tiggles, they're more attracted to clean hair... sorry no help as I'm sure you've done as I would - treat hair then wash sheets, etc...

Does she have a close friend who's re-infecting her maybe?

By the way, DH thought it cruel to christen were Sam sits to play and it's no fun BD'ing while baby screams standing up in cot in next room. :banghead:

smog
27-06-2009, 19:51
:hugs:tiggles:hugs: i totally feel your pain, we have had the nit thing soo many times its sux. think they just love some kids. did u see my post a while back about the robi comb? its totally worth it and best tip i have. that and use nit deterant(sp?) spray on them everyday before u send them to school

babywez welcome back:wave:

k8y ill be making a point of reading that out to my dh as soon as i get a chance, he thinks i have a handbag /shoe problem. personally im thinking your dh is the most romantic man ever right now...

k8y
27-06-2009, 20:21
k8y ill be making a point of reading that out to my dh as soon as i get a chance, he thinks i have a handbag /shoe problem. personally im thinking your dh is the most romantic man ever right now...

It was lovely. I'll have to upload a pic of it then :laughing:
I didn't even mention handbags, he went into the city and bought it. Clever man :yelclap: still waiting on that bloody ring though :rolleyes: If it hasn't arrived by my birthday I might just have to go and buy it myself :laughing:

Sorry tiggles, I haven't had to deal with lice yet so I have no advice except that I remember my mum used to do our hair in the tightest braids before school when there was outbreaks, don't know if that helps or not.

c38
27-06-2009, 21:14
Welcome home Babywez. I noticed how quiet it was in here without you:rolleyes:

Sounds like Summer had a great birthday. The pics and little videos are so cute.
I'm also very impressed about your DP and the handbag K8Y.

MOS..how CAN you eat pizza and beer and still be losing weight GRRRRRRRRR!!!

Tiggles:hugs:re the nits. Nothing new to add. that comb Kotakai's talking about sounds good.

happybirthdayBonbon hope you had some YOU time today, and it wasnt all about DD's day tomorrow

Well G is better. Just suddently perked up yesterday arvo...and boy waqs he firing on all cylinders. Into everything. Culminating the evening in fallinf out of his highchair...reaching for the new strapping Id brought the day befoer but not put on him lastnight as he was sometimes manages to wriggle out of the Ikea Chair lapstrap. lucky he was kind of leaning out over the side to get to the straps so was hanging suspended by this legs for a fraction of a second be fore he dropped...meant his head was only about 50cm from the hardwood floor, rather then the full highchair height. Little rat!! Then this morning while I was rushing round organising stuff to get him off to granmas as I was working.. he got inot the nappy bag, sitting near the front door and fished out eh bottle of MIltons handrub...and was putting it to his mouth trying to drink it:o...oh that was after he pulled the safety catch off the cupboard int eh kitchen (one of those stick on ones and the paint flaked off) and grabbed a bottle and tried to take a swig..HAHAHA at him as it was vinigar..so the taste he got from around the cap was NOT nice. His latest obcession is cans of food... he loves to get them and roll them round the floor and suck on them.

I'm beginning to get scared about how I'll cope when he's 2. He's just SO fast now. You can be standing right next to him, turn your head for a second and bang hes into something he shouldnt be. Roll on Summer when I can take him to the school yard over the back fence and let him run the 1km track to tired him out each day:D

Anyhow time to expess, while reading a few more posts then off to bed...

mosac
27-06-2009, 21:32
C38 I'm sure I've said it before but I must say it again - You are a SAINT for expressing and continuing to BF AND going back to work WITH no hubby to help. I honestly don't know how I'd manage to keep up the BF and go back to work WITH help, so you're amazing. :thumbsup::hugs: An inspiration to us all...

Mrs Molly Coddle
27-06-2009, 22:10
WB babywez! Hope you had a great holiday. Loved the piccies :)

I'll send everyone who's in Syd or nearby an email on facebook to organise a meet up :) I can't for the life of me remember what days you all said you were free so I'll skip back and have a squiz if I get a chance. Otherwise we can sort it out there. Scared to organise something here in case of stalkers!

Well we're STILL at Mum's. Went home for a while today to do some washing and tidy up a bit. The air conditioner that was delivered was the wrong one, so we have to wait until next week for the guy to install it. He is apologetic, but he said it would be done in one day so I am fairly annoyed. We can't stay there at night with big holes in the ceiling> It's too cold and Elliot is trying to shake a cough and it's just not happening.
Consequently i haven't uploaded the piccies from Rouse Hill the other day but I shall soon!

Woke up with a head cold this morning to add to my cough so feeling a bit grotty but could be worse.

My sister had her appointment at the SAN (a hospital here in Syd for those away) re: the gastric banding and she is booked in for next month! She is so excited. She said they were super lovely, ran about 20 minutes late but apoogised profusely for that anyway.. and she said the surgeon was very kind and sensitive and patted her on the arm and said "oh you poor thing!" "That's terrible!" etc. I like him already. She also said the waiting room wasn't too grotty like it was at the other place (massive stains on the chairs and carpets, that sort of thing) and that they had extra wide seat for the extra wide arses. Love it. Am excited for her and myself. I'll make myself an appointment soon, I think.

Well I got into Uni so I am relieved. I had some incompletes on my transcript which converted to fails when I didn't go back to Uni after having Elliot (:rolleyes:) so I was a bit worried about those. But the Uni I was offered a place at (Macquarie) have distinctions and high distinctions in the same category so my GPA is like.. 3.33 on a 4 point scale so I'm in! Yippee! Feeling quite nervous about juggling home life and Uni as I can barely manage the first on a regular basis without crying or needing a nap, but I think it will be okay. I told DH we just need to be more organised, and he needs to take more responsibility for some household things so that I don't feel like all the weight is on MY shoulders. I think that I might speak to Disability Services at the Uni as well about my anxiety, just so that I have made contact and if things go awry, they're more prepared to deal with me.
I feel upset that a girl from Uni had her baby like.. 2 months ago.. and is finishing Uni, about to start her internship. It makes me feel like a failure. :( But enough about that. I can't keep comparing myself to other people.

And there's elliot. waaaaah

:ecomcity:
:sunshine:
quota met! Ha!

c38
27-06-2009, 23:17
C38 I'm sure I've said it before but I must say it again - You are a SAINT for expressing and continuing to BF AND going back to work WITH no hubby to help. I honestly don't know how I'd manage to keep up the BF and go back to work WITH help, so you're amazing. An inspiration to us all...

Well its all really a matter of kinda having to. I could stay home on the Single Mums Payment...but it means delaying my mortgage ever being paid off and a very no frills lifestyle. And also I dont feel right about it, when I can work. Though obviously Im not going back fulltime, when I could and not get any benefits at all...but I dont think thats in the best interests of my son, and hence the country in the long run... If that makes sense.

As for BF/expressing. Well I am struggling. So glad I started expressing months ago and freezing as I only get about 50mls a day (more sometimes if I get motivated to do it during the day....thats with staying up late to express. BUt eh little bank is starting to dwindle.
The problem is he wont drink anything else. He sips tiny amounts of water but mostly tips it in his mouth and blows bubbles. Ive tried all sorts of cups and straws etc. He will only drink EBM out of a bottle with a very slow teat. He was pushing away cowsmilk when I tried him so last Saturday I sent him to Mums with a bottle of toddlers formula as I had a sachet from a conference I had gong to before I left work, that was in date. He drank it. Yahoo.. SO I went and brought 2x boxes of the sachets..except they have changed pack, and maybe taste as on Tuesday he refused to drink it but took the bottle of EBM (I usually send him with 2 bottles) Then today he not only refused to drink the formula, threw the bottle ont he floor and refused to look at it even apparently...then wouldnt look at the bottle of EBM either. (Mum heated the whole bottle of precious stuff and left it out of the fridge trying to tempt him ...so 190mls down the drain:crying:)

Consequently he's now having a Boobie fest. Just as I finished my last post he woke and no ignoring was going to work...so slurp slurpp....hense there will be no expressing and adding to the bank tonight:rolleyes:
As of next week and being over his cold I told Mum we will have to be tough. When I work dayshift he will just be offered cows milk or water when I'm not there (may as well get him straight on to that then muck around getting him to take formula if its goinna be a battle). If I work afternoons then he can only be offered cows milk or water until bedtime when he can have EBM. Maybe that way he will start to drink something else. I wouldn't care if it was only water...as he would be getting BF before and after I work. And he eats well enough not to NEED the milk, just the fluid.
I guess it's hard as its only two days/.week, and I'm not ready to give up...so dont want to force him to wean fulltime....
But then Im thinking maybe if I offer cows milk in a bottle overnight when he wakes..he will either learn to take it...or stop waking...:rolleyes:

the wrong one, so we have to wait until next week for the guy to install it. He is apologetic, but he said it would be done in one day so I am fairly annoyed. We can't stay there at night with big holes in the ceil

My sister had her appointment at the SAN (a hospital here in Syd for those away) re: the gastric banding and she is booked in for next month! She is so excited. She said they were super lovely, ran about 20 minutes late but apoogised profusely for that anyway.. and she said the surgeon was very kind and sensitive and patted her on the arm and said "oh you poor thing!" "That's terrible!" etc. I like him already. She also said the waiting room wasn't too grotty like it was at the other place (massive stains on the chairs and carpets, that sort of thing) and that they had extra wide seat for the extra wide arses. Love it. Am excited for her and myself. I'll make myself an appointment soon, I think.

Well I got into Uni so I am relieved. I had some incompletes on my transcript which converted to fails when I didn't go back to Uni after having Elliot () so I was a bit worried about those. But the Uni I was offered a place at (Macquarie) have distinctions and high distinctions in the same category so my GPA is like.. 3.33 on a 4 point scale so I'm in! Yippee! Feeling quite nervous about juggling home life and Uni as I can barely manage the first on a regular basis without crying or needing a nap, but I think it will be okay. I told DH we just need to be more organised, and he needs to take more responsibility for some household things so that I don't feel like all the weight is on MY shoulders. I think that I might speak to Disability Services at the Uni as well about my anxiety, just so that I have made contact and if things go awry, they're more prepared to deal with me.
I feel upset that a girl from Uni had her baby like.. 2 months ago.. and is finishing Uni, about to start her internship. It makes me feel like a failure. But enough about that. I can't keep comparing myself to other people.

quota met! Ha!

Bugga about the Air Con!

:smiliedance::yelclap: (several more claps and jumpy excited thingys but deleted due to quota) re getting into Uni. ANd yes STOP comparing. You will be fine..and if not, then you will defer until later. You're a youngen. Plenty of time.

And :smiliedance:re the different Dr. Though I msut say I agree with Mo re dont expect much in bedside manner from a surgeon..not many of them have it... Go on how you feel his support team is.

Mrs Molly Coddle
28-06-2009, 00:05
Well its all really a matter of kinda having to. I could stay home on the Single Mums Payment...but it means delaying my mortgage ever being paid off and a very no frills lifestyle. And also I dont feel right about it, when I can work. Though obviously Im not going back fulltime, when I could and not get any benefits at all...but I dont think thats in the best interests of my son, and hence the country in the long run... If that makes sense.

As for BF/expressing. Well I am struggling. So glad I started expressing months ago and freezing as I only get about 50mls a day (more sometimes if I get motivated to do it during the day....thats with staying up late to express. BUt eh little bank is starting to dwindle.
The problem is he wont drink anything else. He sips tiny amounts of water but mostly tips it in his mouth and blows bubbles. Ive tried all sorts of cups and straws etc. He will only drink EBM out of a bottle with a very slow teat. He was pushing away cowsmilk when I tried him so last Saturday I sent him to Mums with a bottle of toddlers formula as I had a sachet from a conference I had gong to before I left work, that was in date. He drank it. Yahoo.. SO I went and brought 2x boxes of the sachets..except they have changed pack, and maybe taste as on Tuesday he refused to drink it but took the bottle of EBM (I usually send him with 2 bottles) Then today he not only refused to drink the formula, threw the bottle ont he floor and refused to look at it even apparently...then wouldnt look at the bottle of EBM either. (Mum heated the whole bottle of precious stuff and left it out of the fridge trying to tempt him ...so 190mls down the drain:crying:)

Consequently he's now having a Boobie fest. Just as I finished my last post he woke and no ignoring was going to work...so slurp slurpp....hense there will be no expressing and adding to the bank tonight:rolleyes:
As of next week and being over his cold I told Mum we will have to be tough. When I work dayshift he will just be offered cows milk or water when I'm not there (may as well get him straight on to that then muck around getting him to take formula if its goinna be a battle). If I work afternoons then he can only be offered cows milk or water until bedtime when he can have EBM. Maybe that way he will start to drink something else. I wouldn't care if it was only water...as he would be getting BF before and after I work. And he eats well enough not to NEED the milk, just the fluid.
I guess it's hard as its only two days/.week, and I'm not ready to give up...so dont want to force him to wean fulltime....
But then Im thinking maybe if I offer cows milk in a bottle overnight when he wakes..he will either learn to take it...or stop waking...:rolleyes:

Bugga about the Air Con!

:smiliedance::yelclap: (several more claps and jumpy excited thingys but deleted due to quota) re getting into Uni. ANd yes STOP comparing. You will be fine..and if not, then you will defer until later. You're a youngen. Plenty of time.

And :smiliedance:re the different Dr. Though I msut say I agree with Mo re dont expect much in bedside manner from a surgeon..not many of them have it... Go on how you feel his support team is.

Can you express in the morning? When I was madwoman pumping for Elliot a while back I couldn't get more than 50mls at night, so fed him from just one side exclusively all night then pumped from the other first thing in the morning before t!t exploded everywhere and I'd get 200mls! I read somewhere that you tend to have more milk in the morning.
Keep up the good work though, you are doing so well.
How long do you leave him for at a time? Maybe give your mum a squirty bottle or chuck him in the bath if he'll drink the bath water if you are worried about him getting dehydrated. I mix ice cubes in with Elliot's food if I give him mush and I nuke it for too long. That's an option as well. Umm.. otherwise.. will he have formula with some cereal or something? What about ice blocks? Just trying to think of hydrating things he can have. Fruits gels are apparently good as well. You can make your own with gelatine or just buy the jars.

And I think you are right about the surgeon. I assume you see them maybe twice throughout the process and are otherwise palmed off to the support staff. Suits me just fine, arrogant buggers. I had a fight with my gallbladder surgeon about how old Elliot was! You would think that you know, seeing as I am his MOTHER I might know how old he was.. but no, no.. he was determined to be right about it. Arrogant!

babywez
28-06-2009, 06:34
Oh dear! I have been up since 3:30! I told DH to go back to bed if he could bc he has to go to SYD for work for 3 days tomorrow morning. So he just got up. Hopefully he'll be on schedule now. Nicklas is irritable and I don't know if its b/c he's off schedule or because he's getting a tooth or what it is. Poor little guy...it breaks my heart.

Nicklas has the walking thing down pretty good now, but of course that's all he wants to do! He wants to be down and walking around. He's also come into his "separation anxiety" stage...big time. And is such a chatterbox! I can't believe how much he has changed in the month we've been away!

He started drinking milk while we were gone, and when we were staying with a friend of mine who is like my second mother, she put him on to this vanilla flavoured almond milk which is soy based...he LOVED IT. Unfortunately he loved it so much he then wouldn't take to regular milk, so I don't know if I'm going to be able to find it here or not. Will have a look today, but might just have to be persistent with regular milk if I can't find it.

Big mission today is to put away all the clothes Nicklas got while we were away. And find my glasses I use for computer/TV...starting to get a headache! Also going to buy some stuff to do a test run on the birthday cake. Nicklas' party is next Sunday!

K8Y how is your kitchen!?

Tiggles good luck with the lice...I don't know what to tell you :confused:

Kyles72
28-06-2009, 08:16
Morning all!

Very quick from me as I have million things to do and we are having visitors for lunch and the house is a tip.....the usual stuff!

happybirthdayMaddie! xx

Lambkin - well done on getting into uni, thats fantastic!:yelclap:I think its a wise idea to have a chat to the Disability Services department if you feel you need to, like you say, it gives them some background of your situation if you need them.

Babywez - welcome back!

Forgot other personals already, sorry guys:hugs:!

Well, Im full of another cold, thank you Liam! It drives me nuts, although Id rather have the cold than him have it.

He slept through last night too!:yelclap::smiliedance: 8.15-7am! But when he woke, Im sure he thought it was his middle of the night wake up, as hes back down now (as of 8.30am) which will probably muck the day up, but what do you do when your bub is tired?

Gotta go. Ive got BIL and SIL coming for lunch as they couldnt make it for Liams birthday party last week. This SIL can be a real idiot at times, let's see what pearls of wisdom she has for me this week:rolleyes:

Will be back to chat and post personals tonight, until then, happy Sunday all and take care

c38
28-06-2009, 08:51
Morning all
Well what a boobfest lastnight. Little rotter was up at hmm 11,1,4....then came into my bed and practically inhaled my booob until about 20minutes ago when we got up (kinda bonus that he slept until 9 but,it was broken sleep so I feel wreked)

Lambkin: This probably sounds cruel but to be honest I'd not all that fussed if he doesnt drink for the 81/2 hours he's away from me. Apart from if its an afternoon shift (1-1015pm) as I would like to think hes had something before he goes to bed. I truely believe he WILL drink something if he's thirsty enough. And he's not going to dehydrate in that time, espescially as he does eat well. And besides he obviously catches up once I'm home... as demonstrated by lastnight...:laughing:

Babywez.. Jetlag sux. Hopefully a day or two and you'll be ok. Take some piccies of all the new clothes..we wanna see (well I do!)

Kyles72.. Hope you feel better and your relies are not too painful.

I saw a thread on here lastnight where someone has invited people to share photos of how their houses REALLY look most of the time. There were lots of comments about hiding dirty dishes in the oven when visiters come...Must admit Ive never thought of that...I usually just leave them:o I do throw things in cupboards and drawers indiscriminately (only to not be able to find them for weeks) and into the spare room , on a lastminute previsiter frenzy. MInd you I duno why I bother as my house always looks pretty lived in anyhow. I'm afraid I don't have MOS skill at decorating so everythings kind of shoved places mostly anyhow...and with childproofing as you go...the piling is just getting higher and higher

Mrs Molly Coddle
28-06-2009, 12:00
Lambkin: This probably sounds cruel but to be honest I'd not all that fussed if he doesnt drink for the 81/2 hours he's away from me. Apart from if its an afternoon shift (1-1015pm) as I would like to think hes had something before he goes to bed. I truely believe he WILL drink something if he's thirsty enough. And he's not going to dehydrate in that time, espescially as he does eat well. And besides he obviously catches up once I'm home... as demonstrated by lastnight...:laughing:

It doesn't sound cruel at all! Sounds like quite a sensible way to look at it

Mum of Midgeys
28-06-2009, 14:25
Hey Girls,

happybirthday Maddie! Hope it's a great day, and hope you day a wonderful day for your birthday too, Bonbon!

Ummm..... personals...

Kotakai - thanks for the price... unfortunately there's no way my DP will pay that for a pram :(. Tightbottom he is. lol. No, well, he's not, but he doesn't always want to spend money the way I would... therefore, when it doesn't suit me, he's a tightbottom. lol. We did see a tandem in Big W today....gawd, i can't even remember what it was called, but it was only $300, and it looked like it would do the job. Possibly a bit longer than what I would like, but both seats reclined, lots of leg room, big basket underneath. Think that'll be what we get.

MOS - re: the vacuum, I usually carry Khirra around with me when I'm vacuuming, and before I turn it on I make sure I say 'okay, ready? Big noise, remember: WHHIIRRRRR? Okay, go!' Just because I had one kid in CC that just lost it when we had to vacuum, poor thing. She always had to be with a carer, at the other end of the room getting reassured. And I also said poo to you for the ease of weight-loss, lol. Kidding. Have you cut down on any BFs hun? My mum has told me she never lost weight while BF, but when she started to ween, it just started dropping off... maybe that's it? Hope it doesn't become a concern hun :hugs: (Enjoy it in the meantime!!!!)

Babywez - Yaaaay, you're back! We missed you! And your splurge sounds lovely! I've never gotten a nice purse/bag before... ah well, might be able to drop hints to DP in years to come.

K8y - hehehe, Sums is just gorgeous in her vid... haven't seen the nudie version, but that would just be precious - so funny how they wave as they go:"Yes, thank you to all my fans - I'm very clever. No need for applause, just throw money" lol And yeah... you're DP is doing a bl00dy good job at building suspense with the ring! We want to see the bling!! (some of us are depending on you to get it so we can live vicariously through you) :p Are ya sore from Spin? Good girl, though!

Tiggles - :hugs: for the lice. Of course you aren't dirty people hun, lol. That's no doubt the problem, like MOS said, they thrive in clean hair. Have you tried putting baby oil in the girls hair? This can make it hard to the nits to live in, and like above, they don't like greasy. Maybe give it a go?

C38 - Glad Mr G is feeling better. lol.. I read what he gets up to sometimes, and I honestly would dread if he and Khirra teamed up together. I think two mini cyclones would destroy a room in about 2 seconds flat!

Lambkin - Glad your sister's surgeon sounds better hun. Hopefully things can happen for you from here! And yay for you getting into Uni! I'm sure you've said a thousand times, but what are you studying? Honestly, I think you girls studying are AMAZING. I just don't think my brain/motivation would be up to it, lol.

Kyles - Yay for the sleep through! Bugger about the cold again, poor thing :hugs: Once your immune system is down, huh? Hope you feel better soon....good luck with the SIL's worldly wisdom, lol.

Not a lot here. Just feeling tired and blegh. Khirra's turning into a bit of a muck-around-Freddy when it's time for sleeps lately. Not crying or anything, just being cheeky, hopping up, trying to talk/play with me. She's tired; just delaying the envitable, lol. Little monkey.

Anyway, might go grab my books and go lie on the couch... tummy's a bit more wobbly today than it has been, darn it.

k8y
28-06-2009, 15:24
ems yes my fanny bones are sore more then anything else :laughing: it was awesome though, because it was fun, had variety and went really quick! (the time that is).
You still have a while yet to get your pram. Maybe in a few months, some shorter version might have come out?

c38 I do that too, shovel stuff into the spare room and shut the door :o
Re the milk, all I can say is persistence is the key. Remember my drama's with Sums and the bottle and formula? god what a nightmare that was. The only thing that did it was persistence. Sums drank cows milk for 2 days in a row and now doesn't want it, so I'm just going to keep persisting. With her lunch that is. I'm going to start the formula/cows milk ratio in her bottles tomorrow too.

happybirthday Maddie!!! xoxo hope your having a lovely party.

tiggles I woke up this morning thinking of your lice problem and thought what a twat I am, saying mum used to braid our hair tight during lice outbreaks. Like you could do that with miss c :rolleyes:

Kyles ohhhhh dear. Not another dratted cold, poor thing :hugs: I agree though, much rather us having it then our little ones. Its so much harder to see them sick and unhappy.

babywez that milk sounds very $$$ hope you can get Nicklas to take normal cows milk. As I said with c38, persistence!
I saw the slide video and yes, he has grown up so much. Brave little fella attempting that all on his own!

MOS there must be something wrong, I don't see a post from you in here today? :p

lambkin I have run out of smilies but big happy leaps and claps for your uni! Yay!!! Congrats, just take each day with it as it comes and you'll get there!
That surgeon sounds much better too. Wow and your sister is booked in so quickly. At least then she can be your guinea pig lol.....

Today we went to a friends bubs 1st birthday party at the park. Had a nice time. Sums got handed around between our neighbours (whom she loves) so she had a great time. LOVED the choc mud birthday cake (DP, Sums and I all shared one piece) it was her first taste of choc mud cake so I think that is the flavour I'll be going for for her party. She doesn't eat much anyway, so she'll only have a few bites. I'll just make the ganache with milk choc rather then dark so it's not too rich.
Have to balance out by eating healthy tonight, but at least I did spin class today and dondons if I've gained any weight in the last 2 days, I'm going with my Saturdays weigh in for tomorrow lol!!!

Thinking of getting a DVD tonight, not sure, am pretty tired. Wouldn't mind seeing the Benjamin Button movie.

smog
28-06-2009, 15:42
happybirthday maddie!!!!!

i got 5 hrs straight sleep last night:smiliedance:

:yelclap: lambkin congrats on getting in

c38 dylan was an absolute monkey to get off the boob:hugs: mr g will get there

ems:hugs: hope u are feeling better

k8y mm choc mud cake yummo

think dylan is getting more teeth, he already has 8 but he has been mr cranky pants and very dribbly, shirts last him about 15 mins at best..lucky i love washing ..not

only a few more days till dh gets home:smiliedance: hopefully he wont be going back either

chaiseandlarasmummy
28-06-2009, 16:01

Happy birthday Summer, i just saw that vid on fb, so cute. I love the little walker/pram she will get heaps of use out of that.

Happy Birthday Maddie, hope you had a greay day and it wasn't too emotional for u. I did get very upset on Laras birthday.

Congrats on ttc SMo3, that is such a big step going from 3 -4 with cars, houses ect but you sound like an awesome mum! How quickly did u fall with your other children?

i've been feeling a bit sick this week not sure whats wrong. I feel like i want to throw up all the time and have headaches everyday. No am not pregnant, not possible my dh is making very very sure of that..lol..Am seeing the doc on tueday so will ask then if still feeling yuk.

Are there many still bf? We are down to 1 feed a day but i'm thinking it is time to finish up. I feed Lara early in the morning at like 5am or so then we go back to sleep in my bed but this morning it was not till 7.30 so i was awake when feeding and realised she wasn't really takng much milk at all its more like a comfort sucking but now she has started to bite when she pulls off and that hurts. I'm a bit sad to stop and i will miss that special time but i do get lots of beautiful cuddles from her everyday so it's not like i wont get other special one on one time. Silly really..

Hope everyone has had a fantastic weekend

tiggles
28-06-2009, 17:10

Hope everyone is well, have been madly trying to catch up on everyone's news.

Well, we de loused all four of us, and DP is the only one who doesnt have them, only 2 on Miss A and about 6 on Miss C, poor DH had to fine tooth comb my hair (its very thick and rather curly and long, about mid back, so DH had a job cut out for himself, poor bugger.

This lice problem has been out of control now for about 2 months (Ive tried everything from the conditioner method to chemicals, treat DD1, then everynight fine tooth comb, then treat again in 7 days, find they are all gone, and bang she has them back again next week), anyway, 2 months ago 2 little boys have moved in next door, Ive mentioned it numerous times to their Mum, and she always says I check the boys and they never have them. Big co incidence as the time they have lived there we have been riddled with lice. Dont know what to do, cant stop DD1 playing with them.

Was it SMof3 that mentioned the robicomb? My girlfriend also uses one and swears by it, but at about $60 Ive put off buying one, so Im going to speak to the Dr tommorrow when I go in for my contraception chat.

God Im scratching as Im typing, lol.

Miss c was up all night again last night, not sure if it was teeth or itchy head. Shes asleep now thank goodness.

Now off to do some washing.

smog
28-06-2009, 18:51
Congrats on ttc SMo3, that is such a big step going from 3 -4 with cars, houses ect but you sound like an awesome mum! How quickly did u fall with your other children?

aww thanks:o. yeah it no a big deal in our house, dylan has a really big room and could share and we are in the mist of renovations anyway that will gives another 2 rooms so not a big deal. the car ill have to sort out..sucks a bit as seems like there arent many choices and ill have to part with like 10k:hissy: to get anything decent. first 2 kiddies were planned but early;) like 10 yrs early lol. so dylan was the only one we were actually trying for, got him in the first month..but you never know what can happen so hopefully i am blessed with another little bundle fairly quickly. im a little bit worried as i am the most overweight i have ever been in my whole life:o so im a bit concerned it make take longer

tiggles i responded to your other thread about robicomb..i start scratching whenever i even think of nits

would u believe all my kiddies are asleep:D. so im off for an early night as no doubt dylan will be up at 2 am thinking its morning:rolleyes:

night all

babywez
28-06-2009, 19:03
Ems how far along are you in your PGcy? Has your MS gone away?? I'm a little envious! Not of the MS, of the bub on the way! How exciting. I still don't have AF back, and I'm wondering if it has anything to do with having had 2 shots of the depo provera. Was someone asking about that on here the other day? I had 2 rounds of it (3 months apart, so Feb and May) before the Dr said, "Do you want more children?" and when I said "Yes" she (a diff dr than the one who first put me on it) said that wasn't the best product to be using, and recommended the implanon. But by that point DH and I had decided that we'd forego BC and whatever was meant to be would be. But it doesn't seem like anything is meant to be yet!

K8Y cake Q for you if you don't mind...where do you get fondant from? I looked in the grocery store today, they had marzipan, and I thought I remembered you saying not to use marzipan? I bought the food colouring and cake ingredients to do a test run this week. Also do you think ganache is better than buttercream frosting? One website I have been getting tips from mentioned the frosting instead of ganache.

Tiggles I was checking out a website of a kids haircut place today for Nick's first cut. I have to get it done this week sometime, as he was called a "she" twice in our last week of vacation...even though he's almost ALWAYS in blue! Anyway, getting sidetracked, their website under their products section recommends "eco.kid" which contains head lice preventative in all their products in addition to having a specific headlice treatment. They are all organic, so I don't know if they're any good at all or if this company is paid to push this product, I'm sure there are tons of similiar products around, but thought I would pass on the info. I read it about 5 minutes after I said "I dont' know what to tell you" HAHA.

Good news is Nicklas has had 2 bottles of cows milk today, so don't have to worry about tracking down the $$$ stuff for him!

I am trying desperately to stay awake a bit later tonight so I'm not wide awake at 3:30 am. I had a nap this arvo, but nowhere near as long as yesterday's, so hopefully that will make it easier too.

DH goes to SYD tomorrow am early for 3 days. He's missing Nick's actual first birthday, but since he'll be here for the party, I guess that's not too big a deal.

Ok I'm rambling just to keep myself awake, but I'm spamming, so I'll go find a facebook game to play or something :p

tiggles
28-06-2009, 19:10
SMOf3, Ive ordered the Robicomb just now - EXPRESS POST! Gee I hope it works!

babywez, thanks for the info, Ive tried conditioner, organic, natural and the chemicals that are really nasty, to no avail. Either its the kids next door or kids in the class who's parents just ignore the problem. Im at my wits end, lol, seriously thinking maybe if I put her in a private school the parents might be more dilegent, very expensive idea...

mosac
28-06-2009, 19:29
Just a quickie. I snapped at DH tonight as I was trying to FEED Sam to sleep. Sam was squirming and not interested and DH shrugged his shoulders and said "Oh just give up then" when I put him down.

So here we are - in Sam's room after 28 mins of screaming. Sam's standing up rubbing his eyes and DH and I are sitting next to his cot. He's getting tired but have no idea how he's going to just lay down and go to sleep.

Welcome to night 1 of the Sleep Sense method... I've been crying already. Poor neighbours. :crying:

DH asked me if giving him a dummy for night time only might help. We took it off him when this sh!t started happening. Should I give it back and see how he goes? I don't know... :hair:

smog
28-06-2009, 19:38
yes im still lurking just remembered rove is on
mos how long has he been without the dummy?
if its more than a few days i probably wouldnt give it back now
im no expert(see all my baby wont sleep whinging posts) but dylan does go to sleep by himself(just wont stay asleep). the way we teach him to put himself to sleep is i set him in the cot with toys to play and i busy myself in his room hanging clothes ironing whatever..almost making a game of it. then id wander in and out of the room putting washing away etc. at first he would cry when i left but he got used to me coming and going. then few more days id just stay out longer and longer. then id take some toys back out etc all over a few weeks. ive had to retrain him a few times though as we go out a lot he gets used to sleeping in the car and forgets how to do it himself. all babies are diff though. dd absolutely had to be fed to sleep drove me crazy
:hugs: good luck

Mrs Molly Coddle
28-06-2009, 22:12
ems - I am doing Primary Teaching at Uni. Well.. I've been accepted into a Bachelor of Arts with a Dip Ed, whereas before I was doing a B Teaching/B Arts.. so I guess more Arts stuff now. :) I love teaching though. I can't wait until I am a teacher! But I also love writing and cultural studies so best of both worlds with the new degree, hopefully.

chaiseandlarasmummy - I am still bFing Elliot but probably 2-3 times during the day and just.. endless BFing at night. I totally hear where you are coming from. Elliot is the same. I feel like it is just comfort sucking majority of the time and I also get that painful ripping off at the end bit with the biting. Ouch. :hugs: You've done brilliantly to go this long though so don't feel bad about wanting to stop. I have mixed feelings about it and didn't realise it would be such a hard decision to make.

smo3-soon-to-be-smo4 - I grew up with 3 siblings and we had a Mitsubish Starwagon, known affectionately as the 'bongo van'. It was so awesome! Mum could fit a whole heap of stuff in there, she could climb in to strap in my little brother etc. There was always room for bikes or furniture or whathaveyou. Don't go past the van in your travels! I would get one if I had more than 3 kiddies.

MOS - About the dummy, what were your reasons for getting rid of it? I think it would be a shame to undo the good work you've done in getting rid of it, but I guess the jury is out on whether or not it's easier to wean it from an older baby when you can bribe them with the idea of a Dummy Fairy or something. Do you know what I mean? Ultimately it's your decision. My heart goes out to you

Said as Elliot starts crying for the 5 time since bed time..
4 breastfeeds later, also.

:hair::hair:

c38
28-06-2009, 22:29
:hugs::hugs::hugs:
MOS its really hard infact I think, one of the hardest things listening to them so distressed over such a seemingly simple thing as closing your eyes and going to sleep..
You would have seen my posts and know I've had issues with G. And I still dont have it down pat. Some sleeps are easy.. just put him in his bed and off he goes, others a bit less so..he crys a bit and I need to go and reassure him. Others are just plain traumatic..he screams and screams and I end up getting him up and calmoing him, sometimes BF him to sleep only to put him down and he will wake and freak again,,,and on and on it will go....some nights until 11pmish. I did try the sit in the room thing, and I used to put a hand on him or at least in the bed so he could lie down and feel me..but it didnt really work for him, I find he gets more frustrated. He does better if I give him a kiss and walk out. But it took a while to get to that and hes definatly better with day sleeps then going to bed at night.
Basically there is no one simple answer, every bubs is different as is what sits right with you as parents.
Don't lose heart though. Its a big thing to learn, when hes been in the same room as you guys for so long and mostly been BF to sleep. Any method will take a while to work.
You may find it's easier to be firm and consistant with not feeding or rocking or whatever to sleep for day sleeps to start with as you are less tired and so is he. It does make for long days though as it means you more or less need to be home for evey sleep for a few days until he gets the hang of it.

Babywez I'm glad I wasn't the only one who couldn't find fondent in the supermarket...I had to ask:o... Its near the sugar products..rather then near the cake stuff like the marzipan...:rolleyes: Godness only knows why.

c38
28-06-2009, 23:02
C&L's mum. I am still BF too. G Bfs hmm probably 4x during the day and once or twice overnight (he sometimes wakes at 1am. If he doesnt settle after 10minutes or is really screaming then Ill feed him and put him back in his own bed. More often he wakes sometime between 3-6am when I put him into bed with me and he sucks on and off for goodness knows how long or how many time and it probably is mostly just comfort..but I sleep through it..LOL

I am in no hurray to wean him completely. In fact Id like to keep some BF going at least until the Summer months and the flu season is over. However as I've returned a couple of days per week to work I'd like him to start drinking other things so that I don't feel the need to express so much. I'm happy to provide a bottle of EBM for pre bedtime on the days I work afternoons, but would love for him to drink more water and/or cowsmilk when Im not there during the day. Basically I'd be happy to cut down to morning and night feeds. But I dont see it happening soon:o:o

Lambkin I will definatly feel sad when he weans completely. Though I wont still be feeding him at 7!!...:laughing::laughing: I think at this stage 3 would be my definate cut off, if it doesn't happen before.:yes:

bonbon
28-06-2009, 23:32
Just a quick one to say hi! Im EXHAUSTED. Been a crazy weekend, had a great bday on Sat. DH organised a surprise party at a Japanese Restaurant cos he didnt want my bday to be overlooked by Maddies all the time, so it was nice! The restaurant had a room with a glass wall with a big kids room to play in, very cool!! We had like 7 high chairs and about 10 kids in total so it was perfect . Maddie got me a heart pendant lol. and I finally got my Dyson!!
Then today was maddies party. Was really good, but so tiring. Had about 10 kids as well, they had a ball in the big bouncy castle/ball pit and we played pass the parcel etc and then food and cake. Maddie got SO many presents it was unbelievable. She got so spoilt. WIll post some pics soon.

Will reply to you gals that PM me in the next day or two i promise!
:wave:to everyone else.

c38 and CL's mummy, Im still BF too, and I didnt think it would be so hard to give up!! I dont think I really want to , but yeh.
Mos how did Sam go with the sleeping?
Babywez welcome home! Poor bubba is probably jetlagged!

babywez
29-06-2009, 05:46
Thanks BonBon! I think you're right about Nicklas. He slept about 10 1/2 hours last night (waking up twice and taking the boob train back to sleep). Hopefully today will be a bit more normal. I think I was up around 5 or so. DH left at 4:30 this morning for SYD. I've gone from being around other people 24/7 for the last 4 weeks, to being just me and the kid for 3 days. I miss DH already and really wish he wasn't in SYD this week. Going to be a loooooong 3 days I think.

Nicklas has NEVER just fallen asleep on his own, and aside from 2 straight weeks where he slept through the night, has always woken at least once a night. I've told myself that he'll grow out of it and will eventually "get it" but I'm starting to wonder if he really will. I think our next bub will catch on quick...b/c there'll be no room for him/her in our bed with Nicklas in there!!!

Thanks C38 - will go check out the sugar section today. We also have a cake shop not far away, might check out there, too.

I put Nicklas in his high chair this morning and got up to get something, the cheeky monkey pulled the spoon out of his porridge and ptu it in his mouth!!! He hasnt' got the scooping motion down yet, but he knows what's supposed to happen. He put the spoon back in the porridge but didn't get much on it, so I kept feeding him. He's giving himself his bottle, walking, clapping, waving...I totally understand women have bubs so close together. They grow up so quickly!

k8y
29-06-2009, 08:26
K8Y cake Q for you if you don't mind...where do you get fondant from? I looked in the grocery store today, they had marzipan, and I thought I remembered you saying not to use marzipan? I bought the food colouring and cake ingredients to do a test run this week. Also do you think ganache is better than buttercream frosting? One website I have been getting tips from mentioned the frosting instead of ganache.

You can get it from the supermarket. I get mine from my cake decorating store or online. I find the supermarkets don't have the best brands.
Ganache vs buttercream is a personal preference. You can use either. I prefer ganache because I find it keeps the cake fresher and makes it easier to get the sharp edge finish I like and it's easier to get fondant nice and smooth.
Plus I prefer the taste. I don't like the butterey taste of buttercream, though I use a recipe that uses more sugar then buttercream. I don't mind it on cupcakes to get the nice swirl but you have to be careful when you want coloured buttercream, it's hard to get the exact colour you want as what your mixing in is added to the yellow butter colour. You can use vegetable shortening instead of butter but I hate the taste and find it leaves a fatty film in your mouth.

Daisy Boo
29-06-2009, 12:32
happybirthdayBonbon and Maddie

I was going to ask, do babies actually wean themselves? The reason Im asking is that the last few days Maddie hasnt been feeding as long as usual, and will feed for a few minutes then cry and get frustrated, so Im wondering whether my milk isnt as aplenty as usual or is she weaning herself? I cant tell if my supply is ok, cos Ive never had that full feeling before a feed IYKWIM? So anyway, tonite before bed, she fed, fussed, i changed sides, she did the same thing, i put her in bed she cried etc, so I went and made a 200ml bottle up and she drank the whole thing, i burped her and she is sound asleep and has been for hours now. So what is with that? She isnt normally like that? Why would she drink a bottle instead? ANy advice?

Michael self weaned at 8 months. He was just accepting it gradually less and less until he was only having it at night. And then he stopped that as he was sleeping through the night. Do you want her to wean herself? If not I would speak to the ABA and see if they have any ideas.

Welcome home Babywez

MOS - Michael hates hates hates the vaccum cleaner. As I'm vaccuming he holds on to me and I drag him along. It's funny though because babies are meant to love white noise and they recommend it to help put them to sleep as that's what it sounds like in our tummies. I guess they outgrow it.

Well I got into Uni so I am relieved. I had some incompletes on my transcript which converted to fails when I didn't go back to Uni after having Elliot (:rolleyes:) so I was a bit worried about those. But the Uni I was offered a place at (Macquarie) have distinctions and high distinctions in the same category so my GPA is like.. 3.33 on a 4 point scale so I'm in! Yippee! Feeling quite nervous about juggling home life and Uni as I can barely manage the first on a regular basis without crying or needing a nap, but I think it will be okay. I told DH we just need to be more organised, and he needs to take more responsibility for some household things so that I don't feel like all the weight is on MY shoulders. I think that I might speak to Disability Services at the Uni as well about my anxiety, just so that I have made contact and if things go awry, they're more prepared to deal with me.
I feel upset that a girl from Uni had her baby like.. 2 months ago.. and is finishing Uni, about to start her internship. It makes me feel like a failure. :( But enough about that. I can't keep comparing myself to other people.

And there's elliot. waaaaah

:ecomcity:
:sunshine:
quota met! Ha!

I've heard lots of good things about the SANS. So you can't go wrong. DH wanted us to have have the kids there but it's too far away from us.

Congratulations on getting into uni. And don't worry about what anyone else is doing. Just look foward.

Well last night we were Kirilly free. We went to visit mum and dad and to pick up Daisy our dog as she spends the weekend there. Kirilly decided she wanted to stay at grandmas house. The only reason is because my brother has a new puppy and she thinks it's hers. Anyway apparently 5 minutes after we left she wanted mummy but then forgot.

So I thought cool Michael will be asleep by 7pm and DH and I will have a kid free night. :smiliedance:How wrong was I??? Michael decided he didn't want to sleep until 9.30pm. There went my kid free night.

mosac
29-06-2009, 13:41
mos how long has he been without the dummy?

About 3 weeks. We took it away when we moved. I didn't notice any difference or anything but looking back, he simply replaced it with my (.)(.)'s. :rolleyes:

MOS - About the dummy, what were your reasons for getting rid of it? I think it would be a shame to undo the good work you've done in getting rid of it, but I guess the jury is out on whether or not it's easier to wean it from an older baby when you can bribe them with the idea of a Dummy Fairy or something. Do you know what I mean? Ultimately it's your decision. My heart goes out to you

No particular reason for getting rid of it but DH and I both thought it would be easier now rather than later since he doesn't understand it as much now. And no hard work done but I'm thinking it may be easier to lose it once the BF has ended. That way I don't get into the habit of letting him "ride the booby train back to the land of nod"... (thanks Babywez, but Sam OWNS the booby-train so I stole your phrase! :D).

Anyway we bought one today and will give it a go tonight. If it keeps him sleeping through the night or at least more than 2 hours, then I don't care. As you said you've been doing with Elliott, I too have been feeding Sam on and off all night and I'm just so exhausted. Maybe the security of the dummy will keep him asleep and content while he settles in his own room, etc. Maybe taking it away from him as he was getting 2 teeth at the same time AND moving home was a little too much. Maybe I'm making excuses.

And I do think reasoning with Sam about giving the dummy to the check-out lady in Target in exchange for a new toy will have to work when the time comes. For now though, if this bl00dy thing works, its all cool and the dummy will only be used for night sleeps.

Mos how did Sam go with the sleeping?

Well after 40 mins of screaming it wasn't getting any less intense so I picked him up and BF him and he was asleep within 2 mins. I feel so stupid and weak. I hate this sleeping cr@p. :hair: Anyway he sobbed in his sleep for the next half hour or so and then woke at 11:30pm which is heaps better than he normally does but nowhere near as good as I would have hoped. At 11:30 I was so exhausted and half asleep I brought him into our bed and fell asleep feeding him.

I feel like a failure. I'm not strong enough to be able to be consistent enough to make any of these CC techniques work. It's just not me... but I kind of think it needs to be done for him to learn. I so hope the dummy helps us.

bonbon
29-06-2009, 15:07
:hugs:MOS your not a failure! Just because you dont like to let your little boy scream and cry doesnt mean your a failure. Its not normal as a mum to see your bubba crying and not want to soothe them. If you think that you are going to have to do it to teach him to sleep etc then can you get your DH to do bedtimes while you go for a drive/get a coffee etc. And just tell yourself that you are doing it to help him. I remember once when Maddie was REALLY bad at going to bed at nite , I was getting frustrated, DH and i were snapping at each other, so he told me to go visit my mum, so I left, feeling like crap! But I came back an hour later, she was sound asleep and slept for about 8 hours straight. DH said she cried for about 45 mins. Not hysterical though. And dont get me wrong, I dont believe in CC at all, but it was a last resort for us. I mean , Maddie isnt the greatest sleeper, still wakes once or twice a nite but yeh. Your not a failure, its friggen hard!

babywez
29-06-2009, 18:32
Have you SE QLDers seen the news about the sex offender who has been released on bail on the conditions that he lives with his mum and reports to police once a week? yeah well apparently he was already ON those conditions when he offended again, and now not only is he out on bail, but he's living on a street that has like, 14 kids on it, and a shool and daycare around the corner. :hair: WTF is wrong with our justice system when repeat sex offenders can be walking free?!

As for other news, I'm a bit over the Michael Jackson stuff already. How long will it last do you think?!

Nick has been asleep since 5! I think he's out for the night, I'm just worried his "night" will only be until about 3 am or something! I'm going to get going to bed too, I think...just in case I'm up at 3 am!

k8y
29-06-2009, 19:37
babywez I heard that too. Just what society needs :banghead: ridiculous.

I too am over MJ already. Hear his songs everynight now :rolleyes:

MOS :hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:
You get the rest of my smilies. I hope you work it out and am sorry I am not much help. I do understand though when your little one cries its hard to not reach out and soothe them when they are crying for you to do just so. I can't offer any suggestions except to say that the shush/pat worked for me but every bub is so different.

Sums has conjunctivitis. If it's not one thing it's another (pull hair out smilie here). I have some drops for her as it didn't clear up with just warm water washing her eyes regularly. Hope it clears soon poor poppet. She woke up this morning and her eyes were all crusted up. It's a wonder she slept through the night.

Is conjunctivitis painful? Should I be offering her panadol with this??? (insert confused smilie here).

SMO3 what happened with your smilie petition lol....

babywez are you going to try your cake again. Do as suggested on FB and also, let your cake cool in the tin completely. I would go as far as to say cook it in the arvo and let it cool in the tin overnight. I do that with muds. They are so heavy, they need time to settle.
If you need any further help, just PM me (insert thumbs up smilie here!). I would really recommend the foil thing though. I have a fave blog and she shows what to do with pics so I am happy to PM you the link if you like? Let me know.

Kyles72
29-06-2009, 19:37
Evening all!

Apologies in advance if this post makes no sense, but Im exhausted - Liam was up at 5am, managed to resettle him by 5.30am, I went back to bed and promptly had a coughing fit that lasted until 6am, when I decided to get up. Then I thought work would be easy as I was on the telling line......WRONG!!! 3 staff short, and EVERYONE leaving stuff until the last minute, demanding that their funds have to be in their superannuation accounts by end of financial year, (sound familiar Tiggles?:rolleyes:) and those transactions are more complicated ones. .......anyway, no-ones interested in my work, so I'll change topic.

Re: the BF conversations. I only bf Liam when he woke overnight, but the other night he slept through, and this morning I resettled him without boobie. They have to be empty anyway, as its been 48 hours and I dont feel anything......am hoping that by dropping the overnight comfort booby suck, Liam wont wake as much, therefore sleeping through longer:fingerscrossed:

Re the visit from the IL's. My stupid SIL didnt even turn up. She rang on Saturday asking what we wanted for Liams birthday, and then when DH asked my BIL where she was on Sunday, our reply was "In bed, hungover" WTF!!! This was at lunchtime on Sunday! Shes 42!! DH asked if the previous night was a big one, my BIL said no, they just watched a DVD - and she got so wasted she couldnt get up in time for lunch for her nephew's first birthday. Ahhhh, she never fails to disappoint me:rolleyes:

As for other news, I'm a bit over the Michael Jackson stuff already. How long will it last do you think?!
!

Oh, its gonna drag on and on, all the freaks will come out, probably more child molestation claims, just like the whole Anna Nicole Smith thing.

Anyway, Im going to have an extra early night, this coughing is exhausting. Sorry for the lack of personals, but Im reading and keeping up.

Hope all bubs sleep long and peacefully, and all Mums have a great night. Take care:flowerz:

mosac
29-06-2009, 19:53
Thanks Bonbon. DH and I get snappy at each other too when we go through the sleep stuff. I think I'm the one who snaps the most TBH. I dread bedtime now.

OK update on tonight:

Put him in his cot at 7:40pm, he went apesh!t, I let him cry for 10 mins, wasn't calming down. I went in there, he got worse, I cuddled him and he calmed down, put him back in the cot and as I was leaning over, he gripped the flab on the back of my arms for dear life and started shrieking. So I put him in the cot and sat down with my arms in it, patting the mattress until he sat down. When he finally did, he put his face up against mine between the bars and sobbed "mum-mum-mum-mum-mum" with his face all wet from tears and his snot running into his mouth. So I wiped his nose with the sleeve of my PJ's and cupped his face, laid him down and patted his back, stroking his face. I told him what we were going to do tomorrow, then stopped the face stroking, then stopped the back patting, just left my hand on his back as he drifted off. Every now and then he'd open his eyes and make sure I was still there.

The upside is that tonight, it only took 30 mins in total to get him to sleep.

I'm going to do as SMO3 suggested with his day naps - put him in the cot with a few things to play with while I iron in his room and take the clothes out into our room to put them away one by one. This way he'll learn I always do come back.

I hope it really does get better from here. Tonight has given me hope...

Thanks for your help and support ladies. :hugs:

mosac
29-06-2009, 20:04
Is conjunctivitis painful? Should I be offering her panadol with this??? (insert confused smilie here).

k8y, it feels like you've got something stuck in your eye and makes you want to scratch it out but it's not painful. Just make sure you help her open her eyes with some warm water in the mornings. I hope it clears up soon. :hugs:

:hugs: Kyles, I hope your cough goes away soon. And what a shame about your SIL... sounds like someone needs to grow up!

We're watching "How I Met Your Mother" and are in stitches! I LOVE THIS SHOW! Barney cracks me up BIG TIME! :laughing:

k8y
29-06-2009, 20:31
Awww MOS the little buggers make us feel so guilty eh? lol.... Hope tomorrow is a better day with the ironing in room trial :fingerscrossed:

Kyles I am most interested in hearing about your day :shame:
I spent all last night working on my friends tax returns so they could get the bonus (couldn't do it earlier with uni just had no spare time), then in the office all afternoon getting them processed and lodged :rolleyes:

I've had no time to organise Sums cake stuff for her party on Sunday and now she won't be in CC tomorrow because of her eyes so tomorrow is going to put me behind. I want to do fruit/veg shop, go into executive chef in southbank to get my cake supplies, I have to sand the windowsills as DP has it in his head the loungeroom painting must be finished before Sums party and buy a new tv for there to hang on the wall, which means he says he wants the new lowline tv unit so I have to shop for that, plus shop for the blinds for the loungeroom too. Tues night I have spin class with a friend. Then Weds a friend has holidays so I am suppose to be spending the day with her, then bake my cake in the afternoon. Thursday I am down the coast. I have a brow wax in morning, then drive down coast for 11.30am hair colour. Am getting all over foils so that will take hours with my long hair. Get home, ganache cake, take DP out for dinner/movie for his birthday (he wanted a quiet one) plus somewhere in there I have to think of what to buy him and shop for his present. Next door babysitting for us!
Friday DP volunteered us for drinks with a couple of friends of his. We also this week have to go to Ikea to get the handles for the kitchen cupboards, am tired of trying to pry them open with my fingernails to get a bloody fork lol, and the kitchen sink MUST be sorted so we can get the bench cut.

Plus that will be decorating cake day.
Saturday, shopping for Sundays party and doing the housework. I was hoping tonight to do the butterflies for the cake but I'm too tired. Time for a shower now, then lay in bed to watch Supernatural with my two darling boyfriends, Sam and Dean mmmm hubba! Sorry ladies, I know you cop my drool over this show every week :D

Me thinks I need some lists happening :yes:

I thought I was on HOLIDAYS lol :hair:

stg
29-06-2009, 21:07
W. The last 2 days he's had late morning naps and VERY late arvo naps which has left him hyper until around 10pm.

THats what Charlotte did for a couple weeks before she transitioned to 1 nap a day

i got 5 hrs straight sleep last night

YAY!!! IM SO HAPPY FOR YOU !!

Sums has conjunctivitis.

POOR TYKE! She hasnt been having a good run at all aww

OK update on tonight:

Put him in his cot at 7:40pm, he went apesh!t, I let him cry for 10 mins, wasn't calming down. I went in there, he got worse, I cuddled him and he calmed down, put him back in the cot and as I was leaning over, he gripped the flab on the back of my arms for dear life and started shrieking. So I put him in the cot and sat down with my arms in it, patting the mattress until he sat down. When he finally did, he put his face up against mine between the bars and sobbed "mum-mum-mum-mum-mum" with his face all wet from tears and his snot running into his mouth. So I wiped his nose with the sleeve of my PJ's and cupped his face, laid him down and patted his back, stroking his face. I told him what we were going to do tomorrow, then stopped the face stroking, then stopped the back patting, just left my hand on his back as he drifted off. Every now and then he'd open his eyes and make sure I was still there.

THat is PURE melt your heart stuff.. I couldn't help just saying, "awwwww" out loud when reading it. And aww you were such a loving mummy the way you handled it.
Fingers crossed things get easier for you.

With me I havent even touched the Cot :(
She has her bottle at night, she drinks it up, then hands it to me while saying "TA"
I take it off her, roll her onto her side and I just sit up in bed beside her (she in my bed) and watch tv and she goes off without me touching her wihtin 5-10 min. Sometimes she babbles for a bit first, some times she tries to get up - I just lay her back down

She is so so good.. I dont even touch or talk to her... AS LONG AS I AM THERE. I feel like its such good progress to get her to that point, but how to change my bed to her bed, and me there to not, I have NO idea.. was kinda thinking of tackling it when the weather warms up a bit :( I dunno how to do it.

Though she DOES wake up a few times a night just to check im there, if im still up she will sit up and cry til I come lay her down, and resettling only takes minutes

Though tonight she wouldnt go back to sleep and I realised its molars. She has all 4 partially coming through at once. Panadol, bonjella, she is still crying so I do what I havent done in months and lay her on top of me and slightly rock and sing to her :cloud9: And that worked.

Im SOOO sorry Ive been inactive. You fall a bit behind and you just get trampled. Its taken ages to catch up but I read it all! Sorry Im slack with personals :(

Mrs Molly Coddle
29-06-2009, 22:13
MOS - hope tonight is better for you.

Hi everyone else!
Am totally knackered. Elliot's sleep is insane at the moment also, but can't even be bothered with the details.
Still no air con, so still at Mum's.
That's all I can muster. Bed time for me!

c38
29-06-2009, 22:28
:yelclap:You did well MOS got him to sleep without the boobie...so that's great

Stg can you fit her cot in your room near the bed... because then you could start with her in there sitting in the room, then move away a little until she's used to going to sleep wihtout you nearby. How does your Nan get her to sleep when she minds her?

K8Y your weeks exhausts me already.:yes:

Babywez I hope teh cake has gone well.

Kyles: that's kinda sad about your SIL... at 40 too hungover to get out of bed, from drinking alone.:rolleyes:

I didnt turn the radio on today so havent heard all the MJ stuff. Though am kinda glad theres some on tv now as its slightly more interesting hearing about his monkey then the the rubbish that's been on telly. Ops sorry K8Y Im not into Supernatural. I do feel sorry that the mother of his oldest children reported today that he is not heir father. I SO hope those kids already knew that, as fancy your Dad dying oneday then finding out from your Mother who you've barely met that he wasn't your father anyhow.. SHe could of at least let teh dust settle a bit. I think the truth about eh child molestation stories will some out as the confidentiality agreements probably no longer stand. But if they want any credibility they would be best to wait until after the funeral and some of the hype settleing.

babywez
30-06-2009, 04:52
Wow K8Y...I'm with C38...exhausted by your week already! I'm having enough trouble just being awake lately.

I had read the paper towel/tin foil thing online yesterday afternoon, and will do that as well as turn the oven down a bit. I also totally prepped the batter wrong, so all a combination probably that ended up in the big cracked dome. Might try another one in a couple of days. I'm going to try and decorate this one and use it for his birthday cake tonight at mum's.

I can't believe this time last year I was in pain every 5 minutes and getting ready to go to the hospital. You don't think you can ever love them more, but Nicklas seems to get funnier, smarter and cheekier every day and he never ceases to amaze me!

And how do I repay him? I schedule his 12 month shots for his first birthday! Oops, wasn't thinking on that one.

DH is in SYD so Nicklas slept in our bed last night. He fell asleep at 5 pm and ended up sleeping until about 5 am (woke up a few times and boobed back to sleep). I think I've been awake since 3:30/4:00 or so.

$90M tonight...what I want to know, is what do you have to have done in your life to win that? I can only begin to DREAM what I would do with $90M. Best buy a ticket today (along with everyone else, probably).

C38, re: Debbie Row (Roe?), I have really been trying to not be as judgmental about people, espcially parents, since having Nicklas. I know we all have reasons for doing things, etc. But right now I can't help but think she is a disgusting human being. What was in it for her? Did MJ pay her to carry his kids? She's said she doesn't want the kids, that she wasn't and would never be a good mother. I just think the whole situation is tragic.

Anyway, enough of that, too early in the morning for getting so worked up about something I can't change! :)

babywez
30-06-2009, 06:23
Anyone catching this Sunrise segment on teaching breastfeeding in school? In 7th and 8th grade? I think that's ridiculous!

Mum of Midgeys
30-06-2009, 06:54
Hey girls, sorry have been MIA a bit, and this post isn't going to really help the catch up.

happybirthday Nicklas!! It is incredible how much they really do grow up in a year *sigh*

MOS - Oh my gosh, that is so heart-wrenching :hugs: You're doing a wonderful job hun. Maybe your DP could get up to Sam during the night for a night or two just so he knows the milk's not there? When I stopped offering Khirra her bottle of milk (clearly not nearly the same as having Their Boobies attached to me) we had two nights of tears/tantrems then she just seemed to accept it. Her sleeping also improved a lot...think she was just waking out of habit for the milk. Anyway, that blah just meant persist the best you can. If CC is not for you hun, then it doesn't have to be. Just tweak it the way that work for you. We don't do CC, but Kiss goes to sleep in her own bed (well, mattress on the floor now because she doesn't wake a gazillion times a night like she does in the cot) and only wakes once or twice, when I go in, give a cuddle and a pat, and she goes off again. Whatever feels best for you and Sam!! :hugs:

K8y - Oh my gosh, I nearly passed out from exhaustion reading your 'things to do!' Hope Sums eyes get better. I got it alot as a kid, and as MOS said, it doesn't hurt - just makes you want to itch your eyeballs out.

And hello to all you other lovely ladies. Sorry for the lack of personals!

Well, here MS has well and truely dug it's heels in. Officially upgraded from dry-retching to 'ralphing' (I know we all prefer the K8yism :laughing:). Smells are now getting to me; never happened with Khirra. Can't eat meat as of a day or two ago, can't smell meat. DP has said he doesn't think our relationship can continue any further as I spewed over his Spaghetti Bolognaise :laughing: I'm 7 weeks, 2 days today, Babywez. Yay, lol. Will try to get into the Dr today or tomorrow to get blood results and referrals.

Okay girls, best to summon the courage to get Khirra some breakfast. Will try to get on later and get some proper personals done.

P.S BB has disappeared again?! :gloomy:

k8y
30-06-2009, 06:55
c38 thats okay, Supernatural is probably a bit of rubbish but I half watch it for the phwoar factor lol...

babywez, yes try it again and let cool completely in the tin :yes:

stg making progress with the sleep! 4 molars, poor poppet, they go through so much at this age don't they?

SMO3 how was your sleep last night?

babywez re the BF at school - WTF :eek: I saw it too as we watch Sunrise every morning and it is completely ridiculous I agree.

k8y
30-06-2009, 06:58
Well, here MS has well and truely dug it's heels in. Officially upgraded from dry-retching to 'ralphing' (I know we all prefer the K8yism :laughing:). Smells are now getting to me; never happened with Khirra. Can't eat meat as of a day or two ago, can't smell meat. DP has said he doesn't think our relationship can continue any further as I spewed over his Spaghetti Bolognaise :laughing:

:laughing: and :hugs:

smog
30-06-2009, 07:18
dylan slept 7 hours last night 5.30 to 12.30:smiliedance: then woke for a bottle but only cause brayden was calling out for a drink:rolleyes: so he may have even gone longer. then he went straight back to sleep i couldnt believe it, he slept till 6.00 this morn this is like a miracle for dylan:cloud9:. brayden however wet the bed at 2.30 bummer of all nights. actually im a little concerned that he did. i know at 5 he is still in the age that it happens but he has not wet the bed for 3 yrs. he was so easy to night train , wet maybe 6 or 8 times at most over a few months and that was it, and most of those times was when he was very sick.,...anyway what im getting at is i wonder if he sick or something is wrong now?? as it seems unusal for him. he has an exceptionally high tolerance to pain and has never known when he is pain iykwim? like he has had ear infections many times and we have had no idea or he will come inside with blood running down his leg and he hasnt even noticed etc. :detective: im wondering if i should take him to the dr just to check or is the dr gonna think im totally nuts for bringing in a kid who appears fine just because he wet the bed?? also brayden would be so upset with me if i mention the bedwetting incident...hmm what to do
bonbon i never got your email??
aww ems:hugs: hope u feel better soon
mos we all have feel like a failure moments..its totally normal... you are about as far removed from being a failure of a mummy as it can get. you are such an awesome mummy dont let it get you down:hugs:
so so so over micheal jackson, i didnt even like his music to begin with no i really hate it sick to death of hearing it
stg im with c38 try and drag the cot right next to your bed
k8y..now your holidays can officially start, well i guess u rpob got more people wanting this yrs tax return done though too huh outa smileys but big big hugs
thats all i can see back to on this page will go have a look further see if missed anything more

smog
30-06-2009, 07:25
lambkin i have been looking at those starwagons they look alright..
:hugs:ems the smells, :barf: i remember that.. now im scared lol. id forgotten how bad it can be. i seem to get sicker with each one too hope that means my ms is all used up now and next time i wont be getting any:D. i hope u start to feel better soon. how far along are u? i think a lot of women it only lasts the first tri/12 weeks
:smiliedance: im feeling so refreshed after actually getting some sleep:smiliedance: and my house is pretty clean as ive been on a cleaning marathon lately. and im even winning the war on washing at the moment ...what will i do today with all my new found energy???
dh will be home tonight at like midnight yay:valentine:

stg
30-06-2009, 07:54
Stg can you fit her cot in your room near the bed... because then you could start with her in there sitting in the room, then move away a little until she's used to going to sleep wihtout you nearby. How does your Nan get her to sleep when she minds her?

reported today that he is not heir father..

Her cot is in my room lol...

And michael jacksons kids.. His son I saw his face on the front page of the paper, he had shoulder length hair and he is GORGEOUS such a cutie! and the SPITTING IMAGE of a younger MJ. I would be so so suprised if that kid at least isnt his. Dunno about the girl..

Mum2J&A
30-06-2009, 08:40
Morning Grils

Sorry I've been MIA,

I well and truly feel like I'm Pregnant now, soooo tired and always feeling quesy. almost ralphed :barf: trying to take a morning sickness pill yesterday lol.

Sounds like your doing well MOS, keep doing what feels right to you :thumbsup:

:yelclap: for Dylan SMO3

Sorry most of the personals have disappeared out of my head.

If I remember correctly isn't BB not going to be here often at all, I think she's planning on keeping in contact via Facebook.

My GP still hasn't called me back about my blood test results, but I guess that means they're fine.
I don't have an appointment at the hospited al until I'm 14 weeks (Is this normal for public system? I had an OB last time and went every month from 8 weeks)
I am planning on asking my GP to reffer me for the 12 week scan, as no one has mention it to me this time round.

Ok must go, Jack keeps pushing buttons and it's driving me mental :hair:
Have a good day everyone.

smog
30-06-2009, 09:00
hi magick, yeah i never got an appointment with the hospy(public) till 22 weeks as they were very busy:eek:. and i think the 12 week u/s is not schedule so being public u may not have one:confused:.

Mrs Molly Coddle
30-06-2009, 11:24
Oh you poor sickos, magick and ems!!
Ems I had the same thing with meat. I don't think I really ate any meat at all when I was pregnant. I had to bypass the meat section of the supermarket because I was dry heaving once trying to do my groceries! I lived on lentil and taboulhi (sp?) wraps at Uni as it was the only vegetarian sandwich they had.

dylan slept 7 hours last night 5.30 to 12.30:smiliedance: then woke for a bottle but only cause brayden was calling out for a drink:rolleyes: so he may have even gone longer. then he went straight back to sleep i couldnt believe it, he slept till 6.00 this morn this is like a miracle for dylan:cloud9:. brayden however wet the bed at 2.30 bummer of all nights. actually im a little concerned that he did. i know at 5 he is still in the age that it happens but he has not wet the bed for 3 yrs. he was so easy to night train , wet maybe 6 or 8 times at most over a few months and that was it, and most of those times was when he was very sick.,...anyway what im getting at is i wonder if he sick or something is wrong now?? as it seems unusal for him. he has an exceptionally high tolerance to pain and has never known when he is pain iykwim? like he has had ear infections many times and we have had no idea or he will come inside with blood running down his leg and he hasnt even noticed etc. :detective: im wondering if i should take him to the dr just to check or is the dr gonna think im totally nuts for bringing in a kid who appears fine just because he wet the bed?? also brayden would be so upset with me if i mention the bedwetting incident...hmm what to do
bonbon i never got your email??

smo3 - it might sound silly but I remember wetting the bed for the first time in ages when I was little. It was sooo cold and I kept waking up needing to pee, but didn't want to get up as the blankets were keeping me nice and warm. Next thing I knew, I was sopping wet! maybe it's just something as simple as that if it was a once off? If I were you, I'd keep an eye on him, check his temps etc and see how he goes tonight? :hugs:But, Mother knows best so if you feel like you should take him to the GP then just do it. Just tell them he's been a bit out of sorts/not himself and you wondered if they can check him out.
My sister's kids have a high pain threshold also. Two of them fractured their arms (on seperate ocassions) and said it hurt a bit, but it wasn't until a few days later when the swelling hadn't really gone down that my sis took them to hospy for x-rays and whammo - fractures! So scary. I understand your concern!

Elliot had a better night's sleep last night thank the gods so I am feeling okay today. Weather is making me sleepy though. It's so dark and cold! He is running a slight fever todaythough so i think that's why he slept better last night. Poor little tyke. Hoping it's just a tooth and nothing more serious.
He has fallen over 3 times in the past few days and has hurt his nose, and then his lip twice. he has a big cut and his lip is all puffy. Wondering if he will end up with a Jaoquin Phoenix-esque scar. Poor little sod.

Dh and I are taking Elliot to see his great grandfather on the weekend as DH has an ADO and great grand-dad is not doing so well :( DH is pretty sad about it as they are really close. He's 90 this year though so it's not like he hasn't had a bad run! Still.. sad.
Means having to see the in-laws which is crappola but I'm sure we will survive. Trying to boook some accomms now but hotels are so exxy and I can't bring myself to click 'book' on any of them. We'd be welcome to stay with either set of in-laws, but after the 'MIL so drunk she farted in Elliot's face' incident, I refuse to stay there. Don't want to stay with FIL either!

oh and magick - that sounds about right for a public hospital. Think I saw them first at 16 weeks or something to book in. Took hours, lots of questions, but was exciting. Do you mean the nuchal translucency scan? You should get a referral from your GP for that, yeppo, as I think you are supposed to have it between 12 and 14. So yeah.. make sure you get it before you go to hospy if you want to have it done, although you don't have to have it done if you don't want to

Daisy Boo
30-06-2009, 13:16
MOS - Like everyone else my heart went out to you and Sam. I remember it was so much harder with Kirilly. I used to rock and sing her to sleep every night. And when she finally went to sleep I would put her in her bed only to have her wake up screaming again. And then I'd start all over again. I finally had enough and took her to trsesillian. I haven't had a problem since.
But with Michael I'm a lot more different. I did a gentle version of control crying. But if you think that you need help there are plenty of people that can help you with it that have a more gentle approach. If you are interested I know of a few.

Kyles - does your sil have kids? That is so so insensitive.

happybirthday:party: Happy Birthday Nicklas

Well Michael has had a reaction to the 12 month injections. Kirilly had the same reaction only much worse. His side is covered in spots. But he has no fever. So I need to keep an eye on him for 24 hours and if it doesn't go away I need to take him back to the DR. He was off his food this morning. But he did have a big bottle so he might not have been hungry.

smog
30-06-2009, 16:01
happybirthday nicklas!!!!!!:party:

lambkin/magick ...lambkin is right it is the nuchal one i forgot about that.. i was confusing it with a dating scan i had done early in the pregnancy

Kyles72
30-06-2009, 20:24

happybirthdayNicklas! xx

K8y - Im with the others regarding your busy week! Phew, Id be completely conked out by Tuesday! Hope Sums conjunctivitis clears soon. Ive had it, Liam's had it,it's more annoying than painful, for me it felt like sand in my eyes. When Liam had it, I was changing his sheets every day, as I just didnt like the idea of him sleeping on eye-booger covered sheets, don't know if that actually helped though.

MOS - Im with Stg, how you coped with Sam was just gorgeous!! There's no way you should feel like a failure mummy if you treat him with such tenderness!:goodvibes:Hope he sleeps better for you tonight.

Stg - sorry I have no suggestions on how you can move Charli back into her own cot.... maybe start with her day sleeps, so its not such a big deal, or there's no "urgency" if she resists

Ems and Magick - Sorry to hear that you both are suffering MS. I remember the smells, for me it was bananas!! I didnt realise this until "they" suggested eating a banana before getting out of bed and I left one on the bedside table.....:barf:and in the morning when I ate it,:barf: reminded me of a joke, which I dont think I will share here in the interests of good taste;)

SMO3 - yay for Dylan's sleeping!!:smiliedance:I bet you feel like a new woman! If you dont know what to do with your excess energy, my house needs a good scrub too! Hope nothing serious is bothering Brayden.

I have new hair, not sure if I like it. My hairdresser cut it shorter than I really wanted at the back, longer at the sides, like a Pob. My concern of course, is what it will REALLY look like after Ive washed it!

Well, took Liam for his 12 month needles today. Felt really bad when he started to tremble and wail, but it was only for a minute or so. Hes 10.45kg (50th %), 79cms (75th %) and head circ is 48.5cm (90th %)....hes a boofhead! Also bought him the cutest little shoes at Pumpkin Patch, had my eye on them for a while - the lace up looking sneakers with velcro down the back. Anyway, they were half price, so why not!

Hope you all have a peaceful night. Take care(Insert smiley flower here)

mosac
30-06-2009, 20:40
OK I've been reading all day so can't remeber much. Was it SMO3 about the bed wetting? I wasn't a bed wetter at all either but I recall when I was about 8 or even 9 years old, I had a dream I was going to the toilet... and I did. :o I was WAY past the bed wetting age and was never a bed wetter, but it was one freak accident. I say don't worry about it until it happens again.

Ummm... my mum arrived today. Half asleep. She pointed out if I'm doing CC at night, I should be doing it during the day aswell as I'm not being consistent with it. I know this. She arrived while he was in his cot and I was ironing. I didn't want to sit up there and let him scream when she's here. Just proved to DH I don't discriminate against his mum as I didn't like MY mum making comment either. Not sure why as I don't think she meant anything bad by it, but I just know I'm trying my best and don't really like someone telling me what I should be doing as it's often something which is reasier said than done...

Anyway on the upside, someone has run off with the whingy boy I thought was my son and has swapped him with a nice pleasant child who - get this! LAYS DOWN WHEN YOU TELL HIM TO!!! :smiliedance: BREAKTHROUGH!!!

It just took all of about 10 mins to get him to sleep. I wonder if this is IT...

He kept on sitting up and I'd just pat the mattress and say "lay down" and he'd lay down without taking his eyes off me. It was SO CUTE! He didn't cry ONE BIT. I was a little worried for a minute as he whimpered as I walked towards the cot - but he was fine.

Well tomorrow I'm picking up mum from her friend's place in Epping and then we're hitting a second hand shop near there (great designer stuff SOOO cheap :thumbsup:). Then we're going to go to the shops, grab a coffee and have a wander. I can't wait. :smiliedance:

Oh just in case you're all wondering - I didn't win the $90mil tonight... so sadly, DH has to go to work again tomorrow...

k8y, can your friend who was going to spend the day with you on Wed come to you and play with Sums while you bake? Your week sounds VERY HECTIC. Good luck, sounds like you need a PA for the week! :hugs:

happybirthday Nicklas!

Daisy, thanks for the offer with the sleeping info. If I don't get anywhere here, I know who to ask.

Well off to iron the last few things then off to bed for an early night (I hope!). Last night I ended up feeding Sam around 2:30 this morning as I was rock hard and swollen (and maybe leaking too...). He didn't even cry for it that much but I think 2:30 was a good effort after he's become accustomed to 90 minute sleeps.

Good night all. Be back tomorrow.

k8y
30-06-2009, 20:55
I sound like a whinger lol...
I think it's just playing a bit of catch up since everything I've had to put to the side while doing uni.
Went to my cake supplies store this morning in Southbank. Mum and her DH came by to pick up a dining table. Made the butterflies for Sums cake. Just letting them dry overnight before I paint them. Got some party supplies from Crazy Clarks, did the fruit/veg shop, went to spin class with friend at 6pm. Came home, made tea, gave Sums her bottle, she's in bed now so am helping DP put the handles on the kitchen cupboards (now that packed to the rafters is finished - my fave show).
So a busy day but productive.
The only prob is that my fondant was sticking terribly to my temporary kitchen board so the undersides of my butterflies aren't completely smooth. Am considering re-doing them and having DP bring in my stainless bench to do them on :detective:
Will see how I go tomorrow.
Not too much on, just spending the day with Sums and a friend, want to go shopping for the tv unit/coffee table. DP went and looked at tv's today. I think he's found the one he wants and will pick it up tomorrow.

happybirthday Nicklas!!!!!

Oh sorry, have to go, sorry for going on about myself and lack of personals :o

bonbon
30-06-2009, 22:14
Just a quick one, I have sent those girls an email re the business.

MOS well done! Hopefully this is it! Your doing a great job. And from what I read on here you are a flippin great mum!

happybirthdayNicklas! Hope you have all had a great day.
Kyles - poor Liam. I am putting off getting maddie her needles, i hate it! Oh and dont u hate it when you get your hair done and you dont like it! Ticks me off! Yet I never say anything!!

Gotta go do a few things before I jump into bed!
Nitey nitey

babywez
01-07-2009, 05:08
Thanks for Nick's birthday wishes everyone. We had a pretty good day. He was a bit cranky in the afternoon, but we went to mum's for dinner last night and my sis and her bf came over. It was a good evening. We had dinner, sung happy birthday, etc. Nicklas and I ended up staying there the night, and I woke up with my own little 1 year present...I'm a woman again! Of all the nights for AF to choose to return! My mother had a hysterectomy several years ago, so she no longer gets AF and doesn't have a supply of feminine products, but she had some liners, so I made a makeshift thing to get me home. I told mum I was fine, but she insisted on asking my 86 year old grandmother if she had anything. I said, "I'm FINE!" My grandmother disappears and comes back with a hand towel full of cotton wool balls! :laughing::laughing::laughing: I told her I'm fine (for the 50th time) to which she said, "Well you can soldier on, I'm going back to bed." :laughing: I said, "I bet Nicklas is glad he's only 1 and has no idea what this conversation is about!" Oh well, at least you can now add me to the TTC group! :yelclap:

I am a bit upset because I took the camera last night, but had left the SD card in my computer. So I took a few pics with my phone camera so I had SOMETHING and this morning while looking for my keys, found an SD card I'd put in my purse b/c it has pictures on it I wanted to go get printed. :no:

Have to go shower and straighten up, my dad and SM are coming over around 9 am and it looks like a cyclone hit in here!

mosac
01-07-2009, 08:29
Just a quickie as already late. Sam woke as I was drifting off around 10:30 last night. I was trying to settle him in cot as usual and everything started at once. The single lady next door started slamming all of her windows and DH rolled over in bed and groaned a massive "aaaaarrgghhh!" as he couldn't get to sleep with the screaming. So I grabbed the spare quilt out of the wardrobe in Sam's room and spent the night on the foor with him. DH didn't realise until I came to bed with sore back at 4:30am. He then felt really really bad and went on to say he hates his job, was in a bad mood from work, etc.

Anyway he's been grovelling ever since and totally understands I need his support and not GRUNTING whilst I'm trying my hardest to get through this. He said he was a total tool and never wants me out of the bed again, even if it means bringing Sam into it. I am just so over all of this. I'm going to persist but it's hard sh!t.

Gotta go as mum waiting. BBL. :wave:

Bellaleggos
01-07-2009, 11:05
Hi all - I've been lurking around but never get the time to write anything so sorry for lack of many personals.

MOS - My heart so goes out to you and I'm so glad I went through it when she was 10 weeks rather than waiting till now. Unfortunately you just have to persevere but it sounds like Sam is already getting the hang of things - he's a clever little boy. Big :hugs: to you.
I realise reading posts on here that I am so lucky with DD - she normally sleeps 12 if not 13 hours straight at night:yelclap::yelclap:

K8Y - I'm knackered just reading your posts. Be careful you don't overdo it!

Well I've got a list of things to do today too. Trying to get both DD and I in for a haircut but I'm one of those people that when I decide I want a haircut I want it now (before I change my mind again), but I can't get into my normal hairdresser till tomorrow, so I've tried a friends sister who works from home but still waiting to hear from her - might just give in and pop into a salon in the local shopping centre today. Surely they can't go far wrong with a trim for the both of us. Must remember to collect up DD's first hair cut in an envelope tho for keepsakes. She only needs a little trim, but I have the envelope with hair from my first hair cut at 6 months and there's heaps :Dhappybirthdayto all the little ones I've missed over the week or so.

Daisy Boo
01-07-2009, 12:14
Mos just want to give you lots of these :hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs:

Well Michael's rash from his 12 month injections got worse last night. We put some cream on it to stop him from scratching himself. Looks a bit better this morning. I might take him to the GP tomorrow if it hasn't disappeared.

Mum2J&A
01-07-2009, 13:07
Starting to have trouble loading this one so here's a new thread:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3856674#post3856674