View Full Version : Which bottle?

FatBigToe
31-05-2009, 20:36
What brand/type of bottle would you recommend having on hand 'just in case'?

I've got no idea what 'qualities' i'm supposed to be looking for in a bottle, everyone I know has just bf. It must be BPA and Latex free though :yes:

flutey
03-06-2009, 10:30
I too would like to know what style of bottle to use to feed expressed breast milk from. I bought one of the new Nuby wide teat (BPA free) bottles that is also wind resistant and took it to the hospital with me (just in case) when bubs was born. Hospital staff told me that the wide teat was no good, don't use it. So, do I go back to my old avent bottles used from first bub? A health nurse told me the pigeon small long teat is a good one. I didn't know if she had been told to say that though as she was working out of a pharmacy. Anyone got ideas?

biscotti
03-06-2009, 10:35
I have never had any success with my babies and bottles and I have bought every bottle under the sun, Nuk, Tommee Tippee, Avent, Pigeon, the cheapos from Big W, you name it, I've bought it. All refused!!

So as far as buying bottles "just in case" I don't think I would worry too much at this stage if you are planning to breastfeed.
Best wishes.

vickih
04-06-2009, 18:28
:iagree:I have tried for the last month to get my bub to take a bottle of EBM so I could have a break but no luck. I also have lots of bottles- Tommee Tippee, Nuk, Medela, Avent and also different teats. No luck! He did take one when he was around 6 weeks, but i didn't try a bottle again until 3 months- refused it!

I would maybe buy one bottle to start with to see if they'll take it before worrying about buying a few 'just in case'.

In terms of BPA and latex free, I think if you heat the bottle using hot water rather than microwave it's ok? (i would check that though!). The "Green to Grow" (i think that's what it's called) brand is newish, it looks kinda cool.

crazymuma
04-06-2009, 18:32
I FF both of my children from birth and started with advent bottles. With my son I went through nearly every brand (and spent a fortune) and he wouldn't suck properly.

My daughter was the same - not quite as fussy though.

Seriously at the risk of horrifying some mothers I found the best bottles were the cheap no brand ones (I buy them from Woolies - last lot were approx $1.50 each).
And no neither child ever had problems with wind. Not saying they will work for everyone but if you've tried the others and its not working these might be worth a shot.

NibbleCurlynBub
04-06-2009, 18:37
So as far as buying bottles "just in case" I don't think I would worry too much at this stage if you are planning to breastfeed.
Best wishes.
:iagree: You'll jinx yourself!

Put the money towards an ABA membership, you get a free book on BFing. More you know, better the success you will have.

Lillynix
04-06-2009, 20:59
Yep, don't buy bottles "just in case" chances are you won't need them, and if they are there, they are an easy temptation if you're having a rough start.

Just arm yourself with breastfeeding knowledge instead, the ABA membership is a good idea! If something really does happen, you'll have time to get bottles later, don't buy them "just in case" :)

CluckySC
04-06-2009, 20:59
I think it's good to have a bottle or two on hand anyway because odds are you'll want to feed bub expressed milk at some stage.

I used the Green to Grow bottles with the wide neck. They're totally natural, free of everything and my son took to them straight away.

Search for them online - there are heaps of places you can get them. They are more expensive but totally worth the money, they're the healthiest on the market :)

Good luck and enjoy breastfeeding!

Oya
04-06-2009, 23:13
Yep, don't buy bottles "just in case" chances are you won't need them, and if they are there, they are an easy temptation if you're having a rough start.

Just arm yourself with breastfeeding knowledge instead, the ABA membership is a good idea! If something really does happen, you'll have time to get bottles later, don't buy them "just in case" :)

Totally agree.

If you were in a situation where you needed to give bubs EBM using a syringe or cup is the best option.:)

NibbleCurlynBub
04-06-2009, 23:15
Totally agree.

If you were in a situation where you needed to give bubs EBM using a syringe or cup is the best option.:)
No chance for nipple confusion and you can still use cups after bub grows out of bottles. :laughing:

bada
04-06-2009, 23:23
I'm going to disagree with the majority and say in my opinion I think it's a great idea to have at least two bottles and a manual pump on stand by. I wish somebody had suggested this to me so we wouldn't have had to spend a whole night screaming, crying and in absolute agony with no skin left on my nipples, a hungry baby, and a helpless DF :(

I don't think having bottles and a pump there for backup could hurt. If you are committed to breastfeeding then having a bottle in the house won't jinx you.

FatBigToe
07-06-2009, 14:23
I was one of those baby's that plainly refused to take a bottle, so i'm not too confident that this one will!

The main reason I was thinking about getting a couple of bottles to have on hand, was because I don't really have to option of 'popping out' to get one if I find it is needed. Plus, further down the track once BF was well established I was thining about expressing. Then again, there's no reason why I couldn't use a cup.

NibbleCurlynBub I already have an ABA membership and i'm going to a BF class in a couple of weeks :smiliedance:

Nanay
07-06-2009, 14:40
I think Dr Brown? Somebody correct me if that's wrong. Its a bottle with the airer thingy in the bottle ..

I personally used Tommee Tippee closer to nature range and have had success to it.

having a few bottles just in case is a good idea .. especially when its the middle of the night that you are having troubles with bub. As well you can express bm and have DP give bubs a bottle ..

flutey
12-06-2009, 14:14
Ok, since writing my last post, I have been doing some experimenting. I have chosen to start my 10 week bub with one bottle of EBM as I will be returning to work one day a week in a months time. So, in my experience here, bub will only take the bottle when she is really hungry. The bottle she seems to have taken to is the Pigeon narrow (or normal) neck bottle with peristaltic nipple teat. I don't believe this bottle is BPA or latex free though. She will take the EBM from both myself and my mother at this stage. There seems to be a small amount of breast/bottle confusion though, she fights the breast for a bit during the next feed. So, there you go. Nothing like a bit of experimentation to gete answers. I would suggest that every baby is different and you have to do what suits you and your bub.

tales
13-06-2009, 16:32
Yeh mine won't take the expressed EBM from a bottle either. Though she will have to learn quick smart when I go back to work or starve.. :( Didn't think of trying a cup, though. Any suggestions on types of cups (not intending to hijack the thread tho - sorry..)?