View Full Version : Inducing Labour Naturally - what worked? Im getting very impatient ...

katiek
19-06-2006, 16:39
I think I have seen a post on this before but I wanted to see whether there would be any new responses - have you ever done anything to bring on labour, eg sex, eat a curry, pineapple, walking, gardening, raspberry leaf tea etc? Did it work?

All i have tried is sex and I got some very mild cramps afterwards that disappeared. Me and my husband are so anxious to see the human being we have created ... it is driving us both crazy. I feel very "ready" now aswell as I have just about finished all of my "nesting" and have spent more than enough time relaxing and doing the stuff I want to do.

I had a show 13 days ago and still nothing so I am a little disheartened that nothing seems to have come of that and am keen to get things moving. I would love to read all of your comments!!

Thanks for reading!

Kate

MumsieMel
19-06-2006, 16:40
Tried everything with DS and he came 2 days late,
tried nothing with DD and she came 2 days late too!

So go figure..... :rolleyes:

katiek
19-06-2006, 16:41
arrggh .. dont tell me that!!

Diddles
19-06-2006, 16:47
I'm 5 days overdue today and just had the membrane sweep done by the Ob, apparently that can bring on labour within 48 hrs (although it didn't with my first child). With my first bub I was to be induced but went into labour naturaly through applying accupressure, do a google search on it there are sites that explain what areas to apply the pressure!!! Good luck:fingerscrossed:

Veritas
19-06-2006, 16:48
I've heard that there are some acupressure points that can be very effective...

I'd google it!!

If you try them, let us know if they work!!

19-06-2006, 16:51
yep twice the membrane swob did it for me.. the other two times i was induced due to high BP ect..

Both times when i had the swob done i was in active labour the next day :yelclap:

katiek
19-06-2006, 16:51
Wow there is heaps of stuff on the acupressure ... Ive found loads so thanks girls! Will let you know if we have any success

uptheduff
19-06-2006, 23:05
I used Clary sage oil when i was overdue with DS2. Burned it in my oil burner and rubbed some diluted with baby oil on my belly, and it gave me really strong contractions as soon as i smelled it!

KellyZ
24-06-2006, 18:44
Just google early labour signs. Baby will come when he / she is ready (which I think is a good thing!) but there are some things you can do like nipple stimulation which produces oxytocin. Curry / castor oil can give you diahorea so not idea, sex has been written off in a study that noted no cervical changes. You could try accupuncture (only after your due date) and accupressure.

*My Lil Blondie*
24-06-2006, 18:51
i walked ALOT!! i had severe back pain and walking was the only thing that felt good. Brodie came 4 days early even through i was told he was most likely to be late. the night my contractions began we went on a REALLY bumpy car ride.

i think these things had an effect others think im nuts....:rolleyes:

Kooy
24-06-2006, 19:08
My DS wasn't in a hurry at all to come out...

I tried the curry. the sex... the accupuncture... but nothing worked.

He was born 2 weeks overdue by elective caesar. My ob recommended it cause she was worried at the rate he was growing and my cervix hadn't ripened yet.

Going to try VBAC next time. I think. Not 100% sure.

Both DH and I were happy that we were both healthy. That was what was most important to us.

But I can certainly remember the feeling of.... GET THIS THING OUTTA ME NOW!!! :mad:

Hang in there... It'll all happen before you know it!!

EskimoMumma
24-06-2006, 19:29
I have to agree with walking.

DS i walked EVERYWHERE and i had him at 39weeks. Whereas with DD i didnt do nearly6 as enough activity and she was 4 days late. Go figure.I have tried castor oil and well. it gave me fake contractions, but they went away, then i had diarahea a second time, and then well need i continue?:eek:

Sara's Boys
27-06-2006, 15:07
You have to try clary sage oil (not sage o it's own) It works for may people, put about 5-10 drops on a tissue/hanky, put it between your boobs, and let it woft up, have a good sniff every now and then. put it near your pillow at night, and "rolling " the nipples with your pointers and thumbs for 5 mins each (10 mins all together) every couple of hours, it simulates and can cause contractions to occur! GOOD LUCK!!

Sarie
27-06-2006, 15:24
There's really not much you can do till bubs is ready. I tried every thing with DS2 and nothing worked, I got a few tingly contractions from the clary sage oil, but nothing actually happened, even sex didn't work, though when we tried having sex when I was preggie with DS1 my waters broke within 4 hours.
:fingerscrossed: and hope for the best!!

~Danni~
28-06-2006, 14:06
I reckon having sex helped bring on my labour with DD but at the same time I dont think she would of popped out unless she was ready to!!:D

mythreelittlemonkeys
30-06-2006, 12:16
I tried everything!! I was walking everyday - briskly! and took raspberry leaf tablets and drank tea from 35 weeks...and I did castor oil twice, ate hot curries, tried acupressure, and anything else people suggest...nothing worked...Matilda Rose was ROP and determined to stay put I was induced at 41 & 2 and even foleys, gel and long labour did nothing I was basically given no choice but to have a c-section (category 2) before it became an emergency to me and Matilda as at 8cms my cervix started to rethicken... she was 9lb and 5oz but now 8lbs 5oz...having lost nearly a pound and hlaf in first 24 hours...I think they come out when ready! She very strong and perfect in everyway now and I wouldnt ever try and bring on my next pregnancy as it too much effort for very little results...your baby will come! and hey then you have at least the next 18 years to be with them what is a couple of days...personally I wouldnt have been induced or had c section either but they insisted...and actually they probly right as she was not ready even adter all that!
I am if we ever have another bub gonna try for VBAC...at mo though my DH pretty traumatised by the whole thing and saying we should be grateful for Matilda and maybe she should be our only one - we'll see!!:eek:
Blackmores and co did very well out of me, what with 6 weeks worth of tablets and tea!!:D and btw we were doing the sex thing right up to induction often! and that didnt work either..but was fun!!:smiliedance:

abbynmonique
01-07-2006, 11:10
both of mine came 2 days before their due date, , both times we went to a comedy club on the friday night and i kaked myself, (great for the belly muscles) and i went into labour with each on the sunday :thumbsup:

01-07-2006, 14:27
I read on a pregnancy site about natural induction and they said that theres a drink that can help. Its 4 tablespoons of Brown Sugar with half a cup of warm water! :eek: It apparently helps bring on labour within 48 hours of drinking it. Ive read 5women drinking it and within 24 hours they went into labour! :eek: So maybe its worth a shot. Let me know how you girls go with it!

Sarie
01-07-2006, 14:29
I read on a pregnancy site about natural induction and they said that theres a drink that can help. Its 4 tablespoons of Brown Sugar with half a cup of warm water! :eek: It apparently helps bring on labour within 48 hours of drinking it. Ive read 5women drinking it and within 24 hours they went into labour! :eek: So maybe its worth a shot. Let me know how you girls go with it!

Becareful of other side affects of that drink, it may 'help you go to the toilet', thus the cramping may bring on contractions - or you'll just sit on the toilet all night:eek:

BlessedWithBlue
03-07-2006, 22:28
The night my contractions began we went on a REALLY bumpy car ride.

i think these things had an effect others think im nuts....:rolleyes:

That is exactly what happened with my 2nd ds, after a REALLY long and bumpy car ride i started getting contractions at 12am, I had him at 12 noon the same day.

gillianf
04-07-2006, 20:41
both of mine came 2 days before their due date, , both times we went to a comedy club on the friday night and i kaked myself, (great for the belly muscles) and i went into labour with each on the sunday :thumbsup:
Are you South African, by any chance? :D

mich71
05-07-2006, 10:19
i got old bf to mow the lawn and i raked up went into labour at night

mum2JLH
05-07-2006, 10:43
i had the membrain swab done by my doc, for the next 2 days i walked around having pre-labour pains, wasn't untill the doc "fiddled with the area" again that i went into full labour.

i tried all the sex, walking, gardening, ect. nothing helped. DS was 10 overdue.

katiek
05-07-2006, 11:12
I tried the brown sugar & warm water thing yesterday and found it gave me some mild cramps and sent me to the loo!

12-07-2006, 16:32
Well i did the naughty thing of trying castor oil but it actually worked. :devil6: :D I had it at 7pm and i was having contractions 5 min apart at 9pm. It did send me to the loo but only 3 times. I didnt need to go for 5 days afterwards, so that was a bonus! :yes: I had my little girl 18 hours after taking the doze. :smiliedance:

katiek
12-07-2006, 16:53
I do want to try the castor oil thing as many people have told me it worked for them ... i am more scared of vomiting though as most people said it made them very ill with their contractions or gave them diarrhrea at the same time! I dont think i could handle that as well as painful contractions but at the same time I DO NOT want to be induced this weekend