View Full Version : QLD April/May/June Chat
kobi'smama
28-05-2009, 20:01
Thought I would take Tegan's lead and start a QLD thread.
I am in Capalaba which is in the Redlands in Brisbane.
LittleBug'sMum
29-05-2009, 12:01
Hi! :wave: I'm in Birsbane (southside), my beautiful boy was born 1/5/09 :yelclap:
Lilwarrior
29-05-2009, 12:54
Just a few of us but hopefully it grows.
We picked lights for DS room this morning, he's not sleeping in there yet. Once they are up its finished!!!
Ds is much better this morning still has a snotty nose but seems much happier! Slept 4.5 hours at once last night!!! Kobi hows your routine going?
Gotta go DH has made me a yummy lunch!!!!
kobi'smama
29-05-2009, 14:46
Anna - Wherabouts on the southside are you?
Did you have a boy or a girl?
There will be more ladies to come i reakon.
Lil - He is going good, last night went to bed at 7pm, i try not to wake him for a feed at 9.45pm then he woke at 2.40am and then 6.30am. So my sleep is still broken but at least im getting some.
We have some vistors tonight but i told them his bed time and stuff and that it was up to them to come before he goes to bed as im not waking him etc. Im gonna be really strict with this cause i really want it to work.
Yeah im thinking of putting Kobi in his room when he is maybe 7 or 8 weeks. When are you moving Kaiden in?
Hello hello! I'll help fly the flag for the Qld mummies (and will be cheering for the Maroons next week - woot woot!) I'm living in Townsville but originally from the south east corner of the state (grew up in the country and then lived in Brissy for a bit).
Am still working things out with our little man - he doesn't like sleeping more than 2 hours during the day but then will sleep a marathon session at night (7+ hours in a go). We have just been to our second day stay at a sleep clinic and I'm going to tackle the settling routine again tomorrow. My hubby works away so it's been really tough for me, esp this week as he's been gone since Monday :crying: but only 3 more sleeps and he's back.
Kobi'smumma - I agree that you have to be strict with visitors. We are - some people have come a few times and haven't even seen him awake! I aint waking the sleeping monster!
Do you all have your little bubbies in a bassinet in your room with you atm?
Lilwarrior
29-05-2009, 19:44
Hey Bella I was hoping you'd join in. I am so jealous of your long sleeps at night!!!
I have DS in our room as we have a 3 split level home and I am not going down to his room to feed him when he's up so regular.
Go Queenslanders!!! It will be a sad day for me. DH's first day back at work :(
kobi'smama
29-05-2009, 20:03
Hi Bella!! 7 hours at night - you lucky thing!
Yup Kobi is in our room, i think we might look at moving him to his cot in a few weeks but i think its going to be hard to have to get up and feed and change etc instead of reaching over and doing it all in bed, especially with it getting colder.
I wish Kobi's room was big enough to put a chair in or something.
I know, one of mums friends came over yesterday and i knew she was hanging to wake him up, i made a point of saying no way! She compained she hadnt ever had a hold etc. I dont care!!!
DH is minding DS tomorrow for a few hours while i go out with girlfriends. :fingerscrossed: everything goes ok., i have heaps of expressed milk ready to go. ill have to let u know how he goes.
Hmmmm....dare I actually say it but I think DS is sleeping through the night (but don't want to jinx it!) He has actually slept between 9 - 10 hours straight through the past four nights. In bed by 7:30 - 8pm and then awake by about 6. I am worried that he needs another feed in between but all the middies I have spoken to said it's okay as he feeds often during the day, so fingers crossed! Am sure he's still only doing it cos he doesn't sleep during the day though... AND I still wake up around 3am wondering if he's still okay!
Yep, think you need to stand your ground with visitors - seriously, have people not heard that you don't wake a sleeping baby? ha ha
You girls are lucky to have your bubbies in your room with you. Our little man has been in his cot from day 1 - but it's not too cold here yet so I don't mind getting up when I have to (or didn't mind when I had to!)
Lilwarrior - you'll be right on Wednesday. It's 4 days that Leon is away, is that right?? It does get easier, trust me :) But it's still hard and I bet it will be hard for Leon too. We're here for you :flowerz:
LittleBug'sMum
30-05-2009, 08:57
I think I've managed to put a photo and signature on now.
Kobi's mum - I'm in Tarragindi, and I have a little boy, Luke.
We all have boy's so far (is that right?).
Can hear him waking up now, so better make this quick...
My boy is sleeping in a bassinet next to the bed, but not doing as well as you guys, most I get during the night is the occasional 4 hour sleep, usually 2 or 3 hours. A couple of nights ago he slept for 5 hours, but just a one off unfortunately! He is only 4 weeks old, so maybe in the next few weeks we will get some longer sleeps.
I agree on the visitor front, I never wake my boy up, his sleep is precious, at my antenatal classes the midwife said the rule should be "whoever wakes him up has to settle him again". That being said, my boy is very difficult to wake up when he's sleeping!
Must go, hungry baby calling me...
Lilwarrior
30-05-2009, 13:01
Anna - I am with you. The most sleep i get in one block is 4 hours n once 4.5hours!!! Not sleeping much better during the day either. I am bout to take him for a walk. Last night was horrible, woke each hour. I broke down in tears at 3am! Lack of sleep is getting to me. I am turning into a cranky person.
Yes so far we all have boys!
Have a nice weekend girls! :sunshine:
trin_007
01-06-2009, 15:54
Just catching up on this thread.
I am also in Brisbane, and my little man will be 6 weeks on Thursday.
BFing is going a lot better this time around, but still the same old sleep issues - very jealous of anyone who gets more than 4hrs sleep in one go - let alone 9-10!!!!
Oscar is in a co-sleeper basinette next to my bed so at least it makes it a little easier - that is, when I get to sleep in there! DH was snoring last night so we headed out to the spare bed at 11pm and went back at 5am - musical beds. DS1 must be so confused - not knowing who he will find in what bed each morning :)
Well, nearly time to put dinner on so better go. Just thought I would put my name in the ring for Qld.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
01-06-2009, 18:49
:wave: Im Brisbane Northside.
Anastasia was born 22/04/09...so almost 6 weeks old...how time flys...hopefully i will have more time to post soon in here :)
MagicalLeopluradon
02-06-2009, 09:31
Im in brissie southside!!!! My bubba boy was 8 weeks old yesterday....going so fast <3
LittleBug'sMum
02-06-2009, 10:42
Hello :wave:!
Welcome Beckibabe, Mooandlittlepoppet and Trin.
How is everyone going? I am breastfeeding my little man, and finding it pretty hard going. I had no idea that it was going to be this difficult! Cracked sore nipples, which seem to get better, but wont quite heal up, despite me having my latch checked by the child health nurse and 2 different lactation consultants. I did try to give up and change my man to formula, but both times he has had it, it resulted in major:barf:. So breastfeeding it will have to be... my poor nipples.
My boy has just reached 1 month and has gone from a lovely :sleeping: happy boy to an unsettled crying and feeding maniac. So it's 11:30 and I'm still in my pyjamas and have him in the baby carrier (Ergo - awesome!), have to get up every now and then and walk around or he gets unsettled. I just bought a miracle blanket (swaddling thing), as he likes to be swaddled, but seems to break out of it when I wrap him in a normal blanket, so will try it out today, lets hope it makes him settle.
If anyone has any tips for healing cracked nipples, or settling maniac baby would be happy to hear them!
Mangrovejane
02-06-2009, 11:40
I'm Brisbane Northside and my beautiful May girl, River arrived on the 15/05/09. The time has just flown, especially since I'm packing up the house to move this week and next in anticipication of our renovations!! YAY!!!
kobi'smama
02-06-2009, 12:02
Hi everyone and welcome.
Anna333 there is a cream called Linsonah really good! I can sympathsis with the nipples - in hosp DS made a real mess of mine, I have resorted to nipple shields, they have gotten us through the past 5.5 weeks anyway. Not the ideal solution but better then the pain i was in.
Anastasia and River look like to be the only little princess's in this thread!
Time is flying, i cant believe it has been nearly 6 weeks since Kobi was born.
I am getting lots of smiles every day, i love it! cant wait till he starts to laugh and make more noises.
jojoT1979
04-07-2009, 13:44
hi girls... mind if i join you? i was in the 'due in april' group, but little amelie arrived a few days early on the 28th of march, so she's just gone 3months.
we're all doing pretty well, bubs is feeding and growing well, and sleeping through from about 8pm til 7am, with a dreamfeed at 10.30 coz i'm too scared to drop it. she's slept through without it once, but i guess i worry too much.
anyway, im on the southside in acacia ridge.
glad to hear you and your bubs are all doing well!!
xo
kobi'smama
05-07-2009, 12:46
Hi Jo Jo - How is Amelie doing.
I just dropped the dreamfeed on friday night, slept from 7pm-4.40am then fed and woke for the day at 6.40am. Last night from 7pm woke at 3.15am fed then 6.40am.
Hopefully he goesl back to the 4.40am..if it is any earlier then last night might have to go back to the dream feed but give it a go and see.
intrusion
10-07-2009, 12:01
Hi Jo Jo - How is Amelie doing.
I just dropped the dreamfeed on friday night, slept from 7pm-4.40am then fed and woke for the day at 6.40am. Last night from 7pm woke at 3.15am fed then 6.40am.
Hopefully he goesl back to the 4.40am..if it is any earlier then last night might have to go back to the dream feed but give it a go and see.
Hi I am from Qld too.
KM - DS was waking at 3am every morning and the last 2 nights when he's woken I popped the dummy in and pat his back and he's gone back to sleep with no feed. I don't do a dream feed. He bath feed and bed by 7pm and has now been sleeping til 3-5am and back to sleep again.
kobi'smama
10-07-2009, 16:52
Gee Gee - We are in bed at 7pm every night as well, have not gone back to dream feed its going great, last night slept till 5.30am had a quick feed and bum change and back to bed till 7am. We are up at 7am every morning regardless, start the day with a full belly.
Hope it continues to go well for you!