View Full Version : What happens???
Kaileysmum
18-06-2006, 22:19
:wave: Hey there everyone....
I know its not the same but my brother started his training at Kapooka 7 weeks ago (id just like to say we are very close) Im missing him heaps. He has a march out thing in a couple of weeks and Im thinking of going....What I want to know is it worth it? (I live in Tassie) What happens? Also any other info about it all, because I dont really know to much as he doesnt go into it much on the phone as he has limited time. Any info or anything would be great....Elice
Briannabear
19-06-2006, 06:39
Hi! :wave:
We went to my little bro's marching out parade when he did it - and Im glad we went!
When he did it we basically all sat up on stands and watched them march around in their formations. (cant remember much more than that though because it was a few years ago now!)
Afterwards they let him come back to the motel with us for a while and we had a bbq lunch and a drink with him, then took him to the pub with all his mates!
All in all Im really glad we were there to support him - it was a huge trip but well worth it! :thumbsup:
neeshNgeorgia
19-06-2006, 10:30
We went to DP march out a few months ago now, though it was only a 3 hour drive away so was a lot easier to make it. It was a great day though, watching him do that made me so very proud of him! As we are recognised defacto through the army and he has a dependant (dd) he was allowed to have the night off which was great, we all got to have dinner together and he also took us to the pub where we got to have a few drinks and he got to relax a little.
Thinking back now, Dp had a mate who's wife flew over from perth and another who's gf flew down from Darwin, so i think that it's definately worth it!
Kaileysmum
19-06-2006, 10:34
Thanks guys. I just wanted to know as its a long trip frrom tassie, and expensive!!! I just didnt want to go over and see his march then not get to see him at all. He really wants me to come over though as he wants to have family there. I have a few more days too decide I guess, they dont give you much notice hey? LOL.....Thanks again Elice
you will love it. You will never forget it and you will be bursting with pride and crying with joy. Its well worth it.
Enjoy!!
My DF marched out of Kapooka 5 years ago. I drove over from SA to see him. We watched the parade, they put on lunch for all of us then DF was allowed off base for a few hours. We went to my hotel & had some 'alone' time before meeting the rest of his family for tea. He had to be back on base by 9 that night because they were leaving for Singleton the next morning.
It was well worth the trip. It gave me an understanding of what he had been doing, where he was & made his IET training a bit easier. Definately worth every cent, the pride you feel is amazing.
Sharon
Briannabear
19-06-2006, 15:22
the pride you feel is amazing.
Absolutely! :D