View Full Version : Cubic Zirconia Engagement Ring?
Boobycino
25-05-2009, 16:48
I already know for a fact that my man would never ever EVER go for this idea, but I got to thinking, if there is no significant visual or practical difference between a cubic zirconia ring and a diamond ring, then why not just go or the cubic zirconia and spend your money on something a little more practical. (like the wedding?!?!?)
I'm a simple girl I think - even when looking at diamonds, I'll take the 'imperfect' diamond in regards to colour, clairty and cut just to get a BIGGER diamond. A bit of bling never hurt anyone!
So, who else would want a, say, 1 carat equivelent cz rather than a real diamond? Cos, seriously, I would! Its such a shame my partner is a snob - I really couldn't care less about the exact stone involved, as long as its got good craftmanship so it'll survive for the next 70 years.
sandy cheeks
25-05-2009, 16:53
I will never get married but I'm with u:D
After watching blood diamond I will never buy another one:no:
Boobycino
25-05-2009, 17:04
Hey good point.... there is a vague chance my partner would agree if I sold him on the moral point of veiw...
I need research to back me up though!
Cos, seriously, if I can get an engagement ring for like $300 I'd be a happy camper!
sockstealingpoltergeist
25-05-2009, 17:07
Honestly I would just get another stone, I'm not really into fake stuff.
Each to their own mate, whatever makes you happy. I myself like the idea of a real diamond cause it is the only time I would ever get one, but I am more than happy to skip the "brand" or the "done thing" on heaps of other things in leiu of cheaper but just as good and practical. Why should it matter? :yes:
Boobycino
25-05-2009, 22:06
I'd thought of another stone, but there is nothing I would want I think. Like.... maybe a rose quartz - MAYBE - but who's to say I'm still gonna love the colour pink in 20, 30, 50 years from now?
I do think I'm just very eager to get married sooner rather than later - as I'm not going to have baby no. 2 until we're married, as I know we'd never get married with the financial committments of 2 bubs. And I'm not going to wait forever for Jasper's little sister (or brother)
I mean, I'd even be happy to get a really good quality setting, put a cz in it, and then in 5 years time when we can afford it, we replace the cz with a diamond.
I just wanna be married :( I'm sick of calling the father of my baby my 'partner'. It sounds so vague.
Looshkin
25-05-2009, 22:45
If you want to, do it.:thumbsup:
I'm not a jewelery fan, I like old/antique jewels though, and have a very old hand made sapphire and diamond ring in white gold with a rose gold back, it's super weird, but my grandmother designed it herself - it looks sort of like the crown jewels, I think it looks like a 5 of diamonds playing card.
Anyway, I was given an expensive diamond from tiffany & co from family, I have moral issues with their diamonds, and seriously the amount they cost makes me a bit ill, I could never wear it and it's in safe (not at my house) as I am paranoid I'll loose it, and too sentimental to sell it. Even if I was a kabillionaire, I would never spend that much on a new diamond maybe one of those really dark antique ruby or an emeralds.
My sister has a ring she bought from one of those companies that make fakes that look incredibly real (not an engagement ring she just likes diamonds and bling)
anyway everyone thinks it's real, and comments on it, I think she paid 4/or 500 for it but it has a guarantee to never loose it's sparkle and it made with good quality metal.
I would also look into other stones, if you love them you will most likely love it forever because of the connotations etc - I didn't particularly love sapphires but when I got my ring, well every time I look at it I remember the moment he proposed to me under the full moon while we were watching the eclipse!!
it could be the ring from a coke can and I would adore it.:bee:
I say go with your heart, if you are the type of person who would treasure a diamond - go for it - but personally I would much prefer experience, lol before my nan gave DF her original ring (she had hers upgraded on their 20th anniversary) I had heavily suggested for him to give me an engagement holiday :D
Opinionated
25-05-2009, 22:53
I have one.
Picked the exact ring that I wanted at a large diamond company, then got them to put a cubic in it.
You really can't tell, well unless you get one of those eye piece things and know what you are looking for.
I convinced dh to put the engagement ring money towards the deposit for our house. Convincing him took all of 2 seconds.
Very happy with our decision. I have some diamonds coming my way as an inheritance one day. One of them is the exact size of my engagement ring but in a setting I hate. win/win situation.
I also don't feel self concious about wearing it. If I was wearing an $8000 ring which is what it would have cost with the diamond, I would be always concerned about it.
sockstealingpoltergeist
25-05-2009, 22:57
I think some of the nicest rings are interesting and don't have to have diamonds in them.
My favourite ring (and I wish it was my wedding ring) is this beautiful white gold ring, it's wide and has 8 small diamonds and one slightly bigger one in the centre, it has a kind os filagree pattern. It looks antique and it was $600 half price.
I would just set a budget and go shopping. Also you can laybye and I don't think you need to spend a fortune.
little_froglette
25-05-2009, 23:03
i agree with opinionated! plus no one has to know unless you tell them, my engagement ring was $6,500 and i nearly shot my DH when i found the recipt for it, also i'm so scared i'm going to loose it! i would have been happy with a plain matching gold band that had our names or something engraved in it. (wonders off to go check it's still where i left it) :)
lachys_mama
25-05-2009, 23:25
I asked my partner to try not to spend too much on an engagement ring as I'm a morally opposed to diamonds partially because of blood diamond and because they make many women go nuts! And because the stones I like happen to be pretty cheap LOL on top of that I only like wearing silver and very rarely white gold... We're eloping also so i don't see the need for an expensive showy ring
Harlequin
26-05-2009, 00:06
I'm all for spending money on less frivolous things and would be happy getting a nice cz over a diamond. I never wear my ring anyway :D
I would have been very happy with a nice looking CZ :).. I actually got a little tear drop shaped amethyst instead.. Cost less then $200 if I remember correctly.. I don't need fancy things :p
I love my diamonds. Mind you I don't have that many! I would much rather prefer to spend the money on a diamond rather that a wedding. My wedding day went soooo fast. I can look at my beautiful ring every day.
I waited 10 years for my 1.5 carat and I love it love it love it. Not only because it's real but I know that there was alot of love and thought behind buying it(on behalf of my hubby). It was always something I had dreamt of.
I do think something like a house is more important rather than a diamond to spend the money on. Hence the 10 yr wait!
Emsmum85
26-05-2009, 14:26
There is a gorgeous Wedder set at Prouds on sale for $179, white gold with diamonds, I'd love it. *sigh*
I dont know.... i will have to think about this one.... i cant figure out what i feel about it.
hmmmm not often i am not opinionated - you deserve an award for that :laughing:
sandy cheeks
26-05-2009, 14:45
I would like to go with the different stone idea but stones have meaning my mum was telling me this when I said I wanted a opal cos it's australian and no one is killed for it I carn't remember what she said it meant but diamonds r for getting married cos there strong and last forever.
peanutbutter&jelly
26-05-2009, 14:48
I have my CZ ring, with the promise of a diamond... currently the one I want is an aquamarine with 6 tiny diamonds - 3 on each side.
But honestly, I hate just having one option. My ring was like $60, I like knowing that DF & I can go and buy another one if I feel like a change. My wedding ring with be a band with channel set diamonds, simple and classic... my engagement ring has always been a different story - I've never really had my heart set on anything :confused:
dillydAlly
26-05-2009, 15:01
Well.... I have both!
When DF and I were looking to get engaged we were looking at ring styles... DF earns a pretty good wage and has been saving for years for it so I knew he had a fair amount put away. The only style of "ring" I could find I liked was actually from Secrets. I emailed him the style and told him I want something like that!
So, being the good boy that he is actually bought the one from secrets ($500) and went to a jeweller and asked them to make the same ring but with real diamonds.....
So i ended up with the real one which cost ........................ well lets just say more than a large deposit for a house and a "fake" one which I can wear everyday. They look exactly alike and only I can tell the different because the real one is engraved. To be honest I feel more comfortable wearing the simulated one around as I am afraid I am going to lose the real one.
Do what makes you happy and TBH no one will ever really know.
However, that being said I love knowing that DF cares enough to spend that much on something that I will have forever... :)
Luna Lovegood
26-05-2009, 15:32
Well...I have a real diamond, that cost too much. And I now want a CZ because most of time you can't tell- like the ones from secrets are lovely, and I am morally oposed to diamonds.
Oh and I hate walking around with something worth so much on my finger I am always scared I am going to lose it...
SassyMummy
26-05-2009, 16:13
I would quite happily forgo a diamond if it meant my ring was prettier. The rings I like now are about $5000... that's a lot of money for me to be toting around on my finger.
If I could get a good quality white gold with CZ ring that was in a similar style, I would very happily. I'm not rich, I don't hang out with rich people, I don't hang out with people who even really care about that type of thing... so why does it even matter? It's pretty is all... I couldn't really care less if it was real or not...
I have a "Diamond Simulant" on my finger right now... from that Secrets Shhh place. It looks lovely, so long as I keep it clean...
I also have big issues with the diamond industry, and for that reason would not buy a new diamond.
BUT I love diamonds and did not want anything else for my engagement ring. Luckily I like antique/vintage jewelry and stipulated that my ring be either antique or vintage and that's what I got. :) No moral dilemmas, and a real diamond... the best of both worlds :D
julietv8
26-05-2009, 19:30
If you dont have an issue with it, then I would get a CZ one. I'm forever drooling at the diamonesque ones on the tv shopping channel :laughing:
It's funny that there is still a stigma (not in this thread, but generally) associated with fake diamonds. There is often an implication that a man isn't manly enough or doesn't care for his fiance enough if he doesn't splash out. Lots of silly rubbish like that.
I won't get married but if I did, I wouldn't care. In saying that, I do have a lovely a lovely antique diamond ring which I inherited that's worth about $6k. But I wouldn't bother buying one.
My best friend who just got married got one that was about $8k. It was just a rock on a gold ring. It was very sparkly, but I doubt you'd know the difference between that and a fake one.
The only thing I wonder, do people with fake ones lie if asked? (I have no problem with lying in this instance, as people shouldn't ask in the first place...I'm just curious).
ETA: real diamonds also add an extra premium to your insurance every year which is a bit painful to pay.
CrankyAndTired
26-05-2009, 20:04
To each his own... but if I were to find out my ring was full of fake diamonds I'd be pretty upset! And my DH loves diamonds (and loves to spoil me) so I know he'd never consider CZ either..
I just dont like fakes - its not about how it looks to me, I would always know it was a fake!
Rather have a smaller version of the real thing if that was all we could afford, rather than a fake..
JMO!
Boobycino
26-05-2009, 21:41
It's funny that there is still a stigma (not in this thread, but generally) associated with fake diamonds. There is often an implication that a man isn't manly enough or doesn't care for his fiance enough if he doesn't splash out. Lots of silly rubbish like that.
I won't get married but if I did, I wouldn't care. In saying that, I do have a lovely a lovely antique diamond ring which I inherited that's worth about $6k. But I wouldn't bother buying one.
My best friend who just got married got one that was about $8k. It was just a rock on a gold ring. It was very sparkly, but I doubt you'd know the difference between that and a fake one.
The only thing I wonder, do people with fake ones lie if asked? (I have no problem with lying in this instance, as people shouldn't ask in the first place...I'm just curious).
ETA: real diamonds also add an extra premium to your insurance every year which is a bit painful to pay.
If someone asked me in the terms "is it real?" My answer would be "absolutely" because, its a real ring, its a real engagement, its real love and its a real stone - if they asked "is it a real diamond" I probably be honest.
I just had a thought! I rushed around the house to find and measure them -when money flowed a little better around here my man bought me a diamond necklace and earring set - knowing him and knowing how we were financially when he bought them, I'm sure I could exchange them for a car let alone an engagement ring!
I did a quick measure, in the set there are three of each damonds in each - one .5, one .4 and .3 carats. They look pretty white and bright to me, but I wouldn't have a clue about their colour and clarity!
9 diamonds in total and I just want the 1 .... maybe it'd be worthwhile having them appraised... I might keep the necklace as I do wear it, but I have never even worn the earings.
Do you think that for 6 diamonds, 2.4 carat in total I might be able to get one nice big one? (and maybe the wedding rings also?)
I love JJJ
14-06-2009, 12:29
this idea, but I got to thinking, if there is no significant visual or practical difference between a cubic zirconia ring and a diamond ring,
Actually Chel, there is a rather big visual difference between a CZ and a real diamond. Maybe not so much in the lower quality diamonds but...well, there definitely is a difference.
In saying that, hubby and I went for the better quality over the size, too.
We could have bought a full carat or more cheaper than what we bought my engagement ring for, which is just over half a carat.
In saying that, I think it's each to their own.
I had a rather small suprise wedding as I would have preffered the money go toward buying a house, which it did.
Goodluck with coming to a compromise. It's not always easy!
Oh and if you can't get him to agree to the CZ, you can get diamonds that have been mined and produced without 'blood'.
SurNuage9
14-06-2009, 12:34
Not all stones are conflict diamonds, don't let movies make you think all diamonds are dirty.
Personally I'd rather the diamond, I can tell the difference between a CZ and the real thing, but it's all a matter of personal preference.
My partner bought me an "engagment" ring when we were 17 awww it was like $400 and although we no longer say we are engaged ( don't plan on getting married :D ) He has offered many times to .. "upsize" it but i would never want that the ring he bought is perfect and may not be massive or fancy or expensive its perfect .
so really who cares what the ring looks like or is made of the commitment and love is the main thing
peanutbutter&jelly
14-06-2009, 13:32
I've already posted here... but I hardly ever wear my ring anyway... It scratches me, I tend to retain fluid easily because I forget to drink enough water, so it gets uncomfortable and it commits one of the greatest sins in my eyes - it scratches my little boy :shame: I'm considering getting a new ring - just a $400 channel set wedder, although we aren't married just so I can have something symbolic from DF without scratching things.
We almost bought a new ring the other day, thanks to my lack of commitment to a ring and our bad spending habits - only a $50 amethyst though :D
Ardentwhispers
31-07-2009, 21:27
I couldn't do it - they look fake. But, I'm a snob..and I want a ring that's worth more than my car :laughing: My car won't last forever though...a good ring will last generations!
Hi there... I am only new at this and am not sure where my post for you went, so here's a brief second one!
Google 'Shhh secrets' and check out their items. Apparently the stones are in between diamonds and CZ's and jewellers even having trouble identifying them!! :)
I don't think it matters....
I think what matters is your level of committment to your partner.
And making sure you research what your buying if you do decide to buy diamonds to make sure you're buying manufactured diamonds, or fair trade diaomnds.. not conflict diamonds.
If I knew then what I know now about diamond trading, I would have just got CZ.
ETA:
Not all cultures use gold and diamonds. I think it's important to remember that when the tradition started gold and diamonds were used because they were materials which have incredible longevity. These days it's not uncommon to see materials such as platinum and titanium being used in wedding and engagement rings as well.
CZ's haven't alwasy been around. And traditionally an engagement ring was meant to cost around one months salary.
I wouldn't get caught up in the ring..... make sure he does night shift with the kids and knows how to use a washing machine, vacuum cleaner and knows how to cook.
If a man has honor, virtue, ethics, morals, a sense of responsibility, respect for others and wisdom... he could get me a ring from Kleins and I wouldn't care in the slightest.
JackOfAllTradesMummy
31-07-2009, 22:59
Its not what it physically is, but what it represents...
DH got me a CZ ring when he first proposed, that was all he could afford (i was 17 he was 19) and later got me another ring with a real diamond in it.
My DF and I got engaged a few weeks ago and we bought our ring from Secrets. We had already been in there a few months prior to have a look and a good chat with the ppl that work there. My DF also researched the quality etc of the secrets stones. My DF would never spend a lot of money on an engagement ring so I knew that by going to Secrets I was getting a good quality ring that was exactly the ring I had always wanted but without the huge pricetag. Our ring cost $550 and I ABSOLUTELY love it. It has a lifetime guarantee on colour, clarity and brilliance. I have also read that the stones from Secrets are not cubic zirconias but are made from the same material (different chemical compound or something like that :S).
I have had my ring next to similar rings with real diamonds and I swear you could not tell the difference (and believe me I scrutinised the diamond, just to see). The only problem I have faced is that when people have commented about how beautiful it is I feel like I should tell them that it isnt a real diamond and then go into explaining about where its from and what Secrets is. I did this for about the first week and then started to feel like I was putting my DF down in some way as though he had done something wrong by not getting a real diamond. So I now accept the compliment and only if people question how I got such an amazing ring from my DF (knowing him as being tight) or if someone was to question it being a real diamond then I will explain.
I'm going to secrets next week, not to get engagment ring but a dress ring.
SquishyWishy
24-09-2009, 16:59
I think the whole buying of an engagement ring to be a rather silly idea, but that said i love jewelery so I was very happy to get one!
Although, if i couldn't afford a diamond i'd go for a pretty sapphire or something instead... CZ's are no where near as nice as diamonds in my opinion. If you put a good quality diamond, i.e. high quality cut and colour, next to a CZ the CZ looks like a dull piece of glass. I guess if you compare poor quality diamonds to a CZ the difference won't be as much. But then i don't see the point in forking out money for a crappy diamond, I'd prefer none... esp the marked up ones in most retail stores.
Anywho each to their own. I would never dream of asking someone if their stone was 'real'... everyones tastes and financial situations are different.
mygirlindi
23-12-2009, 13:12
We just got engaged after 2 years of being together. I was very upfront with my DF thatthat I did not want him to spend a small fortune on my engagement ring. I have expensive taste and the ring I wanted would have cost $19,000 from Diamonds International but we found the replica at secrets for $560! It is absolutely beautiful and nobody can tell the difference. They use diamond simulants which are different to Cubics so they look a lot more realistic. If I had've waited for the real thing - I would be waiting for a very long time lol. Highly recommend secrets.
I would NEVER buy anything under a ct. My engagment ring was $3999 1.1ct. You can tell it's a real diamond. It's a rock lmaoo. It took one year to pay off now we finally have done it.
We just got engaged after 2 years of being together. I was very upfront with my DF thatthat I did not want him to spend a small fortune on my engagement ring. I have expensive taste and the ring I wanted would have cost $19,000 from Diamonds International but we found the replica at secrets for $560! It is absolutely beautiful and nobody can tell the difference. They use diamond simulants which are different to Cubics so they look a lot more realistic. If I had've waited for the real thing - I would be waiting for a very long time lol. Highly recommend secrets.
What diamond was it?
Hey let's post photos of our rings. I'm going to take mine now...:)
I wana see that ring that's worth 6,500 :o
Opinionated
23-12-2009, 13:35
I would NEVER buy anything under a ct. My engagment ring was $3999 1.1ct. You can tell it's a real diamond. It's a rock lmaoo. It took one year to pay off now we finally have done it.
Size is not the be all and end all. You can have a massive diamond worth not much because of all the flaws and colour. You could also have one that is 0.5ct worth over $5K.
SorenLorensen
23-12-2009, 13:54
Size is not the be all and end all. You can have a massive diamond worth not much because of all the flaws and colour. You could also have one that is 0.5ct worth over $5K.
my aunts is worth a fortune, and i mean a FORTUNE..it is not big at all but it took my uncle 25 years of looking to find the perfect diamond. he gave it to her for their 25th wedding anniversary. it is flawless and the clarity is amazing....just stunning.
i think he got it over in WA.
if someone wants a CZ then thats cool. to me the meaning of the ring should be the important part, not the worth of it.
if you love the setting and picked it for that then it is perfect,
if it was bought for you out of love then it is perfect :valentine:
i dont want a diamond, i already have plenty and there is nothing 'original' about them anymore to me...they are getting a little mundain for me. i like colour so will be getting something with maybe an emerald (or we may even use my nans emerald ring that was passed down to me....if people are worried about cost you should see how much it is worth ;)) or a tourmaline...i dont care what colour, maybe a paraiba one :bee: or even a watermelon one.... oh they are just sooooo gorgeous
watermelon
http://www.tentwothree.com/prodimages/ringwaterl.jpg
or
http://www.tommyd.co.za/wp-content/uploads/Tourmaline-ring-B1.jpg
paraiba
http://www.prlog.org/10063335-authentic-paraiba-tourmaline.jpg
or
https://www.kranichs.com/product_images/Simon-G@755_M_11_M.jpg
jusy like looking into the ocean
delirium
23-12-2009, 14:10
I have a ruby engagement ring, I wanted to be different. But hypothetically if DH had bought a CZ I would not have cared. The ring is a symbol of the neverending love btween the couple, not how much money it cost.
DH bought me a beautiful CZ princess cut pendant and chain. Honestly it's so close I dare anyone to see the difference ;) and I love it so much.
SassyMummy
23-12-2009, 16:05
I love the art deco style rings, and usually, diamonds or not, they're quite cheaper because they use tiny tiny stones, not big stones.
I don't even really like big rocks - I think they look gaudy and too flashy.
I think I've replied earlier in this thread, but I don't care if I have real or diamonds. None of our friends could tell anyway - we're not living in high society. So long as it looked pretty awesome, I couldn't care less.
Actually, I'd be a lot happier if it wasn't scoured from the earth by slavery.
Looshkin
23-12-2009, 21:52
I'm surprised no one has mentioned the lab created diamonds in this thread?
I don't mean the cubic Z or any of that stuff..
They are exactly identical to mined diamonds, although by law they do have to be engraved with a serial number because otherwise even experts are entirely unable to tell the difference between mined and created.. and because of the false sense of value placed on slave mined diamonds.. Well I guess it's a precaution so someone doesn't feel "ripped off" for buying a lab created for 3k when the mined "wild" version would be worth 10k
They are apparently priced as per what diamonds would be valued at if De beers did not hold a monopoly and only allow a certain amount out at a time, maintaining a fake inflation and overvalue..
I just can't believe anyone could have a child and buy a diamond. Don't you care that people die for them?
Why is something people are beaten, held in slavery and murdered over a symbol of ever lasting love? I don't get it. :no:
my dp has bought me a cubic z promise ring and wants to buy me a diamond ring for our engagement ring.
im not overly fussed tbh.
my ex bought me a diamond engagement ring and although i still think the ring is very beautiful now, the engagement itself was crappy so the ring never held that meaning to me.
the promise ring holds more meaning then the other one and the promise one was only $40! the engagement one was $1600!
my bro got married with ''cheap'' rings and bought his wife a special expensive ring for their 5 yr anniversary, i'd be happy with this.
ubut like u op my dp is a snob when it comes to engagement / wedding rings lol
CrankyAndTired
23-12-2009, 22:07
Hey let's post photos of our rings. I'm going to take mine now...:)
I'm all for showing off my engagement ring - I love it!!!
My husband worked with a designer to make it unique, and he even had the centre diamond laser engraved with our initials.. :valentine:
The photo is a bit blurry - I took it with my camera phone the night he proposed... :goodvibes:
Its 2.7carats, centre diamond is 1.7 I think? Then the ones one the side add up to be about one too..
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=1288&pictureid=8661
I heart my ring!!
Sorenlorensen: I love the last pic you posted... That's wat I want :-) some colour stands out. I also love the blue stone.
Markers mark have nice Coloured gems but really expensive
maisymum
24-12-2009, 17:03
Wifey.....pic doesn't work :geek:
SorenLorensen
24-12-2009, 19:30
Sorenlorensen: I love the last pic you posted... That's wat I want :-) some colour stands out. I also love the blue stone.
blue is my favourite colour. anything with blue in it would made me go all giddy and lust over my ring all the time :laughing:
Alexander Beetle
24-12-2009, 21:43
I'm surprised no one has mentioned the lab created diamonds in this thread?
I don't mean the cubic Z or any of that stuff..
They are exactly identical to mined diamonds, although by law they do have to be engraved with a serial number because otherwise even experts are entirely unable to tell the difference between mined and created.. and because of the false sense of value placed on slave mined diamonds.. Well I guess it's a precaution so someone doesn't feel "ripped off" for buying a lab created for 3k when the mined "wild" version would be worth 10k
They are apparently priced as per what diamonds would be valued at if De beers did not hold a monopoly and only allow a certain amount out at a time, maintaining a fake inflation and overvalue..
I just can't believe anyone could have a child and buy a diamond. Don't you care that people die for them?
Why is something people are beaten, held in slavery and murdered over a symbol of ever lasting love? I don't get it. :no:
:yelclap::iagree:
CrankyAndTired
24-12-2009, 21:54
Sorry MM, I'll try again..
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=1288&pictureid=8661
maisymum
24-12-2009, 22:56
Sorry MM, I'll try again..
Nope, won't open......might be my computer........i was looking forward to seeing a fine piece of jewellery :rolleyes:.......enjoy your Christmas :party:
CrankyAndTired
24-12-2009, 23:03
Nope, won't open......might be my computer........i was looking forward to seeing a fine piece of jewellery :rolleyes:.......enjoy your Christmas :party:
Sorry, not sure why it doesnt work...
Merry Christmas to you honey!! :noel:
maisymum
24-12-2009, 23:10
Sorry, not sure why it doesnt work...
Merry Christmas to you honey!! :noel:
:( Trying to put on a brave face for the kiddies......hubby works away and he's missing out on christmas with us this year......so not the same without him......Trying to make the time go by catching up with people on FB...lol....hope the kids don't see me tonight being Santa........enjoy the time with your family :noel: .....MM xx
florence
25-12-2009, 18:47
That's right. My engagement ring is just over half a carat and cost nearly 5k. My husband and I were more interested in having a top quality diamond rather than a large one.
SorenLorensen
25-12-2009, 21:48
That's right. My engagement ring is just over half a carat and cost nearly 5k. My husband and I were more interested in having a top quality diamond rather than a large one.
i am actually curious as to what a 1.1 $4000 diamond looks like in real life. :detective:
florence
26-12-2009, 07:08
i am actually curious as to what a 1.1 $4000 diamond looks like in real life. :detective:
I seen some about that size and price and apart from the fact the size didn't suit my finger, the diamonds weren't of great quality.
We looked at the higher quality in 1 carat and over and once again, they didn't suit my finger.
You can get some really good sales though where I am sure the diamonds are reduced but are still good quality.
Was it you that mentioned a flawless diamond?
You will find there is no such thing as a 'flawless' diamond although you can get close.
I would LOVE the perfect diamond though!
Oh I forgot to mention, there was a thread started with pictures of some of the ladies rings, including the 1.1 carat one.
Here's the link for you http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=311166
Greenhorn
26-12-2009, 09:24
Well.... I have both!
When DF and I were looking to get engaged we were looking at ring styles... DF earns a pretty good wage and has been saving for years for it so I knew he had a fair amount put away. The only style of "ring" I could find I liked was actually from Secrets. I emailed him the style and told him I want something like that!
So, being the good boy that he is actually bought the one from secrets ($500) and went to a jeweller and asked them to make the same ring but with real diamonds.....
So i ended up with the real one which cost ........................ well lets just say more than a large deposit for a house and a "fake" one which I can wear everyday. They look exactly alike and only I can tell the different because the real one is engraved. To be honest I feel more comfortable wearing the simulated one around as I am afraid I am going to lose the real one.
Do what makes you happy and TBH no one will ever really know.
However, that being said I love knowing that DF cares enough to spend that much on something that I will have forever... :)
Thats exactly what i'd like to do. DP earns a fair bit, and if he went by that whole X weeks salary it'd be too expensive! but i'd feel like crap if i lost the expensive ring :(
I would understand it if we were really short on money and the wedding had to be celebrated soon (like I was pregnant or something).
But.....luckily I don't need to have such a headache anymore. I'm never getting married:yes:.
Pina Colada
14-09-2010, 20:10
I love my diamond engagement ring. I designed it (not many rose gold engagement rings out there) and yes, we spent alot on it (1.10 carat, clarity G), but I'm hoping it will be something that will be in our family for generations :yes:
I don't give it a second thought wearing a ring worth that much. I don't live life like that I guess.
Personally, if I didn't want a diamond for whatever reason I would go for another stone instead of a CZ. But I say if you are happy with a CZ go for it! Although I often wonder with the new CZ's that pass as diamonds to the naked eye, how many women out there are wearing one thinking it is a diamond :o :detective:
Designing my eternity ring at the moment with Pink Diamonds from Argyle mine in WA :cloud9:
14-09-2010, 20:27
I say go for it! I can't tell the difference!
I don't really get the stigma attached to CZ???
I mean isn't the engagement/wedding ring a sign of commitment and love etc etc etc???
I don't know why this sign needs to have a certain stone in it. I know some people who have engagement rings with no diamonds but with other precious stones. :yes:
My engagement ring is a 18kt white gold 1.0ct diamond ring. We plan on getting our wedidng rings from Shh Secrets. We don't have the $$$ to spend ANOTHER $3K on my wedding band so we are going with simulated diamonds! :D
I don't really get the stigma attached to CZ???
I mean isn't the engagement/wedding ring a sign of commitment and love etc etc etc???
I don't know why this sign needs to have a certain stone in it. I know some people who have engagement rings with no diamonds but with other precious stones. :yes:
My engagement ring is a 18kt white gold 1.0ct diamond ring. We plan on getting our wedidng rings from Shh Secrets. We don't have the $$$ to spend ANOTHER $3K on my wedding band so we are going with simulated diamonds! :D
I totally agree. DH proposed to me at the jeweller and said I could pick whatever I wanted. I fell in love with the first one I saw and when I found put the price I said no but DH insisted. I do love it but I regret spending that much money. It gets caught on everything and isn't practical. I've decided to take it off soon and DH is going to buy me a new ring to wear on that finger as my wedding band is also full of diamond that get caught.
Honestly DH got engaged because we believed our love would last. The ring has nothing to do with it.
MummaBear03
14-09-2010, 20:57
I'm not a huge fan of jewellery of any description, and certainly would not ever ever ever wear diamonds no matter what.
That's just me though, I really cannot bring myself to like them or even to pretend to like them.
I can honestly say i'd be happy with a fake
even a cheesle
its the "question" that I'll be happy with haha
EmmasMummy
14-09-2010, 21:31
I have diamonds.....Only spent $500 on the engagement and wedding ring in set...... not what I "wanted" when I dreamed of diamond rings... but Its probably nicer on me then thousands of dollars would of and more practical... dont wear my engagment ring since having bub anyways
Pina Colada
14-09-2010, 21:39
It would have poor clarity and possibly an ordinary cut. So it wouldn't 'sparkle' or throw rainbows as much. A clear, well cut diamond of that size would be around $12,000-$15,000 I believe.
maestroandme
14-09-2010, 21:47
I can difinately see the practical side to CZ.
my first engagement ring was a cute pear shaped emerald- we were so young...... dumb lol( Hubby #1)
DH surprized me with a beautiful princess cut diamond ring about 8 yrs into our relationship I only accepted it as a friendship ring ........ so when we finally got engaged after 13years together well I wanted a beauty!!!! And I got it!!! ITS WG WITH LOTS OF SPARLES My eternity ring is also devine! They give me so much pleasue :) Stuff the wedding I wanted the sparkle that would last forever.
At the end of the day it is the symbolism that counts most. Make your self and DF happy.
I just wanna be married :( I'm sick of calling the father of my baby my 'partner'. It sounds so vague.
Awww I so know how you feel, I was the same. I hope you don't have to wait too long. Have you told your partner? What about if you were just engaged? would you feel better calling him your fiance?
I dont think it really matters if you dont have a diamond, as long as you love the ring and even more important as long as you love the person you are making a commitment to marry then it doesnt matter.
My DF was like yours, I was honestly okay with having a simulated diamond but he wasnt. I just wanted the setting that i have loved since i was 15 (the tiffany and co legacy if your wondering :yes:)
Anyway, we got engaged last year and I got my ring and my mum bought my sister a ring from secrets for her birthday and i honestly cannot tell the difference between the diamonds, except hers was cheaper.
Now im paying $500 in insureance every year on top of my normal house insurance so in 40 odd years i could have bought a new one
honestly, if i had my time again i probably would have insisted on a stimulant diamond you cant tell the difference and its still going to last forever
Boobycino
14-09-2010, 22:34
Awww I so know how you feel, I was the same. I hope you don't have to wait too long. Have you told your partner? What about if you were just engaged? would you feel better calling him your fiance?
He's a cheater and has just called me his wife for the last 2 years. Very few people who have met him since we got together (like work mates) realize we're not married.
I occasionally will just say husband but I feel like a liar :rolleyes:
It's soooooooo low priority ATM though. We have a nasty credit card, we don't own a car, we have no savings. Also we have a 15 year old bed that is in desperate need of replacement, blah blah blah.
About 10 months ago dp steered me into a jeweler and I started trying on rings, but when he started talking financing on the ge credit card whatever it was like 3 years interest free I went 'awesome thanks ' RUN AWAY!!!!!!
I wouldn't want a ring on my finger to symbolize debt. :no:
I'd take a cheezle over a perfect diamond.
Boobycino
14-09-2010, 22:37
Oh and I'm as subtle as a slap in the face - I changed his computer desktop to a screen shot of the secrets...shh 'diamond' ring I want. :laughing:
He didn't take the bait clearly ;)
SuPeRsTaRrR
14-09-2010, 22:51
I have been telling dp that I'd be more than happy getting a CZ in the setting I want (which I have seen plenty of) and upsizing to the real deal later on- even if it's 10 years away!!
My priorities now have just changed and like sleepless I just want to be married!! We've got a little man due in December and want to buy a house so I see the only way to get a ring on this finger is to fake it til I make it!!
CrazySingleMama84
23-03-2011, 12:39
I currently have a "temporary" engagement ring, and my DF has an engagement ring from me. Our rings cost $100 for the pair. It's called my "temporary" ring because my DF wants to buy me a diamond ring once he is working again and can afford to, and because we couldn't find the "right" ring when we were looking around.. anyway, my temporary ring is a sterling silver CZ.. and to be honest, I've really grown to love my "temporary" ring, and I am honestly starting to think I don't want a different ring. As for it being CZ, well, meh. I'm not much of a girly-girl, and diamonds have never really "done it" for me. I already know what I want as my wedder, just a simple band with diamonds.. as far as diamonds go, I'll be happy with that. We have so much else that our $$$ need to head towards, and at the end of the day, I don't need a ring to tell everyone I'm in love.. the lovestruck look on my face does that for me :rolleyes:
Also, even if I DO get a new ring with a diamond in it, it's probably going to be AFTER we are married.. and by then, well, whats the point?
MamaBleech
23-03-2011, 12:57
I mean, I'd even be happy to get a really good quality setting, put a cz in it, and then in 5 years time when we can afford it, we replace the cz with a diamond.
I'm all for this ^^ and is one option I'm considering.
I would never ever buy a brand new diamond. DP is under strict instructions to buy the diamond/ring from cash converters (or wherever) and we'll design another ring around the stone.
I have also inherited a reasonable diamond 0.75 ct (very good quality) which I am considering getting remade into a ring of my design.
We don't have the money to be splashing out $7k or more on a ring atm nor do I want to go into debt for it.
I havent read through all 8 pages but I have a feeling Ive answered this thread...cant check cos my phone is going flat and im not at home so here's another answer from me. Could be totally different from my fist post..if I made one lol
I found exactly the style of ring I wanted at shh secrets. Fake, but exactly the style. I showed DP n mentioned its fake. He said 'you'd kill me if i got a fake ring'. I pointed out that the fake was only $500 and the real version was over 10grand. DP bought me a $2,500 ring when we first started dating, for no reason other than he felt like it and i wear it everyday. Thats roughly the same price as alot of my friends engagement rings. As far as im concerned, he has already got me some bling, so a fake engagement ring wouldnt bother me that much. I'd rather spend that money on a wonderful honeymoon where we can elope :)
Soo
Are the Secrets Shh rings nice? Can you tell they are fake?
Boobycino
30-04-2011, 16:18
I couldn't tell, apparently the only visible differences can be seen by like appraisers with a microscope (or that eye doovy)
The only tell I think is they are *too perfect* - what costs $550 at shh would be $6000-$10,000+ so ummmmm yeah I decided against it because I suspect I'd be asked 'is it real?' because nobody would buy that we'd bought it.
I can tell a CZ from a diamond...same with the latest fad of Swarvoski Crystals. No eye piece needed. A lot of the Shhh Secrets jewellery does look very nice but to me, it's obvious they aren't real diamonds. Nothing wrong with them, each to their own...but I'm a diamond girl all the way :laughing:...I'm very much my mothers daughter when it comes to jewellery.
It's not just fake (or man made) stones I won't wear, it's also gold filled jewellery which is becoming a very popular option.
2darlingboys
30-04-2011, 16:35
Personally I'd want real one.
I will be owning the ring for decades.
I want it to last & possibly pass on to my children.
People spend crazy amounts on weddings which IMO I think that's silly for one day, I'd rather more spent on ring that will last forever.
(& I never get presents so this would make up for it haha)
SorenLorensen
30-04-2011, 16:54
blue is my favourite colour. anything with blue in it would made me go all giddy and lust over my ring all the time :laughing:
and since i did this post guess what i got :D
It at the moment has a topaz in it but will eventually be replaced with either a sapphire (for that darker blue)....though my topaz is a gorgeous colour, i fell in love with it and the setting.
Since posting in this thread i have also changed a little in my opinion in regards to diamons. I will not go into any old shop and buy one, it must be conflict free and to be sure of this i am going to stick to argyle diamonds.
Honestly i would prefer a man made stone on my hand rather then a diamond that has a awful connection to it.
Does not mean i am getting rid of currant diamonds becuase back then i did not know, it is now i know that i will not continue to buy.
For those looking into man made why dont you look into the mining of diamonds a little....you might find that man made are actually just the little bit better then most diamonds on our market ;)
Boobycino
30-04-2011, 17:48
I have looked at my finger and thought 'I wonder where you come from little stones'
Boobycino
30-04-2011, 17:50
http://i262.photobucket.com/albums/ii87/cheekymagic/80b7d44f.jpg
Btw that's the ring ;)
Better late than never (look at the date on the OP)
~CupCakes~
30-04-2011, 17:54
beautiful ring!
lovebeingamum!
30-04-2011, 18:18
I think it's the sentiment behind whatever you are given and/or choose to wear.
If it symbolizes your love and commitment, I dont think it matters what type, colour, size or how much it cost.
Just my opinion. :)
lovebeingamum!
30-04-2011, 18:19
Lovely ring!!! :D
brogeybear
30-04-2011, 18:26
Wow, old thread! I am not going to read it all, but nice ring Chel!
I don't generally buy real gemstones, I don't like the ethic of the industry behind it. I have bought locally sourced opals before though.
All of my rings are from Secrets. I love them to peices. I need to get them resized though, I haven't worn them since pregnant with DS, so so sad!
That said, I am unsure of where Secrets get their gold from, and want to investigate that before I buy any more.
Boobycino
30-04-2011, 19:58
Oh I'm secrets size! They are all the same size and when I went in the shop assistant pointed that out they have one size and it fits me perfectly! ;)
Hooray extremely average finger width!
brogeybear
30-04-2011, 20:37
That's just for their displays though, they have all the sizes in the cupboards or they order in or resize. I am around a J-L
sandy cheeks
30-04-2011, 20:53
Lovely ring.
At least you know it didn't come from some mine in Africa where some poor person got paid stuff all to retrive it so a big retailer could make money.
NancyBlackett
30-04-2011, 20:58
I don't know why if you have a 'big' diamond you'd have a fake to wear as well? If you're that uncomfortable with your genuine diamond then maybe you should have something else?
i told my husband i wanted bling over the real thing so he bought me a man made diamond. Not sure if someone else has already mentioned it but they are manufactured diamonds that are almost identical to diamonds, different to cubic zirconia & much better looking - only a trianed jeweller can tell the difference. It doesn't support the real diamond trade, looks better than a cubic, cheaper than a cubi & a fraction of the price. Mine is 2 carrats & people always comment on it. It looks beautfiul, & its pretty close to a natural diamond without the price tag, & noone has to know - it is after all a diamond but it is manufactured rather than naturally occuring.
SeƱor Chang
30-04-2011, 21:14
Unless you can guarantee that you aren't buying conflict diamonds then I would go with a cubic zirconia. When you buy conflict diamonds you are funding insurgents and warlords in Africa.
BabelFish
30-04-2011, 21:17
I wouldn't get a cubic zirconia because I think they look super fake however my engagement ring is three, large, flawless simulated diamonds in 18ct white gold and is amazing. I couldn't give a toss about 'the real thing'. It's the look I'm after.
It's a stunning ring, hasn't lost any sparkle in the three years I've had it, and I don't have a breakdown every time I wear it because it's not worth a small car.
It wasn't cheap, but it's something I'm happy with, it looks stunning, it's just what I wanted and even jewelers can't tell the difference unless they use a thermal probe.
And, especially important - no blood diamonds.
So ... win-win!!
BabelFish
30-04-2011, 21:19
Ahh brogey my ring is from Secrets. Gorgeous!!
scarymarygoldfish
13-06-2011, 21:40
Fantastic thread! I don't have an engagement ring because I don't like jewelry, but mostly because hubby is the least romantic person on the face of the earth :rolleyes:.
I've only ever thought of CZ's as tacky plastic looking things but I'm obviously very wrong. I think it's a great idea to wear something that looks fabulous and to put the money towards something of better use (if that's your thing of course).
EvilWombatQueen
14-06-2011, 21:07
LOL. I went further than the cubic zirconia. My 'engagement' ring cost me $10 on eBay. Plus I bought it myself rather than wait for one from my de facto. I have no idea what metal it's made of, but the silver wore off within a couple of months so now it's a copper colour with cubic zirconias set around it (or possibly cut glass. It was a very cheap ring!)
My original reasons for buying the ring were that we were dirt poor and couldn't afford anything better, and with my record of losing jewellery I was better off getting something cheap and replaceable! Also I figured I could replace it whenever I had more money or found a ring I really liked. The only problem is it has grown on me emotionally. I'm really attached to my crappy copper and glass ring and I wouldn't part with it for all the diamonds in Tiffany's! :laughing:
Boobycino
15-06-2011, 07:05
That's really beautiful wombat.
EvilWombatQueen
15-06-2011, 09:49
I may have been exaggerating when I said I wouldn't swap it for all the diamonds in Tiffany's. After I wrote that I reconsidered. I'd swap it for all the diamonds... then sell the diamonds, buy my crappy ring back and pocket the difference. PROFIT!
zombiekitty
15-06-2011, 09:52
I may have been exaggerating when I said I wouldn't swap it for all the diamonds in Tiffany's. After I wrote that I reconsidered. I'd swap it for all the diamonds... then sell the diamonds, buy my crappy ring back and pocket the difference. PROFIT!
Boobycino
15-06-2011, 10:21
Haha good plan ;)