View Full Version : Illawarra Mummies and Mums2B! Come chat with me!
Hi everyone! I am sick of our section being so dead, let's revive it, shall we!
How about we start by introducing ourselves? I'm Renee, I'm 22 and I live south of the Gong. I have a 6 1/2 month old daughter, Marley.
I am studying Early Childhood Teaching at the University of Western Sydney (Bankstown), I go back to studying next semester after taking a year off. Marley will be cared for by DP on his day off and by my mum.
DP is a pizza chef at a restaurant in the Northern suburbs, as a chef his hours are quite shocking- He works lunch and dinner 6 days a week, and is busiest on days like Mothers Day and Fathers Day. The main perk is that he brings me home yummy pizza at least once a week.
So, that's me introduced! Come out of the woodwork and tell me about yourselves! I know that you are out there! It'd be great to get to know each other a little and maybe have a meet sometime!
mum2bubble
22-05-2009, 21:33
Hey :) Ive noticed this thread was dead !
Im Larissa, I live in Albion Park Rail and am expecting my first in August. Im currently at Wollongong Uni studyin Primary Education. Ive only got 5 weeks of uni left then im taking a year off (thank god!) and atm uni is killing me ... (dont no how im gonna do a 2 week prac on kindi in 3 weeks!). Dp is currently at tafe doing a 1&1/2 year diploma of fitness course ... well thats about it from me ..
littleleos
22-05-2009, 21:34
hey
there r so many of us around here. but this is a hidden section
Im Alina.28yrs (29 soon).. mummy to Aiden who is 9 months old
I live in woonona and used to work at the childrens hospital ED but Im a SAHM now and forever! he he he
My hubby works in Sydney and most of my friends live up their 2
I love it down here... its a great place to bring kids up. I cant wait for Aiden to be old enough to play on the new playground near la vendi
Renee.... I love pizza. We gave bon aroma a 2nd chance and it was yum... we have also been to little itally ... just after we finished our dinner we had blackout so we missed out on sweets :no:
Larissa- I can just imagine how hard it will be doing prac pregnant... I dropped back to part time once I found out I was pg. Good Luck!
Alina- DP is at Bon Aroma, so I'm glad they redeemed themselves for you! Have you tried the dessert pizzas, the Mars Bar Calzone is just amazing! The only time I've been to Little Italy I ended up so sick I couldn't move. Not nice at all!
Oh, and linking to the 'nipple shields' thread from last week, I was going to the cottage at Woonona, seeing Gail. They're all so nice there!
I haven't seen the new playground, I haven't been to Belmore Basin in years! I'm so slack at appreciating what we've got around here, maybe because I've lived here my whole life!
kazandsteve
23-05-2009, 16:31
hey all how you doing
i will introduce myself
my name is kaz and i have a 2 and a half year old daughter chelsea
we live at dapto
have lived at dapto for abit over 2 years now
iam orginally from sydney aswell
padstow area and i moved down here in 2005 so been here 4 years now
i know a few mums, in the area but would like to know some more.
would be great to have a few meets.
naebie-i can imgine its hard doing uni and travelling while u are pregant, as bankstown is a fair way away as i use to live there.
hi to everyone else, nice to meet you all
are any of you on facebook iam under karen young if u want to add me.
thanx
kaz
Hi Kaz!
I'm a member of your Illawarra Mum Group on FB, but have never been able to make it to a meet.
missie_mack
25-05-2009, 09:39
Hiya and welcome to BH. I am Mummy to a 2.5yr old little man and we live in the southern districts. My DH is a high school teacher at a private school in Nowra and I returned to work part time mid last year (nearly a year ago :eek: sure doesn't feel like that!)
mum2bubble
25-05-2009, 18:03
I considered dropping back to pt time but this being my first session of uni didnt really no what to expect so just assumed all would be ok... ive survived so far .. (well by surviving i mean going 2 uni all day then coming home, sleeping and not doing anything else lol) ... would all be good except for the prac ... but if i dont do it then i fail the subject and would be a watse of time and money doing it ...
and im only going to be going back part time 2nd session next year after my year off, :) so i figured the morei could get done now the better ...
im also originally from sydney ... from the gladesville, hunters hill area ... my fam moved down here 8 years ago (god i didnt realise it had been that long!) and i love it ... but then again im not a big city girl and found it easier to make friends and stuff here than in sydney with stuck up girls who thought they were better than every1 (Jmo !)
anywho ... better stop procastinating ... get off bh and actually finish off uni assessment thats due 2mw !!
(the most annoying thing about being at uni is that the only thing i wana think about and do it baby stuff ... spend the entire wknd cleaning, reorganising and looking at baby stuff instead of uni assessments !!)
littleleos
26-05-2009, 22:11
hey girls
how r u
Larissa... I had a Aug bub. I think its a fantastic time to have a bub, just at then endish of winter so not to many winter bugs are left!. I also think it the best area to have a bub as their is way to much support here compared to my friends in syd... they where lucky to see a Nurse at their 6 week check up. I am thinking of returning to uni next year to further my studdies as a CHN!
A thread that we created ages ago on local shop reviews has vanished so I thought Id post it here....
I purchased all my baby stuff from baby zone... love the service but assoon as I got the stuff home they didnt want anything to do with me.
I had a massive problem with my phil and ted pram, it was rusty and stupid! so i wanted a refund... I ended up calling dept of fair trading because BZ wanted nothing to do with Phil and ted... turns out that Baby zone wasnt paying their bills (as per P and t in NZ) in the end I got a new pram...
anyway.... I was in a shop in sydeny today only to be tapped on the shoulder by an x employee... he asked me how my new pram was and englightened me in a few more of the doggy dealings on BZ.... turns out that the doggy pram that was ment to be sent back to NZ was sold on the floor the following week. the x sales person also said that I came back to the store when they had my old pram out for sale and they quickly hid it from me! How doggy is that...
I feel sooooooooo ripped off in a funny type of way.... it saddens me that someone out their has my very faulty pram :no: the sales person also told me that this occured quite often when people returned faulty goods... so sounds like BZ should be call a baby second hand shop:laughing:
anyway... I am driving to sussex tomorrow to visit the out laws errrrrrrrrrrrrrr
cya from alina
P.s has anyone been to any soft play gyms in the area... I went to one in Narellan today called play maze and it was really really dirty :(
littleleos
26-05-2009, 22:16
hey renee and kaz.... whats the illawarra mums group on FB... I am sure I have come across it... do u mind if I join?
kazandsteve
26-05-2009, 22:37
hello all
welcome and nice to meet everyone
there is a few mum group on facebook
they are illawarra mums group
shellharbour mums and there is also a dapto mums group aswell
but they are all abit quiet with not much happening in them
the most active one is the shellharbour mums group .
anyway maybe we could do a few meets ourselves if it suits everyone
hi neabie, nice to see you in here, whats your name on facebook
my name is karen young if anyone else is on facebook.
i have a 2.5 year old daughter and we are ttc for number 2 with no luck we are seeing a specialist now and see how we go)
kaz:smiliedance:
Kaz-
Hope everything goes well with TTC, and that the specialist can help!
Alina- When you are in the Illawarra section you can select to see threads from longer than 30 days ago, that's where you'll find the 'Reviews from Local Mums" thread. The button is somewhere down the bottom.
I got my Steelcraft Pram home from BZone to find that where the wheels join on was snapped- It was also missing the boot cover. I took it back the next day and they didn't even apologise. Imagine if I had been shopping online and had it posted out to me, or if I had come from Sydney or Nowra or something!
I've heard that Green Beans Play Centre in Fairy Meadow (opposite Maccas, in the Supercheap Auto Complex) is supposed to be good, and really clean. They supposedly have a new fangled ball cleaning machine that sterilises the plastic balls too. I think Zoom in Nth Gong looks ok too, though haven't been with a bub, only to speak to someone about a uni assignment.
missie_mack
27-05-2009, 20:22
Greenbeans is one of the best going around, they have a website and are not for profit :yes:
I have heard lots of shonky things about all the baby places over the years. This is why I bought a lot of my major purchases at David Jones who were willing to compete with the baby shops :D with no high pressure sales techniques.
Hello all!!
My name is Carmen McCormack (for those FB people) and I live in Albion Park Rail. I am 31 weeks preg with first baby!!
I work in Wollongong Mall for the NSW Govt and am married with an 11 year old step-son who lives with us.
I don't have too many horror stories about baby stores - I have two big item on lay-by at BZ (pram and car seat) but I find the service appauling there. Hopefully my goods are ok!!
kazandsteve
28-05-2009, 16:19
hi all
yes greenbeans is fine with me or playdays is another good one
i like playdays as it is big and the kids can run around
monday or fridays are best days for me
hi talia, welcome and congrats on your pregancy
i noticed on your sig, do u mind if i ask did u get some fertiliy assistance with your pregancy and if u did do u mind saying what it was?
iam currently seeing a fertility specialist as i have pocs and am on clomid currently but its not working iam on my last does at the moment so after this one if it doesnt work we have to move onto somethin else.
any info you could give would be great.
ps-what fertility dr did u see?
pss- will add u guys on facebook
kaz
mum2bubble
28-05-2009, 16:51
lianas1stbub- i love the idea of an aug bub ... had a few friends who had babies in jan and feb and being heavily pregnant during summer killed them and it was hard to keep bubs cool ... i figure its easier if needed to warm them up then keep them cool .. esp at newborn ..
there are 2 play maze type places in the albion park rail industrial area off the highway ... its been a while since ive been there but both were good when i have been ...
i found the service at BZ shonky ... i dont no whether it was bcos of my age or what but i was ignored and given quick .. i dont want to talk to you answers when i asked something so i left ...
the only thing ive had to buy is a pram (only bcos i wasnt too keen on the one i was given) and got it from target cos thats where i found the one i liked ... so no real reviews from me here ...
jw if anyone has got a 3d/4d scan at a peek of u or watever it is in wollongong ... ive got a scan booked next week cos i didnt trust the judgement of the lady at south coast ultrasounds about the sex seeing as she had no idea what she was doing for the rest of the scan ...
littleleos
29-05-2009, 10:02
hey girls and bumps (congrats Carmen)
I just wrote a big post and it has vanished BUM :no:
no where was I
aiden is teething 4 teef at once... but is his usually content little self, just chewing on thing and he has been off his food and boobies.... he has been trying out his new set of teef on my nipple, he bits so hard I have to check it is still there
renee.... thanks for bumping the local review section
fertility dr... I didnt have any anyissues falling pregnant but I highly recomend dr greening at figtree private, he also does OBGYN and fetertility stuff which is great as he will be able to follow u though the whole process of making babies and poppin them out... I swear he was the best...... his family was in a major accident and he still came a visited me in hospy after I had aiden
Play gym... that green place sounds fantastic, I am a bit of a bug freak so that ball cleaning thing is really great.
I am up for a meet I am free mondays and fridays usually.... aiden and I do gymbaroo on thursdays and I meet up with friends in sydney (well I try)
carmen.... just make sure that the packaging hasnt been tampered with... and try and check things out before u make your final payment... they didnt wanna know me once I had everything home.... how is your pregnancy going... I loved being pregnant will prob start trying at the end of the year
mum2 bubble... I had my US at the womens US place on Crown street (cant remember the name) the ladies where not the most friendly but I did get a pretty good 3d pic (when I asked for it) and I could also see aidens Pee pee on the 20 weeks scan cd they gave me
I have a few scan pics on my face book page
Ill pm anyone my name if u wanna add me on FB
anyway i gtg and catch up with a friend for coffee
have a nice day
Kaz - we did IVF using ICSI (where they inject a sperm into each egg) after my hubby had a vasectomy reversal that didn't work.
We had one transfer at the beginning of last year that was a BFN, but had success on our second transfer with a frozen embryo.
Liana - Dr Greening was my IVF doc and is also my OB!!! He is pretty amazing - did you hear his house burnt down this week? very sad :no: Thanks for your advice - I will be going over my stuff before I take it home.
My pregnancy is doing well - I got my financial consent from Figtree Private this week so hit home bub will be here in 8 weeks!!
I have had all my scans at South Coast Women's Ultrasound and they have been great. At my 20 week scan the lady who did it (can't remeber her name) told us if she couldn't tell what sex the baby was she wouldn't say at all - only if she was 100% positive - I could tell it was a girl when she checked and she confirmed.
littleleos
29-05-2009, 21:01
carmen... that really sad about dr gs house burning down, why do such horrible things happen to such a nice man, he had cancer, his family was in a car accident and now his house :no: he is such a dedicated man. I am so glad that he is continuing his OB work, at one stage he was going to focus on his gynae and IVF and not do ob stuff... but amazingly he has now decided to double his pregnant women YEAH FOR US!
I checked out the green beans website.... looks so fantastic... thinking of having aidens 1st birthday party there. previously we where thinking of having it at symbio but they dont drop the price for group bookings.
anyone been to green beans for a party
kazandsteve
30-05-2009, 00:28
hi all
ive been to greenbeans lots of times and my daughter always enjoys it
havetn been there for a party though,
the only thing is, is it is abit small and the kids cant run around as much
thats why i like playdays it is big so they can run around and run of some energy lol.
for my daughters first birthday we had a party at our house and then just my hubbby and myself took our daughter to symbio she loved it but you are right it can be abit pricy
same with the animal places up in sydney harbour.
anyway
talia -ty for that info glad it all worked for you we are currently on clomid 200 but it hasnt been working for us
so will move onto something
have been thinking about accpunture, anyone got any ideas on this or used it
nice to see some of you on facebook
kaz
Kaz - I used acupuntcure with this cycle and am convinced it assited in my BFP. The research into the positives is just to extensive not to believe it has something to do with success!! Let me know if you have any q's but if you do IVF I have a great acupunctrist you could see.
Liana - It was very sad about Dr Greening, he is a lovely man and I am very lucky to have him.
mum2peanut
30-05-2009, 22:21
Hello, another Wollongong mummy here. Don't get on here as much since discovering FB!
My name is Mia, i have two daughters, Mackenzie who turns 3 next month :eek: and Sienna who is 7.5 months old.
I've been to one BH get together when M was younger but admittedly am so busy I haven't attempted many since then.
Dr Greening's house burnt down!!! He was my OB, he is fantastic. I told him if he wasn's doing OB work I wasn't having anymore!! :laughing:
Looking forward to getting to know you all.
missie_mack
30-05-2009, 22:52
Dr Greening was my OB too (private patient but I delivered at Wollongong) he was just wonderful... but we really shouldn't tell so many people as it is hard enough to get into see him :laughing:
Karen have you tried naturopathy to help with conceiving?? I have heard a lot of good things about those using it for reproductive purposes:yes:
kazandsteve
31-05-2009, 01:25
hi all
talia-thanx for that i will have to get the number of you.
i have heard good things about accpunture and heard many success stories with it
so will give it a go
at campbeltown university they are doing a study about how accpunture helps with your fertility so iam going to be there guninie pig and see how i go its for 6 weeks i think and its free so why not and if i like it and it helps i will continue to use it till i hopefully get a baby.
hopefully it will help me like it helpd u talia:)
hi mum2peanut welcome back- i know its hard to belive your child will be 3 soon my daughter will be 3 in december it has gone sooo quick.
which are are u in again?
hi ellen-no havent tried it before but have also heard good things about it so will give it ago why not who knows it might work which would be fantastic news)
hi to everyone else
kaz
littleleos
31-05-2009, 15:51
hey girls...
what a yucky weekend:sleeping:
this thread is making me a little clucky... but I held my friends newborn and I felt very uneasy and wanted to hand him back??? wonder why maybe I am just not ready?
Maybe we should rename this thread as "Dr G's fan club" sounds like everyone has had him as their ob... I saw another ob for one appointment but he didnt even make eye contact with me so I fired him and got dr G...
misse mack...I also had Dr G and delivered at wollongong. I am not a fan of private hospys but I guess NETS is just a phone call away.
Mum2peanut.. I think we used to be in the same gymbaroo group last term???? we have moved up to the creepy crawling one and so far there are only 4 bubbas in our class... the fridays group has 9. Aiden is really loving it now that he has grown up
Carmen... how r u going. saw on Face book that your having a few BHicks... oh how lucky, u get to see dr g soon + even more u will be getting to hold your little bubba in your arms... GOOD LUCK!
well my little bubba is waking
GraceUnhearing
31-05-2009, 15:59
hey people
Im Kellie
i have 2 boys and just moved to Warrawong from barrack heights, but grew up in Dapto
i have 2 boys
Rylan is almost 2 1/2 and zeke is 8 months
Dr greening delivered Rylan through public and wollongong hospital and i wasnt impressed he was far to full of himself.
Sorry to hear you weren't happy with Dr greening Kellie - sometimes i do find him a bit dismissive but I think he is an excellent Dr and is very well-respected in his field so I kida figure it is good to be in the best hands!!
littleleos
31-05-2009, 20:33
hey grace
I have a bubba a similar age to yours.... and noticed in your bottom thing (cant remember the computer terminoligy) that u r breast feeding.... how many boobies is your little man having a day???
kazandsteve
02-06-2009, 18:57
talia, can u give me that name of the accpunture please or just pm it too me
how much does it cost
i start at the study test on accpunture next tuesday at campbeltown uni
hopefully it will work
kaz
mum2peanut
02-06-2009, 21:39
hi all
hi mum2peanut welcome back- i know its hard to belive your child will be 3 soon my daughter will be 3 in december it has gone sooo quick.
which are are u in again?
which what am I in?
hey girls...
Mum2peanut.. I think we used to be in the same gymbaroo group last term???? we have moved up to the creepy crawling one and so far there are only 4 bubbas in our class... the fridays group has 9. Aiden is really loving it now that he has grown up
Oh we did!! How funny! I didn't know your name was Liana, that's Mackenzie's middle name. We weren't wuite ready for creepers yet, maybe next term, just so hard fitting everything in.
hey people
Dr greening delivered Rylan through public and wollongong hospital and i wasnt impressed he was far to full of himself.
Hi Kellie, how are you and your boys. Funny i think that if you only met Dr G on a one off you prob would get that impression of him, but he is really quite nice.
I am loving this weather at them moment! always love a good reason to be lazy, but it's hard to be lazy at home when your toddler knows which activities are on which day. Currently making the most of the last few weeks of my maternity leave back to teaching part time next term.
kazandsteve
04-06-2009, 20:24
sorry i meant what area are u in
i hate winter bring back summer
i didnt hear about the drs house burning down must have missed it
well i didnt end up o on my last dosage of clomid so have to go back to see him next week to see whats next
and i start accupunture next week on tuesday too
crossing fingers this works, its just a study that is bein done at campbeltown uni on how accupunture can help fertility just runs for 6 weeks and is free so why not
if i like the accupunture i will continue to do it and hopefully it will work)
Good Luck Karen! Fingers Crossed and Baby Dust for a little brother or sister for Chelsea!
I thought I should stop just reading and join the thread. This is my first post ever so please bear with me :).
I live in the Shellharbour area with my DH and daughter.
DR Greening was also my OB! I was devistated to hear about his house (and poor dogs:() since he was so wonderful during my pregnancy and birth recently. Excellent Dr!
I would love to get to know some other mums in the area, just don't know where to start!? I've lived here about 6 years but only really know DH's family and friends, as all my Uni friends have moved away since graduating. What have you all found the best way to meet people?
Hello Hannah and congrats on you new bub!! Dr Greening is a great doc isn't he?? It was very sad about his house but when I spoke to him he was very sad about the dogs :(
Liana I have been getting cramping for a week or so now.... my doc says no issue just the body getting ready..!!
kazandsteve
10-06-2009, 01:23
hey all
welcome cudds
iam kaz from dapto and have a 2.5year old daughter chelsea
ive meet a few mums from bubhub but have also meet some through other websites aswell and playgroup
iam from sydney orginally so dont know many people here either)
tahlia-how you feeling
hi to everyone else
us-well the dr wants me to start the ivi injections now since the clomid didnt work and iam going to start the acpunture hopefully this week or next week.
thanks for your help
kaz
littleleos
12-06-2009, 19:45
hey just a quick hello
packing for a weekend away at my parents, mum loves changing aidens nappies so Im looking foward to some nappy free time :yelclap:
mum 2 peanut... be great to see u in our class aiden is loving gymbaroo more that his is a bit more mobile... I was so excited the other day when he comando crawled through the tunnel!
anyway... have a great weekend....how cold has it been
I am good tahnsk Kaz how are you doing>?
So ready to finish work at the moment - have only 2 weeks left thank god!!
littleleos
12-06-2009, 20:18
ohhhhhhhhhhhhh how exciting!!!!! think I was counting down the weeks till I finished work this time last year.... cant believe how quick my bubba has grown up... he is the best
mum2bubble
30-06-2009, 12:29
Hey ladies
Ive been a bit distant lately .. been crazily busy with uni stuff so have avoided BH cos i was straped for time yet would still spend hours on here doing nothing .. so decided to avoid it completly would be best :-)
BUT .. i finished uni last friday !! so now have a year off ... well a year off uni anyway .. and around 7 weeks til bub arrives ... so i get a few weeks to rest
Im hoping the nesting instinct kicks in soon .. cos the place is a pig sty!! I tried to start cleaning yesterday but ended up in tears for no reason ... didnt realise putting clothes away could cause such an emotional rollercoaster !! Stupid hormones .. poor dp had no idea wat to do ..
am looking forward to thursday when the toy sales start !! .. even tho bub will only be a few months old at crissy .. dp has younger brothers so im gonna get their pressies and a few other things ... am going out to warrawong i think so i can do kmart and big w at the same place ...
does any1 know when targets sale starts?
anyway .. im gona go try and clean up and hope i dont end up in tears again .. :)
Target't Toy Sale starts on the 24th of July, I think- It is that week anyway!
I'm thikning of braving the BigW Toy Sale at Warrawong at midnight on Wednesday-
Apparently there are usually hundreds of people lined up and it can get really hectic- I think it sounds like fun!!! My little sister has agreed to come with me to be my "muscle" if I need it, she's good at getting *****y at people who deserve it!
DP will have to watch DD, which will be interesting, as she has become such a mummies girl!
So, now that DD is crawling, anyone keen for a meet at somewhere like Green Beans?
mum2bubble
02-07-2009, 15:06
if u decided to do the midnight shop u were braver than i ... at 33 weeks pregnant i didnt really feel like pushing and shoving through crowds .. wat were they like btw
i got 2 warrawong at 7 and both kmart and big w were completely dead ... i think i waited 10 mins in layby line once .. and the 3 other times i went 2 layby there was no line at all (yes i realise i did 4 trips to layby .. i had to get big things so got them one at a time so i didnt have to keep pushing them around !!)
but then me and mum went 2 dapto big w 2 c if they had the things warrawong didnt ... which they did :) the place was packed ... but i spose by the time we got there it was after 9 ish so kids had been dropped at school ...
but happy i got everything i wanted ... and more lol
but was completely buggered by the time i got home so i slept for 3 hours ... :p
well i guess i better go back to the washing ... i got all the clothes done yesterday so am doing the blankets today ... just want to get it all done before the weather goes awol again and rains continuously ...
:):)
I got to Warrawong at 9.30 and waited 2 hours plus at BigW. I missed out on the main thing I wanted and didnt have my car to go to Dapto. Luckily Kmart have something similar and their Xmas Layby system means that they'll have it for me for Xmas.
Now I just have to figure out what is for DDs birthday and what is for Xmas...
littleleos
02-07-2009, 16:49
hey girls
I beat u all.... I went to c town big W yesterday and about half of the toys where already marked down :laughing::laughing::laughing:
not sure if I read the cataloge correctly but for the k mart sale... can u turn up with a list of what u want and they will get it for u and have it ready by 1st of december... am I dreaming:confused:
does anyone know if any of our local cinemas do mums and bubs sesions?? and if u have u been to one what was it like
I smuggled aiden into gold class and he was such a good boy but I dont think he is going to be this way for much longer.
Kaz good luck with the acupuncture - I swear it gave me my BFP this time.
You guys are so braving the sales - at almost 37 weeks though I don't think I am up for it!!
Liana I think Greater Union at Shellharbour has mums and bibs session around 10.30am ish? If you ring them I am sure they can tell you definitely.
hey girls
I beat u all.... I went to c town big W yesterday and about half of the toys where already marked down :laughing::laughing::laughing:
not sure if I read the cataloge correctly but for the k mart sale... can u turn up with a list of what u want and they will get it for u and have it ready by 1st of december... am I dreaming:confused:
I got some stuff laybyed at Warrawong Yeaterday at the cheaper prices on a regular 8 week LayBy for DD's birthday too!
You read the KMart catalogue right- If it has a Chrissy Tree next to it in the catalogue then you can just rock up with a list, but you can't get the layby out til after Dec 1st. If it doesn't have a Chrissy tree you have to find it on the shelf and can only do an 8 week LayBy.
mum2peanut
02-07-2009, 22:57
sorry i meant what area are u in
Oh right, I live in Figtree.
hey just a quick hello
packing for a weekend away at my parents, mum loves changing aidens nappies so Im looking foward to some nappy free time :yelclap:
mum 2 peanut... be great to see u in our class aiden is loving gymbaroo more that his is a bit more mobile... I was so excited the other day when he comando crawled through the tunnel!
Sienna is showing no signs of crawling yet, lazy thing just lets her sister bring her things, have a feeling she might be a bum shuffler, she's quite content to sit on her bum for hours
Forgot to subscribe to this thread so have missed it. Oops. PLus I don't check in here too often.
Back to work in three wks :no: only two days a week, but I've gotten do used to being a SAHM.
Hope you're all well
littleleos
03-07-2009, 11:47
hey girls
Im thinking of braving the sales tomorow morning.... aidens grandparents are visiting from Tuross and I reckon they would love to baby sit.
wonder how u tell them what items u want with just the catalogue????
has anyone been to figtree kmart??? what was it like???
mum to peanut... we are keeping aiden in the creeper/ crawler group. their are a few babies that are in our group that are not moving yet. hope you are enjoying your last few days as a SAHM.
talia... ohhhhhhhhhhh 3 weeks to go... how exciting. my little bubba boy is going to be 1 in 6 weeks:( it goes so quick. do they have gold class at shelharbour.
gee its windy here today... they are building a new park here an I wanted to check it out.
cya
alina- didnt get on here last night so I think you have probably figured out the answers to your own questions LOL!
I just took the catalogue up to the LayBy counter at Kmart to do my Chrissy layby. Figtree usually have more stuff in stock than Warrawong, but haven't been there for the toy sales.
We don't have a GoldClass anywhere in the Illawarra- I'm pretty sure one was supposd to be built in one of the (many) failed building developments in Wollongong.
Mum2peanut- Are you going back to teaching? Good luck with going back! I'm back at uni in 3 weeks, I've got 18 months til I am all done!
littleleos
08-07-2009, 11:36
hey girls
its a nice day and aiden is having a sleep athon, I wanna go for a walk ;)
we are very excited because aiden finally got a place in the born to read program at the new library... and what is best it that its for free
renee... big w at dapto was really well stocked. though kmart at figtree had as doing laps trying to find things... we wanted the monoply disney but it had been stocked with another puzzel I doubt they ever got it in
has anyone heard when the shops are going to built in corrimal + I heard that there maybe a target in the gong soon (am I dreaming he he)
have a nice day
cobie1987
08-07-2009, 17:09
Im cobie, 22 from Kanahooka, And i am mum to Oliver (currently nearly 15mths)...
Thought i'd drop by and say hi..
mum2bubble
09-07-2009, 20:58
Welcome Cobie !!
Got uni results last night .. a pass and 3 distinctions .. im sooo happy .. and glad an eighth of my course is done !! god ive still got ages to go :no:
Been having a few issues with bub ... my measurements stalled at 29 weeks and the ultrasound indicated that bub was small .. (thats all i was told! .. i was in for a total of 10 mins .. (my quickest scan before that in the 4 that ive had was 45 mins so this was a total shock! and she just said the baby is small .. they will send you back for another scan ... i left a bit confused and worried !!)
then yesterday kept getting dizzy spells and headaches so went into the hospital to be checked .. everything was ok ... but they actually explained what the ultrasound showed ... they estimated her weight at 2kgs
overall bub is in the 17th percentile .. but her head is only in the 2nd and her abdomen is in the 10th so ive been moved up into a high risk category and into the day assessment unit .. so have to go to hospital 2 days per week for checks ( so thankfully i wont have to wait a week or 2 for reassurance everything is ok !) and then back for a growth scan in a week and a bit ..
if bub has grown then she is just a small baby
if she hasnt growth then there is a problem and out she comes !!
so went shopping today for 00000 clothes seeing as i only have 4 0000 suits and the rest are 000 ... and they are soo small ... i cant imagine a baby being that small ...
I went to target tonight and they have a copy of the catelogue on the wall ... most things you can raincheck at the sale price now and then your guaranteed to have it and they ring you when it comes in for you to put on layby i think !! but the few things i saw in it were a few of the only things that you cant ... so looks like ill be braving the shops but there not opening til 8 so no early starts !!
well this has been a really long post ... sorry for boring you all and thanks if you read this far !
Hope you all are well :)
Jacksens Mummy
10-07-2009, 19:55
Hi there new here,
Names Bonnie im 23 and have a 13 month old baby boy.
Just moved to windang from sydney, thought i would say Hiii..
Talk Soon
Bonnie
missie_mack
10-07-2009, 20:06
Mum2Bubble- don't worry too much about it all. Whilst it may indeed be the case, it may not be too. They told me after the 33 week scan that my daughter would be lucky to weigh 6 pound and that his head diametre was about 7cm too. They kept harping on about it and it was one of the reasons I went so late with my pregnancy despite having preeclampsia and almost ending in renal failure... however DS (yes my son!) was born at 42 weeks weighing in excess of 9 pound with a head circumference of 37cm (which is BIG) :rolleyes:... I was kinda glad when I found a OB to take me on late in my pregnancy even at the public hospital as the midwives I were dealing with were seriously lacking :rolleyes:
Welcome all our newbies. I luv seeing newbies as its been quiet around here for tooooooooooooooo long :smiliedance:
mum2bubble
10-07-2009, 20:28
Welcome Bonnie !!
Yea trying not to stress .. went for my first appointment in the day assessment unit and im being monitored 3 days a week, as well as an ultrasound a week bcos as well as being small i dont have enough fluid !! So ultrasound on Monday, if the fluid levels have dropped at all then out she comes !! I have a total of 6 appointments next week ... and its going to continue like that till i have her so im fairly confident that if something is/goes wrong they will pick it up ...
as well as all the appointments i have to do a movement chart and monitor movements over half an hour 4 times a day for the rest of the pregnancy and if anything is abnormal go straight into the hospital ...
but they pretty much told me to be ready to go from Monday ... at any sign of trouble then depending on what it is ill be induced or go to theatre ... but they also said that in a week it can all be fine ...
something about asymetrical growth or something .. but yea im sure if somethin is wrong they will pick it up !!
Just hoping i make the target toy sales ... cos theres so much stuff that i was planning on getting anyway that is on sale ... so was quite looking forward to having something to buy !!:thumbsup:
kazandsteve
11-07-2009, 00:59
hey all
iam kaz from dapto and have a 2 year old daughter chelsea
i think i know some of you from facebook.
welcome
kaz
cobie1987
11-07-2009, 11:11
Mum2bubble: :fingerscrossed: i hope everything works out and that ur bub is safely growing with nothing wrong, and that everything goes back to normal soon... try not to stress too much... and im sending good vibes ur way :) :goodvibes:
on another note, Oliver my DS who is 15mths old is driving me up the wall.. he is now into a hitting and kicking phase, curtesy (i cant spell) of his 14yr old cousin, and after repeatedly telling him to not show oliver to muck around rough, he still does it.. Sometimes i think "why listen to me, im only his mother?" so now he goes into time out when ever he does it (oliver, not his cousin) which he hates, but is learning.. Also nothing can be put down. he is straight into it.. and if im laying on the bed, he is on it to, jumping on me..
We currently live in a 1bedroom studio type unit, and i want to move sooo badly, oliver needs his own room, and i need my space, its just money is a little tight for us atm as neither DP or I have a job, and we need a new fridge before we move as ours is about to s*** itself.. GRRRRRR i hate money. Lets go back to the barter system.. DP is going to do a course to get his forkcliff licence, as apparently there is alot of jobs around here (the ones that no-one tells about, that the person who runs the course is going to give him a list of jobs)...
Big rant.. sorry i had a fair few things on my mind... But luckily i get to go on a holiday to narooma on monday for a week... :smiliedance:
I wont rant anymore...
Cobie xoxo
PS hi Kaz, yea i know u from Facebook
Mum2bubble, DD was estimated to be a small bub, I was told she'd be lucky to be 6 pounds, and she was 8 pounds 7 ounces! It is good that they are monitoring you though, like you say they can pick up on any problems before it becomes an issue! I think you can put a Kmart Xmas Layby on over the phone if you want to pick it up aftre Dec 1st! Congrats on your Uni marks!
Cobie- I know what it is like with living in a small house, our place is small but not as small as yours sounds! I also know what it is like being broke, unfortunately!
Bonnie- Welcome! I'm quite close to Windang, I'm in Primbee!
Not too much going on here, back to uni in 2 weeks, which means an hour commute each way 4 days a week- Not happy, but it will be good to be finished and be able to work!
littleleos
13-07-2009, 21:25
hey girls
just a one
I had dr grenning for my last pregnancy but we had no private cover and self funded everything (thank god for the 80% medicare rebate!) for those that also had dr g... what where you out of pocket expenses or gap charges... (im not good at PHI lingo he he he)
renee.... was it your partner that workes in the pizza place... bon aroma???? we had the absolute best pizza from their the other day YUMO it was the gorme prawn avacado yummy one... tell him he is a top cook for me! sorry if I got the wrong person he he he
well im off to bed
p.s mum2bubble... good luck hope your little one is able to cook a little longer.
Alina, yep that's my DP... I love that pizza, the Pollo Special! Mmm, hope he brings home a pizza tonight!
littleleos
15-07-2009, 16:21
how are u all doing
aiden has crashed in his cot after a fun day at dorothy the dinasour (thanks for the hot tip karen)
Renee.... Guess what we are having for t tonight:yelclap: def getting the pollo YUMMO! I love the deal that they have at the moment
you partner rocks!
cya
mum2bubble
21-07-2009, 18:46
Hey ladies
Just thought id update you all ... had another growth scan on monday and bub has grown and fluid has increased ... but only slightly so bub has been diagnosed as subtle IUGR:no:
so anyway continuing being monitored but only twice weekly and then ill be induced a week early ...
so 3 weeks time !!
OMG am soo peeved ... i brought my pran i n feb when it was on sale (half price) but left it in the box being stored until today when we decided to set it up and see which car it fits in best so we can decide which car to put the carseat in .. and found the 12 month warranty that had to be sent within 7 days of purchase !!! Grrr!!
anywho, going to the uni 2mw to put in my forms for my leave of absence so i better print them off and fill them out!!
Hope all is well for you all !!
Wow mum2bubble, it is coming up so soon!!! Are you excited?
I hate it when stuff like that (warranty) happens! It seems to happen to me all the time!
mum2bubble
21-07-2009, 22:10
Wow mum2bubble, it is coming up so soon!!! Are you excited?
I hate it when stuff like that (warranty) happens! It seems to happen to me all the time!
yea its a mixture of excited scared and over it!! Ive been getting really bad back pain and headaches and not sleeping so part of me just wants it to be over then part of me doesnt think im ready ...
i succeeded at setting up the pram, but then was trying to figure out how to fold it down and was following the instructions in the manual and nothing worked !! then looked at the pram itself and it had instructions to fold it that were completely different !! God im off to a great start !!
Is anyone else confused by the weather .. one day its absolutely freezing ... the next its hot !! make your mind up!
Oh I know- This weather is just crazy. It's supposed to be warm today, I'm hoping to go for a walk with DD, so hopefully it is not too warm!
Are you going public with your pregnancy mum2bubble? I did, and was high risk, and still found that I got great treatment, the only issue was waiting around for hours at the antenatal clinic!
I'm back to uni on Friday, and while I'm looking forward to some adult interaction, I'm also nervous about meeting new people, and also a little stressed about how I'm going to manage my time to get assignments and the like done!!! It would be alright if DD was a good sleeper, but generally she isn't!
littleleos
27-07-2009, 10:41
hey girls
how r u all going
aiden is asleep so its mummy time:yelclap:
renee... what r u doing at uni ( I am sure u have mentioned it before) I was thinking of going to uts and doing the child health nurse course, its run by distance ed but im not sure if I will be able to cope with a 1yr uni and possible being pregnant.
mum 2 bubble... how is your bellie going???? not long now, how exciting.... your going to have a 1yr old this time next year, aiden is nearly 1 and he has been sooooo much fun
anyway.... hope you are all having a lovely day minus the wind.
cya
missie_mack
27-07-2009, 10:46
hope you are all having a lovely day minus the wind.
Wind?? Its beautiful here and windless. Thinking of washing clothes and gardening in the backyard. DS can get outside and expand his lungs after being sick for nearly a week with asthma and croup (yet flipping again :hair:) perhaps even blow some bubbles :flowerz: :flowerz:
We went to disney on ice in Sydney on the weekend. 'Twas lover-ly! I haven't been before... but didn't seem particularly long. Such a shame it isn't coming to Wollongong this time :geek:
mum2bubble
27-07-2009, 20:11
Evening ..
had another appointment today and looks like ill be induced next week !! I cant belive its come so quick ... atm bub is good ... but my fundal measurements arent increasing at all hence the induction earlier than we thought ....
O god its been windy here ... altho it didnt pick up until this evening ...
the son of a family friend turned 1 last week and i got so damn emotional !! I was there half an hour after he was born and have seen him almost daily since and i cant believe his 1 already .. imagine wat im gonna be like next year when my bub will be 1 !! Argh .. time goes to quick ...
felt a bit weird not going back to uni today when everyone else is ... but i spose when i do go back this time next year i may feel differently ...
well i may go off to bed soon ... i was up all night with a cough .. im on strict orders that if i develop any more flu symptoms to go straight to emergency :-( but im gonna go try and get some sleep !!
Larissa
Alina- I'm studying for my Masters in Early Childhood Teaching- It'll open me up to teach in early school years and before school settings, like Long Day Care and PreSchool.
Are you currently TTC number 2?
Missie_mack- Sorry to hear your little man has been sick again :(.
I'll have to keep in mind Disney on Ice for when DD is a bit older!
Larissa- How exciting for you! If you need any help or support after bub is born, remember we are here! Sorry if it is out of line, but I was wondering if you were planning to breastfeed? I only ask because I needed heaps of support to be able to breastfeed, and want you to know if you need any help or questions answered, just ask us!
Uni is so far so good- I'm a little annoyed that I can't get a head start on any of my assignments until I start Prac though- I feel like I am just wasting my time until I can do something!
hey Naebie - quick question from a fellow 'gong resident, u mentioned u had trouble BF - so did i and i wasnt able to find any lactation consultants that service this area!!! what did u do? Hubby and i are possibly going to TTC for no 2 soon and i really wanna have all the details on hand cuz when im sleep deprived with a toddler running around im not gonna wanna go searching.
Hello all!! Just wanted to say hi and see how everyone is going - I now have a baby after my daughter came 2 1/2 weeks early on 11 July!!!
http://i165.photobucket.com/albums/u68/taliawells/Picture145.jpg
Does anyone know of any mothers groups out shellharbour/albion park way??
I had dr grenning for my last pregnancy but we had no private cover and self funded everything (thank god for the 80% medicare rebate!) for those that also had dr g... what where you out of pocket expenses or gap charges... (im not good at PHI lingo he he he)
I had Dr Greening (although he was away when my waters borke so Dr McKosker delivered Madison@!!) His fee was $3000 at 20 weeks and I got back $1600 - had not reached the safety net threshold or I would have got more back.
Kym- I got help through the 'Family Care Cottage' at Woonona (as did Alina, I'm pretty sure). It is run by the South Eastern Illawarra Area Health Service (the same as the public hospitals) and they offer breastfeeding help and support, as well as other help like counselling and issues around sleep and settling. I found them really good because you get to see the same person each time you go in, and I'm pretty sure I went in there a couple of times a week in the early days. They also offer home visits if you need.
Unfortunately I don't think there are any private Lactation Consultants in the area, but there are some in the Campbelltown area that may be able to offer some help before you have bub?
Carmen- Your little girl is just gorgeous! What did you name her? I'm sorry, I don't know of any mothers groups, have you asked your local Child Health Nurse?
ETA- Just noticed your ticker- Madison is a gorgeous name!
Carmen - I had Olivia almost 7 months ago and was on the list to go to mumsnbubs group at Flinders - im STILL waiting to hear when it will be....im figuring now that they have either forgotten me or they havent run it. I found out about it thru the local baby health clinic. :) Congratulations on Madison :) she is just a little cutiepie!
kazandsteve
29-07-2009, 03:01
hey all
tahalia-congrats on your baby girl, cant wait to see some pics
sorry dont know any mother groups in shellharbar but i know of some playgroups that way
miss mack-hope your son feels better
hi to everyone us hope u are all well
us-well i had my laprscopy done last thursday hopefully it will help us with ttc 2
see how we go
take care
kaz
Hope you are all well!
We had our first swimming class on the weekend. We went to a Swim School in Dapto, and Marley loved it! The pool was so lovely, I didn't want to get out!
mum2bubble- Have you met your little one yet?
Kaz- :babydust2::fingerscrossed::babydust2: TTC #2- Hopefully Chelsea will have a little brother or sister soon!
How is everyone else going?
mum2bubble
05-08-2009, 21:17
Hey .. im still around just majorly lurking .. have been feeling really anti-social and quite over it!!
Ultrasound on monday showed bub has grown and is almost 3kg already so all is good size wise but she is still growing a bit out of proportion so i may be induced next week ... if not theres only 12 days until im due !!
I also tested positive to strep b :no: so just means more drugs and monitoring during labour!!
Naebie- glad you enjoyed swimming ... whats the youngest age that they do it these days??
O and i am planning on breastfeeding .. but thats about as far as the plan goes ... im starting to think im being a bit to lax and should look into things a bit more ... and dw it wasnt a personal question !!:)
Kaz- good luck ttc#2 :fingerscrossed: all goes well ...
Carmen- hope all is going well with Madison ... and your settling in well ... did u end up finding a mothers group??
hope i havent forgotten anyone and im sorry if i have ... hopefully i will find the energy to reply sooner ... sorry that it took me so long this time!
2girls1bigboy
07-08-2009, 15:08
Hi ladies, I'm new to the site, but unfortunately back at work after 12 glorious months off with our second daughters birth. We have an Au pair looking after our children at the moment and I would love for her to be able to get out and meet some other parents that she can make friends with and have the children play with other children. We are in Worrigee in Nowra, would love to find something suitable here.
Hope you are all well,
Me ;)
mum2bubble- I think you can start swimming classes with bubs from around 4-6 months old. We had intended to start last term but we kept getting colds and flu round that time so I thought it best to put it off a bit. Don't worry, I had no idea about brestfeeding and it was only after M was born that I realised that maybe a little bit of reading would've helped!
missie_mack
09-08-2009, 19:38
Kaz hows the therapy study you were talking about being involved in going? I think it was acupuncture
littleleos
10-08-2009, 15:52
hey girls
its party week here
OMG aiden is turning 1 on thursday :p we are having his baby blessing and birthday at the green been cafe and I cant wait... I am restraining myself from decorating the house so I thought Id come and say HI!
boobie groups... someone asked about support places in our area (was it kym) the family care cottage is a great place. I was there for 1 hr but they are happy to have u stay their for the day. there is also a boobie drop in group at fairy meadow.. its run on tuesdays and lactation consultants help.
Mothers groups... Mine fizzed out... it was run by the child health center and it started when aiden was about 6 weeks old, I do gymbaroo and born to read and have met up with mums and made some great friends.
mum 2 bubble... 3 kg is great for igur... aiden was 3.3kg, he had a 2 vessel cord which can be related to IUGR.
carmen... how was dr mcosker. shame dr greening wasnt there. thanks for the info oh and congratulations on the arrival of your daughter maddison:smiliedance:
TTC.... just thinking about it now that aiden has turned 1
happybirthdayHappy Birthday Aiden happybirthday
for tomorrow! Hope the day goes off without a hitch!
mum2bubble
13-08-2009, 20:07
HAPPY BIRTHDAY AIDEN
Hope you enjoyed your day !!
mum2bubble
13-08-2009, 20:21
Hi ladies, I'm new to the site, but unfortunately back at work after 12 glorious months off with our second daughters birth. We have an Au pair looking after our children at the moment and I would love for her to be able to get out and meet some other parents that she can make friends with and have the children play with other children. We are in Worrigee in Nowra, would love to find something suitable here.
Hope you are all well,
Me ;)
Unfortunatly i dont think there is anyone in Nowra :( but have you tried looking at the local schools ... i know there are playgroups that run out of the local primary schools and at almost all of the local high schools there are play groups run by the childcare classes where the students play and run around with the kids and the parents just sit around drinking tea and coffee and talking ... maybe try ringing some of the schools and see if they do something similar ... Sorry i couldnt be more help :-(
mum2bubble- I think you can start swimming classes with bubs from around 4-6 months old. We had intended to start last term but we kept getting colds and flu round that time so I thought it best to put it off a bit. Don't worry, I had no idea about brestfeeding and it was only after M was born that I realised that maybe a little bit of reading would've helped!
O ok kool ... i was planning on starting bubs early ... she will be around 4 months in the heat of summer so maybe it will be a good time to start ... i figured ive left it too late to do anything about researching breastfeeding so im just gonna wait and see how i go (hoping everything is easy ! Ha!) and then deal with any issues i have when they come up ... so glad there are drop in centres to help though!
hey girls
its party week here
OMG aiden is turning 1 on thursday :p we are having his baby blessing and birthday at the green been cafe and I cant wait... I am restraining myself from decorating the house so I thought Id come and say HI!
boobie groups... someone asked about support places in our area (was it kym) the family care cottage is a great place. I was there for 1 hr but they are happy to have u stay their for the day. there is also a boobie drop in group at fairy meadow.. its run on tuesdays and lactation consultants help.
Mothers groups... Mine fizzed out... it was run by the child health center and it started when aiden was about 6 weeks old, I do gymbaroo and born to read and have met up with mums and made some great friends.
mum 2 bubble... 3 kg is great for igur... aiden was 3.3kg, he had a 2 vessel cord which can be related to IUGR.
TTC.... just thinking about it now that aiden has turned 1
Im so glad that bub has grown and there not concerned about her size anymore .. takes a bit of stress off ...
:fingerscrossed:TTC goes well if and when you decide to try ...
AFM- Had an appointment with the ob on Monday .... she did a stretch & sweep(OMG PAIN!!) ... my cervix was completely closed :( ...even tho i was only 39 weeks because of bubs growth issues they wont let me go over by much so she would rather try and get things started naturally if possible iykwim ... was getting a back ache and period pain type cramps ... but they fizzled out ... had another ctg today and the midwife did another stretch and sweep (which was no where near as painful as monday so am hoping that it is a good sign .. and also told me to try evening primrose oil capsules and dtd (dont know if i can even stomach the thought atm!!) (sorry if TMI) to try and get things going naturally over the weekend ... have an appointment on tues and then book an induction for later next week depending on what my cervix is like ... so im trying to get it happening this weekend ... trying to avoid the induction but if it comes down to it then thats what ill do ...
so hoping you are all having a good week ... hopefully by the next time i post ill have a baby !!:fingerscrossed:
missie_mack
13-08-2009, 20:58
Soak that cervix in evening primrose hun.. also put some clary sage oil in your bath :yes:
There are some playgroups in Nowra. I know one of the churches in Bomaderry has MOPs (mothers of preschoolers) group and there are a couple of others floating about. Try asking your health nurse (if you see one) I would think there would be a few at Worrigee :yes:
How is everyone?
We are going well, we've been enjoying some of the beautiful sunshine over the last few days. Yesterday we went for a nice long walk around Lake Illawarra- From Primbee to the Yacht club. Was a nice afternoon!
mum2bubble- Hope you've gotten to meet your little bub, and that everything went smoothly! If you are still waiting, good luck, hopefully things start happening soon! I went 6 days over my EDD!
mum2bubble
17-08-2009, 17:24
Soak that cervix in evening primrose hun.. also put some clary sage oil in your bath :yes:
Am doing exactly that ... Hope it works:)
How is everyone?
We are going well, we've been enjoying some of the beautiful sunshine over the last few days. Yesterday we went for a nice long walk around Lake Illawarra- From Primbee to the Yacht club. Was a nice afternoon!
mum2bubble- Hope you've gotten to meet your little bub, and that everything went smoothly! If you are still waiting, good luck, hopefully things start happening soon! I went 6 days over my EDD!
Your walk sounds really nice ... me and dp went for a walk last night hoping that it may encourage bub ... but only around the block (i was buggered !!) and all we saw was the cops looking for delinquant everywhere ... and then two firetrucks who were called when a gas bottle almost exploded .. your scenery sounds sooo much better !!
Im still waiting :( today is due date and so far .. nothing ... by the sounds of things they may want to induce before the end of the week because i have low fluid levels and they dont want to risk leaving bub too long so hopefully something happens soon ... i have an appointment tomorrow so will find out the plan then ....
The end is in sight though .... :)
littleleos
18-08-2009, 17:45
thanks for aidens birthday wishes... we had a blast.
his party at the grean bean cafe rocked.... it was tops and only cost $380 for everything (usually cost about 300 but we got extra stuff)
mum 2 bubba good luck
hey I just increased our cover.... we had dr greening as our private ob but I delivered at the gong.... so for our next bubba we will prob have it at figtree.... has anyone had their bub at figtree... what was it like????
chat latter dh just got home and aidens has woken... oh and aiden turning 1 means I have breast fed him for 1 year whoooot whoooot!
see ya
missie_mack
18-08-2009, 17:50
Mum2bubble :eek: Where were you walking??
mum2bubble
18-08-2009, 18:15
Thanks for the good luck ladies ...
Saw the ob today .... in short fluid levels have dropped so the induction is booked for thursday morning !! Going in tomorrow night to start trying to get me to dialate !!
So this may be my last post !
Missie mack - I was walking around my block in Albion Park Rail !! Its normally not that bad around this part but just mustve got an interesting night !!
Glad aidens party went well ... that was quite cheap for a party ..
Well im off to make sure all my bags are ready for tomorrow night .... talk to you all soon !!
missie_mack
18-08-2009, 18:20
Get lots of sleep and pack a lunchbag if your going to Wollongong :D Best of luck
hello all!! I did end up finding a new mother's group at the community health centre in Albion Park - last week was the first week - it goes for 6 weeks then I guess the idea is you keep catching up?
littleleos
20-08-2009, 14:33
Good luck mum to bubble! your going to be a mum to a baby hopefully by now... how exciting. this time last year aiden would have been 1 week old.... gee how time flies
not sure if anyone read my last post about delivering at figtree???? just wanted to know if anyone had delivered there and what it as like... ie where the nurses nice :cool: did u have to wait long for an epidural... wonder if there is an anethetist their 24/7 hmmm
carmen... great to hear u got a mothers group.
have a nice one...loving the sunshine ATM:crying::sunshine:
mum2bubble
24-08-2009, 14:50
just a quick one from me ...
Tahlia Jade was born on the 20th August at 9.33pm by emergency caesarean weighing 7pound 3 and 51cm long ...
i just got home but ill fill you in when i get time!!
Congrats mum2bubble!!! What a beautiful name! Hope you are both doing well!
kazandsteve
28-08-2009, 01:21
hi all
congrats mum2bubble
hi to everyone else
kaz
littleleos
28-08-2009, 11:21
welcome to the world tahlia:yelclap:
congratulations mum to tahlia
hope your and bub are doing well
hope your are all doing well. aiden is asleep YEAH so I am realxing before we go out.
just a quick question for anyone who has seen dr g in the last year.... what does his midwife do???? did she attend your labour???
missie_mack
30-08-2009, 18:50
:babydust2:
Welcome
to the world
Tahlia
:babydust2:
Congrats mumtobubble!!!
Liana - the midwives in all at Figtree are great - I had a really good time there (did have one that was not so nice though) - they have no issues with you wanting epidurals - I requested one as soon as I started contractions and got one asap (that was on a sat morning and he came back that night to top me up for the c-section).
Dr Greening's midwife Belinda doesn't go through labour with you - it is whoever is workign that day - but she was on duty for at the hossy for some of the days I was in there (about a week). She basically does does your checkups at each visit before you see Dr Greening so it saves him time :)
littleleos
03-09-2009, 10:24
thanks for that info... so if the mifwife does all the checkups what does that leave dr greening to do????? chat more to my dh about football :p I just wanna get to know a few midwifes at figtree so I am more comfortable when I give birth.
how are everyones new bubbas... my 1 yr old is rolling around in his cot like a drunk... he is sooooooooooo tired, looks like we are missing born to read :no:
hope everyone is having a nice day
hey all
im Jen from kiama downs
i have a 3yo boy and a
9month old baby girl
littleleos
11-09-2009, 10:25
hey girls
isnt it a beautiful day, think its going to be 28' on sunday
nothing to exciting happening here. Was thinking that aiden was weaning from my boobies but last night he sucked the life out of me :yelclap: I really wanna meet the WHO guidelines fingeres crossed I make but I think aiden has other ideas
jen... welcome to our little group, I am alina and I have a 12m baby boy. we where down at kiama the other day and it was so nice. I just looked at your little girls bday... mine is 1 12 80 he he
hope everyones bubs are doing well
mum2bubble
11-09-2009, 19:00
Hey:)
Sorry its been soo long from me ... just taken a while to adjust to things...
Tahlia is quite an easy bub thank god ... she sleeps quite well and doesnt cry often so i think im lucky!
Although, we did have quite a few issues breastfeeding ... Tahlia didnt know how to suck so therefore wouldnt attatch and wasnt feeding. We would sit there for up to 5 hours at a time with her slightly attatching but coming straigh off ... she was jaundiced and really unsettled so the midwives at the hospital decided to give her formula for medical reasons ... she still had issues sucking from the bottle but it was slightly easier so we stuck with it ..
i had major issues with my milk not coming in (something to do with having a caesar and my hormones playing up) so we decided to formula feed and things have been so much better ...
were pretty much settled now, just trying to establish some sort of routine!
How are you all going??
Welcome Jen:)
and i agree about the weather atm .. hoping it stays nice over the weekend ... its a welcome change after all that wind!!
well hope you all have a good weekend!
Hi everyone, hope you are all going well. Sorry I haven't been on here much, I've been too busy with uni stuff, assignments and prac are killing me!
mum2bubble
21-09-2009, 17:57
Renee, uni sounds pretty busy... im sooo not looking forward to going back next year! Did you find it alot harder now with bub?
Carmen ... how was the mothers group at the clinic? Im going to the one starting next week ...
Hi to everyone else .... seems pretty quiet so im guessing everyone is busy..
went shopping today and there is christmas stuff out already:eek: gosh time flies ... cant believe its almost christmas already
missie_mack
21-09-2009, 18:15
Oh mum2bubble that is such a sad sad story :( How is your little one getting ahead? I swear some of those hospital midwifes need a kick up the bottom. One insisted that I had to bottle feed DS to leave the hospital as he had lost 12% of his weight by the second day.. but failed to mention that they put some back on on the third (which he did) Did they help you pump at least or suggest tube feeding? I would think breastmilk would be more important to your baby than a baby without issues
mum2bubble
21-09-2009, 19:18
Oh mum2bubble that is such a sad sad story :( How is your little one getting ahead? I swear some of those hospital midwifes need a kick up the bottom. One insisted that I had to bottle feed DS to leave the hospital as he had lost 12% of his weight by the second day.. but failed to mention that they put some back on on the third (which he did) Did they help you pump at least or suggest tube feeding? I would think breastmilk would be more important to your baby than a baby without issues
Yea they helped with pumping but didnt suggest tube feeding:confused: but as much as i pumped i got about 1ml at the most! I was still in hospital on day 5 and she was still loosing weight ... i kept up with expressing trying to build supply but still got nothing! My milk never came in ... was quite upsetting but i tried all i could so ill have to live with that!
missie_mack
21-09-2009, 19:25
Yea they helped with pumping but didnt suggest tube feeding:confused: but as much as i pumped i got about 1ml at the most! I was still in hospital on day 5 and she was still loosing weight ... i kept up with expressing trying to build supply but still got nothing! My milk never came in ... was quite upsetting but i tried all i could so ill have to live with that!
:hugs: Its hard when we aren't given the best advice available. We live we learn. There are so many things I will do differently next time and breastfeeding is one of them :(
What they failed to tell you is that babies are meant to lose weight after they are born and that many women particularly those who had issues delivering (which is part of the problem I had) don't get their milk in at the same speed as everyone else and that there are things like breastfeeding cookies. medications etc that can help supply as well as lots of skin to skin contact and bonding. By the time I learnt this with DS and got my supply building he went through total breast refusal and TBH I blame the hospital with their lack of advice and support in the early days :rolleyes:
But hey 5 days is better than none your bubba would have got some colostrum which is like liquid gold for immune systems and the like.
Liana I often thought the same about Dr Greening - sometimes I was only in with him for 5 min!! :laughing:
mum2bubble the group was great - my last week was on Friday but we are going to keep meeting up - we had about 10 mums so it was pretty big - the lady who runs them (Diane) is really nice - I am sure you will have fun!!
littleleos
02-10-2009, 11:07
hey everyone
not much going on here... thinking of starting to TCC soon:yelclap: Iam abit scared then on the other hand I am excited! my friend is 20 weeks and she goes to a new US place at ctown, they book 1.5hr appointments and as many people can go that can fit in the room, sound so much better that the one down here, they are so cranky and rushed... I just wanna get pregnant so I can go there!
mum2 bubble.... good on you for giving breast feeding a go, its sad that the midwifes didnt spend time with you and that u where given bad advice:no:. your little bubba got your liquid gold so thats fantastic! there tummies are only the size of marbles so 1 ml was prob a good amount... I never had trouble with my milk coming in but at 1yr I have had supply issues and have been on motilum and its fantastic... did they even offer u that????? how is tahlia anyway????
hope your all having a nice day. chat to u latter
mum2bubble
27-10-2009, 16:06
lianas1stbub- good luck TTC, that new ultrasound place sounds so much better that south coast (although they did fit me in last minute when I needed it during the last few weeks they were quite *****y about it) a relaxed atmosphere is so much nicer, when I got my 3d ultrasound done there were lounges for dp and my mum and mil to sit on and was so much nicer than south coast! Hopefully you get to check it out first hand soon:fingerscrossed:
carmen- the group is great, we have 9 mums but 11 babies (2 sets of twins) so there is quite a few of us. there is 2 weeks left .. but we are going to continue to meet up just not quite sure where yet
Things have been a bit boring here, with just me and bub at home all day i tend to get a bit lonley. Decided to start walking and found my shoes dont fit me anymore! (someone mentioned going up a shoe size after pregnancy:confused:) so i ended up with brusied toes!:( but with the crap weather these last few days I havent been able to leave the house!
Hope everyone is enjoying their days!
hi how is everyone??
i cant beleive how fast time goes dd is one next month :crying:
just goes so damn fast....
Hi guys :)
can I intrude??
I live in shellharbour and have a 20 month old and a 7 week old - both gorgeous little boys.
Nice to 'meet' you all :)
Lisa
mum2bubble
02-12-2009, 22:54
Jenhappybirthday to your DD for yesterday!
LisaWelcome:D
Im Larissa and Im from Albion Park Rail and ive got a 3 and a half month old daughter.
Hows everyone going??
Things have been good here. Tahlia is sleeping through the night (12 hours ish) ... for now:p. She is rolling around and trying to sit up and crawl and is getting quite frustrated that she cant yet.
She also has two teeth sitting just under her gums, on the bottom, one on each side. She is not yet 3 & 1/2 months:eek: Going tomorrow to stock up on teething things, although she isnt too bad atm just wants to chew and bite on things and if she fusses on the bottle she seems to knock the area and be in a bit of pain!
Havent really been doing much, just getting ready for christmas. Hopefully I'll have most of the presents done and wrapped within the next 2 weeks:D thanks to the july toy sales!
Thats about all from me! :wave:
Hi all, sorry I've been so quiet! Not a great deal going on here, just keeping busy with the day to day!
We had Marley's 1st birthday last month, and a great party at the park in Primbee. It was a great day!
We've really been pushing for little miss to sleep through the night, and have got a referral to Tresillian, so we'll see how that goes!
Hope you are all good, maybe we can try and organise a meet in January? Let me all know what you think!
cobie1987
07-12-2009, 11:39
wow its been awhile since i been on here.. (like page 4 or 5)
Welcome to the new mums to the forum,
Lis86, we have one bubs age in common. I have a 20mth old as well, is it hard having a 20mth old and a new bub too?
Also i never got 2 say congrats to u mum2bubble on the safe arrival of Tahlia..
AFM, FH and i have been busy planning our wedding.. Oliver is doing swimming at loves swim school, and has been since the start of the year, though he may be moving from the parents and bubs class to the 15min 1 on 1 lessons soon. He has his trial next week, if he doesnt do so well, we'll do one more term of the group class, then try another trial..
I cant believe it is so close to christmas..:tree:
I love christmas time..
Oliver is really beginning to get in to EVERYTHING.. nothing helps. and it doesnt help that my in laws spoil him... grrr that annoys me..
Well i dont have anything else to report atm.. a meet would be good, though i do think i need to come on here even more..
Well im off.. Talk 2 u ladies, later :)
Lis86, we have one bubs age in common. I have a 20mth old as well, is it hard having a 20mth old and a new bub too?
Also i never got 2 say congrats to u mum2bubble on the safe arrival of Tahlia..
AFM, FH and i have been busy planning our wedding.. Oliver is doing swimming at loves swim school, and has been since the start of the year, though he may be moving from the parents and bubs class to the 15min 1 on 1 lessons soon. He has his trial next week, if he doesnt do so well, we'll do one more term of the group class, then try another trial..
I cant believe it is so close to christmas..:tree:
I love christmas time..
Oliver is really beginning to get in to EVERYTHING.. nothing helps. and it doesnt help that my in laws spoil him... grrr that annoys me..
Well i dont have anything else to report atm.. a meet would be good, though i do think i need to come on here even more..
Well im off.. Talk 2 u ladies, later :)
It's actually a really good age gap I've found. My Son is now almost 21 months and my little one is 8 weeks. (ie 19 months difference). While C is a little rough with the bub thats probably the only problem we have. He loves him to death and constantly goes in for hugs and kisses from him.
As I've told most people the newborn is easy to have - its the hypo toddler that takes more effort.
C is also doing swimming - we have just moved him up last week the 'big boy' lessons. He's doing double lessons till end of term, one private (1 on 1) and one big boy class with 4 kids and a teacher. He asked for mummy twice last week in his first class and he climed out of the pool once but I think for a first go he is doing well. The teacher said he is more than ready skills wise to move up (has had lessons since 6 months) but its just separation anxiety we have to get passed. That's why I'm doing private lessons to ease the transition.
I'm a Christmas lover too!!! Except im really unorganised this year. I'm blaming the newborn it's been to hectic to do any shopping. I've shopped for the boys, back in the July toy sales, but no one else yet. Whoops! Put out tree up last week, C had a great time with all the balls and drums and stars. It was very cute.
Went to Jamberoo yesterday - it was packed!!! (Christmas parties) but it was soooo fun. C loved it "more water more water more water" definitely will be going back again soon.
Take care everyone!
Lis x
mum2bubble
15-12-2009, 21:26
naebie- hope Marley enjoyed her day!! Hope the tresillian stay helps,
Jan meet sounds good, any ideas for where?
TBH im not really doing chrissy pressies this year, ive brought both mine and dps familys a 10 in 1 games table and that will do, i really cant be bothered!!
Did anyone go to carols last Fri at Shellharbour, I took bub although she had no idea, but it was a good excuse to go:p
AFU bubba is sick, she has a cough/cold as well as conjunctivitis so hasnt been a happy bub, hopefully she gets better soon, I hate looking at her all puffy and sore :(
hope everyone has a good cristmas!!:xmas:
kazandsteve
29-12-2009, 00:03
hi all how u doing
lisa- welcome
iam kaz
from dapto
and i have a now 3 year old daughter chelsea
and we still ttc for number
to welcome and nice to meet u
how was everyones xmas
mum2bubble-hope your baby feels better
i knkow what u mean about xmas its a very busy time of year for us we have our daughters birthday on the 20th of december then xmas too
naebie-hope marley sleeps improves for you, a meet sounds good
does anyone else have facebook iam on there more then on here now or any other site
iam additcted to facebook lol
iam under karenyoung if anyone else has it just let me know that your from here when u add me
ty hope u all had a nice xmas and newyear
mum2bubble
08-01-2010, 19:45
hey everyone
Any ideas for when and where for a meet up soon?
Sorry to be such a slacker!
I'm off to tresillian for 5 days this coming week (Thu-Mon) but once I'm back I'm up for a meet any time! Would you prefer somewhere indoors like a play centre, or outdoors in a park?
In terms of location, does Wollongong itself suit everyone?
JulzisImpatient
22-01-2010, 13:34
My name's Julia and I'm also from Wollongong :wave:.
My little girl Chelsea is 6 weeks old.
It would be good to meet up with some people with babies and compare notes and share tips! :D
Hi Julia!
I'm in shellharbour and have a 22 month old and a 3 month old :)
How is everything going, its pretty hectic those first few weeks. Getting any sleep ? (im not!)
Where in wollongong are you?
Lis
JulzisImpatient
23-01-2010, 16:46
I'm from Berkeley.
It sure has been hectic!
The past two weeks have been really hard with feeds every 2 hrs and Chelsea not wanting to sleep for more than 20mins at a time.
I went to the paed on thursday and he said she's suffering from lactose overload and that's why she's feeding so often, not sleeping, and having bad wind pain.
Things already seem to be improving with her digestive system now that I've been changing her feeding pattern as she slept 8hrs straight last night.:smiliedance:
I've also been getting lots of gummy smiles now and it just melts my heart.
We went on a lovely walk in the botanic gardens yesterday which was really nice... have to do that more often to try and get rid of this baby weight.
It must be hard with two young bubs. Do you have lots of family to help you out?
My hubby has been fantastic but starts a new job in syd in two weeks so won't be getting home until late..... looks like I'll be doing the cooking from now on.
mum2bubble
23-01-2010, 19:38
Renee- Hope your stay at Tresillain gives you some sleep !!!
Welcome Julia :wave: Hope your enjoying your time with Chelsea,they grow up too quick! (Tahlia is 5 months old now :eek:)Hope the lactose problem sorts itself out!
Meet up- anywhere suits me, Tahlia isnt moving around yet, but maybe indoor so we dont have to worry about the weather (too hot or raining on the day!) and we dont have to cancel because of it? Anyway Wollongong is fine by me, and anyday except Friday suits me so whatever suits everyone else.
:wave:to everyone else ... hope your all doing ok:D
Yeh its hectic with two but we love it. Our family are close but everyone works so it's just me and the boys most days, we have a mothers group, swimming and my SIL is in gerringong with her littlies so we visit them to. My partner isnt home till about 6ish, he gets home just intime for hectic tea and bath time!
I'd been keen for a meet up - friday is great for us too :)
anyone else keen?
My little one is a real chubba lol but its sooo cute. Complete opposite to his brother though.
Glad feeding if going ok. We are feeding on demand and he just wants it all the time (hence the chub hahah) had heaps of problems with my first son but this time round has been a breeze.
GraceUnhearing
23-01-2010, 20:26
im in warrawong at the moment
with a 3 year old and almost 16 month old and due with number 3 in august
cobie1987
25-01-2010, 10:07
Hi Ladies..
I havent been on here in ages, Im Cobie, im 22 and I have a 21mths old Oliver (who turns 2 in April) and we live in Kanahooka..
Welcome to the newer ladies..
Hi everyone else
so whats everyone doing today? (aus day)...anyone heading down the lake?
We're going to give it a miss, bit of crap weather really.
So would people be keen for a meet up?
How many of us are there exactly?
mummyrissa
26-01-2010, 20:45
Hi I haven't posted in here for ages! I'm in Wollongong and have a 2.5 year old daughter. I would be keen for a meet up :-) We are free most days.
We went down to the beach today, it got so hot!!!
Hope you all enjoy the rest of your week!
Hope nobody minds, but I've compiled all our info into a single post, just to get an idea of who we all are (let me know if you don't wanna be on the list)
Renee: 15 m.o DD
Larissa: 5 m.o DD
Liana: 18 m.o DS
Missiemack: DS
Kaz: 3 y.o DD
Carmen: 7 m.o. DD
Mia: 3.5 y.o DD and 15 m.o DD
Kellie: 3 y.o DS and 16 m.o DS
Cudds: 9 m.o DD
Cobie: 21 m.o DS
Bonnie: 18 m.o DS
Mrsmamo: 12 m.o DD
Jen: (nearly) 3 y.o DS and 12 m.o DD
Lis: 22 m.o DS and 4 m.o DS
Julia: 7 week old DD
Mummyrissa: 2.5 y.o DD
Hi all, well Tresillian has done us a world of good, with DD now sleeping in her own cot, and being much easier to settle and resettle through the night. I am extremely happy with our experience, and if any of you are having sleep issues then definitely don't be frightened to get a referral to Tresillian!
Well, thinking of meet locations, and it seems we have a range of ages from newborn to 3 years in this little group, how does everyone feel about a play centre in Wollongong or Fairy Meadow? The only one I've been to is Green Bean (F.meadow) which is awesome, and is run by a not for profit organisation which makes me feel even better about it!
Another plus is that it is on the free Gong Shuttle bus route so if you are catching public transport you can connect free from Wollongong or North W'Gong train station.
The other options are Little Stompers (F.Meadow) or Zoom (Nth Gong).
Fridays aren't good for me, (or mum2bubble), what about a Wednesday morning?
mummyrissa
31-01-2010, 06:59
Naebie glad to hear of your positive trisillian experience, hope everything is still going well!
My dd has daycare Wednesday n Thursdays but if we don't make this meet keep us in the loop for the next!
I think green bean or little stompers is more suitable for the younger ones n it's easier for us to sit n chat whilst knowing where the kids are :-) zoom is a bit overwhelming for the younger ones.
wow girls, great work. Wednesdays are good for us. I can also due tuesdays or any arvo's. Only thing Im thinking is maybe for the first week we need to meet somewhere pretty quiet so we actually can 'meet' each other and like recognise the group....am i making any sense??
If you do want play centres though there are also three in shellharbour but im happy to travel into town.
How does everyone feel about Tuesdays?
Green Bean is the cheapest option, as well as being convenient so how about we decide on there unless someone opposes it?
I was wondering that too Lis, but I thought if we grabbed a table and you know displayed some sort of signal to show who we are, like if I take a balloon or something?
mum2bubble
31-01-2010, 07:51
Tuesdays are good for us, I dont mind where it is. Balloon sounds good Renee.
Sorry for the quick post bub is teething real bad and im getting ready to go out!:hair:
Where is Green Bean exactly? And how much is it? I'm not fussed but im down in flinders and we dont venture up there too often lol so im not real familiar with that area. Tuesday is good for us too
missie_mack
31-01-2010, 15:59
Where is Green Bean exactly? And how much is it? I'm not fussed but im down in flinders and we dont venture up there too often lol so im not real familiar with that area. Tuesday is good for us too
Green Beans have a website if you want more info. Its not for profit and makes nice coffee etc. Its in the same complex as super cheap auto opposite McDonalds, Hungry jacks etc (fairy meadow) near Wollongong and Keira High :)
Lis its near Office Works, and Wollongong and Keira High schools in Nth Wollongong/ FairyMeadow. It's in the 'SuperCheap Auto Complex'
Cost is $7 for children over 12months, babies under 1 are free.
mummyrissa
31-01-2010, 16:10
so sounds like this meet is finally going to happen! lets do this girls!!!
im free this tuesday and next - green bean has music and movement from 12.15 on tuesdays not sure what that involves lol
I think green bean is about $7??? also i read on little stompers website you can get a deal with 5 or more kids its $7.50 each and they get a drink and a sandwhich, so thats also another option for the future meet ups. if we do the first meet here in wollongong then im quiet happy to have the next out shellharbour way, that way its fair for everyone!
y:yelclap: im excited to meet some new friends!!!
cool we're in :) (i'll find it doesnt sound too hard i know office works there).
we are free any tuesday?
what time r we thinking - do the toddlers still have day sleeps?? (my ds does but sometimes not if he is too distracted lol)
I was thinking morning- Maybe 10:30?
My DD has an afternoon sleep, anytime between 1 and 2 usually, but I was thinking we could have lunch there and play until she is tired- If others can only come a little later, then we'd still be there for a while. It's unlimited play and they are open til 3 ish so even if we ended up staggered, it'd still be a good day!
Are we keen for this Tuesday?
mummyrissa
01-02-2010, 08:36
This tuesday, as in tomorrow? If so yep we are in! Morning is good for us too and we can stay till bout 2ish!
cobie1987
01-02-2010, 09:11
this tuesday is good for us, but after next week tues - thursdays are out for me, as I will be at tafe, and DS will be in day care (till end of april then mon-thur are out) so if some people want to do a meet group on a mon, fri, sat or sun, im in (except 9-10:30 sats cuz DS has swimming and i have a weight-loss consultant meeting)
so correct me if im wrong but the meet is at Green-beans at 10:30am on Tueday 2nd Feb?
Sounds like a plan
Green bean at 10:30am on Tueday 2nd Feb
I'll PM all of the Illawarra mummies to let them know!
oh tomorrow...wow thats soon...im not sure if i can makte it. ill see how we go. who is bringing the balloon for the table?
I'll bring one, or a sign if I can't pull together a balloon.
If it goes well then maybe we can make it weekly/fortnightly/ monthly! And the next one we'll try to do out Shellharbour way!
ok I think I can make it - how many of us can come?
mum2bubble
01-02-2010, 18:02
hey ladies, not quite sure if I can come tomorrow. Trying to sort out if I can get someone to give me a lift there and back (dont have my licence yet !) but im trying.
cobie1987
01-02-2010, 21:07
DS and I will be there..
DD and I'll be there!
Larissa, do you want me to come pick you up? I don't mind, if so just PM me your address!
Bad news - we cant make it :(
DP's car decided to crap itself at 4.30 this morning when he was headed to work, so he had to take my car (with baby seats).
So now I'm stuck here all day with no car, and im down south so can't get into town :(
I could try public transport but its a tad bit far, ive never taken them both on bus/train on my own before.
Have fun girls ill definitely come next time :)
Well we'll definitely make the next meet down south!
mummyrissa
02-02-2010, 07:22
We are still coming today! Is it just the 3 of us?
I think it might be, you, me and cobie
but thats cool, hopefully we can make it a regular occurrence and we can all meet!
mum2bubble
02-02-2010, 07:32
Actually Renee I was just coming in to say I couldnt find a lift but if you could pick me up i can come :D
For sure, just PM me your address.
Did you wan't me to put my other car seat in, or have you got one handy?
mum2bubble
02-02-2010, 07:36
I can get mine, will I need an extention strap?
PM'd you:D
mummyrissa
02-02-2010, 08:02
Awesome!
I'll see you all in just over an hour :-)
hope the meet is going well :) so bummed to be stuck at home all day
GraceUnhearing
02-02-2010, 10:54
i wish i saw this thread earlier :(
i so need to get out of the house
im going insane
littleleos
02-02-2010, 11:37
bum... I love the grean bean... I would have been there with a friend but needed a rest day :(
grace... would have been great to catch up and to compare our bumps!!! (mine is a muffin top atm!) did you change your quote at the bottom of your thingy... I TOTALLY agree with it word for word. it explains me to a t
Sorry girls, I meant to PM you all.
We were thinking of having another meet in a fortnight, this time at Warilla Play Days so those down south can get there easier. Maybe on a Monday?
GU- I'm not far from you if you wanted to maybe catch up at a park or something tomorrow? Don't really know whats around here, I tend to stay in Primbee, but if you have any ideas I'll totally be up for it! I'll PM you my Facebook details in case you're up for it.
hope you all had fun - i cant do monday mornings only arvo's or tues or weds
mummyrissa
03-02-2010, 11:19
It was great to meet some of you yesterday! The kids really enjoyed themselves :yes:
Can't wait to see you all again and possibly some others as well? Im available Monday and Tuesdays till april - then ill be on prac for 7 weeks!
Take care and enjoy the rest of your week
JulzisImpatient
05-02-2010, 08:05
Sorry I missed the meet-up. I've had internet problems.
I would love to meet up next time though.
If anyone is interested I've created a facebook group "Wollongong Mums and Bubs."
There aren't many members yet but hopefully it starts growing soon.
Here's the link;
http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=289430207995&ref=mf
cobie1987
05-02-2010, 11:59
Julz, i just sent a request for the fb group..
I had fun at the meet. It was lovely to meet u all.. Im free on mondays till after the april school holidays ( which i think may be the 19th april i go back 2 tafe) and fridays...
oh great idea julz i put in a request to join :) (my two boys r my profile pic)
mummyrissa
08-02-2010, 16:35
So is everyone still keen for a meet next week? We will be meeting at playdays, On Monday morning??? How is that for everyone?
Hope everyone is surviving this yucky weather!
Lis is unable to do Mon mornings, only Tues or Wed, or Mon arvos.
Lis, what time in the arvo are you free from?
missie_mack
08-02-2010, 18:28
I always forget to come in here often because it was so quiet for so long :o
How old are everyones tots?
Here go missie_mack, I compiled this back on page 13 (hope nobody minds)
Missiemack: DS
missie_mack
08-02-2010, 19:00
Let me update then
Missiemack: 3y.o DS
Thanks missie_mack! I knew you had a DS but wasn't sure of how old he is!
yeh sorry guys I cant do monday morning. I am only free prob from after DS1's sleepo about 1-2pm onwards. Sorry to be the PITA!
mummyrissa
09-02-2010, 07:20
How about Tuesday then?
Here's the link;
http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=289430207995&ref=mf
I tried the link but couldn't find anything. I have been looking for a mothers group in the gong for ages! Would love to meet some of the mum's out there. Being a first time mum I have got NO idea what is going on and having a premie bub just make's things worse.:laughing:
I've chatted in this thread before, but not for ages.
mum2bubble
10-02-2010, 21:34
Tuesday is good for me too ... was there a site for the place we're going to? Hmmm I'll have a look.
Found it ... is this the right one?
http://playdays.com.au/locations/shellharbour.html
What time are we going to meet?
JulzisImpatient
11-02-2010, 05:15
I tried the link but couldn't find anything. I have been looking for a mothers group in the gong for ages! Would love to meet some of the mum's out there. Being a first time mum I have got NO idea what is going on and having a premie bub just make's things worse.:laughing:
I've chatted in this thread before, but not for ages.
The link should work now.
Facebook was having a few problems but it seems to be fixed now.
Yep, thats the one Larissa.
Would we all prefer a morning meet, say 10.30 again?
mummyrissa
11-02-2010, 14:42
yep that suits us :D
if you join the club on the website you get $1 off entry wow how generous of them!
yep that suits us :D
if you join the club on the website you get $1 off entry wow how generous of them!
I'll PM everyone now so its plenty of notice!
Tues 15th Feb at 10:30am
Oh no. We are going away tomorrow and wont be back till Wednesday night. I will have to go to the next one. Not happy.
carley20186
14-02-2010, 22:04
i have just found this group and am very excited to be able to chat and hopefully meet some other local mums:yelclap:
my name is carley and i live just south of the gong im 24 and my gorgeous man is 5 months old im a sahm but only for a few more weeks then back to work i go:( - but only for 2 days a week
hope to get to know you all better
mummyrissa
15-02-2010, 07:37
hi and welcome carley a few of us have just started meeting up and trying to make it a regular thing.
So... who is coming to play days tomorrow???
missie_mack
15-02-2010, 07:39
I might I will see how much housework I get done today :o
First day of sunlight etc I need to make the most of it and the lawn is so long :rolleyes:
mummyrissa
15-02-2010, 09:20
Haha I know the feeling, I'm up to my 3rd load of washing!
I'm in! I'll be there for sure!
mum2bubble
15-02-2010, 17:52
Tahlia and I will be there tomorrow!
Are you taking your sign Renee or doing a balloon or something for those that didnt come last time so they can recognise us?
I still have the sign, I also have a Big W balloon- Do you think I should bring it?
mum2bubble
15-02-2010, 19:23
dunno, depends if there is people coming that wont recognise us?
mummyrissa
15-02-2010, 19:55
I think so far it's just the three of us but perhaps still bring the sign just incase. See you all tomorrow :-)
missie_mack
15-02-2010, 20:03
I am pretty confident we will be there. Ds is driving me around the bend today and needs to let off some steam before I :hair:
Ok, well then I'll have a Big W baby sale balloon, just so you know it is us missie_mack!
missie_mack
16-02-2010, 12:35
It was nice meeting everyone and their beautiful daughters today :D
Shame we can never get more than 3-4 of us together for these meets though :(
I am really bummed that I missed you guys. But we are currently holidaying up in Forster and wont be back till Friday. But would LOVE to come to the next one. I haven't been able to find a mothers group so am looking forward to meeting you all.
IT was a lovely morning, and I do hope to meet more mummies each time we have a meet!
The rest of the day, not so good!
Marley crashed out in the car and then when we pulled up at home she woke up and wouldn't go back to sleep, so was in a bad mood for the rest of the day :(
And then we found out that my mum's cat (who was hit by a car on Friday) will probably have to be put down as the surgery to amputate her tail hasn't worked and infection has set in. If we choose to have another amputation done (right up into her spine) it'll cost at least another $1000 on top of the $400 we spent already, and it might not even make a difference. We just don't have that kind of money to take a chance on a cat who also has a heart murmur and seems to be incontinent. :( :( It's pretty upsetting, as that cat is Marley's best friend, and her "guardian pet", seriously it watches over her like it is her guard dog!
Hi Guys
So sorry I couldnt come tuesday. I've had an awful few weeks and been outa action (im contactable more on FB for those on there). My Nan passed away last week and i've been all over the place. Still really upset about it all. I'll DEFINITELY come next time though! So sorry again, sounds like you had fun.
Lisa
cobie1987
18-02-2010, 18:01
Hi ladies..
Couldnt make it to tuesdays group as I have tafe 8:30am - 5pm and DS is in day care.. Im strickly a fri-mon days free only..
Hope everyone is well..
We are currently having issues with Olivers day care. He goes 2 the tafe daycare tue & thur, and ABC learning centre weds. This is the 2nd week he has come back from ABC and has been sick, first gastro, and now he has the flu, and croup, so he doesnt end up goin 2 day care thur and i miss tafe cuz he is sick. if it happens again FH and I have talken and will be taking him outta the centre..
I have been flat out with tafe. get home, make ollie dinner, bath him put him 2 bed then i crah out..
I hope everyone is well..
mummyrissa
19-02-2010, 08:21
Hi all, yes the meet was good. i really like the set up of playdays.
Renee and Lisa :( Im sorry you both are having a bad time, hope things get back on track for you soon!
Cobie - i hope you are enjoying tafe and you get into a routine quickly. After working in childcare for almost 8 years now ( :eek: gee im old!) i have found its always the way with new children picking up every single germ, give it about 3 months and im sure things will settle down. Ive only ever heard bad things about ABC and ive also worked for 4 of their centres down here. Although if he is getting sick on the wednesday night - i would be inclined to think its coming from the TAFE centre, although im not 100%sure of incubation periods of those kinda infections etc. I hope Oliver is feeling better!
anyway so we were thinking about a meet for next week? it was suggested friday (26th) at the botanic gardens - does this suit everyone? I was thinking we could bring morning tea for the kids (and us) to share???
Then the following week ill be back at uni... but ill have monday and tuesdays off for the first 5 weeks.
Hope you are all having a great weekend. We are back from Forster now (though would love to still be on holidays there!) I am free to meet up next Friday, so long as it's ok if I crash your catch up. Just let me know where and when and what you would like me to bring.
Cheers Kaz
missie_mack
20-02-2010, 20:28
We are currently having issues with Olivers day care. He goes 2 the tafe daycare tue & thur, and ABC learning centre weds. This is the 2nd week he has come back from ABC and has been sick, first gastro, and now he has the flu, and croup, so he doesnt end up goin 2 day care thur and i miss tafe cuz he is sick. if it happens again FH and I have talken and will be taking him outta the centre..
Urgh! The first year of childcare is like that no matter where you go unfortunately. Try building up his immune system with some garlic and probiotics cause unfortunately when you have been sick you are more prone to get sick again.
Hope everything picks up for those having a hard time at the moment :(
Hows this humidity?? The weather is so weird and its so hard to sleep. I am almost wishing last weeks rain back :p
Sorry guys, I'm not going to be able to make the meet next Friday. I have to go to some stupid orientation at uni, even though I'm not a new student. Urgh.
And then I'm not sure what days I'll be free, because the timetable is still not complete! Stupid uni! I think I can do every 2nd Tuesday initially, so we'll see how that goes!
Oh missie, I know what you mean about the humidity, it kills me! Sometimes I'd rather rain too!
mummyrissa
22-02-2010, 11:22
Well i cant make friday either now :( My daughters day care has asked me to sit in on interviews for new staff. which should be really interesting!
Maybe we should attempt another one when you know what you are doing at uni Renee??? Otherwise ladies please feel free to still meet up on Friday or make other suggestions!
Hey Ladies I got my BFP on the 22nd and i thought that i would introduce myself.
my name is Kim and i am 23 years old and my DH (also 23) have been trying for a baby for 7 cycles. It is still so surreal.
Congratulations Kim! How exciting! Your due date is the day before my DDs 2nd birthday, but it just seems like yesterday that I was newly pregnant as you are now!
So, when are we all free to organise another meet? It has been so great getting to know more mummies!
Until the end of the month I'm free Wed-Fri, and I'm free Tuesday the 30th of March, if any of those dates are good for you guys!
Hi Kim,
Congrats, that's very exciting for you!
I am free pretty much all days to meet everyone. Am looking forward to it.
mum2bubble
08-03-2010, 13:45
Congrats Kim, how exciting!!
Renee I'm free any day but Fridays, but it will depend on where and when if I can get a lift.
How is everyone?
Hi guys, sorry I've been so slack! Trying to get back into uni mode!
I was thinking about making the next meet on Tuesday, 30th March at 11am at Green Bean, Fairy Meadow. Does that suit most of us? I can probably give you a lift Larissa! By the way, did Todd get his licence?
Happymumma
18-03-2010, 09:13
Ive been on the bub hub since i fell pregnant with my first bub J who is now 13 months old!!! and only just found this forum lol oh well
Im 27 with one bub as mentioned and live in Oak Flats will be good to chat and get to know all the illawarra mums :yes:
So has any one got there kids in daycare??
I ask because im returning to work in three weeks and a little anxious about it all as can be expected,i have him in the mission aust early learning center in shell cove any one know of it or heard anything about them? i was quiet impressed when i went and checked it out and havent heard any bad things so far only good so just doing an ask around :)
Well chat soon
Hi and welcome to our little section!
I don't have my DD in childcare but have heard positive things about the Mission Aust. centre in Shell Cove.
God luck with going back to work!
Happymumma
18-03-2010, 11:45
Thanx for the welcome good to hear the positives on the mission aust centre :yelclap:
I'm free to catch up on the 30th if it is still on? Very nervous about meeting everyone tho :o :laughing:
mummyrissa
19-03-2010, 16:53
Don't worry kazza we are a lovely bunch of ladies hehe
we will be there after swimming lessons!
Happymumma I used to work as a casual for ABC I worked there about 7mths ago and it is one of their better centres, if it's the same director she is really lovely :-)
hope everyone is enjoying their week we are off to the zoo tomorrow!!!
mum2bubble
19-03-2010, 17:54
:wave: hi and welcome happymumma
Renee Todd did get his licence but he has tafe on tuesdays. I'd love a lift but its a bit far for you to come out from primbee, I could get a lift out there if thats easier, but I would prob need to be dropped at home. Please dont feel obliged to.
Kazza dont stress too much, we wont bite:p No seriously were not a bad bunch.
might see you all tuesday!
It's honestly not a problem Larissa, I'm more than happy to drive a couple of extra girls around :)
Kazza, I was quite nervous before our 1st meet too, but we're all pretty easy going!
As for us, Marley is sick at the moment- She has a throat infection and an ear infection and is teething on top of that- Not making for a very happy bubba (or mum for that matter!)
Mummyrissa, have fun at the zoo tomorrow!
Happymumma
20-03-2010, 08:23
ahhhh cool thanx for the info mummyrissa good to know and yeah its the same director i thought she was lovely too!!
So where do we all live i know you guys prob know each other and what not but i think i need an update kids ages ect
:yes:
I'm from Primbee, with a 16 month old DD.
I'm from Lake Illawarra, And have a 10 month old.
mummyrissa
21-03-2010, 17:53
Taronga zoo was so good! We had a great time - the baby elephant is so cute!
We are in west Wollongong and I have a 2 and half year old daughter :-)
I am not sure if you are all still meeting up today, but I am going to pop in to Green Bean anyway. If any of you see a chicky walking around with a 10 month old in a pram, that's me...so stop me and say hi so I know it's you guys :):laughing:
mummyrissa
23-03-2010, 08:10
Kazza you are a week ahead of yourself - the meet is next Tuesday =)
As far as I know it's still on next week - 30th
hahaha, I just realised that. derrrr. :p Might just take the little man to the park then.
Yep still on! Looking forward to it next week because I start my Prac for uni on Wednesday so it'll be good to just get out an about!
IS anyone thinking about going to the Easter Show? Was considering taking DD some time towards the end, like maybe even the last day (Wednesday the 14th April)
Just wondering how I will know where you guys are next week. don't want to walk up to a bunch of ladies and ask if they are the hubbers lol.
hi, if you have FB, add me, my email is nae_stewart@hotmail.com
That way you can see some pics of me
I'll try to bring a balloon so you can tell it is us
mum2bubble
27-03-2010, 12:41
I'm still in for Tuesday ... cant wait. Renee I have a few ballons hanging around, my sister had her 18th last weekend and they are Tahlia's new favourite toys. I'll tie one to my pram :)
Who else is planning on coming?
missie_mack
27-03-2010, 12:50
We love the Easter Show and usually go on Good Friday. Although I noticed the dates are different this year with the majority of it being in school holidays. Probably will still go on Good Friday to avoid too many kids etc. School holidays are just too crazy for us :o
Also it might interest a few people to know Moore Park is having a family show on during the same period. Free to get into with show bags, animals, rides etc too. We love Moore Park and often go up to go to the markets etc on weekend :yes:
Would love to catch up with you all this week but have work stuff on, on Tuesday. Hopefully I will catch up next time :D
mum2bubble
29-03-2010, 17:58
Shame you cant make it Missiemack, have fun at the easter show!
Are we ladies still on for tomorrow??
mummyrissa
29-03-2010, 19:38
Yeh we should be there bout 11.30ish after swimming!
Yeah, I'll pick you up Larissa.
Sorry I haven't been in, its been a long day at uni today!
mummyrissa
30-03-2010, 07:56
Not sure if we are going to make it today - dd was up half the night with stomach pains. She has been a little constipated last few days, so I think it's related to that. Anyway will see what she is like over next couple of hours as she hasn't moved off the lounge yet.
That's no good! Poor little mite! Hopefully J is feeling better soon, though obviously it is no problem if you can't make it.
mummyrissa
30-03-2010, 14:25
Hope you all enjoyed the meet. Sorry we couldn't come. Ended up getting our bags for our holiday packed while dd ran back n forth to the loo, poor little thing is still having trouble! Off to docters in the morning as medicine from chemist n strict diet havnt helped :-(
Oh, poor thing! :(
Hope she is feeling better soon, and the Drs can give her something to help.
Just popping in to say it was great meeting you the other day. Jack loved it and was asleep before we even made it to the round about. It was GREAT. Am really looking forward to catching up again.
mummyrissa
06-04-2010, 21:55
:wave: Hope everyone had a great easter! This rain is annoying especially because im trying to catch up on washing from our 4 days away grr
Im not sure what everyones afternoon schedules are like but in a few weeks green bean are doing a theme night. ill be taking my dd with another friend so if any of you are interested in coming along here are the details -
CRAZY KINGDOM PARTY with children's entertainer Sir Laugh Alot
Wednesday 28 April 2010, 5.00-7.00pm
Cost: $15.00 per child, includes entry fee, children's entertainer, dinner and a helium balloon!
SCORPIOGEMINI
11-04-2010, 15:27
Hi to you all, I sort of thought, do I? do I not? and in the end well Im typing away, you just all seem to know each other and I guess I feel like the new kid in school:barf:
Im currently living in Canberra have been for the past 2&1/2yrs, we made the move from Wollongong for hubbies work, we are currently building in Shell Cove, so Im soooooo looking forward to coming back, should be in the middle of May.
I have 2 gorgeous girls 7&5 and am ttc#3
Cheers:shakehands:
Hi SG, sorry for not replying sooner :)
Welcome to our little 'bit'. We always welcome newbies to our little section, it's so quiet in here!
Once you return to the area you should try to come along to one of our meets :)
Did you grow up around here?
SCORPIOGEMINI
15-04-2010, 12:26
Hey Naebie,
Thanks for that, I now feel very welcome!!
I grew up in Figtree, then lived in Mangerton for a couple of years.
I definately would love to meet up with all you lovely ladies when I get back. Im coming to Wollongong this weekend yipppeeeee:yelclap: going to choose some blinds for our house and then Im spending the weekend with my 2 sisters, and my husband and our 2 daughters are going to spend some time with their granddad in Sydney.
Have a great day:wave:
mummyrissa
21-04-2010, 17:20
Sorry I havnt been in here lately. hope you are all well. Been so busy with Uni, prac and now dd has been diagnosed with hip dysplacia. It showed up on her xrays she had when she was constipated :-(
Have an appointment with paedatrician in a few weeks time for further assesment.
Wow, rissa thats no good!
Hope J is ok- I thought hip dysplacia only happened in little bubs.
What paed are you seeing? Dr James is really friendly, and we see Dr Sands for M's apnoea. He's a bit gruff but a good dr nonetheless.
Today M had her 1st full day at daycare, and she was fine, though she has come home telling everyone (even the cats) "UHUH" like as in "no"... I sometimes say it so maybe she's just chosen today as the day to pick up on it!
emburrows
22-04-2010, 20:54
I'm a newbie here :-) My name is Emma and I grew up in the country but I've moved between the Sutherland Shire and Wollongong for the last few years but hubby, DS and I are here to stay for good as we have a house down here. I'm 25 and have a beautiful baby boy who is 7 months old. I would love to meet other mum's as I'm feeling a bit out of the loop with no close 'mum' friends in the local area.
Hi ladies :)
Scorpio and Emburrows, welcome! We will have to have another meet up soon guys to meet the newbies.
Rissa, Sorry to hear about bub. I had that when I was born as well and my mum had to use double nappies on me. My hips are ok now, ther just click when I get out of bed in the morning or if I have been sitting down too long. Dr James is DS's paed and he is great. He also makes you feel really welcome as well and will answer any questions you have as well. He rocks! lol
missie_mack
23-04-2010, 10:21
Welcome
to the
Illawarra thread
ScorpioGemini
and
EmBurrows
SCORPIOGEMINI
23-04-2010, 11:22
AWWWWWW, Thanks for that Missie and Kazza:hugs: I look forward to coming back, should be by the 21st of May, so not long now.
Hey Emma, now Im not the only newbie.
Here in Canberra we are still in our school holidays, so my girls go back to school next Tuesday, Canberra is sooooo boring, no offence to anybody, its just not home for me.
Yippeeeee Im coming to the gong this coming Monday, cant wait, just coming for the day to see how they're going with our house.
Have a good day everybody:wave:
SCORPIOGEMINI
23-04-2010, 11:32
Sorry I havnt been in here lately. hope you are all well. Been so busy with Uni, prac and now dd has been diagnosed with hip dysplacia. It showed up on her xrays she had when she was constipated :-(
Have an appointment with paedatrician in a few weeks time for further assesment.
Sorry to hear that your daughter has been diagnosed with hip dysplacia. I dont know anything about the condition, could you tell me a little bit about it, if you dont mind that is
missie_mack
23-04-2010, 11:32
Which school do you intend to send your girls to Scorpio?
mummyrissa
23-04-2010, 16:13
Thanks ladies - it is a bit of a shock at the moment as she is almost 3 years old, and yes it is more common in newborns but it was never picked up, so at the moment it looks like surgery is the only thing to fix it :(
i have forgotten the name of the docter as we were going to see Dr Goodhew but he has a 3mth waiting list and then my mum (who is a midwife) arranged for us to see one that she works with who will most likely be sending us to a paediatric orthopedic sergon possibly at westmead. he had a quick look at the xrays but our actual appointment is next week so its not sounding too good at the moment! she has to get more xrays, ultrasounds and measurements next friday and should know more by then!
Scorpiogemini - i dont know much myself except Hip dysplasia is a problem with the joint in the hip. basically her bone isnt in the socket properly. She has not had any symptoms and it was not picked up at her newborn check ups.
Wow this section has really picked up! will be great to meet all of you if we can make it to the next meet.
hope you all enjoy the long weekend.