View Full Version : So who's breast feeding?
I started this thread in the when are you due april thread and thought it might be useful to start one again (this time I've spelt breast right though:laughing:)
I'm still finding bf hard but really want to push through it because they all say it gets easier!!
I was/am giving formula top ups but i want to stop them :fingerscrossed: it isn't too hard...i know its a mental thing and i just have to trust my body...sounds easy when i say it like that!
So how's everyone else going?
Yay for breast!
(Both for correct spelling and boobies in general!)
The most difficult thing about breastfeeding for me is leaking everywhere :( It's crazy - I came out of the shower the other day and the warm water must've triggered something because the milk started pouring out so hard it squirted.
Gross, but amusing.
I tried using washable covers but they stick and are so painful to peel off!
DS has had formula once, when I ran away from home the other night and left DS and DP to fend for themselves. He sucked it right down. Apart from that, he's just been having breastmilk - EBM maybe once a week, but that's only because sometimes when he sleeps for too long I need to express some out to relieve the pressure. He still hasn't gotten the hang of breathing and swallowing though, and chokes a bit, the doofus.
How's it going with the LCs, Tegan?
I'm also BF, it is getting easier.
Hipperty ~ I hear you on the leaking issue. The other day i leaked 3 times :hissy:
kobi'smama
18-05-2009, 13:11
I am breastfeeding and it is still really hard.
Didnt get off to a good start with pretty severe nipple damage. Then started to use the nipple shields to help with the damage, still using the shields as Lactation Consult. thinks DS has a bit of a short tongue, and when i put him on without the shields he slipps off.
I have been trying without the shields pretty much at every feed and sometimes he stays on and sometimes he doesnt, depends on what mood he is in.
It still hurts to feed even with the shields, i looked at my nipples yesterday and realised they are purple, i think they are bruised from the shields.
I just want to get to the stage where i can feed without the shields, it would be so much easier. I dread having to feed in public as its so hard to manuavre the baby, your boob, the shield and try to be covered up.
I express when I can to build up a stock in the freezer, DH really likes giving DS a bottle so would like to have enough for him to do that at least a few times a week & have some in stock so I can maybe go out for a few hours.
Have the Pink concert next month so DH will be on his own....
But i am percervering as i really want him to be breastfed, he is putting on heaps of weight so its good. DH keeps telling me its ok to put him on formula, he hates seeing me frustrated and in pain. I know formula is fine, nothing against it at all but i just feel that while my milk is good and i have heaps i should keep going.
Leaking? whats that :p I've had it happen twice...the first time I was dreaming that i was breast feeding and woke up wet and then once again just yesterday morning, other hten that I MIGHT get a drip after a shower...I WISH i had that problem just a tiny bit :laughing:
Hippity - today's a good day so I'm going good, tomorrow we'll see! Still on a rollercoaster thats for sure....I've been reading and talking to people and I've decided I need to get rid of these top ups I've been giving...they're not helping my milk supply and they're really only a crutch for my lack of confidence in my breasts.
I worked out dd's put on an average of 15grams a day since birth..its not GREAT but it's not bad either....we'll see how we go tonight when she's more hungry, I'm more tired and the formula's calling out to me from the kitchen :laughing:
xcitedmum2b - :hugs: I hope it gets easier for you soon...it sucks doesn't it...and hurts! dd's mouth is shaped funny so I've been told I just have to wait it and till she grows a bit and hope it gets better....she stays latched on but my nipple comes out pinched...
i had never intended to breast feed before i had DS2. i just took formula, bottles etc into hospy with me.
after childhood abuse i had severe breast aversion..... :(
but thanks to one midwife in hospy i was talked into (with support) to giving it a go (he'd already been given formula so we knew he'd take that)... he wouldnt attach well and preferred to play woith my boobies and always popped off... the first feed it took 25mins to attach him right and he was still feeding an hr n half later cos he wouldnt stay on...... :no:
i was so stressed ontop of being depressed from memories of teh abuse so the midwife said to just use the formula and maybe when i got home to my own environment with her support i might give it another n better go.....
i agreed to do this.
got home when DS2 was 5days old. the next day i bit the bullet...... in shock he actually attached after 5mins of trying to get him to latch properly!! :eek: he still kept playing with it n getting frustrated at having to continually latch on when he was hungry (hes a 'I want it NOW!' baby)... but he'd attached!! :thumbsup:
the midwife was very happy and continued to visit for 4days after continually supporting me to perservere as DS2 learned to latch on first go over the next couple of days!!
with her support i've avoided depression and anxiety while managing to give my baby boy breast feeds!! im so proud of myself for putting my feelings and inhibitions aside for his benefit!!
he still has formula of a nite and for top ups and when out and about but he is at least getting some breast milk. iv just bought an electric breast pump so i can express and cut down the formula even more :yelclap:
YAY FOR BOOBIES! :flowerz:
:yelclap: good on ya Teen! So happy its all working out for ya hun.
Tegan I was doing a couple of top ups occasionally too but stopped about a week ago. It was a rough couple of days to wait for bub to boost my supply a bit but we got there and now its all good. I even have the spaying boobies after showers too.
Teen I'm sooo happy for you :flowerz: its lovely to hear that the mw was willing to go out of her way to help and support you.
You should be proud of yourself!!
Leaking? whats that :p I've had it happen twice...the first time I was dreaming that i was breast feeding and woke up wet and then once again just yesterday morning, other hten that I MIGHT get a drip after a shower...I WISH i had that problem just a tiny bit :laughing:
I've lost count of how many times now i've woken for night feeds with a wet chest, ewwwww. I've been told i have a good supply. The only problem with this is that DD tends to guzzle lots down & ends up with a windy belly. I can here it all rushing into her belly poor little girl.
MumsieMel
19-05-2009, 08:17
Im bf and love it,
Landen has great attachment and is a good feeder!
i have liquid gold :laughing: he grew 4 cm and gained 390g in the first 12 days!!!:yelclap::yelclap:
KeithCheggers
19-05-2009, 11:00
I've lost count of how many times now i've woken for night feeds with a wet chest, ewwwww. I've been told i have a good supply. The only problem with this is that DD tends to guzzle lots down & ends up with a windy belly. I can here it all rushing into her belly poor little girl.
I'm breastfeeding still and have the same wind issues - you can hear it swirling everywhere.
I'm also a "leaker" I blew my nose the other morning and it sprayed through my top - so glamerous!! :no:
We have tried a few positions and I prefer the football hold as I have more control over his position - he can start to move about a bit and take my nipple with him - owwwww.
Nights are still hit and miss but I can get really sore if he sleeps longer than 5-6 hours.
I am yet to venture out in public for longer than an hour or so - anyone breastfed in public yet? Any advice or suggestions? I'd look for a changeroom first but I'm sure they are not going to be everywhere I go.
Hope you and your nipples are coping okay!:)
kobi'smama
19-05-2009, 14:28
DS also guzzles, you can hear it pouring down his throat.
Because I am using the nipple shields the milk also pours out the bottom of them sometimes and saturates me and him, i need to tuck a cloth nappy into my bra to catch it.
But things are looking up a bit, he is now attaching onto my right breast without the shield and feeding for about half a feed, then once he starts to slip off i put the shield on. Old lefty is still a struggle but we will keep going.
I have only fed in parents rooms so far, its hard for me because of the shields, but i need to bite the bullet because it is holding me hostage in the house a bit.
Anyone elses's bubs do the high pitch gasping sometimes, mum told me its wind. I burp both on my knee & over shoulder, cycle his legs etc and sometimes still no burp! Any other suggestions on burping?
I think breastfeeding in public is probably easier for me because I just have to push my singlet top to a side and he latches on in a heartbeat. I guess if you're uncomfortable with it, just wear a big scarf/shawl thing to cover yourself with it.
However, it'd probably be pushing it too far to let my nipples airdry afterwards.
I burp both on my knee & over shoulder, cycle his legs etc and sometimes still no burp! Any other suggestions on burping?
A friend of mine suggested lying bubs down flat for about 10 seconds and bringing them up to sitting and patting/rubbing back..worked everytime with her little girl..still have to try it with DS though. She also said using the fitball (exercise ball)...i forgot what se said to do though.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
21-05-2009, 18:16
:wave: good on everyone for persevering...remember follow ur instincts and do whats best for you and your bubs!!
With DS i breastfed for 4 months...i got BAD mastitis, he eventually refused to feed...so to formula i went...with lots of guilt at first but it was the best choice i made...i did what was right for us 2!
I am BF again this time..last time i had an over abundance with my supply...leaking breasts, engorgement if he missed a feed etc etc...THIS time..totally different, i leak a little bit, when my boobs let down...(i wear breast pads and they get a bit wet)...but nothing like with DS...my boobs never feel full between feeds and don't really get engorged...so hoping that my supply is ok, DD seems happy enuf, and has plenty of pooey nappies and wet nappies and is healthy, so i am continuing...and yep it is about trusting your body!
Hey girls. We're still bf-ing but I think I was/am having supply issues this past week. DS is feeding every 2 hours and I just never felt full at the beginning of feeds and he was always fidgety on the boob..and then would cry more than normal afterwards.
So... I am now on fenugreek tabs and yesterday I made some of the lactation cookies (the recipe is in the breastfeeding thread - they are sooooo yummy and addictive) and my boobies are now full! Yippee! Lets see how we go this arvo. Have had to top up the past few days with formula for the afternoon feeds so the aim is to try and eliminate that bit!
Have also fed once in public but OMG, the parents room was disgusting. And apparently it's one of the better ones in town in the shopping centres. I can't believe they are just gross - would like to challenge the centre management to take their lunch into the parents room and eat in there because that's what they're asking mums to do with their bub's feed....
Hope everyone is doing okay :flowerz:
**warning rant**
After having nipple thrush, mastitis, low milk supply - basically nothing in my right breast, taking fenugreek for 3 weeks, and a whole heap of people telling me to just put her on the bottle I'm off to the doctors to ask for a script of motilium! I will not give up and this will work!!!
Spoke to my mum this morning and her reply was "you wont give up will you? you must really want to do this - I hope its worth it"
Of course it's friggen worth it!! I know she didn't mean it in a nasty way but I'm a little over hearing comments like that...I'm so tempted to find a list of benefits and carry it around with me so when people are negative and say "oh why bother/stress just put her on the bottle" I can hand that list to them and just say "thats why"
TonkaTruck
23-05-2009, 15:57
Unfortunately I'm one of the unlucky ones. After picking up a rather nasty staf infection in hospital after my caesarian birth I was on some massively strong antibiotics and pain meds, and didn't want to pass that on to my bub.
I persevered with pumping to keep my flow up for 2 weeks, and then was told that I would have to have another course of antibiotics and gave up. By the end I was only getting 20ml after an hour of pumping and just couldn't keep it up, my boobs were in agony! So now bubs is on forumla, which I will feel eternally guilty for even though it wasn't my fault. I have to say, apart from one midwife in the hospital, every single one of them made me feel a failure for not being able to breastfeed. I even went out and bought a $300 electric pump to try to get more flow going but all to no avail.
I'm almost certain that it's the one thing that I'll regret about my experience.
Aw Tonkatruck please dont be so hard on yourself. Things happen, and this was out of your control. You did the best you could. You sound like a great mum doing a great job, you have nothing to feel guilty for :hugs:
Tonka ~ :hugs:, you did the best you physically could to try to BF your baby. Please don't feel guilty that you were'nt able too, as you said yourself it isn't your fault. All those unsupportive MW's can all get stuffed too for making you feel bad.
teagan ~ I hope this will work for you hun. If it doesn't it wasn't for a lack of trying from you. Sending you lots of positive "it will work" vibes.
AFM ~ I've been trying some re-positioning of DD when i'm feeding her to try to reduce her windy belly. So far so good, she's had a much better day today & not had much trapped wind :smiliedance:
Tonkatruck :hugs: you poor thing!! I'm sorry you've had such a horrible experience.
If your interested in trying to relactate PM me and I might be able to help.
Hi there Mummies,
Tegan15 - Good on you for not giving up, don't worry about those pushing formula, they probably mean well but they tend to miss the point :yes:
BlueIris - What positioning are you finding reduces wind? I am having real trouble with that.
TonkaTruck - Don't feel bad about the trouble you have had, it was out of your hands, well done for trying so very hard.
I have been reading the posts but not getting around to posting myself, so I thought I had better get into it :o
My breastfeeding is going well, a few small issues but compared to others I can't complain. I don't have much trouble breastfeeding in public, I just throw a wrap over us on my shoulder if I think it will bother the people around us.
The main trouble I am having is a massive over-supply. I am always sore from being too full and my little boy has a hard time coping with the flow. He tends to end up with a shallow latch to slow the milk down which means I get sore nipples and he swallows a lot of air so he ends up very windy. But seeing as we have just gotten to the 6 week mark it may still be settling down.
I have started feeding in my computer chair a bit so I should be able to post more (although one handed typing will mean dodgy spelling :) )
kobi'smama
24-05-2009, 15:04
Chook81 - Sounds like i have the same problem as you, didnt know about the shallow latch but my nipples are still sore and I even use nipple guards. I expressed the other morning one breast and saved the other for him and i got nearly 190mls out of one breast.
It litterally poors out of his little mouth and each feed we both end up soaking wet even with a bib and a cloth nappy tucked under my boob and over his arm.
They get so big and sore and hard, its awful. DH gave DS a bottle just before of expressed milk and now i am in agony, i dont want to keep expressing as that will keep the supply increased, is that right?
Does anyone know if I am not emptying each breast every time how that effects the supply?
I try to but sometimes its just too much for him.
Tonka - u did your best and that is what a good mu does. Dont feel guilty!!!
Blue Iris - I would be interested in what positions you are using as well, ds has wind too.
Tegan - Hope things are getting better, I am sending you some of my sh*tloads of milk vibes!
Chook & em2b ~ The MW advised me to feed DD the 1st morning feed laying down as it slows down the milk let down. The 1st morning feed is when our boobies are apparently most full. I also make sure i hold DD head more elevated (like a 45 degree angle) so her body is on a downward slope. I also sit lower so that DD is almost layin on me & i've found it reduces being able to guzzle a fair bit.
I've not attempted feeding in public as yet so not sure how this position would work while out. So far though these changes seem to have a positive effect on DD as she's been a lot less windy today.
Chook81, xcitedmum2b, blue iris -I really hope things settle down for you all soon....part of me wishes I had your problems though :o
I've borrowed a friends line feed so when I give Coopa her top ups she can stimulate my breasts at the same time - I haven't used it yet but will next feed.
Its this for those of you who don't know: http://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/bfinfo/sns.html
Just a quick question - for those that are trying different positions for feeding to try and reduce wind - what positions are you using?! We still seem to be having lots of wind issues (although I think I made it worse this weekend as I ate a small bit of chocolate and some milk - both of which I havent eaten for a few weeks and Jack did seem to settle a bit....)
Thank you!!
Just a quick question - for those that are trying different positions for feeding to try and reduce wind - what positions are you using?! We still seem to be having lots of wind issues (although I think I made it worse this weekend as I ate a small bit of chocolate and some milk - both of which I havent eaten for a few weeks and Jack did seem to settle a bit....)
Thank you!!
Try feeding semi reclined with bub laying upright against your tummy and chest.. also you could try the football hold. :)
The MW advised me to feed DD the 1st morning feed laying down as it slows down the milk let down. The 1st morning feed is when our boobies are apparently most full. I also make sure i hold DD head more elevated (like a 45 degree angle) so her body is on a downward slope. I also sit lower so that DD is almost layin on me & i've found it reduces being able to guzzle a fair bit.
VegieK ~ Try these positions i posted the other day to see if they help at all. I do the middle of the night feed & 1st morning feed laying down now to reduce the speed of my let down. Been doing this since Thursday night last week.
With the sitting position DD is as upright a position as i can get her so that she still feeds comfortably. DD also lays more on me than against me too. I started this positioning since the weekend. I'm finding DD has hardly any wind at all now, just the occasional bit. Still working on her burping though, she has farting sorted no probs :laughing: Having said this i gave DD some tummy time this morning after her feed & she brought up a lovely burp.
MumsieMel
25-05-2009, 12:49
VEGIE
The best thing for wind is to keep bubs elevated ALL the time, raise one end of bubs bed, change table etc, and feed holding so bubs head is higher than bum, iykwim.
HTH
XCITEDMUM
Your breasts will only produce what bubs sucks out, like bubs is putting in an "order" for its next meal ;) so if it isnt completely empty thats ok. As long as they have a good feed from both breasts evenly.
So start on the left for one feed and then offer the right, and for the next feed start on the right and then offer the left.
AFM
My grazes are healing well, but my split doesnt seem to have healed at all, and its very fleshy!
Hope ive helped
xpectant
26-05-2009, 06:27
Why is something so natural - so difficult at times?!
I wish all those who are struggling good bf vibes.
I can't imagine feeding in public yet, as it is all so unco and not modest at all!
DD seems to pull off all the time - well, slip off. Sometimes she feeds for only 5 mins on one side and other times 10 mins one and 5 the other.
How do you know if you should be giving a top-up feed? So many of you seem to be...
xpectant - you shouldn't have to give top ups...but unfortunetly for some of us our milk isn't enough for bubs early on. Top ups can also back fire so you have to be careful if you give them that it doesn't actually make your milk supply worse so if you don't have to or aren't sure that you should just don't :)
Tegan15 - I know what you mean about wishing for someone elses problem, sometimes I forget that I'm lucky to have as much milk as DS could want. I was really worried throughout the pregnancy that I wouldn't be able to feed him, I have big boobs and was putting off a reduction until after having kids so I kept thinking that Murphies law would have them not produce milk so I should have had the reduction anyway.
Blue Iris - Thanks for the positioning advice, we have been trying them out and things seem to be improving, thank god!
kobi'smama - Yes I've been told that expressing means you will keep producing more milk, but I really want to be able to do some expressing so DS can take a bottle from his Dad sometimes. I have just been doing a little bit any time DS has a short feed, and a little if I get too full and am sore, don't want to make my boobs think they need to do even more :no:
AFM we have the inlaws over for a week starting tomorrow which might make things hard because MIL is the sort of person to push formula if she sees me having any kind of BF issues. She has already told me she thinks my cloth nappies are a waste of time and tried to get DH to talk me out of buying them (luckily for me he thinks they are great and ignored her). So I may be on here for a vent later in the week...
SuperGranny
26-05-2009, 12:30
hello, I'm not breastfeeding, but I just wanted to give everyone encouragement and support to continue feeding your bubs. It is the best for them and so rewarding in so many ways. I have breastfed all my kids, including my twin daughters, and while that was difficult, it was so worth the effort. Good wishes, Marie.
Thanks everyone for the positioning ideas. I have tried some of them before, so might need to just persevere..
Other than wind, everything seems to be going ok for me atm. I made some of the lactation boosting cookies the other day, as I felt that my supply was just starting to reduce a little - and boy do they work! I'm back to waking up with massive melons as Jack is now deciding to only really have one feed during the night (lucky me!). So I highly recommend them if people are willing to do a little baking!
Hope everyone else is still plodding along. I realised that Jack is a bit older than some of your babies seeing as he arrived earlier, so just wanted to say it really is getting easier every day, and I can feed out in public with *relative* ease now!
Vegie - how olds your bubs now?
Chook - good luck with the inlaws! I'm having problems with different people in my family telling me to just put her on the bottle because its easier. I personally don't see long term whats easier about bottle feeding and find the whole making, cleaning and heating bottles a pain in the ****....
I've actually thought about putting a sign on my front door saying could people please respect mine and my husbands choice to want to breast feed dd and to not bring up feeding unless we do so first.
Jaspat24
26-05-2009, 18:38
hi sorry i've been MIA for so long but thought i'd share my BF story so far. DS is 7 1/2 wks and we've had a few issues but we are atill enjoying a good BF relationship.
at 2 1/2 wks William was unsettled, would cry and cry and was losing weight. With so many visitors at hospital and at home, and me being physically, emotionally and mentally exhausted, i'd not been feeding him long enough or offering both breasts. i saw a LC and worked out a plan to BF, then EBM topups then offer Formula topups. then express each breast for 10mins. i did this for just under a week and managed nto ditch the formula and fully BF.
i was so upset and distressed feeding him formula so called the ABA almost daily for support. they were wonderful. At 5-6 wks Wiliam and i were so busy and were out everyday. then he went through that common 6wk growth spurt. with me being so busy and tired i didn't eat as much, or properly and his demand wa more than my supply. so i topped up with formula again, but noticed it upset his tummy. so i spent 2 1/2 days in my pj's in bed and just fed fed fed. My supply caught up again!
William currently has thrush in his mouth and bottom, and i think its in my R breast. He's fussing on the right side and want to swap quickly to the left, but i'm trying to get him to start feeding on the right every 2:1 feed and making him stay there by trying a few different positions. I'm also expressing regularly after feeds, getting 20-30mls total after feeds, averaging 50-100mls extra everyday, which i keep in the fridge in case DH wants to feed or he needs a topup. Then if not needed i freeze it.
I've been lucky; no problems really with attachment or cracked/bleeding nipples. no blocked ducts or mastitis yet.
Tegan: when i had to top up and comp feed i was so upset and that made me more determined to succeed and not to give up BF without the best fight ever. I took fenugreek, lactation cookies, ate lactogenic foods and once william was strong enough to suck better, i just put him to the breast all the time.
I had so many people say that i was going overboard with my determination to BF and that i'd better watch out or i'd get PND and that i was placing too much pressure on myself etc etc. Thay also said its ok to formual feed and that it might just be that he's a hungry baby etc etc. What i needed them to say was that they believed in me that i could BF and that i was doing a great job and keep up the good work. Not even my husband said it. One day i woke up and decided that that's what i needed them all to say and that same day, i told myself "i believe in myself that i can do this".
A good friend who did believe in me gave me great advice. Because i' told everyone about the dramas we'd had feeding, everyone was asking about it and then commenting on what i told them. She said to say, "it's going great thanks". Even if it wasn't, she said to say that to shut them up cos no matter how hard you try, you DO listen to what everyone says and it makes you doubt yourself and your ability to BF.
SO TO EVERYONE OUT THERE HAVING DIFFICULTIES WHO WANTS TO CONTINUE: I BELIEVE IN YOU THAT YOU CAN DO IT. EAT AND DRINK LOTS, REST ALL THE TIME AND TURN A BLIND EYE TO THE HOUSEWORK AND GET YOUR HUSBANDS TO COOK (EVEN THOUGH IT MAY NOT TASTE AS GOOD AS YOURS).
Jaspat24
26-05-2009, 18:49
chook81: Good on you for the cloth nappies! are you using MCN's? I am and i love them! i don't care if it's more washing, i think they are gorgeous and a great investment!
Jaspat :hugs::kiss: Thank you.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-05-2009, 10:35
i think we are having some issues with breastfeeding.
right from the start i thought i had low supply, which i still believe. Bubs is 5 weeks old, she feeds every 3 hrs, sometimes she might feed afte 2 hrs...so she IS feeding regularly.
the problem is she either can't be bothered sucking, or once let down has occured she becomes very fussy and pulls on/off...
i can see that there is milk...but i think my supply is very low...
my boobs never feel full between feeds either...they don't at all become engorged overnight, if she goes 6 hrs or so...
i have tried the compression thing but that doesn't seem to work...thinking mybe the flow is slow...which i think is the case but i also don't think the supply is there.
she is getting some milk, and having wet/pooey nappies but something just tells me it isn't enough...
i persist and offer the boob but then she pulls away and cries...
with ds i fed until 4 months and got bad bad mastititis, i wanted to get at least the same...bnut unfortunately don't think we will...
i am thinking of switching to formula...i am over the guessing game, and just feel it maybe the right thing to do - i felt sooo much guilt with ds when i decided enuf was enuf (persistent mastitis, and breast refusal...the stress on both of us wasn't worth it) and i feel guilty this time cos i wanted to get the same as i got with him, at least...
DF thinks maybe we should try medication...to increase my supply.
Moo - I just pm'd you. :hugs:
http://www.notmilk.com/101.html
For anyone doubting themselves...I found this helpful reminder :)
kobi'smama
27-05-2009, 20:18
Good on you Jaspat for sticking in there, like Tegan you are a trooper. And thanks for the words of encouragement. BF is def one of the hardest things I have ever done.
Chook - I was doing the same thing in terms of expressing when i was really full or i felt like DS didnt have a big feed. Now im trying to follow a routine that advices to express certain times in the day. I already have a freezer full of milk and have run out of containers so will need to head out and get more.
I found that I expressed a fair bit when DS went through the 3 week growth spurt so my boobs were full all the time because of all the expressing. Now it has slowed down im not full between feeds or anything anymore, again i start to doubt myself and think my supply is getting low because im not engourged. crazy!
I tried the laying down positioning at night like u guys suggested and it def slowed down the flow, i just couldnt get it right. I guess practice makes perfect. I would of loved to have fallen asleep while feeding too but was worried i would roll on DS or something. Even though im fine with sleeping with him lieing on me.
The 6 week growth spurt is with us!! Or thats what I hope it is!!
Last night dd started feeding at 7:30pm and cluster fed till 8am this morning! I sh*t you not! My god....thank goodness I can feed lying down....She (I) had a break between 5am and 7am but the rest of the time if she wasn't on a boob she'd be screaming...She wouldn't have been getting much milk the whole time but she must have needed it otherwise she would have slept...she wouldn't take a dummy or cuddles just boob...she's asleep now though - and I wont be waking her anytime soon haha - mind you I start mothers group at 1:30 so I'll have to wake her for that :rolleyes:
I'm going to buy the ingrediants for lactation cookies today - any tips? Do you really need to get flaxseed meal from a health shop or do supermarkets sell it?
Tegan - I got all the ingredients for the cookies from the supermarket. The Flaxseed was in the "health food" section, and the yeast in the "home brew" section! I love them - they taste so good (even taste good without the chocolate chips!), and hubbie and my mum really enjoy them too!
OMG *Tegan* my nipples just ran away and hid at the thought of feeding for that long!
BTW your wrap was so much awesomer looking than the ring sling that I have that I went out and bought a length of material and now have DS snug as a bug. Reminder to self - don't go out with hungry, wet baby in peak hour traffic on a whim again.
The cookies are okay. I substituted the chocolate for sultanas and cranberries cos I hate chocolate chip, and I think my supply went up but I'm out now :(
How did your mother's group go? Mine's not til the second week of June.
I'm another BFer here... second time around and finding it even easier than the first.
Just wanted to wish you all the best on your BFing journey's!
Jaspat24
29-05-2009, 10:49
Tegan: with William's (DS) 6 week growth spurt, i'd gone out every single day the week beforehand (silly me) so i wasn't eating or drinking properly, or resting. Of course my supply was then not enough for him so i comped with formula for 2 days, mainly in the evenings but then to me he seemed to have an upset tummy. So i went to the doc for some motilium but she said "no, stay topless and feed, feed, feed".so i spent the next two days doing just that and now we're all good again. I also made the decision that if DS ever needs top-ups he gets EBM only. I have a whole heap in the freezer and it only takes 10mins or so to defrost. I will also never be that silly and go out every day again! I don't get much when i express; i express after feeds and get about 20-30mls each time. I give DS his last feed about 6.30pm and put him to bed and then at 8.30pm i express and get about 60mls. It's not much but it all adds up. I collect it into bottles and then freeze 'the days takings' together in the little breastmilk storage bags.
I got DH to make me some cookies last night! YUMMY!
Kobismama: my breasts are never engorged unless i go 5-6 hours without feeding or expressing. They say that about 6 weeks they settle down and instead of being full 'just in case' they really do start to only supply for the demand.
kobi'smama
01-06-2009, 14:37
Just a quick one.
We have fed for the first time successfully off both breasts without the nipple shields today!!!!:smiliedance:
I know its not a big deal but for me its huge, sorry to write about it but didnt know anyone else who would really care..:laughing:
:fingerscrossed: it continues, it was only one feed but its a start. Its so much better - i find with the nipple shields they leak milk everywhere. but im not critising as those suckers have allowed me to breast feed for the past nearly 6 weeks.
:smiliedance: Kobi's mum that is FANTASTIC! I was using shields, and just decided one night to give it a go without them, so know exactly how you feel and how you need to jump and shout about being 'free' from them!!!
kobi'smama - that is HUGE news!!!:yelclap::smiliedance:
Im also breastfeeding, using nipple shields, i really want to stop using them but im really scared, my nipples were damaged within the first 12 hours! i have tried to do it without the shield and i got her close to my nipple and quickly pulled her away! i think i might try using the football hold, this is what i was doing at the start but was told to do the normal across the tummy, i dont feel like i have any control over her in that position!
im also expressing to keep her satisfied, and to keep me sane,,, not sure if its working yet.
o and i just tried to feed without the shield, she wont take to the nipple without it!ive only been using it 24 hours or so:(
Hi all, I just wanted to say Hooray for persevering with breastfeeding. It can be really hard, especially at first, but it really is worth it!:yelclap:
And the good news is that it really does get easier! I had the whole gammut of difficulties with my first (including cracked nipples, engorgement, mastitis, nipple shields... my left nipple was so badly damaged that it didn't fully heal until DS was about 9 weeks old and even now it will never be quite the same again), but I somehow got through it all - sheer stubborn determination:laughing:. In the end I breastfed him until 9 months, when my supply finally gave up on me, and apart from the supply issues at the end, it really became very easy. Feeding in public gets MUCH easier as they get bigger and you get more confidence and it's so much more convenient that having to bring bottles and formula everywhere. Atleast by the time we switched to formula DS was old enough that I didn't have to worry about sterilising etc but it was still a PITA!
This time around breastfeeding has been a dream! So far I haven't had anything worse than a bit of a grazed nipple and tenderness, and the feeds are also much quicker. I guess that's because my breasts have done it before so they know what to do. I'm really hoping to continue breastfeeding for atleast 12 months this time, so that we never have to use formula, but I also accept that you can only do what your body will let you.
Anyway, sorry for the :ecomcity:, I just wanted to offer you all lots of support and encouragement and to let you know that I believe in you all - you CAN do it and it really IS worth it!:hugs::kiss:
lozie2:hugs: - maybe have a chat with kobi'smama - she's been using nipple shields. it does get easier :hugs:
T Bear and Herchy- I'm glad your both finding it easier second time round :)
VegieK - i made the cookies...biggest disaster EVER! i ended up with 3 giant cookies and they didn't cook through - they taste good though...oh and i forgot the oats:laughing: will have to try them again
hippity - thanks best $11 i ever spent! oh and bring your cookies on friday if you have any left - mine are a mess.
Mothers group was ok - i dont know if i'm going to make any strong friendships yet - i like your birth class group more after first impressions...
Jaspat24 - good work at kicking the formula!!
AFM - not giving 240ml abm now - its down to 160ml-200ml so slowly getting there...she only put on 100grams again this week but we're trying not to worry about that and look at how she's going - she's happy and alert and isn't showing signs of being dehydrated - she's probably going to be long and skinny just life her dad!
kobi'smama
02-06-2009, 11:55
Tegan - Im glad things are getting better slowly!
Tbear - Thats great you are having a easy time with feeding this time.
Well after yesterday's successful feed it didnt happen again after that :no: but i still try. Its funny because he is fine with the right side but we have trouble with the left. I will still keep trying but if he keeps pulling/slipping off i put the shield on as he gets frustrated.
Your right vegie it is about just jumping in without it.
Lozie2 - If you want to PM me feel free, i know exactly how you feel. Like i said my success was short lived. I am the same sometimes i get it so close but then his mouth isnt open wide enough and he looks so vicious sometimes just wanting to latch on, i crap myself! Ive been using the shields since we was born almost 6 weeks ago, we are lucky that he still takes to the nipple without the shield so far...
Im enjoying some ravioli while DS is asleep, would love a nap myself actually but he is due to wake in half hour.
I've never used shields but I know what it feels like when you can see your babe going to latch on and you pull away...I still have a crack that goes across the top of my nipple that hasn't healed - dd's 7 weeks old now and its been there for about 5 weeks...I'd sit there in tears as I put her on and cried while she fed...we got through it though and it does get better :hugs:
MumsieMel
02-06-2009, 15:15
When i had Landen checked yesturday i asked about the split on the side of my nipple (very fleshy) as ive had it for 3 weeks!
Its not infected and mainly hurts when he gets on, but never the less i have an appt with a Lact Cons on fri to check things out.
I know his attachment and positioning is good, despite what they tried to tell me what might be causing the split. :rolleyes:
I mainly think its just in a spot that takes a long time to heal.
Will see how we go anyway.
MumsieMel - the split on my nipple was because of the shape of DD's mouth. I kept being told it was attachment etc and then I had a lc come to my house and watch me for a few hours and said it all looks great from both me and dd's point and that it's the shape of her mouth and I'll just have to wait for her to grow. Only been a few weeks and its HEAPS better now dd's a bit bigger. Now just to wait for it to heal!
Are any of you lady's putting anything on your nipples? I'm using Marcalan when I remember and its great!!
LittleBug'sMum
03-06-2009, 11:18
Hi everyone! :wave: I have been reading this thread for a while and I must say it is very reassuring to know that I'm not the only one who is having trouble with breastfeeding.
I may be naiive, but I had no idea that it was going to be this difficult. I thought it was just going to happen naturally, and be easy. I often wondered why so many people resort to formula, and now I can totally understand it! Without the support (and pressure) to stick with BF from my mum and MIL I would have given up weeks ago. I actually tried to give up, but my little man is quite stubborn and didn't take to formula, have tried it with him twice and have had two massive:barf:'s.
I have cracked nipples, which have been cracked from about the second week. They seem to be healing and then bubba will do some crazy thing when I least expect it and they will split open again!
Kobi'smama and Lozie2 - I'm with you on the pulling away when he just about has my nipple in his mouth, my boy is quite vicious too. I think this is when I sometimes do the damage, coz he gets a bit of a hold and then I pull away. My nipples are hurting just thinking about it! At times I start to dread when I know it is coming around to time for a feed..
Tegan15 - the child health nurse told me something similar, that it gets easier as they get a bit older and their mouths get bigger (also I think because I have such big boobs). She said all should be well by about 8 weeks, lets hope I can last that long! I am using Lansinoh, which I think is the same as Marcalan, couldn't live without it, have gone through a big tube every couple of weeks.
Anyone have any tips on good breastpads to use with cracked nipples? I have found reusable ones to be slightly nicer to me than the disposable, but only because they have developed a layer of Lansinoh on them, so they don't stick to my nipple.
Sorry for such a long :ecomcity: post, my poor nipples are on my mind a lot, it's good to know others are going through the same thing and there may be light at the end of this tunnel!
ejandakrose
03-06-2009, 18:18
I'm an April mum and I'm breastfeeding. My daughter is now 7 and a half weeks old and we're going pretty well at the moment.
I have to agree with Anna333, I always wondered why people changed to formula so quickly. I always thought that breastfeeding would be easy and was quite disappointed when we didn't take to it too quickly! We had a few problems for the first 3 weeks as I have large nipples and LO wasn't attaching properly. We had the lactation consultant out a couple of times and one day it just clicked :).
I was wondering if anyone knows where to buy thos breastmilk bags for EBM? I can't seem to find them anywhere!
Good luck to everyone!
Anna333 - when i had sore/cracked nipples i used the rite aid - hydrogel discs. they were heaven! i kept mine in the fridge too as they were lovely to put on cold!!
bckaboop - i heard that chemists stock the ebm bags, but also places on the net have them too... i'll pm where i got mine from...
hope everyone else is doing ok. im starting to struggle a bit with not being able to eat dairy as that makes up a big part of my diet so im starting to think about weaning... although every time i think about it i dont think im ready to stop feeding him! anyway enough babble from me... take care xxx
Lilwarrior
04-06-2009, 07:43
I was wondering if anyone knows where to buy thos breastmilk bags for EBM? I can't seem to find them anywhere!
I bought little 70 ml storage containers from Big W. They can be used for BM or when they start solids. I think they are great. They are fully sealed so I can take one out of the freezer n put it in the nappy bag knowing they wont leak. They are dishwasher/freezer/microwave safe. They have measurements up the side as well.
Does anyone else find that their baby latches on better on one side than the other??
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-06-2009, 13:43
waytogo- yep, i think it is very normal/common :)
both my bubs have had a preferred side LOL!
So i dont think i have a milk supply...we actually think Anastasia has silent reflux...which is making feeding hard at times...50% of the time she is fine, the other 50% she is extremely fussy, pulling on/off, arching her back, a bit cranky...etc etc...so we are seeing how she is in 2 weeks time and she may need medication to help it! so at the moment we are using brauer and if things haven't improved then we'll go from there...BUT i am persisting with the breastfeeding - trust me some days i just want to stop - i know this wont rectify the issue of the reflux...BUT it can become quite frustrating at times...upsetting as well, due to her refusing to feed properly...but i do love breastfeeding and want to get at least 4 months!! so plod along we do :)
Hi I am a June 09 mummy.
I have just read this thread today, and saw Moos post.
I was going to say Silent Reflux, and just noticed, you have said, it in your last post.
I am convinced my son has this too. He does those things at the breast.
He is my 4th baby, and this is my 4th time breast feeding, but I am finding him a little harder, then my last two.
My first was a huge learning curve.
TO all of you, please don't doubt your ability to feed your babies. AND go and talk to a LC, if you have any issues. They are angels.
Another tip, I learned for babies who are frequent feeders, is to express some fore milk, before a feed.
In the early days, bubs can fill up on fore milk, (you can tell this, because they have lots of pooey nappies and little curds in the poos).
Making sure they get a good feed of hind milk, is a god send, it means they get the protein milk, and then usually stay settled a bit longer, and they will put on good amounts of weight.
I learned this the hard way with my 1st bub.
I am kind of at the stage where I am about to do this for my new son.
WE are having a few issues, his mouth is small, and he is having trouble attaching. SO I am dealing with a few cracks, changing my positioning, etc.
I forget, all the joys of establishing breast feeding. Oh my goodness.
Hang in there lovely people, the breast feeding journey, can be difficult in the beginning, but with persistence, can come huge rewards.
AND do not hesitate to chat to a LC, if you need to.
Good luck, everyone.:flowerz:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
13-06-2009, 15:57
we are having issues here....refusing to feed...so i am now at the point of attempting to express...and see if she will take it...
i am thinking of going to formula..i am not sure what to do really...will see how things pan out!!
If you think it is reflux moo, you need to see a doctor to get a script for Zantac or similar.
The chemist gave us Mylanta, we are using 1ml 3 times a day(as advised), and if it helps, I am off to see the doc, to get the script for the Zantac.
The acid, burns coming up, in a burp, and going back down again when they swallow. It is really painful.
I know there is a thickener you can squirt into their mouth before a feed too, to help settle them, but not sure what it is called or if you need a script for it too.
The problem with breast feeding and babies, is, they are all different, and some things work for some mums and bubs and not for others.
That is why it can be a bit of a chore in the beginning, working it all out.
With my first, I had to express before a feed, offer the feed, (for hind milk) and express for 20 minutes after each feed.
It was a PITA, but I did it, I was also comping her with formula, as she was slow to gain weight. I also was feeding from a nipple shield, as I had really sore nips.
The first three months were a nightmare, and I swore I would never go through it again. BUT we both worked it out, and she was happily breast fed, for 9 months, until she started biting.
I am greatful, for the experience, now, as I know all of the dramas with her, taught me so much, and my other children benefited from it.
I just hope, my last little man, and I can figure it out too.
Oh dear sorry for the :ecomcity::ecomcity:
Take care.:)
Sheer Bliss
13-06-2009, 17:22
:wave: I am b/f too - so far it's going OK. DS2 has learnt to attach himself sometimes, but DD2 is still needing help all the time. She has such a tiny mouth, it's hard to tell sometimes if she is on properly or not. But there is no pain, and she is weeing heaps and doing a massive poo once or twice a day, is settled and sleeping well, so I assume all is good.
With those bubbas with reflux....DS1 was a happy chucker (at 2yo, he still is a little bit - no-where near as bad though) and the LC at the local drop-in centre said that the foremilk has a higher concentration of lactose in it, and can irritate their stomach. So expressing about 5mL before a feed can help get that out and reduce the irritation.
waytogo - DD1 had a few issues with attaching on the left side, I found out much later that her back was out of alignment on that side. She had stopped b/f by then, but the chiro asked if she had preferred the right side without me even saying it. Both the twins have been to chiro appts already, and DS2 has improved already.
Oh bugger, gtg now, I can hear one of them awake. They are just starting to be awake for longer periods and DD2 hasn't settled well since her last feed - poor thing had the older kids wanting to cuddle and be in her face.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
13-06-2009, 18:39
thanks girls.
i understand that FF wont rectify the reflux..BUT she is refusing breast....so may be the only choice i have!
I go back to my GP weds and he will put her on Meds (he said he would if things haven''t improved).
We decided that i will formula feed and just express to keep my supply going til Wednesday and see what happens from there - i worry tho that she wont want to go back on the breast...but trying to attach her and making her so upset just isn't nice...i am emotionally drained and soooo confused as to what to do...what the best thing to do is...
we told ourselves if we had to make the choice this time to go to bottle, we wouldn't beat ourselves up over it - we learnt from DS...but easier said than done...
Sheer Bliss
14-06-2009, 08:43
:hugs: :hugs: If she is getting upset while you are trying to get her on the breast, that will only upset you and hinder let-down, so plese don't feel bad that you are taking a road that leads to less stress and upset for you and your bubba. DS1 refused the breast for 3weeks when he was 5months, it was easier to deal with then, as he wasn't so tiny and weight wasn't as much of an issue. I offered the breast for 5mins if we were at home, and then gave him an expressed bottle if it got too upsetting for either of us.
I did get somee great tips from a ABA counciller though....
Put bubs in a sling for a nap with just a nappy on and your shirt unbuttoned - the skin to skin contact will help your milk production, release happy hormones for let-down, which might help stop the refusal. Have a shower with bubs instead of bathing them too - more skin contact is good. Even a big bath together is good, and b/f in the bath or shower if it works.
Try getting bubs up just before they wake (hard to pick sometimes) and put them on the breast while still half asleep (like a dream feed) they are usually more relaxed and so are you as bubs isn't crying stressing you more. This worked with DS - thankfully!
Offer the breast to bubs after half or 3/4 of a bottle feed - if she is fuller she may be more inclined to get on the breast easier as she won't be so frantic.
Thats a few of the things i tried with DS - I ended up to feed him for a week or so, as that was the way he was most comfortable!!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
14-06-2009, 12:58
charlis_mum - she has got worse...however we are persisting thru until wednesday with breast feeding..NO BOTTLE...hopefully she will get the hint that that her nothing other than boobie...then hopefully we get some medication and that will help her reflux issues...fingers crossed.
i want to give this my best shot, so until wednesday we will be ficusing on attempting to get the breastfeeding going smoothly again.
if it doesn't happen i can discuss with my GP and make an informed decision as to what formula is best for bubs.
will be back on wednesday, to let you know what happens.
thanks for all the tips and advice :)
moo- :hugs: good luck.
I'm still having problems....it was getting better then dd had her injections and was so unsettled and was refussing to bf...I ended up giving her 120ml in one sitting (for the past week we'd gotten her down to 120ml topups spread across the whole day) and then again the next morning and then smaller top ups of about 40-60mls...but today she seems a lot happier and isn't refussing as much and she'll probably have 140ml across the whole day which is a lot better! So hopefully it wont be hard to fix what I started to break again...
I'm still eating lactation cookies and porridge every day as well as taking 3 fenugreek 3 times a day and motilium - 2, 3 times a day....arggghh I didn't think it would be this hard....
Awwwwww Moo:hugs:
Sounds like you are really doing it all. :fingerscrossed: that your persistence pays off, and bub works it out, and you guys can have a wonderful bf experience.
Stress is definately something bubs pick up on, and it can definately hinder let down, and milk production.
Good luck hun, and remember to be kind to yourself, if you do decide to formula feed. Sometimes bf just doesn't work out for everyone. At least you know you really gave it your best shot.
Tegan, you sound like you are trying it all too.:hugs:
With my first child, I had to bf and express and formula comp as well. We had to do this for 3 months, before she could just be fully breast fed. It was a lot of work, but it really was rewarding, once we got through it all.
I learned so many skills from that, that my other children have been a dream. Although bub number 4 is starting to throw a few new things at me.
He has been much better the last few nights. SO hopefully he is going to start settling, and the Mylanta has helped heaps.
KittenKelly
14-06-2009, 20:16
:wave: Hi All, another BF'ing mummy here.
Those of you having problems with finding a position comfortable for you both, i can recommend the Tetra Breastfeeding Pillow. It's one of the cheapest ones on the market at $45 and it has been a godsend for me. My community health nurse lent me hers to try and I went and bought my own one the next day!
Now I just have a couple of questions that I'm hoping some of you may be able to answer...
Regarding EBM, how do I defrost it quickly without using the microwave??? I got caught the other day when I needed to go out so I took some frozen EBM with me hoping it would defrost in time but it was still too cold to give it to bubs when the time came.
Also, my daughter is just over 5 weeks now, and I have no idea how much EBM to take out with me as obviously it is impossible for me to measure what she is getting directly from the breast. Any ideas???
kobi'smama
15-06-2009, 08:41
Kitten - When we give DS a bottle of EBM we heat it in hot water, it defrosts it pretty quick. Once it is defrosted i tip it into the bottle and again put it under hot water until it is warm enough. Just hot water out of the tap. When we are out I ask for a bowl of hot water from restaurants. I always take more then less as it is hard to know when there are no measurements on your boobs - although that would be so handy.
I guess every bub is different but i normally take about 130mls with me and that does him fine.
Tegan - You are a soldier! Hope things get better.
Things have finally gotten good for us breast feeding wise. Havnt used nipple guards in over 2 weeks, still hurts sometimes but no where as bad as it use to.
My poor baby is sick at the moment, flu i think. we are off to the docs later on this morning. Its the cough that scares me.
Quick question - I read in another thread about squirting BM in your bubs nose if they are congested - has anyone tried this?
Kitten, Kobi'smama - just wondring why you give ebm when out?
Kobi's mama - I haven't tried it myself but yes you can use your breast milk. breast milks great! it fixes everything! Hope bubs feels better soon :hugs:
I thought I would come in and say hello.I had my DD on 8th April and like many of you we have had a somewhat difficult BF relationship that is still going on.
We came from hospital on tops ups as DD had lost quite a bit of weight and took 3 weeks to regain her birthweight. We have also had a few (many) BF refusals like you Tegan, worst lasted nearly a whole week for day time feeds, night time feeds are going fine and we don't need tops ups on those. Things I have found helped to get her back into it again was to to feed standing and rocking quite a bit, also BF in the bath seems to work well, although with a 2 year old big sister in there it does get a bit crowded. Tegan, I am on much the same regime as you with the motillium and fenergreek. I have also been drinking 3 cups of Weleda Nursing Tea which I think is helping (although tastes like grass clipings in hot water).
Although I am determined to BF at thenedof the day we have to do what we have to do to have a healthy and growing bub. I formula fed my DD1 also due to supply problems who is the most beautiful, healthy, smart and divine little girl, so atleast I can see for myself that bit a formula dosen't mean the end of the world, but I was determined to BF this timemore for convenience, but Tegan I am sure you will laugh at the "convenience" of the current situation. But I do so enjoy the cuddling up during the peaceful night time feeds.
Jen
kobi'smama
15-06-2009, 14:23
Tegan, ive only taken EBM out once and that was because we were meeting a big group of people out and i still am yet to perfect the art of feeding in public...Dont know if its because i have big boobies or what but im so unco!
But DH gives DS a bottle of EBM at 6pm feed nearly everynight so im getting a pro at the defrosting.
KittenKelly
15-06-2009, 14:49
Kitten, Kobi'smama - just wondring why you give ebm when out?
Convenience mainly. If there is a mothers room where I'm going then I'd use that, but I'm not confident enough to do it in public otherwise and doubt I ever will be
I also agree with kobi'smama regarding the big boobs. I'm convinced it would be easier if I was smaller!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
15-06-2009, 16:01
thanks girls!
it is getting really hard.
my areoloa is so red...and sore...and i clicked that maybe it was thrush - hence making DD worse with the feeding. Went to doc today and got some cream.
He recomends expressing til it clears...so i did, i got 100ml the first time and she took 60ml...then second time i tried attaching her it KILLED and she was soooo fussy, had a small feed. It hurt to much with her fussing so i expressed and only got 50ml, which she took about 40mls of...so we are TRYING!!!
will give it til Wednesday and if no better make a choice!!
thanks again for all the support and encouragement!!
RE FEEDING IN PUBLIC - i know the feeling...this is my 2nd bubba and my boobs are HUGE LOL...it is so hard to be even the slightest bit discreet so i just use a parent room..i mean if i have to b/f outside of a parent room then i will do it and attempt to be discreet but it is hard!!!
fair enough ladys - i can't express enough so i dont have that option :(
i'm a 12E so i know about how hard it can be not to flash but for me i'd rather feed her in public then have her scream but i know not everyone can do that.
Sheer Bliss
15-06-2009, 21:55
kittenkelly - there is a chapter in the book babylove that says bubs usually takes a certain amount dependant on weight - maybe google it and see what it comes up with? DD1 was always a small drinker, so I am not much help.
kobi'smumma - :yes: breastmilk up the nose and in the eye for congestion, gunky eyes etc, the lot! It is magic stuff and helps heaps. DD1 had a blocked tear duct that resolved itself at around 2-3yrs, and breastmilk always cleared the gunk out.
moo - have you spoken to the ABA about expressing until the thrush is gone? Just from past stories I have heard GP's don't always have the best advice re breastfeeding - a LC or ABA counciller will have the best advice on that. Ouch though :hugs: it sounds really painful!
To those who aren't confident b/f out yet - don't worry, it takes time. I would always feed my first in a parents room, or in the car if a parents room wasn't avail. To start with, we'd race out straight after a feed and try and be home before the next one. By the time i had DS i'd feed anywhere and everywhere - even in the ergo walking around spotlight shopping. :D
Proud moment for me over the weekend :flowerz: DH and i took the kids to a small play centre, and they had nice comfy couches with cushions, and I fed both bubs at the same time! I have only fed them one at a time while out before, as it''s hard to be discreet with bubs that are just 6lb and both boobs out and bubs in the footy hold :laughing: But it's sooo much faster at the same time, and we did it!! Then I went to a party plan thing at a friends on sunday, without my b/f pillow again and fed them together there too!! It is getting easier, and really, all I am exposing is my cleavage - about the same as in my old bikini's - so it's not so bad.
kobi'smama
16-06-2009, 07:51
I think my lack of confidence to feed in public is a problem as well.
DH has started to become a Lactation Consultant so it seems - when he gets home he offers plenty of advice on my nipple placement and the shape of my nipple when DS comes off....:banghead: Like i do this all day every day fine without your advice. Even lately if we are in a parents room feeding and there are other ladies he will notice the shape of their nipples &
tell me where their going wrong or tell me they have a good technique.... So if you see a guy looking at you feeding dont worry he isnt perving just susing out your nipple placement :laughing: As you can tell he listened very hard when we had the LC come out to us twice after DS was born.....
Charlis_mum - You are a legend! 2 at once!!! U go girl!
Tegan - do you feel like your milk supply is increasing at all with all of the things u are doing? :fingerscrossed: you start to see some improvement!
My poor baby is still sick, its funny though if he wasnt sneezing and coughing you wouldnt know. he is still smiling and laughing. I even just put him in his cot for the first time for his morning sleep and he is already asleep. Even with treeloppers in our front yard make more noise then u could imagine!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
16-06-2009, 13:30
well considering i can't attach her, as it KILLS...i don't have much choice. He is a great GP, he has 3 kids of his own-he even said he encourages me to keep feeding if i can!!
I may have some nipple shields somewhere...maybe i could try that til it clears! i have been expressing and giving formula...i have given formula mostly today as it is too sore to even express...what will be, will be...
if she re attaches after it has gone GREAT! i will be sooo happy, if not it isn't worth fighting her...i want her happy...As much as i love b/f... have came to terms that it might be ending...it was so nice to actually feed her (EBM and formula) and have her happy, and relaxed!
thanks again tho girls...will attempt to get those shields out if i have them!
:laughing: Kobi, your DH, sounds like mine, with our first bub. OMG, that is so annoying. Glad you can kind of laugh at it though. A little info for him, all babies have different shaped mouths, so our nipples will come out different shapes too. LOL
Awww Moo, you have done BF, and you have been winning. It is hard with thrush and nipple pain. :hugs:
I cracked out the nipple shields today, too. It was much better.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
16-06-2009, 15:53
awww she just screamed...i tried the nipple shields...poor little poppet...not having much luck...
she takes the bottle fine, whether EBM or formula!
Aww Moo :hugs: You are doing such a great job. Sometimes it works out and sometimes it does not. :hugs:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-06-2009, 12:34
Thanks girls for all your support and kids words, breastfeeding has ended for us unfortunately...but we got 8 fabulous weeks! it is very sad as this is my last bubba...but i need to make a choice based on what is right for her and me...and our family as a whole..she only put on 0.27g in 2 weeks!
but to everyone else good luck and just do what is right for you and your bubs...don't let the guilt get you down if you do decide to stop...but ENJOY every moment of it, cos it is a very precious and amazing thing!!!
Sheer Bliss
17-06-2009, 13:26
:hugs: She got 8weeks of b/m so that is fabulous!! There is no piont persevering with it if she is screaming and it is making you all miserable. :yelclap: for doing all you did to get that far.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-06-2009, 14:40
Awwww Moo, you may feel a little sad, but you have made the best choice for you. AND you have done it before it really turned into a nightmare.
Well done for persevering as long as you have.
Ok, our breast feeding journey, just hit a speed bump. BUB only put on 80 grams this week. NOT good.
He is still jaundiced. SO over the next few days, (please GOD, not any longer then that:fingerscrossed:) I am to offer him, at least 50 mls of EBM, after each feed.
I have walked this road before, and I know how hard it can be. SO I am hoping, this bub will not be too hard, to clear the jaundice from. My first, took 4 weeks, and it was a tough 4 weeks. Then we had to keep the EBM, thing for the first 3 months of her life.
SO I am really hoping, we can get on top of this fast. I just remember how exhausting, it is. AND I am tired, already.
Good luck and happy feeding to all of you.:hugs:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-06-2009, 18:51
Hooves - good luck hun, i am thinking of you guys!! you will do fine, remember you can only do your best :)
just quickly popping in to say,,, i breastfed in public!! sorry that was the one thing i was worried about, but i did it and did it with confidence! :D:cloud9:
:smiliedance::smiliedance:
Well done Lozie! I did the other day but in the parents room... haven't been gutsy enough to do it out in the open yet.
I think once you do it for the first time it just gets easier and easier. I bf in restaraunts now and I bfed while walking around spotlight shopping the other day. A bfing baby is much less 'offensive' then a hungry screaming baby:)
Sheer Bliss
18-06-2009, 19:04
:yelclap: :yelclap: Well done on feeding in public Lozie, Tegan and Lilahh!! I just gets easier and easier!:flowerz:
:smiliedance: that's great to those who've BF in public. I've done it a few times but not in the open yet.
Monday night I had a big arguement with my mum about dd and me breast feeding - she and apprently everyone else agree's with her thinks dd's starving and she hates seeing her cry all the time...I ended up telling her that she was out of touch and uneducated and unsupportive...haven't heard from her since...anyways just to stick it up her ar$e dd put on 250grams this week :smiliedance: clearly a child who's being starved :rolleyes:
KeithCheggers
20-06-2009, 17:56
Well I got my boobs out for the first time in public (sober!) today and I don't think anyone batted an eye lid. Luckly the little man didnt seem bothered that he had a cover over his head. One less thing for me to worry about with him now, feel I'm less restricted to where we go together.
It's rubbish that some changing rooms are sooooo bloody cold though!!
I am still breastfeeding but probably 80% with shields as I had such sore boobs in the first month - cracked nipple and mastitis three times, leaking everywhere and generally not enjoying it which I think he picked up on. The shield meant I got to heal and relax - I try to make sure I don't do it all the time though to make sure when we are out he will still feed straight from the boob.
Hope you are all well - Vicky
I have a question about nipple shields.. I tried one and it was very big... my nipple didn't fill it out. Even after I let DS suck for awhile to lengthen out and shape my nipple, it still didn't fill the shield. When I put it in DS's mouth he pulled off and looked at me with total disgust in his eyes as if to say "Mum.... WTF? Are you kidding?"
Are there different size shields? Maybe I should buy a smaller one. But my BBs are very big!! I thought my nipples would be. :detective:
KiahsMum
21-06-2009, 00:27
Sorry thread crashing here, yes there are different size shields and it is very important to have the right size. I started with a large and then went to a small, there is now a medium as well. Shields are hard enough to use so highly recommend getting the right size :)
kobi'smama
21-06-2009, 11:24
I fed with the shields for the first 5 weeks or so - I dont think i would still be BF if it wasnt for the shields honestly.
I have now been shield free for 3 weeks and loving it! Although i didnt think i would ever be able to feed without them but one day i just didnt use it and gritted my teeth and it was fine. One side still is a little painful when he first latches on but nothing too bad.
I found the Avent Petite size really good Lilahh, the first week or so i was using the large and OMG they are bloody huge and I have big boobies too. Felt like DS was gonna gag every time i put it in his mouth but he didnt mind.
Keithcheggers - Good on you, i tried last sat morn, was out to breakkie with Girlfriends and was there longer then i expected. It was time to feed, my BF helped me hook a wrap into my bra strap and i managed kind of. Hard when u need to burp half way etc though.
Tegan - You know if your baby is hungry or satisfied you are her mum. Dont let anyone deter you from doing whats best for you and bub. You are doing a great job.
Yep I agree, look around for the nipple shields that look like your nipple. IF that makes sense.
When you take bub off, notice the shape of your nipple, and try and find a shield, similar. There are a few to choose from.
My bub is doing much better feeding now. He is starting to be more alert, and awake at feeds. He gained 180 grams in 5 days.
SO much better then the 80 grams for last week.
And he is much more settled and happy.
:fingerscrossed: he stays this way.
I hope everyone else is going well.
AND well done to everyone who has had their first feeds in public. It is very daunting the first time. Great Job.:thumbsup:
Thanks ladies I'll definitely look into it.
How long are your bubs feeding for on the boob? DS only takes one boob each feed, feeding between 10-20mins except at cluster feeding time when he feeds for 5mins at a time for 3-4 hours.
Sheer Bliss
22-06-2009, 20:47
DD is feeding every 2.5-3.5hrs, and for about 15mins most the time, with the occassional 30min feed.
DS is sleeping for longer now, and he gets woken when DD wakes to be fed, but a few times I have got DH to rock DD back to sleep or fed her on her own, and he has gone 4.5hrs.
Both obviously take only one boob per feed. :p
I think I am in for an exhausting few days/week. DD is being more unsettled between feeds, and still waking sooner if i stretch the time out between feeds. I think she is starting the 6week growth spurt, so am stopping the stretch out, and feeding her when she wakes, without waking DS. Not all the time, just in the evening when i am awake anyway, but it is starting to become soooo tiring. :fingerscrossed: it doesn't last too long.
kobi'smama
28-06-2009, 18:46
Hi Girls - I posted a new thread about a blocked milk duct in the general issues section - realised i should of asked you guys but cant be bothered re typing it.
Can u have a squiz if you get a chance and let me know if you have any suggestions.
Ta
:wave: Girls,
Just wondering if I can join you girls here?
My little Isla is 2 weeks old today and we are breastfeeding...to be honest before Isla was born I wasn't convinced that I would be cut out for feeding her, I wanted to for all the health benefits but wasn't sure how I would go...IYKWIM??
Anyway we seem to be going really well...I cant believe how much I love it, its our special time...I was feeling a little blue, missing being pregnant but have now realised that feeding time is our new special bond...:cloud9:
I have a bit of an over-supply, which was causing a few attachment problems, so I have been expressing about 30ml before the first morning feed and now Isla is attaching beautifully and my freezer is getting a nice supply of EBM. :D
We had the health nurse here the other day and in the first 5 days home from hospital Isla gained 250g :eek: I cant wait to see how much she has put on when she is weighed again on Wednesday.
Anyway hope everyone else is going well.
Talk soon
Kema:bee:
:yelclap:Kema that is excellent, so glad that things are going well for you.
The blocked milk duct. I always found a hot (not burning hot), face washer, on the breast where the sore, spot is, and express, or feed bub.
Another tip, is to feed bub, so that their chin, pushes into the spot, that is blocked. Not always the easiest, to do.
Also you can express in the shower. Massage breast, hot water, and express. It can help.
If it gets hot to touch, or you get a temp, you need to see a doctor, as you have mastitis, and need antibiotics.
Hope it clears for you soon.
Jaspat24
29-06-2009, 21:31
Hi girls just a quick update from me!
Well DS has had oral thrush for 6wks now and i've had nipple thrush for 3-4 wks. I am so over all the meds, creams and boiling dummies etc. And if the thrush wasn't bad enough i've also just finished a course of AB's for mastitis. I've spent about $350 so far on all the meds and creams (don't have a health care card).
But i'm still breastfeeding :). My DS is a slow gainer. He was 3940gms at birth and 2wks ago weighed 5010gms. He has grown in length though and we are starting to put him into 00 sizes this week, so i'm excited to weigh him tomorrow to see how much he's put on!
Also i have to go back to work in 4-6 weeks and he'll only be 4 - 4 1/2 months old. I'm only going back 3days a fortnight and am currently checking out my workplace's policies for BF mums. I've got a great breastpump and a cooler bag so i don't need to store my milk in a fridge, i just need a private room and longer than my normal 1/2 hour to be able to empty breasts properly.
Will be speaking to my manager tomorrow; wish me luck!
Jasmine
kobi'smama
30-06-2009, 12:46
Good luck Jas - Let us know how you go, sucks about all the meds hopefully things are looking up!
Thanks for the advice, i think :fingerscrossed: the blocked duct is nearly gone, pain has nearly gone and so has redness. I just kept going with what i was doing so thats good.
Welcome Kema - thats great you are enjoying feeding, i love it too. Im grateful i am able to do it and hope it continues for a while!
Sorry if TMI but can you guys tell me what colour and texture your bubs poos are?
DS are pretty much always a yellowey colour and not solid but today they are really runny and have kind of bubbles on them. I dont know if he has a yucky belly or what. They were explosive -change clothes twice explosive...
And do you find what you eat effects their poo's? If so what foods are you avoiding now?
Sorry for the questions - dont think DS appreciated the kebab i had for dinner last night...
Kobi - i posted in the thread. hope u feel better soon.
Kema good on you!!!
Jaspat - I could have written nearly the same thing as you :) i go back to work in 8 weeks and dd will just be over 4months old.
dd was born at 3555 and now weighs 5010.
OHHHHH but my good news is we haven't used any top ups now since 4pm friday :D:smiliedance:
So we'll see how dd's weight goes this week
:wave: girls,
Just wondering if its possible to have a routine when you breastfeed? Cassie is 5 weeks tomorrow, and we had some sort of routine going, i woke her every 3 hours to feed her during the day, then at night i let her wake me. well today every 2 hours she has woken screaming, very unusual she doesnt even scream at night for a fed. i tried burping her changing her, checked if she was hot or cold, cuddling her, i tried a dummy which she spat back at me, i could tell all she wanted was boob so i have been feeding her every 2 hours. is she headed for a growth spurt or am i setting myself up to demand feed all the time, i really would prefer a routine and the 3 hourly was nice.
i hope people can understand what im asking i kinda went all over the shop!!
Sheer Bliss
01-07-2009, 13:55
You can routine feed a b/f baby, but you need to be a little flexible if that makes sense?? At 5weeks, I would expect that sort of behaviour to be a growth spurt, and if you demand feed for a day or 2, then she will probably settle down once your supply increases. It's usually only for a few days. The other thing you can do, is checkout some breastfed baby routines, the tizzie hall one has you expressing leading up to growth spurts, but IMO that only applies if your baby is a 'text book' baby with growth spurts. TBH, i'd do what you are doing, demand feed when growth spurts hit, and then stick to your routine at other times if that works for you.
kobi'smama
01-07-2009, 14:58
Lozie - we follow Tizzie Hall SOS routine but its not for everyone.
Babies generally have a growth sput at about 6 weeks so maybe bub is going through that. Most routines allow for the spurts but up to you.
Maybe do a bit of research on the net and see which one would suit you and Cassie.
I agree, it sounds like a growth spurt. They only last a few days.
I am always intrigued by the 6 week growth spurt. My first bub seemed to growth spurt every 6 days.
My 2nd was to the schedule, and my third, I honestly never noticed a growth spurt ever. He would feed, like normal.
My 4th, I am yet to see.
Not all babies are the same, and that is why sometimes you just have to go with the flow.
Question for you all... when do you stop demand feeding and start trying to feed at regular intervals? Liv is two weeks old and varies from 1.5-3 hours between feeds ATM.
I just fed DD whenever she was hungry. DD was like clockwork & fed every 3 hrs at 2 weeks. She's now been in a 4/5hr feed routine for a while now. It only changes when she's having a growth spurt, she went back to 3hr feeds through that. Occasonally i've had to do top up feeds 1 or 2hrs after her main feed.
How long till your nipples didn't feel sore during a feed? Mine are still sore, worse for the first minute but still painful during a feed. Im starting to dread BF. Latching correctly is soooo difficult.. I think we only get it right 50% of the time, other times we are still getting it slightly wrong, resulting in nipple pain. All the cracking has FINALLY healed, now they are just sore. Im 99.9% sure its not thrush, the pain is probably from incorrect latching. We are both trying so hard but if DS is 1mm in the wrong place I get nipple pain that takes days to recover. Why the **** is BF so ****ing hard????
:(:(:(:(
I guess I should call a LC.. but it takes so long to see one and I dont even know where to look..
Re: demand feeding. I demand fed DS until he was weaned. He worked his own routine out after a while.
With DD, she feeds every 3ish hours during the day and only wakes once between 10pm and 8am most nights for a feed. She has her own routine aswell.
Breastfeeding works so much better demand as supply = demand. I don't know of anyone who has routine BF though.
GL.
Lilahh did your hospital give you their LC's contact details? You could always try your MCHN for their recommendations or call the ABA.
As for the nipple pain, if it's not causing cracked nipples, your nipples come off the same shape they went on (not squashed) and there's no real problems attaching, then it's probably still nipple stretching pain. I'm only just finding it going over the last 2 weeks. As for attachment issues, have you tried feeing using the football hold? That's the way I feed as it's most comfortable for both DD and I. Other than that, I'm not entirely sure what you can do to counter the problem other than attmept some nipple sheilds if it gets really bad.
Okay, should probably stop whinging.... just googled LC's in the ACT, found one and called her and have booked a private home session tomorrow at 10am. :laughing: Sorry for the negative post, Im just getting over BF bloody quickly!!
KM: I've found DS gets bad wind and is unsettled if I eat beans or raw onions. Also, DS's poos are quite yellow and "smeary" but he has had a few very very watery ones if he drinks a lot the day before.
As for routines, DS is 3.5 weeks and doesn't sleep longer then 3 hours at once, any time of the day, he just finished a 3-day growth spurt, has settled back to clockwork 3-hourly feeds except for cluster feeding time (10pm-1am).
I have found that making the night time feeds quiet with no interaction/eye contact in the dim light and the day time feeds fun with lots of talking and tickling and playing makes him sleep better at night and use his alert time during the day.
As for the nipple pain, if it's not causing cracked nipples, your nipples come off the same shape they went on (not squashed) and there's no real problems attaching, then it's probably still nipple stretching pain. I'm only just finding it going over the last 2 weeks. As for attachment issues, have you tried feeing using the football hold? That's the way I feed as it's most comfortable for both DD and I. Other than that, I'm not entirely sure what you can do to counter the problem other than attmept some nipple sheilds if it gets really bad.
Herchy: The nipple is much flatter before bubs is attached, after he finishes feeding its more pronounced, IFYKWIM. What do you mean by squashed? Like, its more flat on one side of the nipple? I used to get that, thats what caused the cracking, but now the nipple is "even" all the way around. Does that make sense? I also feel some shooting pains after the breast is emptied, almost like the ducts are filling up again, its shooting and sharp, but not painful per se IFYKWIM? How old is your DD again? Just wanting to know how much longer... hoping to stick it out to 6 weeks and if its still **** painful and depressing me Im switching to formula.
Football hold is difficult because I find DS so heavy.. maybe Im not holding him right in football hold? also I havent really been shown any other hold other then cradle properly and Im **** scared of trying it myself and making the nipple pain worse or even worse, getting more cracking. I might get the LC to show me tomorrow.
She is $75 an hour, but if it makes it less painful its worth it.
Frocky, For a while longer bub will need the 1.5 -3 hour feeding.
My boy has just hit 4 weeks, and we still have the odd, 1 -2 hour feeding. Mostly he is sticking to 3 - 4 but through the night sometimes, he wants it more often.
Once bub is getting a bit more of a tummy, they will hold more, and get better at getting the milk down. So it should start stretching out soon.
You could try expressing for 5 mins before a feed, to take off some fore milk, so bub gets hind milk, earlier. This could help.
Lilahh Hope the LC, has some great advice for you. It does sound like a positioning problem, so ask her to show you a few others.
When bub is little, the football hold, is great. Cause you can tuck their little body, under your arm, and get more control of their head. SO they can't chomp, your nipple, or pull away with it in their mouth still.
As for the nipple pain, I am still getting a little pain, after a feed, Hoping mine toughen up again soon. Not nice, at all.
I have been finding my bub, gets awfully windy. I am thinking I may need to look at my diet. He is attaching fine.
Hope everyone else is going well with their breast feeding. AND for those of you who are struggling, do not be afraid to ask for help, or advice. :hugs:
Lilahh - with the football hold, I don't technically 'hold' DD. I sit in a chair with armrests, and stick a pillow on the armrest, then lay DD on that. I sometimes have to pull her head towards my nipple, but can usually raise my knee height to help.
Yeah squashed as it your nipple looks like a lipstick end rather than even all the way around.
DD is 7 weeks old now.
oh and $75 an hour for the LC??? YIKES!! You are private then? I used the LC from our public hospital. I hope she can solve all your problems.
Herchy: The nipple is much flatter before bubs is attached, after he finishes feeding its more pronounced, IFYKWIM. What do you mean by squashed? Like, its more flat on one side of the nipple? I used to get that, thats what caused the cracking, but now the nipple is "even" all the way around. Does that make sense? I also feel some shooting pains after the breast is emptied, almost like the ducts are filling up again, its shooting and sharp, but not painful per se IFYKWIM? How old is your DD again? Just wanting to know how much longer... hoping to stick it out to 6 weeks and if its still **** painful and depressing me Im switching to formula.
Football hold is difficult because I find DS so heavy.. maybe Im not holding him right in football hold? also I havent really been shown any other hold other then cradle properly and Im **** scared of trying it myself and making the nipple pain worse or even worse, getting more cracking. I might get the LC to show me tomorrow.
She is $75 an hour, but if it makes it less painful its worth it.
LittleBug'sMum
02-07-2009, 20:19
Lilahh - Some of your problems sound like problems I have had. I totally understand you, I have wanted to give up several times! I've made it to 9 weeks, and it is getting easier all the time.
The shooting pains after a feed I have too, and I think that they feel like the ducts filling up, I posted something on another thread asking if anyone else had experienced this, and the replies suggested that it could be thrush or vasospasm. But as it isn't all that painful, and really does just feel like the breast refilling, I haven't been too worried about it.
I use the football hold, and my bub is really heavy now (weighed today 6kg!), so I wedge a really firm pillow beside me and the arm of the couch, and another one behind my back (so I'm forward far enough in the seat), and lay bub on the pillow, and find this gets him in the best position for the football hold. I've actually had to stuff 2 pillows into a pillow case to get it big and firm enough to hold him in the right position.
A child health nurse told me that most people if they stick it out for 6 to 8 weeks BF usually becomes easier because bub's head and mouth become bigger, it is hard though especially as they always seem to be needing a feed!
I'm jealous of all those who have bubs that sleep for long periods at night. My bub still feeds 2 hourly during the day (you could set your watch by him) and then 3 to 4 hourly at night. He is growing like a champion though, and is very settled between feeds, so can't really complain.
kobi'smama
03-07-2009, 12:13
Lilahh - My LC w $150 an hour and we had her out twice - was the best $300 we ever spent.
I was dreading feeding and was going to give up - now we are at week 10 and its a breeze!
i have my period so im guessing my milk has gone sour, cassie is coming off the breast screaming, any1 have any suggestions? she is only taking one side per feed aswell
SuperGranny
03-07-2009, 14:12
hi breast milk does not 'go sour' , the taste may, and only may, change slightly while the period is happening. You can completly continue feeding, there is no need to change routine. I always fed both sides, for only ten minutes each side. I also didnt worry about burping a baby unless there was signs of discomfort after the feed. I did things a little different when I was breastfeeding, but Im sure the ideas will still work. Marie.
Sheer Bliss
03-07-2009, 16:23
Frocky - I demand fed DS1 until he was weaned at 19months. Once he hit the 8month mark, and was eating lots of food, he pretty much set hos own routine of a morning feed, just after his nap, just before bed, then maybe one (or 2 when he was feeling off or had not eaten much that day) during the night.
Lilahh - hope you went well witht he LC today. I use the twin feeding pillow for the footy hold, whch makes it easier. Whe i'd feed DD1 like that i'd put a pillow behing my back (to make room for bubs legs to go back further) and another one ont he side for a bit of support for my arm, as she got heavy! The other thing I do now if I am feeding one bub int he cradle hold and the other gets hungry is the footy hold with bubs sort of squatting. I put a pillow next to me, and bubs firts betwen pillow and me, but with his feet next to my bum and like he is standing/squatting, rather than laying down, and i support his head. Hard to explain...if it makes no sense i can upload a pic to show you. lol.
lozie - DS1 used to go off my milk a bit for the first day or so when it first started (he was 9months then) but I just kept offering and he got used to it.
kobi'smama
03-07-2009, 19:18
i have my period so im guessing my milk has gone sour, cassie is coming off the breast screaming, any1 have any suggestions? she is only taking one side per feed aswell
Lozie - how old is your bub for your period to come back? Been wondering when mine will come.
Well the LC called up and said she was too sick to come. :hissy: But, I have worse news. I went to bed on Thurs night feeling like total ****, and it was worse yesterday morning. My cracked nipple that refuses to heal on the right breast felt like razor blades was coming out, not milk, when I was feeding on Thursday evening/night. I called the Dr. yesterday morning after waking up and feeling like total and utter death walking and went in expecting a thrush diagnosis. Turns out its mastitis and my nipple is infected. :( But, Im on antibiotics and have cream for my nipple. Also, feeding on the left breast has been much less sore these past few days. :thumbsup: Im hoping once the infection clears up on the right, Ill be as good as new and BF won't be so painful. :fingerscrossed:
Thanks for all the suggestions and encouragement ladies, this thread has been really positive for support. :hugs: Im definitely going to stick it out to 8 weeks.
Anna: The needle like pain is apparently due to the oxcyotcin release after finishing a feed, and can disappear or stick around the entire time of BF. Compared to my other issues, Im not too bothered by it. DS is not yet 4 weeks but doesn't sleep longer then 3.5 hours in one go, and thats usually only once in a 24 hour period. We are still doing 2-3 hourly feeds.
kobismama- cassie is just over 5 weeks!!! i didnt think it was meant to come back when you feed :(
Who is sticking to a rouitine? and how do u break bad habbits??? ours is cluster feeding for 5 hours, last night she cried from 6pm til 1am, on and off. she was fed, would sleep for 15mins to and hr then wake up screaming tried burping her, the only way she would stop crying was on the boob, at 1am i ended up giving her 100mls formula, 1st time. but i am sick and i was ready to scream my df was ready to scream. i figured it was safer than her being awake with us both frustrated. she then slept til 8am. i dont really wanna be giving her formula, but i think it was needed last night! Who tops bubs up with formula? im thinking of doing this last feed when shes unsettled only 50mls or 100mls so its not lots but enough to calm her.
Also what do you do with your unsettled bubs??
Lozie: During DS'S cluster feeding time I was giving him the breast whenever he wanted it, which was pretty much every 30-60mins for up to 5 hours. He wouldnt take much (5 min feeds) and would pull off often and was very fussy and whingy. After getting mastitis, the Dr. says its because I have too much milk, more then he actually needs and I need to space out feeds every 2+ hours. So last night at his usual cluster feeding time, I refused to feed within 2 hours of his last feed. I knew he wasn't hungry, just fussy. First time my Mum took him for a walk in the pram and he fell asleep after 5 mins (I was feverish and sick from mastitis and couldn't do it) and second time I stuck the dummy in his mouth. Both times slept through till his next feeding time.
So, Im using his dummy and walks during the daytime if possible to settle bubs. Im sick of DS treating my nipples as his dummy and causing pain/blocked ducts. I think using formula once in a 24 hour period to get bubs (and yourself!) through cluster feeding time is perfectly fine, Ill probably start doing that at around 8 weeks to get him off always relying on the dummy.
I wasn't going to say anything but I feedl like I need to. I'm a little upset that my post went unnoticed. I've had so many issues and worked so hard to get where i am and no one here said anything :no:
Lilahh I've had lots of days and nights where dd has just wanted to feed all the time - its bloody hard! Just think of it like them putting in their order for the next few days. At night just go to bed and feed lying down if you can - if you cant ask someone to show you - its a life saver.
Lozie no routine here other then a day/night one - no talking or playing at night. It works really well for us.
We still feed 2 to 4 hourly during the day and the night varies from 3 to 7 hours unless we have a feeding marathon and feed all night :rolleyes:
to all those that have mastitis :hugs: its horrible... hope you feel better soon
I wasn't going to say anything but I feedl like I need to. I'm a little upset that my post went unnoticed. I've had so many issues and worked so hard to get where i am and no one here said anything :no:
Im sorry hon.. Im finding it hard to keep up with personals in most threads.. have things improved at all? :hugs:
Yeh thats what my post said...I've managed to get rid top ups (for 8 days now) after giving them for 9 weeks. I got told by so many people once you stop bf its sooo hard to build up your supply again especially if you already had supply issues but I've done it!!
Only problem now is she didn't put on any weight this week but its only been a week so we're going to keep going for a few more weeks before even considering giving top ups again.
She's happier and more content then ever! Its just so strange that she's happier and more alert yet didn't gain weight :no:
Is she still weeing and pooing the same amount? I think sometimes health professionals put a little too much emphasis on amount of weight gained.. I know its important, but it can really stress a new mum out when they are trying their best.
I think its great you have made it to 9 weeks with BF, Im not even at 4 weeks yet and struggling to keep going. I've got issues with oversupply, its like a firehose into the back of poor DS's mouth... :o
Sheer Bliss
04-07-2009, 17:49
Tegan - i'm sorry for not saying anything. I sometimes come accross as a b/f nazi :o so try and be careful about being too positive in regards to not using formula for fear of offending. I comp fed dd1 for a month or so (5-6months) and i know it felt great when we dropped the bottle and went back to fullt b/f. :yelclap: :yelclap: to you.
:iagree: with Lilahh too, don't focus too much on on weight gain, so long as there is no loss, and the other signs are there, just keep doing what you are doing.
I got a total of 2hrs sleep last btween the 2 of them :hair: I was sooo tired, but thankfully dh did lots today and i had a nanna nap. I hope they don't do it again tonight!!
angelsofmine
04-07-2009, 19:31
we are doing better this week after having to use a medication to boost supply because my attempt at comb feeding caused bub to projectile vomit all day... we had to use the med and fengugreek and lac cookies and we are back on track...bub is still vomiting buts its curdled and half the distance
I am so excited that I have got to almost 11 weeks...... third time I am lucky and that's after getting thru shields etc ... but its so hard to keep it up sometimes...i did feed in the mechanics the other day (first time ever in public so feeling good... got the best cover which made me feel great)
to those with mastitis :hugs:and to those struggling :hugs:
Tegan I didn't see your post, so I went back a few pages to read it.
That is fantastic:yelclap:. Sounds like you have been trying really hard, no wonder you wanted some recognition.:hugs:
I have had to comp feed a couple of times with my children. My first bub it lasted 3 months, it can be a tough road to successful breast feeding.
As to weight gain, did bub grow in other ways? Length etc. sometimes they have a plateau, then a huge gain.
Lilahh your supply and let down will settle down. bub will learn to cope with your let down too.
CM, Hope you get some sleep tonight. So I take it they had their growth spurt, or were they just unsettled? Glad you got a nap, today.
Angels of mine, sounds like you are going ok too now. Hope you work out the supply issues, and continue to do so well.
Hi to any one else I may have missed, one handed typing and feeding, at the same time.:laughing:
Hope you are all going well.
Thanks everyone. She didn't grow in length either BUT she spent heaps more time playing and interacting in arms and on the floor and is much happier so I figure she's used her energy that way.
Hooves Her nappy's are always wet and she poo's once a day and its nice and healthy looking :)
Lilahh she's 12 weeks tomorrow :smiliedance: didn't comp till she was just over 2 weeks old
charlis_mum:hugs: I think your amazing! Do you feed both babes fulltime?
angelsofmine - good on you for sticking it through
tegan- you have done an amazing job! im sorry i didnt see your post either! im sorry!:hugs::hugs:
also i expressed tonight and fed cassie my expressed milk instead of formula, and shes asleep! im going to take polaramine now to get rid of this cold, im not aloud to feed for 6 hours,,,, fingers crossed she sleeps! if not formula it is.
im going to feed her every 3 hours as normal, but express every 2 hours to keep my supply going, otherwise im scared ill dry up!
lealea79
04-07-2009, 23:12
i havent read all the posts but thought i would add my little bit...
when i had my bubba 10 weeks ago today, he took the breast straight away, i never had a problem, never got mastitis. liam always attached properly. which i was so proud of... but when i went to his 10 day checkup the dr was a little concerned he wasnt back to his birth weight (liam weight 4.9kg at birth) n we left hospital with him weighing (4.5kg). n then i seen the health nurse the week after and he still wasnt back to 4.9 or higher.. so i went back the next week and to cut a long story short when he was 4 weeks old she told me she supports breastfeeding but because he still wasnt back to his birthweight by then she suggested i supplement his feeds with formular which because she said so i did.. n now kinda regret it, he only has 2 bottles a day n the rest breast.. n sometimes he wont even take the bottle if i try to give it to him because i guess he can smell me.. but argh i wished i hadnt listened n kept on with the breastfeeding because i think by now i would have a higher supply of milk....
lealea :hugs: similar thing happened to me...but back at her birth weight - infact over her birth weight. It still makes me angry and upset to think about it now and she's 12 weeks old. Did you know lc's say your babe is ok as long as they reach birth weight be 6 weeks? Makes me angry that the professionals don't follow this.
How many mls are you giving him a day and how are you doing it?
If your giving two bottles a day - as in 120ml and 120ml for example could you break it up over a day? Say give him 40ml at the end of each feed. Are you expressing? Can you use some of your expressed milk instead of form. for these extra feeds?
Do you feel he needs these bottles? What happens if he doesn't have them? Could you reduce the ammount your giving him say 30ml's after every feed?
Whats his weight gain like now?
Look at this link http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/decrease-formula.html
PM me if you want to chat - it took me 9 weeks to get off supplements but it can be done :hugs:
kobi'smama
05-07-2009, 12:36
Sorry Tegan - I missed your post as well but just went back and found it - thats great news. You deserve a medal for sticking it out. :yelclap:
Well Sofia is 6 weeks old today, and im breastfeeding 100%. I havent tied to FF because I havent had a need to.
I breastfed my first DD for 14 months so its like my boobs knew exactly what to do.
I even feed Sofia in public all the time, in the middle of the shopping centre etc, I cover my boob up so no one can see, but I dont care if people dont like it, my baby needs to eat like everyone else!!
I am loving breastfeeding and will keep doing it for aslong as she wants it.
CM: 2 hours is just cruel. Its almost impossible to function on that little sleep! I think Mums to newborn twins deserve medals! :party:
aom: What does curdled vomit mean? Its been in the tum for awhile? DS usually only spits up curdled milk, I wasn't sure what that meant. :detective: Congrats on making it to 11 weeks hon! :smiliedance:
lealea: good luck getting your supply issues sorted it. its so confusing when you get advice that goes against your instinct and you're not sure who to listen to.
sohappy: congrats on feeding in public! :smiliedance:
AFM, booked in with a new LC after the old one never showed up. The new one is $165 per visit. :eek: Im hoping its worth it. I *think* I might have figured out what is going wrong and causing nipple pain. I didn't realise bub's bottom lip needs to be so much more lower down then the top lip, I knew he needed to take a lot of areola in down the bottom though. Last night I made him take as much as possible down the bottom (IYKWIM) and then just had his top lip covering the very tip of my nipple. Pain level immediately went down, especially on the cracked nipple. In fact, I thought he wasn;t sucking at all because usually sucking = pain.
Also, bub has just started taking both breasts at a feed, before was only taking one. Im a bit confused though: before it was easy to tell when he was done, he would fall asleep or pull off, but most of the time, fall asleep. Usually took about 15mins. Now, if he falls asleep at the first breast, should I wake him up to offer the second? I wasn't doing that before because he NEVER took it, and always would cry being woken up. Also, he seems to be taking around 20mins now on the first breast and then about 5-10 on the second. Does that sound right?
Also, I was thinking we should post in this thread some of our goals for BF, they might be able to keep us motivated to keep going?
So mine are:
- Fully BF until 6 months.
- Start expressing and storing BM from 8 weeks.
- Heal both nipples from all the damage.
- BF in a public place! (As opposed to just the parents room)
- Enjoy breastfeeding.
Hope everyone else is doing well, celebrating your victories. I made it to 4 weeks so far.
lealea did any one mention expressing after each feed, to help build supply? And you can give that expressed milk, instead of formula.
Even though bubs isn't gaining weight to schedule doesn't mean that your supply is low, it could also mean bub is filling up on foremilk, which is not as protein rich as the hind milk. Could that be worth a try, express 5 mins before feeding so bub gets more hind milk?
So happy, glad things are working for you. It is great when both mum and bub have no issues, and it just works. :yelclap:
Lilahh That is great that you have figured out why you were having so much pain. As bub grows, it should get easier too.
As for the feeding questions, that sounds about right to me. As long as bub is alert when awake, and feeding well, and gaining weight, all sounds really good.
My boy sometimes takes, one or both and sometimes he has a lot and other times, not so much.
BF, is starting to work well for me, now. Bub is getting the hang of it. Has been a little frustrating for me at times, because he has issues with attachment. And I know a few strategies, from BF my other children, but they were not working, as far as teaching him, to open his mouth more. LOL
But we are getting there. Was getting a little sore, for a while.
HI to everyone else, hope you are all continuing to be happy breast feeders.
Hows everyone going?
Its been 16 days without any top ups now :smiliedance:
The first week dd didn't put on any weight but the second week she put on 70grams, grew 2cm in length and her head grew 1cm. She's doing on average one good poo a day so I'm no worried but so so happy I pushed through all the sh*t and made it work!!
Sheer Bliss
12-07-2009, 20:42
:yelclap: Well done!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
TBH - those who are first timers, i think stick at it, as it will help you in the future! I used to sorry about supply with DD to the point that i also listened to others and toped her up.
NOW DD2 & DS2 were weighed on thursday....both have gained about 1kg EACH in the last 4weeks - OMFG, I was so amazed and so proud. My booby milk has created 2kg of growth in 4weeks, plus both grew in length and head size! YAY - sorry for the shameless brag!
kobi'smama
13-07-2009, 08:03
Good work guys thats great news!!!:yelclap:
So, question about supply: I let DS feed from one side for no more than 25minutes and then I give him the other side for as long as he wants, usually about 5-15minutes. I have to stop him feeding after 25mins from one side, otherwise he will go for 45minutes+. My boobs are never empty, or even close to empty, I think I have way too much milk? After 25minutes, the milk has changed from foremilk to hindmilk, so I know DS is getting the fatty stuff, but even after 30-35minutes, I can still squirt out so much milk. The breast is never drained. Does this sound right? Should I let him go until he is finished on one side? If I do that, he will never take both breasts at a feed, and one will be totally overfilled and sore until the next feed. :confused:
Jaspat24
14-07-2009, 22:44
Ok so my gorgeous DS put on only 90gms in two weeks, two weeks ago and when i weighed him again today, he'd only put on 20gms in two weeks. I'm beside myself. The child health nurse isn't concerned and the GP isn't too worried cos he looks great and smiles, talks, plays, sleeps etc. But i am so worried. So i rang a LC and got some advice. So i went back to the doc and got a script for Motilium (doperidone) and have started fenugreek again too. I would have thought that with all the expressing i'm doing my supply was fine. but why won't he put on weight? he was 3940gms at birth and now only wieghs 5120gms and is sitting just at the bottom of the 3rd percentile. I've come up with a new plan too. Feed when he wakes and feed before i put him down to sleep and then express. My DH is suggesting formula all the time but even the GP shot him down and said no there's nothing wrong with my milk, i just need a bit more of it maybe.
Also got a referral to the paediatrician to see if it's something more serious.
Lilahh I let my baby and my body, tell me how long to feed for, if one breast is feeling empty, then I swap to the other. I do not just go by the clock.
IT takes a lot longer then 25 minutes for us, to drain one breast. If you are worried about being too full on one side, between feeds, you can still offer, the second breast at the end of feeding the first, and if bub doesn't take it, then you could always just express a bit off, to be comfortable.
To be completely honest though, with all of mine, if they completely take one breast at a feed, and that is all they wanted, then that is what I did. And still do.
My little one, has only just started having both breasts at a feed, and he doesn't always do this. Your supply soon settles to what bubs needs are.
So do what feels right for you, if your breast is not feeling drained let bub feed longer until bub gets fussy at the breast (indicates empty breast) or bub has had enough.
Sometimes I think that learning to breast feed is the hardest thing, but I also think some of the advice we get from the health care proffesionals is too confusing, and is not always correct, for everyone.
Jaspat, I can see why bubs weight gain is worrying you, but I would be guided by the doctor. If bub is alert etc, and has lots of wet nappies, etc then all seems well.
I think trying to boost your supply is a great idea, too.
And seeing a paed, is probably a good idea too.
My Hubby used to always tell me to use formula when I had my first bub, and we were having issues with feeding. We used to fight lots about it, actually. That is because everyone around us, were bottle feeders, and so were our parents, so they had no idea about breast feeding.
I had a great community health nurse, visiting us, who gave me the strength and encouragement to keep on going with the breast feeding, and even though it took us a few months to work it all out, we got there in the end.
AND I am so glad that I did, it is actually one of my proudest moments in life. Because I had to fight damn hard, to achieve it, and I had so many people telling me I was doing the wrong thing.
IT was great to see my daughter thrive, at the end of the day, and prove them all wrong.:laughing:
Lilahh - no advice sorry. Just do what you think is right.
Jaspat :hugs: We seem to be going on the same journey. Ignore your dh re the formula your doing great! Maybe tell him why bf is so important to you and your baby. And why you want to do this. I found once I told my dh why it was so important to me and why I didn't want to go the 'easy' way out with formula he understood and has supported me ever since.
My dd was born 3555 and is now 5070 so very similar - dd's on the 90th for length though! But like your bubs she is happy alert and active.
And I found when I stoped giving her formula top ups she was happiest.
Is bubs growing in other ways? length, head? Did he start talking or being more active and alert therefore using up his energy elsewhere?
SOMEONE has to be on the 3rd percentile - they're just averages. Not many are actually on the 50th - half are over it and half are under it ;)
Two weeks ago dd didn't put on any weight (the same week I stopped topups - which was one reason while we were both adjusting) but that same week she was more happy awake and alert and started talking heaps. Last week she only put on 70grams but grew 2cm in length and her head 1cm.
Its still bloody hard though hey...i was sooo upset when dd didn't put on any weight and it took someone else to say to me what I'm saying to you to make it a bit clearer.
If you mchn and dr aren't worried I wouldn't worry either :hugs:
Jaspat24
15-07-2009, 11:58
AND I am so glad that I did, it is actually one of my proudest moments in life. Because I had to fight damn hard, to achieve it, and I had so many people telling me I was doing the wrong thing.
Hooves: this is how i felt the first time i encountered low supply and managed to get it back up and kick the EBM and formula top ups.
Tegan15: Thanks so much for your support. I'm so stressed its affecting my milk. I spoke to an ABA counsellor today and got some encouragement etc and that's helped heaps. I'm stressing about providing enough milk for him whilst i'm at work and i shouldn't be. I'm only going back 3 days a fortnight and the counsellor said that if there's not enough for him then he'll feed more at night etc. A good friend also said that i just need to be one feed ahead and when i express at work i'll get enough to leave for him for the next time. I'm just concerned that i'll have to leave him 450mls and only express 200mls etc.
But i've decided that if we can get to 6months on breastmilk then if he needs more milk while i'm away he can have a formula feed at daycare. Also for his weight gain now though i saw the Doc yesterday afternoon and have started taking fenugreek and domperidone. Also i'm going to start eating better.
I've started feeding him when he wakes and offering him a top-up breastfeed before he goes to sleep again, then once he's down i'm going to express for 10mins each breast and do this for only the first 2-3 feeds of the day so i don't overdo it. I'm only going to weigh him monthly so i don't get stressed about a number. He is def growing in length cos he's into 00's in grosuits and his head circ was 36 at birth and is now 41.5. He is so active and talkative etc. He spews up a bit but now i'm offering top ups i'm happy that he's getting the opportunity to fill up again after spewing.
Jaspat - how many of the motilium are you taking? If you find its not enough you can take 2, 3 times a day safely.
You sound like your doing everything :yelclap: and you sound as determind as me so you'll do this!!
Don't forget when his 6months he'll be having solids (unless you delaying them) so he'll probably need less bm.
I have the same stresses as you about work but I'm hoping to do family fay care :fingerscrossed: if this doesn't go ahead then I'm f*$#ed as I can't express anywhere near enough - maybe 60ml.
Eat porridge and make lacataion cookies YUM! I also put the flaxseed meal on my porridge. Beer is also ment to be good if you get a chance :laughing:
I was expressing also after feeds but dont' anymore...dd sleeps on me in a wrap so its just too hard to manage...
Jaspat24
15-07-2009, 12:23
Hi Tegan, we're both online at the same time! i'm taking 1 motilium 3x a day and same of fenugreek. I used to have porridge with the flaxseed meal on it then got lazy and just had muesli. started porridge again this morning! Also have light beer occasionally too normally.
I'm stressed about daycare as well. i was trying to book him into family day care too but one lady kept giving me the run around and all the others in my area won't take him just the one day a week or don't have vacancies etc. Now i'm filling in the forms to send him to the centre down the road which is $72 a day :eek: but have no other choice. My darling DH bought me the medela pump in style advanced double breastpump and that's made expressing so much quicker.
I don't want to up the motilium as i don't want to take it in the first place, but hopefully i can work on getting these stress levels down and then my milk will flow more freely!
take 3 fenugreek 3 times a day also if you like.
I'm going to provide fdc. had my interview today just need to modify the house and have a medical and I'm all set!:smiliedance: Then I will be a wahm! Can't wait! It will be hard work but worth it to be home with my dd
That $72 a day - you'll get some of it back. Call up centerlink and ask what you'll actually pay.
AFM - (sorry Jaspat)I'm so so so happy! C put on 210grams this week!! and its all thanks to my boobs :p she also grew another cm. She's about 64cm now!! WOW!! she hasn't gotten her height from me thats for sure
Jaspat24
17-07-2009, 21:47
take 3 fenugreek 3 times a day also if you like.
I'm going to provide fdc. had my interview today just need to modify the house and have a medical and I'm all set!:smiliedance: Then I will be a wahm! Can't wait! It will be hard work but worth it to be home with my dd
That $72 a day - you'll get some of it back. Call up centerlink and ask what you'll actually pay.
AFM - (sorry Jaspat)I'm so so so happy! C put on 210grams this week!! and its all thanks to my boobs :p she also grew another cm. She's about 64cm now!! WOW!! she hasn't gotten her height from me thats for sure
WOW Tegan that's so awesome about Coopa's weight and length growths!!!!! Unfortunately (or some might say fortunately) we will not be eligible for much CCB from centrelink. Cos we're not sure about DH's bonus this year and also my income, it will be easier to claim CCB as a lump sum at the end of the financial year. I really hope you pass the interviews and checks to do family day care, that sounds so awesome! if we lived in same state i'd send DS to you!
I weighed DS today he weighs the same 5120gms. I last weighed him tuesday morning. He did a poo on tues and night and early this morning (before i weighed him) . I've noticed that his nappies are getting heavier too. I saw the GP who delivered him and he said that if DS's weight doesn't improve enough in the next two weeks then he'll delay the 4month needles and we'll have to think about supplements. I said yes. On tues i fed him 9 times, wed and thurs 10x and today so far 10x plus i'm doing a dreamfeed at 10pm so that will be 11x. Also DS has been diagnosed with reflux. He spews and dribbles heaps and i just got the meds this afternoon so hopefully they'll kick in for him and the motilium and fenugreekwill kick in for me. I'm going to just take what the LC said to take for now and see how we go when we see her on monday. I'm still going to feed him as often as i can but i won't wake him to feed cos they grow while they sleep! For those who pray, please pray for us and those who don't pls send us lots of positive thoughts. I'd rather not introduce formula, but i will if he really needs it. Tonight after his 630pm feed he spewed so DH gave him a 60ml EBM top-up.
As an aside i ordered happy babes nappies on monday but still haven't received them. Been in contact with them so i hope i get them early next week cos i ordered 8 of the 1/2 price pockets! and a ring sling.
Can you climb into bed and both get naked with lots of blankets and do skin to skin contact? That will also help if you can.
Remember what ever order he puts in with your boobs will take affect 2 days later.
Sending lots of love and growing vibes your way Jaspat.
kobi'smama
18-07-2009, 18:32
Jas - I hope it all goes well!!! You must be getting very frustrated!
Tegan - Congrats on the Family Day Care - I agree with Jas I would send DS to you if we lived near each other!!! I have been doing the whole day care thing as well Jas and its S**t!!
I went and visited 2 on Friday, I need to put Kobi in for 1 day a week as of Nov. The first centre i went to i felt physically sick when I walked in. It looked new but (i know this is terrible and i apologise) but all the kids in the baby room looked sick and board and just blah! I didnt get a good vibe at all. The second one was a ABC centre, the lady was nice and it looked a little better. There were no babies in so I couldnt pick up a vibe from them unfortunetly.
I have a friend who works in a centre about 25 mins, im going to go and visit it on Tues and if they have a spot im willing to drive that far.
I go back to work next month for one day a week (I will either be working from home or on the road that day) mum will be looking after DS here at home for that day. Then I go back full time in Nov but also doing 2 days from home so he will be with me then, have 2 days with mum and 1 day in daycare.
I think the day i drop him off will be one of the worst days of my life. I was crying yesterday after visiting those centres. :crying:
As for our Breast situation at the moment, i had another blocked duct today. Man when it hits you it really does quick! I felt a small lump this morning in the shower, then DH and I went to the movies and DS stayed with mum so I missed a feed and he had EBM. In the movies i could feel them engourging. By the time we got home i raced to the pump and expressed 140mls out of one breast. The lump was massive, i had the flu like symptoms and generally felt like poo.
DS and I had a bath and once he was out i kept a hot washer on the lump and just kept massaging it, the pain was excrutiating and as soon as i would push on it milk would spurt out so i knew i was getting there slowly.
But after another feed off it and a cold compress the lump has gone but still very painful.
Its always the same breast, the one i have the most milk in.
DS refused the bottle last night (EBM) we were at my parents and I wanted to use up some milk i had frozen there. I had to top him up, this morning he did the same thing. I was really worried as he hasnt ever refused it before and with me returning to work its pretty crucial. But Mum went and bought new bottles and while we were at the movies I got a text saying he was loving the new bottle. Wierd that he can go from being fine on one type since he was little (Happy Baby) then now totally not take it. Mum got the Tommee Tippee ones that are meant to be close to the breast as possible... I was sitting in the movies waiting for the text to come home if he refused it again.
We have to stick to giving him EBM once a day so he is good on the bottle for when i go back to work, its just a pain because although DH loves feeding him i still have to xpress after.
What a long post! Sorry ladies.
Hope you are having a good weekend
Jaspat24
19-07-2009, 14:03
Kobismama: did your DS only refuse the bottle when you were giving it to him? cos some mums at my mums group have the same thing. Theycan't even be in the same room cos their bubs know mum and her boobies are there and they are getting milk out of silicone, not mum, then they refuse. But if others give the bottle, then bubs drink!
kobi'smama
19-07-2009, 17:02
Kobismama: did your DS only refuse the bottle when you were giving it to him? cos some mums at my mums group have the same thing. Theycan't even be in the same room cos their bubs know mum and her boobies are there and they are getting milk out of silicone, not mum, then they refuse. But if others give the bottle, then bubs drink!
No he was doing it when my mum and DH were giving it to him. Im hopeless at giving him the bottle, i dont know what it is but i cant do it..:laughing:
Ive got some milk warming in water now and DH is going to give him one of the new bottles that he ended up taking so :fingerscrossed:
Jaspat - my happy babes orders always take a bit longer than some of the other companies. Always worth the wait, but sometimes around 10 working days for me!
Jaspat24
19-07-2009, 21:52
Jaspat - my happy babes orders always take a bit longer than some of the other companies. Always worth the wait, but sometimes around 10 working days for me!
That sucks! WA = Wait Awhile. its a bit annoying cos i originally ordered them express post but they accidentally sent them with their courier. I got a refund on the postage though.
We use the tommee tippee bottles too (rarely) and DS takes to them and breast easily. He gets a bottle (EBM) about once a fortnight.
Kobi's Mama: Hope the lump clears up. It strikes like lightening doesn't it?? :hugs::hugs: Sounds like you are doing all the right things to shift it.
Im BF, and enjoying it. Good attachement after a few bad days of trying in hospital.
I hate the night feeds though. She feeds okay, but then trying to get her back to sleep is almost impossible. Its tempting to give up BF on bad nights when your up for 3 hours because she doesnt want to sleep.
I was worried Jessica wasnt getting enough milk, so asked the nurse yesterday at the ECHC and she said her wait gain was good. She would have been happy with 150g for the fortnight. Jessica put on 650g and a whole .3cm in length.
Glad to see so many people are BF, its great to have others to talk to.
kobi'smama
28-07-2009, 16:38
Just wondering if those of you that have topped up with formula previously can recommend any?
DS doesnt have colic or reflux so dont have to worry about that. Preferably one that comes in sachets so i dont have to waste a whole tin for a few feeds here and there.
Im trying to build up my supply and have been xpressing but I go back to work next month and fear that im not going to have enough milk saved up. Also heading to Syd next week as my GF is ill and dont know how often im going to be able to express then.
Why does everything have to be so hard? :no:
KittenKelly
29-07-2009, 03:42
I have to top up after every feed :hair: and I use Nan HA. It was recommended by a lactation consultant as being the most gentle on bubs tummy and easiest to digest. My bub has had no adverse reactions. It does however seem to be the most expensive formula. I'm unsure if it is available in sachets
just wondering if anyone can tell me what the tablets are called to increase your supply?? Im going to the Drs at 12:40 and wondering if anyone can tell me please?
LittleBug'sMum
31-07-2009, 14:46
Lozie - I think I'm too late for you, but they're called Motilium (brand name) or domperidone (generic name).:)
thanks anna,
the dr wouldnt give my anything. so im going to a different dr tomorrow,,,, she told me to put her on formula! not going back to her again, no that there is anything wrong with formula but i dont want her on formula yet
KittenKelly
01-08-2009, 02:44
What a crap Dr!
It's so hard to find a good GP these days
thanks anna,
the dr wouldnt give my anything. so im going to a different dr tomorrow,,,, she told me to put her on formula! not going back to her again, no that there is anything wrong with formula but i dont want her on formula yet
argh I just did a reply and bh stuffed up!!
WTF?? Thats terrible...I'd put a complaint in
did the dr give you any other advice on how to increase your supply?
Have you tried fenugreek?
Why do you feel like you need motilium?
cassie isnt swallowing half as much as she use to, she is cranky in the evening more than usual. when i express at night i get less than 10mls, and in the mornings i can only get 30mls left side and 50mls right side.
she told me to eat 5 serves dairy and drink 4.5 - 5 liters of water a day.
Im just going to find a new GP as i have also been on the mini pill for 6 weeks and have had my girlies 3 times which she said is nothing to worry about, b4 i had cassie i was once a month.
Lozie: Good luck increasing your supply hon. Not sure about the dairy comment, Im lactose intolerant and eat no dairy and so far havent had supply problems. I agree with drinking a fair bit of water though. Have you been demand feeding Cassie or limiting her feeds? Maybe it is because of the pill. Im going back on the pill as of Monday, Ill let you know if it affects my supply.
Sheer Bliss
02-08-2009, 08:20
lozie - :hugs: what a horrid dr!!!
Have you tried fenugreek and the lactation cookies? The cookies are soooo yummy, DH and hte kids always eat half! Porridge for brekkie is also good to boost supply.
the BIGGEST part of increasing supply is confidence too!! You are doing so well, and you Can increase your supply with lots of cuddles (from bub, Dh or other kids - just lots of skin on skin contact will help with the hormones).
I'd try drinking lots of water (but 5L is excessive!) I don't drink that much water feediing 2 babies - maybe 2.5L per day? I dunno, i jus drink when i am thirsty and after I have fed the bubs. Don't go over the top on dairy....it can upset bubs tummy and make them drink less, and it can also cause sleeplessness in bubs.
With expressing 80mL...that is not a small amount. Bubs will get more from your body than a pump can - so bubs is getting more than that. I can express 100mL from both breasts in the morning, and about 60-80mL in the evening (but remember - I am feeding 2 babies!!) so that's 100mL each, when they had a bottle of EBM the other day, DS drank almost 120mL and DD 105mL - so that was pretty good IMO. They will usually like to drink more from the bottle than they take from the breast as the bottle is easy. My babies would always take much more from the bottle and then puke heaps of it up because they were so full.
My supply is lower of an evening if I didn't have enough rest in the day, so try and take it easy (where you can) and remember that babies can be unsettled of an evening even if they are getting loads of milk. I gave bubs some formula the other night, as I was desperate for a break and didn't have enough EBM. DS behaved exactly the same, after having 110mL of formula (he wouldn't take anymore) and he was cranky, cried and wanting to be held. It's easy to blame milk supply, but i knwo in our case, that is not the issue.
lozie - :hugs: what a horrid dr!!!
Have you tried fenugreek and the lactation cookies? The cookies are soooo yummy, DH and hte kids always eat half! Porridge for brekkie is also good to boost supply.
the BIGGEST part of increasing supply is confidence too!! You are doing so well, and you Can increase your supply with lots of cuddles (from bub, Dh or other kids - just lots of skin on skin contact will help with the hormones).
I'd try drinking lots of water (but 5L is excessive!) I don't drink that much water feediing 2 babies - maybe 2.5L per day? I dunno, i jus drink when i am thirsty and after I have fed the bubs. Don't go over the top on dairy....it can upset bubs tummy and make them drink less, and it can also cause sleeplessness in bubs.
With expressing 80mL...that is not a small amount. Bubs will get more from your body than a pump can - so bubs is getting more than that. I can express 100mL from both breasts in the morning, and about 60-80mL in the evening (but remember - I am feeding 2 babies!!) so that's 100mL each, when they had a bottle of EBM the other day, DS drank almost 120mL and DD 105mL - so that was pretty good IMO. They will usually like to drink more from the bottle than they take from the breast as the bottle is easy. My babies would always take much more from the bottle and then puke heaps of it up because they were so full.
My supply is lower of an evening if I didn't have enough rest in the day, so try and take it easy (where you can) and remember that babies can be unsettled of an evening even if they are getting loads of milk. I gave bubs some formula the other night, as I was desperate for a break and didn't have enough EBM. DS behaved exactly the same, after having 110mL of formula (he wouldn't take anymore) and he was cranky, cried and wanting to be held. It's easy to blame milk supply, but i knwo in our case, that is not the issue.
:iagree: I could have written the me thing myself - except for the twins thing....I gave dd a bottle last night and she still wanted me...the bottle made no difference at all...she drank 110ml and didn't want anymore but still wanted to suck on me. This morning we've both woken up with a terrible cold which explains it all :(
Jaspat24
02-08-2009, 22:01
LOZIE: i agree wholeheartedly with TEGAN and CHARLIS_MUM. go to a different GP, call the ABA and ask for contact details for your local group counsellors. They will know of a lactation friendly GP in your area that you can see. It sounds as though the GP you saw isn't as supportive as others of breastfeeding. Eat porridge for breakfast with banana and golden syrup (YUMMY!) and try to eat 2-3 serves of protein a day. Eat good fats like eggs, nuts, avocado and tuna etc. drink 2-3L. Get heaps of rest. If you can, have a 2-3day nursing vacation where you stay home, preferrably in your pj's and feed in bed with lots of skin to skin contact and just believe that you can do it, cos i believe that you can do it. The drug is motilium and the herb is fenugreek. Check out kellymom.com and breastfeedingonline.com (sorry don't knwo how to link). Check out jack newman's articles/handouts. they are very informative etc. AND pls post up and let us know how you're going. also, like lilahh i'm lactose intolerant too. maybe the GP said to have dairy cos of the fat in it? just get fats out of other foods i mentioned above.
I'm still struggling myself, especially this last week. how often do you feed bubs? tegan and i do feed, play, feed, sleep.basically just offering bubs a BF top-up feed before bed. This is something they don't tell you but itcan work really well.
Jaspat24
02-08-2009, 22:11
cassie isnt swallowing half as much as she use to, she is cranky in the evening more than usual. when i express at night i get less than 10mls, and in the mornings i can only get 30mls left side and 50mls right side.
she told me to eat 5 serves dairy and drink 4.5 - 5 liters of water a day.
Im just going to find a new GP as i have also been on the mini pill for 6 weeks and have had my girlies 3 times which she said is nothing to worry about, b4 i had cassie i was once a month.
i know i just posted but wanted to ask why you express?
i was running myself ragged expressing after every single feed to offer him EBM top-ups to boost his weight and was so stressed etc that even though i'm taking the meds/herbs etc, i felt my supply was getting lower. i was sitting there on thursday with my double pump going and i just said out loud to myself, "i've had enough, i don't want to do this anymore". So i rang my LC and told her and we came up with a plan that will give my DS as much breastmilk as i can give (physically, emotionally and mentally) and also some formula to boost his weight. I saw another LC on Friday too just for a 2nd opinion and she agreed that the plan was the best in our situation. I'm still not 100% happy and feel guilty etc, but if i continued the way i was going then he'd get less breastmilk. I breastfeed during the day and DS gets a dreamfeed of formula which DH gives. In time (very short time) i hope to BF and then formula topup his dreamfeed.
thanks for the support every1! im feeding cassie every 4 hours, i was feeding every 3 hours but she wasnt waking for the feeds, all she was doing was sleeping!im expressing so i can store some if we go out for a night or whatever,,, doubt we will but you never know! i have mummys group tomorrow so i will weigh her if she hasnt put on weight im going to demand the tablets,,, what are these lactation cookies?? recipe please!!
will let you all know how i go tomorrow!
lucysummers
03-08-2009, 17:26
:wave: girls...hoping I can join you.
I am 5 weeks and 1 day into my BF journey with our DD. I FF DS due to medical reasons but have managed to feed DD which I was really pleased with. I never knew it would be so hard though. It is without doubt the hardest thing I have done in my life and I am so proud of myself (as we all should be) for being able to do it even for the length of time managed already.
No one tells you in advance how hard it will be. I am fortunate to the extent that I haven't had cracked nipples or mastitis yet but have had VERY sore nipples with DD wanting to be on me for hours at a time.
We currently have our nights which is AMAZING...I give a bottle of EBM (125ml) plus she then wants a good feed from me and she then sleeps till 6.30/7 (from around 11pm)...yay! But the days are hard....she has a really good feed when she wakes and seems to have settled into having 2 hours from waking up before settling quite well to sleep for anything up to 3 hours....but once she wakes from her morning sleep the rest of the day if she's awake she wants to be feeding or is screaming cos she's fighting going back to sleep which I am finding knackering.....it's so hard cos a lot of the time if someone else cuddles her she's happy but I get no happy time from her unless she's feeding...and then she fusses and falls asleep...makes me feel really alone sometimes and that she only wants me for one thing.
Sorry girls.....I've ranted a bit on my first post but having read the whole thread you all seem like such a lovely supportive group of girls...hopefully I'll be able to support you all too.
My aim is to get to at least 3 months with exclusive BF (including EBM).....
LittleBug'sMum
04-08-2009, 08:01
Hi Lucysummers! :wave: Congratulations on successful breastfeeding so far! I also was surprised by how difficult and physically demanding breastfeeding is!
Try not to worry that bub wont settle with you, it is just because she can smell the lovely milk smell everytime you hold her, its like walking into the house and smelling a roast chicken, you'd suddenly want something to eat too! The only way I can hold DS is with his head over my shoulder :yes:, so he can't smell me! He does give me lovely cuddles immediately after he has had a feed though, and has just started to kind of stroke my breast/ pull at my clothes when he is feeding:D.
You are doing well to get such a good sleep, the best my DS does is 6 hours at a time overnight, and I am soooo happy with that :smiliedance:.
Good on you for aiming to get to 3 months with breastfeeding, I am just there and it just keeps getting easier and easier. The sore nipples will settle down (I think they seem to toughen up a bit).
Hi everyone else :wave: - well done, I think we all have come a really long way since the start of this thread, it is great to read about other people's BFing journey, as we often all have very similar problems!
Lozie - the lactation boosting cookies recipe is a sticky in the breastfeeding thread, I will try to post you a link... http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=29207
kobi'smama
05-08-2009, 07:53
Welcome to the new ladies and I hope everyone's BF probs are easing up.
Just wanted to share my 'moment' i had last night.
I had bought some of the S26 gold popper type formula as I go back to work one day a week as of Thursday then full time in Nov, im furiously expressing but dont think i am going to be able to keep up with him. So decided that in emergencies where I just dont have enough EBM in freezer he can have formula but though i better try him first instead of leaving him with mum and he not take it.
I bought the popper (looks like a fruit juice box) as I didnt want to buy a tin and it go off cause we hopefully wont be using it very much.
It didnt say to heat it up on the box and me being nieve didnt as it was room temp. (now knowing should of heated it up). he took about 100ml then told DH to p**s off and give him mama's boobie! I guess 100ml is ok as it was his first time.
But back to my moment, when he first started to drink it i felt so sad, kind of like my little boy didnt need me anymore. Silly i know. But made me feel sad. But i picked up when he wanted the boob :laughing:
Catch 22 - I love the feeling of him needing me but then I also need him to be able to take formula. argghhh:crying:
lucysummers
06-08-2009, 11:07
Kobi'smama...what a hard situation.....I'm with you in you wanting/needing to change but also with the him wanting you too!! He took some which is great and he'll adjust....as long as he knows he'll get you at times!! Were you in the room at the same time as he tried to have the formula? Does he take EBM OK from the bottle or have you not tried yet? If not then try and get him used to taking EBM from the bottle so he gets used to the bottle and then switch it to the formula.
Anna - thanks for your comments. I know she is only on me cos she LURVES the milk but it is draining at times.
Lozie - how did you get on yesterday?
jaspat - hope you're doing Ok now on your new way of feeding. All sounds good to me, DH gets to do a feed which will be nice bonding time for him and you can be happier knowing that bubs is getting enough.
Tegan - hope the cold is better :hugs:
AFM - shocker of a day yesterday - Abi was awake from 6.30am to 8.30pm :banghead: She'd go to sleep on me but then as soon as I tried to put her down she'd scream blue murder! It was hard as had DS at home yesterday so couldn't just cuddle with her to get her a sleep...my plan if needed today whilst DS in Kindy!! She finally crashed at 9pm and slept till 7.30 this morning!! I was EXHAUSTED!!! Hopefully today will be a bit better. She's currently fighting sleep in her cot but it keeps going quiet so I'm going to leave her a bit longer and hopefully she'll settle herself!!
Hope you are all doing well and hi to everyone else :flowerz:
ive just come on for a rant!
I have been saying for about 2 weeks i thought i was loosing my supply and NO1 would listen to me, i went and got cassie weighed today... she has lost! only 75 grams but still... Im so ****ed off i have been saying to the dr and health nurse but they didn't listen,,,
ive been told to feed her every 3 hours, and express after the feeds,, then on monday start to take Fenugreek, im going to get it today and start taking it right away! and im going to make the lactation cookies tomorrow,,, how many a day are u meant to eat?
sorry i just hate that they didn't listen to me
lozie :hugs: you must feel so angry and upset! You can take 3 fenugreek 3 times a day - go to chemist wear house if you can and get the natures own brand - its stronger and cheaper then the health food shop one.
Feed more often if babe wants it - get in bed and have skin to skin and let your babe feed when they want. Have a bath together and feed.
And like you said your going to do - express after feeds - don't worry if you can't get anything its more about the stimulation. Give what ever you do express to babe the next feed.
Eat as many lactaion cookies as you like - they're YUMMO!! Its the brewers yeast that make them work - so make sure you put lots of that in it.
Eat porridge for breakfast to if you can. I put flaxseed meal on mine - its also in the cookies
Feel free to PM if you need/want anymore help.
lucysummers
06-08-2009, 18:24
:hugs: lozie.......try not to worry...great advice from Tegan.....i know it's hard but try to focus on other things as well....is she pooing/weeing etc / alert when awake / good colour......all reassuring signs.
check in and let us know how you're going...will be thinkin of you :hugs:
Jaspat24
06-08-2009, 19:50
lozie :hugs: you must feel so angry and upset! You can take 3 fenugreek 3 times a day - go to chemist wear house if you can and get the natures own brand - its stronger and cheaper then the health food shop one.
Feed more often if babe wants it - get in bed and have skin to skin and let your babe feed when they want. Have a bath together and feed.
And like you said your going to do - express after feeds - don't worry if you can't get anything its more about the stimulation. Give what ever you do express to babe the next feed.
Eat as many lactaion cookies as you like - they're YUMMO!! Its the brewers yeast that make them work - so make sure you put lots of that in it.
Eat porridge for breakfast to if you can. I put flaxseed meal on mine - its also in the cookies
Feel free to PM if you need/want anymore help.
:hugs::hugs: :iagree:
See mother's know when something doesn't add up. Take fenugreek straight away and can you ask for a script of domperidone? Try as hard as you can to get domperidone cos it works wonders. Get in bed and feed, feed, feed. Get heaps of rest drink heaps of water etc etc etc. Try to relax though and not stress too much. Offer Cassie a feed when she wakes and again before you put her to bed ie feed, play, feed, sleep. Let her sleep when she wants but i wouldn't let her go more than 3hrs during the day without a feed. remember that sleeping is how they put weight on and grow too. Call the ABA and get in touch with your local group counsellor -mines so awesome. sleep with her at night, this stimluates prolactin production which is responsible for milk production. PLEASE PM TEGAN (or myself, though tegan's better) if you have ANY concerns. FEED FEED FEED
kobi'smama
06-08-2009, 21:55
Lozie hope your supply picks up- tegan and jas have great advice!
Lucy, ds has ebm all the time and he is great on it. Did u manage to get any rest?
Tegan- how's the cold?
Jas - feeding going ok?
As for us we r on route to syd, kobi has been so good in the car, we r with mum and dad. Miss dh heaps. Our only issue is ds hasn't pooed for 2 days, longest he has Eva gone, I'm thinking it cause I introduced carrots- any suggestions? And is this ok for a bf baby?
Jaspat24
06-08-2009, 22:54
Hi Kobismama: yes everything going really well! DS put on 170gms this week to monday! am so happy! i still feel bad about the formula, but its only 150mls extra at 10pm, so its really only to boost his weight. He's still waking for feeds twice a night after that too. If he was 'normal' weight i would consider trying to settle him back to sleep, but its easy enough to just bring him into bed with me and let him feed. had a really bad reaction (nausea and diarrhoea from 11am-3pm each day) to taking so much fenugreek so often so have ceased that which should be ok as long as i keep the breast stimulation up.
Good luck on your car trip; stay safe!
How can you tell if you are losing your supply?
fak (feeding at keyboard)
jaspat :smiliedance: i'm so happy for you both!!
Lea - MOST people's supply's dont drop if they are feeding regularly and babe has good attachment. Usually when mums think their supplys have dropped its because babes going through a growth spurt and is feeding for longer/more often and babe is just talking to your boobs telling them what they need in the next few days (it takes 2 days for your boobs to deliver the milk order)
Do you feel your supply is dropping? Why?
lucysummers had great advice on what else to look at "try not to worry...great advice from Tegan.....i know it's hard but try to focus on other things as well....is she pooing/weeing etc / alert when awake / good colour......all reassuring signs"
Jaspat24
08-08-2009, 11:32
Lea - MOST people's supply's dont drop if they are feeding regularly and babe has good attachment. Usually when mums think their supplys have dropped its because babes going through a growth spurt and is feeding for longer/more often and babe is just talking to your boobs telling them what they need in the next few days (it takes 2 days for your boobs to deliver the milk order)
Do you feel your supply is dropping? Why?
lucysummers had great advice on what else to look at "try not to worry...great advice from Tegan.....i know it's hard but try to focus on other things as well....is she pooing/weeing etc / alert when awake / good colour......all reassuring signs"
:iagree:Although in one of Jack Newmans articles on Domperidone, he mentions the need for taking it due to an unexplained drop in the mothers milk supply around the 3-4month mark. i think this could be attributed to hormones, baby groth factors and mum's having more energy to do more physically (housework, paid employment, exercise).
I just wanted to say a big massive thanks to every1 in here. i was so angry and down the other day but im feeling so good now! im taking my fenugreek capsules and im eating my cookies. and just feeling really positive! im going to get my supply back up and going cassie is going to be putting weight on, if she doesn't i wont let it get me down and i will breast feed for at least 6 months! thats my goal! im just worried about teeth and feeding... OUCH!!
So a BIG MASSIVE thank-u to you girls!
well cassie was weighed again today, she has put on 50grams in 5 days :( i guess its better than nothing!
I need some advice though... the health nurse has said to start giving her top ups at the 6.30 or 7pm feed. then she has said to wake her at 11pm and feed her again... cassie has been sleeping through the night for 5 weeks, 7pm til 7am. i dont really wanna start waking her at 11pm, what do you all think? will she get use to being fed at 11pm and keep wanting it? i got to bed around 8.30 so ill have to set an alarm. im just not sure if i should or not? she has also said to express after each feed, its hurting!
Anyways advice will be great! time to feed!
well cassie was weighed again today, she has put on 50grams in 5 days :( i guess its better than nothing!
I need some advice though... the health nurse has said to start giving her top ups at the 6.30 or 7pm feed. then she has said to wake her at 11pm and feed her again... cassie has been sleeping through the night for 5 weeks, 7pm til 7am. i dont really wanna start waking her at 11pm, what do you all think? will she get use to being fed at 11pm and keep wanting it? i got to bed around 8.30 so ill have to set an alarm. im just not sure if i should or not? she has also said to express after each feed, its hurting!
Does she look malnourished? Is she happy?
Just going by your post, I would not be offering top ups. It is normal for weight gain to slow down and is not a sign of her not getting enough at all. So many health nurses give out the wrong advice to mothers and put too much emphasis on weight gain. Just keep offering the breast all day everyday... Express regularly (even just twiddling your nipples or expressing with your hand is ok, it's the stimulation that is needed not just the extraction of milk), take fenugreek, eat lots of protein.
Unless she is not looking well, I would not be offering anything except the breast (not even EBM).
lucysummers
11-08-2009, 12:54
Hi Lozie - been thinking about you....:yelclap: she gained weight...it is a gain.....focus on that. With Abi we do the bath and bed at 7pm. I do then give her a bottle of EBM at 10.30/11...currently about 6oz. If I can then I dreamfeed it to her...easier with the bottle cos once it's in she doesn't need to work hard to drink it down. I am hoping that as I can dreamfeed it to her we'll gradually reduce it and end up on 7-7 and she won't have the habit of waking for the feed. A pain if you go to bed early but it only takes about 20 minutes...do you struggle to get back to sleep?
With expressing I have found 2 things help...a warm wheat bag whilst expressing or double tagging.....having DD in football hold on one boob and expressing from the other :laughing:...took a good few times to get the hang of it as have never really been a fan of the football hold but we've got there and it flows LOADS better when I do it this way....also finding the best time of day....my expressing is always best at around 1-2pm, and always worst at around 6pm.
Hope that all helps and let us know how you get on.
jaspat - hope you're feeling better.
kobi'smama - how are you going? We worried the other day as Abi had gone almost 24 hours without a poo but she's settled back to normal again.....they do say only to worry if they go 3 days without going.
Tegan - How are you?
Lea - how are you feeling? Do you think your supply is OK now?
AFM - all going a bit better - Abi has settled herself to sleep the last 2 days which is AMAZING!!! Made me more human having a break each day!
Anyway enough :ecomcity: from me.....hi to all.
lucysummers
11-08-2009, 12:57
I do then give her a bottle of EBM at 10.30/11...currently about 6oz. If I can then I dreamfeed it to her...easier with the bottle cos once it's in she doesn't need to work hard to drink it down.
Meant to also say that Abi has never had problem going from bottle back to breast...in fact when we didn't dreamfeed her she always wanted a bit of me as well after....think she just wanted to check it was still there :laughing:
Just to be aware...not sure if you've done bottles yet so whether you know if she will be OK going between bottle and breast.
maplewattle
11-08-2009, 13:09
Lozie, just started reading this thread. I have had the same problems you're having. DS only gained 20 grams one week and nothing the week before. (This was around 6weeks). So ECN told me I had to start topping up with formula and I cried and cried thinking what a useless Mommy I was. She also recommended the Domperidone.
I think my supply problem is hormone related (PCO).
Anyway, got over that and started topping up and got the script for Domperidone. It really works. I actually found my breasts felt very full in the morning and they sometimes leaked! All new to me. I think the cookies and the fenugreek are great. What really worked for me though was the Domperidone. I'd suggest giving it a go.
Also, my GP went to a conference and spoke to a lactation specialist about me and he recommended waking up to do a 3am feed as this apparently really gets your prolactin going. I am still struggling whether or not to do that though as DS sleeps from 11 through til 7am. At the end of the day it's whatever is best for your baby. I felt a lot better seeing DS gain weight and getting pudgy!
Good luck with it, you're not alone!! :)
How is she apart from weight gain? And thats only ONE weight gain period. How's she been the rest of the time? How many wet nappies does she have?
If you can avoid top ups I would - every 50mls you give her is 50mls less you need to produce and its bloody hard work getting rid of those top ups once you start!
If you feel you should express choose a time that suits you - maybe once a day? Maybe twice a day? You decide what will work for YOU.
7pm to 7am is a long time for a little babe not to have any feeds and a long time for you to not bf....I'd either do a dream feed or express at some time inbetween that - its HARD!
If you express you can use that milk as a top up the next day :)
Sheer Bliss
11-08-2009, 15:51
I don't get the twins weighed weekly because it can vary so much, the timing of one feed or a dirty nappy can make you doubt yourself.
Here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=277343) is a thread I did a few days ago - please don't base your decisions about b/f on weight gain alone. My bubs were both weighed again today....DS is now 700g heavier than his twin sis, and she was 100g heavier than him at birth.
Lozie: Last week Lincoln only gained 50 grams in 6 days. Then, he gained 220 grams in the next 7 days. I agree with the OPs, dont stress too much about weight gain. Is she growing in length as well?
Hope everyone else is doing well.
kobi'smama
11-08-2009, 20:01
Lucy - we are going good except tomorrow it has been 4 days between poo's - im getting worried!!!
Thats very talented of you to feed and xpress at the same time. !!
Guys hope everyone who is having weight issues are going okay.
I havnt had ds weighed in about 3 weeks, slack i know. we were meant to go today but ran out of time, will go next tuesday.
lucysummers
11-08-2009, 20:54
Lucy - we are going good except tomorrow it has been 4 days between poo's - im getting worried!!!
Thats very talented of you to feed and xpress at the same time. !!.
If he hasn't been tomorrow I would go and get it checked out...does he seem to be in pain at all or pushing to try and get anything out?
The whole feeding and expressing has taken practice!!!!!!!
Hi everyone.
Good to see you are all still going with the bf.
WE are going great guns. Bub is just starting to really get chubby. So something must be going right. LOL
I have noticed someone is having trouble with weight gain, be guided by what you think is best. If you want to give the top ups a go, try that. But I would be going by bub, if bub is settled, and not screaming for a feed all the time, alert, plenty of wet nappies, growing, etc. Then she is probably fine. The weight gain is only a guide. And some babies do not gain huge amounts.
Like cm said, it can all depend on one wet nappy. Or the last time you fed them.
Someone else was having a problem with a baby pooing??
My second child, only pooed every 7 days, from 2 months onwards. It was a worry, but the nurse and the doctor both told me, it is normal for a breastfed baby to poo anywhere up to once every 10 days.
BUT when they go, OMG, they really go. You will not believe the amount of poo they hold on to. And as long as the poo is soft, it is fine.
My son, used to poo so much, it would fill two nappies, I got to the point with him, that when I knew he was doing a poo, I would take his nappy off and put a towel under him.
he did sceam a bit though. And about day 5 he would get an awful belly ache, and would fart a lot. (I used to always say to my hubby, there is nothing normal about this) BUT apparently it is normal in some babies.:(
Jaspat24
12-08-2009, 14:32
Hi girls, DS gained 190gms this week and my LC said to start dropping back formula top ups after his 930pm BF!!!! i was going to keep him on the formula til the end of the tin and that will bring us close to starting solids.
lucysummers
12-08-2009, 23:27
Hi girls, DS gained 190gms this week and my LC said to start dropping back formula top ups after his 930pm BF!!!! i was going to keep him on the formula til the end of the tin and that will bring us close to starting solids.
:smiliedance: That's great news
Hooves - good to hear all going well with you
Hope all well with everyone else...off to dreamfeed and then sleep...zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
fak
:smiliedance: so happy for you!!!!
:smiliedance: Well done!!
Jaspat24 thats great news well done!
Jaspat24
13-08-2009, 17:39
Thanks girls! why is that when they don't settle after you've fed them that you start to doubt your supply? He just would not settle and i gave in and gave 100mls formula so of course then he settled. I spoke to DH at work after that and he said that last night it took DS a whole hour to drink the 150ml formula top up. So then i thought that if it took that long (and stupid DH just kept giving it to him; i was back in bed) then he mustn't really have needed it. Then he doesn't need the formula i just gave him too. He was just being a fussy s***. also i'm taking 2 domperidone 3x a day, but my script is only for 1 tablet 3x a day and i'm running out. Should i just tell the GP i've been taking more and ask for more? also, getting a little anxious about daycare; i go back to work next week.
Lozie2: what have you come up with? are you going to give formula top ups?
kobi'smama
13-08-2009, 19:49
Thanks guys for pooing advice he finally went yesterday which was the 4th day and it was a big one!
That's great news jas! I know how your feeling. I worked today And I swear ds has been acting wierd to me since I got home- we also decided what daycare he is going to so got to enrol tomorrow . All scary stuff!
Ds had a wierd day today with mum and even with me this arvo. We think he is teething he is sucking and chewing his hand furriously 24/7. If u put you finger in his mouth he rubs his gums on it hard. Dribbles nonstop- anyone else having this?
lucysummers
13-08-2009, 23:25
Thanks guys for pooing advice he finally went yesterday which was the 4th day and it was a big one!
Ds had a wierd day today with mum and even with me this arvo. We think he is teething he is sucking and chewing his hand furriously 24/7. If u put you finger in his mouth he rubs his gums on it hard. Dribbles nonstop- anyone else having this?
yay for poo!!!!!:laughing: Sure he feels a lot better now!!!...and sounds like you may have teeth on the way!!.....mind you DS started all of that and although it was 'teething' it was more just that they were starting to move in the gums....they didn't actually pop through for a while.
jaspat - why are you taking more than the GP advised? I don't know much about the meds but you don't want to run out...is it a repeat script he gave you? I would try and have a chat with them and get another script. Try not to worry about daycare - am sure he will be fine....anticipate him to be a bit funny with you the first few days...DS was like that with me and it sounds like kobis mama has had the same...these babies know how to make us feel guilty!!:no:
AFM - DD decided to start her day at 5.15 this morning.....I went in in the dark and fed her but she was BRIGHT eyed, even in the pitch dark so by 6.45 I gave in and got her dressed to officially start her day! She was back to sleep at 8 through to 10 but try as I might I couldn't get back to sleep :rolleyes: I've started taking fenugreek today and am topping up the freezer with more EBM for my birthday next month...not planning on going crazy but want to know I have more than enough milk in the freezer to cover the evening, night and morning after so I don't pass it to her!
Hope all are well :flowerz:
Jaspat24
14-08-2009, 12:07
That's great news jas! I know how your feeling. I worked today And I swear ds has been acting wierd to me since I got home- we also decided what daycare he is going to so got to enrol tomorrow . All scary stuff!
Glad he pooed! yes William is dribbling nonstop an never has his hands out of his mouth. its been going on for awhile though at home i double bib and sometimes triple bib him. When we go out i have PVC backed bibs (silly billyz) that last about 2-3 hours. they are great, $10 each though, but worth it. Also DS has a small white nobbly thing sitting just behind his lower front gums.
Jaspat24
14-08-2009, 12:12
Lucysummers: i'm taking more than the script says due to research etc. I was taking fenugreek too but it gave me bad nausea and diarrhoea. its not a repeat script so i will have to ask him for more etc. I tried to express today and only got 10mls out of both breasts. I think its psychological though due to the many many many times i've had to sit and express in the past. I really think my time is up with BF; i can't shake the feeling that my milk is simply running out. I'm trying not to focus on the small amount i expressed and go on his wet nappies and his ability to settle etc. I'm just hanging in there waiting til he starts solids so that hopefully once he's eating then it'll be enough for him. am also so over this weight. i'm 106kgs. I was 86 kgs pre pregnancy and went up to 117kgs just before i had DS. i'm in despair. I try to eat good, but its just not moving.
lucysummers
14-08-2009, 18:46
Lucysummers: i'm taking more than the script says due to research etc. I was taking fenugreek too but it gave me bad nausea and diarrhoea. its not a repeat script so i will have to ask him for more etc. I tried to express today and only got 10mls out of both breasts. I think its psychological though due to the many many many times i've had to sit and express in the past. I really think my time is up with BF; i can't shake the feeling that my milk is simply running out. I'm trying not to focus on the small amount i expressed and go on his wet nappies and his ability to settle etc. I'm just hanging in there waiting til he starts solids so that hopefully once he's eating then it'll be enough for him. am also so over this weight. i'm 106kgs. I was 86 kgs pre pregnancy and went up to 117kgs just before i had DS. i'm in despair. I try to eat good, but its just not moving.
:hugs::hugs::hugs: You sound like you're having a tough time right now. Don't focus too much on the xpressing = your supply. I know that a lot of people struggle to express and some just can't.....their boobs just like the boost from the baby rather than the machine. If baby is happy / alert / nappies etc then he IS getting milk from you. How do you try to express? What situation to you get in....do you try to do it with bubs around....I really find that helps with my let down.
You have to do what is right for you but please don't give up based on not being able to express.
Oh and that pesky baby weight......I'm with you on that one hun....never fully shifted it from DS! Try not to focus on it too much...still early days....try and set yourself little goals. Rather than weight goals...more like I'll do a certain exercise each day....or I won't eat certain foods except on weekends. Little things are easier to go with than just trying to achieve one big goal. :flowerz:
maplewattle
14-08-2009, 20:52
Hi Jaspat,
Sorry to hear about your bf'ing issues. I have had the same and am on Domperidone as well.
One thing to remember is that you'll get different amounts of breastmilk at different times of the day.
I was also very discouraged with the amount I expressed and a girlfriend reminded me that your baby will always be more efficient than any expressing machine ie. they will always get more milk than you express.
Hope that helps!
LittleBug'sMum
15-08-2009, 06:54
I tried to express today and only got 10mls out of both breasts. I think its psychological though due to the many many many times i've had to sit and express in the past. I really think my time is up with BF; i can't shake the feeling that my milk is simply running out. I'm trying not to focus on the small amount i expressed and go on his wet nappies and his ability to settle etc. I'm just hanging in there waiting til he starts solids so that hopefully once he's eating then it'll be enough for him. am also so over this weight. i'm 106kgs. I was 86 kgs pre pregnancy and went up to 117kgs just before i had DS. i'm in despair. I try to eat good, but its just not moving.
Jaspat don't give up on BFing! You're doing so well, and you've come so far. Don't be discouraged by not being able to express much, I have an oversupply of milk (nearly drowns my DS some times), but when I try to express sometimes I can only get 10mL, even if my breasts feel full! I've given up on expressing all together, too stressful and takes too much time (will have to rethink that when I go back to work in a couple of months...)
Even if you have to give the odd formula topup, keep giving as much breast milk as you can too.
As for the weight, it took 9 months to put it on, it will take a bit longer to get rid of it, and you've already lost 11kg, that is quite an achievement. Your body needs fuel to make the breastmilk at the moment (I tell DH that I need chocolate to make the breastmilk :p). I have about 5kg that is not moving, it is hard not to stress about it.:hugs:
Jaspat - you know what I think ;):hugs::kiss:
Well I got to my bf goal :D till dd starts solids. We started early - 12 days off 4months but she loves them and is so much more content. She still bf's just as often to :rolleyes:
So my next goal is a big one - till dd's 12 months old. After I've reached that goal (cause I will!) my next goal is to feed till dd self weans :cloud9:
Does anyone else have a goal/goals?
DungeonKeeper
15-08-2009, 14:18
Hello everyone.
I have been reading the thread for the past couple of days to catch up and would like to wish everyone all the best with breastfeeding and hope that you can overcome the problems you are facing. Sorry I can't remember individuals. Having read a few months' worth of posts my brain has turned to mush.
I had my first baby 6 weeks ago and have been breastfeeding exclusively and it has been going great so far. It took a few goes at the hospital to get him to latch on properly as he wasn't opening his mouth very much but the football hold helped to start with and he figured it out quick enough so that the few pinched nipples didn't lead to anything bad and he is a boob junkie.
Although having said it's going great I had a blocked duct the other week but manged to sort it out by feeding from that boob and massaging while feeding and the expressing afterwards as well. The other day my nipple was hurting too it felt like he was chomping on it and it was a sharp pain that continued after the let down pain but he was fine on the other boob so I didn't know if the fault was with him or me but when I prodded my nipple it wouldn't hurt and I think it was just a whole boob thing. I have no idea what it was but I kept going and it resolved itself after a few days. I was abit worried though as everywhere I have read it said after 6 weeks things get easier and stuff and there was me who had no problems for 6 weeks and something strange was happening when things are suppose to be getting easier!
Anyway, all better now fingers crossed it doesn't happen again.
I do leak all over when he pulls off with a jet of milk that shoots out and sprays everywhere and I am sure I am going to be smelling cheesey soon. I do have a 'boob flannel' that lives in my cleavege though to wipe up stuff like that!
I don't have a routine and I just feed him whenever he wants. Sometimes that's every hour and sometimes every 2-3 hours. Initially he wanted feeding every 2 hours at night but the past week or so he has been going 4-5 hours at night without a feed so that's been really good. Yesterday he just fed constantly during the day! Noi dea if he was comfort sucking or not but it's not normally like him. I don't mind though. Maybe it is that 6 week growth spurt thing people keep mentioning. I also have no idea about draining breasts or anything like that. I look down and feed him from the breast that looks bigger than the other one and go until he doesn't want anymore. I offer the other one but normally he won't take the other one. He is normally on ther for 5-10 minutes but last night at 11pm he took both of them and was on there for nearly an hour!
Anyway, so I am just winging it and doing whatever seems right and whatever he wants and seems to be going okay. He doesn't sleep much during the day and although he doesn't cry much he doesn't like to be put down and left on his own so I keep him with me and carry him around with me in a sling and offer him more boob if he gets more unsettled.
Someone was asking about goals. I try to not to make plans that are too long term but I would at least like to breasfeed till 6 months minimum (starts solids at 6 months unlesss he shows a big interest in food before) if everything goes as they are going but ideally till 12 months so that he can switch straight to normal milk. If he wants to go more than 12 months that'd be up to him and I wouldn't mind. Teeth do worry me though! So we will see how he is when he gets teeth and go from there.
So he is doing well so far. He was 3kg and 50cm when born. (Normal height but skinny or normal weight and tall I don't know!). Now at 6 weeks he is 5kg and 54cm and bit of a piggy and getting chubby. At one point he put on 1kg in just two weeks!
Look forward to talking to you guys more and again, good luck to everyone having problems and hope that things will go as you wish and hope
DungeonKeeper
16-08-2009, 12:45
Bugger!
Having said above that I haven't had many problems... I think I have mastisis! :rolleyes:
I was feeling ill yesterday, had a bit of a temperature and all my muscles were hurting and I thought I was getting a cold or something.
This morning, one boob is red and warm on one side near the nipple and there is a red streak from there to the top. It doesn't really hurt, maybe a bit tender and I am still feeding okay from that side but all signs point to mastisis I think.
Oh well. I have an appointment with the CHN tomorrow and I will what she says. I live next to the hospital though and they have an open hours surgery there, should I go and see them or just wait till tomorrow?
KeithCheggers
16-08-2009, 15:20
Mastitis is a BUGGER!! I had it 3 times in the first 7 weeks, just what you don't need with a small bub - or anytime for that matter!
I did up taking a course of antibiotics (double check if you get a script that it is ok for breastfeeding - should be an obvious thing for Doc but best to make sure!).
I also was told to make sure bubs carries on feeding off the sore boob aswell (my GP told me to stop for a couple of days but I checked elsewhere and found this was really not a helpful thing to do!). heat also helps so try a hot water bottle/heat pack and hot showers or baths to massage any bumps.
I felt so drained for about 24 hours but heaps better after this - have had no problems (touching wood!) for almost 10 weeks now.
Good luck and try to take things as easy as you can X
Jaspat24
16-08-2009, 17:48
Hi everyone; thankyou all so so so much for your support and encouragement. It has helped so much. I made some Lactation boosting cookies and i feel they've helped and have also been drinking an extra litre of water a day too.
DH has been so awesome. The last time DS was weighed DH came with me and we soke to the lactation consultant together and she said cos his gain was so good (190gms) we could ease back on the formula. So some nights i've just breastfed and then i ask DH if we should give formula and he goes "no, i think he's full" and then DH puts him to bed and he sleeps! DH is so confident about my supply; it helps boost me up! I'm not going to stress, i'm just going to feed! And i'm not expressing apart from when i'm at work. I feel i'll have success cos i'll be expressing/feeding 4hrly on those days.
Also DS is such a good feeder, the other night i fed him laying down and i thought he'd finished so i got up to put him to bed but then decided to offer him (.)(.)'s again, and he fed for another 10 mins from both sides!
Tegan: congrats on your goal!!!! My goal is a bit ambitious...2years! but my shorter term goal is 1 year and then if he weans himself thats all good.
Dungeonkeeper: hello :wave: i read from another hubber that when you feel a bit achey in your breasts to get in the shower and massage and hand express like crazy under the hot water to keep mastitis at bay. I've done this once and it did help. But if you've already got it, then you need ab's. Also good on you for deciding to 'wing it' and feed whenever bubs wants. Feeding often in the early days sets up your milk supply for the future (i screwed mine cos i didn't feed DS often enough; we're still recovering now and he's underweight). Babies like to be cuddled and held close so i think you're doing a great job. Maybe invest in a bracelet that you can use to remind yourself which side you last fed on. This will help to make sure you empty them both regularly and potentially avoid lower supply in one breast. (my right is lower, so when i forget which side, i start with the right to build up that supply). His weight and length are just great! also don't believe people when they say things get easier at this stage or that stage; things just change and progress but there's always something difficult to go through at any stage, no matter what! You just decide how much you let it get you down (or up!)
DungeonKeeper
16-08-2009, 22:31
Thanks Jaspat and KeithCheggers for all the advice.
I have an appointment with the CHN for the 6 week check anyway tomorrow so I will mention it then and see what she recommends. I will make sure that if I do have to get antibiotics it'll be a suitable one. Thanks for that advice.
Today I feel much better. Still feeding from that boob. The redness has gone down a bit but still visible although not tender. My temperature is gone and my energy is slowly coming back too.
KeithCheggers: Good to hear it's been going well the last 10 weeks! :yelclap:
Jaspat: Fantastic that things are really working out for you and I am sure you will achieve your goal! :yes:
I think I kind of ignored my other boob as I was trying to get him to feed from the mastitis boob first and he wouldn't always go for the second one so my *other* normal boob was so sore and full this evening! It was huge and rock hard! He is asleep and I tried to poke boob in his direction but he wouldn't have any of it. So I had to express to make myself feel better and got about 150ml in about 5 minutes :eek: and there is more in there. Crazy. I think I may change my screen name to MooCow or something... I don't think I actually realised how much boobs make until now.
DK: Glad you are feeling better today. I would recommend getting antibiotics ASAP if you think you have mastitis. I had it early on and things went from bad to worse within 24 hours of my first symptoms. My fever got so high I was delirious within a day of first feeling the lump. Sounds like you are doing the right thing, feeding off the mastitis side first.
It took me a good 7 days to shift the lump even with antibiotics and massaging before, during and after a feed. GL!!
kobi'smama
18-08-2009, 18:48
Dungeon - Prob a bit late (I did up a big reply last night but lost it..:banghead:) I have had blocked ducts quite a few times which by the sounds of it is what you had. That is the start of mastitis.
What I do is constantly feed off the blocked side, trying to aim bubs chin to where the hot spot it. You can literally feel bub draining the blockage...heaven!
Express the good side to avoid another blockage.
Before i feed I use a wheat bag or hot pack on the spot then feed and use cold pack after.
Also when im in the shower go under the hot water and push on the lump down towards the nipple. If yours is anything like mine have been the pain can be unbearable but you will soon pass the blockage! Most times as soon as i push on the lump the milk spurts out like no tomorrow.
Hope this helps! It has worked for me quite a few times, i really wanted to avoid antibiotics.
I cant believe how bad it hits you and how quick, its awful.
I got a new breast pump yesterday!! I had an electric one but a cheapo from ebay which has been fine but is a stuff around with the seal etc. I splurged and got a avent electric, awesome so far!
Guys i think your goals are great! :yelclap:
I guess I have two goals - first to successfully BF DS until Nov (when i go back to work full time) and second goal is to work out a way i could keep feeding while working FT. Even if i could feed in mornings and evenings and weekends and he could have formula during day on week days. I just dont know how to get my boobs to adjust to that without being engourged all the time?
LittleBug'sMum
18-08-2009, 19:05
Guys i think your goals are great! :yelclap:
I guess I have two goals - first to successfully BF DS until Nov (when i go back to work full time) and second goal is to work out a way i could keep feeding while working FT. Even if i could feed in mornings and evenings and weekends and he could have formula during day on week days. I just dont know how to get my boobs to adjust to that without being engourged all the time?
My goals are same as yours kobismama! Except I go back to work FT in December. So you'll have to let me know how you go!
I get 2 x 30min lactation breaks a day (don't know how I will fit that into my work day), so am hoping to be able to express at work and DS can have EBM during the day. Hopefully as he will be having solids by then he wont need to be BF as much (at the moment, despite my best efforts, he still feeds every 2 hours during the day).
I think your boobs will adjust, might have to try dropping one feed each week until you're just doing morning and evening. I think if you tried to BF all day on the weekends you would find you didn't have enough milk and then would have an oversupply again come Monday. I'm no expert though. Is there anyway you could express at work? Even just at lunchtime?
kobi'smama
18-08-2009, 19:36
My goals are same as yours kobismama! Except I go back to work FT in December. So you'll have to let me know how you go!
I get 2 x 30min lactation breaks a day (don't know how I will fit that into my work day), so am hoping to be able to express at work and DS can have EBM during the day. Hopefully as he will be having solids by then he wont need to be BF as much (at the moment, despite my best efforts, he still feeds every 2 hours during the day).
I think your boobs will adjust, might have to try dropping one feed each week until you're just doing morning and evening. I think if you tried to BF all day on the weekends you would find you didn't have enough milk and then would have an oversupply again come Monday. I'm no expert though. Is there anyway you could express at work? Even just at lunchtime?
I am currently working one day a week at the moment, My work is pretty cruisy and I can express when I like. I will be working from home a lot well which will be easier. But as DS is in a set routine I know what times I need to xpress.
I take my pump and in i go, its pretty funny. Even though i have the door locked everytime i hear a noise i think someone is going to come in..:laughing:
Doesnt it suck to know soon u will be back at work FT!
Jaspat24
21-08-2009, 12:13
Hi girls i just need your opinions on this:
At home i breastfeed DS when he wakes and before i put him down to sleep. So roughly 10x in 24 hours. Of course the feeds all vary in length etc and i let DS decide when he's finished at each feeding. I feed before sleep cos he sleeps better.
I'm back at work every wednesday and every 2nd saturday. My concern is his feeds while i'm gone. I'm leaving EBM but can't express enough so when that runs out it'll be a combo of EBM and formula.
On wednesday DS had his first day at daycare. I left 3x 150mls EBM with instructions to feed after his naps. I fed him at home at 520am and again at 615am. I dropped him off at 640am. His first bottle was at 1030, next at 130 and the next at 330. I think there was too long a time between when i fed him and his first bottle. He didn't get enough sleep so when i picked him up and got him home and tried to breastfeed him, he fell asleep within minutes.
I was thinking instead of feeding after naps, could i ask them to feed beforehand so then he's full, will sleep better and hopefully won't vomit up much of his feed.
Also i'm thinking that i might've left abit too much EBM. I was thinking of reducing it down to 120-130mls each bottle.
what do you think?
newmummaofbub
21-08-2009, 13:55
hey Jaspat,
my little bubba was born same day as yours (3/4/09) :)
she has EBM on the days I am at work and normally drinks between 150 - 200mL every 3hrs or so...
so 120-130mL may not be quite enough? although every bub is different of course.
My lily went from 150 average to 180 average seemingly overnight though a couple of weeks ago so I think it's always best to leave carers with more than you think they'll need.
just thought I'd offer what little knowledge I had on the topic... hope it helps!
Brooke :)
Jas - did you ask the staff why there was such a big gap? Maybe he wasn't hungry?
Did he drink all that was given to him?
You ask them to do what ever you want :yes:;) its their job to do as you ask.
As for the being tired thing - expect that until he gets used to the people and place. Babes generally don't sleep for as long or as well when they first start childcare.
Oh and my goal is till Coopa weans...so hopefully not before 2!
kobi'smama
21-08-2009, 15:32
Jas it's hard isn't it to know how much milk to give- I'm in the same boat. Somedays when ds is with mum he has 180ml & sometimes 130mls. It cuts me in half when I leave more and it's tipped out, arrrgg but u can't reuse it once it's warmed but liquid gold....
I'm trying to decide wat to do when ds goes to daycare, do I stop all together or try to work it out. I'll b at work ft soon so it's going to be very hard.
I really need to pick my act up with diet and water cause my milk is suffering I can feel it.
Just thinking if yuo give 3 bottles of 150ml each could you give 3 bottles of say 100ml and 3 of 50? then you wont waste it if its not needed?
Its more work but could save wastage.
Jaspat24
21-08-2009, 18:45
he drank all of it; they gave him the bottles after his naps, like i'd instructed. Its just that i had x3 lactation breaks at work and only got a total of 260mls. its funny cos they say that breastfed babies take in an average of 750-800mls in 24 hours. so if i feed him 10x in 24 hours, then each feed is 75-80mls. But on daycare days, if he has 5 breastfeeds and 3 bottles, then it averages say 100mls each feed, so then the 3 bottles would be 100mls each and he can 'make up for it' when breastfeeding. Is this thinking wrong? this is how i thought to give him less in his bottles, to lessen the formula he will have to have eventually.
I think i'll instruct them to give him bottles before his sleeps, i'll leave it at 150mls each bottle. i can't express at home cos i feed him all the time. The lactation consultant said i seem to have a "ceiling limit" on the amount of milk my body can produce and even expressing etc won't increase my supply. She said not to bother expressing (apart from when i'm away from DS) and just to offer more feeds.
I'm finding it difficult to work out his daycare bottles due to the amount of times i normally feed him.
When i run out of EBM DS will have to have formula. But i was thinking that on the saturdays i work, sometimes there are no ops or the list is short so you get out early. I was thinking of justgetting DH to give formula so i won't over estimate and defrost too much milk. Then if i finish early i can get home and breastfeed etc. Also DS will get a boost to his weight with the formula.
who knows!
Tegan no i didn't ask why there was a big gap; when i picked him up they'd changed his clothes (cos he spewed -surprise, surprise) and they didn't put socks on him and his feet were freezing. I'm still quite peeved about it. I rang and spoke to the director about it. DS is the youngest in the room and most of the other kids are all walking and are almost ready to move up to the next room. One kid fully hurt another kid with a toy while i was picking william up. I hate it i hate it i hate it i don't want to take him back he's now clingy and cries when i leave the room i wish i had family to look after him
Jaspat :hugs: CC is hard....the kids hurting other kids is normal but it doesn't make it any easier for you I know.
Can I suggest that if you can you talk to staff about issues you have as much as possible rather than the coordinator?
Have you looked into family day care? That may suit you better?
He will be more clingy and want you more - also normal :hugs: his just making up for the time away from you. He may also want to bf more. Has he got a comfort toy? Can you take a tshirt or something that smells like you into cc?
Hmm I'm going to do some research when I'm not fak about what you lc said re having a limit on how much milk your body will make. What happens when he gets bigger? Does that mean you wont be able to meet his needs? What does she base that on? Only 2% of females CAN'T breast feed the rest lack knowledge and most all support.
The main things as to why you may not be able to produce more milk that I know of are if you've had a breast augmentation or have breast hypoplasia - which is hard to diagnose and rare and as far as I know not many lc's have any experience with it...
I also think that your lc saying that to you is disempowering you.
massive :hugs:
pm if you want
Jaspat24
22-08-2009, 10:30
Hi tegan, thanks for the reply. I can breastfeed DS just fine, i just have trouble now trying to fit in extra times to express during the day etc. i don't even really care that much about it now; i'm so over it all. I'm happy to feed him whenever we want as much as we want and if i wasn't back at work, i reckon i wouldn't give two hoots about expressing. He'll have all i can leave for him and formula if there's not enough. His weight on monday was 5.76kgs. He was born 3.94kgs. The formula will just plump him up and boost his weight.
Please let me know the outcome of your research, i'm interested to know if theres any truth to what she said about ceiling limits of milk. When i picked him up there were 4 babies in the room with the untrained carer. Is that right? i did tell her about the socks but she said that he spewed so they had to change him then i said there are socks in the bag. Maybe i should put socks and beanies in a ziplock glad sandwich bag and leave it on top of all the clothes etc.
i've tried family daycare but the lady gave me the run-around with meeting up etc i tried almost 5 times to meet up with her but something on her end always got in the way. Then i tried all the others in my area and they are either booked up for that day, or don't do the hours i need, or don't want a baby for just one day cos then they limit themselves to accepting more children in full time day care. Plus, DH and i aren't too keen on DS being in somebody elses car for school drop offs and pick ups, and also for outings and excursions; when will he get his sleeps?
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/milkproduction.html#storagecapacity
Hmm family day care can be hard to get into. I'm sorry you had such a hard time/experience with it.
I'm not sure what the regs are in WA but I know in melb that is ok - as long as there's a qualified in the building with X amount of children.
Its up to you how far you want to go with packing his bag - some parents do put everything in zip lock bags - and then others don't even fold the clothes just stuff everything in :laughing: (that would be me!)
bbl
Hi Ladies.
It is so lovely to hear that you are all persevering with breast feeding. I had a rough start with breast feeding. My little guy was a VERY enthusiastic feeder who liked to demand to be fed yesterday. He was also a very very very windy baby. Feeding wise the first few months were hell. I had to be very careful of everything I had. We had to cook everything ourselves so I could monitor what went it to it because the slightest trace of anything that can cause wind would upset his system. Everyone was constantly telling me to just put him on formula but I was adamant that I wanted to breast feed. He had latching problems and when tired just pull straight off my boob without lessening his suction. Needless to say he took many a chunk of skin with him. I used to get pains in my breast as I was feeding. Sharp pains for the first few moments after he had latched on. Then one day he just got it he latched on perfectly. No more pulling back. He still had wind problems and still does. I don't have to worry so much about what I eat now thankfully because it isn't as bad. I'm so glad I persevered and didn't listen to anyone.
Having said that I don't believe that formula is the "EVIL" that everyone says it is. So I plan to continue feeding bub for as long as I can but if there was any reason why I can't at some point I'd swap to formula.
I hope it is getting easier for everyone.
Kuddles :wave::yelclap: good on for sticking to bfing through all those hard times!
Jaspat24
22-08-2009, 20:44
Kuddles: :yelclap: good on you! thats so awesome you've stuck it out even with problems!!!
Jaspat24
22-08-2009, 20:48
tegan; i wish i could get more out but i just can't; i also wish DS could go longer between feeds, but he can't. He can 3 hours at a stretch between breastfeeds. I want to start expressing again at home, but i feel like there's no point cos i'm just feeding him so often. oh well, like kuddles said, formula isn't evil.
I feed Coopa every 2 to 3 hours still...its tiring hey
I also still offer a fed when she wakes and before sleep. At night she'll clutser feed till she falls asleep for a couple of hours.
This is on top of her having 2 meals a day. She has a big meal at night but bf's before and after her meal :)
Jaspat24
23-08-2009, 18:56
I feed Coopa every 2 to 3 hours still...its tiring hey
I also still offer a fed when she wakes and before sleep. At night she'll clutser feed till she falls asleep for a couple of hours.
This is on top of her having 2 meals a day. She has a big meal at night but bf's before and after her meal :)
wow thats heaps! i've tried to give William farax in the past and yesterday tried sweet potato. He's got the tongue thrust thing still and is just not ready. he did swallow some of eachI'm putting him in his highchair and just trying with a little bit every few days or so just to get him aware of the next step IYKWIM. i'm just pureeing some vegetables and freezing them in ice cubes then popping them out and putting in labelled glad ziplock bags in the freezer so when he is ready then the foods ready (this is more if he's ready and i haven't done the shopping :laughing:)
Sheer Bliss
23-08-2009, 19:56
I meant to come in last week to do this: :smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance: The twinnies are still exclusively breastfed at 3months!!! They have both more than doubled their birth weights (not hard for prems though!!) and both the CHN and the paed were rather impressed that I haven't been expressing or topping up with formula! DS2 is now 600g heavier than his 'big' sister who was 110g heavier than him at birth! He is a little chunker, and the paed suggested starting him on solids at 4months corrected....still another 2months away though.
:yelclap: to anyone still going!! Esp if it's your first, I am finding it so much easier 3rd and 4th time around.
Jaspat24
23-08-2009, 21:45
I meant to come in last week to do this: :smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance: The twinnies are still exclusively breastfed at 3months!!! They have both more than doubled their birth weights (not hard for prems though!!) and both the CHN and the paed were rather impressed that I haven't been expressing or topping up with formula! DS2 is now 600g heavier than his 'big' sister who was 110g heavier than him at birth! He is a little chunker, and the paed suggested starting him on solids at 4months corrected....still another 2months away though.
:yelclap: to anyone still going!! Esp if it's your first, I am finding it so much easier 3rd and 4th time around.
yay thats so awesome, you are such an inspiration! good on ya!
i would love to still breast feeding, but with spilting from my ex recently and moving etc my milk dried up :(
im happy DS got 3months of breast milk though!!
well done to all the mummys still breastfeeding!!!
lucysummers
24-08-2009, 12:54
:wave: girls...sorry i've been MIA recently....no real excuse - have been catching up on everything but as soon as read it all and about to post DD has interrupted..not quite up to tegan's standard of being able to type whilst feeding :D
Missyky - sorry to hear you've had a bit of a time of it. As you say great news that DS got 3 months of breastmilk.
charlis_mum - you are an absolute inspiration. I saw your post in the breastfeeding section and hope that things are calming down a little bit....it must be shattering what you are doing but you are an awesome woman for keeping at it.
jaspat :hugs:I really feel for you. I certainly wouldn't be reducing the bottle sizes if at all possible...especially if William if taking it all. Make sure they are doing what you ask and voice any and all concerns you have. Whereabouts in WA are you? If you're northern suburbs send me a PM as I'm REALLY pleased with the centre DS goes to and know a few up here to avoid etc. I would query the ceiling limit advice...I know some times it is harder to express...it's not that there is no milk....the other morning I was so engorged but could only get about 80ml expressed....DD drained it in 10 mins:laughing:....yet at other express times I'll be very 'soft' and still get about 120mls....it's a funny thing this expressing and I think totally depends on time of day, situation etc...it can't be relaxing doing it at work and that won't help....not great help seeing as that's the only place you want to express but I don't think it will help it come.
kuddles - yay for persevering!!
Tegan - hope all is good with you.
AFM - still going on the BFing. I've been a bit sore the last couple of days....as DD gets heavier I'm finding it harder to hold her whilst she latches on...she's only 4.5kg:laughing: She keeps really nuzzling/pushing in then pulling out (without coming off) whilst feeding too...anyone know what this means? She woke at 5.30 today which is earlier than her usual 6.30!! Gorgeous DH took DS to school and we went back to bed!!..only just got up at 11.30 and abi still asleep - yay!!
I've noticed that a couple of you have started solids. I weaned DS at 17 weeks but my CHN is insistent that the advice is now 6 months. I feel if they are ready for it from 4 months then that is fine....can I ask why you're started at this stage.
Jaspat24
24-08-2009, 17:03
hi girls good to hear from everyone!
Lucy: i'm in ellenbrook and daycare is just down the road. Its ok, i'll stick with it. I've been thinking though about the order of his bottles and naps etc and have decided to ask them to give him each bottle before his naps. 3 bottles=3 naps. Also i'm going to write on the day sheet a certain time to get him down for his first nap, cos with DS he has a small window of time once he's tired to get him down or you have to 'wait for the next bus' so to speak. I'll keep the bottles 150mls each i do think thats quite important, considering i'd already made up my mind that he'll have to have formula if there's not enough EBM. I'm also working every 2nd saturday (this sat) so have decided to get DH to give formula so i don't need to worry about defrosting ebm. Some staurdays are really busy and i could be there all day (8-6pm) and others are quiet with shorter lists.
Also i have no idea why i can't express at home i almost think there's no point anyway cos i feed him so frequently
Jaspat24- its hard when you want to stick to feeding but just feel like its impossible,,,, ive felt it a few times. With the day care thing, good luck. its hard when you want to keep feeding but you are returning to work, Remember formula isnt EVIL!