View Full Version : Amazing April '09 Babies

BB78
17-05-2009, 15:29
Yay! April '09 birth group is open...:yelclap::smiliedance:

BB78
17-05-2009, 15:42
So let me introduce myself as most April mums wont know me as I was actually in the May When are you Due group as my EDD was in May but I had my DD in April.:cloud9:
So here I am :D

My birth story is here http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=3733104#post3733104

I look forward to talking & getting to know all the April mums & there bubbas :wave:

Tegan15
17-05-2009, 17:15
Hello BB78 :)
Ohh how exciting! I was wondering when this section was going to start so I asked and we got :laughing::smiliedance:

kobi'smama
17-05-2009, 17:30
This is good! Thanks Tegan.
Welcome BB78

Going back to the Yummy Mummy Thread, im so glad im not the only one who isnt following a routine, i was really worried that i have been doing the wrong thing by not sticking to anything. We had the best intentions of following the save our sleep book but hasnt happened. DS just goes along with what he wants to and we just follow.

DH is back to work tomorrow, I am really worried. I think its the emotions as well as I am really going to miss him after having him here for 3 weeks. Plus he is such a good help, today he cleaned the house and did all of the washing so i didnt have to worry about anything next week. He is down about it as well as he isnt happy at work at the moment and will miss me and DS. I think i might even cry when he goes...is that ridiculous?

Dont know how often I will get to hop on next week, depends how i go by myself.

DS has just woken up, typical right when our pizza is about to be delivered (naughty i know..pizza...)

Take care everyone - cuddles to all the bubs.

Dangerkitty
17-05-2009, 18:11
Oh fun a birth group for me to join! I missed out on DS1 as I wasn't a member of BH then.

Ezra Kai was born on April 22nd @ 9:36am via elective c/s. 3.9kgs and 50cm long. Full head of black hair!

I am Crystal btw :) Mommy of the 2 boys! Married to DH for 4.5 years.

Looking forward to our journey together!

BB78
17-05-2009, 18:31
Hi Dangerkitty my DD was born the same day as your DS!:wave:

Hi xcitedmum & Tegan :wave:

nothanksbye
17-05-2009, 18:37
Helllooo :wave:

I am an April mummy.
Holly was born on the 24th April at 3.56am.
3.5 kg.

Holly is my 3rd.

DS is about to turn 7 and DD1 is 5.

nice to meet you all.
xcitedmum - I dont have a routine either. I am struggling to get it together in the mornings!

but she slept through from midnight till7am the last 3 nights! so feeling a whole lot better.

still overwhelmed though.

DH goes away tomorrow for a week...:eek::hissy:

Tegan15
17-05-2009, 18:54
xcitedmum2b - I was worried when DH went back to work but it wasn't too bad...I've had a couple of bad days but I was sick with mastitis so it owuld have been bad if he was here or not I reakon.
My friend cried when her dh went back to work - she said she wanted to hold onto his legs and not let him go so your def not alone!
I've decided newborns are too little for routines...no point worrying about it because it was just stressing me and then her out and then poor dh would just be in the middle trying to do the right thing and I'd be changing my mind each day anyways :rolleyes:

Hello dangerkitty and sabio :wave:
I've been really lucky with the night time sleeps - last night was excellent! I fell asleep around 10-10:30 with dd lying next to me breast feeding and then dh woke me up around 11:30 and dd was asleep - I put her and myself straight to bed and she slept through till 6:30! had a feed was in bed by 7:30 and I woke her at 9:30 - very very lucky :o sorry to those not having such an easy time in this department...I promise there's areas she makes up for it though - like her day time sleeps...or lack of....

Sabio - a week away! ohhh I don't think I'd handle that very well...at least i know dh will be home after a certain amount of time each day..

Nanay
17-05-2009, 19:16
BB - I just read your birth story..you are so brave to have an 11lb baby with nothing for pain...Shaun was 9lb 7oz I did not have anything for pain but gas however i kept asking for him to be vacuumed out as I was really getting tired and felt I could not push him out but I got lucky (in the public system) and got a really good OB (and middie) who just basically talked me through the whole thing and kept positive thoughts in my head in the end she even threatened me..
Welcome to all those that just found this thread.

Tegan - you beat me to it..i was gonna ask someone to open this up as its almost June...

Sabio - DH used to always go away for work quite a bit, but he's not away as much anymore. But I know how you feel. I actually found that I was more calm and in control knowing he was away coz i depended on him so much when he was around. I knew at 6 he'll be home and i can just hand over some things or post pone some housework till he gets home. But when he was away i was more organized coz there isnt anyone to handover things to.

Lilwarrior
17-05-2009, 21:59
Sabio - DH also works away, I am lucky I still have him home til 3rd June. It's going to be so hard.

Excited - it's ok to cry and miss them. It will get easier. I know I will be crying. Don't know how I'll do on my own for 5 days!! I know another girl has her hubby work away and she has him driving home every night!! We dont have a 2nd car or the fuel money for that to be an option.

Can I ask if anyone is putting their bubs to sleep on their belly? I haven't but DH did tonight and he settled better. I am a little worried with the whole sids thing.

Dangerkitty
18-05-2009, 07:13
Good Morning girls! How was your night last night? Our poor little man is congested so we had to sleep with him practically sitting up! Not easy!

DH is back to work today for the first time in 3 weeks and like you Excited, I am freaking out a bit. I had a really big cry last night over it all. Our 2 year old is a big handful and makes life even busier!

Doesn't help that our house is a mess. I contracted a blood infection after my c/s and ended up in hospital for 3 days this past week so it threw a kink in our plan. I am still pretty tired and weak and have a nurse visiting daily to administer IV antibiotics. Not fun!

Lilwarrior--we let him rest on his tummy but still not sleeping there. I am like you and worry about sids and stuff like that.

Tegan--great night for sure! How lucky are you!! We are still up every 3-4hrs through the night. But I am pretty fortunate that DH does night feeds.

Hi Sabio! I can't imagine losing my husband for a day let alone a week! I am sure you will do great!

BB--how fun our kiddos share the same day!

Tegan15
18-05-2009, 08:52
Lilwarrior - I've put dd on her side to sleep before when she's had bad wind that kept waking her but not on her tummy. the mw told me if i did just to be careful and keep an eye on her and make sure her heads to the side(of course) and that her arms are up.
when i was born i had bad hips and the ob told my mum to put me on my tummy to sleep! no doctor would suggest that now, thats for sure!

Dangerkitty - i'm breast feeding so dh can't really help and i don't see the point in him changing her nappy or anything and having both of us awake.

dd screamed and would only settle on my boob last night from 6 till nearly midnight! then she crashed and slept till 6:45!! she had a feed and screamed pretty much till her next feed....as i type one handed she's busy on my boob.....

hippity
18-05-2009, 10:19
Lilwarrior: If you're worried, you'll probably still be worried (and with good cause since it's a SIDS risk) regardless of who put their baby to sleep on their tummy.

But I do.

Not intentionally! But sometimes (most times) at night I fall asleep feeding DS and I wake up to find him flopped from his side to his tummy. Usually there's an arm against me still so he's braced up enough to not be face first against the bed, but it's happened enough that I don't almost have a heart attack when I find him like I did the first few times it happened! He only falls asleep on his side or his tummy though - absolutely refuses to go down when he's on his back.

Much awe to those mummies with a newborn AND other children! I can barely pay look after my doggie, so the thought of other kids ... well, it tires me out just thinking about it.

kobi'smama
18-05-2009, 10:36
Welcome to the new ladies!

Tegan - What a good night you had the other night. Sounds like u had a tough one last night though.
Lilwarrior - I let DS sleep on his belly on my chest a fair bit, this morning after the 5.30am feed he settled on me and we both slept till 7.40am. he seems to like it better as well.
Dangerkitty - Hope you are feeling better today.

AFM - First day alone... but im going okay. have even managed to do dishes and put a few clothes away. DS is asleep now. Hopefully stays asleep for a bit so I can have some lunch.
DS doesnt really sleep for very long periods during the day, a few hours maybe. I think he is having that growth spurt as he is feeding almost every 2-2.5 hours during the day.
Last night he went down about 8.00pm and woke at 12pm, then down again at 1am and woke at 3.30am, then woke at 5.40am then we both napped till about 7.40am. Its the feeding twice in the night that kills me, once would be fine. I didnt wake DH up to change nappy or anything as I normally do as he had to go back to work.
I am going to post a query in the breast feeding section about expressing if anyone can offer any advice.

DS is stiring now..knew it wouldnt last. Does anyone else's bub, grunt a lot. he will be asleep and just start grunting, most of the time he settles himself back which is good.

Have a good day

bella77
18-05-2009, 11:35
Hey girls

How are you all doing?? I have been a bit MIA from the other April thread - have been reading but never had a chance to really post.

I can sympathise with those who have hubbys who are away - mine has been working away for part of the week for 2 weeks and we are now in week three of spending nights on our own. It was so hard last week as I never got a break at all but now I know what to expect, hopefully this week is easier.. it's only 2 nights. Next week will be the clincher - 8 whole days away - eeks!!!

xcited - my bubby grunts a lot. Like he is trying to do a poo or a fart? Although he's normally awake and will spend an hour grunting happily in his cot in the mornings!

We've had a pretty tough 6 weeks so far. DS does not like to sleep during the day. We'll have maybe 3 or 4 naps for 40 mins max. I think he has massive pain in the belly issues and isn't able to resettle himself after coming out of a deep sleep. He takes about 40 minutes to settle before a sleep, sometimes longer, to only have a 40 min or less sleep. Very frustrating. I'm trying EVERYTHING to help from infants friend to massage to chiro to probiotics to elimination diet but think we're just going to have to wait it out... we're seeing the paed again on Wed for his 6 week check up so will mention it again. This has made the 'alone time' really hard as I don't have DH here to take over so I can have 5 minutes to myself. I've done a sleep clinic day stay and am going to do another in a few weeks to see if they can help again. He sleeps pretty well during the night (will wake once or twice for a feed) so I should be thankful for that. We'll get there I guess - all part of the fun and joy of being a parent!

The past few days he has been pulling off during a feed (say every 30 secs) to have a cry / scream / whail - has anyone else had this issue?? I'm wondering if it's all part of having wind???

BI
18-05-2009, 12:50
Hi everyone, i was also in the May 09 when are you due thread. Bubs decided to arrive in April.

Abigail born 20th April @ 10.02pm
weighing 6lb 7oz

FluffyFaery
18-05-2009, 13:18
Can I ask if anyone is putting their bubs to sleep on their belly? I haven't but DH did tonight and he settled better. I am a little worried with the whole sids thing.

The only time I put Bella down to sleep on her tum is when she's in full view of me and there's no risk of me dozing off! She does sleep much better on her tummy but I'm not comfortable letting her get too used to it. If she's clearly overtired though I'll do it just to settle her and when she's out of it I'll roll her over onto her back. She's such a deep sleeper it rarely bothers her.

We've had a pretty tough 6 weeks so far. DS does not like to sleep during the day. We'll have maybe 3 or 4 naps for 40 mins max. I think he has massive pain in the belly issues and isn't able to resettle himself after coming out of a deep sleep...

Wow, this sounds a lot like our DS when he was little. We tried everything too, every bottle, every gripe water/infacol, every formula. We eventually tried Dr Browns bottles and they made a massive difference to his wind, colic and reflux. They're a bit more pricey but they worked for us. The only place I've found them here is in Toys'r'Us and we skipped straight to them this time around and Bella has had no problems with wind so far. The bottles got rid of the wind but he continued to be uncomfortable and grunted a lot (we called it moo-ing) and eventually we took Fin to a cranial osteopath as I'd managed to convince myself that my giving up half way through pushing him out caused him problems that were making him uncomfortable. We had 3 sessions and it seemed to do the trick.

Anyhoo, for those who don't know me, I'm Emma, and I had Isabella on 24th weighing 7lb 8oz, a natural and very quick birth. She's been an absolute angel so far and is in a very rigid 4-hourly routine which she seems very content with. She really does just sleep and eat at the moment. The only problem (really, it's not a problem compared to what some of you are experiencing) is that she seems to save her awake time up for between her 7pm-11pm feed time so it's impossible to settle her in her room at bed time and she usually ends up dozing off on me (which I love but I don't want to get into bad habits!). I'm thinking I'll have to bring her bath time forward a couple of hours so that she's not so alert at this time and we'll see if that helps. As for night times, she gets me up once at about 3am for a feed and then she settles easily and I get her up between 6-7 for her next feed.

All I can say is that I'm so grateful to have such an easy baby. My son is still as much of a nightmare as ever so I really don't know how I'd cope if Bella was difficult too. Finger's crossed she stays this way. :)

I wandered into Pumpkin Patch today and fell in love with all their winter stuff! I had to reign myself in as she's managing well enough in my DS's old stuff with a few pink bits from family thrown in. I did, however, buy up pretty much every headband they had. I always used to think they looked stupid on babies but I just can't resist them now that I've got a girl of my own! She's got a cute little purple one on now and looks so funny. My husband is going to have a fit when he comes home and sees it! :laughing:

teen17
18-05-2009, 13:32
hi all :wave: took em a while to get this thread up didnt it!

i was also in the Due in May thread but had an elective C/S on the 30th April!
Liam Robert arrived 2:49pm, 30/4/2009 weighing 3.440kg and 48.5cm long with HC of 34.5cm :yelclap:

my poor DS2 is so congested and stuffed up atm... we use saline drops and an aspirator but they dont get much of the mucous out... :no:
does anyone have any other ideas??
we hav to have him propped sitting up with one of us all nite while he sleeps and this is making sleep for us impossible also :(

also does anyone kno wats the best solution to reflux? DS2 is plagued by it terribly and can barely keep half a feed down even when hes propped up afterwards...
this combined with hiccups after every feed distresses him :(

my DP was unable to take time off work to help with DS2 as he is the one household income and has barely any leave left. he took time off to be with me all 5days i was in hospital after the C/S and then one more off cos he was worried bout me at home alone.
but i havnt needed him luckily. i didnt hav any real pain after my C/S and was up n about n felt normal the day after, after they'd let me outta bed!!
so happy with how i healed! gotta thank my OB for doing such a great job of the op!!

hope everyone is coping well!!

look forward to sharing the journey with all u lovely ladies!!:D

hope everyone is having a lovely day!!

BB78
18-05-2009, 14:12
Hi all, Hi Iris & Teen :wave:

Well DD is offically just on the bottle starting today my milk has gone.. not even expressing is getting anywhere .. spent a teary morning with a lactation expert at the hospital.
I haven't had much success with BF at all this pregnancy, my milk never fully came in & she was on bottle top ups from day 1 as she was so big. Then she went fully on the breast for a week but i noticed she was getting hungry more & more, so I was expressing inbetween feed to try & bring more milk in but no luck.
Then when she was weighed last week she hardly gained any weight so they told me to go back to the bottle top ups, she was calmer straight away
Then yesturday I noticed she just didn't want the boob & cried on the boob & puked what she did eat from it..tried expressing only got a few drops.
So the lactation expert told me to just continue with the bottle...
I am so upset, feel I have let my DD down and just failed.:(

Otherwise DD is great, she has a bit of a cough atm tho as my DH & sons all have colds.

Nanay: Thank you, ur birth sounds like mine with DS I kept asking him to be vac out but the Dr wouldn't just kept telling me I can do it. He was 10lb 6oz. Also drug free.

Tegan15
18-05-2009, 14:22
BB78 :hugs: I'm sorry bf didn't work out for you...its so f*cking hard...my dh says "natural my ar$se" he also says the same about child birth :laughing:

teen - the only thing other then what you've tried to clear babes nose that I've heard of without using drugs is sucking it out with your mouth...gross...but I can imagine it would work really well....

FluffyFaery - I'm not letting myself go to pumpkin patch because I know I'll want to buy everything haha!! I wouldn't be able to walk aaway with just head bands :p

blue iris - Hello

Bella - dd's the same with her day time sleeps...she's asleep now...on me in her wrap...she'll sleep for HOURS there but not anywhere else...not even my arms will do - she wants to be up right on my chest all squished and tight...but at night she's fine in her bed....

hippity - dd and I fell asleep in bed the other night whilst feeding and I woke up with dh leaning on me and then I was leaning on dd!! When I jumped up freaking dh claimed that he was just trying to hug me - his back was on me!! The next morning he didn't know what I was talking about :rolleyes: and this is why we can't co-sleep....

Eeyore
18-05-2009, 15:07
Hey Hey ladies. Wooohooo, so glad that we have a new little home for our chats :smiliedance:

I think i might even cry when he goes...is that ridiculous Not ridiculous at all. I had a massive anxiety attack when DH went back to work as I had both kiddies alone with me :eek: Luckily it wasnt as bad as I anticipated.

she seems to save her awake time up for between her 7pm-11pm feed time so it's impossible to settle her in her room at bed time This is arsenic hour for us too. DS usually cries the whole time between feeds at this end of the day. Drove us mad initially but even DD seems to be able to ignore it (and her room is right next door).

AFM, we went for our ultrasound today for DSs suspected hip dysplasia. The lady who did the ultrasound was so good with DS, he just laid there placidly while she manipulated his little hips. All of this and he hadnt even had a sleep after his bottle (we had to feed and run to get there in time). He did, however, give her a nice big poop as she was scanning him. Oh well...

DS also sounds quite congested but the paed. said his lungs were clear. We sleep him with a phone book under each leg at the top of his cot (IYKWIM). This has his head slightly raised and seems to do the trick. And whoever asked about grunting, DS does this all the time, especially when he is eating. So much that I nicknamed him piglet.

Nanay
18-05-2009, 15:52
HI all..lately I have been feeling that my stitches were a bit sore. So went to the doctor today and he told me that it is infected and he will need to take them out (as they were supposed to be dissolved 10 days after they were put in and its already 21 days). It was the most uncomfortable thing as he was taking it out. He said he only took out the ones on the outside, coz if he took the ones in the inside it would be painful. Gave me antibiotics and till Thursday for the infection to get better. Will have to see him again on Thurs to get the other stitching out and to check if the infections healed otherwise he said he will have to send me back to the hospy. Great just what I need!! So I'm really hoping the antibiotics will do their job ... I dont want to get more stitches put in!

VegieK
18-05-2009, 17:27
Hello everyone!
Nice to see everyone in our new 'home"!
Nothing much from me as don't have heaps of time to post -but Im rreading when I get a chance!

We finally have reflux under cntrol - Jack is on meds now and he has finally stopped spending his whole day screaming in pain - which is lovely. We are now just contending with his windy problem :laughing:. He is such a good farting machine, but it does cause his poor little tummy a bit pf pain! Im still on elimination diet, although does not seem to be making too much of a difference. And he had his 8 weeks needles last Wednesday so that upset him bit - just after we got him settled with his reflux! oh well - doesnt matter - he seems to be getting better again!

hope you are all doing well - gtg half way through a feed!
take care :wave:

kobi'smama
19-05-2009, 08:45
Good Morning,

Vegie K - We are having wind problems as well, as are a lot of girls in here i think. Its terrible, i feel like i cant help him. Like Jack, Kobi has no worries farting away - they sound like man farts but burping is another story.
Nanay- Hope youa re feeling okay, that sounds terrible

DS is also bit congested, i have a cold and i think i have passed it on. Tried the aspirater and got nothing, Think i will do the phone book thing under the front legs of the bassinet. Hopefully that will help.
BB78 - Dont put your self through the guilt thing, i agree with Tegan. It is one of the most hardest things i have ever done (except for pushing DS out with no drugs..lol) but you have tried your best and should be proud of yourself!
Hi Teen.

AFM - We had a terible night last night. DS just wouldnt settle, was actually screaming which he has never done. I think he had belly pains but they just wouldnt come up. I fed twice in the night and he just was content, even had him in with us the whole night cause everytime i went to put him in the bassinet he woke up and cried, At about 5.30 DH took him out of the room as he was up for work. DS had a massive spew all over himself then fell asleep.. maybe that is what was troubling him. He is still asleep...but im about to wake him as one of my boobs is about to explode, i expressed the other and got 90mls!! Now i have one small boob and one Pammy Anderson boob.
I really hope to night is better. i am wreaked!

I was hoping Kobi would get himself into sometime of pattern by now but no luck, not even feeding at the same times every day. Has anyone else got this problem?

Eeyore
19-05-2009, 11:23
xcited, we are like you and dont feed at the same time every day. If I need to I do tweak his feeds a little during the day so that DH can do the last feed at about 9/10pm. That way I usually get two lots of 4-5hours of solid sleep myself.

Nanay, hope you are feeling better. Its so much harder to cope when you arent feeling 100%. :fingerscrossed: the antibiotics do the trick

Vegie, glad to hear that you've got the reflux under control. As for the farting, maybe its a boy thing cos Linc farts like a trooper too! And his little face is so serene when he does it :laughing:

BI
20-05-2009, 15:00
As for the farting, maybe its a boy thing cos Linc farts like a trooper too! And his little face is so serene when he does it :laughing:

Sorry to say but my DD can put the adults to shame with her farts :o My poor little girl seems to hold onto her wind & sometimes farting is painful for her too. I do wonder if some of her wind issues are from her guzzling too much from me as i have a really good milk supply.

BB78
20-05-2009, 15:49
Hi all how is everyone??:wave:

We all have colds & coughs here, and my DD also has been having wind trouble, and the Heinz formula has made her constipated so we are now trying Karicare .. anyone have success with this brand?

I turn 31 tomorrow :dizzy: feeling so old lol.. can't I just stay 30? :)
Wont be doing anything exciting, just home like every day, but family coming over for cake & coffee mmmm:p

I have also been having the "baby blues" I think been teary this week, had a big cry yesturday don't even know why! I think the stress of trying to BF and failing & now my poor girl has wind & constipation which she didn't until the bottle,,so it has upset me a lot.

I am also on facebook.. if anyone would like to add me im beverleyb78@hotmail.com :thumbsup:

Preggyin08
20-05-2009, 21:35

Sorry I have been MIA. My sweet baby girl just won't sleep and I am now really worried something is wrong with her. she sleeps about 5 out of 24hours (broken). The majority of that is between 11pm & 3am. I have spoken to the midwife at clinic and she has told me to just keep putting her down after every feed, but she just won't sleep. She was diagnosed with silent reflux by my GP and is on Zantac but I'm not convinced she has reflux. She did suffer with really bad wind and I changed to Dr Browns bottles and they have been a huge help. She is gaining weight and seems happy the majority of the time except for when she is beyond tired and then things are difficult.

I just don't know what else to do I'm that tired that I feel physically ill.

Does anyone know if there is a sleep clinic in Brisbane or a sleep specialist. We visit the paedetrician tomorrow and I am really worried she will just fob me off and tell me it will get better like everyone else does. She is 8 weeks today and it just doesn't seem to be getting better.

Sorry to waffle on. I hope you are all doing well.

Eeyore
21-05-2009, 07:59
DD also has been having wind trouble, and the Heinz formula has made her constipated so we are now trying Karicare .. anyone have success with this brand?We use Karicare Gold for DS as this was the brand recommended for DD 3yrs ago. We havent had any problems but it does froth up quite a bit (but dont they all). The best way we have found to minimise the froth is to swirl the mixture rather than shake. Hope that helps.

Preggy, sorry I dont have any advise for you, but I hope you get your DDs sleep problem is sorted out so you can get some decent sleep yourself. I know how you feel about the tiredness. With DD I was so tired I would just cry cos I had no energy to do anything else. Hang in there.

Tegan15
21-05-2009, 10:59
Just a quick reply to Preggyin08 :hugs: you poor thing!! All i can suggest is if you don't have one already try and sling or a wrap. I wear my dd during the day because she wont sleep anywhere else but me. I figure I'd rather her sleep on me then not at all!! I have a wrap and I was worried that it would hurt my back as I have had a bad back for years now but its great!
Ask your mchn about a sleep school - I went to one two days ago for babes under 6months and well she didn't sleep...she screamed a hell of a lot though :laughing: and I didn't find it usefull for me personally but thats because they didn't tell me anything I didn't already know (I work in childcare - we are the worst for this!!)
hope you find an answer soon :hugs:

DD has decided that between the hours of about 5pm and 11ish she is going to SCREAM if she doesn't get boob the whole time. and my goodness she can scream!! It works out ok though because my supply is low so the more she feeds the better except my poor nipples are getting a bit sore after feeding for so so so many hours....ahhh the uncontrolable crying that happens between 5-12weeks :rolleyes:

MagicalLeopluradon
21-05-2009, 11:36
Hi girls! I have been MIA for awhile!! Have just been so busy!

For those of you who don't know me.....my name is Rebecca, im 23 and live in brissie.....my son Sebastian Jye was born on the 6th April.....was due on the 25th April and he weighed 7'6 and was 54cm long....when I had him weighed on Tuesday he was 12'2 the chubba bub!!!

He is finally settled into some sort of a routine! He feeds in the morning from 6.30-7.15 ish has around 160-200ml then has another feed around 10-10.30 prob has about 140-180ml then he has his nap till about 2 and feeds again has around 140-180ml then he has another feed at 5ish only give him 100ml cos it keeps him going 7.30 after he has his bath....bath him around 7 then he has his bottle generally 180-220ml then its bedtime.....he is usually settled between 8-8.30 then sleeps till 2 and I feed him then....he has around 140-160ml then he grizzles a bit around 5.30 so I pick him up and he has a sleep on my tum with me then we get up at about 6.30-7 and he has his feed.....he only has 1 big nap a day which is between 11-2 in the mornings and afternoons is his awake time and he also dozes but I dont mind it, rather it during the day hehe.....I got a sling yesterday to use between 5.30-7 cos he is always so grizzly then and he loved it! So hopefully things will continue this way *crosses fingers* hehe

BB78
21-05-2009, 13:09
Hi all...
Feeling like a zombie with a bad cold today..
Was up all night with DD, she just did not wanna be put down/sleep.. everytime I tried to put her down in her bassinette she woke up.. so spent all night till after 4am .. sitting up holding her.. she went to sleep & was up again by 7am then I had to get the twins off to school & been running after DS all day who is in a right temper today..
Both DS & DD are down for naps atm...fianlly!!:dizzy:

DD sleeps great during the day.. but from 10pm onwards she is a live wire and doesn't wanna sleep.
I have a bad cold atm so thats not helping me, today my birthday & thankfully I am not doing anything as I am to tired.

Also DD has spots all over her face & now a few down her neck, it isn't chicken pox as DS had this when he was 6wks old & looks nothing like them.
They look like mini pimples.. I have heard of Baby Acne but never seen it before, could it be this? Should I take her to the DR?

Preggy: How did it go at the pead? I hope she has been able to help you?
Eeyore: I have noticed Karicare gets very frothy, so have started to stir it with a spoon instead of shaking it!
DD still in pain with her poops, she was screaming at 2am as she passed a very "clay" style poop.. have no idea if this is normal for formula bub? I so miss BF & still upsets me as she had no poop or wind pain until she went fully on formula.

Sorry to waffle on.. hope everyone having a good day?:hugs: to all xx

Eeyore
21-05-2009, 14:23
BB78, thanks for the tip. I hadn't thought of using a spoon to mix the formula. My next step was to use Infacol in the night feed bottles to minimise how much froth DS takes on board.

BB78
21-05-2009, 14:28
Not heard of infacol what does that do?

kobi'smama
21-05-2009, 16:09
BB78 - Firstly Happy Birthday happybirthday
I can sympathsis with you, I have a terrible cold, feel like absolute s**t. Am not coping with being sick and looking after DS at all, i dont know how you are doing it with other kids as well. And my mum is here helping me...
Dont worry about the spots its normal, DS has them as well, Some of them even looked like they had little white heads on them.
They should go away soon.

Hi Becki welcome back.
Tegan - Im thinking of your nipples lol. Mine are sore as well and im using shields.. cant imagine how yours are feeling.
Preggy - Good luck

DS has been a bit wierd today, has slept more then usual and not had as many feeds. His poo is a bit more runnier then usual as well. Mum said its fine he is just having a different day but im still a bit worried. He doesnt have a temp. We are going to the docs tomorrow arvo for his check up anyway so ill get him to have a look.
DH and I are heading out for a few hours tonight to order DS pro pics, mum is watching DS. Wish i was feeling better so we could make the most of it.
DS is still asleep, wanting him to wake up soon so I can feed him before i go.
Better go jump in the shower.

BI
21-05-2009, 17:02
Bev ~ happybirthday, you're a youngster. I turned 35 Monday just gone.

Preggy ~ Have you tried speaking to someone at CYH? I believe you can book in for a settling appointment, might be worth looking into.

AFM ~ Had MW visit today, DD has gained 250gm in 2 weeks. I mentioned about her wind issues & it looks like shes getting too much milk at once from me. I'm going to try to express some before i feed her & see if it helps.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
21-05-2009, 17:58
hi :wave: I'm Jackie.

Mum to Anastasia Rose, born 22nd April at 11.56am. Weighing 3810g.

I also have a 2.5 DS, Keanu!!

We are doing well, getting use to 2 kiddies...somedays are hard, but that's all normal..for the most part all is well :)

BB78 - yep don't stress about the spots, DD has them too...they will go...i remember DS getting them a little bit...not as bad as DD tho! but her's is clearing as i type LOL!

sounds like some of us are having a rough time...the guessing game, i think is the worst. yesterday DD was crying from 1pm-5pm...nothing really settled her, she had a nana nap in her rocker and a cuddle but then would start crying again - as tho uncomfy, when i put her to bed at 6.30pm, she bought up a heap of wind in her bassinet, she must have had a belly ache! poor darling...had a much better day today!

Just remember things will get easier, and seek advice if you need it, and FOLLOW YOUR MUM INSTINCT - you know your baby BEST!!!

xcitedmum2b - enjoy your trip out tonight...

does anyone's bubs grunt??? i remember DS doing it and DD is now...at around 2am onwards...the only thing that stops her is putting her next to me - she LOVES cuddles, unlike DS...he never ever slept with us, HATED it...but she loves it...

hope everyone had a good day
xo

BB78
21-05-2009, 18:45
Firstly thank you for all the birthday wishes :hugs: Blue iris happy birthday just gone hun xx

And thanks for letting me know the spots are normal should of looked in here before posting a thread bout em in general LOL :)

Hoping to get some much needed sleep tonight, will be bathing DD give her a massage feed then bed & fingers crossed she will settle & let me sleep.:fingerscrossed:

This cold & lack of sleep is dragging me down.

xcitedmumtob: I am feeling the same, its hard when ya sick & have kids.. esp DS he is more handful then DD!!

:wave:Moon: Hi jackie Aww your DD was born same day as my DD you beat me in the time tho DD was born 1:49pm lol

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
21-05-2009, 18:53
AWW they are too...!!!! :)

Bubble*Crazy
22-05-2009, 15:24
Hi Ladies! :wave:

I'm another Due in May 09 Mum, but seeing as though some of my May Mummy friends have joined here, I'm hoping you'll have me too :o ...

My name is Tam, I'm 32 and live in the South West of WA with DH and our 3 kids - DD1 Tayla (8.5), DS Ethan (3) & now DD2 Baylee (DOB 28th April).

Sounds like some of you are having a real hard time of it - hope you can all find solutions very soon.

Have had quite a difficult day - Baylee just won't sleep longer than 10-20 mins and wakes up crying. Nothing really wrong with her - just wants to be cuddled all the time :cloud9:. I really need to look into a decent sling I think this time round - any suggestions????

We can't complain though as she is a really good baby. Depending on what time her last feed is, I normally only need to get up once a night to her, but sometimes this is twice (like last night), but the past few nights it's only been about a 30 minute turn around from when she first wakes.

We are FF though now as once again I've had trouble BF. She is another happy chucker it seems - doesn't seem to affect/upset her, but annoying I guess. Saying that though, she hasn't been half as bad today with the chucks - perhaps it was a temporary thing for the past few days (it was moreso when we switched to FF).

Anyway, must run - she is stirring again. Hope to speak to you all soon :flowerz:

BB78
22-05-2009, 15:39
Hello Tam hun :wave: Great to see you here.
As for a sling I recomend Baba Slings its the one I have & Shaylah loves it, I have it in Purple of course;) lol They come in great colours & designs, comfy to wear too.
Baylee & Shaylah are the same when it comes wanting to be held all the time.
I got some decent sleep last night tho only had to get up once, but as you know the night b4 I was up holding her all night.

AFM: DD today has been grizzly, and has a cough..so think she has a touch of the cold we all have.
Did some food shopping today, & DS thankfully wasn't to bad only 2 tantys! most of you may not know about my DS he has some behaviour problems, & will be seeing the pead on June 1st, who I hope can help me.. here is a thread I have up about my son for those who don't know
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=256475
Some days can be really tough!:(

I also have had PND with my DS after he was born and my Dr thinks I may have again which I do not want to accept.,. as how can I have PND when I have such a gorgeous DD it's hard to accept. I see my Dr again in 2wks to talk about it.

Hope everyone is having a great day & have a great weekend :wave:

kobi'smama
22-05-2009, 19:30
Welcome to all the new ladies!

BB78 - Good luck at the pead, hope your ok PND must be really hard to deal with.
How is your cold?

AFM - Was feeling so sick last night that couldnt enjoy our few hours out. Just rushed around at the shops and did what we needed to do, i went through packets of tissues and had a red nose!
Got my baby bjorn though which was what i wanted, tried it this morning and DS seemed to like it except i feel like i am sufficating him with my boobs...any suggestions?
Im feeling much better today, had a good sleep. DH gave DS a expressed bottle last night at about 8pm so i went to bed at 8.30, my mum who was staying over wheeled DS in at 10pm asleep in his bassinet and he didnt wake till 2.30am, i fed, changed him and put him back to sleep then i had to wake him at 7.30am cause my boobs were going to explode. I expressed one cause i couldnt wait and got 180mls! Getting up once in the night for a feed is so much easier then twice!!im hoping for a repeat to night :fingerscrossed:
Hope you all have a great weekend

Tegan15
23-05-2009, 09:44
Nanay - you poor thing! how are your stitches now?

VegieK - dd is also a farting macine :laughing:

beckibabe - good on you for having some type of routine - i've given up on that for now - my routine is feed when she's hungry....

DD still in pain with her poops, she was screaming at 2am as she passed a very "clay" style poop.. have no idea if this is normal for formula bub? I so miss BF & still upsets me as she had no poop or wind pain until she went fully on formula.

Not heard of infacol what does that do?
those poo's sound normal for a ff baby
infacol are drops for wind

xcitedmum2b- how are ds poo's now?
YAY for only one night feed!!
is the baby bjorn too tight? i tried one i was given twice and hated it personally and now use a wrap like this - http://www.hugabub.com/flex/hugabub_colours/142/1
i find it heaps more comfy and so does dd

AFM - my life is all about getting breastfeeding sorted out...i've talked/whinged about it in the breast feeding thread so i wont repeat it here....

Eeyore
23-05-2009, 10:30
Hello and welcome to our newbies, I look very much forward to getting to know you!

I also have had PND with my DS after he was born and my Dr thinks I may have again which I do not want to accept.,. as how can I have PND when I have such a gorgeous DD it's hard to accept. I see my Dr again in 2wks to talk about it.I had PND with my first but I dont feel like that this time around. I guess if you feel more in control and coping, then you are fine. And given that you have had PND before, you can recognise the signs in yourself. Glad to hear that you dont feel like you have it again this time around :thumbsup: Infacol is supposed to make all of the small bubbles join up to form on big bubble which is supposed to make it easier for bub to bring up.

tegan, good on you for persevering with BF. Hope it gets sorted out soon for you. BTW my version of a routine is also to feed when bub is hungry.

xcited, yay for one night feed :yelclap: Hope it stays that way for you. Hope you are feeling better soon too

moon, I can relate to you getting used to having two kiddies. It can be a juggling act some days can't it. Even though I put out a drink and snack for DD for when I feed DS, she always asks for something when the bottle goes in bubs mouth :rolleyes:

AFM, no complaints about bub here. DD on the other hand is driving me nuts :laughing:

MegACT
23-05-2009, 10:31

Thought I would introduce myself. My name is Meg and I live in Canberra with my DH. I was a Due May Mum but my son Jakobe (Kobe) decided to arrive 2.5wks early on 17th April at 8.45pm weighing 7lb 13oz length 50cm. I am a first time Mum and am loving every minute of it. Kobe is a good sleeper and usually sleeps in 3hr blocks, sometimes longer at night. I am breastfeeding, although i had terribly torn and bleeding nipples at the start but pushed through the pain with nipple shields.
I cant believe how time has flown already and Kobe is 5 weeks old! I am off to the Drs shortly as Kobe has picked up a nasty cold from DH (as have I) and it is getting worse. I've been up with Kobe since 4am trying to settle him and sleeping him upright on my chest as his nose is blocked and now he is wheezing and has a nasty cough. Really pulls on your heart strings when they are sick and helpless.
I'm looking forward to getting to know you all better :)

Loulabelle
23-05-2009, 11:13
Hi Everyone. My name is Lou and my partner's name is Vicky. We had a baby girl called India on April 29th (she was a little early her due date was May 9th). She was conceived via artificial insemination using a friend's sperm!!!!!
After a great pregnancy but horrendous birth, India is doing really well (will post my birth story at a later date - it is very long). We are breastfeeding an luckily it is going brilliantly (thank goodness as I would have been so disappointed if BF didn't work out as pretty much the WHOLE birth didn't go to plan). She sleeps well although I am am getting up to feed her 3-4 times a night but she mostly settles well. I look forward to getting to know everyone in the group.

BB78
23-05-2009, 12:59
Hi all hope everyone is having a good weeked?

Thanks for all the support I am feeling a bit better this week. Hubby & I have offically started our diets today .. im already craving cake lol.. but I am determend to lose this weight!

Welcome to the group to all the newbies:wave: Looking forward to getting to know you all.
Loulabelle: Sorry to hear you didnt have a good birth, glad BF is going well for you tho. India looks beautiful xx
Meg: Hope ya lil man gets well soon, we all have colds here too .. poor DD has a nagging cough that keeps waking her up. So neither of us got much sleep last night.

AFM: Took DD to Drs today about her cough, and the spots/rash she has all over her face that looked worse to me. Dr just said it was newborn rash & very commen, I have never seen it b4 DD.
Otherwise I have just been house cleaning (Yawn!) and got a few things for my twins birthday party which is next saturday.

Well DD is crying again, she wont go down for a nap atm.. she is very restless. Just wants to be held. :hugs: to all xx

BI
23-05-2009, 17:12
teagan ~ Great work with the BF, it's not always an easy thing. I also feed DD when she wants it, i'm not a fan of regimented feeding times.

Loulabelle ~ Sorry to hear your birth didn't go how you would've liked it too. That's great that the BF is at least going your way.

BB78 ~ Glad to hear your starting to feel better.

Meg ~ Hi there my EDD twin. That's no good that your little man has a cold, hope he's feeling better soon.

xm2b ~ Sorry to hear you're not feeling well also. Sounds like something is going around at the moment.

:wave: to all the newbies & everyone i've missed.

AFM ~ I'm trying some different positions for DD when i BF her to try to reduce her windy belly, so far it seems to be working. DD woke with some nasty wind but has been much less windy overall today.I'm also still using Infant's Friend too.

This morning i had her in her rocker & was just watching her :cloud9:. DD is so much more alert now, i'm loving watching her grow & discover her world.

MegACT
23-05-2009, 22:33
Loulabelle How wonderful that you and your partner have a beautiful Bub courtesy of a lovely friend...and what a beautiful name too!

BB78 Its so nice to see another May Mummy in here :) I could go for some cake right now too! Hope your DD gets better soon, its no fun when your children are sick.

blue iris Hey EDD buddy, who'd have thought we'd both have our Bubs so early. Its great that you have found some different ways to combat your DDs wind, hopefully it continues to improve. I have noticed Kobe being so much more alert too in the last week or so. He is really starting to respond to DH and I and now we get big smiles, just melts your heart :valentine:

AFM Took DS to the Drs and luckily his cold is just a cold and it hasnt moved onto his chest yet so no need for antibiotics (doesnt stop me from worrying though). I bought a vaporiser today so hopefully that might help him breathe better tonight and he might settle. Its so hard to watch him trying to breathe through his nose and coughing, I feel so helpless.

Lilwarrior
24-05-2009, 08:32
Oh tegan I hope that BF becomes easier soon. I have been told it can take a few months to really get the hang of it. You are doing a great job in percivering.
BB78 - I am craving the sweets as well and trying to say no. I have not been buying anything in a shop so I can't be tempted.
To those with colds I hope you all get better soon. There's nothing worse then a cold, doesn't help with the added sleepless nights!!!

I'm trying some different positions for DD when i BF her to try to reduce her windy belly, so far it seems to be working. Can you tell me this position. I am having the same problem with DS

AFM - I have been MIA not getting on here often and only getting the chance to read everyones post. Welcome all the new Mums that couldn't hold out to May. April is an awesome month! DS is starting to sleep longer during the nights on and off. I he's got a problem with wind and I can see it's really hurting his tummy and waking him up. He will only sleep on me during the day and I have tried the sling and he doesn't like it. I try putting him down and within a few minutes he's waking and then starts crying. I think there are a few of us having the same problem. Must me the age where they get clingy. I don't mind, apart from my house not getting any attention. DH has made me some breaky must go.
Hope everyone had a great weekend!!

BB78
24-05-2009, 10:38
Had a rough night with DD she just wouldn't go down, and still restless today every time I lay her down she wakes up.. she sleeps when I pick her up & hold her but crys when I put her down. Making me exhausted.

Same with her poops, they have gotten to like hard lil rocks now.. so I don't know if thats normal or constipated for formula babies??

Hope the day improves. :hugs: to all xx

teen17
24-05-2009, 12:16
hi all :wave:

Bev, it does sound like Shaylah mite be a bit constipated on the formula.
did u say u were using Karicare? i also had DS1 on Karicare (the Gold stuff) when he was born and he got very constipated. i switched him to the s26 Original Newborn and all was ok :thumbsup: iv got DS2 on the same cos i found after trying Karicare Gold, S26 Gold and the Gold Heinz one that the gold formula's just hav too much iron for alot of babies.
the S26 Original is great and causes no probs ere so maybe give it a go??
DS2's paed said its ok to give small feeds of water between feeds too, top help soften their poops :yes:
hope u get it sorted out soon :hugs:

BlueIris, i'm also using the infants Friend Oral Liquid for DS2's wind and colic. works well too!

AFM, Liam is growing really fast and is already 3.5wks old. still having issues with his reflux and wind so im going to try a Refux formula hoping he can keep more down. the Mylanta seems to be helping a lil. he was up between 12am and 5.30am this morning with it combined with the congestion.... poor lil guy :(
hes still so congested and wheezes a bit so seems he has caught a cold... if he gets worse or doesnt improve il hav to get him checked by the GP.
we hav our first appt with ECHN next friday the 29th may. be great to see how much weight Liam has put on. he'll be 4wks 1day then.

hope everyone is having a great day :)

BB78
24-05-2009, 13:27
DD is also having water each day, I was told all S26 makes bubs constipated as its all high in iron?
I am not on Karicare gold, just the normal one. I also have Heinz.

kobi'smama
24-05-2009, 14:56

Welcome to the new mums!
MegACT - My sons name is also Kobi (but spelt KOBI) and funnily enough was also 7 pound 13 ounces but was 50.5sm long!
Tegs - Im with you on the BF still.... still using the nipple shields and can see myself using them for a long while yet, he still wont latch onto lefty and only onto righty for short periods of time. But i have so much milk i think i could feed the poor kids in africa!!! Friday morning I had to express one breast out as i was gonna xplode and got nearly 190mls out of one. I am so full at the moment cause DH gave DS a bttle at his last feed - he loves doing it.
Kobi's poos are better, but the poor little man has pretty bad nappy rash. It looks so sore, i plaster it with Curash cream.
Havnt really used my Baby Bjorn yet, i really hope its ok as it was expensive. :fingerscrossed:
BB78 - we have the little red pimple looking things as well, as soon as i think they are getting better more come. They are starting to dry up now and his face is really rough.

AFM - Kobi has still got a slight wind problem, just hangs onto his burps wont let them go.
His sleeping during the night is getting pretty good still all over the place but for the past few nights im up between 1 and 2.30 for a feed and then between 5 and 6. Still really tired because of the broken sleep etc but seem to be plodding along somehow.
He settles much quicker on me, especially during the day and sometimes wakes up as soon as i put him down.
Getting bit sick of visitors at innapropriate times, but how do you say no? Does anyone else have issues with smokers? DH is a smoker but will not go near DS until he has changed his shirt, washed his hands, brushed his teeth and gargled. We have lots of friends that are smokers and i havnt even offered then a hold because i dont want DS near their smokey clothes etc. I thing a few of them are getting p**sed off but i dont know how to say, dont have a ciggie before you come and u will be right.....advice?

Eeyore
24-05-2009, 15:18
Hello and welcome to all our newbies. And congrats on the safe arrival of your little bundles of joy :wave:

BB78, if her poop is hard it sounds like she is constipated. Might be that there is too much iron in the formula. Different bubs react differently to different formula. If it continues, you might want to switch her to a different brand. Speak to your MCH nurse and she should be able to recommend one for you. Hope your day has gotten better.

xcited, if smokers want a hold and get ****ed off with you explain that nicotine can get absorbed through bub's skin (they told me this at the hospital). If they dont like it, its just too bad for them. Dont feel bad about it either, your bub comes first.

BB78
24-05-2009, 15:53
Thanks for the advice all, I will go see my MCH nurse Tuesday as thats a walk in day where I don't need an apointment.
In the mean time I have switched back to Heinz, & give her water.
She just had a feed & did a puke afterwards .. 1st time she done that!!:(
And she is trying to pass poop now & is crying.. it's so hard to watch:(

MagicalLeopluradon
24-05-2009, 19:21
My son was like this when he was on S26.....his poops were really hard, I changed him to Karicare Gold and he has been so much better...his poops have changed not hard but softish and he can go so much better....been on it for over a month now and have had no problems....each bub is different though but maybe try the gold?

Had a rough night with DD she just wouldn't go down, and still restless today every time I lay her down she wakes up.. she sleeps when I pick her up & hold her but crys when I put her down. Making me exhausted.

Same with her poops, they have gotten to like hard lil rocks now.. so I don't know if thats normal or constipated for formula babies??

Hope the day improves. :hugs: to all xx

Loulabelle
25-05-2009, 09:37
Thanks for the lovely welcome everyone.
MegACT: We were extremely lucky with our donor - he has been so fabulous through the whole process (we started inseminating back in July '06 and had two miscarriages and now finally have Indie but he has been so supportive during that whole time. He is going to be known as Dad to our little girl - we think it is very important for her to know where she has come from and have a relationship with her other biological parent!!!!)
I hopw everyone who is suffering from colds or has little ones suffering from colds start to feel better soon. I has a very nasty cold at the end of my pregnancy and it was horrible, but I am sure being sick and having to look after a baby and or small children would be sooooo much worse.
AFM: Vic had to go back to work today (after a month off) and we are going really well. Am showered, have cleaned the house done two loads of washing, strapped Indie into her Hugabub and taken the dog for an hour walk (wow!!!!!!). My Dad is coming over later as I have an appointment and he is going to help me look after Indie, so I am going to take him out to lunch to say thanks (my Mum and Dad live 45 mins away but are so happy to be of any help - they just adore Indie).
Hope everyone is doing well. By the way does anyone know when the breast leaking should settle down???? When I was getting dressed this morning I had milk dripping everywhere, such a pain.

BB78
25-05-2009, 11:37
Hi all .. start of another week...

Becki: Thanks for the tip :thumbsup: Gonna see what her poops are like today.. someone said I should try Nan, as its meant to be gentle to bubs tums?
I'm gonna have all these tins of formula .. can you donate them to anyone/any place? as some are basically still full.

Loula: Sounds like you are doing great! And glad ya parents are helpful & supportive. Aint slings/carriers great! I would be lost without my sling.. DD loves it & I get things done.:)

AFM: Last night I was able to get 5hrs sleep.. it was great to sleep for 5hrs without DD waking up! She didn't go down till midnight then DH alarm woke up her up at 5am (she sleeps in the bassinette in our room) She had a feed, brought up her wind, got a nappy change then back to sleep till 7am when I had to get up to get the twins ready for school!
Great night sleep! Hope it happens again!

Went for my 1hr walk today with the twin pram with DS & DD.. as you all know DS HATES going into shops, he always screams & panics... but I had to get some stuff & hubby is at work.. so in I went.. i spoke to him the whole time Or sang wiggle songs for him to clap to (Yes ppl look at me like a fruit loop but i don't care it makes my son happy & distract him from the ppl which he panics about) and he was fab... not 1 tanty! I was so proud of him.. got my shopping down with no screaming!:goodvibes:
And when we came home he went inside with out screaming.. he got big huggles from mummy & lots of praise.

I was upset with what a elderly woman said to me tho.
She looked in the pram at my DD and said she looked like her grand daughter I said thats nice.. she then touched DD face.. which I don't like :shame:
She then said "She a down syndrome baby too?" :eek: I was totally stunned... who asks that?? U dont ask that even if someone has a D.S baby!!

I said "Exscuse me?, no she isn't" she replied "Are you sure, she looks like 1, like my G.daughter"
OMG!! I couldn't believe it! :(

MumsieMel
25-05-2009, 11:41
:wave: Hi sorry to but in....

BEV
My gosh cant believe she said that!!!:banghead:

Some people are just twits!!! :shame:

BI
25-05-2009, 12:28
Bev ~ OMFG :eek:, i would've smacked the old bag for saying that :banghead::banghead::banghead:. I admire your restraint, my reply to her would've been so much more colourful. Some people have no idea & should just keep their mouths shut.

That's fantastic about your DS, you must've been so proud of him. Hopefully this will continue on for you.

Loula ~ Wowee, i'm tired just reading what you've done already. That's great that your DD's dad will be part of her life too. Your DD will be a very lucky little girl with 3 loving parents to guide her as she grows. As for the leaking boobies, sorry hun, we just have to deal with it. I often have leaking boobies after a shower & wake with a wet chest too, very frustrating.

Quick ?, should i be giving DD water now or is she ok just being BF. I'm just not 100% sure on when to start giving her water?

MumsieMel
25-05-2009, 12:36
Quick ?, should i be giving DD water now or is she ok just being BF. I'm just not 100% sure on when to start giving her water?

When bf you dont need to give water, as your milk supply will adjust with your intake.
Unless she is having some consitapation issue or something.

BB78
25-05-2009, 12:47
But in anytime Mel :hugs::hugs::D

:iagree:with Mel Iris hun, ya BM is all ya DD needs IMO.
I wanted to slap the woman.. but I think I was to shocked.:dizzy:

BI
25-05-2009, 12:58
When bf you dont need to give water, as your milk supply will adjust with your intake.
Unless she is having some consitapation issue or something.

Thanks Mel & Bev.
Mel, no issues with constipation, just a query on my part.

BB78
26-05-2009, 08:17
Morning all..

Just thought I'll let you know, if any Facebook April mamas here would like to join a new bubhub group on Facebook, a bubhub user has made for us facebook april mummys. Here is the link:thumbsup:

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=203332610692

Oh & if any april mums wanna bud me on facebook im beverleyb78@hotmail.com :)

Loulabelle
26-05-2009, 08:18
Bev: Congratulations on such a successful shopping trip with your son I am just so sorry that some of the shine was taken away by that horrible woman. I just cannot belive how rude people are and I would be furious too if someone touched my child's face (some people just have no idea!!!!!!). Don't listen to that silly old cow and just remeber how great you felt as a mum being able to cater for the needs of your little boy - well done :yelclap:

BB78
26-05-2009, 08:29
Thanks Loula :hugs:How are you & Indie today? DD has the sniffles..blocked nose poor lil thing, but last night her poops was back to normal:smiliedance: never been so happy to see soft poop :laughing:LOL:laughing:

Tegan15
26-05-2009, 10:46
Bev: Congratulations on such a successful shopping trip with your son I am just so sorry that some of the shine was taken away by that horrible woman. I just cannot belive how rude people are and I would be furious too if someone touched my child's face (some people just have no idea!!!!!!). Don't listen to that silly old cow and just remeber how great you felt as a mum being able to cater for the needs of your little boy - well done :yelclap:

:iagree:Couldn't have said it better myself so I wont bother trying :laughing:

My goodness everyone seems to have colds and cough's!! DD's had a bit of a cough and seems to have lost her voice a little...mind you she can still yell loud it just sounds a little husky :p
Not much to report here...going back to the hospital tonight for our "lets show off our baby class" - out catch up class from the birthing classes...
Start mothers group on Thursday :fingerscrossed: there's at least one person I connect with...

Oh and Bev - I joined the group on facebook to.

BB78
26-05-2009, 11:35
Oh and Bev - I joined the group on facebook to.

:smiliedance: Great!! Invite any other April '09 mums ya may know. And hope you have a great time at your Class tonight. :wave:

melbrown
26-05-2009, 13:44

My name is Mel and my first, Ryan, was born on 29 April so nearly four weeks old.

I have only just learned of sites and chats like this and I am keen to meet sime new people. I hope that it is ok for me just to post a message as it seems you guys all seem to know each other already.

A few of our details:

I am Mel
Married
Accountant by trade but stay at home mum for at least 6mths

Ryan
Born: 29 April 2009 4.33pm
Weight: 7pd 9oz
Length: 56cm
Favourite passtime: Breastfeeding

I would love to meet up if possible to get out of the house and share some experiences.

Look forward to hearing from you all!
Mel & Ryan:flowerz:

BB78
26-05-2009, 14:00
Hi Mel and Welcome :wave: Big Congrats on Ryan. Where are you from?

VegieK
26-05-2009, 14:45

Wow - so much has been happening with everyone I can't keep up with doing personals at the moment! I'm reading each day, but don't always get chunks of time to respond. Things like keeping my house clean, or making sure there is dinner to eat and clothes clean for baby Jack seem to be taking up most of my day - who would have thought such a tiny little babe could create so much washing. My poor washing machine doesn't stop and there are days I wish I had 2!

It's great to see lots of new faces. I really enjoy having lots of other people who are going through the same things! It makes even the worst days seem ok!

Hope everyone who is sick gets better soon :yes:
Take care - Katie and Jack

MagicalLeopluradon
26-05-2009, 15:08
Hi everyone....hope you and bubs are all well.

I joined the facebook group....my email is tha_blondness@hotmail.com if you want to add me.

I had a cranky lil man from 12.00-3.00 today he usually sleeps around that time but he dozed on and off and was just grumbling and being cranky in general....he is sleeping now though......gotta get his 2 month shots next week!

AFM - I'm getting my hair done tomorrow and Mum is looking after Sebastian for me....will feel so much better after I get it done, I just feel so blah lately.

Jaspat24
26-05-2009, 15:23
Hello old friends! I'm so so so sorry i've been MIA for so long. I have been so busy and haven't even read all about everyone's babies and what's been happening. Give me a few days to catch up on everything and read through all the old posts etc and i'll pop back in and say hi!
William and I are doing well, just having some issues getting him off to sleep and have had a few minor breastfeeding issues. Instead of staying home in the early weeks we were out and about so much to doctors, LC's, friends and family, shops etc etc.
I've been roaming some other threads, in particular the ones about sleeping and settling, BF'ing and cloth nappies!
Better go and read through those posts so i can come back and chat to you all again!
Jasmine

Lilwarrior
26-05-2009, 15:40

Wow - so much has been happening with everyone I can't keep up with doing personals at the moment! I'm reading each day, but don't always get chunks of time to respond. Things like keeping my house clean, or making sure there is dinner to eat and clothes clean for baby Jack seem to be taking up most of my day - who would have thought such a tiny little babe could create so much washing. My poor washing machine doesn't stop and there are days I wish I had 2!

It's great to see lots of new faces. I really enjoy having lots of other people who are going through the same things! It makes even the worst days seem ok!

Hope everyone who is sick gets better soon :yes:
Take care - Katie and Jack
Katie I hear you!!! I could have written your entire post myself!! Two washing machines would be awesome! And then a magic fairy to fold and put it all away.

I am also having trouble finding time to get things done around the house. I had a big cry yesterday the house was a mess and I had, had absolutely no sleep. Thank goodness I still have DH at home and he got stuck into it this morning with me. Now the house looks so nice! And I feel so much better,
Poor little DS hasn't been sleeping well. He gets a sore tummy after feeding and has trouble bringing up his wind. When it hits the other end you can see its painful for him to poo and fart. Breaks my heart. Today he has cried the majority of the day, sometimes to the point of screaming and nothing i do makes it better. I put him down on our bed before on his tummy and he fell asleep in seconds sleeping through his hiccups and all. DH had put him on his belly this morning and it had settled him as well. I transferred him to his bassinet and put a rolled up wrap under his chest to lift his face away from the mattress. I have been rocking/feeding him to sleep all day and the minute i put him down on his back he wakes. I am going to put the sensor mat under his mattress just incase this continues and he will only sleep on his belly. DH said that him and his brother would only sleep on their bellys or they would cry and be in pain all night. I see the CHN tomorrow and have a few questions to ask her. I am going to look into whether he is lactose intolerant. My younger brother was really bad. He's starting to stir now better go. Has anyone got a lactose intolerant bubby???.

EMGS
26-05-2009, 21:25

I was hoping to join in this great group? I have been reading your threads for quite a while but never posted. My little girl Ella was born on the 02/04 and it has been fanstastic to read that so many other people are going through the ups and downs..I somehow thought I was the only one who didnt have the "perfect baby".

I am wondering if anyone else has a LO who hates the car? Everytime I pop Ella in she screams hysterically...literally goes red and blue and coughs to the point I think she is going to choke. It has made it really difficult to get out of the house and is starting to make me really down. I have tried toys, removing toys, putting in a tshirt that smells like me..nothing seems to work. Any advice, or anyone going through anything similiar?

Thanks ladies, I look forward to chatting and getting to know you all better through our little cherubs :wave:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-05-2009, 07:57
i think we are having some issues with breastfeeding.

right from the start i thought i had low supply, which i still believe. Bubs is 5 weeks old, she feeds every 3 hrs, sometimes she might feed afte 2 hrs...so she IS feeding regularly.

the problem is she either can't be bothered sucking, or once let down has occured she becomes very fussy and pulls on/off...

i can see that there is milk...but i think my supply is very low...
my boobs never feel full between feeds either...they don't at all become engorged overnight, if she goes 6 hrs or so...

i have tried the compression thing but that doesn't seem to work...thinking mybe the flow is slow...which i think is the case but i also don't think the supply is there.

she is getting some milk, and having wet/pooey nappies but something just tells me it isn't enough...

i persist and offer the boob but then she pulls away and cries...

with ds i fed until 4 months and got bad bad mastititis, i wanted to get at least the same...bnut unfortunately don't think we will...

i am thinking of switching to formula...i am over the guessing game, and just feel it maybe the right thing to do - i felt sooo much guilt with ds when i decided enuf was enuf (persistent mastitis, and breast refusal...the stress on both of us wasn't worth it) and i feel guilty this time cos i wanted to get the same as i got with him, at least...

DF thinks maybe we should try medication...to increase my supply.

Loulabelle
27-05-2009, 08:22
Morning Everyone,
Mel: Welcome to the group - I am new too (read the posts during my pregnancy but never posted). Our bubs are birthday twins!!!!!
Katie: I SOOOOOOOOOO agree with you about the washing, Indie is still pretty little (she was 2.85kg when born and last week was up to 3.4kg) but has very skinny legs, so her nappies don't fit that well and we often get side leakages all over her clothes (and my PJ bottoms this morning as I was feeding her - yuck).
bekibabe: I would LOVE to get my hair done too, I was meant to go the week I had Indie but then she came early and as she is not in a routine I don't kow how I would make an appointment as it might coincide with feeding times etc. Oh well I will just have to wait a bit longer I suppose. Hope you feel great after your appointment.
lilwarrior: Your poor little babe, it must be so hard to see and hear your bub in so much pain and discomfort, hope today is a better day.
EMGS: Welcome as well. Sorry I don't have any advice about the car seat, Indie loves hers, which one did you get?? We have the Safe'n'Sound Meridian.
AFM: Indie and I had a really good day yesterday, my Mum came over for a while so we took Indie in her pram for a long walk (my Mum just loved pushing the pram - it's her first grandchild!!!) and then we went for another long walk later on. Indie had her longest sleep through the night last night - I fed her at 9:30 (she was asleep by about 10:30) and woke up again at 2:30 - but I was in total agony when I woke up as my boobs were SOOOOO engorged and painful and she had such a hard time latching on, there was milk going everywhere and she was screaming cause she was hungry, we tried many different positions and finally we had success. The little bit of extra sleep I got was definately NOT worth all of that though.
So this morning I got up and got already for our second mothers group meeting (was even going to walk up to the centre) and a lady called to say our leader was sick so they cancelled today - such a pain as I was so looking forward to it and now have nothing planned for the day. They haven't given us a contact list yet so I am not even able to meet the other Mums for a coffee etc. Oh well maybe a quiet day home with lots of naps will be a good thing.

melbrown
27-05-2009, 08:29
BB78

We are in Clive Rd, Birkdale - moved here in Sept last year and have to admit between being pregnant and working full time right up to 6 days before Ryan was born I don't know the area that well and have yet to meet too many people other than our neighbours.

hippity
27-05-2009, 08:59
Yay, another cloth nappy user!

Do you use fleece covers I can't get them to work, is there some kind of trick to it?

We had to leave our postbirth ante natal class earlyish yesterday because the nappy didn't quite last two hours :(

The whole day was pretty bad, actually. DS only had 3 half hour naps during the day, and kept fussing at the breast. And I burnt the bottoms of my lactation cookies.

Jaspat24
27-05-2009, 09:09
hippity, i use MCN's (modern cloth nappies) most of which don't require a cover. check out some threads in the nappy topics section, the girls there are great and have heaps of advice and info!

bella77
27-05-2009, 10:24
Hi girls! Sorry have been MIA again - still reading posts but just never get to responding!

Big hi to all the newbies and another big hi to the oldies from the April thread :wave::wave:

Vegie - agree that it's reassuring to hear that there are others dealing with the same trials and tribulations as I am!

lilwarrier - I completely agree about not getting anything done around the house. With DH on his 8 day stint away, I literally get time to eat and do quick tidies during the few 40min sleeps DS has (or have quick sneaks on here!). Am really missing DH company at night, as when he is home he does the cooking and tidying for me. Poor little Kaiden - sounds like the same issues we were having. While our little man still doesn't like to sleep, we have hopefully gone past the tummy issues - it stopped last week so it could have been either the chiro treatments, us propping up his back so he sleeps on his side, the Brauers colic relief or combo of all of them. Still fusses when I eat something I shouldn't (eg tomatoes causes huge issues - I keep forgetting) but definitely loads better. Just hard to keep off all the foods I love that react - eg chocolate, some vegies, sauces etc.

EMGS - hmmm..sounds a bit frustrating! Have you tried taking the seat out and getting her use to it in the house with you next to her?? Hope you find a solution soon.

We're still struggling through DS not sleeping past 40 mins at a time and taking about 40 mins to settle in the first place. Off to a sleep clinic again on Friday to see if they can help. I am also having a major supply issue and both the paed and midwife have suggested I top up with formula (they commented on how lean he was as well). That definitely has helped, as much as I hate to admit it, and DS no longer screams when trying to go to sleep and he's a lot more content overall. Am still trying to increase my supply but it ain't happening in a hurry.:hissy:

Well, the little monster has started stirring again so better go get ready for the next feed.

Hope everyone is doing okay.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-05-2009, 10:29
Hi girls! Sorry have been MIA again - still reading posts but just never get to responding!

Big hi to all the newbies and another big hi to the oldies from the April thread :wave::wave:

Vegie - agree that it's reassuring to hear that there are others dealing with the same trials and tribulations as I am!

lilwarrier - I completely agree about not getting anything done around the house. With DH on his 8 day stint away, I literally get time to eat and do quick tidies during the few 40min sleeps DS has (or have quick sneaks on here!). Am really missing DH company at night, as when he is home he does the cooking and tidying for me. Poor little Kaiden - sounds like the same issues we were having. While our little man still doesn't like to sleep, we have hopefully gone past the tummy issues - it stopped last week so it could have been either the chiro treatments, us propping up his back so he sleeps on his side, the Brauers colic relief or combo of all of them. Still fusses when I eat something I shouldn't (eg tomatoes causes huge issues - I keep forgetting) but definitely loads better. Just hard to keep off all the foods I love that react - eg chocolate, some vegies, sauces etc.

EMGS - hmmm..sounds a bit frustrating! Have you tried taking the seat out and getting her use to it in the house with you next to her?? Hope you find a solution soon.

We're still struggling through DS not sleeping past 40 mins at a time and taking about 40 mins to settle in the first place. Off to a sleep clinic again on Friday to see if they can help. I am also having a major supply issue and both the paed and midwife have suggested I top up with formula (they commented on how lean he was as well). That definitely has helped, as much as I hate to admit it, and DS no longer screams when trying to go to sleep and he's a lot more content overall. Am still trying to increase my supply but it ain't happening in a hurry.:hissy:

Well, the little monster has started stirring again so better go get ready for the next feed.

Hope everyone is doing okay.

what indications were there re supply issues? As i think i am having issues...and think it has been that way from word go!

I think my last post went a bit un-noticed :no:

Tegan15
27-05-2009, 10:59
Moon as soon as i read it i've sent you a big long pm :hugs:
I might forward it onto bella to if thats ok?

Lilwarrior
27-05-2009, 11:17
We took DS into hospital last night because he was having trouble breathing and was choking on thick gooey saliva. Not long after I posted DH and I were watching TV when it sounded like he was choking on the monitor.
I ran in to check him and his mouth was full of bubbles, I tried clearing them and it took him a bit to breathe properly again. We didn't know whether to take him to the hospital or if it was a one off thing. From then on he pretty much screamed and wouldn't settles. Pulling his legs up hands going crazy scratching himself and me. So we took him. As soon as we put him in the car a stopped and fell asleep. the Dr wasn't much help as he couldn't really see what the problem was. From what I described he said it sounds like Colic. Which I had assumed from his symptoms. But I also thought he had a cold. We had the CHN app this morning and she agrees with me that he is sick. Last night he had the breathing/choking thing once, but all night he snoored and you could hear the congestion in his nose and throat. Slept most of the night on DH chest to stop him from choking again. The nurse has reccommended saline drops in his nose and euky bear rub on his feet. and try the vaporiser in his room for an hour before he goes to sleep. Another thing she said to do was express milk so i know he's getting enough as he's fussing at the boob cause he can't breathe properly. She also noticed he has alot of wind. I feel better knowing where i stand now and what i can do about it.
He's sleeping now and I am going to try and see what zzzz i can get in before he wakes up. Sorry no personals just not having time. Enjoy reading all your posts when i can

kobi'smama
27-05-2009, 11:20
Hi firstly wanted to say its me xcitedmum2b i have changed my username as i am no longer a mum2b.
Secondly I just spent my first free time in ages writting personals and i lost it all...:banghead:
I joined the facebook group as well.
So ill just say welcome to all the new ladies, look forward to getting to know you all.
AFM - Today is our first day trying a routine, i am using the Save our Sleep book as a guide, also doing self settling which is hard to listen to DS crying - 1 minute feels like an hour but it seems to be working.
Was just letting DS take the lead before and not having a routine but nights have been tough lately so decided we needed to try something new. Im scoffing down some lunch now before he wakes up. ohhh spoke to soon better go.

BB78
27-05-2009, 11:36
hi all, ive had such a rough night DD took 4hrs to settle and today she been awake since 7am n still is ... she isnt hungry, no wind ... i dont knw wat she wants.. what can a 4 1/2 week old want besides sleep, food, cuddles? :hair:
I am pure exhausted & DS isnt helping with his tantrams all day & being into everything... its raining here & my twin pram doesnt have a rain cover so I cant even take em for a walk which helps DD sleep in the daytime...

Im running on 2hrs sleep.. & I am on verge of tears,, she just wont sleep today!:crying:

Eeyore
27-05-2009, 11:42
Welcome newbies, nice to see some fresh faces. Hope you get a chance to enjoy this time in your bub's life as it really does just fly by.

I am wondering if anyone else has a LO who hates the car? Everytime I pop Ella in she screams hysterically...literally goes red and blue and coughs to the point I think she is going to choke. It has made it really difficult to get out of the house and is starting to make me really down. I have tried toys, removing toys, putting in a tshirt that smells like me..nothing seems to work. Any advice, or anyone going through anything similiar?DD was like this; screamed her head off every single time whether it was a short trip or long one. She did eventually grow out of it and now she wants to be in the car everyday.

Kobi'smama, how is the routine going? I didnt have a routine with my first, but am thinking that I need to have one this time around. Is SOS really strict, like waking bub up for breakkie?

lilwarrior, how scary for you!! Awful isnt it when you know something isnt right with your bub but the 'experts' cant find anything wrong. Grrr... Anyway, hope Kaiden had a better night. Oh and we love Eukybear rub, works a treat on my kids.

bella, great to have you back. Cat napping is a real pain and my DD did this until she turned 1 when I dropped her to only one sleep each day (then she would sleep for 3hours). It nearly killed me, so I hope the sleep school sorts out your probs.

moon, sorry I dont have any advise for you as we are formula feeding, but I hope you get some answers soon.

AFM, we have our 8week shots tomorrow. I am kinda nervous. Am having it done at the doctors so we dont have to wait around at the council sessions.

Jaspat24
27-05-2009, 12:39

Kobi's mama: i kinda tried the SOS routine but decided i didn't like the strictness of the routines. i liked the idea about a wake up time and a bedtime etc and also some of the settling techniques were good for a guide, as well as knowing how much awake time bubs approximately need for what age. I've bought Babybliss by jo ryan and its nice and gentle and uses the same techniques etc that i learnt at Ngala (sleep school). Babybliss focuses more on each feed, play, sleep cycle in babies so young. Basically they wake, you feed them, you play and then when you notice the tired signs, you wrap them and put them to bed. If they are grizzling or screaming it includes techniques that you can use to help them settle. But she encourages you to go with your instincts too.

We have sleep issues during the day. William is difficult to get to go to sleep and most times wakes after 40mins too. At night he settles easily after feeds. I've thought it might be too much stimulation during the day leading to me notnoticing his tired signs and not putting him down early enough leading to him being overtired. we are still working on him self settling but sometimes all he wants is a longer cuddle. When i first rang Ngala their advice was to get them to sleep any way you can, then when they wake up for their next feed, start the cycle over again; feed, play sleep. Sometimes if their first sleep wasn't good their awake time is only really short before they show signs of being tired.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-05-2009, 13:49
Jaspat - i did feed, play, sleep with DS and it worked a treat!! was awesum!

i am trying it this time with DD...somedays tho it goes out the window...i really need to stick to it (when FIL leaves i will be able to do it properly)

Nanay
27-05-2009, 14:38
hi all, ive had such a rough night DD took 4hrs to settle and today she been awake since 7am n still is ... she isnt hungry, no wind ... i dont knw wat she wants.. what can a 4 1/2 week old want besides sleep, food, cuddles? :hair:
I am pure exhausted & DS isnt helping with his tantrams all day & being into everything... its raining here & my twin pram doesnt have a rain cover so I cant even take em for a walk which helps DD sleep in the daytime...

Im running on 2hrs sleep.. & I am on verge of tears,, she just wont sleep today!:crying:

Sounds like me the past two days...DS2 doesnt seem to want to settle. I do feed play sleep but he cant sleep by himself. I try settling by patting, shhshshing if that doesnt work picking him up until he's settled and then put him down again..i can see he wants to sleep but as soon as i put him down again he doesnt want to go to sleep. I even give him a dummy sometimes he wants it and other times he doesnt. This goes on until the next feed (two hours) and then he'll fall asleep on the boob but once i put him down he'll either sleep for 15 minutes or not sleep at all..it only happens from about 830am to 5pm when DH comes home he's an angel go figure so he thinks its just my imagination.
As for routines, with DS1 we decided not to put them on any as DH and I can hardly put ourselves into one so it wont be fair for DS to be on one and I would forget what part of the routine is next and wing it ... DS1 turned to be well adapted as DH and I have different ways to "take care" of the kids and different routines (i.e. i give DS1 lunch before sleep he gives sleep before lunch).

Jaspat24
27-05-2009, 15:04
Sounds like me the past two days...DS2 doesnt seem to want to settle. I do feed play sleep but he cant sleep by himself. I try settling by patting, shhshshing if that doesnt work picking him up until he's settled and then put him down again..i can see he wants to sleep but as soon as i put him down again he doesnt want to go to sleep. I even give him a dummy sometimes he wants it and other times he doesnt. This goes on until the next feed (two hours) and then he'll fall asleep on the boob but once i put him down he'll either sleep for 15 minutes or not sleep at all..it only happens from about 830am to 5pm when DH comes home he's an angel go figure so he thinks its just my imagination.

Nanay: i'm not perfect and every time my DS sleeps for a long time i feel like i've fluked it. I bought a book called babybliss by jo ryan and have found it to be helpful, i just need to be more consistent and patient.
in it she says that if bubs are overtired then they need to held through all their crying and shushed and patted all the way through the light sleep until they are in deep sleep. Then you cn put them down. Sometimes i've put DS down too early and he wakes up straight away again, when i've waited til he's def in deep sleep he stays asleep. HTH

CinnamonMyrrh
27-05-2009, 19:42
Hi Everyone :wave:

I have been MIA since Sabrina was born...I am in the process of catching up on the thread here so for now I will just say that I hope you are all well and getting some rest!

btw...can someone please tell me how I can join the facebook group?

kobi'smama
27-05-2009, 20:02
Eeyore - The SOS routine starts at 7am every morning so yeah i guess you would wake them up if they arent already awake. Im still in my first 24 hours so still learning, but today DS was pretty good, we changed it a bit and included a walk to the shops in the morning before the morning sleep. After an afternoon feed before the sleep we read a book and sung some songs. So i think you can adapt it as much as you like. It is hard though because of the controlled crying but it did work today. Normally (esp. the past week) DS wouldnt sleep during the day very much, on and off and only if i was holding him or rocking him etc but today he had all of the reccomended sleeps & settled really quickly without being picked up.
Tonight is a different story.....DS went down at 7pm and we have been in a number of times to try to settle him. He hasnt cried for about 20mins so fingers crossed. Im due to express at 9.25pm and give him what they call a dream feed at 9.45pm, you need to try and feed them while they are still asleep...i dont know how im going to manage to change his bum and feed him without waking him up. But ill give it a go.

Hi Cinnamon - Long time no talk! How are you guys going? You can join the face book group by clicking on the link in the prev post that mentioned the group. It will take you to the page.

Nanay - It must be the age for it because that is exactly what has been happening to us. Last night i was sitting in the middle of the bed at 4am with him in my arms and we were both crying, i just didnt know what to do. Hopefully the same thing doesnt happen tonight.

I caved tonight and let DH order the mundine fight on foxtel, im so weak. $50 for a boxing match is silly i think but boys will be boys....

Hope you all have good nights tonight with bubs. Im really hoping i get one!

Nanay
28-05-2009, 08:31
Nanay: i'm not perfect and every time my DS sleeps for a long time i feel like i've fluked it. I bought a book called babybliss by jo ryan and have found it to be helpful, i just need to be more consistent and patient.
in it she says that if bubs are overtired then they need to held through all their crying and shushed and patted all the way through the light sleep until they are in deep sleep. Then you cn put them down. Sometimes i've put DS down too early and he wakes up straight away again, when i've waited til he's def in deep sleep he stays asleep. HTH
Thanks Jaspat. I used to rock DS1 to sleep and then it ended up him getting used to it and did not want to go to sleep any other way..i.e. waking every 15-45 minutes so I'm so paranoid now with DS2 to rock him to sleep..
Last night DS2 feed about every 1.5-2 hours. I'm hoping this is a growth spurt coz I dont know how long I could keep it up if it isnt. I dont know if he was getting enough milk from me yesterday (i pumped about 3 times the whole day and only got 100mls!) so hopefully the expressed milk is not an indicator of how much milk i have (i know its not but how can you tell being bf). I'll just have to wait till tomorrow when we have a mchn appt to get him weighed and all.

Kobismama - I know how that feels. there were times with DS1 that i just cried it out with him. The only extreme i went to was during the day, i called DH balling my eyes off coz he would not sleep and I was sooo exhausted. DH rushed home to take over while i got some much needed rest, btw DS1 had colic and did not give up his wind so was really always unsettled but kept gaining at least 500g a fortnight so we knew he was getting more than enough.

nothanksbye
28-05-2009, 08:37

well DH has been away all week and i have srvived...

DD is 5 weeks tomorrow and is sleeping 11 till 7am.

bliss i dont think i would have coped otherwise.

3 kids is hard!!!!!!

is anyone else co sleeping?

lealea79
28-05-2009, 08:52
hi my name is lea i havent been around for awhile been a bit busy with my new bundle of Blue..

i am a april mummy.. Liam was born at 12.35am on the 25th of april.. 12 days late.. he weighed 10 pound 14 n a half.. and was 59cm long.. i had a natural birth (with the help of a vac to get him out as he had shoulder displacier).. i also had an epi as his heart rate dropped quite a lot and quite often they had me prepared for a c-section after me labouring for 7 hours.. total labour time was 19 hours n 5 mins..

i am a breastfeeding mummy.. but as he still isnt back to his birth weight yet the health nurse has told me to supplement his feeding with formular 3 times a day, as he wasnt sleeping in the mornings and wanted to cluster feed every hour from me.. he sleeps much better now and he has semi got himself into a routine..

most the time he is a happy baby, and he really loves the play mat that dp brought him...

BB78
28-05-2009, 09:19
Here is the April bubhub mums link again for those on fb :thumbsup:

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=203332610692 (http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=203332610692)

Nanay: Sounds like DD down to a tee, when trying to settle she is the same, soon as i put her down she wakes.. I pick up her, rock her etc she sleeps.. put her down she wakes, this goes on till the next feed as well & sometimes she will sleep after that sometimes she wont. DH has no luck either trying to get her down.

Sabio: Wow congrats on the long bliss sleeps :thumbsup: I know how hard it can be with me having 4, sleep is what i need the most too. As I have two at school & 2 at home full time.
I do co sleep some nights if it will help DD sleep, mainly she hops into bed after 5am when DH
leaves for work as there no room otherwise lol

Lealea" wow Ds was long as well :yelclap:congrats on such a big healthy boy .. amazing great job!!!

AFM: Well I did get some sleep last night after DD went down around 1am :dizzy: after 3hrs of the "putting down, waking up" circus!! she woke up again at 4am.. and didnt go back down till hubby left & she slept in our bed, and has been awake since 8am. So i had broken sleep, but I will take anything atm lol.
I am hoping DS & DD both nap at the same time today so I can have a nap.. I am tired, weak, & this cold is making me feel crap!
Still raining here, so again no walk!!:hissy: Does not help my diet or getting DD to day time nap.

DD loves laying down & looking around, but think she is board as I dont have a mobile for her yet as I didnt find one I liked... until now.. brought the Princess one from Fisher Price (brought it online so dont have it yet) can't wait to get it for her & hope this will amuse her inbetween naps.
She loves when I lay down with her & talk to her tho:bee:

Jaspat24
29-05-2009, 10:36
Morning all!
Kobi's mum: goodluck with the SOS. I tried but i couldn't go the distance to make it work. He'd be crying and i'd be crying and he still wouldn't go to sleep.
Nanay: i'm cautious too about rocking etc to get ds to sleep cos like you, i don't want to be doing it all the time and when they're older.
LeaLea" hello again! glad to hear you and your boy are both well!

AFM: yesterday i went to an info session run by a child health nurse about getting bubs to sleep She tried it on my DS, and of course, he went straight to sleep! then when we got home, he woke up but i did what she did and managed to get him to sleep another 2 hours! She said it would take the best part of a week doing it this way to get them to sleep quicker and will sometimes take awhile but gradually get less as they learn. Its all about patience (i have very little) and consistency. PM me if you want the details. It involves no crying.

Eeyore
29-05-2009, 11:25
Hey girls just wanted to touch base with you all. Hope you are coping well. Had our first lot of immunisations yesterday. DSs lil face went soooooo red, I really hurt for him. One lot of oral liquid and a shot in each leg. Poor little fella was not happy. Unfortunately he has the 'possible' side effect of vomitting and a runny bottom so we are house bound today. The nurse says it could last up to a week :(

Also, we are officially not a newborn anymore. I had to buy infant size Huggies :crying: My baaaaaaby!

BB78
29-05-2009, 11:58
EEyore: Hugs for your lil boy :hugs:I hate vax time :( not looking forward to it.

And DD was in Infant nappies from day 1 lol newborn was too small. :)

DD is 5wks old today :eek:
I have been busy baking today for the Twins birthday tomorrow.. can not believe they are 8!! OMG! EIGHT!
I made perfect vanilla cupcakes then got busy with DS & DD and burnt the tops:banghead: Bugger!! Gotta make more now.

DD has the sniffles, but at least her poop seems to be normal atm hopefully her body is use to the formula now.

Me, I have a headache today & I am tired, DD sleep from 11pm-3am, then stayed awake till 7am.. ugh...:dizzy:

I have so much to do today so no rest at all for me today.
Hope everyone is having a good day & got fun plans for the weekend?

Cheerio
29-05-2009, 14:48
:wave: everyone.

My name is Kylie, I am also a Due in May mummy but had my little boy Zane Ethan on the 16th April. I also have a daughter, Olivia who is 21 months.

Have been reading but not much time to post as we all know! My main problem was breastfeeding this time around. Very very frustrating especially since I fed Olivia for 13 months. So I never expected to have problems this time. Anyway after heaps of issues and a fair amount of distress for me and bub we are now full time formula feeding. I have done my bit of grieving and now he and I are so much happier.

Looking forward to getting to know those I don't know already!

Jaspat I will definately PM you for that magic settling technique! Hows it been going today?

Bev I will definately join the facebook group :D and hope the boys have a fantastic 8th Birthday!!!

Hope you are all having a good day :goodvibes:

kobi'smama
29-05-2009, 14:54
Hi girl's
Quick question about the infant nappies. I thought DS should be moving into them as he has a bit of a muffin top in the newborn and he is in the correct weight range to go up but when i put one on him today you could almost see half his little butt and almost his groin. It was like they are high cut. I changed back to newborn as we had a poo incident yesterday and i didnt want another one - it looked like the poo would come straight out the sides???
Any suggestions?

Loulabelle
29-05-2009, 16:01
RE: Nappies - Indie is quite a small bub (2.85kg at birth) and has skinny legs although they are starting to put on a bit of weight. The problem we have been having is that her Newborn nappies are too big!!! We often get side leakages which means many costumes changes for her and me!!! I hoping they will start fitting soon.
Today we went to an ABA meeting about sleep - it was really fantastic (didn't really get many ideas about routines etc) but felt really reassured that Indie is sleeping fabulously for a newborn breastfed baby (last night she fed at 10:30, 1:00, 5:15) so that was good (she settles very quickly after her feeds). It was also just nice being with such a fiendly welcoming group of Mum's. The meeting was supposd to end at 12 but we were chatting and didn't leave till after 1:30. Does anyone else go to ABA meetings???

bella77
30-05-2009, 06:27
Hi ladies! Well, we've hit the weekend again! Do any of you lose track of the days?? I do - sometimes I need to check my emails received to see what the day is!!

Kobi'smamma - not sure about the nappies. We moved DS up into infants and they kind of hang a bit in the crotch area but if I pull them up they kind of fit. (The newborns were too small for him.) We have had one poo out the sides incident (all over me too!) but I didn't have the side ruffly bit on the outside as it was partially tucked in. I'm assuming that's how they are meant to be?? There's no instructions on the packet for first time mums!

Eeyore - hope your little man is doing okay after the vax and the side effects pass soon. I'm scared about going next week as DH will be away. Going to recruit a friend to hold my hand for the first time.

Jas - great news on the settling technique that works!!

BB78 - happy birthday to your little boys for today. :flowerz:

Lou - have been meaning to get to an ABA meeting and now that my supply is back I feel a bit better about going! Glad you enjoyed it - have heard they are pretty good.

To everyone else - a big hello!

AFM - we're on day 6 without DH and still surviving! Went to sleep clinic yesterday to learn more settling techniques for the day time. DS still took 40 mins to get to sleep each time and still only slept for 40 mins but will keep at it and see how we go. He slept a marathon 10 hours last night. I keep mentioning his night sleep times to the CHN (they have been around 6 - 7 hours straight for a few weeks and starting to increase) and everyone keeps saying it's okay cos he feeds so much through the day... but I'm still worried I should be waking him for a feed. He seems happy enough when he wakes, albeit very hungry.

angelsofmine
31-05-2009, 08:03
hi all... crashing the thread :laughing:.....

another old may mum here who gave birth on the 21st April instead...Was something in the may waters me thinks... My little one is 6 weeks this week and i wonder where the time has gone

we had BFing probs for the first 2 weeks and no weight gain but Nethaniel put on 350 grams in just 7 days this week so we are doing something right.. we have been co-sleeping and Nethaniel goes for a feed at 11 then one at 3 and this morning he slept till 830am..... what a champ! :yelclap:

for my 3rd he is so easy and i am feeling blessed esp after my eldest being hard work.... looking forward to sharing the journey with u all...

Eeyore
31-05-2009, 18:09
Gosh, it so quiet in here.... *tumbleweed rolls on through*
Hope you are all feelin fab and your bubs are working out that nighttime is for sleepin. Yesterday DS slept from 6:30pm until 3:00am!!! What a champ. :fingerscrossed: he remembers how to do that so he can do it again tonight. Fat chance huh??

Kobi'smama, go back to newborns if they fit. The infant size for us is a little big too, but I just wrap the tabs right around until it fits snuggly. We tried the stage 2 Aldi nappies and had the front part of it all the way up DSs chest :laughing: It looked a bit funny you couldnt tell once his clothes were on.

kobi'smama
31-05-2009, 18:15
Hope you have all had a great weekend.
Our has been good.
SOS routine seems to be working for us, Kobi slept from 7pm last night, I woke him at 9.45pm for a dream feed and he didnt wake up after that till 4.00am, fed, changed bum and then woke at 6.30am.
Wish i slept for that long...unfortunetly i was awake for most of the night with one engourged breast - got woken up saturated with milk. Was in the bathroom sink trying to hand express, lucky DS woke up very soon after this.
Although today he has been unsettled at day time nap time so we will see tonight.

DH and I are going out next sat night for the first time....MIL is minding DS at our house. I wonder how I am going to go...
Its for my BF birthday, i am looking forward to it but also a bit worried.
I have a freezer full of EBM and even bought strips that test your Breast Milk for alcohol so you know when its safe to feed again.

Better go - I can hear a block of choc and outrageous fourtune calling my name..

FluffyFaery
31-05-2009, 19:56
Hi all, sorry for lack of personals. I am reading your posts and it's good to hear that some of you are coping well and some not so well (like me!).

Anyhoo, I just wanted to know if any of you have particularly sick babies..? Bels just seems to be sick ALL of the time. We've changed formula a couple of times and on Thursday we changed to a thicker formula for reflux and although I thought it had made a difference today she's just been terribly sick all day again - and I mean VERY sick, not just a little bit of spit up but gushes of the stuff with every little urge she has. We must go through about 4 muslin cloths a day and we use them until they are soaking! A couple of my girlfriends commented that their babies aren't sick at all and I don't remember DS being this bad. I'm getting to the point where I think I should be taking her to the doctor but I know that they'll probably just tell me it's normal and send me away again. I'm just getting a little fed up of mopping up her vomit and being frustrated that I can't help her. Bottle feeders, please tell me you are all having the same issues?!!!

KiahsMum
31-05-2009, 22:52
Fluffyfaery - Sorry to gate crash but having had a reflux bub I would say take her to the doctor, they may say it is normal and she is ok but better that then keep wondering, especially with reflux. We waited for the 6 week checkup and were pulling our hair out by then! I hope she isn't reflux and just has an immature digestive system which can be a reason for lots of chucking. Also recommend using cloth nappies as they help deal with the chuck and prevent so many clothing/muslin changes! If you want to ask anything feel free to PM me.

bella77
01-06-2009, 05:58
Emma - our little man is going through something similar (but not as bad by the sounds) and I'm going to try get into the docs this morning, just to get him checked out for peace of mind. I raised this issue at both visits at the paed but he fobbed me off - but mother's instincts tell me there's something happening that's not quite right as it's now worse.

We'll see anyway but big :hugs: to you. Hope you're okay and I think if you want to get Bels checked out then I think you should - better to and be told that nothing is wrong than not go and find out later there was an issue. Well, that's what I think anyway! Good luck xox

Nanay
01-06-2009, 07:38
Anyhoo, I just wanted to know if any of you have particularly sick babies..? Bels just seems to be sick ALL of the time. We've changed formula a couple of times and on Thursday we changed to a thicker formula for reflux and although I thought it had made a difference today she's just been terribly sick all day again - and I mean VERY sick, not just a little bit of spit up but gushes of the stuff with every little urge she has. We must go through about 4 muslin cloths a day and we use them until they are soaking! A couple of my girlfriends commented that their babies aren't sick at all and I don't remember DS being this bad. I'm getting to the point where I think I should be taking her to the doctor but I know that they'll probably just tell me it's normal and send me away again. I'm just getting a little fed up of mopping up her vomit and being frustrated that I can't help her. Bottle feeders, please tell me you are all having the same issues?!!!

I would take her to the doctors, maybe a different one for a different opinion ... IMO its sounds like reflux and might need meds on the other hand, if she has been doing that since you started formula, she might be lactose intolerant as well (does she have diarrhea as well?) anyways, the best thing to do is go to a doctor. If they fob you off go to a different one until you are satisfied that she's been looked after. I do that with DS1 at times, if I'm not satisfied with the answer I get at one doctor i go to another one at a different practice and if they both tell me the same thing than I'm satisfied, but if they dont I just weigh it out which one I think is right and go with your mother instincts.
I remember when we first started taking DS1 to the doctors, the first question they ask is if I'm a first time mum...seriously what does that have to do with the fact that my son is sick??

Loulabelle
01-06-2009, 08:58
Hope everyone had a nice weekend, we managed to get out even though the weather has been pretty yucky here in Sydney. On Saturday we went to our favourite cafe for brunch with friends and then Saturday night we just had friends over and ordered pizza and played silly games (and had lots of chips and chocolates - no wonder I did not lose weight last week!!!!!) but it was great to see people but not have to worry about going out on a cold winter night or have to cook!!! I think this will be our social life for quite a while.
Emma: Indie is breastfed and chucks up a little after most feeds (I don't think she is quite as bad as Bella - poor little darling) but she does get hiccups A LOT and that makes her a bit sick, I have read that hiccups are normal and babies don't mind them but I don't like seeing her whole body jump!!!! And then she get sick with them too.

AFM: A friend is coming over soonish and we were going to walk to a lovely cafe for lunch but again the weather is horrible so we may need to drive to a shopping centre with undercover parking. I am SOOOOOO over the weather. Hope everyone has a nice day and all of the sick bubs and kids (and mummies and daddies) feel better soon.

Lilwarrior
01-06-2009, 08:59
Fluffy I think go to the Dr as well. It cert doesn't sound right. I can imagine you would be worried and it would be worth it to put your mind at rest! Or find out a solution!

Lilwarrior
01-06-2009, 09:09
but she does get hiccups A LOT and that makes her a bit sick, I have read that hiccups are normal and babies don't mind them but I don't like seeing her whole body jump!!!! And then she get sick with them too.[/quote]

I have read hiccups can sometimes be a systom of reflux

BI
01-06-2009, 09:48
fluffyfaery ~ i'd be going to the doc about it personally. It could be bad reflux. My little cousin was a bad chucky baby, turns out he had cealiacs & no doc picked up on it. Hope you get it sorted soon.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
01-06-2009, 18:15
we have our 6 week check on Wednesday and are going to be asking about silent reflux also...i believe anastasia has it...

these are the symptoms she is having

Falling asleep during feeds, and having frequent short feeds (10 minutes, max 15)

Seems to be cat napping and not self settling

Usually unsettled from 4/5pm…. til around 9pm But is unsettled between feeds.

Prefers to sleep in her rocker, or on us, over our shoulder/upright

Grunting in her sleep a lot

Arching back and pulling on/off the breast (this occurs after let down) leading to Refusing to take the breast when re offered.

Frequent hiccups

Constantly needing to suck

I will say the past few days things have settled...50% of her feeds she is a bit restless, the other feeds she is great, but she does feed within 10 minutes...she brings up a LOT of wind - and is breastfed! she gets the hiccups a lot also...poor little might. and the other things i have mentioned...
she isn't cat napping as much...she will have longer spurts of sleep...but i have been using Brauer of an afternoon, around 2pm...but by her morning feed at around 2am she is restless again, and uncomfortable!!!

so hopefully we get some answers!!

goodluck and go with your instinct...at first i thut i had a low milk supply...but then it clicked!! and i spoke to the ABA and they suggested silent reflux!

BB78
03-06-2009, 10:59
Hi all sorry I have been MIA for awhile.. I have been around reading posts etc.. I hope you & your babies are all doing better?

Fairy how is bubs lately? did u see a Dr?

Moon Thanks for putting those symptoms up as that sounds exactly like shay.. esp the hiccups she has them a lot even in the womb... & she always fell asleep on the boob & never fed long or well.. she doesnt sleeep long & always wants to be held to sleep... I will be asking the health nurse when I see her next. I was meant to go on Tuesday but was so busy with DS I missed the apointment.

AFM: its been a tough week finding out my DS has ASD, along with DD not sleeping well... ive been very emotional n tired.

Tegan15
03-06-2009, 11:24
big big :hugs: bb78. do you have lots of help and support?
Is 'the system' helping? is your son getting EI?
Your am amazing mummy for recognising your son needs help and for getting it. I've seen so many children slip through because their parents don't want to face whats in front of them.
His still so young and you'll be amazed what prpfessionals can help you put in place these days yo help him and your entire family.
I work in childcare with an EI program among other services so if you need any help or info just ket me know :hugs:

BB78
03-06-2009, 11:50
Thank You Tegan.:hugs: Whats EI?

angelsofmine
03-06-2009, 12:02
EI stands for early intervention......

My son also has ASD (diagnosed at 4yo)and it makes life busy and different..... read the story about Holland if you can... it will help immensely

i'm here if you need to vent.... lots and lots of :hugs:

BB78
03-06-2009, 12:09
:rolleyes: of course... gawd im stupid... don't know all the lingo yet...
Yes he is going into EI program. & speech therapy.

Angel I have this group on facebook for mums with children that have autism as i am finding talking helps heaps.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=89351843307

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
03-06-2009, 13:59
BB78 - i agree great that you recognized and sought the assistance needed...i too have seen children slip thru, because the parent doesn't want to face what's happening. :hugs:

I spoke with my GP today, about ana and the reflux...he said if things haven't improved in 2 weeks, at her next appt, we will look at medication for it...at this stage we are using colic relief...but today she has been REALLY unsettled...and also not really feeding well at all :no: poor might.

and my DS has croup - associated with what may be asthma! he is on steroids...today is my birthday LOL... but it has been a GREAT day!!

got to run
cheerio for now

BI
03-06-2009, 15:57
happybirthday MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt

Hope you have a wonderful day & get spoilt.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-06-2009, 11:07
thanks...i had a great day, til around 2pm...DD was very unsettled...she was for most of the day but it got worse and wouldn't settle...and DS has croupe/asthma type thing and is very stuffy, wingey and cranky - poor little poppets. DD is fine today but DS is cranky, and grizzly...and HYPO from the steroids!!!

but i did get spoilt :) and enjoyed my time with my beautiful family!!

waytogo
04-06-2009, 13:08
[quote=MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt;3771684]we have our 6 week check on Wednesday and are going to be asking about silent reflux also...i believe anastasia has it...

these are the symptoms she is having

Falling asleep during feeds, and having frequent short feeds (10 minutes, max 15)

Seems to be cat napping and not self settling

Usually unsettled from 4/5pm…. til around 9pm But is unsettled between feeds.

Prefers to sleep in her rocker, or on us, over our shoulder/upright

Grunting in her sleep a lot

Arching back and pulling on/off the breast (this occurs after let down) leading to Refusing to take the breast when re offered.

Frequent hiccups

Constantly needing to suck

PAige does all of the above and ive never even thought twice, I suppose this isa my first one so i just think everything is normal, I have her on the dummy otherwise she would be attatched to me 24/7. She doesnt always pull off the boob, ive noticed that its more often lately, she feeds for about 10-20min and will fall asleep so i wake her up, I have problems putting her to bed by herself, she likes to sleep on her belly (only let her do it when on my chest) and falls asleep alot quiicker when she is on us. If i put her down in her bassinett to sleep after she has fallen asleep on me than she wakes up within a couple of minutes. Should I be worried or are these 'normal' things for a 5 wk old baby to do??

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-06-2009, 13:38
waytogo - each bubba is individual...these very well may be normal things for your bubba to do. If you are concerned speak to your GP or CHN!

I believe Anastasia has silent reflux...due to the factors i listed, not settling between feeds and being fussy with feeding...not to mention the screaming/pain she is in...i just watched her and the way she was...when i spoke to me GP he agreed...but wants to give it 2 more week and if things haven't improved by 8 weeks then we will look at trying medication. She is on Brauer colic relief at the moment to help with wind pains....and it seems to be helping a bit...like i said to my GP she is fussing at about 50% of her feeds..the other half the time she is fine. Yesterday it was all day tho, every feed she was fussy, cranky and falling asleep!

like i said each bubba is different, and i didn't mean to startle anyone with the list of things anastasia is having...any concerns get her checked! :) :hugs:

Eeyore
08-06-2009, 19:19
Hey girls, still pretty quiet in here eh??? I guess that means you are all flat-knacker at home juggling bubs and everything else.

BB78, :hugs: I dont have any advise, just wanted to send you heaps of hugs and let you know Im thinking of you.

Hope you are all coping with the sleeping, boobie/bottle-juggling and 8week immunisations. I guess I am one of the lucky ones with bub already having dropped one night feed. The other night he even slept for a straight 11.5hours! Enough bragging, Im off to find a warm place to hide. Bloomin heck, its cold tonight!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
09-06-2009, 06:29
hi all :wave:

we are well.

it is great only getting up once at night. DD sleeps from around 8pm-between 2 and 4 am...generally 2.20am on the dot lol.

ke has taken to calling her ana bear! lol..very cute!!!

must run

Loulabelle
09-06-2009, 10:01
Hi all hope you all had a great long weekend. We are good although Indie's day time slep patterns have changed. At most sleep times she will only sleep for 40 mins (one sleep cycle) and wake up to be fed (that is about every 2 hrs). She is much better at night normally wanting to feed every 4 hrs. Last night she woke at 10:45, 2:45 and then 6:30 - which was quite good. She is six weeks tomorrow do you think she might be going through a growth spurt and that is why she is wanting to feed so much in the day??? Is anyone else having these issues with there bubs???? Up until last Wednesday she was a great day sleeper

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
09-06-2009, 10:16
apparently there is a 6 week growth spurt darl...so very well could be that!

DD usually only sleeps for max of an hour sometimes only 40 minutes! UNLESS she is snuggled in bed with me...! LOL!

angelsofmine
09-06-2009, 15:07
Loulabelle.....my son went thru his growth spurt at 6 weeks when he was eating every 2 hours and not sleeping well as a result.....

Now he is stretching his feeds out till 5 hours at 7 weeks which is awesome. Last night he had a feed at 830pm then slept till 1am...After a quick top up he was down till 6am... Its wonderful to be only having to worry about one wake up... I am looking forward though to the day he gives that up and graduates from the bassinet beside the bed to his own cot in his own room

I am fighting thru my desire to stop breast feeding even though my son is vomitiing his feeds uop and has a problem with bad colic......all the reading i have done says the reflux formula will only mask the prob so we will keep feeding the old fashioned way until :fingerscrossed: 6 mths old.... Maybe Ill learn not to roill over at night and soak the bed with my overflow.....

:confused: Does anyone elses bub drink that fast they are gulping? this is half the reason for the probs with vomiting I am sure.... Nethaniel is a greedy little urchin who doesnt want to stop incase mummy takes his lunch away:laughing: and thus he is choking on at least half of the feeds... scary stuff let me tell you....

BI
09-06-2009, 16:38
AOM ~ My DD has very similar sleep/eating night patterns to your DS. As for gulping my DD does this too. My supply is too much for her. I now do the 3am & 1st morning feed laying down to slow my flow down. This has been working really well in reducing her wind. The rest of the feeds i have her upright as much as possible & leaning into me as much as possible.

DDis having her immunisations next Monday, so not looking forward to that at all. DD also was unsettled with her feeds & sleeping at 6 weeks(last week), i put it down to the growth spurt. DD is now just over 3.6kg, she gaining weight nicely.

kobi'smama
10-06-2009, 08:04
Gee it is quiet in here isnt it - I havnt been on in over a week and was expected a ton to catch up on.
Loulabelle - The 6 week growth spurt is upon us as well, we have been following the SOS routine very nicely, DS even slept through on Sat night then sunday came... Not so much during the day but at night now he seems to be feeding at 7pm, 10pm, 1am, 4am, 7am.
Whereas before it was pretty much 7pm, 10pm, 3am, 7am.
Its amazing how just that extra feed during the night can make you so much more exhausted.
AOM - DS is a huge gulper, you can literally hear it pouring down his throat. I tried the laying down to feed thing and it worked but i dont trust myself not to fall asleep.

AFM - DH and I went out on Sat night for a friends birthday, i cried that arvo, before we left and when we got to the restaurant. Not so much worried about MIL minding him but more me missing him and him missing me. But i got over it and ended up having a fantastic time. I texted twice and DH called once - MIL said DS was really boring..asleep the whole time. This was the night he slept through as well and we werent even home to enjoy it.
We got home at about 2.30am, by the time i showered and expressed (even though i had to self express in the loo's at the bar twice..) i got to bed at about 4am. Then he woke at 5.30am...so i was absolutely wreaked! Both DH and I agreed it was fun but way to hard to look after DS after a big night so we wont be doing that again in a while. Also expensive - u forget how much it costs to go out for the night -$260 later...

Im getting so angry and our dog, he keeps barking and waking DS up! I feel terrible because before DS was here our dog was our baby now he has taken the back seat.

Hope everyone had a good long weekend.
It is starting to get really chilly now!!!
Hope everyone has managed to stay away from the swine flu, i seem to have been sick for ages and it wont pass. Does anyone know what newborns do if the contract swine flu, tried to google it but cant find it?

NonnyMouse
10-06-2009, 09:11
:confused: Does anyone elses bub drink that fast they are gulping? this is half the reason for the probs with vomiting I am sure.... Nethaniel is a greedy little urchin who doesnt want to stop incase mummy takes his lunch away:laughing: and thus he is choking on at least half of the feeds... scary stuff let me tell you....

:yes: DS does this at most feeds.... he'll gulp and choke and seem to have air trapped in his throat while swallowing, and will break away do an almighty whooping noise as he breathes in. Scary stuff, but we just take himoff thebreast, tell him to get his act together (Dan... it's suck, swallow, breathe.... in THAT order!) and put him back on once he's back to swallowing and breathing normally.

I assume he'll grow out of it, but I'm sure it contributes to his fussiess each evening.

(Hi to everyone else.... good to see a few familiar faces fromthe April preg thread. I don't check in enough on that one to have realised this was here... shame on me! ;))

Lilwarrior
10-06-2009, 14:31
Im getting so angry and our dog, he keeps barking and waking DS up! I feel terrible because before DS was here our dog was our baby now he has taken the back seat.

You need to get the movie "Marley and me out" with Jen Aniston n Owen Wilson. We watched it and related so much it was funny. I'm sure Jen's character was based on me ha ha. Although I am a few pounds heavier. it would have been nice if she added a few kgs being preg n not jumping back into her pool looking fantastic.

MagicalLeopluradon
14-06-2009, 08:54
Hey girls....been quiet in here!

Sebastian is 10 weeks old tomorow! And for the past 4 nights he has had no night feeds! Goes to bed between 7.30/8 and sleeps till 7-7.30....he wakes a few times but I dont have to pick him up he just goes straight back to sleep. And because he is such a big boy he has been on baby rice for the past 2 weeks been giving him some after his snack bottle at 5 and yesty I tried him on some organic rice and pear and he loved it! He drinks 200-260ml a bottle now cant keep him full haha! Gotta get him weighed this week, last time I got him weighed was about 3 weeks ago and he was 6kgs!

Hope all bubs and Mums are healthy, have a good Sunday all!

gnagflow
14-06-2009, 19:39

I'm new to this thread, what a great idea, I haven't been on BubHub in ages. I've had a few computer issues but all sorted now.

So, I became a mum for the first time on 17 April with my beautiful little Willow. :smiliedance:3.310 kgs and 49 cm long. She is my angel (most of the time).

I look forward to getting to know you all and what your bubs are up to.

hsvmum09
17-06-2009, 10:29
Hi girls I was originally JDM08 was invlved in the due in April group and have only just been able to get back online.

I am mummy to Brock born 24th April 09 he was 10lb 11oz I am also mum too 2 older boys Jai (8) and Dylan (5).

Hope you don't mind me jumping in.

I can't believe that my bub is almost 8 weeks old, time is flying here.

Hope everyone is well and enjoying their precious babes.

BBL Brock is stirring nearly feed time.

nothanksbye
17-06-2009, 10:35
Hi girls I was originally JDM08 was invlved in the due in April group and have only just been able to get back online.

I am mummy to Brock born 24th April 09 he was 10lb 11oz I am also mum too 2 older boys Jai (8) and Dylan (5).

Hope you don't mind me jumping in.

I can't believe that my bub is almost 8 weeks old, time is flying here.

Hope everyone is well and enjoying their precious babes.

BBL Brock is stirring nearly feed time.

oh wow we have the same!
DS is 7
DD is 5
DD2 born on the 24th april!!!!!!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-06-2009, 14:45
hey all :wave:

hoping we can get on track now...we stopped B/F today...so now i just have to get thru the next cupla days with engorged breasts! and hopefully we can get into a routine...heartbreaking and sad but the best decision for us :)

hope everyone else is well....

Ana is doing OK...been a hard cupla weeks...but now we are looking ahead!!

talk soon

BI
19-06-2009, 13:21
Hi everyone, been a bit quiet in here.

Well DD had her immunisations on Monday & it was awful. DD got so upset from the 1st needle it broke my heart. Then when the nurse went to her other leg DD watched her with this look of fear on her face. When DD got the 2nd needle she screamed the surgery down & her little face went so red. I was seconds away from bawling myself.

DD is now starting to smile & is forming a cute little laugh too. She's getting more & more alert each day. I think she's having another growth spurt as she's feeding more. DD has gone from 4/5 hourly feeds back to 3 hourly feeds & occasionally needing top ups inbetween too. I'm feeling a bit like a dairy cow at the moment :laughing:

BI
21-06-2009, 15:59
Hi everyone, just thought i'd let you all know that Newidea t.v will be focusing on sleeping all next week.
They'll be having a segment on getting babies to sleep each day.

I thought this might be of some use.

Jamaica
21-06-2009, 20:24
Is this the group that the due in april mums were in???

I cant find anyone!!!!

My pc died so I was off line for so long when I got back on I cant find my group

KeithCheggers
22-06-2009, 09:31
Is this the group that the due in april mums were in???

I cant find anyone!!!!

My pc died so I was off line for so long when I got back on I cant find my group

Right group Lee- I'm guessing you got a new PC then, hope all is well X:wave:

Jamaica
22-06-2009, 19:43
yeah imback online :smiliedance: glad i found you all :)

ill have to go back thru and get upto date. hope everyones well.

our little one has her first cough and cold. I didnt bother going to the gp the health centre nurse said not much they can do besides panadol but mite go and get her throat looked at tomorrow justto be safe.

anyone else got a bub with a cold?

bella77
22-06-2009, 20:35
Hey all - hope you're all poking along okay!

We're still getting through each day - little one is nearly 11 weeks old :eek:. Still thinks sleeping during the day is overrated but has continued with his 10 - 11 hour night sleeps so I'm happy :yelclap: Have just found out I have nipple thrush - DS doesn't have the symptoms but I have had them for nearly 6 weeks. Has anyone had this and not bubs? And if so did you treat just you or bub as well? I'm just treating myself and started bub on nilstat drops but now I don't know - the CHN I saw today said not to worry...

Jamaica - we've been through the bubby cold thing already. It was awful - I kept wanting to say - blow it out- but of course you can't. It took him nearly 2 weeks go get over. Hope your little bubba is better soon. A few girls from the other April thread are here, just with a few name changes.

Moo - hope you're doing okay on your new routine. You did an amazing job to breast feed as long as you did :flowerz:

To everyone else a big hello! I don't post much but am always lurking... :D

kobi'smama
23-06-2009, 08:49
Welcome back Jamaica! Glad you found us. (i have had a name change from xcitedmum2b)
Kobi has had a cold as well, it has been s**t, it started about 2 weeks ago and he still is sniffly and has a little cough. We have to wait for the cough to go before he can have his vaccinations.
We used the aspirator to suck his snot out, vicks around the bassinet. I took him to docs but nothing they can do.
I also bring him in the bathroom when i have a shower, sit him in his bouncer and shut everything up so the steam gets into him.
We had a few nights where i bought him into bed with us cause i was so worried cause he sounded like he couldnt breath prop.
Hope bub gets better!

Day time sleeps have been crap for us too lately, he is pretty much only sleeping in hour lots and is really hard to settle back down.
Night sleeps are okay, thought i had hit the jackpot on sunday he slept from 7pm-4am then till 7am. But spoke too soon last night he was up at 12am and 4am then 7am.

Has anyone deicded on contraception???
I am tossing up between the mini pill and the mirena. But have read so many bad things with the mirena on here, im really confused???

Jamaica
23-06-2009, 11:53
we ended up getting the doctor out on a housecall at 10pm last night. Vash refused to feed, everytime she swallowed she'd scream and then refuse to take the bottle then try again and so on, so I rang and he was here within about 10mins. She has a throat infection, he said he never saw it in a baby so young :( good news is tho she doesnt have a temp so he said its more than likely viral so just give her panadol about an hour before each feed to numb the pain and fingercrossed it will heal on its own, he said if its gona get worse it will do so really quickly so just keep an eye on her. But today she's no worse so :fingerscrossed: and she slept really well overnight so it cant be affecting her too much.

Also I dont think I told you all I had to go to the sleep clinic? It was the BEST thing I have ever done!!! She was 5 weeks old and went from not feeding properly and only catnapping and waking all night to sleeping right thru (9pm-6-7am, feed then sleep til around 10).
If anyone needs any tips I have a lot of paperwork I can receit if anyone needs it :) tho hopefully your all getting the sleep I am anyway.

KOBIsMUM - We are just using condoms as we are considering TTC again already. I also have heard a lot of bad things about the mirena but cant you take it out if its not working for you?

melissa20588
24-06-2009, 09:56
Hello ladies...i was in the due in April thread...though Isabelle arrived in May so i havent been on this thread much. Good to hear things have approved Jamacia in the sleeping and eating side, hope bubs throat gets better real soon. Its so nice to read how you are all going after things we discussed during pregnancy.
Things are going pretty good with Isabelle, she is now 7weeks old and we are getting there. Still just taking each day as it comes, appreciating our time, and struggling together. lol.
Now im just starting to think about contraception. The pill is a no go for me coz im so forgetful, we are happy with condoms but i dont know how long we will be happy with them and im so scared of them breaking coz i really dont want to get pregnant anytime soon or in the future really at all. Im considering the minera, and i guess if it doesnt work for me i can just get it removed.
Hope things get better and better for everyone! Will pop in and out of this tread to keep updated on how you are all going!

Eeyore
24-06-2009, 11:27
Hi girls. Our section is pretty quiet dont ya think?? I have been offline as our computer caught swine flu. Bugger :geek: but sneaking in some time at the library so I could catch up on all the goss.

we are considering TTC again already. :eek: That scares the life outta me at the moment even though I dont feel 'done' and we got a good one this time around :laughing: So glad that you have found us again, its nice to have you back.

Glad to see that sleeping seems to be setteling down for a lot of your bubs. Our lil man is a great sleeper and sleeps from around 7pm, dream feed at 10/10:30 and breaky at 6/7am. This week though he is having his 12week growth spurt and has woken up a bit earlier than usual for a bottle. Anything before 6am I treat as a night feed so he goes straight back off to sleep. Yay. Sorry to hear that some of your little ones have colds. Its really gross when they cant blow their nose and you see all the snot come out in their nappy (sorry tmi) Aah, the joys of mothering. Our dryer also bit the dust this week. Although I dont make a habit of using it, its really handy just to finish off the drying when I do so much washing and it stand almost zero chance of drying on the line. Again I say bugger :hair: Other than that all is going well in our little patch of the earth.

Tegan15
24-06-2009, 11:49
~waves~ hi everyone. I'm still around.
DD and I are making it up each day as it comes. Still breastfeeding, still have issues...but we're getting there.
Sleeping patterns change daily. No routine in this house :laughing:
To be honest some days are good and some days are bloody hard! Been having issues with my family but since keeping away from them things are getting better/easier as there's no pressures.
I still check in every day or two and read everyones posts but its not very busy in here!

Linda R
24-06-2009, 12:12
Hi girls! I'm back moved house had no internet .Bub was due 15 april arrived on the 13th Easter Monday. Brooklyn Anne 3340g. Been tough weeks bub has reflux and wind problems,but getting a little better. Congrats to u all. hope all is well:hugs:

BI
24-06-2009, 22:27
:wave: everyone, it has been very quiet in here.

I'm so happy with DD, she's slept through the last 2 night :smiliedance:. Now :fingerscrossed: she keeps it up.

waytogo
25-06-2009, 15:48
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7356119&l=786edcf21b&id=848950246

paige at 7 weeks i rhink... im exhausted... cat has taken to using 6000 leather couches as scratching posts im ready to open door and kick the biuttch out... dp home on tuesday yaaa then finally beer to unwind..

Threeforme
25-06-2009, 18:31
Hi there I had baby number 3 a little man on April 2nd via elective ceaser, I have 2 older girls as well. My little boy and I r off to mother baby school on Monday for 4 days which I'm looking forward too

Nanay
25-06-2009, 18:36
cat has taken to using 6000 leather couches as scratching posts im ready to open door and kick the biuttch out...
I know the feeling .. our cat used to do the same thing even with a scratching post..now he scratches our dinner chairs (they're fabric) so now you can see the snags where his claws were at...
we do lock him out when he does these things but for some reason he still does them...

Tegan15
26-06-2009, 07:32
you can but a spray that cats hate the smell of and spray it on your furniture - we ise it at home and after using it once every week adventually the cats just stop.
I just get the bottle out and they scrunch up their faces and run!
It doesn't smell to humans either

Nanay
26-06-2009, 08:03
you can but a spray that cats hate the smell of and spray it on your furniture - we ise it at home and after using it once every week adventually the cats just stop.
I just get the bottle out and they scrunch up their faces and run!
It doesn't smell to humans either
well that sounds better than what my coworker suggested when i used to whinge about it .. he told me to sprinkle cayenne pepper on the furniture (cant though we have cream leather couches and cream fabric so it will be seen and dont like the stuff i'll sneeze forever!!)

Threeforme
26-06-2009, 13:48
Well I think my manskins is getting a toothypeg he is dribbling like no tomorrow and chewing his hands

VegieK
27-06-2009, 09:59
Me too threeforme! Jack has been dribbling like a trooper for the past coupe of weeks, and we had a horrible night the other night with him up screaming half the night! It would seem that a tooth might be on its way! He has really been enjoying chewing on cold flannels (i read that suggestion on the teething forum), and the brauer teething stuff seems to be helping... anyone else have any other suggestions?

kobi'smama
27-06-2009, 12:58
Girls how old are these bubs that are getting teeth?

Threeforme
27-06-2009, 14:30
JB is 3 months old kobis he was born April 2nd

VegieK
27-06-2009, 18:15
Jack is 3 and a half months...

BI
29-06-2009, 13:14
Wow, teething already. DD is dribbling more now but i don't think she teething just yet.

DD has been sleeping through the nights for the last week :yelclap::smiliedance:. Last night i didn't wake at 3am finally, this was her feed time. DD is now 4.190kg & getting more & more alert. She's focusing more & gave us heaps of smiles over the weekend. This morning i put a Wiggles DVD on for her & she was giggling along to it.

Jaspat24
30-06-2009, 09:51
Tegan15: how are you going with the BBH MCN's?

Tegan15
30-06-2009, 12:37
Tegan15: how are you going with the BBH MCN's?

I LOVE them. So glad I brought them now :D
Do you use cloth Jaspat?
Who else here uses mcn?

kobi'smama
30-06-2009, 12:39
Thats great Blue Iris - I cant wait for the day i wake up in the morning and realise i didnt get up during the night!
DS is pretty good, he goes to bed at 7pm, I give him a dream feed at 10.30pm, he is waking at 4am for a feed then between 6.30/7am.
But this morning he woke at 5.40am which was a bit hard, i bought him in with me and we napped on and off till 7.30am.

I was wondering if DS was teething but I thought it was a bit early, he is constantly dribbling and always has his hand in his mouth.
he has been off the past 2 days, when he is awake he is really clingy to anyone that will have him. Will scream if you put him down which isnt like him. Also diarreah today twice...everywhere...
No temp or anything though.

VegieK
30-06-2009, 14:15
Tegan - we are using mcn most of the time. I use sposies on a night, as still cannot get a good combination for night time use happening. But generally use cloth during the days. I love them! We have a mix - quite a number of nappylicious, a few bumgenius and a few happy heinys. Those 3 are my fav's, but I have bbhs, haute, baby kanga and a few others. It's becomming a bit of an obsession! I cant wait for summer when Jack can run around in his cloth nappies with just a t-shirt on.. hehehe - too cute!

BI
30-06-2009, 14:22
KM ~ That's no good about DS, i know they go through a wonder week about 9 weeks old.

I'm now contemplating when to move DD into her own room. Really it's me holding it up as i love having her next to me at night. At the same time i don't want her getting so used to this that moving her into her own room becomes a major issue in that she won't settle in there.

intrusion
30-06-2009, 16:56
KM ~ That's no good about DS, i know they go through a wonder week about 9 weeks old.

Ha ha I just read this and it seems they have a name for every week :)

Jaspat24
01-07-2009, 11:27
Tegan & VegieK: i use MCNs all the time and LOVE them! no need to worry about running out of disposables etc. i use the BBH bamboo fitteds with a wool cover at night and only change if he poos and they 12-13hours!
Kobismama: could he be teething? or the teeth moving under the gums? William's been really crotchety the last two days to the point where he'd attach but come off screaming after 2-3secs, so i let him chomp on my finger for a minute or two to relieve the pain and then he fed. also he's been spewing curdy yellowy spew and his poos are gross and smelly.
remember if you're worried you can always call the aba for advice!

Nanay
01-07-2009, 12:38
Thats great Blue Iris - I cant wait for the day i wake up in the morning and realise i didnt get up during the night!
I was wondering if DS was teething but I thought it was a bit early, he is constantly dribbling and always has his hand in his mouth.
he has been off the past 2 days, when he is awake he is really clingy to anyone that will have him. Will scream if you put him down which isnt like him. Also diarreah today twice...everywhere...
No temp or anything though.
Sometimes when Shaun sleeps for 6 hours i actually wake up and think did i get up earlier? nah.. should i go back to bed or wait for him to wake up.. but as soon as im settled in bed is when he will wake up.
Shaun had been having diarrhea today as well..he's had three nappy changes within one hour and been dribbling lots too..loves to put his fist in his mouth as well .. i was thinking he could be teething or as pp said teeth moving... like i told DH i could handle diarrhea more than vomitting at least diarrhea is contained in tthe nappy. I was also wondering if its the side effect of the rotavirus oral vaccine they said he could have diarrhea/vomitting upto one week after its administere, and its only one week now...

kobi'smama
01-07-2009, 15:16
Blue Iris - DS has been in hit cot at night for about a week. he was fine. We got a good monitor - one of the sound and movement ones. I started him off in it during the day at every sleep for about a week before we put him in at night.

I met up with some ladies that we did antinatal with today and one mentioned that 9 weeks is when bubs get their saliva glands......hence dribbling???

waytogo
01-07-2009, 23:51
teagan - i use cloth nappies, i got given a couple of MCN but i never get around to using them too often. Everyone thinks im mad for using cloth but i dont see what is so hard about it.

BI
02-07-2009, 10:06
KM ~ I'm going to a MG that's starting next week. I think most of my antenatal group will be there. Be good to meet everyone's babies.

Nanay ~ It could be a reaction to the immunisation, you never know. It's amazing how bubs seems to be fine until the moment you're settled. It's the same as how they start crying the moment your'e about to eat too.

AFM ~ I started putting DD in her cot yesterday for day sleeps. DD didn't get much sdleep yesterday though. She'd fall asleep & as soon as i put her in the cot would wake up :rolleyes: I made the mistake of not wrapping her though, i don't always wrap her for the cradle during the day with no probs. This morning i wrapped her & put on her sleeping baby cd & stroked her head till she drifted off to sleep. So far it's been a success & she's been asleep in her cot for a good hour :smiliedance:

Yesterday morning i had DD in her rocker, she suddenly started playing with her donkey rattle i have on there. DDstarted to repeatedly hit the rattle with her hand & was gurgling/laughing with delight. It was just gorgeous to watch, i had a proud mummy moment. Then this morning she gave me a mummy reality by waking up & giving me an exsplosive nappy to change at 7am, ewwwwwww.

Eeyore
04-07-2009, 20:19
Hey girls :wave: Its been quite a while since I was here cos we have been without a computer (lord I felt naked :laughing:) Anyhoo, glad to hear that things are working out for everyone and that all your bubs are doing well.

Girls how old are these bubs that are getting teeth?

No temp or anything though.Bubs can teeth from anytime really cos the baby/milk teeth are sitting just under the gum. Some bubs can be born with teeth. The most common time for teething is from 6months but can sometimes wait until 10months. Neither is an issue, it just means that if they teeth earlier, their second teeth usually come through earlier and vise versa if they teeth later. IYKWIM.

DS is doing really well, hitting the 3month mark last Thursday. He has already hit the 6.6kg mark and we are thinking of giving up the dream feed. Bit nervous about that but excited to be able to have an early night. Last week he had his first giggle which had me in stitches. It was so cute.

How are your babies adjusting to tummy time? DS likes it for about 3minutes at a time and is getting quite a strong neck, loving to have a sticky nose at what his sister is doing.

Anyway, keep enjoying motherhood and have a good weekend.

kobi'smama
05-07-2009, 12:42
DS is doing really well, hitting the 3month mark last Thursday. He has already hit the 6.6kg mark and we are thinking of giving up the dream feed. Bit nervous about that but excited to be able to have an early night.

Eeyore - DS is 10 weeks and on Friday night I decided not to give him the dream feed, I was the same nervouse etc but it was good, he goes to bed at 7pm and woke at 4.40am and I gave him a feed then, then he woke at 6.40am to start the day. I was stoked - I went to bed at 8.30pm and had a good sleep (did wake up a few times and go in and check on him even though we have a monitor...)
Last night I did it again and he slept from 7pm to 3.15am then had a feed and woke at 6.40am again.
Ill see what he does tonight im just hoping it isnt going to get earlier and earlier - if it is before 3.30am tonight may have to go back to dreamfeed.
But give it a go and see you might be pleasently surprised - got nothing to lose!
Let us know.

Eeyore
08-07-2009, 11:48
Have put off dropping the dream feed just now as DS has just had a pavlic harness fitted for his hip dysplasia. I dont want to have too many changes at once cos we cant swaddle him anymore either. However, I am reducing the amount I offer him at the dream feed and he seems to be ok :fingerscrossed: so far.

Kobi'smama, how did DS go after no dream feed the other night? Hope he didnt wake up too early for ya.

kobi'smama
09-07-2009, 08:03
Have put off dropping the dream feed just now as DS has just had a pavlic harness fitted for his hip dysplasia. I dont want to have too many changes at once cos we cant swaddle him anymore either. However, I am reducing the amount I offer him at the dream feed and he seems to be ok :fingerscrossed: so far.

Kobi'smama, how did DS go after no dream feed the other night? Hope he didnt wake up too early for ya.

How is DS adapting to the harness?

We have been going really good, havnt done dream feed since last Thursday night I think and he was varying between 3am-4.30am then last night hit the jackpot, he didnt wake up till 5.20am. Then fed and changed and back to bed till i woke him at 7. the down side to that is by the time ive put him back down DH is up getting ready for work and wanting to chat so I just ended up getting up at about 6.30am but still stoked!

Jaspat24
09-07-2009, 16:14
Kobi'smama: are you still doing save our sleep? William is waking up twice a night for breastfeeds, first between 11 and 1am and second between 3 and 4am. I'm considering doing a dreamfeed but when i tried it awhile ago, he still woke up at the same times. Also i can't stay up that late to do it. I'm in bed by 9.15pm most nights. Also William's last feed uis at 6.30pm and then i express at 8.30pm. I freeze this cos i have to go back to work soon and really want him to have breastfeeds or EBM only. Occasionally i defrost some and let DH feed DS if he wakes before DH goes to bed.

kobi'smama
10-07-2009, 17:13
Hi Jas - Yeah we are still following the SOS routine. When we first started the dream feeds DS was waking twice for about a week or so as well. Then dropped down to the dream feed at 10.30pm and he would wake at about 3am for another and then i would wake him or he would wake around 7, i always start the day with him at 7 regardless if he woke at 5 or what.
I dropped the dream feed last thurs, the first night we dropped it he slept from 7pm till anout 3am then had a feed and woke at about 20 to 7.
This then altered from waking at 3 to 4.30am for a few nights, sometimes back to 3ish.
Last night he slept from 7pm till 5.30am - i feed him change him and back to bed till 7am. :fingerscrossed: thats what happens tonight. With the way he is going im hoping give it a few more nights and he will be sleeping from 7 to 7.
I use to set my alarm for the dream feed cause i couldnt stay up either. Earlier I was expressing at about 9 too which sucked. I wanted a freezer full of milk as well. (going back to work 1 day a week next month till Nov when back to full time and to enable DH and I to have a night out occasionally).
Now I express if DH gives DS a bottle so im missing a feed or if im trying to build back up stock of EBM.
Kobi's last feed is at 6.15ish, then bum change and bed at 7.
Feel free to PM me if you need anything.

Tegan15
12-07-2009, 16:49
VegieK waytogo and Jaspat - I'm glad there's three more mcn users around here :)
I love them...I'm addicted :laughing:

What do you all use?
I use mostly bbh bamboo fitted.

angelsofmine
12-07-2009, 20:21
me me me :yelclap:

I use modern cloth as well...a few cushie tushies, a few BBH, some itti bittis and the rest I have made myself......this child is number 3 clothes full time..... My daughter is already asking me to teach her how to sew so whe can make them when her children come (she is only 5 :laughing: )

Nothing like a bubs bum all wrapped up and soft in cloth is there? and its so easy... my kids all had rashes from disposebales so cloth was it and I am so glad I did.....

VegieK
12-07-2009, 22:03
Hi hi!
Hope you are all doing well. As per usual I mange tor ead mot posts, but not reply. Bubba has his next lot of needles tomorrow, so Im not looking forward to that :no:

As for MCN - we have a big selection to choose from! I prefer the nappylicious, bumgenius and happy heinys. Have foudn the happy babes to be very simialr to bumgenius and cheaper so like them! Have a couple of BBH, a baby kanga, uhmmm... and a few others. I'm finding atm while Jack is still smaller, that the ones with velcro rather than snaps are easier to use to get a better fit. I'm still finding it trial and error and occasionally have leaks, but it is never anything too major!! I just LOVE to see a little cloth-nappied bum! I can't wait for summer to see a little bubba just wearing a cloth nappy and nothing else :laughing:

Tegan15
13-07-2009, 10:46
I also have bambooty's and happy babes :)
ohh I brought leggy's so I can see dd's cloth bum :p

angelsofmine - thats so cute your dd wants to make nappies.

Jaspat24
13-07-2009, 11:19
Hi girls! I use BBH magicalls, BBH bamboo with wool cover for night time and also bumgenius OSFA. I've just bought two medium itti bitti's and can't wait to use them! DS is a long skinny bub and is taking his time to pork up so he's still in smalls. i want to get an issy bear next cos they look so cute! the PBC expo is comming to perth in august and i've already made DH [promise i can get more nappies there cos of the specials!!!
Kobi's mama: i considered doing SOS but decided to use`the settling techniques of babybliss instead. I still try to start our day at 7 even if he only last fed at 5.30am too. It helps me to have a routine. I don't sticj strictly to certain times for his sleeps etc i just watch him and put him back to sleep when he appears ready etc. I express after the first two feeds of the day and again at 8.30pm. DS wakes twice a night to feed. I think i'm going to cut out expressing at 8.30pm and try dreamfeeding him. Do you breastfeed Kobi this feed, or EBM or formula? a lot of mum's in my mums group make this a formula bottle but i've worked so hard to breastfeed him that i don't want to muck around with his tummy and do this.
i think i'm going to find it really hard to work all day after getting up twice`to feed so while i've got the opportunity i'll try it!
i

keepingpositive
13-07-2009, 11:24
Hi ladies. My DS was due in May but arrived early on 22 April.

I'm glad to hear most of you are doing well, but I have to say I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one who's not! To be honest I don't really have anything to complain about, DS was going to bed at 6, EBM feed by DH about 10.30, feed between 2 and 4 then up around 6 or 7 .. but lately he's been hard to settle and I just don't feel like I"m coping today and knew that you girls would understand.

We are trying to teach him to self settle as he won't go down without being rocked and I am trying to get his day sleeps in his cot rather than his pram. He is still in the bassinet in our room at night but we'll try the cot once the day sleeps have been mastered.

I'm feeling hopeless today as I tried to put him down for a nap in his cot and he just screamed for half an hour. I thought he was just whinging but it turned out he wasn't tired at all and was happy to play for another half an hour. Does anyone else have trouble reading bub's signs? I'm constantly second guessing myself and it's doing my head in. EG, he wakes after 45 mins from his morning naps and I think he's hungry so he's feeding every 2 hours, but what if I'm just not persevering enough to try and resettle him and he's not hungry at all!

I'm thinking of going to day sleep school to get some guidance but I don't think I could cope with letting him cry for the 20 mins I've heard they suggest. Anyone had a good experience with sleep schools?

Thanks ladies, just needed to vent! :laughing: Feel a bit better now :flowerz:

Threeforme
13-07-2009, 14:45
Hi guys JB has been unwell & MR was diagnosed with asthma so it's been an eventful couple of weeks JB & I went to tweddle & he made a liar out of me and was so good, but after being sick he's back to catnaps and waking for his dummy every hour or 2 and is wide awake & ready to play at 5:30am I'm exausted

Jaspat24
13-07-2009, 16:13
Hi ladies. My DS was due in May but arrived early on 22 April.

I'm glad to hear most of you are doing well, but I have to say I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one who's not! To be honest I don't really have anything to complain about, DS was going to bed at 6, EBM feed by DH about 10.30, feed between 2 and 4 then up around 6 or 7 .. but lately he's been hard to settle and I just don't feel like I"m coping today and knew that you girls would understand.

We are trying to teach him to self settle as he won't go down without being rocked and I am trying to get his day sleeps in his cot rather than his pram. He is still in the bassinet in our room at night but we'll try the cot once the day sleeps have been mastered.

I'm feeling hopeless today as I tried to put him down for a nap in his cot and he just screamed for half an hour. I thought he was just whinging but it turned out he wasn't tired at all and was happy to play for another half an hour. Does anyone else have trouble reading bub's signs? I'm constantly second guessing myself and it's doing my head in. EG, he wakes after 45 mins from his morning naps and I think he's hungry so he's feeding every 2 hours, but what if I'm just not persevering enough to try and resettle him and he's not hungry at all!

I'm thinking of going to day sleep school to get some guidance but I don't think I could cope with letting him cry for the 20 mins I've heard they suggest. Anyone had a good experience with sleep schools?

Thanks ladies, just needed to vent! :laughing: Feel a bit better now :flowerz:

Hi Keeping Positive! Quite a few of us know exactly how you feel. Check out Baby Bliss by Jo Ryan; the book is absolutely fantastic!
She doesn't let them cry for more than 1-2mins at such a young age. Also she talks about the suggested amount of sleep time and awake time for their ages too. I was having loads of trouble last week and i ticked hunger off the list and it turns out i wasn't keeping him up long enough and he wasn't ready to go to sleep yet. PM me if you want to know more.

To the other girls who asked me about the 5 S's did any of you have any success with this??? I'm using this to calm DS down if he's wound up being going to bed, and then i shush and pat him to help him go off to sleep and with resettling. If i'm consistent it works!

Also Happy Babes having a sale! 1/2 price their one-size pocket nappies in a July clearance!

Threeforme
13-07-2009, 19:06
Jaspat I went to tweddle and the crying sleep soloution is for babies above 6 months with bubs under there's a whole other sleep settle solution

melbrown
14-07-2009, 08:08
Hi keepingpositive

I am also considering a sleep school. My little one is difficult to settle for day sleeps and only naps at the best of times. I can't get past the 30-50min mark.

When he wakes he seems happy and then plays for another 1.5hrs before going back down for a nap. We have gotten him to take his first two naps of the day in his bed but have to use pram/carrier or hold him for the afternoon sleeps.

He is a great night sleeper and goes down from 7pm - 5am then from 5.30am-7.15am. He goes to bed awake for both of these sleeps so is getting better at self settling.

Unfortunately we cannot get him to resettle after his nap and I end up feeding him as he seems hungry. Not sure how long to perservere with resettling.

Also I have read some stuff online which suggests that a catnapper during the day may start this at night which I am particuarly fearful of and the main reason I want to do the sleep class.

Sleep is such an issue with bubs I have come to realise.

Mel.

Eeyore
14-07-2009, 10:36
Howd'y girls, how are we all?

Last night he slept from 7pm till 5.30am - i feed him change him and back to bed till 7am. :fingerscrossed: thats what happens tonight. With the way he is going im hoping give it a few more nights and he will be sleeping from 7 to 7.
Kobi's last feed is at 6.15ish, then bum change and bed at 7.
Feel free to PM me if you need anything.
Way to go Kobi'smama :yelclap: DS dropped his own dream feed. The night before last he dropped a feed during the day cos he slept so much. I gave him a bottle at about 9:30 and he slept until 7. Last night I gave him a bottle earlier at 9 and he woke up at 7:20 this morning. I wasnt planning this, as he has had a lot of changes recently, but he is regulating himself. Its awsome!

I'm feeling hopeless today as I tried to put him down for a nap in his cot and he just screamed for half an hour. I thought he was just whinging but it turned out he wasn't tired at all and was happy to play for another half an hour. Does anyone else have trouble reading bub's signs? I'm constantly second guessing myself and it's doing my head in. EG, he wakes after 45 mins from his morning naps and I think he's hungry so he's feeding every 2 hours, but what if I'm just not persevering enough to try and resettle him and he's not hungry at all! Vent all you like :thumbsup: we all know how you feel. I cant always pick tired signs either so I tend to watch the clock. I know that DS will be up for longer after a feed in the afternoon, but I am happy to let him cry a little in his cot during nap times. Often he is in that light sleep where his eyes can flutter open and he has a little cry so when I go in to see him, he is peaceful as an angel.

Well, DS had a serious case of bumageddon yesterday. Seriously his rear end exploded and he had poop all over himself - even on his lil earlobes :barf: I had to call the orthotic centre to ask what to do about his harness as we are not supposed to take it off not even to bath him. The poor harness now has psychological issues from the horror of the poop but after a good scrub it faired ok and was re-fitted yesterday afternoon :dizzy: Sadly I fear this wont be the last time this happens. Otherwise all is good.

kobi'smama
14-07-2009, 13:27
Eeyore - you poor thing! We have had many explosive poo's - even as far as them exploding all over me and seeping through my clothes...
Thats great about the night sleep!!!

Well last night DS woke at 2.30am for his feed and back to bed till 640am so i dont know whats going on...i was hoping he would be sleeping from 7 to 7 by now but i guess i should think myself lucky that he is doing this long.

Good luck girls with the sleep schools.

keepingpositive
14-07-2009, 19:44
Well I decided not to go ahead with sleep school at this stage and have started trying to get DS into a routine and self settling by myself first. Self settling is going to be the first step, then I'll try getting a routine happening.

DS again decided he didn't want to sleep tonight, so I persevered with leaving him to cry for 5 long mins before going in. He then settled within 2 and has been asleep ever since (1hr so far!) I still couldn't get him to have an afternoon sleep but got 3 hours in the middle of the day. It's only the beginning but it's a step in the right direction. :yelclap:

Everything at the moment is just baby steps .. literally :laughing:

Threeforme
15-07-2009, 04:55
Keepingpositive- tweddle doesn't recommend letting babies under 6 months cry for that long when teaching them to self settle

Tegan15
15-07-2009, 09:25
Is anyone wearing their babes?
I was so so worried about self settling and all that stuff but once I let go and realised all dd needs is me its like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders. I feel more confident that what I'm doing is the right thing for dd - she needs ME.
Someone recently told me you carry your babies for 18months or there abouts - 9months inside 9months outside...so thats what I'm going to try and do :yes: and I feel empowered and good about it!
Not saying its going to be easy but to me it feels right.

keepingpositive
15-07-2009, 10:51
Threeforme - I'm just trying to follow the Save our Sleep method, which actually recommends 8 mins but I can't last that long. I only let him cry because it was more of a protest cry rather than an emotional one. If at any point I feel like he is really upset I'll be straight in to him.

To be honest, I'm not sure that I'm completely comfortable with this method either but I'm willing to give it a go for a short while and see how we go.

The uncertainty of not knowing what to do brings me to tears pretty much everyday as I don't feel I'm sticking with anything, which is making life confusing for both DS and me, so to be honest, after feeling confident about making a choice, I now just feel uncertain again.:crying:

Jaspat24
15-07-2009, 11:12
Threeforme - I'm just trying to follow the Save our Sleep method, which actually recommends 8 mins but I can't last that long. I only let him cry because it was more of a protest cry rather than an emotional one. If at any point I feel like he is really upset I'll be straight in to him.

To be honest, I'm not sure that I'm completely comfortable with this method either but I'm willing to give it a go for a short while and see how we go.

The uncertainty of not knowing what to do brings me to tears pretty much everyday as I don't feel I'm sticking with anything, which is making life confusing for both DS and me, so to be honest, after feeling confident about making a choice, I now just feel uncertain again.:crying:

Keeping posistive: i tried SOS too and found it too distressing and wasn't successful with it. Another method that i've found reaqlly gentle and easy to implement is Baby Bliss by Jo Ryan. She has a website and a book and that technique works for us. Also as an aside though my DS only sleeps for 1hour for his first morning sleep, i've tried to get him to go longer but he won't/can't. You have to listen and be in tune with your bubs and kinda go with the flow as to what tey need at certain times. Atsuch a young age i wouldn't feel happy letting my DS cry for longer than 1-2mins, although i have left him for longer when i tried the SOS routine.
Basically with my DS when he wakes we have a nappy change, then feed, play and feed again (low weight gain issue) then sleep. i go on his tired signs etc as to when he's ready for a sleep. if he has trouble getting off to sleep then i help him by shushing and patting etc. if he wakes after only a short time ie 40 - 60mins then i spend about 5mins trying to help him back to sleep. sometimes he goes back to sleep, sometimes he needs a cuddle in my arms and sometimes he's hungry and sometimes he just simply doesn't want to sleep anymore.
good luck and i'd seriously save your money for sleep school when they're a bit older and having night waking issues. i wasted $380 when my DS was 6wks old and i could've spent just $30 buying the baby bliss book which is essentially the same techniques etc.

keepingpositive
15-07-2009, 11:42
Thanks Jaspat24. Since writing my last post I've had a cry, taken a chill pill and decided to stop stressing! I'll certainly check out Baby Bliss and in the mean time I might adapt SOS so there's not so many tears (from both of us!):laughing:

Tegan15
15-07-2009, 12:01
keepingpositive: if it hurts you and brings you to tears why are you doing it?
Whats your heart telling you to do?

Don't do what you think you SHOULD be doing - stupid f*cking should books and should people what do they know? They don't know you or your babe :hugs:
I hope you find a way of parenting that makes you feel strong, confident, content and proud
No offence to people who use the SOS but there so no way in hell I could follow that. I feel physically ill at the thought of leaving my babe cry so I don't use it. Just because it works for some people doesn't mean it has to work for you.

Jaspat24
15-07-2009, 12:06
Thanks Jaspat24. Since writing my last post I've had a cry, taken a chill pill and decided to stop stressing! I'll certainly check out Baby Bliss and in the mean time I might adapt SOS so there's not so many tears (from both of us!):laughing:

I found the concept of starting the day at 7am and bedtime at 7pm great and have take that from SOS and applied it to us. Its loose though, like days where he wakes at 6am, i just start the day then. Also i've just introduced the dreamfeed too and he wakes only once about 3-4am. He was always waking twice a night for feeds but the first was between 11pm and 1am and i was so tired feeding him. I've just moved that feed forward to suit me a bit better.
Try looking at not the whole day as one big routine but at each feed, play sleep cycle. Look up approx awake times for your bubs age and tired signs and be guided (not ruled) by those when you are going about your day!

Tegan has made a few good comments too, like wearing your baby. I remember a friend and i walked for 2 hours aroun the shops one day wearing my DS just so he could get one good sleep. I was so tense etc that he was picking up on that tension and then not settling. Also to do what your heart is telling you to do.I remember crying outside the door whilst my baby was crying in his room and i copped a lot of abuse from a BubHub member when i posted about it. But its all part of the mothering experience. Tegan says don't read the books, don't listen to the people and that's great advice. some though have good info in them like approx lengths of awake time for certain ages and tired signs.

keepingpositive
15-07-2009, 14:52
Jaspat - I too like the 7 to 7 and dreamfeed ideas and will be sticking with those.

Just to proove me wrong, DS has been asleep for nearly 4 hours!! I also managed to get a 20min catnap out of him this morning.

Do you think it matters if he has one big sleep and a nap rather than 3 smaller ones? I guess it doesn't really matter as long as he's sleeping!

Jaspat24
16-07-2009, 21:04
Just a quick update on my DS's progress. I managed to get an appt today with the GP/obs who delivered him and i talked about my concerns that DS has reflux and told him the symptoms etc; he agreed and gave me a script for losec for my DS. I also went over my concerns about his lack of weight gain, and he was very concerned. I told him of the new plan to feed play feed sleep and express and top up with EBM wherever i can. so far the last three days i've breastfed DS 9-10 times in each 24 hour period (i'm buggered!). The doc said that when we go back in 2 1/2 weeks for his 4mth needles that if DS hasn't put on enough weight, the needles will be delayed and that i will have to give DS supplements. I have racked my brain for days and thought of all the possible options etc etc and i've decided that i will feed as much as i can (feed, play, feed sleep) and offer EBM top ups. I will use all my frozen EBM first then formula (unless doc oredrs formula top ups straight up).
I'm just so so so mad at the child health nurse who kept saying "he's fine, he's a breastfed bub, they put on weight differently etc, don't worry". I KNEW something wasn't right, i just knew it. My bub is not that bad cos he looks so happy and alert, just really skinny. The doc said that even though he hasn't actually lost weight, he is treating my DS as though he has cos of the really small weight gains (110gms in the last 4wks). Oh and he's also sending DS for an abdominal ultraound to rule out pyloric stenosis which affects the food moving from the stomach into the intestines to be absorbed.
I'm weighing DS tomorrow and seeing the lactation consultant on monday so i really hope that the extra feeding i'm doing has started to work.
Please pray for my DS or send us lots of positive thoughts; we need it
Jasmine

kobi'smama
17-07-2009, 13:49
Please pray for my DS or send us lots of positive thoughts; we need it
Jasmine
:fingerscrossed: Im thinking of you!!!!!

Tegan15
17-07-2009, 16:30
oh Jasmine. I'l be thinking of you and your babe :hugs:
sending weight vibes :goodvibes:

Do you know anyone else that bf that has a lot of milk? Would you consider asking them to donate if need be? You'd need/want blood tests to check for disease of course but that may be a better option then formula while your trying to build your supply.

Jaspat24
17-07-2009, 21:55
Do you know anyone else that bf that has a lot of milk? Would you consider asking them to donate if need be? You'd need/want blood tests to check for disease of course but that may be a better option then formula while your trying to build your supply.

Tegan: yes i have thought of this and of asking a mum in my mums group who has heaps of milk if she'd mind donating. But i know DH will not like it and in reality DS is 15weeks today so nearing the time to start solids so if i'm really persistent i could keep my milk supply going even if i have to supplement so then when he is started on solids, he could end up being on solids and BM, and not formula. I'm happy now to give him formula though, i wasn't before but now i'm ready to do it when and if it needs to happen. I'll breastfeed first then offer EBM top-up until they run out then formula tp ups (unless medically directed otherwise)
I'm just so so so mad at the child health nurse still. I thought things weren't quite right but my DS was so happy and alert and playful and smiling and laughing ad would settle reasonably well and would have long day sleeps etc. I think his reflux has just flared up big time and all the acid and spewing has started to really affect his happiness.
Oh well, i'm ready for anything - BRING IT ON!

Tegan15
18-07-2009, 10:15
So other then a slow/no weight gain does your ds have anyother problems?
Just seems strange if his so happy content and sleeping that his not OK. What percentile is he on?
I'd just hate for you to give formula cause I know from personal experience how hard it was to get rid of it and for me it actually made dd more unsettled it turns out - once I stoped giving it to her she was happier.
If you got donated milk it would be given the same as you'd give formula so it wouldn't be replacing your milk.
hmmm I can get some info on why donated milk is better then formula for your husband if you like?

Jaspat24
18-07-2009, 15:14
So other then a slow/no weight gain does your ds have anyother problems?
Just seems strange if his so happy content and sleeping that his not OK. What percentile is he on?
I'd just hate for you to give formula cause I know from personal experience how hard it was to get rid of it and for me it actually made dd more unsettled it turns out - once I stoped giving it to her she was happier.
If you got donated milk it would be given the same as you'd give formula so it wouldn't be replacing your milk.
hmmm I can get some info on why donated milk is better then formula for your husband if you like?

The last two weeks he's been way more unsettled and only sleeping for short bursts. He's got reflux and keeps spewing so much. I finally got it diagnosed and started the meds for it last night. I'm also giving him some infacol wind drops before a feed so hopefully he can bring his wind up without bringing up so much milk. He was happy spewing but then it became really painful for him.
The motilium and fenugreek are working i feel so huge. I'm now feeding when he wakes and offering him another feed before putting him to bed. I just hope that the quality of my milk is good enough for him to grow on without supplements. Also i have a freezer full of EBM that i'll offer first if the doc agrees if it gets to that.
Tegan he was born 3940gms (just above 50th%) and is now 5120gms (dead on 3rd% line) :crying:
You know, i honestly thought we were 'sweet' and all was good. I was concerned about his slow weight gain but if you saw him etc you see a happy, healthy, alert, active little baby. He'd sleep an average of 11 hours a night and get about 3-4 hours during the day. So how can this happen???

Tegan15
18-07-2009, 18:59
you poor thing! your doing everything you can! Hopefully you'll see a good weight gain soon now your controlling the reflux. :fingerscrossed: thats what the problem is.

VegieK
18-07-2009, 20:47
Jasmine - hope everything picks up for you. What a horrible few weeks you have had. Whilst ds hasn't had weight gain problems, I can sympathize on the reflux front. We had a horrible first 7 weeks with Jack's reflux, but the medicine really helped us - so I hope you notice the difference like we did.

And just for thought ( I know how determined you are to continue to BF, but just my experience) - I BF Jack until 12 weeks. I wasn't eating very well myself, as anything I ate upset his tummy despite eliminating pretty much everything. So finally, in consultation with the paediatrician, changed him to a HA formula, and we noticed a MASSIVE positive change in him again. Just another story for you - take it or leave it! I like to hear everyone's opinions and stories and then decide what I am going to do......
:goodvibes: to you and your family

Jaspat24
19-07-2009, 13:57
Jasmine - hope everything picks up for you. What a horrible few weeks you have had. Whilst ds hasn't had weight gain problems, I can sympathize on the reflux front. We had a horrible first 7 weeks with Jack's reflux, but the medicine really helped us - so I hope you notice the difference like we did.

And just for thought ( I know how determined you are to continue to BF, but just my experience) - I BF Jack until 12 weeks. I wasn't eating very well myself, as anything I ate upset his tummy despite eliminating pretty much everything. So finally, in consultation with the paediatrician, changed him to a HA formula, and we noticed a MASSIVE positive change in him again. Just another story for you - take it or leave it! I like to hear everyone's opinions and stories and then decide what I am going to do......
:goodvibes: to you and your family
Hi VegieK, thanks for your reply. I've decided that if with the meds for DS and for me and the increased feeding etc don't result in enough of a weight gain i will use formula to top up. I've screwed him around enough as it is, i've done it my way and it hasn't worked so if the doc suggests formula, then i'm quite happy to do that now.
On the other hand, i've noticed a MASSIVE improvement in DS already. He's no longer screaming in pain, his day sleeps are now 1 1/2 hours or more, he's not spewing as much. I'm feeding when he wakes and offering aother feed before puuting him down to sleep. I actually think we're on the right path (finally after 15wks) and i hope that its enough to see some good weight gains between now and the next doc's appt on the 3rd August.
When i see the LC tomorrow i'm going to take a big list of concerns, issues and questions and ask if i can see her again on thurs and the following monday. I'll mention the doc's comment on formula top ups and hopefully she'll give me so much support that little william will grow on booby juice alone!
If i hadn't left it so long and he wasn't so underweight i'd really challenge the doc about using the formula top-ups, but i did leave it so long so i feel i owe it to DS to follow the doctors instructions.

kobi'smama
19-07-2009, 17:06
Congrats on the improvement Jas :yelclap: hope it continues!

teen17
20-07-2009, 07:16
hi all

hope all is well with u ladies n all the bubs!

DS2 is 11.5wks old already (12wks thursday) :eek: growing so fast! he weighs 6.95kg now!!

as u can see my ticker is a lil different :D
im pregnant again! (we planned it this way - i want small age gaps and hav family history of early onset menopause early 20s) :smiliedance: so happy.
im due 31st march 2010.

scared tho lol. 11month age gap :eek: very scary but exciting still :yes:

just thought id let all kno cos im so excited i hav to tel everyone *im crazy LOL*

BBL! hope u all hav brilliant day today :flowerz:

kobi'smama
20-07-2009, 09:03
Wow Teen - Congratulations!

I couldnt possible imagine being pregnant again now with DS being so little - You must be one strong woman!

We are going to wait and have about a 3-4 year age gap, financially and i guess emotionally that is good for us.

Hope your preganancy goes well!!

Eeyore
20-07-2009, 15:21
Hey girls, just thought I would drop in and say hi. "Hi!" :wave: Its been ages since I posted but have been reading from time to time.

Jaz, so glad to hear that you are finally getting the right advice and things are improving.

Teen17, wow congrats :yelclap: Hope you are feeling well and that you have a great pregnancy.

ASM, DS is doing great and sleeping really well. He has dropped his own late bottle and is now on just 4 feeds per day. He is coping OK with the harness for his hip dysplasia but I hate it; makes changing his nappy (especially poopy ones) fiddely. Ne'ermind, only 4 1/2 weeks to go. Have a good week ladies :thumbsup:

Jaspat24
20-07-2009, 18:53
Congrats Teen17, thats awesome news! good luck. Hi Eeyore, nice to hear from you!
Ok so we saw the LC today and DS has gained 30gms in one week YAY! (it was only 20gms in 2 weeks before).
She said to keep doing as i'm doing and also to offer 50ml EBM top-ups 3x a day to stretch his tummy. So feed, play, feed (BF then EBM) sleep then i express 10mins each side. I hope this works. So i'll do this for a week and review again next monday. She also said that the doc's comment on delaying his 4mth injections were silly and his needles should still be given regardless. He has spewed a bit more today. its really disheartening. If he wasn't a slow weight gainer i wouldn't be as worried. He's also grown in length and in head circumference. He's actually only a little behind in weight considering he's fully BF.

MyTwoBlue
21-07-2009, 11:31
im still alive :laughing: and the boys too :D

kobi'smama
21-07-2009, 19:45
Hi Angeliz - hope u guys are well.

Jas - Thats great news!

We went and got weighed today and Kobi is 6.5kg, has put on 500gms in 2 weeks so thats good. The nurse said that was really good considering he is fully breastfed. Why is this? Do bubs normally not put on as much weight on the boob then bottle?

Jaspat24
21-07-2009, 21:43
Hi Liz, good to hear all is well!
Kobismama: apparently breastfed are supposed to put on about 95-125gms a week, on average. So thats great news about Kobi! Can i ask, what's your secret?!?

Nanay
22-07-2009, 07:51
kobi'smom - click here (http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/growth/weight-gain-metric.html) .. its a chart of "average" weight gains for bf bubs...

Tegan15
22-07-2009, 09:06
also look here http://www.who.int/childgrowth/standards/weight_for_age/en/index.html
WHO's perntiles are different to whats in your mchn book.

kobi'smama
22-07-2009, 11:38
Thanks guys for that, ive had a look & i guess we are on the right track.

Jas - I dont have any secrets really, we demand feeded until DS was about 2 weeks then moved to routine.
I had loads of trouble at the start, used nipple shields for the first 6 weeks. Had a LC come out twice which was the best thing i ever did.
When he was little he had bad wind cause he was a piggy and would gulp so quick then get pains. But now he is good, i pull him off once he is being lazy and stoped sucking give him a burp and offer again. I dont let him just keep it in his mouth and not drink though once he is done thats it i pull him off so we do a full feed in about 10 mins - i guess he knows its down to business. If he has emptied one side out i offer the second, sometimes he takes it sometimes he doesnt.

You are doing a great job with Bub i think you are wonderful. The issues you and Tegan have had with BF and you still push through without compenstating the health of your babies is fantastic. I was so close to giving up during the first month, cracked nipples, bleeding, mastitis etc but now the time Kobi and i have together feeding warms my heart so much sometimes i nearly cry (silly hey. ) I hope i can continue with it even though I am returning to work.

intrusion
23-07-2009, 10:24
Hi girls I haven't posted in a long time but been reading. I need a little help with night sleeps. Ds is waking 5+ times a night. Has anyone else got this problem? I am running on nothing. I have tried a dream feed and it made no difference

Tegan15
23-07-2009, 17:27
geegee - are breast feeding or bottle feeding? if bf can you feed lying down in bed?

intrusion
24-07-2009, 07:32
I am breast feeding and yes I lay in bed and feed him. Same thing last night woke at 2am and evey hour after. He's moving around in bed alot as well. Dh and I wonder if it's his teeth moving about. When he wakes I am finding it really hard to go back to sleep. Any one elses bubs teething what symptoms do I look out for?

Tegan15
24-07-2009, 09:38
Do you leave your breast expossed for him to have access when he wants? Thats what I do and just sleep away :cloud9:

How old is he?

Teething - red cheeks, dribbling a lot, chewing on things

Jaspat24
24-07-2009, 10:42
GeeGee: how old is your DS? is he going through a growth spurt maybe? Does he sleep in your bed all night or do you only bring him in to feed him, and then put him back again?
There's a few things you could do but i'm really anxious to suggest anything just in case its not the right advice. Stick with Tegan, she'll help heaps!
Tegan, i finally checked out the Kellymom website; its so awesome! it has heaps of info and it all makes sense!

intrusion
24-07-2009, 14:21
He is 12 weeks we have him in a cot in our room he doesn't sleep with us at all. I am to scared to sleep with him in case he gets smothered by the sheets or I roll on him. I know I wouldn't but I picture it in my mind n just can't sleep.

BI
24-07-2009, 15:57
Hi everyone, i haven't posted here for a while. I'll do persies another time. I do need some help please.

Since DD has been sick (she had a mild UTI last week)her day time sleep routine has gone to crap. DD will happily fall asleep in my arms (she got very clingy with me) but as soon as i put her down she'll wake. The poor little thing is overtired & needs sleep, she'll do huge yawns, have heavy eyes & grizzle constantly. I've tried wrapping, rocking her, shhing her, rubbing her belly/chest & gently stroking her on her head. She also has the dummy when going to sleep. I also play her "Sleep baby" cd when she goes to sleep.

Before she got sick she'd have a good sleep about 9am & 1.30pm for up to 2hrs each time. At night she sleeps no probs at all. I know i'm lucky in that respect that it's her day sleeps that are the problem. I just hate seeing her so upset because she's so tired & can't re-settle on her own from it.

Any suggestions are very much appreciated.

Tegan15
24-07-2009, 17:02
Jaspat - I'm really glad you found that site useful. It made me feel 'normal' if there's such a thing! I still use it!

GeeGee - If you feel comfortable doing it when your feeding just put your arm above his head so you physcaially can't roll onto him. There is a 3 month growth spurt so maybe its early? If you have a partner can you ask them to sleep in another room for a few nights so you have more room to co-sleep - therefore maybe feeling a bit more confident in co-sleeping.
Otherwise do you wrap him? That might help. Is he too hot or too cold?
Is he upset? Does he want to feed?

Blue iris - I'm probably not much help here because my advice as a mum is to wear bubs ;) Thats what I do - I have a wrap and a mei tai and thats where she sleeps during the day.
But I'll put on my childcare worker hat now and suggest the following
Put a t-shirt that smells like you in her bed around her head.
Have you got a partner that can try for you? Sometimes a change of person makes a huge difference because they can feel your anxiety.
They're much smarter and more sensative then you'd ever believe!
Have you tried a pram?
Otherwise just keep doing what your doing and adventually it will work....

Jaspat24
24-07-2009, 18:19
Hi everyone, i haven't posted here for a while. I'll do persies another time. I do need some help please.

Since DD has been sick (she had a mild UTI last week)her day time sleep routine has gone to crap. DD will happily fall asleep in my arms (she got very clingy with me) but as soon as i put her down she'll wake. The poor little thing is overtired & needs sleep, she'll do huge yawns, have heavy eyes & grizzle constantly. I've tried wrapping, rocking her, shhing her, rubbing her belly/chest & gently stroking her on her head. She also has the dummy when going to sleep. I also play her "Sleep baby" cd when she goes to sleep.

Before she got sick she'd have a good sleep about 9am & 1.30pm for up to 2hrs each time. At night she sleeps no probs at all. I know i'm lucky in that respect that it's her day sleeps that are the problem. I just hate seeing her so upset because she's so tired & can't re-settle on her own from it.

Any suggestions are very much appreciated.

Hi Blue Iris: My only advice would be to pick one method that you want to use to help her go to sleep and stick to it. Be really consistent and re-teach her how to go to sleep. Also, make sure its not hunger or dirty nappy (although i'm sure you are checking) and make sure she is up for the 'recommended' length of time ie tired enough for bed. I personally recommend babybliss settling technique. hope that helps, Jasmine.

GeeGee: i think it might be a combination of growth spurt, and maybe he's listening to yours and your partner's sleeping noises and they are rousing him? maybe he's ready for his own room? Not sure about your specific sleeping arrangements though. Is he getting enough sleep during the day? is he getting enough to eat? if not sleeping well during the day, try some settling techniques cos with most babes, one good sleep begets another IYKWIM. If it could be hunger, then try to boost your supply by checking out kelly mom website (sorry don't know how to do links).

BI
24-07-2009, 20:33
Thanks girls for the suggestions. I find i use rubbing her belly/chest the most to get her to drift off. DD woke after 30mins sleep, i just went in did the belly/chest rub for a bit then left her room. DD eventually went back to sleep on her own.

Today DD was wide awake around her usual nap time, after her feed she was bright eyed & smiling/laughing at me. When i put her in her rocker she then got instantly grizzly. I then decided it was bed for her whatever it took.

intrusion
25-07-2009, 06:55
Guess what ds slept til 3 &7 am. Whoo hoo! I didn't change anything so maybe it's just like u said a growth spurt! Jas I'd love to have him in his own room but we have a dbl story home I would have to go down stairs to his room n I don't have a feeding chair. I am putting him in there during the day n thinking after winter he can go down there. ATM it's just so cold down there. Thanks girls for all your help if it starts happening again I will certanly take your advice. Tegan I think u have missed your calling... You should look into LC or helping new mums n get paid for it!

Tegan15
25-07-2009, 08:31
Thanks Gee Gee.
I've worked in child care for 5 years so that helps a bit - too bad it doesn't help getting my own dd to sleep in her bed :laughing: but I decided to wear her so its my choice. And now I'm going to do family day care so who knows maybe in the future I can look into LC! I'd def love to do it :yes:

Jaspat24
25-07-2009, 14:42
Tegan i have the opposite problem. i've been so successful in teaching my DS to sleep on his own that when i want to co-sleep at night to incrase milk etc he wants to play. I bring him into bed to feed and let him non-nutritive suck on my breasts for a bit, but we both don't get any sleep. Then when i put him back into his own cot inhis own room, he's asleep within minutes! and when i wear him, he thinks its one big adventure and stays awake!

kobi'smama
26-07-2009, 16:30
Hi Girls hope you had a good weekend.

Tegan quick question, is the morning the best time to xpress? I need to stock up my EBM for the freezer, didnt realised it was so low.
Was thinking I feed DS at 7am so maybe xpress at 9am his next feed after that is 11am. I should be full again by then hey?

Good news - Kobi slept from 7pm-6.30am last night. Now i just need him to stretch it that extra half hour to 7am and I will be stoked (i pretty much already am!!).
Hope u are all well

MagicalLeopluradon
27-07-2009, 07:48
Hey ladies....havent been in here for awhile....Sebastian is 16 weeks old tonight wow! Other news.....im pregnant :p Due 9th March, im 8 weeks tomorrow :)

Hope everyone and bubs are well.

CinnamonMyrrh
27-07-2009, 12:00

It has been a while since I have been here...I have not really been keeping up :( After I gave birth to Sabrina, I had a major depressive episode and have been diagnosed with bipolar, which has been fairly confronting and scary. Things are on the right track now though thanks to DH, the MCH centre and some fabulous friends who helped me get on track :)

I hope you are doing well (I am about to go back and read up on your progresses).

Beckibabe - congratulations on the pregnancy! wow!

I am determined to start teaching Sabrina to go to sleep on her own (she sleeps well but we have fallen into the trap of rocking her to sleep)...Does anyone have anythoughts on the Baby Whisperer and her methods?

Tegan15
27-07-2009, 13:25
kobi'smama - yeh your most full in the mornings. If your desperate you could wake up in the night and express also.
Otherwise if you express after every feed it would build up slowly. - If you feed on one side and then whilst feeding on the other express at the same time.

Jaspat...I've decided its time to try and get dd to sleep in her own bed...its been horrible...takes about 15-30 mins of rocking her in my arms and she screams and screams and then when I finially get her into her bed she'll only sleep for 15-30mins :( I know it will get better - it always does from experience but its so much harder when its your own...

Beck - i said it on facebook but I'll say it again congrats!! :smiliedance: (ps I think your slightly crazy having two so close togehter ;))

Cinnamon - I'm glad you've gotten some help and support that you need :hugs: depression is a scary thing...

intrusion
27-07-2009, 14:38
KM - i'm trying to build up my supply again. I used it all up going out last weekend for the first time. I'm expressing after ds first feed in the morning.
BB - I said it on facebook as well but congrats again! Did u plan to have them close? How r u feeling? Any morning sickness? All the best with it!
Tegan - I hope dd coops gets itsorted soon it breaks ur heart. Ds doesn't often sleep for long on his own usually half hour

Eeyore
27-07-2009, 15:10
Good news - Kobi slept from 7pm-6.30am last night. Now i just need him to stretch it that extra half hour to 7am and I will be stoked (i pretty much already am!!).That is FANTASTIC, its unbelieveable how much difference a good sleep makes to your day :thumbsup: Cant remember - are you still dream feeding? How many feeds is Kobi having per day? DS is having 4x225ml bottles per day but I am reluctant to drop the dream feed until he is on solids.

Hey ladies....havent been in here for awhile....Sebastian is 16 weeks old tonight wow! Other news.....im pregnant :p Due 9th March, im 8 weeks tomorrow :)Oh man, that is awsome! Congratulations. Hope you are not too tired.

Hey girls :wave: DS is doing great hope you all are too. Not much to report. I do have a question though, is anyone going to start bubs on solids at 4months?? My SIL started her premmie bub on solids at 4months and thinks I should too cos DS is a little boofer, but I want to wait. What do you guys think? DS is not particularly interested in food yet and is getting all he needs from his formula, but I wanted some thoughts. Thanks.

BI
27-07-2009, 15:53
Eeyore ~ I'm going to wait till DD is 6 months before i try solids. The local CYH nurse said best to wait till 6 months too so that bubs guts is mature enough to handle it properly.

KM ~ sleeping from 7pm-6.30am is fantastic.

Beckibabe ~ Congratulations hun. I also think you're very brave with such a close age gap.

Cinnamon ~ Sorry to hear you've had a rough time recently. Glad to hear it's getting better for you now. Take care.

Geegee ~ Glad to hear things are settling for you again.

:wave: to everyone else.

AFM ~ DD sleeping is slowly getting more settled again. We got her a growbag & put her in it Sat night. DD slept from 9.30pm- 7.20am. I think she's getting ready to teeth soon too, her gum is white where the 2 bottom middle teeth sit.

bella77
27-07-2009, 16:26
Hey girls!

Hope you're all doing okay! I have been popping in to read but haven't posted in a bit. My little man is doing great - still sleeping right through at night and still only cat naps during the day but we work around that :laughing: . I try and get out of the house at least once a day so he ends up having a sleep in his pram or Baby Bjorn. We're having lots of fun during play time which I love - babies laughs are just amazing and I could listen to it over and over.

Eeyore - I was going to ask about solids too! My CHN said today that we can start with 1tsp of farex now once a day ....but I'm not sure... esp when the paed said to wait til 4 months (still a few weeks away). We'll probably start then I guess if he's ready. Everything I've read has indicated 4 months for formula fed and 6 months for breast fed but most of my friends started their bubs at 4 months, regardless of breast or formula feeding.

Cinnamon - hope you're doing okay. It's great to hear you had / have so much support to get you through a tough time.

Tegan - good luck with getting bubs to settle in bed. It took a lot of persistence and patience to get DS to settle in the cot but after about a week he learned to self settle and now it's rare that he needs the help.

DS's Christening is this weekend so have lots to do this week. Really looking forward to the family coming up to stay!

kobi'smama
27-07-2009, 19:26
Thanks Tegan, Yeah today i fed a 7, expressed at 9 then feed again at 11.
Gee Gee- how was your night out?
Eeyore - We dropped the dream feed about 3 weeks ago i think, the first time he woke at about 12 and gradually it has been stretching out more and more. last night it was 7pm till 6.45am. So he feeds at 7am,11am,3pm,6.15pm
he also has farex at 12pm, or sometimes after his 3pm feed. depending on where we are and what we are doing.
Bella - people tell you all different things about when they are ready for it. I go by my mum - sad i know as im a grown woman but i figure me and my brother ended up fine :laughing:
When we started him off it was a tiny bit about as much as my little finger nail mixed with BM now he has nearly a whole baby tsp.
Prob going to add a tiny piece of carrot mixed with Bf into the routine as well soon. Or some apple in with the farex.
It does seem to fill him that bit more and coincidently or not once he started on the farex is when he started to sleep longer.

Bella - we are the same with day sleeps :( he does exactly 45mins in morning (wierd always exactly 45) and then drifts off on me in the arvo's for an hour or so which means i cant do much around the house.
Cinnamon - Poor thing, im glad you are feeling better
Tegan - good luck with the cot..is this just for day sleeps or are you putting her in at night as well.
Bec - Congrats again. Did u plan to have them so close?

Does anyone use Grobags? Im about to look them up. Some friends told me today that you need to look at the TOG rating (didnt have a clue what that was). DS is trying so hard to roll over so i think we need to look at unswaddleing him. So tomorrow night going to start leaving one arm out, then move to two out and then gro bag i guess, is that the norm?

Jaspat24
28-07-2009, 10:01
Beckibabe: congrats hon! hope you're feelng alright and not too tired!
I made my own grobags when was pregnant. They're not too hard to make and are way cheaper. I'm so mad, yahoo won't let me access my email account and i have no idea why :hair:
DS put on 140gms in a week! yay, all breastmilk too!

keepingpositive
28-07-2009, 12:23
Hi girls. In your opinion, should a bub still be feeding every 2 hours at 14 weeks? I wasn't sure if this is something my DS should be growing out of and whether I should be trying to stretch them out. Some days he has 45min catnaps, is awake for 1.5 hrs and has a feed between each nap. I thought that he might be just doing it for comfort when he couldn't go back to sleep but most times he has a decent feed so I guess he must be hungry. :confused:

BI
29-07-2009, 13:12
KP ~ DD feeds 4hourly & has done for a couple months now. I think a lot of it is up to the baby too. You could try streching it out to 2.5hrs, then 3hrs if he's ok with it.

intrusion
29-07-2009, 15:30
Hi girls. In your opinion, should a bub still be feeding every 2 hours at 14 weeks? I wasn't sure if this is something my DS should be growing out of and whether I should be trying to stretch them out. Some days he has 45min catnaps, is awake for 1.5 hrs and has a feed between each nap. I thought that he might be just doing it for comfort when he couldn't go back to sleep but most times he has a decent feed so I guess he must be hungry. :confused:

DS is 13 weeks and sometimes will feed every 2 hours but most of the time every 3. He wakes and I feed him from both sides (are you feeding both sides) I feed one side burp and then the other, play time or on his own time and put him down again about 1.5 - 2 hours after he wakes. Then he wakes for a feed again. Sounds easier then said. How do you know DS is hungry????? Could it be he's tired or something else?

intrusion
29-07-2009, 20:46
Just a quick Q: my nanna seems to think I should be starting DS on solids or rice cereal soon and
I am wanting to hold off to the recommended 6 months, what is everyone else doing? She seems to think he will get hungry start crying cause he is such an active baby. I though BM should satisfy a bub alone until the age of 1yr