View Full Version : What you would want to see in a Real life shop.
OK as metioned in the other thread I have been doing some serious thinking about an IRL store in Melbourne so before I go any further (and figure out if it is actually doable) what would you like to see in an IRL store.
I have some ideas but as you would hopefully all be visiting at some point I would love your input.
readytogo
15-05-2009, 09:06
hmmm where to start.
*variety of brands
*variety of sizes
*actual real person reviews
recommendation for nappies that suit different body types
*people to ask who have actually used them!
Bunnyhugs
15-05-2009, 09:20
hmmm where to start.
*variety of brands
*variety of sizes
*actual real person reviews
recommendation for nappies that suit different body types
*people to ask who have actually used them!
:iagree: also a range of priced items. I'd like to be able to see a cheap $20 nappy in comprison to a more expensive Sandman or Krap Katcher etc etc.
mytwoangelsC&A
15-05-2009, 10:05
:iagree:If its in Melbourne i'll be there! You vould have everything to do with them too natura; washing powder, liners. You could even maybe have some disposable packs which may also convert these users to MC cos they look so awesome
kezzaskids
15-05-2009, 11:13
:iagree: also a range of priced items. I'd like to be able to see a cheap $20 nappy in comprison to a more expensive Sandman or Krap Katcher etc etc.
I love my sandman!! :)
I would like to see heaps of advertising done for your shop!! Not enough people even know MCN exist. I only know because of bubhub and Ive worked in the childcare industry for 17 years!!
Bunnyhugs
15-05-2009, 11:21
Also it could be good to have a range of cloth or non-disposable sanitary products for mums ie cloth pads, Diva cups, cloth breast pads etc etc.
not quite sure how this would work but what about being able to 'try them on'? perhaps you could have plastic disposable (or even reuseable if you could disinfect them) pants to put on bubs and some nappies to be able to try them on but but not touch the skin?
I would like to see heaps of advertising done for your shop!! Not enough people even know MCN exist. I only know because of bubhub and Ive worked in the childcare industry for 17 years!!
I agree. The biggest problem I see is people think 'cloth nappy' as 'difficult', 'time consuming', 'bulky', 'nappy rash', etc. The myth has to be busted and we are up against the big disposables companies and their mega advertising budget. We have to start at the hospitals, the early childhood clinics, etc. I spoke to a lovely man who used to have a shop in Sydney (MCNs among other baby things) and he said that having a physical store just does not add up (costs etc). Very sad. I want a shop in Sydney too!
DreamBelieveAchieve
15-05-2009, 12:22
What a great idea!
I would love to see a huge range of brands. Infomation that is easy to read ie: MCNs for dummies :laughing: info that also includes washing instructions.
I have converted this week to MCNs and i am already sick of having to justify myself and explain that they really aren't too much work or yucky. Knowledge is power.
I like the trying on idea, i was lucky enough to borrow a few from a friend (thanks Jag :)) to see which ones work best for DS and luckily i did because the M ittis are almost too small for him.
oh and accessories such as wetbags, buckets, little squirts.. everything you need so you can just go to the one store and get everything you need.
I'm in Melb i will come for sure!!
mummarella
15-05-2009, 12:32
I've so been thinking the same thing, I love to open one in sydney.... but do you think many people would visit off the street or do you think you'd mostly attract customers from places like BH? Maybe you could have an on-line component to your store.
Also I second what the others said, especially trying them on
A'sMummy
15-05-2009, 13:27
I was also thinking that the shop would be useful if it also stocks a range of natural products. I find alot of ladies (not all) are interested in mcns are also interested in organic and natural products for their babies. Like soaps, bum cream, moisturisers, etc. Also organic clothing etc.
I am from Melb and would LOVE to come to a mcn shop!!
I have also been thinking of the possibilty of opening one up :yes:
peanutbutter&jelly
15-05-2009, 14:13
Definately some organic bamboo clothing, and maybe some bamboo fleece and other materials for MCN making available for those who want to make their own?
Great ideas
I really like the try on option. have to figure it out but this is a great place to start
Keep em coming
SmileyBJ
15-05-2009, 18:23
Wow, id love to visit a shop with all of these ideas and more :).
Sparrowgal
16-05-2009, 05:14
Jotsmum I reckon you'd have to have a big online component as well as the store, so you'd reach everyone!
I think the idea of a nappy library for people who are hesitant to buy a brand before they try is good. Guess you could use old nappies or buy some off certain places so people could try them on... dunno what people would think about that though, because only people who are deadset keen on MCNs would want to try them on, not people who use sposies coz they probably think it's unhygienic (coz that's what most people say to me about cloth nappies - they're dirty and unhygienic)
baylees mummy
17-05-2009, 14:31
i have an idea for the try it on before you buy it thing, maybe you could get some cheap plastic undies/pilchers in bulk off ebay or such and get the baby child to put that on first under the MCN they want to try? i would love to see a large variety of brands and styles, cheaper options aswell as the more expensive options, organic products, nappy accessories such as liners and cloth wipes, layby service and an online store aswell would be a good idea. i also love the idea of being able to place an order over the phone for a custom nappy and when it is ready you just come and pick it up! there are so many things you could do with your shop, you cant name them all... i would love one in brisbane that is close to where i live... actually no i dont lol i would be there spending all my money hahaha! :p
just one problem... you dont live near me... HAHAHA....
i think all those things would be fantastic... when i started out using cloth i had so many questions and wanted to see them IRL....
oh slings - sell a large range of slings - i found that when i was looking for one for bubs i had to end up buying online.. not many places had like maya wraps and ring slings at the same shop so i had to try one on here and one on there then go elsewhere to try another on..... blahblah...
oh yeah! slings in a real life store would be AWESOME
come to Adelaide and check out Nature's Cradle!
They are obviously doing well as they have just moved to a much bigger shop closer to the city.
They have a large range of MCN's from both big brands and local WAHMs, organic baby products, wooden toys, heaps of different slings etc etc. I went in with my new baby and tried heaps on and bought a hugabub and then went back 4 months later and bought an Ergo. They also have a website but I don't think it's that great, you need to have a great shop and a great website and then they will be advertising for each other. I actually got onto MCN's because I had a new baby and just went to check out this new baby shop that had opened I had no idea what they actually sold. They are on a main road and have huge eye catching signage to attract attention. Good luck and I hope you do it and are successful. :yelclap: