View Full Version : any interesting ideas as to what to do with my terry flats?
happytobehere
08-05-2009, 18:09
majority are unused and i have about 40 of them lol. was going to be clothbum mum and when i attempted them bubs got nappy rash. He never got nappyrash at all with sposies so instead of piling on rash creams i just stuck to the sposies.
My mum is now making me PUL covered bamboo/microfleece ones so i can make the switch. :fingerscrossed: this way the rash will stay away.
But what do i do with my flats?
i've looked up making prefolds on the net and I'm thinking as far as flats go they'd mainly just be helpful for boosters?? I have no idea really lol..
What do u think? He's never been a spewey baby so I've never needed burp wrags.
Oh and bubs is 10 months now
Bunnyhugs
08-05-2009, 18:14
You could cut them in quarters, get your mum to hem them and then use them as cloth wipes. Otherwise you could use them for day-time boosters in pocket nappies - is your mum making pockets or AIOs?
InSaneOne
08-05-2009, 18:21
i dyed some of mine different colours - they come in handy for toilet training accidents. and some of the more older ones i cut in half and use them in my pocket nappies with a piece of microfibre and a hemp insert.
my dad uses the ones that my mum used on me and my sis to wash the car and as rags generally.
my sil dd got nappy rash with the terry flats so she switched detergents and used a liner with them and no more rashes.
I started with terry flats until DD got bad rash too. Then made the change to MCNs when DD was about 6 months old.
I just use her flats for mopping up spills, for during nappy free time (she always manages to wee on the floor as soon as she is bare bummed!) and DP uses them as sweat rags and drum mutes when he is playing with his band! :p
I'm thinking of cutting them up and hemming to turn then into facewashers. We go through about 5 washers a day cleaning up DD after her meals so they would come in handy!
08-05-2009, 18:36
We used ours to make sucker pads for the Ergo, cleaning rags, sut up and made wipes (although they are on the bottom of the pile :laughing:)
happytobehere
08-05-2009, 18:57
thanks everyone for your responses :)
The nappies mums making are pocket ones. So boosters could be a good idea.
I will be definetely giving liners a go this time around. I actually didnt use them with my previous cloth attempts so Im hoping they make a difference.
I was also thinking of the facewasher/wipes idea but i have heaps thanks to great grandma and a sale at woolies lol.
oops bubs let out a bit of a wail.. I think its bed time for my little cherub. better go
peanutbutter&jelly
09-05-2009, 16:17
Emergency boosters for pockets or to stuff into magicalls.
Oh, and I used a couple to pad out a playmat I made.
Chunkydunks
09-05-2009, 16:24
They make great tea towels and the nice ones also make great hand towels in the bathroom. Ds's old nappies are getting a thrashing so much so that they won't be any good for future bubs (doesn't matter though because I'll be making MCNs). His bright bots ones get used as hand towels and the others get used as tea towels for for spills and thing like that.
I like the idea of cutting them up for wipes and making boosters out of them.
I have about 20 that I use for a 'cover' for the change table (for when there's poo accidents when changing), change mat when out, wipes for nappy free time accidents, general wipes for drink and food spills. They are great, sooooo handy. I probably wouldn't use them for boosting nappies, when you've used bamboo and hemp everything else is pretty average.
I think a PP may have suggested using some microfleece liners for the nappies to minimise getting nappy rash. I've also seen someone fold a terry flat with a microfibre booster in it to get lots of absorbancy. I thought that was pretty clever.
wild at heart
11-05-2009, 14:34
a few ideas that have been suggested previously are:
great for travel as they dry quickly so the rotation is quick.
Great for making newborn fitteds- the idea is that the newborns pee and poo so frequently that they go thru lots of nappies. Can make some that fasten with a snappi. Easy patterns online.
Great as back up nappies for building stash. Very absorbet when folded into jo fold. I love them folded in the jo fold with a woollen soaker.
Change mat covers
mattress protectors/ change table protectors.
Make easy boosters for pocket nappies.
Can be boosted with bamboo boosters available from various cloth nappy sites.
Swap them for inserts or other nappies.
happytobehere
11-05-2009, 16:48
:D Thanks everyone for your fabulous ideas you've all got me thinking!!
It has totally inspired me and I will be putting a few into action.
Thanks heaps :)