View Full Version : Morning Sickness Out of Control - HELP ! Remedies please...

Passionfruit
14-07-2005, 11:50 AM
Hiya,
I am in my first pregnancy and I'm just coming up to six weeks and I am NOT coping with morning sickness. I've seen the posts about preggy pops and Blackmore's Morning Sickness tablets and I'm trying acupuncture and ginger tea at the moment, but nothing seems to help much. The acupuncture helps a bit and I am getting it done again on Monday, but I still feel wretched.
Nausea wakes me between 4.30am and 5.30am (good practice for bub, sez I) and then I throw up every couple of hours basically for the rest of the day. This has been going on for just over a week and I'm exhausted.
I haven't been to work in three days and I can't tell them why 'cos I'm so early. When I'm not throwing up I have this awful grinding nausea - I haven't left the house in three days 'cos I'm afraid to be away from the toilet :( My sister had morning sickness for six months of her pregnancy and I think I will go mad if I have to put up with this for that long !
Sorry to whinge - you all sound so calm and accepting - yeah its yukky but you cope. I'm not coping. Am I being a wimp ? I'm scared to ask for the pills as well - I've heard they work but they knock you flat and I can't get thalidomide out of my head.
What should I ask my Doc for on Monday ? Or do I grit my teeth and get on with it ? I've also tried green apple (nope) and Vitamin B (nope) as well as the ginger tea and acupuncture. I'm not sure about the Morning Sickness pills 'cos I think I might throw them up again - I've been living off Beroccas for the Vitamin B and for the not-falling-over-from-lack-of-food-and-sleep.
I'd be so grateful for any remedies or suggestions. Or pity :) I'm sick of feeling sick and I'm sick of feeling sorry for myself !!

angcaltam
14-07-2005, 02:04 PM
Well, I know how you feel, I had morning sickness that bad with my first I was in and out of hospital for the first 20 weeks, hooked up to the drips, and with my second I was in and out of hospital for the same thing for the first 15 weeks. They did have me taking maxalon but in the end couldn't keep them down so I had to resort to needles and some times the more unpleasant which was having to use the odd suppository.
My DH use to give me toast and a cuppa in bed before he went to work , and that helped every now and then.
I really hope that you get over it soon. I know how much it takes out of you and how down you feel, but you will get better hopefully sooner rather than later.
Keep us posted on how you are going. And rest as much as you can.

Briannabear
14-07-2005, 02:10 PM
I had morning sickness pretty bad too! I ended up quiting work because I couldnt stand up for that long without throwing up! LOL!! (I was a hairdresser so the fumes made be very ill!) I ended up seeing our naturopath and she helped me with some homeopathic drops. I also took the Blackmores Pregnancy and Breastfeeding formula (when I could keep it down!). There is a morning sickness one too - mainly based on ginger. It worked well also.

The other thing that helps is to eat something before you get out of bed. (I know its hard - but try!) Just dry toast and black tea or something. Then graze through the day. Nibble on dry bland and salty things all day. Its hard to keep it down sometimes but if you can it works well! Try things like pretzels, nuts (not peanuts), dried fruit, dry toast. If you let your stomach get empty it actually makes your morning sickness worse so try to keep it full pretty much all day! Avoid oily foods (including junk food), spicy food etc. (it sounds like you are doing that anyway LOL!!!)

Good luck and I hope you feel better soon!! Get plenty of rest! :rolleyes:

Elfin
14-07-2005, 02:42 PM
You poor thing, it is just the worst thing ever. I took maxalon and it didn't do much for me. If your doctor wants you to try something, he/she will make sure it is safe. I took Maxolon and nearly 7 years later ds is absolutely fine, it may help you.

I found the only thing that made me feel better was icy things like kool pops, icy poles, frozen coke or slurpees from 7-11. Hope it passes quickly and you feel better soon.

14-07-2005, 02:58 PM
You poor thing :(

Don't know if it'll work for you but I found that the following helped me:

Eating before i got out of bed helped a bit. I just kept box of rice crackers next to the bed.

Try to snack/graze a lot. If my stomach was empty, the sick feeling would increase.

The advice I got off my Dr was to suck on Ice-cubes and eat Pumpkin Seeds. Don't know about the ice but the pumpkin seeds worked. You can get them from Health Food shops I think - I used to get them from a Lebanese Grocer.

Hope it eases for you soon.
Good Luck

TLCC
15-07-2005, 08:39 AM
I think its every pregnant woman's nightmare to be that sick in their pregnancy.

I had morning sickness from weeks 6 to 13 and honestly told my husbane I'd better be having twins because I couldn't go thru that again, but then week 14 arrived and the world was a happy place, so keep positive.

I too found that having an empty stomach made things a whole lot worse. I found that having dried apricots helped and had some next to my bed so i could have a couple at night so i wasn't starving in the morning. Pregancy takes so much out of you that you do need to eat more to stay on top of things so try lots of little snacks if you can.

I also found Lucozade was great. I would just have little sips at work. I'm not sure if it was just the coldness of the drink or the glucose but it gave me just enough to get by. I also sucked on Eucolyptus and Honey Lozenges, for some reason that also helped.

I also found a bucket and towel on the front seat of the car works wonders for the trip into work. My boss was clueless thankfully and didn't realise that I really hadn't talked to him much for 6 weeks during that time..(conversations were just to draining).

Best of luck, your not being a wimp, I hate throwing up more than almost anything else.

Regards,

jlrjyeboah
15-07-2005, 09:34 AM
Hi, I suffered from morning(all day and night sickness) for approx 16 weeks with all 3 of my pregnancies. Much as you don't feel like eating its best to keep your stomach relatively full, and just try out different things to see what works best for you. I too found Lucozade excellant, and 7-up and Allens chewy mints. I used to eat those by the bucket load with my first 2 pregnancies. Everybody I worked with knew never to ask me for a mint!! :) It does get better, and after a while you even forget that you were ever sick, just as well really or else there would be alot of one child families out there.

Rell
15-07-2005, 11:52 AM
I had bad morning sickness with my second and like Katherine was in and out of hospital hooked up to a drip. I made the mistake of thinking i just had to put up with it and left it too long to go to the doctor for help. I was given Maxalon both tablet and injection but they didn't work for me in the end I was put on a Tablet they give to people undergoing chemo which was much stronger and settled the vomiting down.
Hope you start to feel better soon and don't leave it till you are extreamly dehydrated to you get help, ther is safe medication you can take.

wattle
15-07-2005, 04:59 PM
I didn't throw up much but had months of queaziness. I found that chewing gum helped.

Briannabear
15-07-2005, 05:21 PM
I found that chewing gum helped.
I agree!! Mint helps with the queaziness. Chewing gum, tic tacs and minties are great! :p

Shelly68
16-07-2005, 10:06 AM
I was also hospitalised with m/s. They put me on a drip of Zofran (the chemo drug), which is safe for pregnant women. There is a 'wafer' version of this that they can give you when you're not you leave the hospital. You put it in the side of your mouth and it dissolves and instantly (for me anyway) starting feeling better. This means you can eat and drink and not feel nauseaus (sp?) afterward.

The only drawback to this is extreme constipation, but I have to tell you that I'd rather that than feel sick 24/7. At least when you have the tablet you can drink lots and lots of water to counteract the constipation. When I was ill (before Zofran) I could not even sip water.

If the doctor won't help with Zofran (they may not have it available) then go straight to the emergency room, I went and they could not have been more helpful.

Shelly

Passionfruit
16-07-2005, 05:24 PM
Gosh !! I wasn't expecting so many people to rush to my rescue. I think this forum is GREAT. Thankyou so much for all your advice and concern - I have taken the advice and am feeling MUCH better. Shelly68 and Rell - thankyou for letting me know about the chemo treatment. I'm seeing my doctor again on Monday and will make sure he knows exactly how ill I have been - luckily some of the remedies which have been suggested are working really well.
I have been taking the Blackmores morning sickness pills for one day and have only thrown up three or four times today. Never thought I'd be pleased to say that !!
The mint thing works a treat as well - I bought some mint tea and just the smell seems to settle my tummy. I am going to load up on chewing gum and tic-tacs and have a go at going back to work next week. I like the idea of keeping a bucket in the car !! I'll have to keep one under my desk as well :)
I've discovered I can eat/drink sour things like lemon drink and grapefruit, so that helps as well.
I haven't tried the 'eat something before you get out of bed' yet, but everyone seems to have recommended it and what I've already tried has worked so I will be giving this one a go for sure !!
Thanks so much to everyone who responded - I am just overwhelmed - I was absolutely at the end of my tether when I wrote in, I just wanted to die; and thanks to all the good advice I have been given I am sitting here now and I only feel faintly nauseous.
Hmmmm... maybe time to go and have some mint tea ? :)

brooke
16-07-2005, 07:54 PM
I had bad morning sickness with my second and like Katherine was in and out of hospital hooked up to a drip. I made the mistake of thinking i just had to put up with it and left it too long to go to the doctor for help. I was given Maxalon both tablet and injection but they didn't work for me in the end I was put on a Tablet they give to people undergoing chemo which was much stronger and settled the vomiting down.
Hope you start to feel better soon and don't leave it till you are extreamly dehydrated to you get help, ther is safe medication you can take.

i was also given the same as i couldnt keep any thing down either!!! it really helped they gave this too me at the hospitial. my morning sickness has only just started to ease off now. but i know how you feel. people would say too me " just be greatful... stop complaining your having a baby!" and i would just think u have no idea... :mad: it can be very depressing! bit i found icey poles worked really well.
good luck and keep your heap up!
it may be a good idea even to tell your boss. i told mine at 5wks just in case i lost the baby or i was really sick so they were a lot more under standing

all the best.....

miryjau
17-07-2005, 12:41 PM

You poor things! I have had morning sickness for the past 6 weeks. It has just seemed to have stopped these lastfew days. I had it with my first but it was much worse this time. I told work as I was so sick all the time. I have managed to get through it with only one day off work, thanks to a really supportive group of colleagues!

I tried vitamin b tablets [which didn't work]. Anything salty seemed to help me , salty chips, potato cakes, and carbs, pasta rice!

I made sure I drank heaps of water which seemed to stop me getting to dehydrated, thank goodness, as I really feel for you had had to be on a drip!
My beautiful 4 year old daughter was a gem. She even ran on got the bucket for me one night when I was so sick I couldn't move! She has enjoyed playing mum, and I can't wait to see her with as a big sister!Miryjau

aardvark
19-07-2005, 08:52 AM
I'm finding eating a lot of citrus fruit is helping me.

I also keep lemon and orange essential oils in my handbag - they are a life saver when walking through a shopping centre full of bakers, delis etc.

The worst thing I can have is water. Carbs help, but I find I get lasting relief from having a good serve of protein - meat or tuna usually. It is usually the last thing I want to actually eat, but once I've eaten it, I feel much better for usually a couple of hours.

There is also an organic Ginger Beer called Traveleasy, which has ginger and peppermint in it - designed to help with motion sickness, but quite effective, palatable and portable.

Foxymoron
17-08-2005, 12:51 PM
I can sympathise with everyone here, I've had SEVERE morning sickness. My Obs recomended Restavit, which is an over the counter sleeping pill, safe and well known not to cause harm. It acts on the central nervous system by calming it down, you take one at night, and in the morning you can actually get up without vomiting! For me it means being able to keep up with my 3 children again, instead of hovering in the bathroom or bed all day. I've tried ginger tabs, vitamin b6, everything!

Honey
17-08-2005, 07:00 PM
I'm new here, just wanted to say that I also survived Hyperemesis (severe morning sickness). I was hospitalised numerous times, severely sick from 6weeks to 20 weeks and still nauseous & vomiting 1-2 times a day until 37 weeks.

I found www.hyperemesis.org and the forums there saved my life. Zofran really helped after trying almost everything else. (but it was soooo expensive I ended up spending about $4000 on it, so it's better if you can get it given to you while in hospital so they pay for it and then may continue giving it to you if you need it)

Checkout the website it's a wonderful resource as well as you can help with surveys and research into hyperemesis if you want.

Hope you're all feeling much better by now.
Warm regards
Honey
dd-22mths

Passionfruit
23-08-2005, 10:47 AM
That hyperemesis site is fantastic. I love the fact that they treat morning sickness as a serious and debilitating disease.
I'm STILL as sick as a dog ...moan...whinge... but I have a routine of Maxalon and Blackmores tablets and get a jab of Maxalon if I can't keep my pills down: but I have now had almost six weeks off work, and I don't know if I would still have a job if I wasn't working for two women who know what I'm going through....
Might have a go at that Restavit. My main problem is keeping the pills down first thing in the morning, 'cos you are supposed to take them every eight hours, and I'm one of those people who can't function on less than nine hours sleep ( not sure how I will cope with bubs :) )
Sounds sooky, but it really does help to know that other women are going through this and have gone through this and survived !!

lisa&boys
23-08-2005, 11:35 AM
O I so feel for you all. I am one of the lucky ones and didnt suffer from any ms at all with my boys.

Here is some natural advice anyways.

Morning sickness

Eat little and often during day, avoiding junk food and heavy meals at night. Choose fresh foods which are free from preservatives or chemicals. Try herbal tea infusions such as chamomile, peppermint or orange blossom, which are good for the digestion.

Try a vaporiser blend in your oil burner or apply to a handkerchief to smell when you need it:
4 drops of Spearmint
3 drops of Ginger
3 drops of lavender.

OR

3 drops of Peppermint
3 drops of Ginger

Take care and all the best

hugs

Honey
24-08-2005, 12:42 PM
Passionfruit, with the Restavit (Unisom in US) you can cut it up and take small amounts throughout the day just not more than 75mg a day total. Even crush the 1/2tablet with a spoon and mix with a small amount of food or liquid.
Glad you liked the site- check out the forums there and ask any q's you need too.

makeover_lady
26-08-2005, 06:12 AM
Oh my have I ever been there! My second pregnancy, I had Zophran my second pregnancy. The first pregnancy, I lost my job due to illness, and my drs. didn't give me anything. I think I also had severe depression especially during that first pregnancy. Morning sickness is the #1 reason I'm only having 2 children. My favorite thing: lemon flavored chewing gum. If I kept that in my mouth, I did better. I feel for you guys--I threw up even in the last month of pregnancy!

kylietheplanetgirl
30-08-2005, 08:39 AM
You poor thing - morning sickness is totally enveloping and horrible. I found that regular snacks and accupressure wrist bands (from the chemist, used for motion sickness around $18) worked ok until I hit 9 weeks. At 10 weeks my morning sickness peaked and I took annual leave from work. My Ob then suggested Maxalon and by then I was pretty desperate. I took Maxalon for 2 weeks and it did help me. At 12 weeks (to the day) my morning sickness stopped! and never returned!!!! Keep positive and I hope you have lots of people around you to look after you. It wont last forever.

09-09-2005, 03:05 PM
I was pretty crook as well with my 1st and this time around as well. The only thing that really helped me ( and believe me - i tried it all!) was lemonade ice-blocks. At least i got some fluid into me that way. This time around i was dreading the pregnancy more than the birth! It will eventually end, when... who knows, but it wont last forever!
Good luck!

Becky

funnyfarm
12-09-2005, 08:38 PM
I found an article about accupuncture helping with morning sickness. Trials found that using accupuncture reduced nausea in most women.

Not sure if it is true but if you are feeling crook, give it a try.

Janet

14-09-2005, 12:03 PM
Hi the only thing that helped me was sucking on lemonade ice-blocks. At least that way i kept some fluid down!

Savannahsmum
16-09-2005, 01:28 PM
Im a Registered Nurse who was working in a doctors surgery when morning sickness struck me like a ton of bricks!
My Doctor put me on saline drips with Vit B put in the drips. It wasnt a cure but it helped really well! I could always tell when it was wearing off, and so could my Dr as I would walk into work crying!
Sometimes just getting the saline into your body and helping with deyhydration is a BIG help.
I hope this helps! I know how bad it can be and it sucks! :mad:

angcaltam
17-09-2005, 09:36 PM
Just that I would say that this is my 3rd time round and I finally found a Dr that said my body doesn't like Maxalon. She decided to try me on Ondansetron or better know on here as Zofran and it worked!!! I took 1 tablet over a week ago now and haven't been sick since. They do cost a lot, Medicare only cover I think 4 tablets at a time which cost me $28.60, but they really are great. I was so worried about having the morning sickness as long as I did with the first 2 but I can now enjoy this pregnancy.
I hope this helps anyone who is suffering from bad morning sickness.

sweetangel2811
19-09-2005, 02:43 PM
Wow! This thread is fantastic!! I am only into my 7th week but have been feeling shocking for the last week and a half!!

I have really bad indigestion (I thought it would be waaaay too early for that!) and had the unfortunate experience last night of eating a big greasy chinese dinner - BIG mistake! Will only do that once! :eek:

Have been feeling really queasy and spew burpy and can't seem to make it go away! Because my body is a stubborn ox, I cannot throw up (I don't know if this is a good or bad thing really!) Since reading through this thread though, I am going to go and try some of the remedies, like grazing (if I am going to get as big as a cow I may as well act like it huh?) and the hankerchief!!

Thanks so much!!! I love this site! :)

Kiersten

bb
19-09-2005, 09:46 PM
Not too sure if you are still looking for help, but thought I would write something just incase !

On the small scale of advice, I would say to try peppermint. It is not going to give you enough energy to get through the day, but it can help calm a wild and stormy morningsickness attack ! Tic-tacs are great !

My advice, on a bigger scale, is to get thee to a GP and ask ... no insist ... on being popped into a hospital for a bit of rest and relaxation. It sounds to me (not that I am a professional or anything) like you are having a terrible time, and like you need a break ... and some sleep ... and the chance to get back on top of things.

Look after yourself ... and whilst I hope my advice is helpful, I would prefer it if you were feeling better, and didn't need it !

Good luck !

BB

brimmortal
20-05-2008, 10:04 PM
ive just found out im pregnant with my first child and the m/s is horrible! even my partner is getting parts of it (apparently its common) ive tried the ginger and the peppermint, but it doesnt seem to work, the only thing that usually helps a little is sucking on fruit chews, im just over 7 weeks and all my mum does is laugh at me whenever im sick (real supportive lol) but im going to try some of the suggestions. i wont try the peppermint again, just the smell of it sets me off (weird aye?) but my partner has been real supportive and got me drinks of water or lemonade whenever i ask for them. i hope everyone else has goodluck i know i certainly need it lol.

Passionfruit
22-05-2008, 12:20 PM
Hiya,
Passionfruit here again. I'm on my second pregnancy and its EVEN WORSE than the first.... I had forgotten......

I think we need to draw a distinction between morning sickness, and what I get, which is hyperemesis gravida. With this pregnancy, unmedicated, I am vomiting every 30 - 45 minutes, four or five times each time. I am currently taking 16mg of Zofran A DAY and I do not throw up, but I have atrocious nausea the whole time, I am losing weight, and my body is making ketones.

This is not something that can be fixed with lemon flavoured ice cubes, or even acupuncture (although, yes, the acupuncture does ease the savagery of the nausea a little). Rehydration therapy ie: an IV line and vitamins helps, but for many of us a stay in hospital is an impossibility, and the IV by itself won't help if you don't have Zofran to back it up with - you'll just be straight back on the drip again in a couple of days.

I am writing in again to let Brimmortal know that if you can't keep any food down for two or three days, or you are vomiting more than half a dozen times a day, then what you have is not morning sickness, and it won't just clear up by itself. Maxalon doesn't even touch the sides (and how stupid to have a pill as an anti-emetic - I just throw them straight back up again).

With William, I had this for almost 6 months and some women have it for the whole time. If you have it once, you have a greater than 50% chance of having it again. Ignore anyone who says that each pregnancy is different - with this they aren't.

If this persists go to your Doctor and INSIST on being prescribed Zofran. If they refuse, get a new doctor - most of them are completely ignorant about this - I actually had to stand over my GP and MAKE him write the script. I think the retching noises I was making helped :)

The problem with HG is that by the time you realise you're in real trouble, you're too sick to actually help yourself. You think that it will just fade away by itself; sometimes the doctors says to wait and see if it clears up by itself around the three month mark. This is SO dumb - there is no reason for you to feel that ill for even a day. If you can only keep fluids down, I'd get that script tomorrow. Use the actual words "Hyperemesis Gravida" rather than "morning sickness" as they are two different things and I find Doctors respond better to latin.

There is a GREAT American website http://www.hyperemesis.org/index.php- but try not to get too caught up in other people's misery - I always cry when I read the other women's stories as some of them have almost died, and many have had to have abortions. But they have a great hints and tips for coping page and also a page for husbands and unsypathetic mothers to read so that they know that what you are going through is a life threatening illness, and not a joke that can be fixed with dry crackers or ginger beer.

Either way, I hope that what you have, Brimmortal, is just morning sickness and that it will go away, but in the meantime, you DON'T have to feel sick. Check out the website and their list of indicators - losing weight is a BAD sign, as is not being able to keep down solid food. If this is your case, insist on the anti-emetics !!

Lots of Love and Sympathy !
Passionfruit

Evee
03-06-2008, 09:15 PM
oh i know how you feel.

Im almost 8 weeks and i had to tell my co workers i was pregnant- i have called in sick 8 days since my pregnancy and i only work 2 days a week! they are more understanding now they know why im sick and also sensitive to the food and the smells they bring into the office.

Anyway whats helped me is sucking on Ice, eating Slices of Green Apple and just lots of rest- it helps to have an undestanding and supportive partner... Im hoping the upside to the sickness will be that i loose a couple of kilos but so far nothing:)

tomnabbysmum
04-06-2008, 11:17 AM
poor chick i had real bad sickness with my first i ate dry crackers as soon as i woke up and bannanas helped i also slept upright 4 most of my pregnancys cos when i lied down ifelt sick good luck

grkgrl
04-06-2008, 05:08 PM
Oh, I am so sick of the morning sickness that I am going thru right now that I am actually counting down everyday and consoling myself that I've only got 2 months of this unpleasant draining morning sickness until I feel like a normal human being again, and I just cant wait until I can look at food and actually enjoy it !!!!
I am 8 weeks pregnant with my 3rd child and with my other 2 kids I had morning sickness until the 14th or 16th week into my pregnancy.
My husband on the other hand just cant understand how I am really feeling.Even when he goes out for a smoke and comes inside my pregnant nose can smell so far away and every single aroma is just so intensified now with the pregnancy.Oh , and to top it all of I have just been thru a week of an ear infection and chest infection and flu virus , I felt like I was dying....:hissy: Im just feeling a bit down and thinking why me!!!Hopefully soon I will get over this and in the end it will all worth it when you get to hold your baby.

creativewarrior
04-06-2008, 06:42 PM
get hubby to wear a jacket when he goes outside for a smoke and to leave it out there if possible - it will help keep the smell off his clothes so he doesnt stink of ciggies so much.

this is what old fashioned smoking jackets were for :)

rae70
08-06-2008, 04:33 PM
Thankyou Ladies!

I am hearing everyone of you. I am glad i am not the only one feeling like this. I didn't think it could be this debiltating. I thought i would wake up and be sick then that would be it. OMG how naive was I. I work with the public and i can not stand the smell of peoples breath. It turns my stomach. Luckily my boss has been very supportive, but i am struggling. I am sick of Gingerbeer, Ginger biscuits or Ginger anything!:hair: thanks you have all made me feel much better knowing that there is others out there who are also feeling the same. My DH is sympathetic but i can't seem to get him to understand how intense the feeling is.

KateJo
07-07-2008, 04:36 PM
I bought some spearmint essential oil today and have had it in the burner for most of the afternoon and I feel the least nauseated I have in about a fortnight. Apparently lemon oil is good too. And ginger oil - but like someone else said , I am sick of ginger.. Have had it in every way, shape and form in the last month! Hope it works for some of you as well :fingerscrossed:

greendrink
07-07-2008, 07:30 PM
I was vomiting for the whole 7.5 months I was pregnant many many times a day. Vomited even through my nose. I ended up 5.6 kgs lighter at the end of my pregnancy than when We begun this journey. I tried everything possible from medicine to natural. The best thing I found was MINTIES. I chewed them all the time also I ate a handful of dried fruit in the middle of the night a specialist told me this trick and I was less sick the next morning. Try it. It worked for me. The best thing was 1 week after having Ella vomiting stopped..... and we had a beautiful bubba.

It is only a few more months.
Rachel.

greendrink
07-07-2008, 07:33 PM
I was told that Zofran is not tested thoroughly enough to be used in pregnancy by our ob. Just check it out with your doc.

good luck

RAchel

Annalaw
11-07-2008, 09:44 PM
You poor darl. I also was very sick during my pregnancy, was admitted to hospital at 14 weeks with hypernemesis. I found sipping water all day, having something before i got out of bed - and sipping diet ginger beer also helped. I couldnt eat chicken or vegies or saled - lived on hawaiin pizza and chinese - and watermelon was the worse! What the! I had my son 11 weeks premmie and he was a whopping 2.5pounds for being that early (although I was looking for where the whooping was, he was so little) so just take of you, be kind to yourself and know that the bub will always take what they need and you are left with the rest.

Oh and I hear you about the smoking - hubby was a smoker then and that was the worst! And Ive never gone for so many slow walks around the neighbourhood while he cooked dinner - could not handle the smell!

And believe me, at the time you feel so alone and isolated when you are sick but its only a drop in the ocean in the scheme of life - know you are not alone - and here I am, TTC for number two - it was worth every moment!! One day you will reflect on that - but I know its a bit hard at the moment

Good luck babe - we are here for you if you need to chat and complain..

Anna

MummyGoingMad
13-07-2008, 08:57 PM
:hugs: to you!! i was NOT calm and accepting when it was happening, i would be feeling very sorry for myself or lying on the bathroom floor incapable of even feeling sorry for myself! it feels like a distant memory now (im probably trying 2 distance myself from it lol). i also had a lot of public :barf:s to the extent that i bought special bags and carried them around. it never got less embarrassing.

if i was you id see a doc and get prescribed some tablets, at least then u can get back into work. nothing else worked for me!! good luck

grannytobe
20-07-2008, 09:30 PM
you poor poor thing i know how you feel, when i was having my 4th baby i was like that. it was such a shock as my other pregnancy's wernt like that. i tried everythigng aswell. i ended up in hospital alot on the drip as to not dehydrate. i know this doesnt sound promising to you but just to let you know i feel for you. its feeling so bad all the time that is frustrating. you may not have a sick free pregnancy and i know its hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel right now but trust me it will be the most rewarding thing you have ever done, good luck to you.......grannytobe

roofwoof
05-08-2008, 06:23 PM
Hiya all

I understand how you ladies are feeling. I suffered from bad morning sickness during the first 4 months of my pregnancy. I couldn't stomach anything. Had to wait for hot food to cool before pinching my nose and swallowing the food after a few chomps. I then tried Dr Ho's remedies on www.morningsicknesssecrets.com (http://www.morningsicknesssecrets.com) and felt much better. Do give it a try and see how it works for you. :) My husband and I are now trying for a 2nd child, hopefully I'll be able to cope better this time round.

CourtneyGoodz
17-09-2009, 11:57 AM
if it gets really bad u can get a perscprition from ur doctor for ondansetron wafers if u go to hospital they will usally be cheaper from there chemist but if u fill them at a normal chemist its cost around $50 for 4 tablet and u take one a day so u can imagin it can cost alot, im from perth and i got my perscription written at king edward and i got 90 tablet for $25, but when it gets to a certain point u will do any thing to spot being sick!! the good thing about these is that they are soooooooooo much stronger than maxalon and they melt in ur mouth so u dont have to worry about them coming back up.

i used them every day from 12 weeks and my daughter is 1 and thriving in everyway all the dr's i have talked to have said they are totally safe.

hope this helps u

nick's mum
18-09-2009, 05:08 PM
agree - go to the doctor and ask for zofran (ondansetron) - it is expensive but soooo worth it!

jenski1102
21-09-2009, 01:07 PM
Hey there passionfruit,

You are not a wimp. I am currently going through the same thing as you. It is a struggle for me to get out of bed even though I have two other kids to look after. I have had to take a long time off work because I was this sick with my last child, I was just hoping this time would be better.
The only info I can give you is that frozen things do help, so does swimming in cold water! Also I am taking Zofran tablets which you need to get from your doctor. Yes they are very expensive and are not on the PBS, but they allow me to at least get out of bed! I feel your pain and hope that both of our morning sickness ends very soon, as it is very debilitating indeed.

lee81
29-09-2009, 08:33 AM
it sux hay..lol.
i founf getting ur partner to get you some toast and wake u up to eat it, so befor ur body has time to think about feeling sick, it has something in it already.
or this pregnancy.. i have a few bikkies next to my bed, so when i need to go to the toilet about 1-2 in the morning i have a bikkie. im finding this to help me with this pregnancy. Just keep snacking!!
I never thought id say it, but im so sick of eating..lol.

alitismum
06-10-2009, 07:25 AM
I really really am sorry for all of you who throw up, i have this constant depressing quessiness in my tummy and to be honest it is that annoying I think I would rather be on the cold tiles thowing up,,, It is really getting me down. BE Bloody sick or not!!!