View Full Version : 2 year old and new baby arrival
melbryan
14-06-2006, 20:08
I have heard so many stories where mother's have had to put toilet training on hold because of a new baby.
My son is 2 on Friday and keeps taking his nappy off and putting it in the bin and saying yuk(he also takes its off when he goes for a bath and disposes of it), does this mean he is ready for toilet training?????
I wanted to hold off until christmas because he may regress due to the new baby coming ( he may be jealous). Is this a good idea as I don't want to cause more heart ache. Or would it not hurt ot put him on the potty in the morning.
What's your advice.
when is bubs due???
I seriously say he is ready and GO FOR IT!!! Boys are supposably alot harder to train than girls so if he is willing to give it a shot then let him get the hang of it. He may regress but if he does don't make a fuss and he will soon pick it up again. My son is 4 and he STILL hasn't got the hang of it, so if yours WANTS to go to the toilet encourage and let him. As long as he doesn't feel pressured you may be suprised and he may not regress.
melbryan
14-06-2006, 20:30
New bubs is due in August which is only two months away. I have seen my friedns battle with their little ones and they are still pooing and weeing in their pants. How is it you start to toilet train???? Are potties good or straight on the toilet. Not sure of what to do. Dh and I are frustrated he is wasting his expensive disposables. I think it's when he's uncomfortable in his nappy he takes it off.
sugar n spice
23-06-2006, 19:05
My ds i thought he was ready heaps from about the age of 2 1.2 so i kept trying then leaving it and then coming back to it. My son will be 5 this august and it annoys me to say that he still has wee and pooh accidents. Not so much the wee but always the pooh. I feel i am failing him. He has gone thru alot of changes but i feel that shouldnt have caused the delay. He had the baby born last year when he was 3 1/2 he was nearly there but then went backwards then we moved house and now we're moving again oh and inbetween all that he started kindy. I do think changes can cause a backwards step but it will probably be easier if your half way there and he goes backwards then not at all ifykwim
23-06-2006, 22:25
Hi Mel, it don't think it can hurt to try him with it. He seems like he's showing signs of readiness, and like Eleanor said, if he regresses when bubs is born, then don't make a big deal about it and he'll soon get the hang of it again. Good Luck!
Oh, and we had a potty with Mackenzie, but she soon wanted to go onto the toilet like a big girl. They're only cheap, you could always buy one and see how he goes? They are also handy to have if someone else is in the loo, and DS needs to go quickly!
He sounds ready to me too, I'd let him try. My DS didn't seem ready til well after his 2nd b'day, so yours is doing great.
I toilet trained DS at 2.5yrs old...about 2mths before I had DD...I kept him in nappies at night til after DD was born. We used oull-ups when we went out, DS called them 'special going out undies', coz we had 30min drives to my check-ups each week/fortnight and a wet car seat is not good in the heat we had last spet/oct/nov.
I wouldn't worry about him regressing when you have bub, some kids do, but others don't. I thought my DS would get really jealous and do all sorts of nasty things, but I was plesantly surprised and have only had minor problems...things like him wanting to share his toys & play with her when she was 2 weeks old, him trying to teach her to roll over by pushing her across the floor...cute, but DD wasn't impressed.
Good luck with the toilet training :)
HI
With the potty/toilet issue buy a potty that can go on the toilet (kmart sells one). This way if he wont go on the potty you can put it on the toilet. My eldest DS is potty training now, I let him run around the house in underwear and a tshirt - heater on of cause, and he will only go on the toilet (with potty seat on).
The advantages of them using the toilet is that there is nothing to clean up afterwards unless they have an oopsy.