View Full Version : which is better for you.. butter or marg?
Electric Rodeo
27-04-2009, 22:32
Butter def better for you........only cause it tastes better;)
iamLilysmummy
27-04-2009, 22:34
i dont no...!! haha but i like BUTTER
JasmineLouise
27-04-2009, 22:37
Butter :)
Chunkydunks
27-04-2009, 22:40
the more natural a substance the better it is for you. I've found the trick is to only use it sparingly and to substitute for other products (like avo or hummus or mayo) wherever I can.
JabberJaw
27-04-2009, 22:43
I use Nuttelex, dont know if it is 'better' as such, i just like it and its dairy free!
Ana Gram
27-04-2009, 22:44
I don't think I should answer this one Jag :D
i *think* butter is better for you but im not sure
i know its bad for your cholesterol, and marg is fake..so not as bad
but i know butter tastes better smothered on raisin toast :laughing:
sockstealingpoltergeist
27-04-2009, 22:49
Chocolate.
JasmineLouise
27-04-2009, 22:50
Chocolate.
you cheeky thing you :shame: ... quite certain that wasn't an option :p
About Butter
Butter is slightly higher in saturated fats at 8 grams compared to 5 grams
Eating margarine can increase heart disease in women by 53% over eating the same amount of butter - according to a recent Harvard Medical Study
Eating butter increases the absorption of many other nutrients in other foods
Butter has many nutritional benefits, whereas margarine has a few only because they are added.
Butter tastes much better than margarine and it can enhance the flavors of other foods
Butter has been around for centuries whereas margarine has been around for less then 100 years
Now for Margarine...
Lowers HDL cholesterol (and this is the good one)
Increases the risk of cancers by up to five-fold
Lowers quality of breast milk
Decreases immune response
Decreases insulin response
Hmmm tricky one just because butter comes straight from nature doesn't mean it's healthier. The heart foundation has given the tick to margarine's that have removed those trans fatty acids removed. But at the end of the day it all comes down to moderation, whether it's butter or margarine.
And Im not sure all those facts are 100% but thought Id throw everything in with my opinion
ladybugblue84
27-04-2009, 22:55
I'd say they are both bad for you but if you had to choose one or the other I reckon butter is better for you. Western Star to be precise melted on toast YUMMY! :laughing:
I use Nuttelex, dont know if it is 'better' as such, i just like it and its dairy free!
Same same....
I have issues with the amount of trans fats in most margs.... and the saturated fat in butter..... so Nuttelex does the job for me!
And the taste of butter.... :barf:
I don't think I should answer this one Jag :D
you'll be happy to know Chelle that because of you my family now only get Harmonie organic spread (or devondale if we are having a tight budget week) 'cos they are the only ones I could find without palm oil and DH has a lactose intollerance.
See? you did spread the word! :D
JasmineLouise
27-04-2009, 23:24
hmmm... spread :laughing:
no pun intended of course :p
hmmm... spread :laughing:
no pun intended of course :p
:laughing::laughing::laughing: (didn't even notice that!)
now you butter be nice to me, or I'll spread it all around that you are a nuttlex. :p
studyingECS
27-04-2009, 23:34
I don't know which is healthier but I think Marg tastes way nicer.
Dreambeliever
27-04-2009, 23:58
Additive and preservative free BUTTER all the way here! :yes:
and it tastes so much better too. i cant stand the taste of margarine :barf:
delirium
28-04-2009, 06:48
We are butter lovers in our household. I started using it after reading a few articles about the garbage they put in marg (including trans fats :thumbsdown:). From my research, even though butter is higher in saturated fat, if you eat a decent diet, butter is still better.
I recently ran out of butter and had to use the marg in the freezer. After her toast DD comments how gross it was and to never buy it again :laughing:
28-04-2009, 07:14
Butter is better for you. Marg is full of chemicals. :)
SassyMummy
28-04-2009, 08:42
I believe that butter is.
It's made of more natural products, and I'm of the belief that the more natural the ingredients, the healthier it is for you.
Margerine is just a bunch of chemicals really.
If you're meaning "better" as in, better for weightloss, going a low-fat butter is similar, calorie-wise, to having a low-fat margerine. There's not really much difference, but the taste is almost always better with butter, and the more natural ingredients the better!
Ana Gram
28-04-2009, 09:42
you'll be happy to know Chelle that because of you my family now only get Harmonie organic spread (or devondale if we are having a tight budget week) 'cos they are the only ones I could find without palm oil and DH has a lactose intollerance.
:smiliedance::smiliedance: I knew my constant ranting would pay off :laughing:
Just so everyone knows, if your marge has trans fat in in, it is most likely palm oil!!
well you got through to me at least Chelle! :D it's not as hard as I thought to make the switch - there's only a few products I am having a hard time finding, I'll have to PM you and see if you have any recommendations
I personally prefer butter, but with DH's lactose intolerance it's easier to use these spreads.. I'm happy tho' as besides being lactose free and free of palm oil, they are also (obviously) trans fat free and organic (therefore GM free too) ... oh, and they taste good too!:D
I picked marge, even though I never ever buy it:laughing: I love my butter way too much, and i do prefer natural foods. I just thought the healthy marges with all their cholesterol lowering properties :ecomcity: were actually better for you.
Lillynix
28-04-2009, 11:07
Butter. We use Organic Butter...MmmmMMMm *drools*
However, it's a PITA to spread, especially in a cold Tassie winter, any tips? Fridge vs butter dish in cupboard, soften first...any tips at ALL?
A Party of Five
28-04-2009, 11:14
Margarine is one molecule away from being plastic!
Butter is from natural sources (dairy) and not made from chemicals :thumbsup:
pixiemum2
29-04-2009, 21:07
Well ladies I jumped on here all ready to answer margarine. I didn't realise it was that bad. I just thought it was vegetable based and ok. Well this gives me an excuse to get butter next time :devil6:.
sunnyflower
29-04-2009, 21:15
Does Nuttelex have palm oil in it?
Thats what i use.
Yes apparently marg is one molecule away from plastic.:D
Does Nuttelex have palm oil in it?
Thats what i use.
Yes apparently marg is one molecule away from plastic.:D
yep.. Nuttelex has palm oil :(
no offence to you I hope sunnyflower (certainly none meant) but that 'one molecule away from plastic' thing cracks me up! Do people realise what a big difference one molecule is? Oxygen gives us life and Ozone is deadly. Ozone only has one more oxygen molecule than breathable oxygen! Besides... plastics are made up of molecules called polymers...margarine is a blend of fats and water. There is no chemical similarity between the two!
PunkyDiva
01-05-2009, 17:04
However, it's a PITA to spread, especially in a cold Tassie winter, any tips? Fridge vs butter dish in cupboard, soften first...any tips at ALL?
Mug of boiling water with two knives standing in it to warm up. Two because then one can be rewarming whilst I continue buttering the mountain loads of bread for lunches.:p
It's not as good as softened butter but hey it works :thumbsup: