View Full Version : BRISBANE - Annual Brisbane Morning Tea 2009 - ITS TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

veve
25-04-2009, 00:24

Well - as stated in the general morning tea thread - Brisbane had the biggest turn out for the morning tea last year - lets not disappoint this year!!!

When - Saturday the 13th of June
Time - 10am
Where - Under the Whales at the Brisbane Museum (note - last year it was noisy under the whales, due to echoes etc, if weather permits, we will move around the corner where its more open)
How will I find the gathering? - follow the pink streamers, pink balloons, pink ribbons on prams and the big pink cake!
Will it be scary? well .. umm maybe if you dont like balloons??? otherwise hell no - lots of talk, food, laughter - and afterwards you can take the kid(s) on a tour of the museum ...
How do I get there? - its up to you - you can park under the museum if you like, its about $11-$12 per car .. or you can catch public transport in - the museum is a short walk from public transport options
What do I need to bring? - just your own drinks, and if you would like more than cake for morning tea, a few snacks (there was HEAPS of cake last year, so there will be plenty to go around :) ) a blanket is a smart idea too

I would love to get chatting in the thread - find out who in brisbane is interested in coming :)

Jen

studyingECS
25-04-2009, 00:26
I'll be there.

I won't be late this year because I actually know where the whales are now.:p

veve
25-04-2009, 00:35
I'll be there.

I won't be late this year because I actually know where the whales are now.:p
yay!!!!!! awesome Kate ..

ladybugblue84
25-04-2009, 06:07
Oh I would like to come! I love cake particularly that of the pink variety!!!

UsThreeGirls
25-04-2009, 06:47
Did someone mention cake?:)
I'll be there.
No, really would love to meet other bubhubbers too!

~Bec~
25-04-2009, 07:04
Me :D

ETA: Oh, and James too

Izy
25-04-2009, 08:55
I'm coming too :yes:
Oh so exciting. My first meet. Hope the mods aren't scary :p

veve
25-04-2009, 09:03
I'm coming too :yes:
Oh so exciting. My first meet. Hope the mods aren't scary :p
:laughing: its ok Izy .. just hide around the corner till the cake comes out - once there is cake .. no one will bite :p :laughing:

zenifa
25-04-2009, 09:25
:laughing: its ok Izy .. just hide around the corner till the cake comes out - once there is cake .. no one will bite :p :laughing:

Oh I thought Veve would be jumping out of the cake this year??:laughing:

We will be there, any excuse for cake for me, and the girls love the museum!

studyingECS
25-04-2009, 09:40
Can we please have little name tag stickers to write our usernames on this year Veve?:D

Would make it easier to know who is who when everyone first meets.

sockstealingpoltergeist
25-04-2009, 09:58
I'd like to come and meet some more of the women from this forum.:yes:

Rabbity Babbity
25-04-2009, 15:10
Count me in- I second the idea of having user name tags!

twinmummee
25-04-2009, 15:53
Bugger! I would have loved to come but will still be in England for my little brother's wedding...:(.... maybe next year?!?

Myztiks#1Fan
03-05-2009, 13:36
still tossing up what to do. thinking i should hold coops party on the sunday(as its his 2nd birthday on the 13th) so we can come but still not sure with what to do as we could make a fun day out for us n then party on sunday but :dizzy:...so many decisions

workin'mumof2
03-05-2009, 19:33
we will be there..:)

Pax
03-05-2009, 19:36
i would love to be there and will be if nothing else comes up that i have to do..

i cant plan that far ahead with 5 kids ranging in age from 5 months to 16 years... *sigh*

something always unexpected happens..

but will do my best.

Leeny
03-05-2009, 22:54
:laughing: There was TONS of cake left over last year... THIS year I'm having seconds :o

Soooo come on Brisi ladies.. We got some butts to whoop.. How many more of us are in?? :D

Bubmum
03-05-2009, 23:08
Will defintiely try to be there...missed the last meet a couple of weeks ago, and have been awol without apologies (FOB dramas). Can't wait to meet other hubbers.

Leeny
04-05-2009, 12:50
*bumpity bump* For the day time brisbane ladies :)

Booo
04-05-2009, 12:54
I might have to come, who knows I might be starting a new job.... Fingers crossed to go to the tea :D

Booo
04-05-2009, 14:52
Bumper :P

veve
05-05-2009, 20:40
Me

ETA: Oh, and James too

oh yay!! excellent .. :hugs: I haven't seen James for AGES .. (will be nice to chat to you too!)

Oh I thought Veve would be jumping out of the cake this year??:laughing:

*sighs* .. well .. it wont be a surprise NOW will it .. tsk tsk .. :p

Can we please have little name tag stickers to write our usernames on this year Veve?

Would make it easier to know who is who when everyone first meets.

done (leen .. can you remind me :laughing: )

I'd like to come and meet some more of the women from this forum.:yes:

I would love to meet you too - I adore your username .. :laughing: makes me smile everytime ..

Count me in- I second the idea of having user name tags!

will do ..

SERIOUSLY though brisbane .. we know the other state gatherings are inferior ... the cake will be huge .. and rather delish .. the company spectacular .. its an event you simply cant MISS!!!

JEn

bAaM
07-05-2009, 11:47
I will be there, but I am dragging DP along this time, I dont want to have to run after my explorer Little miss again concidering I will be 7 months pregnent:laughing: ( but would be a funny site)

I have been waiting for this to pop up again, I was in Townsville last year.
DP will be a little peeved cause its his Bday weekend but we will just have to go away the weekend before cause I am coming to this:laughing:

Looking forward to it:yelclap:

bAaM
07-05-2009, 12:03
Would there be any chance of Hilary and Brad making an apperance:D

I would love to meet the Bubhub Mummy and Daddy?

MrsShe
07-05-2009, 14:56
We will be there - cant wait to meet up with others and put names to faces.

Izy
07-05-2009, 15:42
OMG Mrs She- we get to meet! :thumbsup:

MrsShe
09-05-2009, 06:12
woohooo Izy :yelclap: is your DH coming along?

Izy
09-05-2009, 06:31
Not sure that I can convince him yet :p We'll see, probably not though.

taliistheword
09-05-2009, 08:01
tali and i will be there , i missed out on last year one. can't wait to see u guys again:yelclap:

Leeny
09-05-2009, 19:25
*bumpity bump*.. Come on ladies! :D

Yep Jen, I'll remind you about the name tags.. Shhhhhh, we should have kept the cake a secret, no doubt the other states will try to lure more members with cake :yes:.. We however don't NEED to offer cake.. Brisi chicks are so darn good they'd come cake or no cake, right?! :p

Izy
09-05-2009, 20:44
Right Leen! Although... there had better be cake :p

veve
09-05-2009, 20:54
*bumpity bump*.. Come on ladies! :D

Yep Jen, I'll remind you about the name tags.. Shhhhhh, we should have kept the cake a secret, no doubt the other states will try to lure more members with cake :yes:.. We however don't NEED to offer cake.. Brisi chicks are so darn good they'd come cake or no cake, right?! :p
pffft our cake will be SO FAR SUPERIOR .. let the other states try .. *snigger* .. I know a wonderful place to get it from (I"m not going to risk the health of bubhubbers by making it myself .. I don't need to be on the news :laughing: )

YAY!!!! I cant belive so many people are keen to meet - that is awesome .. we MUST at least beat Melbourne and Sydney - we cant have those capital cities thinking they are better .. pfft ..

Jen

Leeny
09-05-2009, 22:16
MMMmmmmMMMmmmMMMmm Delicious caaaakkkkeeeeeee.. God it was good.. I hang out for birthdays and events just to eat that cake :laughing:

veve
11-05-2009, 06:59
bumpitty bump for other brisbanites .. :D

anyone else want to join us for cake and company??

JEn

Leisa21
11-05-2009, 09:14
The three of us will be there :) But i warn you DH loves cake and has hollow legs:D

workin'mumof2
11-05-2009, 12:03
yummy cake.. i'll have to bake a special one for seth though as he is gluten free.:) were all looking forward to it.

sonnysmum
11-05-2009, 13:59
Hey! My name is jess... VERY new here!! I am 22 and 20 weeks pregnant with my first baby... which I just found out is a boy and we are going to call him Sonny (just thought i'd explain the name lol) When I first found out about this meet it was like... omg! no way.... rock up by myself... never!! But reading what all of you have been writing about going... I am becoming convinced! You sound like a fun group!!
I have just moved to Bris from Townsville and know hardly anyone.. so this could be good!!
But I need to ask... what is the address of the Museum? lol... I know it is in the city but thats about as far as i have got so far.... Brisbane is soooooo big! I live on the North side and dont leave it very often!! hehe But I do have a GPS!
Jess

Leeny
11-05-2009, 14:07
sonnysmum, it'd be a good way to meet some Brisbane ladies if you're new down here :)

To get to the museum, you can catch a bus to the multicultural centre and its right near there, or theres parking there too.. It's basically next to Southbank.. Do you know where the art gallery is?

MummyoftheMuffins
11-05-2009, 15:59
OH! I just read this thread.... I want to come!! I like cake!!! And DD likes cake too, especially pink cake!:yes:

Izy
11-05-2009, 16:40
YAY for more people :yelclap:

Seth&Ruby'smum- Lucky your kids have you for their mum... if they were relying on me to make a glutenfree cake....

Totally impressed with some of the local shops over here though, we have a specialty shop that does gluten free... and ACTUAL gluten free... not the pretend version where they cook it with the same utensils etc.

veve
11-05-2009, 21:27
sonnysmum ( tobe :D ) if you go to googlemaps and look for GREY street brisbane.. I"m 99% sure the museum is ON THAT street ..

and yes you can park underneath .. but its about $11?? ish dollars

You are most welcome to come - how exciting to be expecting a new bubba .. congrats :D

As for the people who love cake .. come one .. come all .. there will be HEAPS of cake :laughing: even for husbands with hollow legs!!

Jen

Leisa21
12-05-2009, 08:41
even for husbands with hollow legs!!

I'll hold you to that:p

sonnysmum
12-05-2009, 10:15
oh ok... so hubbys can come, too? that might make it easier if he comes.. he knows his way around better than i do.. and yes... he has hollow legs, too!! haha
what does dh and dd mean? is that something to do with the dads?

HunnyBunch
13-05-2009, 09:33
I've just marked it on the calendar.

Izy
13-05-2009, 11:19
DH is darling husband, DD is darling Daughter.

There is a thread with the abreviations floating around.... but I can't find it now cause I'm at work :p

Leeny
14-05-2009, 11:55
*bumpity bump!* Afternoon ladies ;)..

bAaM
14-05-2009, 12:35
C'mon brisbane.

Come out come out where ever you are.

I know there are LOTS more brissy members.

Dont be scaredy cats we dont bite only Veve does but as long as she has cake its all good:D

traseal
14-05-2009, 12:55
I MIGHT be coming :)

veve
14-05-2009, 22:25
DH is darling husband, DD is darling Daughter.

There is a thread with the abreviations floating around.... but I can't find it now cause I'm at work

I think you will find its in the HOW TO section of the forum?? (in the tool bar at the top :D)

C'mon brisbane.

Come out come out where ever you are.

I know there are LOTS more brissy members.

Dont be scaredy cats we dont bite only Veve does but as long as she has cake its all good:D

Yes Yes (smartypants) I will have had breakfast ... so I promise not to bite :p the cake WILL be good .. last year I went back for seconds :laughing:

The museum is an awesome place to have it - last year so many of us took the kids for a walk through the museum after morning tea :D it was a great day. Come on brissie chicks ... its FREE CAKE (and fantastic company :laughing: )

Jen

Jensha
16-05-2009, 20:09
I'm thinking about it. I would love to come with DD to meet other hubbers. It would be a great day out for her.

sweetseven
16-05-2009, 20:20
DF asks, "So ... are we having a year old cake ... ?
What do I need to bring? - just your own drinks, and if you would like more than cake for morning tea, a few snacks (there was HEAPS of cake last year, so there will be plenty to go around :) ) a blanket is a smart idea too

veve
17-05-2009, 16:31
DF asks, "So ... are we having a year old cake ... ?
:laughing: slap him for being a smart **** :p the cake will be fresh and gorgeous - of course it IS travelling to the event in my car, so it MAY have a chunk out of it by the time it arrives... but I"ll do my best to cover that bit up with icing and decorations :p

Jen

Izy
17-05-2009, 16:58
I think we may need to arrange an escort to travel with the cake and Veve :rolleyes:

Josephsmum
17-05-2009, 20:17
Do we have to let you know in advance?? I'd love to come and meet some new ppl cos I dont get out much but Saturday is normally when DS goes to his father (unless he has to work)

Booo
18-05-2009, 16:26
Whooooooooooooot still sooooooo excited

mixi_mama
18-05-2009, 16:29
You can count me in :)

veve
20-05-2009, 22:45
Do we have to let you know in advance?? I'd love to come and meet some new ppl cos I dont get out much but Saturday is normally when DS goes to his father (unless he has to work)
you dont HAVE to let me know - but the more people who come .. the bigger the cake (cause I'm not that good at sharing .. so the pieces have to be decent ones ) .. closer to the date I'll write a list of who is supposed to be coming .. and base the cake size on that .. whooohooo ..

sooooooooooooooo .. basically if you dont confirm, and I'm hungry - you might not get that last piece of cake :) (but you will be MOST welcome at the morning tea :) )

JEn

bubhub
21-05-2009, 10:15
I'll be there too - plus bub-hubbies and bubhub-bubs. Hopefully some of the office crew will come along too.

BayleysMum
25-05-2009, 18:43
I would love to come along as well, but I am not really sure where the whales are?? Are they at the entrance of the museum??? See you all there. :)

lillyandkatiesmum
26-05-2009, 14:24
hi i would love to come but i might be in hospital again , i just got out after being in there for a week and 1/2 so i dont realy no i guess it just depends on my two darling girls inside me that seam to want to come out way too early as im only 26 weeks!!!

Myztiks#1Fan
26-05-2009, 14:29
i have decided we are going to come and then spend the day in the city and southbank looking around and making a day of it for coops birthday. oh gosh.

wat a busy weekend it will certainly be for us

Leeny
26-05-2009, 18:54
Ohhh nice to hear you can make it Hilary! :)

You too Coopmum!

*bumpity bump*

sockstealingpoltergeist
26-05-2009, 20:10
I'm a little scared, so I'm thinking of hovering up on top of one of the whales and spying on everyone. Then sneaking cake when no one is looking.

Leisa21
26-05-2009, 20:13
I'm a little scared, so I'm thinking of hovering up on top of one of the whales and spying on everyone. Then sneaking cake when no one is looking.

MMMM cake. I might join you up there on the whales :)

Leeny
28-05-2009, 15:51
Careful ladies.. Those whales are mighty high, and I'm sure the whale sounds will be extra loud all the way up there :p.. Not to mention the cake will most definitely be guarded by Jen, and myself :laughing:

Myztiks#1Fan
29-05-2009, 12:01
we wont be making it now. everything is all over the place atm.

sonnysmum
01-06-2009, 08:32
Hey... Just letting you know I should definately be coming! My fiancee is away with the Army for 3 weeks :( so instead of being the biggest loner in the world at home, I want to come and meet some more Brisbane people :) Will be sooo good to get out of the house! I'm 22 and 23 weeks pregnant.. so nothing should be stopping me :) I was a bit scared to be rocking up by myself, as my only child is in my belly! But I don't like being a loner here, so I have nothing to lose! :) Can't wait to meet you all! :)
Jess

InSaneOne
01-06-2009, 09:55
hopefully i can make it this year. i loved the piccy's of last year's meet. leeny takes excellent photos :D

oh and cake - dd loves cake.

count us in jen!

veve
01-06-2009, 10:23
we wont be making it now. everything is all over the place atm.
I figured you would at least be a maybe now hon :hugs: hopefully things are sorted for you soon..

Everyone else .. bumpity bump ... LETS PARTY with CAKE whoooohooooo :D

btw - there is a museum cafe not far from where we are .. tis not the cheapest place on the planet .. but its there for cold drinks etc (last year I just neeeeeeeded a coffee :laughing: )

ok .. I"m off to order the cake now ... so you better all turn up .. or I'll have to eat it all .. and my pants wont fit .. :p

Jen

Izy
01-06-2009, 10:57
sonnysmum- I'm going on my own too, and I'm only 11 weeks pregnant LOL

Jen, don't worry, I'm definitely going to help with that cake (oh the benefits of maternity pants stretchiness :p)

Leeny
01-06-2009, 11:01
MMMMMMMmmmmmmmm cake cake cake cake cake cake cake :laughing:

Glad you're coming Belinda! :)

rileysmum05
01-06-2009, 14:45
Hello All:)
I am going to try and make it!! It would be so good to put names to faces.
Count me and ds in (99% sure)

Skittles
01-06-2009, 14:56
Hi all. we will try and make it. Would love to meet some lovelly bubhubbers

veve
03-06-2009, 13:44
bumpity bump bump

Leeny
04-06-2009, 00:01
Just thought I'd post this so people were aware.. It come to our attention that from 10am-3pm they have the southbanks regional flavours event on at the parklands. Theres going to be things like wine tasting and fresh produce stuff there so you may like to squeeze some of that into your day too.

We just thought it might be worth mentioning, because parking may be more limited, although the closest parking is the museum parking, not the southbank parking so it may not be *too* bad.. It may be wiser to catch public transport in if its easy and accessable though so parking isn't a worry.

Just a heads up! So now there'll be cake, good company, AND wine tasting :p.. Beat that other states :laughing:

Izy
04-06-2009, 06:52
Ohhh... and there is also yummy fresh produce samples.

YAY for South Banks's Regional Flavours :yelclap:

Leisa21
04-06-2009, 07:41
DOH:doh: I just realised I can't make it :crying:. DH graduates from the Police Academy on the 12th and on the 13th I got us a room for the night on the Gold Coast for a suprise. So excited about going away but I just realised it's the same date as this. What a douche bag lol :

sockstealingpoltergeist
04-06-2009, 15:23
DOH:doh: I just realised I can't make it :crying:. DH graduates from the Police Academy on the 12th and on the 13th I got us a room for the night on the Gold Coast for a suprise. So excited about going away but I just realised it's the same date as this. What a douche bag lol :
:crying: I'm sad about that leisa. *shakes fist and Leisa husbands achievements*

trin_007
04-06-2009, 16:07
How come I've only just seen this????!!!!

I've been checking out all the replies to see how many names I 'know'...only 3 or 4, but I would still like to come - obviously I will know a lot more afterwards :D Also keen to check out some more MCNs IRL so hoping there are a few clothies going along.

And....when I finally get to the end of all the posts, I find that the Regional Tastes thingy is on, which I've already conned mum into going to, so we will be in the area anyway, so will definately have to drop by.

traseal
05-06-2009, 07:39

I've been checking out all the replies to see how many names I 'know'...only 3 or 4, but I would still like to come - obviously I will know a lot more afterwards :D Also keen to check out some more MCNs IRL so hoping there are a few clothies going along.

Your on chat arent you?? I will be there, if im not lazy Ds will be in mcns too.

Leeny
05-06-2009, 10:13
trin_007, veve is a cloth mum, so undoubtedly her youngest will be in his saturdays finest!

If Nic71 comes (not sure if she is or not!), she's also another cloth mum.. I'm sure there will be others there too :yes:

Shakey
05-06-2009, 11:05
Did I hear the work cake mentioned???? :D mmmmmmm cake *wipes drool from mouth*

we'll be there :yes: its DS's special day, so i'll be taking him on a special train ride up :D he loves going on the train, so he'll have a ball, whats better than hanging out with other kids and train rides on ya birthday lol

Leisa21
05-06-2009, 12:06
:crying: I'm sad about that leisa. *shakes fist and Leisa husbands achievements*

I know, damn him! LOL When I told him we wouldn't be going because we're double booked he was very upset as he was more than looking forward to cake. Poor Andrew :(

I'm totally bummed. In saying that though, check in is at 1pm and it's only an hour or so away from the coast so we probably could squeeze by for some cake..... lol.

workin'mumof2
05-06-2009, 12:14

And....when I finally get to the end of all the posts, I find that the Regional Tastes thingy is on, which I've already conned mum into going to, so we will be in the area anyway, so will definately have to drop by.

were cloth bums here.. i have 2 at the moment in cloth:yes:

does anyone know if there are toilets close by incase seth does want to go one and not in his nappy

Leeny
05-06-2009, 12:26
Yep S&R'sMum, there's toilets near by, as well as a little cafe attached to the museum if people want cold drinks, coffee's etc.

sonnysmum
06-06-2009, 21:25
Hey girls... I am not going to be able to make it any longer :(
because my boy is in the army and going away for 3 weeks, I am going up to Townsville to see my family for a week.
I was really looking forward to meeting everyone, too... maybe another time!
sorry!!

QTB
07-06-2009, 18:30
YAY!!!

Im so there!! :D

Last year was great!

omgosh, Harlan was only a newborn last year :o hehe

:smiliedance::smiliedance:

Shakey
07-06-2009, 20:45
how time flies ay Mel, he's definatly not a newborn anymore, but a walking toddler :eek:

well i'm a dumb ****, I may not beable to make it now, I totally forgot about DS's soccer, will have to find out what time his game it, if its early enough we might make it up there by 11.30, if it isn't, I might have to miss out :crying:

Leeny
07-06-2009, 20:55
I remember seeing him last year Mel, he was very tiny indeed!

Ohhhh Jo, that sucks!!! I hope you're able to make it.. I'm sure we'll still be there hanging about and chatting at 11:30!

veve
08-06-2009, 13:32
just another bump so more bubhubbers see it :D remember ... there will be pink streamers... pink balloons, pink cake - and other mums/dads to talk to :D

Jen

Pax
09-06-2009, 08:09
*off topic*

does anyone know how long it takes to get our ribbons/stickers when they have been requested??

traseal
10-06-2009, 16:16
*off topic*

does anyone know how long it takes to get our ribbons/stickers when they have been requested??

mine just wrrived but it took approx a week maybe longer

Pax
10-06-2009, 16:17
mine just wrrived but it took approx a week maybe longer

i ordered mine heaps ago:crying:

workin'mumof2
10-06-2009, 16:18
im sure the mods will have some to give away:yes:

traseal
10-06-2009, 16:34
i ordered mine heaps ago:crying:

I have a spare pram one cause they sent me two and you can have my sticker cause i only want the pram one??

Pax
10-06-2009, 16:35
I have a spare pram one cause they sent me two and you can have my sticker cause i only want the pram one??

no i am asking a mod now. i am patient. you keep your sticker.. sell it on ebay :laughing:

ladybugblue84
10-06-2009, 18:08
Darn I can't come now :crying: I promised to help my heavily preggers sister do some undercoverwear parties (she's the consultant). Hope ya's all have fun & will catch up with ya's at another meet :wave:

studyingECS
10-06-2009, 18:08
Won't be able to make it, babysitting job that day and I couldn't refuse. LOL.

Have fun ladies.

veve
11-06-2009, 18:42
ok .. about the pram ribbons :) At the moment - I"m in charge of the dispensing of them :) the orders are collated once a month, and posted at the same time - so if you order at the start of the month - you may still have to wait till the END of the month for the list to be finalised - then printed - then posted.

Please appreciate that often when I go to the post office, I have one child screaming (real tears and all) to get down .. while the other is helping himself to the items within a three year olds reach- last time he was carrying a box of 500 envelopes for me, and decided he wanted to read what was on the BOTTOM of the box ... sigh you can imagine how long it took me (while wrestling the one year old) to pick up the 500 envelopes .. %^&$%^) :p so sometimes it takes me awhile to post them :laughing:

I promise ALL ribbons that are ordered get sent out .. :D

(I will also have an array of ribbons, bubhub carstickers and bits and pieces at the morning tea ... )

Jen

Leeny
11-06-2009, 19:47
Surely it wouldn't take THAT long to pick up 500 envelopes with 2 children in tow??? :rolleyes: I'll tell you ladies.. That vevie, shes a slack one:shame::laughing:

Only two more sleeps ladies!!

So who's a definite yes?? So many have pulled out :(

Izy
11-06-2009, 19:49
I'm a definitive (maybe). I've got the flu at the moment

veve
11-06-2009, 21:56
you oinking Iz??? :p

veve
11-06-2009, 21:58
Surely it wouldn't take THAT long to pick up 500 envelopes with 2 children in tow??? :rolleyes: I'll tell you ladies.. That vevie, shes a slack one:shame::laughing:

Only two more sleeps ladies!!

So who's a definite yes?? So many have pulled out :(
HEY YOU .. a true friend would have been there to help me .. within seconds ... huh?? where WERE you slacko??

I agree .. can we get a list please??? I would hate to have to talk to leeny all morning if she is the only one that shows up :laughing: besides there will be WAAAAY to much cake just for us!!!

please copy and paste .. adding yourself ..

Vevie
Leen

Leeny
11-06-2009, 22:34
Oh... My.. Gawd. God forbid you should have to talk to ME all morning?? Well geez, I know where I stand.. No photos of YOU saturday morning :laughing::laughing:

Yes, I'm trying to lose those extra kilos.. That cake is so damn scrummy that I'll be going back for seconds and thirds :p.. Come on ladies, add yourselves to the list :D

workin'mumof2
12-06-2009, 06:22
we are defiantly going to be there. :yelclap: all 4 of us:D

Izy
12-06-2009, 08:29
I'm being tested for the oink factor in a few hours...
Probably won't be coming. Community service:crying:

veve
12-06-2009, 08:43
oh izy :( that is soooooooo sad ... I hope the test goes well ( and its ok .. I know you aren't sick .. you just dont want to meet leen ... but your secret is safe with me .. :D)

S&RMum - awesome :D thanks for confirming - will see you there!!!

naiwen
12-06-2009, 09:07
I would love to come with E if it's not too late *I can bring my own cake if need be LOL*

I never book into these things until the last minute because E can get v sick at the drop of a hat, cheeky monkey!

bAaM
12-06-2009, 09:11
We will be there, we are doing the family thing but DP is taking DS into the museum while i am with you girls.

He is really shy but i told him i wasnt doing the city with 2 kids on my own while 6 months pregnent so the museum is our compromise.

Looking forward to it.
Can I have someones Mob number incase I get lost?

Alicia:flowerz:

traseal
12-06-2009, 09:23
I will be there and another bub hubber also :yes:

Rabbity Babbity
12-06-2009, 10:42
We will be there...and we're doing the markets and museum afterwards. so excited :D

Izy
12-06-2009, 12:16
I'm in quarentine pending piggy swab results :no: I'll have to meet you lovely ladies next time.

veve
12-06-2009, 13:27
awesome to see that some lovely hubbers are still coming :)

the cake will EASILY feed all Julie - so dont worry :D .. as long as Edward can eat standard ' cake' there will be heaps to go around.

yay ..

JEn

Leeny
12-06-2009, 16:42
*bumpity bump* for the evening crowd! Don't forget tomorrow morning ladies, it'll be a fantastic morning :)

Pax
12-06-2009, 17:02
I have every intention of coming. DH is upset with me cause he thinks the baby will catch swine flu...:(

BUT i want to get out of here for the day :yes:

Leeny
12-06-2009, 17:14
Well, Izy's staying home so you should be safe :laughing:

No seriously though.. I'm sure it'll be fine, most people are usually pretty sensible and stay home when sick :)

UsThreeGirls
12-06-2009, 17:27
I am so upset!
DD has an ear infection so we cant come

workin'mumof2
12-06-2009, 17:58
this is going to sound really embarresing but can i please have a street name that its on please? it might be easier for me to find it i put it in the nav man :o

naiwen
12-06-2009, 18:27
Hey seth and rubys mum,

It's called the queensland museum I think (that's what came up when I googled it) and it's on the corner of Grey Street and another one LOL.

naiwen
12-06-2009, 18:29
And yay I get to meet morrigan and heaps of other people!

Veve DS is mildly chocolate intolerant (no really) but I am bringing some snacks from him in case he cannot cope with the cake.

Leeny
12-06-2009, 18:42
naiwen, I'm pretty sure it'll be a vanilla sponge with mock cream :) No chocolate.. At least if it's the same as last year,.. Vanilla is usually a safe choice so I'm assuming that's what veve's ordered. For those that need directions, I'm going to upload a map shortly.

ETA: Ok here we go..

Here's a map of where exactly the museum is .. If you're catching the bus, you can get dropped off at the cultural centre RIGHT outside the museum. If you're driving, follow the blue P signs, parking is directly under the museum at $12 a day. We'll be kinda where the red cross is, either in the corridor with the whales, or directly outside.
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/map1-1.jpg

Here's an actual map of level 2 of the museum... Now, some people had trouble finding it last year because the whales can be a bit hard to see if you don't know what you're looking for. They're not actually inside the museum, but there will be a looooonnnggg corridor that echo's (oh god, does it ever echo), and it plays lovely whale sounds. We'll either be in that corridor right near the whales, or we'll be outside and around the corner a smidge (marked on the map). There will be pink balloons and streamers, so it shouldn't be too hard to spot!
http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g91/Daneenyth/level2.jpg

http://www.southbank.qm.qld.gov.au/visit/
http://www.southbank.qm.qld.gov.au/visit/gettinghere.asp
Visitor info and museum directions in case anyone wants them.

bAaM, I haven't met you yet, but I'm more then happy to give you my mobile number in case you get lost. The offer stands for everyone else coming.. If you'd like my mobile number, please shoot me a PM tonight and I'll make sure everyone has it :) I need to be out the door pretty early tomorrow so if you're wanting a PM, make sure you tell me before about 7:30 in the morning :laughing:

Leeny
12-06-2009, 19:05
Ok.. All done.. Hope that helps someone!

Pax
12-06-2009, 19:13
And yay I get to meet morrigan and heaps of other people!

Veve DS is mildly chocolate intolerant (no really) but I am bringing some snacks from him in case he cannot cope with the cake.
:yelclap: I am excited to meet you too Naiwen and everyone else as well.

biggest outing i have had in years.. cant remember when the last actual party (outside of family) was.. so i am going to notch this up as a 'party' :yes:

Leeny
12-06-2009, 19:37
:laughing: Morrigan, I told dd we were having a big party, but that it was a party for everyone... She went on to ask me if everyone in the world would be there, and I said wellll maybe not EVERYONE in the world.. Then she ask's if there'll be millions of people there :laughing:

Pax
12-06-2009, 19:37
:laughing: Morrigan, I told dd we were having a big party, but that it was a party for everyone... She went on to ask me if everyone in the world would be there, and I said wellll maybe not EVERYONE in the world.. Then she ask's if there'll be millions of people there :laughing:

:laughing: tell her only the VIP's of the world will be there :laughing:

bAaM
12-06-2009, 19:40
Thanks Leeny.

Does anyone know if the makets are on at southback in the morning?

I dont know if we will be there for to long cause I want to get home for a nanny nap before a football bbq for DS tomorrow arvo.

Izy
12-06-2009, 19:43
LOL, yes. I'm not coming- so I won't infect any of you with my piggy cough (although I am not yet sure I have it... I just had the pleasent swabs today).

As for DH being worried about bubs... just stay a meter away from anyone and risk goneski's. Oh, and even if you were to catch it the only real risk to bubs is the fever that comes with it... The rest is just uncomfortable and annoying since there is nothing we can take.:rolleyes:

Shakey
12-06-2009, 19:46
Thanks Leeny.

Does anyone know if the makets are on at southback in the morning?

I dont know if we will be there for to long cause I want to get home for a nanny nap before a football bbq for DS tomorrow arvo.

they are usually on on a sat chick,

its not fair if you go to them, cause I wanna go :hissy:

I wanna go to the BH meet too :hissy:

damn soccer:hissy:

bAaM
12-06-2009, 19:51
I am bummed you cant come Jo I was looking forward to catching up again.

Maybe DS could have a sore foot and miss a soccor game:laughing:

I didnt get a chance to have a good look at the markets last time so I want to tomorrow, Am going in early so i can look before the MT.

Leeny
12-06-2009, 19:56
Geez Jo.. I can't believe you'd pick your sons soccer game over a bubhub meet??? Whats the world coming too!!

Yep, the markets will be on.. The Southbank Regional Flavours festival will be on tomorrow too :yes:

~Bec~
12-06-2009, 20:06
I will be there but not until about 11am. I hope people will still be there! (There'd better still be some cake too!!!!)

Leeny
12-06-2009, 20:09
Yep Bec, we'll still be there!! Can't guarantee that cake part though:devil::p:laughing:

Pax
12-06-2009, 20:16
off to bed now.. see you all in the morning. :wave:

Shakey
12-06-2009, 20:19
I am bummed you cant come Jo I was looking forward to catching up again.

Maybe DS could have a sore foot and miss a soccor game:laughing:

hmmm maybe he just might wake up with a sore foot or two :devil: we'll see, its a bummer i'll miss meeting up with ya again, maybe in a couple of weeks ay?

Geez Jo.. I can't believe you'd pick your sons soccer game over a bubhub meet??? Whats the world coming too!!

I know, what a horrible mum I am to pick something for him to do rather than what I want :laughing:,

see now if the morning tea was on the sunday, I would be there with bell's on :yes:

Leeny
12-06-2009, 21:09
:laughing: Excuses! Ahhhh next time hey? :)

Shakey
12-06-2009, 21:25
yeah definatly next time, it seams to be always the way with me, I never have anything to do, and when somthing is on, i've got something else happening :hair::crying:

Jensha
12-06-2009, 21:45
What time does the Morning Tea finish?

Leeny
12-06-2009, 22:10
Jensha, I'd think that we'll be wrapping up sometime between 12-1pm? :)

veve
12-06-2009, 23:58
one more sleep :)

Leeny
13-06-2009, 00:06
Ahhhh I shall dream of cake.. mmm... Knowing my lovely little child, she wont eat breakfast and will end up having cake for breakfast like last year :rolleyes:

Leisa21
13-06-2009, 06:33
Enjoy your yummy cake everyone, have fun :) Sorry we'll miss it:wave:

Pax
13-06-2009, 07:13
:crying: trying to get my impossible morning family out of bed...

see you all there, albeit late maybe but will get there ...

*goes off to kick some lazy cold butts*:hissy:

Izy
13-06-2009, 09:03
Enjoy yourselves ladies. The weather looks lovely... if only I could come :no:

sweetseven
13-06-2009, 09:06
I'll be heading in shortly, so I'll claim the excuse of fashionably late.

traseal
13-06-2009, 10:05
sorry missed this morning, i woke up and every bone in my body ached and felt i cold coming on so i thought it best to not share

workin'mumof2
13-06-2009, 12:01
we had a lovely time and seth fell asleep in the car. he is still asleep now :D ruby however. no idea what she is on. maybe cake :laughing:

we had a lovely time meeting up with you all :goodvibes:

bAaM
13-06-2009, 13:39
Thanks for having us today we had a great day out, Am stuffed now but have to go to a BBQ:rolleyes:

The cake was wonderful, your all very lovely.
Even you Morrigan:D Your not as scary IRL :laughing:

I am quite shy when i first meet ppl but am glad we came along.

Thanks again and I wonder if we won:detective:

I think cause Hilary was there she should count for 2 ppl as she is the creater ;)

Pax
13-06-2009, 15:29
Hilary
Veve
Leeny
SethandRuby'sMum
bAaM
SockStealingPoltegiest
Naiwen
Becs999

tiera3 ... better late than never ;)

and the one lady I missed talking to with the new bubby... i am sorry i forgot your user name...

and all associated other halfs and children..and I hope i never left anyone else out...

THANKYOU for a lovely morning.. it was delightful to meet you all.

bAaM I am happy that you felt i wasnt scary IRL :laughing: I had no idea i was scary online... :o i might have to work on a more pleasant online personality :p

~Bec~
13-06-2009, 15:31
Twas great to see some familar faces and put a few more faces to names :D I don't get to do 'mummy' things very often so it's great when I can.

The cake was wonderful, your all very lovely.
Even you Morrigan:D Your not as scary IRL :laughing:

Unlike that Veve, she's really scary! :p

veve
13-06-2009, 16:23
Hilary
Veve
Leeny
SethandRuby'sMum
bAaM
SockStealingPoltegiest
Naiwen
Becs999
Trin007
Morrigan (der you forgot yourself :p )

tiera3 ... better late than never

the lady with the new bubba was Trin007 :)

it was a lovely relaxed morning tea -

I really have to post a big thank you to Leeny .. who helped me organise things - and get it all organised on time :hugs:

(where are the photos leeny :p :laughing: )

(bec - dont think I didn't see that comment btw :p meanie!!!!)

Leeny
13-06-2009, 16:35
Thank you all for coming ladies! It was a wonderful morning.. I must say, I don't have any photos ready *right* now.. And I didn't take as many as last year.. Then sun was far too harsh this year.. Last year we had a lovely overcast day and 10-2 really is terrible for photos :laughing:

I'll upload one later tonight when I get home again.. I'm stuffed!

It was lovely to meet you all and put some faces to the names. People never look like what you think they will!

Hilary
Veve
Leeny
SethandRuby'sMum
bAaM
SockStealingPoltegiest
Naiwen
Becs999
Trin007
Morrigan
tiera3
Merla I think it was also came along :)

And you're very welcome Jen :hugs: Always happy to help!

sockstealingpoltergeist
13-06-2009, 18:25
Thanks everyone

It was great to meet up, and with some of you for the second time.:yes: The cake was delicious too, yumm.

I am sorry I had to leave, would have liked to stay longer, but I had previously promised my mum that we would do something as she was babysitting my nephew and I forgot. Oh and they loved the cake too.

sweetseven
14-06-2009, 08:58
I turn up, and no-one is under the whales. I look all around trying to see a pink pram ribbo, and comment about a pink streamer that indicates they've been. DD2 says that she's seen lots of pink balloons and streamers, so we head over to there. And yes, that was it. I arrived just as the meet was breaking up. The cake delayed its departure just long enough for us to have some. And other people stayed to chat for a little while.

Afterwards, we went to the museum and then the markets at Southbank. DD2 really enjoyed herself, even though she felt her feet were going to drop off.

DD6's voice is very scratchy this morning, so it appears she is coming down with something. She was in her pram for during the meet, so hopefully no-one would've caught it from her.

We were intending on going to The Big Day Out and Mount Cootha gardens today, but I dont think I should take DD6 now. I dont want her to make anyone else's kids sick. (She doesn't have a temperature, so it is just a scratchy throat.)

workin'mumof2
14-06-2009, 10:10
tiera3 - pitty i missed you. we left at 12 as it was getting a bit to much for my son seth.

hope your dd6 is ok :hugs:

veve
14-06-2009, 21:56
oh hon .. I hope your little girl is ok soon - she quickly had a soft spot for my Jack .. :laughing: she even gave him a flower .. :yes:

*stamps foot* LEEEENY .. WHERE ARE THE PHOTOS :p

sweetseven
15-06-2009, 14:17
We only just missed you then, S&R'sMum, it was 12:08 when I arrived at the whales (though took a little longer to find everyone).

My toddler does appear to have a bit of a cold, her voice is still altered, and she's got a bit of a runny nose today. However, no other symptoms or signs of distress at all. So I'm sure she'll be fine soon.

~Bec~
15-06-2009, 19:21
I'm even sadder than I thought. I realised that I wore the same jeans to last years annual morning tea and they are still my 'new' jeans. I was just flicking through some photos and... I wore the same top last year too!!!! :( :o

veve
15-06-2009, 20:31
I'm even sadder than I thought. I realised that I wore the same jeans to last years annual morning tea and they are still my 'new' jeans. I was just flicking through some photos and... I wore the same top last year too!!!! :( :o
:laughing: dont feel TOOOOOOOOO bad Bec .. :laughing: I had to get changed too - cause I got dressed in EXACTLY the same outfit .. :laughing:

workin'mumof2
16-06-2009, 05:53
im confused. where are the pics your referring to.... or did you guys take your own:confused::o

naiwen
16-06-2009, 06:49
Leeny was wondering around taking some pics hun, but she is very subtle about it so that's why you didnt notice probably.

LOL I am so proud of myself for not buying anything at the markets afterwards.

workin'mumof2
16-06-2009, 06:58
has she uploaded them?

naiwen
16-06-2009, 07:00
Not yet but hopefully soon!

zenifa
16-06-2009, 08:03
Oh NO! We had a 1st b'day party and I completely FORGOT about this, darn!!! Might try for next year. Looking forward to seeing the pics, how was the cake people??

veve
17-06-2009, 08:11
Oh NO! We had a 1st b'day party and I completely FORGOT about this, darn!!! Might try for next year. Looking forward to seeing the pics, how was the cake people??
the cake was AWESOME .. and although at the start of the morning tea - the cake looked HUGE .. seriously .. there was basically just one row of slices left .. it was so delish that we pretty much polished it off!!!!

No photos yet .. sheesh .. these professional photographers take ages ... anyone would think she was going away soon and was stressed about something else :p

Jen

workin'mumof2
10-07-2009, 14:09
where did the photos go?:confused:

Izy
24-10-2010, 16:31
Well I'm not scared of them anymore cause now "I'm one of them" (said with ominous voice)