View Full Version : PERTH - Bub Hub Annual Morning Tea - June 13th

cmd'smum
25-04-2009, 00:02
Come one come all!!!!:D

Cmon perthies, lets show those Brisbanites that we can beat them by having the largest turn out this year! :raspberry:

So we need to decide on a start time, place and what we want to do for food, etc.

Obviously the location has to be central so it's fair for everyone. The only park that comes to mind it Kings park, am sure there is more but it's late and I have pregnancy brain :D

As for food, maybe we can all bring a plate to share? Bring our own drinks?

So lets get this thing organised!

cmd'smum
25-04-2009, 00:06
Thought I'd post a link to Veve's thread which explains the purpose/background of why the morning tea is held!:wave:

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=252553

Nowhere
25-04-2009, 00:12
cool sounds great, we wil try and make it as long as we not in hospital, and miki is wel enough

Kings park is a good idea as its central for everyone north or south east or west

cmd'smum
25-04-2009, 00:14
cool sounds great, we wil try and make it as long as we not in hospital, and miki is wel enough

Kings park is a good idea as its central for everyone north or south east or west

:yelclap: Would love to finally meet you and Miki!!:D

veve
25-04-2009, 00:28
Just going to move this thread to the Morning Tea area of the forum :D So we can all keep an eye on your perthies .. and what you are organising .. :)

Will make it a sticky too ...

Jen

Nowhere
25-04-2009, 00:32
thanks veve, but could we then pretty please have PERTH added to the thread tittle so that all of the perthies will check it out

if thats not to much of a big ask

heheh i know im cheecky thanks

Nowhere
25-04-2009, 00:33
ok lol scrap my last post you already did thanks

veve
25-04-2009, 00:34
ok lol scrap my last post you already did thanks
no worries Amy .. :laughing: my hub is just slow tonight ..

you'll just need to keep BUMPING the thread .. so more perthies see it .. :yes:

cmd'smum
25-04-2009, 00:46
Thanks Miss Ve!!:thumbsup:

Queen
25-04-2009, 10:29
:eek: I m not a Perthie but I might have to make a huge effort to come up!!!!

TeenyT
25-04-2009, 10:43
I should be able to come. I'm not working and we'll be back from O/S. :smiliedance:

Rowie - if you do come, it will great to finally meet you!!:yes:

Nowhere
25-04-2009, 10:52
hey do the partners usualy come as well, Not sure if DH will be at moto X or not

cmd'smum
25-04-2009, 11:31
I should be able to come. I'm not working and we'll be back from O/S. :smiliedance:

Rowie - if you do come, it will great to finally meet you!!:yes:

Yaaay Trish!!

Rowie, would be lovely to see you again!!

hey do the partners usualy come as well, Not sure if DH will be at moto X or not

It's up to the partner, they don't have to come, if they want to they are more than welcome!:)

cmd'smum
25-04-2009, 11:40
Another thing to think about: What happens if it rains? Think we need to delegate a location undercover for "just incase?" WDYT?

Jender
25-04-2009, 13:41
There is undercover spots at Kings Park

Thermolicious
25-04-2009, 14:06
Sorry I find Kings Park to open/large and its not fully inclosed.

Faulkner Park is just as central and is fully enclosed and there are tables/benches right next to the play equipment which is shaded. There are also BBQs and a large grassed area for ball games/running around. There is more parking as well and its quieter have you been to Kings Park on a Saturday? Its really busy.

Goose said she went last year and she found it hard to enjoy MT and socializing with the adults while chasing 2 children around a park that is so spread out.

maybe1more
25-04-2009, 14:28
Cool im in :thumbsup: just let me know when and ill be there with my rug rats :wave:

lulu 2
25-04-2009, 14:29
The Lotteries family area has a fenced playground and picnic facilites ,Faulkner park is ok but the loos r a bit far from playground.

Mum2Bug
25-04-2009, 14:37
:eek: I m not a Perthie but I might have to make a huge effort to come up!!!!

Dammit woman, you just seriously stuffed some plans i had made lol

cmd'smum
25-04-2009, 14:41
The Lotteries family area has a fenced playground and picnic facilites ,Faulkner park is ok but the loos r a bit far from playground.

:yes::idea: They also have that covered area next to the cafe don't they?:detective:

ETA: I also think they have toilets and a baby change room right next to Sticky Beaks, right?

cmd'smum
25-04-2009, 14:46
Sorry I find Kings Park to open/large and its not fully inclosed.

Faulkner Park is just as central and is fully enclosed and there are tables/benches right next to the play equipment which is shaded. There are also BBQs and a large grassed area for ball games/running around. There is more parking as well and its quieter have you been to Kings Park on a Saturday? Its really busy.

Goose said she went last year and she found it hard to enjoy MT and socializing with the adults while chasing 2 children around a park that is so spread out.

I just had a look at Faulkner park, it's in Belmont right? Looks good. Would'nt mind going there either. Kings Park is very busy on Sat mornings so thats something to keep in mind :detective:

lulu 2
25-04-2009, 14:59
Theres gazebos there to shelter under besides the cafe and if you have a large group u can book one of the spaces just to make sure your not out in the rain.And yeh theres kids/parents toilets there too.

Thermolicious
25-04-2009, 16:45
The fence is not fully enclosed. Yes the toliets are a short walk away, but no further the trekking from one side of the KP playground to the other.

cmd'smum
27-04-2009, 00:13
Bumpity bump!:D

cmd'smum
04-05-2009, 17:00
Cmon guys, lets get this organised!;)

cmd'smum
17-05-2009, 22:07
cmon peoples we really need to get this organised! :yes:

melly75
17-05-2009, 22:24
I think Will probably need somewhere indoors or sheltered away from the rain as its always rainy and cold in june

cmd'smum
17-05-2009, 22:53
I think Will probably need somewhere indoors or sheltered away from the rain as its always rainy and cold in june

Do oyu have any suggestions? I can't think of any thing indoors except a play centre. I know King's Park lottery west are has a covered are next to the cafe there, but not sure whether Faulkner Park does?

justmum
17-05-2009, 23:13
Menzies Park in Mt Hawthorn does, L - it is a cricket pavillion that consists of a large room with a similar sized covered outdoor area plus kitchen, loos. The outdoor area of the pavillion has pool type gates in and out so littlies can't run off. Then right next to the cricket pavillion is a terrific playground - softfall, no sand, a good variety of equipment (but probably not the best for toddlers but still Ok for them - it's probably pitched for 4 - 5 yo) and i's fully fenced. It's great.

You have to hire the pavillion from the Town of Vincent though. Not sure if you could approach them to do it free or how it would be paid for but it's about $40 per hour to hire I think.

cmd'smum
17-05-2009, 23:17
Menzies Park in Mt Hawthorn does, L - it is a cricket pavillion that consists of a large room with a similar sized covered outdoor area plus kitchen, loos. The outdoor area of the pavillion has pool type gates in and out so littlies can't run off. Then right next to the cricket pavillion is a terrific playground - softfall, no sand, a good variety of equipment (but probably not the best for toddlers but still Ok for them - it's probably pitched for 4 - 5 yo) and i's fully fenced. It's great.

You have to hire the pavillion from the Town of Vincent though. Not sure if you could approach them to do it free or how it would be paid for but it's about $40 per hour to hire I think.

Sounds good D!!

Will wait and see what others think of this and take it from there :D Thanks for your help :thumbsup:

melly75
17-05-2009, 23:24
Do oyu have any suggestions? I can't think of any thing indoors except a play centre. I know King's Park lottery west are has a covered are next to the cafe there, but not sure whether Faulkner Park does?

Faulkner park doesnt have an under cover area as far as im aware.

I have no idea other than a play centre or somewhere like mcdonalds that has a cafe and play area....or even someones house????

pegasus
18-05-2009, 00:40
My vote would go to faulkner park.. Or even Milne street..

No way im taking two active children to kings park on a Sat morning sorry, so I would be out..
To start with the hassle of scoring a parking space, the fact that the park is huge and has different leveled areas which makes it hard to see all sections of the park properly, last time i went it was only semi fenced so still areas to escape, plus the cafe madness...

No thank you.. lol

Obviously i dont expect things to change just for me, but just offering a perspective on it and some possible alternatives.

I can handle a 2 min walk to the toilets if it means an enjoyable, relaxing, easy park experience and morning tea.. :)

I agree with Kristy - I ended up chasing (with K) my kids.

This sounds great. I think Bron had to pay something for the covered area next to stickybeaks last year - so she may know something about funds. We also did a gold coin donation thing when we got there we sent to breast cancer (I think).

Partners were welcome last year, but none came and the one male member who came was very outnumbered.

Rowie - would be great to meet you properly rather than waving at you as you disappear down a travelator LOL

Mum2Bug
18-05-2009, 00:49
Partners were welcome last year, but none came and the one male member who came was very outnumbered.

Rowie - would be great to meet you properly rather than waving at you as you disappear down a travelator LOL

LOL and here was Rowie wondering who was calling my daughter.

As for the male member...yeah somehow i dont think Nick is keen to repeat that experience of being the only male

cookie087
18-05-2009, 09:54
Just wondering if we have come up with a location as of yet. My bub isnt yet moving but obviously somewhere enclosed would be better.
As the rain is starting to kick in this week, maybe somewhere indoors would be best as if its raining there is no way ill be taking bubs out into the wet to catch yet another cold!!!
There is a fun factory in Malaga i think, or you could do something like go bananas?

cmd'smum
18-05-2009, 11:34
ok,personally, I think we should def stick to a covered area/or hall (as suggested by justmum)

Is everyone happy with that?

Jender
18-05-2009, 22:17
sounds to me - if areas aren't enclosed, kids have to be watched constantly and that's not much fun for us!

justmum
18-05-2009, 22:42
Hold the phone peeps, I really am brilliant.

:yelclap: Me :yelclap: me :yelclap: Me

Anyway - after my self congratluations - my playgroup can be rented out for just $20. I just remembered!

You have to clean up very thoroughly afterwards, vacuum, etc but it would be a good venue. It's central, enclosed, has a kitchen, a play area and toys.

Bron
18-05-2009, 22:47
Bubhub will reimburse costs, you just need to send a receipt to Brad.

I think my playgroup is even cheaper than that, D. I'll check. :D

cmd'smum
18-05-2009, 23:31
Bubhub will reimburse costs, you just need to send a receipt to Brad.

I think my playgroup is even cheaper than that, D. I'll check. :D

The battle of the playgroups :laughing::raspberry:

justmum
18-05-2009, 23:33
The battle of the playgroups :laughing::raspberry:

No way! Have at Bron's. Then I don't have to be responsible for the hooliganism.

patsmum
18-05-2009, 23:37
Im with the undercover and fenced idea!!

If not a playgroup and bh reimburses is there like a rsl lions type place somewhere in the city?

I have never been to one so im not sure what they are all about.

Maybe somewhere that someone else caters and have a set amount we pay?

I know midland and joondulup are both out of the way is there any of those indoor kid places more centre to perth?

What sort of numbers go to these things? Enough to book one of those places out for the day?

I love playgroup idea too though, maybe whos ever playgroup we use could do it as a fundraiser for them selves? As in put on morning tea, provide some kiddy activites?

Just some ideas!!

cmd'smum
18-05-2009, 23:43
No way! Have at Bron's. Then I don't have to be responsible for the hooliganism.

:eek: us? hooligans? :angel::p

justmum
18-05-2009, 23:46
maybe whos ever playgroup we use could do it as a fundraiser for them selves? As in put on morning tea, provide some kiddy activites?

Good idea!

:eek: us? hooligans? :angel::p

Oh yeah! and you're the worst :eek: Queen Hooligan of Pink

cmd'smum
18-05-2009, 23:50
Good idea!

Oh yeah! and you're the worst :eek: Queen Hooligan of Pink

:laughing::p

patsmum
19-05-2009, 00:12
http://www.playgroundfinder.com/listingstate.php?state=wa

I just found this site! It has some great places on it!!

maybe1more
19-05-2009, 20:09
Hiring out a playgroup sound like a great idea, as there self contained :thumbsup:

OneCheekyMonkey
21-05-2009, 01:38
Poo, I have my brothers 2nd birthday in the afternoon.

What sort of time would it be? :yes:

Bron
21-05-2009, 08:55
My playgroup is $13.50 per hour and a $300 bond, justmum, is yours $20 per hour or $20 per hire?

justmum
21-05-2009, 20:52
$20 hire, $50 bond. It's small though. How many went last year?

ETA I went to a casual playgroup today - it was a great venue in West Leederville. That might be a good option too - lots of toys and a good outdoor area. Really good.

Jender
24-05-2009, 11:34
I like Justmum's approach

cookie087
24-05-2009, 17:10
With only 3 weeks to go, I think we should book something so we can get as many people there as possible. I think somewhere sheltered (from possible rain) with a fence. I say someone choose somewhere and just book!I live too far north to book anywhere up this way so will leave it to u more central ladies to organise!

Bron
25-05-2009, 18:03
Turns out that someone else has booked my playgroup on that day anyway, so, Justmum, can we have it at yours?

justmum
28-05-2009, 22:17
Jut saw this. What date? I'll ask.

cmd'smum
29-05-2009, 00:04
Jut saw this. What date? I'll ask.

13th June.:)

Can we get some indication of definites please? :)

KatiesMum
29-05-2009, 17:46
where is your playgroup Justmum?

Pretty sure I know ... but just wanna check.

bootiful
29-05-2009, 21:56
:D we will be there with bells on

Jender
29-05-2009, 22:36
count us in

justmum
29-05-2009, 22:46
where is your playgroup Justmum?

Pretty sure I know ... but just wanna check.

It's in the Town of Vincent :D (I'll PM you the addy)

cmd'smum
29-05-2009, 23:20
So D, did you end up booking it? :confused:

justmum
29-05-2009, 23:23
So D, did you end up booking it? :confused:

I'm waiting to hear back on whether it's available. Will follow up again tomorrow if no response by then.

Am I OK to book if it's available?

cmd'smum
29-05-2009, 23:33
I'm waiting to hear back on whether it's available. Will follow up again tomorrow if no response by then.

Am I OK to book if it's available?

Sure, go ahead! We really need a venue, it's only 2 weekends away now!:eek:

Thanks!:hugs::thumbsup:

pegasus
30-05-2009, 02:23
Only problem I have is that A now has Auskick on saturdays so we won't be able to make it till about 11 (Auskick finishes bout 10.30).

If you're all still there we'll be there...

justmum
30-05-2009, 10:23
No go on either venue I'm afraid. Both came back as a no. What bout my original suggestion?

KatiesMum
30-05-2009, 10:47
if not - what about the Mt hawthorn community centre lesser hall.

Its a big empty hall leased out regularly to community groups, opens onto Braithewaite park - with bbq's etc and a big set of swings. Has toilets etc.

justmum
30-05-2009, 16:02
Julie they don't loan it out for parties involving food though - we tried for DS' birthday. That was why I suggested menzies park as they let you have food there.

KatiesMum
30-05-2009, 17:12
:confused:

I have toddler dancing there every week - and they serve food ????? thats a bit strange.

anyway - menzies is probably better as the playground is fenced in.

justmum
30-05-2009, 17:18
I Know, that's what I said to them!

Which session do you go to? We go too!

KatiesMum
30-05-2009, 17:25
:D Friday 9.30am

Have only been going again the last few weeks though as Katie decided for a while there that she didnt like dancing ..... :confused: anyway - back to loving it now :laughing:

justmum
30-05-2009, 17:27
:laughing: we go then too !! that is too funny.

cmd'smum
30-05-2009, 17:36
Where's Menzies Park? :o

justmum
30-05-2009, 17:43
Cnr purslowe and egina streets, mt hawthorn - has a clubchouse with large indoor and outdoor area, kitchen toilets and fenced in playground. It's good but the hiring cost is a bit more.

justmum
01-06-2009, 22:39
Another suggestion I have is Copley Park in Mt Lawley - it's not fenced but it's in a hollow and is very large so the kids have to run a long way uphill to get out :laughing: It has a huge gazebo and toilets too. It can be hired from the City of Stirling for free.

Otherwise if you opt for Menzies Park you can still have access to the undercover area and toilets without booking and paying provided no one else has booked it.

And....... we have now been invited to yet another second birthday on that day. So I won't be able to make it :crying: :hissy:

cmd'smum
01-06-2009, 22:47
Another suggestion I have is Copley Park in Mt Lawley - it's not fenced but it's in a hollow and is very large so the kids have to run a long way uphill to get out :laughing: It has a huge gazebo and toilets too. It can be hired from the City of Stirling for free.

Otherwise if you opt for Menzies Park you can still have access to the undercover area and toilets without booking and paying provided no one else has booked it.

And....... we have now been invited to yet another second birthday on that day. So I won't be able to make it :crying: :hissy:

Ok, Copley Park sounds good!! We need to book or arrange a venue now, the MT is only a couple of weekends away. I will call the City of stirling tomorrow and see if the Gazebo is available. Will keep you all posted.

Thanks for your help, D! It's a shame you can't make it!:(

justmum
01-06-2009, 22:53
I know I am so devastated L! If it wasn't a very good friend I wouldn't go to the party. I never have anything on and then 2 things on the one day :(:(:(:(

pegasus
01-06-2009, 23:50
Sorry if I've missed it - but do we have a time?

I posted a bit back saying I didn't think I'd be able to make it till bout 11, then on Sat - A's Auskick went to 11 - so will see how he goes this week - but may be too late to make it

cmd'smum
02-06-2009, 14:20
Sorry if I've missed it - but do we have a time?

I posted a bit back saying I didn't think I'd be able to make it till bout 11, then on Sat - A's Auskick went to 11 - so will see how he goes this week - but may be too late to make it

How does 11.30am sound?

pegasus
02-06-2009, 23:43
More like lunch than morning tea:laughing:

cmd'smum
03-06-2009, 00:31
More like lunch than morning tea:laughing:

Ah well, food is food! :D

KatiesMum
03-06-2009, 09:13

I will (:fingerscrossed:) be there. What do we bring? And what was the final decision on the venue?

cmd'smum
03-06-2009, 15:46

I will (:fingerscrossed:) be there. What do we bring? And what was the final decision on the venue?

Will pm you the venue. Just bring a plate of something sweet or savoury. :thumbsup:

Look forward to meeting you ;)

cmd'smum
03-06-2009, 15:50
If anyone else would like a pm re the venue details let me know :thumbsup:

TeenyT
03-06-2009, 16:15
Could I please have a PM? I think we should be able to make it that day. :yes:

cmd'smum
03-06-2009, 17:20
Could I please have a PM? I think we should be able to make it that day. :yes:

Done!!:D

cookie087
03-06-2009, 18:31
Can i have a pm also, thanks!

melly75
03-06-2009, 18:38
Could I please get a PM

Mum2Bug
03-06-2009, 18:48
PM please hun!

Jender
03-06-2009, 19:06
pm for me

cmd'smum
04-06-2009, 00:01
pms sent :party:

pegasus
04-06-2009, 00:09
Better send another pm if you want us to join you for lunch Linda :laughing:

Ta :hugs:

cmd'smum
04-06-2009, 00:20
Better send another pm if you want us to join you for lunch Linda :laughing:

Ta :hugs:

:p yes, that's right, morning Lunch. Food is food (I think thats my new motto :p).

will pm you now.:hugs:

pegasus
04-06-2009, 01:41
Ta Linda - will let you know if lightening strikes or whatever.

Me and my two littlies should be there - somehow think DH will stay home and watch the footy as no partners have put their hands up.:laughing:

KatiesMum
04-06-2009, 10:34
:laughing: Yeah my Hubby is definitely a no.

I dont think I could pay him to come along :laughing:

westerner
04-06-2009, 12:18
PM please. :)

dormouse
05-06-2009, 12:05
Can I have a Pm too please?

lulu 2
05-06-2009, 12:11
May I have a PM too ? thanks.

OneCheekyMonkey
05-06-2009, 20:38
PM please. I would like to try and make it :)

patsmum
05-06-2009, 22:00
pm me please not sure if i will make it or not....

jazzak
06-06-2009, 13:56
PM please :D

cmd'smum
07-06-2009, 11:38
pms done! :wave:

justmum
07-06-2009, 11:41
L can I have one too? Maybe I can pop in before or after theparty. x

cmd'smum
09-06-2009, 22:46
L can I have one too? Maybe I can pop in before or after theparty. x

Done! :D

If anybody else would like a pm let me know!:)

cmd'smum
10-06-2009, 16:13
Just bumping incase anyone has missed this!

Myztik
10-06-2009, 16:15
Pm me please :D

Myztik
12-06-2009, 11:21
Kai and I will be coming with Trish :D (might have Zac but most likely not)..

Now to work out what to bring :detective:

cmd'smum
12-06-2009, 15:46
Kai and I will be coming with Trish :D (might have Zac but most likely not)..

Now to work out what to bring :detective:

Yay Nel! So glad you're coming!!! :fingerscrossed: The weather holds up ay?

Myztik
12-06-2009, 16:36
:fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed:

cmd'smum
12-06-2009, 18:15
Hey guys, I thought I'd check the BOM weather forecast site (since it looks scary outside right now) for tomorrow morning and it is predicting a possible morning shower. So just keep an eye on this thread in the morning.

bootiful
12-06-2009, 20:06
yeah the weather is lookin mighty uninviting :gloomy:

if its too cold or windy i won't be there unfortunately as i don't want the kids to get sick.

OneCheekyMonkey
13-06-2009, 04:27
If the weather holds, what do I need to bring?

TeenyT
13-06-2009, 09:51
Lots of cloud up this way but nothing that looks like bringing rain at the moment. I have all these sandwich fillings and not sure whether to start making them or not yet!???

Myztik
13-06-2009, 10:12
Heading home shortly, kids are ready. There's actually a bit of blue sky here.

TeenyT
13-06-2009, 10:17
Its quite patchy up here. Its cloudy but lots of sun shining through.
I might risk it and start making sandys I think! Unless the heavens open in the next hour, I'll be seeing you all later hopefully!

Myztik
13-06-2009, 10:18
I must say my food contribution is nothing impressive sorry :o Staying at mums and only have the food that I brought over from home (what I could carry lol).. Money's tight or I'd go buy a cake or something too.

jazzak
13-06-2009, 10:51
YAY
I can see the sun outside

:fingerscrossed:
it stays out

bootiful
13-06-2009, 11:10
:sleeping: sorry guys...just woke up and not feeling the best...gonna give today a miss just incase i am getting sick.

hope you all have a wonderful day..the weather looks promising :fingerscrossed:

TeenyT
13-06-2009, 11:31
Any verdict yet as I have to head off soon? I'm assuming all is OK as there doesnt seem to be rain happening (or at least up north!)...:yes:

Mum2Bug
13-06-2009, 11:38
BOM says 17 and fine with just some cloud so should be ok

Myztik
13-06-2009, 20:46
Had a lovely time today thanks ladies :D

Kai is sooo tired lol.

Mum2Bug
13-06-2009, 21:07
Thanks for today ladies. Was great to catch up with you all again and finally meet Trish. Bug started to fall asleep on the way home and as soon as we got inside we both fell asleep for 3 hours. Will organise that catch up soon with you all.

justmum
13-06-2009, 21:09
So sorry we missed it! By the time I left the b'day party we went to, it was all over! Hope you all had a great time :yelclap:

cmd'smum
13-06-2009, 21:40
Thanks for today ladies!!! Me and the girls had a great time! Lovely food too :thumbsup::D

Look forward to our upcoming dinner :yelclap::D

pegasus
13-06-2009, 22:44
Thanks for the company today ladies (and kids).

Was lovely to see you all - and I felt heaps better on leaving than I had in the morning (sorry I was in a bit of pity party mood:o). Was lovely to see the kids - the dinners are great- but it's always good to meet the kids we all talk about at the dinners.

A was so happy about being there, he wants to tell all at news on Monday:D

KatiesMum
14-06-2009, 10:52
It was lovely to meet you all. So nice to put some faces to the names.

:flowerz::flowerz::flowerz:

maybe1more
14-06-2009, 20:38
Cool im in :thumbsup: just let me know when and ill be there with my rug rats :wave:

Sorry i wasnt there, i asked for the details but no one got back to me :no:

assaletobi
16-06-2009, 19:05
Oh what a great idea - but I've read it too late...:(

Will there be another meeting this year???

pegasus
17-06-2009, 00:02
:wave:There's a dinner on the 27th June - you can pop into the Perth threads to see details and pm Angelbaby013 for details - numbers are being finalised.:thumbsup: