View Full Version : Weight Gain and @ how many weeks?

WizzFizz
12-06-2006, 05:22 PM
Just thought I would start a thread for us to share our weight gain throughout our pregnancies...

Ok I will start...

I am 18 weeks and have gained a total of 4kg so far, bringing me to 74kg.

With my first pregnancy, I was 68kg to begin with, and the day I gave birth I was 82kg - 10kg of which I put on after 30 weeks. By 12 days post birth, I was 70kg again. I could have sold my story to Womens Day ... "How I lost 12 kilos in 12 days!" :laughing:

babybungee
12-06-2006, 07:42 PM
With bub #1 I started at 60kg and ended up about 80 when bub was born:eek: a day or two later I was near 70kg.

With bub#2 I am now 17 weeksish and I am at 73kg (aroundabout) will worry about it all after this one pops out:D

babybungee
12-06-2006, 08:59 PM
you little smarty:D 2kgs.... I was like that with DD at about 28 weeks I got really heavy!! Before that I only put on about 4kgs (OMG that means it was like 16kg in 8 weeks... that cant be normal:D OB wasnt worried, so no fear:D)
I think I put on so much to cope with the birth and having a healthy bub etc so I doubt (famous last words) it will happen like that again:)

~Emmylou~
13-06-2006, 09:57 AM
With DD I started at 56kg and was 68kg when I gave birth.
With this bub I started at 63kg and I'm 66kg now.
Both pregnancies I only gained about a kilo up to 18 weeks and then it all went on from there :rolleyes:

MumsieMel
13-06-2006, 10:18 AM
I am 15 weeks tomorrow and have gained 4 kg.

But with both of my other 2 pgs i gained 20kg in total (each):eek:

Marteeny
13-06-2006, 01:36 PM
Oh my goodness, I am now feeling totally depressed! :P You are all doing so well with your weight!

I am not sure of exactly what I have put on as I don't have scales at home. I had dieted last year and got down to about 78kg (from 95kg) but since Christmas (where I had a whole lot of nightmares such as splitting up from old boyfriend and moving out, etc, etc... :ecomcity: ) I have put on a bit. Since then I reckon I've put on about 7kg. This is only an estimate, but I am now trying to eat more healthily with more variety. I just don't feel motivated! :D

Oh well, I guess I will just look after myself and Charlie Brown a whole lot more from now on.

Have a great day ladies!

Marteeny

lenko
13-06-2006, 02:24 PM
Well you are all making me worry - yesterday I was 16 weeks and at around 14 weeks I had lost 5kg, of which I have put on 1/2 kg in the last two weeks.

I had a pretty rough time, initially I had the flu, then I got gastro, after which I felt ok for 2 weeks before morning sickness really set in and I continued to loose weight :( . I ask my obs about it, and he told me not to worry that the baby would get all it needs from the reserves in my body. Luckly I was not too slim to start with 67kg, I am currently 63kg.

My tummy hasn't pop yet either - I can't wait to start look pregnant.

bambino
13-06-2006, 03:30 PM
I'm 18 weeks and have put on 4kg.....bringing me to a total of 50kg......i'm sure there's a few more kg's to come yet.

WizzFizz
13-06-2006, 03:36 PM
Girls Girls Girls!!

Dont worry about what you have/haven't put on. We're all different.

With my DD, I was 72kg to being with, then by 18 weeks I lost 4kg and was 68kg - because I had been sick.. this is very, very common so dont stress if you have lost some - I can assure you - after 28-30 weeks you'll steadily gain until about 38 weeks when it levels off.

Marteeny
13-06-2006, 04:56 PM
I guess I should make it clear that I haven't been gorging on McDonalds or anything like that, but I haven't been eating as much fruit and veg as I should. We mainly eat things like curries and rice and pasta dishes.

We usually always cook our dinners ourselves, so we are trying to incorporate more vegies into our recipes, and I am drinking milk and water and eating PRUNES! hehe

I did have a talk to the doctor and she said there was really nothing for me to worry about if I am making an effort to increase my consumption of fresh produce and that at least I am concious of my weight.

I guess maybe I am worried more because I did so well and lost heaps and I feel I am getting back to the fat form I ditched a year ago. :(

Anyway, I shall dwell on this no longer. :D

Marteeny

cassi*girl
13-06-2006, 05:44 PM
I thought it might be a bad idea to open this thread for a read.......:(

I am 24 weeks and I think I have put on about 5kg. I only put on 9kg for my whole pregnancy with DS but he was only 4lb 5oz so I guess I wasn't ever going to be big!!!!

Went to Dr today and she said I was large for 24 weeks - she assured me she meant baby wise, not fat...lol.....THANKS!!! So I think I am going to have a 10lb :gloomy: OUCH OUCH OUCH!!!

I am currently 76kg and my Weight Watchers goal weight is 66kg so I have some work to do when I get this bubs out don't I????

flib
13-06-2006, 09:01 PM
I'm also 18 weeks and have put on about 4kg bringing me up to 57kg.

I think my bump looks big this time and hope it'll go back to 'normal' afterwards. (A friend of mine who's had 3 kids said that it's like blowing up a balloon - after the 3rd time it's a bit floppy! LOL)

Just remember, it takes 9 months to grow your baby so you should give your body at least 9 months to get back to your pre-pregnancy weight.

mumof5sarah
13-06-2006, 09:24 PM
I think every pregnancy is different
With my first I put on over 30kg:eek:
My 2nd only 7kg, my 3rd I lost 2kg, my 4th I didn't gain any and my 5th I lost 3kg
I think it's just the luck of the draw!!!

lenko
14-06-2006, 07:54 AM
mumof5sarah and youngmummy20 - I think you are both very wise. I am going to make a mental note not to worry about weight from this point forward.:)

Tiggerbaby
14-06-2006, 08:59 AM
Hi Everyone:wave:

Lets see so far this pregnancy I have lost 5kg and I have no real idea how much I put on with DD. ATM I'm glad not to be gaining but concede that it may be inevitable and know that is ok, because I have PCOS and know that I had to lose weight to conceive and know that I have to be careful with this pregnancy for lots of reasons and weight is one of them.

As you may have noticed in the main Nov 06 that I have already said "the OB is quite happy with my BP, although she did ask whether I was trying to lose weight and whilst I'm not and it will be helpful during my labour, she was concerned that I was delibrately trying to lose weight. Apart from the fact that I'm eating more than ever the scales aren't reflecting a gain and for that I'm grateful as hopefully soon I will be able to see where the baby begins and the fat stops."

I don't see weight gain as a negative thing but do concede it was a problem first time around but every pregnancy is different and special and hope that it does not become one again. I am in no rush to be stick figure and just want to be a healthy weight throughout and after this pregnancy.

Gumby
14-06-2006, 09:52 AM
I varied with all my pregs but with
DD:4 Started @ 83kg Finished @ 120kg (i craved carbs...lol)
DD:2 Started @ 97kg Finished @ 112kg

This preg
Started @ 84kgs 6 weeks: 84kgs 12 weeks: 84kgs 16 weeks: 84kgs
20 weeks: 84kgs 24 weeks: 87.8kgs.

I contribute my weight gain in the last month purley to food because I have been naughty the last couple of weeks.
I was doing weight watchers before falling preg and still am on a points system of eating and exercising while preg and am no way starving myself or denying my body or baby vitamins and minerals it needs.
I am happy as long as I dont gain 40kg like I did with my first daughter...lol

Does anyone know what the estimate weight gain for 40 weeks is? I heard its about 14-15 kg. Does this sound right?

OH AND SORRY TO GATE CRASH :ecomcity: JUST CALL ME PARIS HILTON

WizzFizz
14-06-2006, 12:09 PM
Yes they say the "Average" weight gain is around 12-14kg.

baby: 3.5kg
fluid: 1kg
placenta: 1kg
Boobs: 1kg (total not each!)
Blood: 2kg

Plus around 5 kg of body fat.

ALSO.. Every woman is different - dont scutenise (sp?) over your weight when pregnant - just enjoy it! I think pregnant women look so healthy and radiant.:D

*Kris*
14-06-2006, 02:46 PM
This is my first bubba and well *deep breath* I am 18w 4d and have lost 4kg and put 1kg back on to now weight 81kg.:o

kirra
17-06-2006, 11:02 AM
Hey this is my first baby. I'm almost 18 weeks and 5 days.

Starting weight 98 kg (yeah I know didn't want to be overweight and preg but things just happen.)
Now 97kgs.
I have lost 2 kilos over the pregnancy. I went back to 98kg but as m/s :barf: is back down I went another kilo.

I have been told and researched that over weight ladies who are up the duff tend to lose a bit of weight and when they do put on it may only be a small amount.

I don't mind as long as the baby is healthy. Thats what we all should be thinking about.. Take care

tegz_84
07-07-2006, 02:42 PM
hi everyone

hope all is goin well!!!

Well when i was 5 weeks preggers I weighed 63.5kgs. Then at 16 weeks preggers I was 66.5kgs and at 20 weeks preggers I was 68kgs. So all up I have gained 4.5 kilos (I am 22 weeks preggers at the moment).

flib
10-07-2006, 01:47 PM
Saw the Ob last week so I know how much I weigh.

At almost 22 weeks I was 60kg. I've put on a total of 7 kgs, 3kgs since last visit at 15 weeks.

Flib

babybungee
10-07-2006, 02:28 PM
22 weeks (heading towards 23) and the scales at home read 75kg so 5kg so far:rolleyes: ... home scales a little dodgy so I expect the ob's ones will say I weigh more:laughing:

shed
10-07-2006, 02:59 PM
35 weeks tomorrow and have put on 14 kgs. Most of it is bump and my measurements are perfect for dates. Little bit on the backside but not that much.

My book says average is 12-20 kgs, so I will go with my book!!

Angelina_Rose
10-07-2006, 03:05 PM
Hey guys... I'm 26 weeks pregnant with my second (a Boy!!) and i have put on 5kilos approx so far.

But let me tell you with my last pregnancy i put on a good 20 kilos by the time i gave birth to my beautiful little girl.

I wonder if it changes if baby is boy or girl?

All my friends that have had boys have not put on much weight at all and my friends and including me have had a girl have put on quite alot of excess weight.

Cheers Eliza

WizzFizz
12-07-2006, 10:17 AM
Babybungee - do you have to be the same as me with EVERYTHING???:laughing:

At 22 weeks I am now 76kgs, so I have gained 6kgs so far. My belly is now at the point where I am bumping it into things (sorry little boy, I will try and be more careful!)

I am going to start watching what I am eating (no diets, just subsitute carrot sticks for Cadbury Topdeck when I'm feeling snacky etc.) as ideally I dont want to go over 82kg, which was the weight I was when I was 40 weeks with DD. Its so hard for me to lose weight!

Taddy
21-07-2006, 09:18 PM

I will be 21wks on monday and have already put on 11kgs. With my first DS I put on 19kgs so expecting about the same if not more. Never mind.

Sara's Boys
03-08-2006, 09:04 PM
I started out as 68kg and @ 23 weeks I have put on 5 kilos. I think that I would have lost 2kg at the start, as I was at the tail end of a fitness frenzy.So I think my real start weight would've been more like 66-67. It's bad because I am starting to just not care( thats what i did last time and it took ages to get it off) and I am eating chocolate 5 days a week.oops.and its freezing to go for walks with my 1yo in melbourne...any ways..will just have to work harder later!

WizzFizz
08-08-2006, 07:51 PM
At 26 weeks, I am now 79kg, so I have put on a total of 9kgs. I was hoping to stay under 82kgs, but it doesn't seem like that is going to be the case! Ah well, I may aswell enjoy it - I just dread what I will look like by the end!

babybungee
08-08-2006, 08:13 PM
Ali I am chasing you again me to at 79kgs looking like busting my 80kg limit hey??:laughing: (nearly 26 weeks)

Shelangelang
11-08-2006, 02:30 PM
Just thought I would add to the mix. Started at 87kg which was one kilo more than I started with baby number one. Am currently 24wks and am 92 and was 92 at 20wks also - so, happy so far. I try not to worry if the doc doesn't worry. If he says I need to watch the weight I will otherwise I'm enjoying being pregnant and eating for two... first time round I ate everything and all went well and lost the weight over time.

I certainly won't be relying on breast feeding to drop the pounds - all lies in my case, time and baggy clothes were my best friends. Just think about the essence of what you're actually doing and forget about the exterior and think about what amazing things are happening on the inside - just think like I do - WOW...

Sara's Boys
31-08-2006, 11:39 AM
well, I am now at week 27 and am upto 76 kilos. (I started at 68kg) so have put on 8 kg so far. althought the scales are starting to teeter over towards 77...eek!

The worst thing is I will have a week were I excerise well and dont eat junk, and then 2 weeks of low excercise and eatingheaps of junk....oh well...only I am to blame if I am left with more at the end.

flib
06-09-2006, 02:13 PM
I'm 66kg today at 30.5 weeks.

I've only put on a kilo in the last month. In total, I've put on 13kg. I remember that last pregnancy I didn't put on much wieght in the last trimester. No one seemed bothered by this.

Here's hoping for another smallish baby (1st 3.5kg, 2nd 3.1kg).

Flib

WizzFizz
06-09-2006, 09:06 PM
I'm 81kg, and 30 weeks gone......

So a total of 11kg for me so far. I too didn't put on much weight in the last 5 weeks with my first pregnancy - Ob wasn't worried as baby was still certainly growing!!

Juudje
11-09-2006, 11:27 AM

I'm Judith, I'm 30 weeks pregnant and have gained 4kg so far, which makes me 96kg in total.

Happy with the gain, not so happy with the total amount, but that another story;)

Sara's Boys
13-09-2006, 07:04 PM
will be into week 30 and have put on nearly 10 kgs. Glad to see I am not alone!

DrgnFli
26-09-2006, 06:17 PM
i started my pregnancy 9 kilos heavyer than i am now lol i was told it is ok cause i am bigger but should try not to loose more but stay the same weight and i will be ok BB2B growing good hope he doesn't get to big but ;)

babybungee
27-09-2006, 11:30 AM
Here's hoping for another smallish baby (1st 3.5kg, 2nd 3.1kg).

Flib

:eek: thats not smallish:laughing: ok not to me my DD was 2.8kg;)

I am now 83kg and 33 weeks preggo.....(nearly) havent put on any in the last 3/4 weeks but bubs certainly has so no stress :D

Julzy
28-09-2006, 11:23 AM
Well i havent really gained any weight from my pre preg weight.
I was soooo sick for the first half of my pregnancy that I actually lost alot of weight, and its only been the last few weeks I have started to gain some back, I am now back to 2 kilos under my pre preg weight at 33 weeks. Hopefully i dont gain much more weight tho, LOL

youngones
28-09-2006, 05:20 PM
I'm nearly 34 weeks now and have gained 10kg, but I only got married a year ago and stacked on 5kg between the wedding and finding out I was pregnant early this year.

Early on in my pregnancy, I was too tired to exercise, then I was too nauseous, then I was ok for a few weeks, but not long enough before I got a really bad flu that left me miserable for a couple of weeks and by that time, I was starting to get too tired again (I also blame winter - dark in the morning, dark in the evening).

I am only just now getting back into walking most days and a bit of swimming in the vain hope that some small improvement in fitness over the next few weeks will help me labour better and recover more quickly :laughing:

WizzFizz
28-09-2006, 05:27 PM
I'm now 33 weeks and I am 82kg. So in total I have put on 12kgs. I'm averaging about half a kilo a week, which I am happy about!

princess1798
04-10-2006, 03:41 PM
Im 34 weeks and started at 62kg and am now 78kg. Thats 16kg i've put on :thumbsdown: No one believes me when i say how much i've put on. Only my stomachs got bigger not so much the rest of me.

sandoz
08-10-2006, 11:59 AM
I'm up to week 36 now and have put on 8 kilos, only on my tummy, lucky me! A friend put on 25 kilos with her first baby poor thing so i feel pretty lucky.:thumbsup:

WizzFizz
08-10-2006, 01:13 PM
I'm 34 weeks now and measured myself on friday.. 83.6kg, so a total so far of 13.6kg. When I was preg with DD I didn't gain much weight at all during the last few weeks, so I'm hoping that the same will occur this time round.

flib
19-10-2006, 11:52 AM
At 36 weeks, I'm weighing in at 65kg. I've actually lost 2 kg over the last 2 weeks although still measuring correctly for dates by fundal height.

So in total, 12kg! Hopefully most of that will be gone after birth!!

Flib

Sara's Boys
19-10-2006, 01:14 PM
at 34 weeks I am sitting @ 12 kg above pre pg. But I dare say it will be 13kg by weeks end

tegz_84
19-10-2006, 01:55 PM
i am 37 weeks & 2 days preggers and put on a total of 20 kgs. But nearly all of it is tummy, I have gotten a lil bit chubbier but not heapz, hoefully most of the weight is fluid retention. :devil6:

aida4bubs
19-10-2006, 02:07 PM
ok hi ladies i am new to this site but wanted to join so i could have someone new to chat with i am 34 weeks 6 days and have gained 7.5 kilos with my other 5 i gained 20 odd each time
hope you dont mind newies budding in lol

BubbaNoogie
19-10-2006, 02:27 PM
I put on 30 kgs with my first:eek: and 10 kgs with my second.

WizzFizz
23-10-2006, 11:13 AM
Well I am 37 weeks and weighing in at 84.5kg. I've only gained a kilo since 34 weeks, which I suspected as my weight usually slows at the end (although baby certainly gets bigger!)