View Full Version : May mummies post-preggie weight loss support!
Okey dokey.. since we all agree that we've got just a few kilos to lose :rolleyes:, here is the official weight loss support thread.
I'll start! I need to lose 7.5kg to get back to my pre-preg weight. I know it doesn't sound like much but I have actually put back on a kilo that I lost in the first 2 weeks because of my huge appetite (breastfeeding perhaps?) and my addiction to chocolate and all things sugary sweet - something I never had before I was pregnant and I was hoping to lose along with the carpal tunnel syndrome at birth. Not to be. :o So I definitely need the weight to start going back in a DOWNWARD direction and not back UP!!
I'm prepared to be brave and post my weight, but I appreciate not everyone wants to share. I started off at 65kg (prefer to be 62kg though ;)) and put on 20kg in pregnancy. I now weigh 72.5kg and would ideally love to just get back under 70kg in the next couple of weeks. For me, psychologically that would feel so good! I don't know if it's realistic but I'd like to reach my pre-preg weight by the time Annabelle is 12 weeks old. To be back in my old clothes before spring/summer would be nice.
I think for me it is going to be about cutting out the sugar, chocolate and unnecessary snacks. Snacks are my downfall. And I LOVE to get out and walk with the dog or the baby or both but ****ty weather has kept me indoors lately. So my goal is to walk for an hour at least 5 days a week.
Who's joining me? I am suddenly feeling very motivated!
bellagirl
12-06-2006, 10:28
hi,:wave:
im not a may mummy but I also would like to lose wieght, I too was around 65 before my daughter whos 9 months old now but I haved tried dieting. i tried jenny craig and although it did work, it is so expensive!:laughing:
so id love to join if thats ok?:fingerscrossed:
Im also not a may mummy but as my son is now 10 months old i think i need to get my **** in gear.
Pre-preggo weight was 55kg i put on over 30kg during pregnancy and at the moment im down to 60 but still dont fit into clothes.
tegs-
I was going to say that other mummies are welcome to join but I thought maybe I should check that with my fellow May mummies before I extended the invitation! But I'm sure they are more than happy for you gals to join us in our crusade. :)
I've just been for a really good half hour walk and it felt great after being housebound for days and days because of this rain. :gloomy: I wasn't game to go for longer in case bub woke up and needed me. She's in the hugabub, strapped onto DH and I needn't have worried.. I've been back for half an hour and she's still sleeping. It willl be great when I start expressing milk so I don't have to fret if I'm not back if she wakes up hungry. I was going to wait until she's 6 weeks old but I might start expressing now. It can't hurt can it? I don't want to end up with oversupply.
By the way.. Tegs you sound like me. It's not much weight but it makes a big difference to how your clothes fit. I so don't want to have to buy bigger clothes. Right now I live in my maternity jeans and my tracksuit pants. One or the other is constantly in the wash or I would have nothing to wear. :o
Brooke, good to hear Jenny Craig worked. So do you have much left to lose?
Marie-Jo
12-06-2006, 14:14
Hey Cosmic,
I'll join this thread. I think it's a good idea and a great motivator. Well, as for me, I was 55kg post pregnancy and put on 15 kg. After 5 weeks, I now weigh 60kg. That is only by breastfeeding cause I am still unable to do any exercise as I had a ceasarean. I do walk a little bit but nothing like I used to before getting pregnant. Anyway, I hope to get back to 55 kg as soon as I can. I'll probably start doing some Yoga as soon as I can and start brisk walks too...Good luck to you all and keep updating...WE CAN DO IT!:thumbsup:
I say Welcome to the "ring-in's" - dare I say it but the more the merrier.
I'm in the very disgraceful position of having to lose 20kg :eek:! I have 8kg of baby weight and the other 12kg is as a result of a near nervous-breakdown. That's a long story but in short, I was body-building and lost 15kg in four months and then put on 30kg - food deprivation and exhaustion will do that to you!
I'm not sure what my tactics are going to be just yet but my overall strategy will be to move more and eat less!
All I can say is that at the moment, I feel shockingly fat and cumbersome! :(
Bubble*Crazy
12-06-2006, 15:08
I agree - the more the merrier & therefore the more support we'll have :D
Scout - don't stress darl. I'm needing to lose probably around the same as you(left overs from DD some 6 years ago, I'm afraid). At least yours will be easier to shift than mine that's being there sooooo long :o .
And I think if we make it more positive, then it should (well, in theory) be easier to do ;)
Good luck girls!!!! (I have to say, it's day 1 - after deciding yesterday was my last day for free-for-all, and I've failed already :eek: ). I'm ready for tomorrow though ...
(I have to say, it's day 1 - after deciding yesterday was my last day for free-for-all, and I've failed already :eek: ). I'm ready for tomorrow though ...
Tam, that's hilarious. I haven't had a bad start today. Well, there's no chocolate in the house so I'm pretty safe. :D
Marie-Jo, I had a caesarean too but I'm sure they said walking is ok.. in fact I think they said it's good. I hope I haven't been overdoing it though. From when Annabelle was about 10-14 days old I started getting her out for some loooong walks since at the time it was the only way I could get her to sleep! And today I really walked fast and it felt great to get moving again.
Sounds like we all have about the same amount of baby weight to lose (and then we have that 'other' weight :o). I'm sure with us all motivating eachother it will come off in no time. :thumbsup:
Ok, i'm here too- i am going to start cutting back on all the rubbish i eat starting tomorrow. I better go and eat all the rest of the junk now so there is nothing to tempt me.
12-06-2006, 16:40
Hey may mums and welcome to the newies :wave:
Count me in girls, I was 62kgs between babies and that was great- I liked this weight. Right now I'm 71kgs so that's 9 to loose. And I'm thinking the same as Cosmic, when she's 12 weeks old I'd like to be finished, in time for summer.
I put on a heap of weight when preggas with DS who is 2 and lost all of it plus a bit extra by supporting DH while he did the CSIRO diet. He lost a fair bit but while I wasn't really doing it properly, I lost weight because we'd cleared out all the cr@p from our pantry and I ate the same meals as him. It was too expensive and too much meat though... But I'll be following some of those principles because they worked:
1. I'll cut out the rice, mashed spuds and white bread- I stopped craving sugar and these things once they had been out of my system for a couple of days:crying: . I'll use wholegrain bread (yuk!) instead, but only a couple of slices a day.
2. Instead, I'll get my carb fix from heaps of vegies and a couple of peices of fruit a day.
3. the meat I'll eat with be lean and I'll try to have it a bit more to keep me full (more stir-frys, chicken breast ect).
DH isn't dieting so I'll have to be tough! There's some yummy things around at the mo and I'm always eating DS's musili bars and biccies ect.
I'm starting to feel motivated now! Go girls! We'll get there!
:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Bubble*Crazy
12-06-2006, 16:43
I better go and eat all the rest of the junk now so there is nothing to tempt me.
LOL Mel!!! :laughing:
After my poor start today, I was thinking exactly the same thing.
However, instead of cleaning out my cupboards, I've started on my "junk room" that had to move from our spare bedroom to the loungeroom when we had to set the room up for Mum & Dad's visit as Ethan has taken over the 'guests room'.
So, really, I'm happy with that (instead of eating I've been sorting & majorly thinning our possessions ......) :rolleyes: if only my thinning out was as easy!!!
12-06-2006, 16:45
Gee Tegs, you've done well to get back to 60kgs! how did you manage that? and welcome :D
Howdy also to Emmas Mumma, you've done well considering you had your bubba just a few weeks before some of us in may. If we all stay positive and support each other, we'll get there... I refuse to buy bigger clothes!
Emma, I was thinking of following the principles of the CSIRO diet too.. I've done that before - kind of stuck to the guidelines without actually doing the diet and it was great. I lost weight really quickly (this was before I was preg) and never felt hungry.
Do you think it would be ok to do while breastfeeding? I'm thinking as long as I'm not eating too much junk food or fat/sugar, the breastfeeding and regular exercise should be enough to help me shift these few kilos. Is that being optimistic? :rolleyes:
Welcome Mandy. :wave: Wow you have done well to get down to 6kg to go. Good on you. I hope you're feeling better these days by the way.. I haven't had too much time to catch up on other threads so I haven't read your updates for a while.
Mel, you crack me up. :laughing: I have to admit I did the same thing for about a week - went around 'cleaning up' all the cr@p food in the house or telling myself this would be the last freddo frog. But my SIL brought over a huge sweet bun thing smothered with icing on it yesterday and there is still half of it in our fridge and I haven't touched it! Yay for my willpower. Let's hope DH hurries up and eats it because I don't know if I'll be able to resist it during the midnight feeds!!
I think that it is ok to stick to the principles of the CSIRO diet but just make sure that you are not eating diet foods (ie diet yoghurt etc).
I certainly need to up my protein intake - I'm not eating much because I'm just far too lazy to cook to much. One thing that I have done today which is not economical but a good way to get in a good meal - I bought pre-cut Asian greens and pre-cut meat from the supermarket. Hideously expensive but once again, I know that we'll get a good meal in.
I also buy the pre-cut soup vegies and make chicken and veggie soup.
:smiliedance: I made it through yesterday without any junk!!! :smiliedance:
Did a walk too but not an overly long one. Will try and get one in today.
OMG - what a really sad life I lead for an ex-fitness instructor :o.
Bubble*Crazy
13-06-2006, 09:36
Congrats Scout on yesterday's efforts! :thumbsup:
I was just sitting here thinking I need to eat something now, so I'm not tempted by any sugary, junk.
After my poor effort yesterday, I'm all keen to get back on the right foot today - wish me luck! :fingerscrossed:
Weather's c**p here, so can't do the walking thing :thumbsdown: but will get straight back on board there when (or if!) the weather holds off
One thing that I have done today which is not economical but a good way to get in a good meal - I bought pre-cut Asian greens and pre-cut meat from the supermarket. Hideously expensive but once again, I know that we'll get a good meal in.
Scout, I do that all the time. If I buy veges and put them in the fridge, I'm throwing them out in a week, but if I buy a packet of stir-fry veges and precut meat I take it straight home and cook it because it's easy. I figure it's still a heap cheaper than buying take-away and more economical than throwing away heaps of food. Whatever works for ya. :thumbsup:
I had a good day yesterday if you don't count the sugar I put in my decaf, the fact that I had 2 hot milos (it's cold :o) and I still put butter on my toast. But that's ok isn't it? I think we agree that we don't want to actually 'diet'.. just eat better. That's my story anyway. ;)
Well, the baby has just dozed off in the hugabub (DH is holding her) so I figure I've got a couple of hours up my sleeve to go for a walk with the dog. It's a good way to warm up too. bbbbrrrrrrr it's bloody cold in Sydney these days.
the_queen
13-06-2006, 09:51
Ok I'm here too now.
I've already had my 7 weetbix for breakfast, so I'm starting this weight-loss thingo as of right.........now.
(Yes 7. I don't even like weetbix normally, but it's this breastfeeding, it makes me ravenous.)
I'm not going to announce the number of my weight, because it's very high and I'm embarrassed. I need to lose a lot of weight, probably about 40+ kilo's, depending on where I am now (haven't weighed myself since baby born) so I'm just going to go by my clothing size. At the moment I'm in a 22:o and would ideally like to get down to a 16. I know I eat too much ****, and just too much food in general. More fruit needed, more vege's, less chocolate, less processed junk. More exercise.
So my question to everyone is, what should I do when I get hungry, just drink water? I've never lost weight in a healthy way, so the only way I know how to stave off hunger pangs is chemical... So just drink water? Or eat fruit, I guess. OK time for me to have a shower and we will head off to the greengrocers, get plenty of fresh fruit and vege's!
13-06-2006, 09:55
I think that it is ok to stick to the principles of the CSIRO diet but just make sure that you are not eating diet foods (ie diet yoghurt etc).
Surely this is fine- all the food groups are covered it's just that the carbs are coming from fruit and veg, instead of starchy things like spuds, pasta, rice ect. And more protien which is filling and should help us up our iron count a bit if means we are eating more lean beef and lamb then we normally would.
I like the soup-pack idea Scout, I'll be grabbing one of those today cos soup would be good between meals (I have my CSRIO 'free list' out with all the stuff that can be eaten in unlimited quantities).
Instead of buttery raisin toat this morning I had a bowl of the weight watcher's fruit 'n fibre cereal (doesn't sound very exciting, kinda like what my pa probably eats for breckie:) ) because it's filling and should get me through most of the morning.
Queenie, it it makes you feel better I've seen plenty of pics of you and I would never had guessed you had 40kg to lose. Not in a million years. You look great!
I agree about the breastfeeding thing making you ravenous. I feel like I did in the first trimester.. just wanting to eat everything in sight. But I do think a lot of it is boredom too... and habit. :rolleyes:
For me, when I get snackish I try to eat a muesli bar (I pick the lowest fat ones - oven baked fruit bars are good) or a yoghurt and I usually make a cup of decaf, or tea (or occasionally a hot milo) as well. I know it's probably not the most healthy and I am trying to drink more water but a hot drink is much more satisfying - especially in cold weather. We have no fruit in our house at the moment but need to get some. Again, not really a cold weather thing. I'd eat bananas except they are so expensive. Oh, and I also buy those little individual boxes of sultanas - they come in a 6-pack. DH started buying them for golf snacks but now I eat them too.
Good luck with the shopping. Gosh, I haven't been to a supermarket since the baby was born. I'm so slack (and spoiled) but that probably explains the lack of healthy options in our house!
13-06-2006, 10:19
Hey Queen, I think one of the ways to help in between meals when hungry is to make the main meals themselves higher in protien (lean chicken, lean red meat, low-fat dairy and eggs) because their high satiety value means you stay fuller for longer.
Cutting back on floury, starchy things (Oprah referrs to this stuff as 'anything white'!) will help stop us looking for sweet, high-carb snacks because our bodies will start to crave this sort of stuff less.
I still get hungry between meals so I have diet jelly, diet soft drinks and cordial (My 'What to Expect When You're Expecting' book lists the types of fake sweeteners that are dangerous when pregnant or b/f, and these ones seem to be ok). I also have carrot sticks and celery ready in the fridge (yay..... not). I'll try to eat a couple of peices of fruit a day (not bannanas though, I brought three the other day without thinking, cost me over $6 :eek: ). Sounds bland, but I'm trying to stay positive...
13-06-2006, 10:38
I agree about the breastfeeding thing making you ravenous. I feel like I did in the first trimester.. just wanting to eat everything in sight. But I do think a lot of it is boredom too... and habit. :rolleyes:
This is SO on the money with me, it's like " ooooo I'm breastfeeding, gotta keep up the supply and eat more", heaven forbid I actually draw on what I have already in reserve! :laughing: What's funnier is that I'm permanently, massively in oversupply, so it's not like I'll just run out or anything!
I want to go for walks and do more excercise.. but Ronan unclips his harness in the pram and jumps out and runs away :banghead: He think's its funny when its really so dangerous and I'm too slow chasing him and getting him back in it with Ariene in the hugabub! But I'll do it without Ronan on Mondays when he's at his Oma and Opa's and on the weekend. DH suggested aerobics DVDs :eek: Now that would be funny!!
DH suggested aerobics DVDs :eek: Now that would be funny!!
Em, I definitely want to see pictures of that. You jazzercising with Ariene in the hugabub. :laughing:
oh, and I agree with the diet jelly, diet cordial etc! They make great, between-meal calorie-free fillers.
Bub awake.. got to go!!!
Marie-Jo
13-06-2006, 14:38
Queen - when you get hungry, the best thing to do is eat carrot and celeri sticks or any raw veggie or fruit...
I still have some chocolate in the house that I have to go through :o but I promise when I'm done I'll start eating better food. Perhaps tomorrow...
Pretty cold here in Melbourne but It's nothing compare to Canada and that shouldn't stop me from going for a walk...which I'm about to do now...
Talk to you soon
Okay...I'm finally here. Just looked at some hideous photos of myself and thought, my god, I need to do something NOW!
I too have been really craving sweet stuff and mostly just sitting around on my **** feeding all day, coz its so cold outside....
Jo
Ok I'm joining too... Putting it in writing means I HAVE to do it :laughing:
I need to lose about 10kgs, that will be a little below pre-pregnancy, and that would be great! (66kgs b4 bub- now 73kgs)
I have been using the 'cold' weather as an excuse- but I'm pretty sure that it's colder in sydney and melbourne than it is in tropical mackay (I think its about 21degrees today... Thats pretty much freezing right?? :rolleyes: )
I desperately DO NOT want to buy any clothes in bigger sizes, so I have motivation as I only fit into a pair of 3/4 jeans NOT my long ones- and as it gets cooler I'm gonna want them...
Ok as soon as I have fed Rhianna we are going for a walk!! :yes:
Good luck all!
Belinda xo
Me 23
DH 28
DD 10/05/06
Welcome Belinda! :wave: When I lived in Mackay, I remember thinking 19 degrees was bloody cold too. How funny. A couple of days ago it was 13 in Sydney. And we had the coldest day in two years (!!) the day Jennifer Aniston chose to wear a strapless number on the red carpet. :laughing: Poor chicken. Shouldn't laugh. I'm sure that's the only thing she brought with her. Not like she couldn't have sent someone out to Myer to pick her up a shawl or something though!!
So I had a reasonable day today. I didn't walk but I definitely was much better with the eating. I'm even thinking of cutting sugar out of my coffee. We'll see how the scales go and only take that drastic measure if absolutely necessary. :D
Today I had lost 200g (I have digital scales) in 2 days so if I can keep up that kind of progress and lose about a kilo a week I'll be happy. :thumbsup:
Cosmic - where abouts do you live in Sydney? I'm about to start planning my (long) trip up there so we will have to go for a walk and then reward ourselves with a latte.
I've been good for the past few days. In particular there has been lots of walking! Today was the first time that I took me, Saxon, the pram and the dog out - it was extremely successful with Taki walking in a lovely straight line and helping by pulling the pram along. The addition of exercise has bloody well worn me out though so I don't think that I'll be heading off to the gym for a hard session anytime soon.
We are having pizza tonight but homemade, so lots of veggies, wholemeal pita bread, some meat and light cheese.
And yes Billy, you have no right to complain about weather in Mackay!! :laughing: With each winter that I spend in Melbourne, I realise why all the old Victorians retire to Qld.
Phewwww I've finally got through all the junk food in the house. It was a struggle today eating half a boston bun that the MIL brought over yesterday and the freddo frog with white bits and the roll-up but there is no junk food left at all. So tomorrow is definately the start of the weigh loss plan :thumbsup:
Bubble*Crazy
14-06-2006, 19:38
Phewwww I've finally got through all the junk food in the house. It was a struggle today eating half a boston bun that the MIL brought over yesterday and the freddo frog with white bits and the roll-up but there is no junk food left at all. So tomorrow is definately the start of the weigh loss plan :thumbsup:
LOL, Mel - ROTFLMAO!!!
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
Marie-Jo
15-06-2006, 09:32
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: How funny Mel...
Cosmic - keep going girl!
I went for 1 hour walk yesterday. It was really warm :no: in Melbourne!
Good on you Marie-Jo! I've been slack and haven't walked the past day or two ... or maybe it was just yesterday I missed. Darn this post-natal drift. :o But I think Sydney is cold and I'm sure it's tropical compared to Melbourne!!
But the good news is that I have lost a kilo. :smiliedance: Mind you, I think that is largely because I had an unsettled baby last night and DH was out so I didn't get dinner (except for a couple of muesli bars). Um.. not very healthy I know. I'm choosing to focus on the positive, but it's ok I won't be using muesli bars for dinner as an ongoing weight loss strategy. :D
nice to see you all again. and nice to meet the honorary may ladies.
I am on the quest to loose weight too. I was 60kg Pre bub and put on 20kg while preg. I am now 68kg (just weighed myself). Would love to get to 55kg again.
Have decided that if I can with stand the junk while doing my weekly shop then I don't have to try and hold out everytime i open the fridge or cupboard. I am allowing myself a little icecream. (got to reward good work).
I am also living in some maternity stuff but am also splerging on a couple of cute tops to hide the bump still lingering. My prob was that I didn't have any jeans that fitted me. and that just won't cut it when it's sooooooo cold. So I have also let myself buy ONE pair of jeand. They are low rise so they'll still fit after the bump is gone. and they were under $40. so i think that that is okay.
I have started body balance now and am trying to walk a few days a week.
Lets hope all this works. Bub is alerady 6 and 1/2 weeks old. Better get onto it!!!
Stacy
Marie-Jo
16-06-2006, 11:01
Oh gosh, watching the video channel. Soooooo depressing to see these skinny, sexy, sensual girls...Whatever happen to the beautiful curvy women of the old days???:confused:
Anyway, I wheighed myself yesterday and I have been stable since last week. Looks like I will have to start exercising as well as cutting on the ice cream and chocolate...:crying: Don't know if I'll be able to.
16-06-2006, 12:30
I need to lose about 10kgs, that will be a little below pre-pregnancy, and that would be great! (66kgs b4 bub- now 73kgs)
Hey Billy, you and I are looking at similar figures. I'd like to get to 62-3 and I started at 72 at the begining of the week, I think. I'm only weighing myself weekly though! It's too devestating if they go up and down during the course of the week.
Far out, I'm desperate for clothes that fit, I've gone to two weddings during the last two weeks and both times had to borrow clothes from my mum :D but she's a trendy thing so that's ok, we actually share clothes a lot:-)
Well done Cosmic! You're well on your way, no turning back now!
I'm definetly loosing weight, but I'm getting sooo sick of carrots and celery for snacks eeerrrrrggghhh.... And fake sugar jelly, soft drink and cordial between meals is getting a bit tiring. HOWEVER, Mason has the cupboards full of chocolate, chips and coke so that combined with having the ol' breastfeeding appetite makes me think that if I can loose weight through all that, then I'll never struggle again!!
16-06-2006, 12:36
Anyway, I wheighed myself yesterday and I have been stable since last week. Looks like I will have to start exercising as well as cutting on the ice cream and chocolate...:crying: Don't know if I'll be able to.
You'll get there Marie-Jo!! Don't be too tough on yourself, it's not hard to see that you went through a very tough time very recently (referring to your signature) and that caesar is pretty new, but good luck with the walking down there in melb... must be snowing there :D . I only live an hour and a bit from the snowfields but Albury itself is a very sunny place today, it's gorgeous..
oops, there's my baby! off I go to feed again, moo moo....
Keep up the good work girls! Summer's coming!
I am 72 kgs :eek: thats depressing. I remember being 50kg before Connor than remained about 63kg for awhile but i am a boobah now. How much does BF use up?
Hey Billy, you and I are looking at similar figures. I'd like to get to 62-3 and I started at 72 at the begining of the week, I think.
That sounds exactly like me too. Except if I got to 65 I'd be happy. Not my happiest ever, but given I've just had a baby that would be pretty reasonable I think.
I think all this stress of my baby not feeding is going to help with my weight loss but probably not going to help my milk supply!! :(
And I still haven't walked for a few days...naughty. How is everyone else going?
How is everyone else going?
:thumbsdown: 3 good days and then quickly reverted to old habits, dammit.
Well I've been going pretty good I guess... saw a friend of mine who used to weigh more than me and she has lost a lot of weight and looks FANTASTIC so that is a little more inspiration!! We have decided that before her engagement party in 6 weeks (and 6 kgs less:fingerscrossed: ) we will go shopping for new outfits together so I better keep to it!!
This is totally shame but I've started doing the 'hotpants workout' :o bought it ages ago on some other weight loss kick I was on... but it is good in the fact that I work up a good sweat, I don't have to leave the house and Rhianna seems to enjoy sitting in her rocker and watching her mummy jump around like an idiot!! :D
I do have to stop checking my weight all the time!! It fluctuates so much that I get all depressed that I've put weight on during the day :rolleyes:
Oh well, keep to it ladies it will all be worth it in the end!!
Belinda xo
vanillabean
17-06-2006, 20:35
I want to join too. I am sick of being fat. I was 61 kgs when I fell pregnant with #1, put on 16kgs, didn't lose it all, fell pregnant with #2 at the same weight I finshed at with #1 and then put on another 17kgs, so I have probably somewhere around the 25kg mark to lose now. I have not weighed myself for quite some time (too scared) and I have been on a junk binge for too long now. I am going to do it. If only I could get through one day.....
18-06-2006, 12:38
How is everyone else going?
Had a great 4 days then yesterday had a bit of a splurge- I've had a couple of awful days. :gloomy: A family came up from melb at very late notice to stay for two nights- I said yes to them staying when I should have said no. I was left to care for all their kids while they all went to a wedding :eek: ... I got stressed out and upset and ate the anzacs and cupcakes I'd made (after they'd had enough of course, nothing shuts up screaming/fighting toddlers like junk food!)
However, this morning we were getting ready to go out and I found that I could actually do up my pants properly and didn't need the daggy old nappy pin to keep them together! So I jumped on the scales and I'm now 70kgs, down from 72! And back on track with the healthy eating today so I'm hoping that it will continue :smiliedance:
18-06-2006, 12:52
I am going to do it. If only I could get through one day.....
Welcome! :wave: Hopefully once you've got a day under your belt you can go from there, one day at a time. Let us know how you're doin ok?
For those of us who eat it, we need to keep up our intake of lean red meat, espec. with the late nights, recent births and low energy levels in mind, we need iron to get oxegen around our bods and help us feel snappy and less tired ect. And it keeps us fuller and it's easier to say no to naughty snacks then... although I'm having trouble seeing as DH just left a packet of those fancy chips here next to the keyboard.
Isn't it hard to keep away from all the stuff our toddlers eat? I was grilling fish fingers for Ronan before and they just smelled so good, and he loves bickies and cream cheese, muffins, stuff like that.
So I jumped on the scales and I'm now 70kgs, down from 72! And back on track with the healthy eating today so I'm hoping that it will continue
Yay for you, Emma! I'm still 71.5 (was 72.5) but I haven't really been dieting. In fact, I just had half a kit-kat. :rolleyes: I think the weight I lost was stress! I do want to watch my diet, but I SO don't want to affect my milk supply.
Which of you guys is breastfeeding? Does anyone know what is reasonable to eat (or should I say not eat :D) while BF to lose weight but maintain a healthy supply? I have been trying to just eat 3 good meals a day and cut out the snacks, but so far it isn't doing a lot of good - probably because I haven't been able to do much exercise. I'm determined to get out for a proper walk this afternoon.
Welcome Mummyjo! :wave: One day at a time is the only way to go. And maybe just focus on little things to start with. Rather than drastically changing all your habits, just start with things like replacing full-fat/sugar options with the diet variety. Or cutting sugar out of your coffee (maybe use Equal instead) etc. You can do it. We're all in the same boat, just to varying degrees. :)
2girls&1boy
21-06-2006, 07:10
I would love to join this group. I have been without a computer for the last week or so. I was 66kg pre preg and put on 20kg. I am currently 77kg so I have about 10kg to lose. I would love to get back down to 60kg which is what I was pre baby #1.
Cosmic - I am glad someone else is in their trackies and maternity pants!! I thought I was the only one. When I am at the shops I see these women with new babies and they are in a tiny pair of jeans?? I don't understand??
I sadly purchased a pair of jeans to wear so I had something other than trackpants when people visited or we went out. Well they are size 16 - I have never been a 16 in my life so I was quite down about it all.
I have been going for walks with the girls each day for about an hour or so. Unfortunately my eating habits have undermined this, I find my problem is more the portion size rather than what I am eating(not that I eat that great). I try and not have too much junk otherwise Grace will want to eat it as well. I have a weigh in on Sundays so I hope I do well this week.
Less eating between meals for me I think will be the key this week. I try something new each week. This week is no in between snacks.
Good luck everyone.
Paula
Hey Paula, good to see you back. I've missed you! I'm glad you're joining this thread too 'cause I think you and I are probably similar build and a few of us all have similar goals.
I am really needing to buy some winter clothes too. I can't live in one pair of jeans and tracksuit pants all winter. All my other maternity pants are 3/4 length so not much good in the cold, but I am dreading going out shopping to find that I have gone up a few sizes, so Paula I understand how you feel!
I really have to get my butt into gear and get out walking. Annabelle is in the hugabub most of the day and I think I'm just paranoid that she'll wake up and cry if I take her outside. Stupid, really... since the point of the hugabub is to carry them whereever you are, not just around the house! :o
DH has been cooking our dinners and since I asked him to add more vegetables and less pasta (and much less takeaway!) he has been great.
I think I need a short-term goal. Like maybe I need to set a date to buy a new pair of jeans (Lord knows when I'll fit into my pre-preg ones.. they sadly don't go past my thighs) and aim to lose a certain amount of weight by then. I'll give that some thought and see if it helps me to get motivated. :)
Oh thank god - others are in trackies, maternity tops and one pair of jeans. I feel disgusting but just don't have the time nor the inclination to even go to the shops and try on clothes.
21-06-2006, 13:28
I feel disgusting but just don't have the time nor the inclination to even go to the shops and try on clothes.
Oh God no-one go try on clothes! Don't do it!! It's too depressing! The mirrors:eek: The fitting rooms:eek: The fluro lighting:eek: The skinny sales assistants:eek: It's all a set-up to make us feel even bigger!!
21-06-2006, 13:33
Oh yeah, and the weight-loss thing... it's, ahem, not going too well.. But I'm not going to be too hard on myself, I have less to loose this time and it WILL happen. I just need to refrain from gaining weight in the meantime!
Seriously, tomorow I will be back on track.. I have to be, I've run out of these yummy greasy bbq lamb ribs!
candlelover
21-06-2006, 13:34
please give me the will to say no to chocolate i need to loose only a couple of kgs nothing major but i do need to tone up, the gym is out of the question and DH doesn't get home till late, my 3 yr old is not interested in walking a couple of k's with mum, i wish i could be more motivated at home!
I just need to refrain from gaining weight in the meantime!
I hear ya, Em. That's where I'm at too!
Marie-Jo
22-06-2006, 13:51
Come on ladies, we can do it!:smiliedance:
Well I had a really nice walk yesterday. There's a park and a bay walk we used to take our dog to before the baby.. and I used to walk the whole lap which is 7km before I was pregnant and yesterday was the 2nd time we've been back since Annabelle was born. It was so good to get out there, and she was an angel! No whinging in the car, then straight into her hugabub and she slept while we walked, then back in the car and no whinging on the way home either. :smiliedance: If it's going to be that easy, I think I will start going down there a few times a week.
I have lost another half a kilo, but again I don't think it was healthy weight loss. DH was out last night and Miss Annabelle was having a bit of an off day so I couldn't be bothered cooking and eating. I'm eating pretty well for the most part, but maybe if she has a bad day every now and then, I'll just lose the weight through stress. :D :o
Well I've been bad today- but I have an excuse!!! Got my first period since having DD... so sad... so we had takeout with baskins for dessert... so naughty-but sooo good!! :p
Anyhow back on the straight and narrow now I swear!! :rolleyes:
Can I make up for it with extra exercise over the weekend??
Billy.. already??!! :eek: :eek:
oh.. is that because you aren't breastfeeding? That seems far too soon to get your period! But definitely a good excuse for ice cream. :D
Yeah we only have one breastfeed and the rest formula per day now... so all the pre-pregnancy 'perks' :thumbsdown: are back... Definately a good excuse for ice-cream though!! :D
OMG Billy - you got a period????
Bugger Ladies, this is the beginning of the end - we'll be chatting to each other again in the TTC threads soon!
Bubble*Crazy
23-06-2006, 23:02
Well I've been bad today- but I have an excuse!!! Got my first period since having DD... so sad... so we had takeout with baskins for dessert... so naughty-but sooo good!!
Me too ....... :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: .
Think it explains my MASSIVE chocolate-sweet-anyfood-ATM-tooth I've had for the past week or two. Good news is though, I don't think I've put on any weight. So once I get past this hurdle (I crave during AF too) I'll have to start in here again. For real this time.
oh you poor things. I'm really hoping the BF will keep AF away for a looong time yet. Gah.. I wouldn't want to have to deal with that on top of all this other parenting bizzo so I feel for you.
Well.. enough bubhubbing.. time for a walk. Catch ewes all later. ;)
2girls&1boy
24-06-2006, 17:28
I am so glad it isn't just me!!! I got AF today and thought I was a freak!!! so it is normal.....
I have not been good with my eating this week, but I did go on 3 one hour walks. Feeling very bloated though thanks to AF.
I think I will weigh in next week.
P
24-06-2006, 19:08
it's so embassing how bad I am at forum-talk. Like, I know that you're referring to your periods when you say AF but what the hell does it stand for? And what does 'lol' mean? I sooo have a long way to go :laughing:
You should check this out pookie, for lots of abbreviations explained.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=5331
Oh by the way my baby was born in April, and I am still trying to lose "several" kilos as well. Good news though, got some jeans done up yesterday, but couldn't sit down LOL.
vanillabean
24-06-2006, 21:52
Thanks for the support. I don't know if I have lost any weight yet (have not yet been on the scales), but have been trying now for about a week. I am actually making myself have morning and afternoon tea and drinking a lot more water. As a result I feel less bloated, less headaches and am not as hungry, obviously because my blood sugar level is a bit more stable. I have also been walking, so I think I am on the way to a change in my lifestyle habits in general, so I feel a bit better about things.
25-06-2006, 12:43
Way to go mummyjo! keep up the good work!:)
25-06-2006, 12:45
Thanks Sally! I had no idea that thread was there, but I don't feel quite so dumb now that I've read it :thumbsup:
:eek: i've PUT ON 3 kilos :eek: how did that happen, i was trying to be good- sort of
Bubble*Crazy
25-06-2006, 14:50
I am so glad it isn't just me!!! I got AF today and thought I was a freak!!! so it is normal.....
I have not been good with my eating this week, but I did go on 3 one hour walks. Feeling very bloated though thanks to AF.
I think I will weigh in next week.
P
Good on you Paula for getting the walks in. I find this helps me feel less bloated with AF too (walking that is).
I've decided that whilst I need to lose 'weight', I won't just be guaging it by the scales. It's definately going to be by my dress size. I'm hoping to get down to a 14-16. At least since I was pg with Ethan, I dropped from a 20-22 to an 18-20, so I'm happy with that. I just don't need to blow it now! So, that means I'm gonna probably have to lose more like 20-25kgs, realistically.
BTW, I don't think it's a proper AF I've got as I only bled a bit Friday and another tiny bit yesterday. So who knows (and besides I'm half way thru a monthly pill cycle, so maybe it's just 'spotting')...... anyways, I'm going to get back on track tomorrow.
Hi all.. well I have been back walking again the last day or two and eating a lot better. I agree about going my dress size though. I almost bought a pair of jeans yesterday but decided to hold off for a couple of weeks, hoping that I might have lost some weight by then.
Mel.. are you sure there's not something wrong with your scales?? That sounds like a lot, especially when you've been trying to be good. I think your scales are definitely broken. :p
Paula, if I lived in sunny Qld I'd come walking with you. I've been doing little walks but really need to get out for at least an hour. Trouble is, Miss Annabelle won't sleep in her pram anymore... only the hugabub. :rolleyes: I guess it's ok while she's still so little but I'm not sure I want to carry her for my long walks when she's 3 mths old. Or maybe that would be good for me. :D
I was talking to my (thin-obsessed) mum about wanting to lose baby & pre-baby weight the other day - she was worried about me trying to lose weight too soon! She thought that I should be worrying about it once Saxon is 6 months old! God bless her!
I just got our scales out too - have been meaning to do it for weeks!
vanillabean
25-06-2006, 20:22
I actually got the courage to step on the scales today - 82.8. Way better than I expected - I thought at least another 5 kgs or so!!
vanillabean
25-06-2006, 20:23
I just read the full title of this thread i.e MAY MUMMIES. SORRY, I am not a May Mummy.
mummyjo - don't be silly. You are more than welcome. We have other mummies here who aren't May mummies. The more the merrier!! :D
27-06-2006, 14:12
Hey Mummyjo! Welcome! And well done, all that hard work is paying off :smiliedance:
I'm down by a kilo over the last fortnight, that's ok with me... like I said before, small amounts are fine as long as they are amounts I have lost, not gained :D
Wow.. we're all a bit quiet in here. I just thought I'd share with you that I bought a new pair of jeans today. I figured 7 weeks was long enough to live in maternity jeans. I feel a bit better that they are only a size 12 (I'm normally 10) and hopefully they'll still fit when I lose weight so I haven't wasted my money (how's that for optimistic? ie.. that I'll lose weight that quickly :laughing: )
Anyway, I've been doing some walking and generally watching what I eat but I swear the best weight loss strategy for me so far has been DH not being home 'cause when he's not here I don't have time to eat!! And he's away for FIVE DAYS next week. :eek: I'll be a shadow of my former self. Not to mention grey before my time and probably institutionalised. Just a tad anxious I have to say. :o
the_queen
03-07-2006, 08:03
Please can I be back in here :o
Curtis' Christening was yesterday and last night when we were looking at photo's I was disgusted with myself. I've always been a big girl, I've never really tried seriously to lose heaps of weight, but looking at those pics I realise I have to do something about it. I've got one word to say to you: Heffalump :(
I have no idea what I currently weigh, nor do I want to... But I'm going to start a sub-album thingo in my photo bucket, I'll put in the heffalump pics and I'll take a pic of me every weekend to see how I'm going. My problem is, I'm an instant-gratification-junkie. So this "12 months to lose 40kgs" stuff is going to be hard to maintain for me. That's about how much I need to lose, and if I lose about 1kg a week, and allowing for weeks where I plateau, it should take me about a year. *sigh*
I am putting the heffalump photo on my fridge and pantry, to encourage me.
So even though I'm a complete know-it-all-smart-ar$e in every other aspect of life :p this is an area where I'm completely dense. So I have a couple of questions:
What should I eat for breakfast? At the moment I crave weetbix every morning and I can do 7 or 8 if I let myself. This morning I limited myself to 3 - but still, that's too much I think! Plus it's carbs isn't it, aren't carbs bad :shame: ? Should I have poached eggs with no toast, instead? Or muesli (ick...) or sultana bran or something like that? is it ok to have carbs for breakfast if I try to avoid them for the rest of the day? If I have a salad with some meat in it (I'm guessing I'm not allowed to have caeser dressing.... my favourite....) for lunch, and then meat and vege's for dinner, and try to avoid bread rice and pasta - would that be a good general "diet" to go on? I just have to make lifestyle change, yada yada yada, I eat too much refined sugar and too much carbs, and I don't exercise enough. I'm going to start today going for a walk every day, rain hail or shine. (oh please don't let it rain today)
Queen- since this is a support network thought i'd give you some words of encoragement :smiliedance: I have a few ideas for you from when I lost about 10 kgs before I was pregnant that might help you...
Firstly because you are breastfeeding you shouldn't cut out ANY food groups- you just need to be sensible about them.
Try cutting your portion sizes back a little- 3-4 weetbix for breakfast is fine so long as you don't cover them with loads of sugar!! :shame:
Carbs aren't bad- its just the white stuff thats not so good- so try replacing it with wholemeal pasta, rice, and bread. It fills you up for longer so your less likely to snack.
I noticed while shopping the other day there is a new 'carb free' or the old low fat caeser dressing that might do for you. Change your dairy to low fat versions (1 of the easiet things to do to lose weight).
At dinner just cook up lots of colourful vegies to fill up your plate and have some lean meat (red meat, chicken breast, fish etc) and that will fill you up.
Another thing that worked for me was a food diary- write down exactly what you're eating in the day so you can see it in black and white... THAT makes you think OMG how did I eat that much in one day??? :eek:
You WILL have to exercise to lose weight... Dammit I know!! Go walking everyday and work up a sweat- you WILL lose weight if you stick to that!
Because you have more weight to lose it should come off in bigger amounts at first, which might give you a bit of that old instant gratification that you're after ;-)
Well I hope that helps a little- now I just have to take my own advice more often!! :p
Queen - we can talk about what to eat and what not to eat when I come over, if you like. Then again, you'll take one look at me and say "She has no freakin' idea" - I'm one fat chick at the moment. Billy has given pretty sound advice to start with though!
the_queen
04-07-2006, 12:15
LOL Scout - I'm sure you'll have some good advice for me.
Billy, thank you, and I need a hang-my-head-in-shame emoticon, because I do put sugar on my weetbix :shame: But thank you for the advice, I'll see how I go. Low-fat milk, I can handle that, brown bread, well we already eat whomemeal multigrain only, I think I need to cook more lean cuts of meat - I do a lot of things like schnitzels, sausages, etc. Bad bad bad bad bad. I did have a big serving of colourful vege's last night, 5 serves.
I will give the food diary thing a go too, I think that's a good idea.
I'm guessing I'm not allowed to have caeser dressing.... my favourite.... [/SIZE]
:wave: I am just having a sticky & just wanted to let you know I am on a low carb diet and I am allowed to have Paul Newmans Creamy Caesar Dressing(there r 2 kinds make sure it's the creamy one) it is quite low in carbs :thumbsup:
:laughing: I put sugar on weet-bix too... Just have a little (tspn) not a lot... or maybe try that splenda?? I use it in my coffee- tastes good to me! Or to quote the ad- "It tastes like sugar because it's made from sugar!!" :D Has no calories though :thumbsup:
04-07-2006, 16:32
Hey Queen!
When buying breckie cereal, look at the nutritional info for Dietary Fibre- the higher the number, the fuller you'll feel after eating it. Loosing weight often makes things... ah.. 'slow down'- eat foods high in Dietary Fibre and you'll stay regular! Yes I know, I sound like someone's granny but it had to be said girls!
Lean meat = lean protien. You'll also feel full after eating protien.
I'm of the opinion that if you get your main meals right, the snacking is easier to take care of.
Also- if you just stop the extra sugar for a couple of days, the craving for it will diminish somewhat and it will be easier to start changing to tea/coffee without sugar and having weetbix without sugar (although I do the same thing with mine Queen :laughing: )
Queenie - I finally got here to reply to your post and I see that you already have been given lots of very good advice. I second that person who said not to cut out any major food groups while breastfeeding.
Well, my DH is away and so far I've survived but I have been living on muesli bars and yoghurt during the day. I do manage to have toast for breakfast and a Lean Cuisine for dinner at night but it's snack foods all day for me. At least they are healthy snack foods. Mind you, some carrot and celery or a bit of fruit probably wouldn't kill me. :o
Obviously I'm eating enough of those snack foods to sustain me because I still haven't lost any more weight. :rolleyes:
06-07-2006, 13:37
It's hard when there's all this support from our DH's and then they go away, hey Cosmic. It gets me really down. I didn't realise just how much he was doing after work- even sticking Ronan in his highchair with tea while I'm feeding.. Yesterday the house was getting dark and cold but the curtains were still open and bins not out cos I was stuck feeding, Ronan was tugging his highchair out of the laundry crying 'daddy tea, daddy tea..' They had such a routine. It all just overwhelmed me... I miss him so much.. He's in West Wylong and then Cowra for work (whereva that is!).
06-07-2006, 13:38
By the way, only .5 of a kilo lost over a looonnggg time, but that's fine. I'm cool about it...sorta...
2girls&1boy
06-07-2006, 15:08
Well I feel like a total piece of fat S***. I have not lost any weight at all :( I am really trying and have cut out all snacks that are sugary, fatty etc. My problem is I have a DH who is naturally thin and thinks we should have a treat each night.
Last night State of Origin - DH brought home a packet of Mars Pods. Well I love them and of course he is eating them and I have absolutely no will power, I end up eating half of the damn packet. Kind of contradicts the no snacks comment above really doesn't it?
Sorry I am feeling rather blue as I used to have a decent figure and now it is all flab(especially my tummy). People try to be supportive by saying, you have just had a baby, blah , blah blah. That is true but I seem to see all these women around the place with little babies and GREAT figures.
ANyway best be off I am feeling rather depressed and am bringing the whole vibe down I am sure.
P
07-07-2006, 10:56
Chin up, Gracesmum, it's hard but you'll get there... My DH is overweight so I get fooled into thinking it's ok, I can just stay the way I am... :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: not good!!
Prior to meeting/marrying DH I was with a guy for years who weighed only 56kg! He was also naturally skinny like your DH. He was always trying to put on weight and never could. I felt huge because of how light he was and that was back when I was actually pretty skinny myself. Those days are well and truly gone!
Hope things are looking up for you today :hugs:
Hey everyone, I think it's time to revive this thread!
Paula, how are you feeling? Don't be hard on yourself - that body has done an amazing job of producing two gorgeous healthy girls! I think we all need (read: I need :p) to come to grips with the fact that this post-baby weight loss thing is not going to be an overnight proposition, dammit.
Today I have had buttery toast and blueberry muffins which I foolishly baked. What the hell was I thinking? Of course, I'm going to eat them all. :banghead:
The good news is that I have a new walking buddy. Well.. I am going to meet her for the first time tomorrow so hopefully she's not an axe murderer or a paedophile and we can walk regularly. She also happens to be a MAY MUMMY but she is a LURKER!!!!! :eek: Who would have thought we have may mummies who don't post?! Are we not fun and exciting enough? ;)
How is everyone going? I had a friend tell me the other day that you practically have to starve yourself to lose these last 5kg and I think she might be right. And of course, starving oneself is not an option while breastfeeding. Ho-hum... looks like I should resign myself to size 12 jeans for a while. With 3 weeks until Annabelle turns 12 weeks old (my initial target date) methinks I'm not going to be achieving that particular goal.
ellymayone
13-07-2006, 11:45
Well my weight loss isn't going well at all! I only eat what I have to eat to sustain my milk and I work out for atleast an hour a day and I have only managed to loose 6 freaking pounds(about 3 kg) and that is it and I havn't lost anything else in going on 3 wks now! Sooooo frustrating. I feel like I need to just stop eating to lose it! I really wish it would come off already I am working out now and I wasn't even doing that before I got pg!
Ellymay I hear you!! Nothing much coming off here either!! :no: I'm finding I have to work much harder than before pg!! :thumbsdown:
16-07-2006, 18:05
mm, I'm also finding that I need to work harder... except I'm not;) But I'm getting to the point where I'm unhappy enough to try again.. Cosmic, size 12? That's what I'm aiming to finish at hon! I'm probably a 14, but being 6" that means about 9 kilos for me, or so I've found in the past.
c ya girls!
Em, you've got a few inches on me so it's no wonder you are a size bigger! I haven't weighed myself in a few days but DH has just left for another week away :( so I daresay my diet will suffer. Sad that poor eating habits are my only hope of losing weight. :o
I just wish wish wish Annabelle would sleep better in the pram. She does sleep eventually but not until she's cried for a while (which I hate!) and even then, it's only for half an hour. Makes it hard to get out for a relaxing, long walk!
2girls&1boy
16-07-2006, 18:47
Well I had been feeling much better about the whole weight thing this week. I joined WW on Monday and was doing so well. Problem though was it was my birthday on Friday so I have eaten a lot of junk in the last two days which pretty much has blown all my good work.
Oh well will find out tomorrow morning when I weigh in.
Paula
Good on you Paula. I love WW! Hey, did someone say they have a breastfeeding WW program? Maybe that's what I need. Glad to hear you are feeling better though. And hey, it's only your birthday once a year so don't worry about it. ;) Good eating habits in the long term is what you are after so if you were good for most of the week, you've done well. Tomorrow's another day!
2girls&1boy
16-07-2006, 19:10
Hey Cosmic,
Yes WW have a program for feeding mothers. Basically you have more points allocated daily which they recommend you use eating particular food groups.
I did it after I had Grace and I BF her for 12months. The weight came off really quickly. Fingers crossed it will work as well this time.
I knew I was going to indulge for my birthday so at least I am mentally prepared for not great results this week. Who knows though as I have been walking my little(well not really) a***e off every day for at least an hour.
I will keep you posted.
Paula
ah you obviously have a baby who sleeps in her PRAM! Lucky you!! :D
And I think I will look into that WW thing. Thanks Paula. And good luck tomorrow. I want a report. :thumbsup:
vanillabean
16-07-2006, 20:00
Well I am back and have just finished reading a book called "The Do-Able Diet" about a woman who lost 47kg, basically by applying herself to healthy eating and not missing out on anything. She also talked about reducing portion size which I think is a major thing I need to look at. So, since Thursday I have adopted a healthy eating program and reduced my portion sizes (she gave the example of serving your dinner on a bread and butter plate). I feel better already and you know what, I am not even hungry. I think I was just eating for the sake of eating. I'll see how it goes.
Good on you Jo. It's nice when it's easy. Nothing worse than feeling like you're starving yourself. Let us know how it goes. :thumbsup:
18-07-2006, 08:01
Ooo yes, I like the side plate portion size example, and my meal sizes DO match those of my 110k husband... I'll be dishing up my meals on a little plate from now on!! And from today I'm cutting out white bread, spuds and all the pasta I've been eating, or at least having it only minimally. And drinking lots of water/diet cordial. That should help me finally get some results!
Way to go girls :)
Hey I like that portion size thing too!! :yelclap:
Cosmic I'm the opposite- I eat better when DH is AWAY!! He was back for the weekend and he's like "lets have a BBQ- lets go out to breakfast- do you want macca's for dessert?" :eek: I'm trying to LOSE weight!! Not helping:rolleyes:!
He's gone now so back to vegies...yay...;)
vanillabean
22-07-2006, 21:12
Well, I have to post. In just over a week by eating well and doing the things I mentioned before in my post, I have lost 1.6kgs!!!
Ok everyone this thread has been sort of quiet!!! What are you all doing eh?? :p Lets get back into it... anyone had a weigh in? Have you lost anything? I was being pretty slack and a week ago I still weighed about 73kgs:gloomy: So I have kicked myself into gear- Leisha and I are walking everyday and I am watching what I am eating quite closely. I am going to weigh myself on friday so hopefully will have some success!! :fingerscrossed: ;)
Hey Billy I was thinking the same thing.
MummyJo - Congratulations! That is bloody fantastic. :yelclap:
Billy, I think I have resigned myself to carrying this extra 5kg. :rolleyes: It seems no matter what I do I can't break the 70kg barrier. And I read that if you breastfeed your body holds onto an extra 2.5 - 4.5kg so perhaps that's what's going on?? But if it has to hold onto some fat stores, I'd rather it be 2.5 than 4.5kg! :rolleyes:
I have to admit that I haven't been walking and I have been eating ****. I mean really ****. Not a lot of food mind you (precious little in fact) but for a breastfeeding mum I'm not getting anywhere near enough fresh fruit and veges and lean protein etc etc.. so I am on a new health kick - for my baby, not my weight! Maybe that will be good motivation for me.
2girls&1boy
31-07-2006, 20:01
Well I have been doing WW for 2 weeks and have lost 1.3kg:thumbsup: I am happy with that as in that time I have had my birthday blow out and also Grace's 2nd birthday party. So not too shabby really.
I am more motivated than ever now so this week I am doing the WW books to the letter and adding in some nice big walks which both girls like.
Fingers crossed it starts coming off a bit quicker from now on.
So I am currently 74.7kg and counting.....................
Bye for now
Paula
Jackie-Tiana
01-08-2006, 00:31
hi all im a may mummy.... and i know this may sound wierd....but im actually lighter that pre-preg.....the horrible fat stats (im not tall)......
about 85kg pre preg , the very end of preg....89kg and now 73kg but still not happy and wierdly still cant get the big bum into those jeans that fitted pre preg? how does that work? :confused:
ok- well I weighed myself and in 2 weeks I went from 73.7kgs to........
Drumroll please........:p
70.5kgs!!!!! :smiliedance: 3.2kgs lost!!! I'm almost in the 60's again yay!!
Ok I'm proud- and had yummy creamy pasta for tea tonight :shame: have to get back on track now if I want it to keep going down!! :D
~Chick79~
05-08-2006, 19:31
ok- well I weighed myself and in 2 weeks I went from 73.7kgs to........
Drumroll please........
70.5kgs!!!!! 3.2kgs lost!!! I'm almost in the 60's again yay!!
Ok I'm proud- and had yummy creamy pasta for tea tonight have to get back on track now if I want it to keep going down!!
Now I know why you went out and brought a treadmill!!!! :laughing: :laughing:
Good Job on losing the 3.2kgs! :yelclap:
Me well since the 14th July I have been doing Jenny Craig (DH is hardly home so this suits me) and well I have only lost 2kgs :( I know I should be happy with that and I am but I wanted to lose at least a kilo a week.... And what ever happened to the big loss at the beginning - I never got it!!
Oh well keep pounding the pavement I guess.....
~Chick79~
11-08-2006, 14:44
Well I had my weekly weigh in today and I was quite pleasantly surprised!!!
I lost 1.3kg!! :smiliedance: And I have done bugger all this past week as I have had both the boys sick!
So to date I have now lost:
3.3kgs, 3cm from my bust and waist, 4cm from my hips! Woohoo!!! :smiliedance:
Yay Leisha!!!! :yelclap: I am so proud!!! Well (as you already know) I only lost half a kilo this week bringing me down to 70kgs exactly... but considering in the 4 days DH was home we went out to dinner twice :shame: , and then I ate WAY too much ice cream :eek: (but OMG it was good:D )- I'm pretty happy with that!!
I also fit (just) into a pair of jeans that before I could not do up so, YAY!!!
13-08-2006, 17:13
Well done Billy! Well done Leisha!!
Well I was thinking how much the weight loss thing has been an absolute failure for me.. I was 74 kilo's when I came home from hospital, I was 64 before I fell pregnant. I'm now 70, so that's 4 kilo's in 3 months.. Slow, very slow, but more likely to be permenant I think, based on research and past experience. So technically, I should be back to my pre-preg weight in.... oh, 5 or 6 months...!!!!!
Ok, I'm going to try and speed that up a bit! That takes me through summer when I want to be back to what I was in time for summer!!
Emma, you sound exactly like me. I was about 72.5 by 2 weeks after the birth and have only JUST managed to break the 70kg barrier. Today I weighed in at 69.6kg and I think that's cause I forgot to eat lunch yesterday. :o
But I am also walking much more now that Annabelle will sleep in her pram :smiliedance: so hopefully that will help things along a bit too.
Leisha and Billy, you go girls!! That's great progress. :yelclap:
14-08-2006, 15:45
Well Cosmic, look at it this way, it's more likely that our weight loss will be permenant and won't sneak back up on us like it probably would if we did a full-on diet! That's what I'm telling myself anyway.
Wow, Annabelle's sleeping in her pram hey! That's fantastic! I'm going to have to start doing the same with Ariene... not out of choice though... :crying: missing my hugabub so so much!
That's a very good point, Em. I will focus on that! :thumbsup: Well, I was down to 69.2kg this morning so the walking must be doing me some good. Wow.. if I break 69kg this week I will be veeeery happy. Then I'll be getting really close to pre-preggie weight. Hoorah!! :D
oh, and I really feel for you with the hugabub situation, Emma. :( I hope it turns up, or you can get another cheap one from Ebay.
2girls&1boy
14-08-2006, 18:48
Well I am now after 4weeks down to 74.3. I am hoping that the slow progress means it will be permanent.....:fingerscrossed: I am feeling like my tummy has gone smaller though thank god.
I have spent the last week up the coast visiting my parents and eating badly so really I only have myself to blame for the slow loss.
Anyway I will keep plodding along.
Paula
Hey guys slow progress is the best progress! :thumbsup: I don't know about you but I find it quite easy to MAINTAIN a weight- it's losing it thats the hard part!!
Paula- keep at it- if you stopped now you'd get 2 months down the track and think-...'Hmmmm, if I'd kept at it before I'd be like 8kgs lighter now'... :rolleyes: So if we all just think that NOW we won't have that problem..... again :o
Sorry if that makes little or no sense LOL!!:laughing:
Hi all i had my precious babe on 1/05/2006 and weighin in at 102kg:eek: my pre preg weight being 66kg... I have been working really hard,diet and exercise every day with the occasional treats :D and am currently 70kg so it is certainly possible if you set yourself a goal you can reach it !!
Goodluck Everyone!
~Chick79~
08-09-2006, 14:47
Hi all i had my precious babe on 1/05/2006 and weighin in at 102kg:eek: my pre preg weight being 66kg... I have been working really hard,diet and exercise every day with the occasional treats :D and am currently 70kg so it is certainly possible if you set yourself a goal you can reach it !!
Goodluck Everyone!
Kate that is great work!!!!!!!!!!!! :yelclap: What diet have you been doing? I bet you are just looking fantastic and can't wait to hit the shops! :laughing:
I have been on a real downer but am now ready to pull my socks up and get cracking again!!!
Kate that is great work!!!!!!!!!!!! :yelclap: What diet have you been doing? I bet you are just looking fantastic and can't wait to hit the shops! :laughing:
I have been on a real downer but am now ready to pull my socks up and get cracking again!!!
Hey there chick79,
I spoke with my doctor as he was a weight management specialist and he said every body type is different but the quickest weight loss diet is the zone where you have no carbs, low sugar, low fat, and drink lots of water. When i first started i was so tired but after the 2nd week i never felt better and am certainly used to it now because on the odd occasion when i do reward myself and slip up and munch out:D (usually once a week) I could only manage to have a quater portion of what i used too...
I mostly eat fish,and lean chicken breast not really red meat but you can if its lean ,The main thing on your plate should be vegies lots of them and not the sugary ones like corn,peas etc. nd if you like dairy products low fat ones are best especially for cheese as it is very high in fat.
The only problem with this diet is when you get to your desired weight you have to wean yourself back on carbs etc ... But as with any diet you have to learn how to eat wether it be smaller healthy portions or healthier food.
It is also important to excercise as i do everyday except for sundays as your body needs one day of rest and recovery.
Ive gone from size 22 to size 12 and its been a god sent for me as i was also on a real downer .... Goodluck and pm me if you need any advice!
:yelclap: Kate thats excellent!!! Good on you for sticking to your diet- it sounds as though it has really worked for you!!:smiliedance: I love hearing success stories :yes: :thumbsup:
Thanks billy, Goodluck to all the other may mummas!!!
Be positive, Strong and always keep your goals insight, as they say...
Aim for the moon,Even if you miss you'll land amongst the stars! :hugs:
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: I've lost 5.4kg in 4 weeks!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
:yelclap: Yay Scout thats fantastic!!!!! :smiliedance: I am so happy for you!!!! :yes: :yelclap:
13-09-2006, 08:26
Well done Scout!! :smiliedance: All that work at the gym has certainly paid off! Wow!
Both you and kateka have inspired me to get going again now, so no more 'empty' calories and I won't be going nuts with carbs anymore (I loooove white bread, mashed potato, pasta... naughty!!). I know I've said this many times, but I really have to shake off this 7 kilos!! I still don't fit pre-preg clothes and I ain't buying more!!
Wish me luck girls! :fingerscrossed:
Hey guys...joined this a while back and haven't posted since !
As you know, joined the gym....haven't been there as much as I would like though - don't want to put missy in the creche just yet so I'm depeding on mum to babysit and she's moving house next week so been a bit busy. Been trying to get out walking, but thats always a challenge in Melbourne! As such, I've finally also bought a treadmill, and its arriving today...yay!!
Billy - did you say you got a treadmill? Whats it like? Do you use it a lot?? I got mine off ebay...hope its okay.
I try not to even get on the scales too much, I try to go more by how I feel, but last time I weighed myself I was about 77kilos. I want to get to 65 kilos, then I'll be mucho grando happio!!
Oh, and well done Scout!! Well done all of you!
Hey Jo- yeah I do have a treadmill and I use it a fair bit! :thumbsup: The only advice i have is if you can, put it in your lounge (or in front of a tv somewhere) because if you jump on while your fave show is on- you don't even realise how long you've been on there!! Its really good I love it :kiss: :laughing:
Good luck Emma!!! We are here to support you matie!!! :smiliedance:
Oh and I only weigh myself once a week now- always on a friday morning as soon as I get out of bed and have a pee... So I can get an accurate idea on how much I've lost. I find my weight fluctuates ALOT during the week- so this way I don't get too disheartened! :-)
Cool Billy, will do that. What sort of treadmill do you have, and where did you get it??
And Emma....good luck!!!!
We got it at super Amart and its called a... *runs to lounge to check*... Health Stream 1180 something or other... :rolleyes:
It was about $1200 I think? I wanted one that had auto incline (touch a button and it goes up and down like your walking up a hill) so this has all the bells and whistles LOL ;) (And a 15 year warranty!)
I also got a couple of hand weights because apparently if you use them while on the treadmill its a full body workout! :thumbsup:
You can do it Emma!:yelclap: I know its hard to keep away from the carbs! i love em... btu its ok to reward yourself every once and a while too that way you dont have so many slip ups, Good on you Scout! excellent work.:thumbsup:
Mum-of-Preston
18-09-2006, 11:40
Hey guys, just thought I'd see how everyone was doing with their weight loss. Well done to everyone, good effort.
I haven't done much exercise since having Preston but have managed to not put anymore weight on since dropping down to 76 kg. I was 85kg at full term and 62kg pre-pregnancy. I guess the breastfeeding is helping me to keep it off, since I still eat chocolate everyday (naughty I know) but it gets me through.
Now that summer is in sight I have decided I need to do something about it.
Like yourselves Joozi & Billy, I have just bought a treamill.
This is the only way I can guarentee a regular exercise routine since it is in my own home. I can't always get out so this is ideal. I bought mine from e-bay brandnew it ratails for $3000 and we got it all in with delivery for $840. It took us 3-4 bids to get one but each time we bid on a better machine and ended up with one built for a gym, and I only wanted a basic one but hey it will last and at least my hubby can also use it.
I'm taking it slow as I don't want to change the taste of my breast milk from too much exercise and I'm not quite ready to give up my chocolate completely but when I am I will be back on here to join you all.
Keep up the good work :thumbsup:
Donz
:wave: Hey Donna you're back!!! We have missed you!! :hugs: Good on you for getting a treadmill they are good... but I've been a bit slack this week- will have to get back into it!! :yes:
So glad you're back on- nice name change too! :hugs:
~Chick79~
19-09-2006, 14:31
but I've been a bit slack this week- will have to get back into it!! :yes:
Billy - will have to start our daily walking again!!! (Wish I had a treadmill :rolleyes: )
I am getting really disheartened..... I am losing the weight (as in the kilos) but still not going down in dress sizes because of my tummy... It isn't fair!!!!!!!!!
~Chick79~
27-09-2006, 06:59
Well just finished my first week on the Tony Ferguson Diet and I am one happy chicken!!!! When I got weighed in last wednesday I was 69.4kg and this morning I weighed 66kgs! :smiliedance:
Still a little disheartened though as I am still wearing size 16-18 clothes but will admit they are starting to feel a little looser.......
Chick - do you have to go somewhere to weigh in or do you just do it at home?
I read in another thread that you can't drink Coke Zero??? That sucks - I couldn't live without my Coke and Sprite Zero.
2girls&1boy
27-09-2006, 08:45
Well it has been a long time and I have fallen off the wagon BIG TIME. I am no weighing 75kg which is up about 700g from last month but I have been terrible. After reading some of your posts though I am back and keen to keep going(or get started again). I must get down to 65kg at least - I looked at a photo taken of me recently and :eek: it doesn't even look like me.
Today I am going for a big walk(with the girls of course) - I now have a pedometer to keep track of steps and all that. The funny thing is that I am so busy at home running after the kids(well not so much Hannah) that I don't eat that much during the day, it is when DH comes home and has all his little treats that it all comes unstuck.
Okay I am determined to do well from now..
Kate - you have done so well!!! good for you
I will weigh in in a week..
Bye for now
Paula
~Chick79~
27-09-2006, 09:55
Chick - do you have to go somewhere to weigh in or do you just do it at home?
I read in another thread that you can't drink Coke Zero??? That sucks - I couldn't live without my Coke and Sprite Zero.
Scout - you can order the stuff online and weigh yourself on your own scales or selected Terry White Chemists use the program there and you can get weighed in there. You can't have coke zero - I don't drink tea or coffee and this was what i had to give me a caffine kick - wasn't sure how I would go with not having it.... after having caffine withdrawals for the first two days all is good now! All i have to drink is water but you can have 2 cups of tea or coffee a day and then after that it has to be defcaffinated.
10-10-2006, 14:58
Hey, this thread's been rollin' along nicely of late!! (Considering it sat at 9 pages for a month or so, lol :D )
Well, 4 weeks ago I weighed 70kg, now I weigh 67! YAY!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Progress at last!!
I'm aiming for 62, my pre-preg weight.
Paula, you're doing FINE, 700gm in a month is nothing to stress about hon. How have you gone this last week?
Well done Scout! You're an inspiration!
Leisha, you go girl! How's the TF diet going? That was a massive loss in your first week!
How are you going Kate?
Keep up the good work guys!!
~Chick79~
10-10-2006, 15:32
Hey em! It was a good start but unfortunately weeks 2 and 3 were not so great!!! I was away for those two weeks and while i did do the program still there was also some naughty things snuck in every now and then!:o But the good news was that I didn't gain any weight! When I got home sunday morning i still weighed 66kgs! :thumbsup: