View Full Version : CLOTH FITTED Vs DISPOSABLE
ashtons mum
12-06-2006, 08:31
Hey just a quick question..
we have been discussing using the cloth fitted nappies on the next baby over using the disposable nappies...
Just wondering if anyone has used these and wondering what your opinion is, are they that good as i know they will save money which is a bonus.....
:detective:
Had a friend of mine tell me they did a survey and testing and apperantly the good ol disposable kicked the cloth nappies bum, both the fiitted and just plain cloth...
Please let me know as i wanna start saving to buy the fitted....:ecomcity:
Nilly at 70 posts, woo hoo go me lol
Pippi Longstocking
12-06-2006, 08:48
I love love love modern cloth. My daughter hasn't had a disposable on her butt in over 5 months - once I got my first fitted, I never looked back.
I have also seen that survey and from memory, it was utter bollocks. I think (I am going from memory here) that they compared disposables to cloth nappies that had been soaked in napisan, washed in hot water and tumble dried. Modern cloth can be dry pailed without soakers, washed in half strength washing powder and dried on the line at very little cost.
One of my main reasons for using cloth is the comfort factor. I personally hate menstrual pads and the yucky papery feel of them. I imagine that it is not unlike the feel of disposable nappies on the baby's bum. I'd much prefer nice soft cotton knickers so I use soft fabrics on my wee one.
12-06-2006, 11:08
I absolutely love fitted cloth nappies!
IMO the cloth are better than disposables:thumbsup: They save you heaps and heaps of money in the long run.
They look 10x nicer on and must feel nicer on too I would imagine.
I could rave all day about how much I love them though so I might stop now before I take up 20 pages:laughing:
There are quite a few websites with the ACTUAL facts, one of the surveys saying there was no difference was utter rubbish in my opinion - for one we don't use napisan, and no way in hell do we iron our nappies, both of which were included in the study. Check out http://www.ozclothnappies.org/index.html or http://www.modernclothnappies.org/ for useful information.
We've worked out the costs for us and we have spent a 1/4 or less than we would have if we had used disposables. Yes disposables can be a convenience, but that is all IMO, they stink, they leak and they are expensive for what you get. When you have a newborn going through upwards of 18 nappies a day, it doesn't take long to work out that throwing a few modern cloth or terry flats in the wash, is way less expensive.
InSaneOne
12-06-2006, 17:03
i personally can't wait for tax time so i can get some of those lovely cloth fitteds for use on my bubs bum. i really hate disposables and those old plastic pants.
:smiliedance: yeah for cloth :smiliedance:
jessgray
14-06-2006, 17:47
we use fitteds during the day and dispoables at night and i prefer the fitteds lol less leaks :D
14-06-2006, 19:09
Well I am a new convert to modern Clothies!!
LOVE LOVE LOVE them!! :thumbsup: It's just a matter of collecting enough now.
So easy to use!
I use Green Nappies. They are so cute!!
I'm also a fairly new convert to cloth nappies and I'll DEFINITELY be using them on our next bubba from the time they are born! I love them and think they are a gazillion times better than disposables. Em hasn't had nappy rash since we changed and she also doesn't get weird rashes on her back either (from the plastic in disposables).
LOVE THEM!
jarrahsmumma
15-06-2006, 13:11
what surevy did your friend read????
mmm i like itchy plastic on my bum,
i love the chemicals inside which cause irritations,
the heat they trap again bys testicles possibly causing problems later in life,
the way they cost so much,
the way they dont break down in landfill,
or maybe that we can fill the MCG three times a year with used sposies.
what sort of stupid survey would conclude that a disposable is better than cloth (in all its forms)
One commissioned by a disposable manufacturer :laughing:
we have been discussing using the cloth fitted nappies on the next baby over using the disposable nappies...
Just wondering if anyone has used these and wondering what your opinion is, are they that good as i know they will save money which is a bonus.....
I have used modern cloth nappies since DS was a newborn. I have tried many brands, some being better for us than others, and overall I think they are fantastic! If you search some of the older threads here you'll find plenty of recommendations. Another good place to start is www.ozclothnappies.org which has links to many reputable Aussie and NZ WAHM sellers as well as lots of general info.
I have used disposables (mainly Huggies) on occassions when we have been on holidays without washing facilities (sorry to say that I'm not that dedicated to start hand washing lol) and I can honestly say that I prefer modern cloth. The first time we went away with disposables, DS was three months old and we had a leak at nearly every nappy change. There's nothing more infuriating than a sleeping baby who is woken up from being cold and wet. We actually ran out of clothes and I had to send some of his 000 suits to be drycleaned by the hotel! I find cloth to be so much more reliable that I actually took them on an overseas holiday with us instead of just buying disposables.
Here are some links to old threads:
Cost of Using Cloth (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=10207&highlight=cloth)
Cloth vs Disposables (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=11076&highlight=cloth)
Cloth 101 (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=20868&highlight=cloth)
Cloth Nappy - Reviews (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=10237&highlight=cloth)
I have been considering switching to cloth nappies for so long now but I just don't know. Do they hold as much as dissposables? Doesnt the wee just sit on the cloth and irritate the childs bottom (I leave DD's nappy on for a couple of hours knowing that if she just wee's a little, the nappy really absorbes it and keeps it away from her skin). Do cloth nappies do this? And if they do, how?
What sizes do they go up to? Has anybody had any that leaked?
Somebody said before there is nothing worse than a baby being woken up in the middle of the night due to a wet nappy, why would a cloth nappy fix this problem?
Sorry about all the questions but I have been wanting to ask them for so long now because I really would like to switch to cloths.
Can anyone answer them all?:o
What sizes do they go up to?
You can buy one-size nappies that should fit from birth (or not long after) to toilet training or you can buy sized nappies from newborn, small, medium, large, x-large.
Has anybody had any that leaked?
Cloth nappies aren't perfect - they can leak also. But since swapping from disposables I have found that they would leak no more then the disposables do.
Somebody said before there is nothing worse than a baby being woken up in the middle of the night due to a wet nappy, why would a cloth nappy fix this problem?
A lot of the modern cloth nappies made nowadays consist of hemp inners and divine bamboo. They are super-absorbent. If you use a pocket nappy, microfibre inserts are great because they suck all the liquid away from your bubs bottom to help keep them dryer. Also fleece liners are excellent to use because they wick the moisture away from the bum also.
I don't think that cloth necessarily "fixes" the problem of a wet nappy feel but the fact that the moisture is sucked away certainly assists in keeping that stay-dry feel against the skin. Without the added chemicals etc. that disposables have.
Check out Nappycino. They totally converted me.
HTH :)
Natasha, I was concerned about the wetness issue too but have found that there really is no issue at all. I use fleece liners in all my hemp nappies which draws the moisture away from the skin and she is just as dry as when she wears disposables. I have found Baby Beehinds to be just as absorbant as a disposables. I also like Green nappies as they are so trim, a great fit and I have NEVER had one leak.
I have only recently completely changed to cloth as my DD is allergic to disposables and I am very, very happy. There is no way I would ever go back. I find they perform better, are cheaper and are better for the environment than disposables.
Thanks for your answers girls. Will go check out that website now. Sounds like I will be converting to 'the dark side' soon.:devil6: :laughing:
miracle4me
20-08-2010, 17:10
Wow I read the link some great advice opinons, ideas. research & information. That the decison what you choose is personal & really up to what suits your circumstances. That some people use disposable for convenience eg travelling, outings or night time depending on how much liquid the child wees the inserts might be better and that even disposables sometimes leak.
I watched A.C.A and they did a test on disposables which was the best price vs quality home brands, Aldi, huggies etc can't remember outcome (maybe Huggies was the best value 4 money) friends say huggies are good.
I'm currently 25wks & since this baby will be our 1st & last (after 4 miscarriages, lots of failed IVf 7 2 lots of surgery to correct things I've finally got my miracle little girl) I won't be able to reuse the cloth but from some statistics I've seen the modern nappy is cheaper but it's not about money 4 me but what's the best product to buy.
From past experience with things U pay 4 what U get- but sometimes cheap homebrand products can be as good.
I worked in childcare & tried pins & they had the luxury of nappy service. thought no that's not going to work 4 me let alone hubby. so we thought disposable might be easier to put on convenient etc.
Then We went to a baby expo where there were so many different brands green nappy, itti- bitti baby beehinds, totsbots, bambooty.
So here's my dilemma:
My question is not disposable versus cloth but
1. which out of the modern cloth are the best economically and efficiently.
2. Do you gets hemp bamboo mircrofibre
3.Is there a place that has all of them on display since some have inserts pockets some snap in Cottonbottom in Kew Victoria sells a range but I'm in Brisbane. The baby expo was great but since I was only 16 wks & was just trying to test drive prams, baby capsules & get a whole feel of yes this time it's really going to work so I didn't even delve into test driving all the products.
Would really appreciate to hear from readers about brands they use and why they are good since none of my friends could help they mostly use disposables. Thanks for helping with my dilemma.:wave:
there's a cloth nappy shop in brisbane, actually i think its called 'the cloth nappy shop'. There's heaps of cloth users in brisbane from what i hear, must be the climate.
There is lots of decent economial MCN options, check out bonibuns, baby beehinds, baby safari, scarlett jayne and genesa forge.
i like bamboo mosty, its more absorbant. But microfibre has its place too, best in combination with bamboo because it absorbs quickly so can take a quick rush of fluid.
miracle4me
21-08-2010, 10:38
Thanks Zalia,
I'll definitely look up the white pages see if there's a listing,
So Bamboo is the most absorbent. I also heard Cuddledry were using bamboo to make their baby towels because they were super absorbent.So if Brisbane & Sunny Qld are the main users must be due to our sunshine state:sunshine: stuff dries quickly. I have a dryer but I rarely use it only if I need to do towels & it's been raining for a few days I just find they start to go smelly if you leave them on the line even under cover
So which brand are you using out of those you listed?.
Question 1. Can the inserts be dried in the Dryer?
Still keen to hear what brands other mums are using and also from any of the dads
Question 2. how do the modern cloth compare eg ease of putting on compared to a disposable.
they can go in the drier but it's best not to if you can avoid it as it can reduce their lifespan and they can go 'crunchy'
For my boy i'm using babyhosen, envoy, sugar shots and plain old terry flats with an insane fold to get about 10 layers at the front. Pocket nappies just don't seem to work for him, but i gave those nappies to my sis and they're perfect for her little girl.
Unfortunately it can really be a case of trial and error. Good news is that they have a good resale value though.
miracle4me
21-08-2010, 13:59
Thanks Izy I never thought anyone wld want 2 buy 2nd nappies. So thanks for that tip :thumbsup:since I'm only having one child she's a girl so maybe the snap ins will work oK 4 her.
I found that in Brisbane the Nest Nappies in Paddington & The Cloth Nappy shop in Kingston stock lots of different styles. So I'll visit them to test drive & compare prices.
I watched a DVD from IttiBitti re their Delish range & it looked so simple. The owner/designer of itti-bitti (a mum said) U cld put them in dryer but from what you've said "crunchy" is not a good feel. I won't use my dryer .
also probably will make them better for resale if you say they were air dried.:sunshine: sun is free too.
STill want to hear from anyone esle who use a type of product the snap in looks really easy Hubby looked at the DVD & thought He could do it. :flowerz: BFN
I'm going to check out EBAY & see if anyone's selling some 2nd once I decide which brand to buy. :fingerscrossed: someone might be selling some.
I think ebay doesn't allow second hand nappies, but there are a few site dedicated to it, and there are a few facebook groups too.
You might like to wait for the GDUNH too, and it will give you a chance to see online stores you wouldn't have considered otherwise. :thumbsup:
oh and baby beehinds do parties like tupperware and stuff, so you could always have a nappy baby shower or something.
miracle4me
21-08-2010, 17:46
Thanks 4 Your advice Izzy,
GDUNH too, and it will give you a chance to see online stores you wouldn't have considered otherwise.
Not sure what U mean GDUNH"
I checked out EBay some say adds they had cloth nappies eg not used but I couldn't tell others were Buy now price so maybe they were from an on line shop.
I'm going to visit a stockist Nest Nappies which stocks beehind and ittbitti just to test drive some of the nappies that posters have suggested. And once I have made up my mind on which brand I migh be able to post something in the wanted to buy section.:flowerz:
GDUNH (great down under nappy hunt) is an online cloth nappy competition on in september, google 'diaper decisions' for info. Lost of nappy sites have specials on during the month.
MCNs are just as easy as disposables to put on. The only thing thats a bit harder to deal with is the poo, but its not so bad. Pockets are a little easier than snap ins put on but really its just personal preference, they are both similar. The advantage of buying 2nd hand is you can try a couple of different types for a fraction of the cost of buying new then once you know what you like get more new.
Good Luck. :)
by the way, if you raise a new thread in the cloth nappy area of the forum you'll get plenty of answers too.
miracle4me
23-08-2010, 12:36
I checked out the discounts pages on this forum some had 10% off for Itti bitti Pea Pods or baby beehinds free postage etc etc.
{text removed by Moderator}
Happy2be3
23-08-2010, 17:07
I think it all depends how much you value this planet.. if you value it, use cloth..For me its as simple as that.
miracle4me
24-08-2010, 14:24
Oops ! didn't realize Bub hub didn't have a site for this type of thing but another Bubbhubber mum has emailed me about a place
buyforbaby where you can get 2nd fitted nappies so I checked it out looks ok I haven't bought anything yet still want to check out which brands to get but I thought I'd share so others can look at it.
since :iagree: U need to try out a few brands then buy more new ones for the brand you like. So cheaper to buy some 2nd hand ones. I don't think there's anyting wrong with 2nd hand clothes so once the nappies are washed I'm sure there hygenically safe to use again. If U can save a few $$$ on somethings means more 4 other expenses.
celestialstarco
18-09-2010, 10:39
Bull****e about disposeables being better. Sorry.
Maybe if you got disposeables that you could compost yourself vs soaking cloth in bleach, doing a prewash, then a long wash in hot, then tumble dry...
My cloth routine:
Disposeables on bub when she sleeps, with a cover, because disposeables aren't they good at holding in poo :)
Woolies liner in her nappy- then when I change her nappy, if it's just wee, I throw it in the pail with the nappy, poo and I bin.
I use cloth wipes- just some face washers from big w, Dymples or Big Softies. The face washers are very thin, and one side is like a towel, but thinner. They're something like $14 for 12pkt. I keept a plastic tub of water near the change area (DD is changed on the floor) I was originally just going to use cloth wipes with water for wee, but I use it now for poo too, because disposeable wipes JUST DO NOT COMPARE!!! Seriously, cloth wipes are sooooo much better then disposeable wipes, they really get the bottom clean!
And mcn are better then disposeables because they hold everything in so much better :D
Anyways, I dry pail, shake some bi carb over the top really cuts down on smells. They do pretty ok with a normal wash in cold.
I'm very pro cloth, but I do get that disposeables have a handy place...
I thought cloth would be so much harder- Kaz Cooke's Up the Duff she makes it sound like you'd have to be a martyer to use them, and everyone else goes on about the washing... but they're not that hard, really.
http://weewillowsworld.blogspot.com/2010/06/its-not-that-hard.html
I wrote that a while ago because I got sick of my friend quoting that study, and telling me how good disposeables are, and the looks of pity of other people's faces.
I love using fitteds with a cover, it holds everything in really well, they're easy to use and easy to dry.
My daughter grew out of a thirsties fab fitted at about 4 months, and she's a bit smaller then average. She also didn't need a cover till 3 months, because new borns pee little and often...