View Full Version : do your kids dress better that you?
Myztiks#1Fan
19-04-2009, 13:25
does your child dress better than yourself? coop always seems to have nice stuff, always. my mum is going to go and get him a leather jacket shortly and send it down for him for when winter hits brissy properly. pretty much all my clothes are really old, i have nothing nice at all. basically all my clothes are yard clothes. i even got holey thongs atm as i am slowly getting coops winter stuff organised so will continue to have holey thongs until i get his stuff finished as i would prefer to have him clothed properly and just go without for myself.
most of this clothing is bought from best and less, big w and kmart as well unless someone has bought him something from somewhere else.
sometimes i think he is 'overdressed' at times but its just because his stuff is kept in pretty good condition most of the time.
missie_mack
19-04-2009, 13:28
Yep my DS (and my DH for that matter) are always trendy :yes: DS wears lots of Woof!, Fred Bare, Scooter etc etc.... not that I dress shabby or anything I just expect my clothes to last a bit longer and love hearing people comment on how well dressed he is all the time :flowerz:
Absolutely. :yes: Pre-kids I would dress in Live, Portmans, Sass & Bide etc. Now its whatever is comfortable.
These days I usually only buy for DD - mostly Pumpkin Patch and Target. Her grandad came back with kids Ralph Lauren clothes a few months back. Jeez. I have NEVER owned Ralph Lauren in my LIFE! I havent bought clothes for myself for at least 6 months. Very sad, really. But its more fun shopping for DD - she doesnt complain that her bum looks big in that dress or that all pants are made for giants and stuff. Much more fun. :D
Myztiks#1Fan
19-04-2009, 13:33
Yep my DS (and my DH for that matter) are always trendy :yes: DS wears lots of Woof!, Fred Bare, Scooter etc etc.... not that I dress shabby or anything I just expect my clothes to last a bit longer and love hearing people comment on how well dressed he is all the time :flowerz:
i havent even heard of those brands before. guess maybe i should start widening my horizons. i love the target stuff but thats just a bit too pricey at times and its too hard to get there so i dont bother with target. alot of the best and less clothes are great and very nice which i love.
Oh definitely! I'm a bit of a shabby dresser myself, always have been and probably always will be, but I feel obliged to dress DD nicely, no matter what! I guess it is because I have a choice to dress how I want, she doesn't, and her clothes are so much cheaper as well!
DD is usually dressed better than me. even her trackies are nicer. I wear pretty much the same thing when i go out. :o (by out i mean both out of the house and for a night out)
The last thing i got for myself was a pair of bed socks and a bra. that was about 2 months ago. i dont remember what i brought before that.
Kinda sad when you think about it, ever time mum asks "what did you buy?" its always i got DD this and that...and nothing for me.
NibbleCurlynBub
19-04-2009, 13:57
:yes: I dress my kids better than myself.
They have daggy play clothes, but my daggy clothes are much worse than theirs.
They don't wear fancy clothes exactly, but they are always clean and comfortable.. Whereas I don't often find time in the day to brush my own hair. :no:
So yeah, overall my kids get looked after much better than I do.
mum_I'm_hungry
19-04-2009, 14:01
Well... no :o
I buy mostly Gymboree clothes for my kids, but I am a bit of a (cough, cough) let's call it eager shopper, so I buy plenty of clothes for myself, too :D And makeup, and... yep, I think I'll stop now...
sockstealingpoltergeist
19-04-2009, 14:03
I buy DS clothes from where ever they are on sale and cheap.
So just about every store you can think of.
I'm not into buying Nike or anything though as they they are unethical.
I also buy myslef clothes that are on sale as well. I don't care what brand or from where as long as they suit me.
Today Master B is wearing a Mambo tshirt my mum bought for him, trendy board shorts and a cool hat.
I'm wearing a singlet I got on sale for $5 last year, a skirt that my friend gave me and thongs :rolleyes:
DD is usually dressed better than me. even her trackies are nicer. I wear pretty much the same thing when i go out. :o (by out i mean both out of the house and for a night out)
The last thing i got for myself was a pair of bed socks and a bra. that was about 2 months ago. i dont remember what i brought before that.
Kinda sad when you think about it, ever time mum asks "what did you buy?" its always i got DD this and that...and nothing for me.
This is so me! Except I just bought 4 new things for me last week (for the first time in the 10 months since DD was born!)
I think I overcompensate for my crap clothes by buying her great stuff :o
TripleTime
19-04-2009, 14:09
Well... no :o
I buy mostly Gymboree clothes for my kids, but I am a bit of a (cough, cough) let's call it eager shopper, so I buy plenty of clothes for myself, too :D And makeup, and... yep, I think I'll stop now...
I can see that being me & DF agrees.:o
Yep. My kids wear designer stuff because I can get it cheaper than anything else. I wear good clothing but the kids still win.
LuvMy4Babes
19-04-2009, 16:52
I like to think we all dress pretty nice in our family :laughing:
tyler's mum
19-04-2009, 17:06
Tyler always looks better then me kids clothes are cheaper and i would rather buy her something nice them myself:yes:
honeydew
19-04-2009, 17:13
Yes my kids definately dress better than me! Its not that I dress daggy (although today I have on faded grey trackies and an old pink top that DD spewed on earlier :o) but the kids have some designer clothes and most of my stuff is from Big W. I enjoy shopping for them and dressing them up cute when we go out so I often forget about myself.
Oh totally,
My latest going out dress was from Kmart, DS wore a Ralph Lauren shirt for his birthday last year :laughing:.
Although I have been buying myself bra's, I have big boobies :D and not having well fitting bra's drives me mad.
sunnyflower
19-04-2009, 18:50
Yep my ds is totally better dressed than me.
He's better dressed then me all the time, but in saying that I do have nice things. Alot of my stuff I had before I had DS when I was able to spend hundreds each week on clothing and other stuff for myself, so I still wear those things. I also do buy myself clothes now but they are almost always sale items. I do like to make sure I feel good in what I am wearing though... I get depressed if I feel that I look like cr*p.:o
mummy2mimi
19-04-2009, 19:05
:yes: my dd is deffantley better dressed then me she has alot of pumpkin patch clothes, i luvvvv that shop! and she has a few ralph lauren and lonsdale stuff and alot of stuff frm myer (fred bear ect)
me myself has never even owned anything ralph lauren!!!
but im not exactely dressed shabby... i have nice clothes alot of billabong,roxy and dotti clothes and i have expensive jeans, i luvvv jeans, but i only really buy new clothes for myself every 4-6months where as mia gets new outfits all the time like every fortnight i see something i think is cute and must have:p but baby shopping is sooo much more fun! cant resist
oh gosh yes lol DD is always pristine even if it requires 10 out fits in one day but me on the other hand not so lol
absolutely! This child has more outfits than 10 babies would need! We went to the u.s. last year and went to an outlet in new york which had all the ralph lauren, calvin klein etc and lets just say his nanna went a little nuts (on both boys and girls clothes). I cant help myself either, I loooove shopping for him. Much better than shopping for myself! If I ever do get anything for myself now its generally something on sale or just cheap. I'm also lucky enough that I now fit back in most of my pre-preg stuff. But yes, he is definitely one spoilt, well dressed little man :)
OneCheekyMonkey
20-04-2009, 00:54
For sure ! It is also much more fun buying clothes for DS.
I really need clothes since none of my prepreg ones fit and my maternity ones are a bit big. But I just don't like spending money on myself.
It is a good thing that my mother buys clothes for her child still :laughing::yelclap:
iamLilysmummy
20-04-2009, 01:07
hahahaha.. YES my DD were better clothes than me.. i rekon she could wear 1 set of diffrent clothes everyday for a year. and i wuldnt have to do the washing.!!! haha
iv just finished buying lily winter clothes (well finished as in she has enuf. not that i will stop buying more)
as for brands,,, kmart, target, best n less, big w, cotton on kids, pumpkin patch,
and the rare Guess, roxy, billabong,small paul.. and others
last week i got my self some well needed pants GAHHH.!! $2.62 on clearance at kmart, mind u they were good pants, cargo shorts, jeans, 3/4 pants.. :P hehe but thats the only clothing iv brought for myself this year,...
my DD comes first.. lol
I just bought myself $40 worth of knickers for the first time since before I gave birth! And I only did it because Best and Less had 40% off Bonds underwear! :p
DD gets new clothes all the time, and yet she never seems to have enougfh that fit! Her Aunt and Grandma can't help themselves and buy her something almost every time they go out. Actually my FIL was horrified when my MIL and I went out shopping and came home with some Esprit clothes for DD!
DD always starts the day looking lovely, but by the afternoon she has usually been stripped down to her nappy and t-shirt to avoid getting her clothing ruined!
MountainGirl
20-04-2009, 08:17
no
I like to share the love and spend on everyone!
My rule is that all items must not be mass produced.
atm my 4yr old DD is wearing cowboy boots and a vintage batik swing dress,..DS1 is wearing a nepalese caftan top and thai fishing pants and scruffy dog leather shoes and DS2 is wearing himylayan (sp?) embroidered pants and a handmade organic cotton t-shirt,...
and they are all wearing beaded necklaces from my "Mister McCaffertys Pants' design label.
easily $300 of clothing,...
but,they look sensational!! lol:o:yes:
and different!
Knocked_for_six
20-04-2009, 08:35
No, I like to buy nice clothes for myself as well as my children. :yes: I love to shop; shoes in particular are my weakness. :o
babygizaiah
20-04-2009, 19:01
OMG ABSOLUTELY........... my son has the cutest outfits and he has 2 double closets full plus draws full. As for me I swear I look like a mess haha.... but a clean mess hahahaha....... hes the coolest kid on the block lol.
I get all his clothes from target/pumpkin patch and honestly I get suckered in by the cuteness i dont even check the price tags. naughty naughty cant tell hubbie that haha... I just sneak outfits straight into the closet and df doesnt even know. ds has clothes up to size 7 and hes only 14mths old. he'll be sorted though
I like Oobi (I'm obsessed), Littlehorn, Bonds, Bebe by Minihaha & Country Road for DD, plainer Target stuff for playing in, and Pumpkin Patch when it's on sale (I don't think PP is worth the $$ when it's full price, but go nuts at the end of the season). I also love most of the handmade stuff from Ollie Rose & Ivy designs, but haven't actually purchased anything... yet!
I like Country Road, Witchery & Sportsgirl for myself when not pregnant, but at the moment I'm stuck with my maternity wardrobe (which isn't too bad, I've picked up some nice stuff that might even work when I'm not pregnant. I have a gorgeous Ripe maternity dress that I'm trying to wear as much as possible, although I'm hopeful it'll still be nice if I get it taken in after pregnancy.
My weak spot is shoes... not that I buy too many, but that I don't buy them ever, and live in the same pair of Havaianas day in, day out. Will have to pick up some nice flats and ballet shoes when I next have some cash to spend (:laughing: cash to spend... what's that??)
On the whole, at the moment she dresses better than me - but she's so cute she'd always upstage me even if she was just in a nappy.
studyingECS
20-04-2009, 22:15
no
I like to share the love and spend on everyone!
My rule is that all items must not be mass produced.
atm my 4yr old DD is wearing cowboy boots and a vintage batik swing dress,..DS1 is wearing a nepalese caftan top and thai fishing pants and scruffy dog leather shoes and DS2 is wearing himylayan (sp?) embroidered pants and a handmade organic cotton t-shirt,...
and they are all wearing beaded necklaces from my "Mister McCaffertys Pants' design label.
easily $300 of clothing,...
but,they look sensational!! lol:o:yes:
and different!
I must say your kiddies clothes are just adorable!!:flowerz: (As are yours).
MountainGirl
21-04-2009, 07:30
I must say your kiddies clothes are just adorable!!:flowerz: (As are yours).
:hugs: Aawwww,...thanks Honey!:hugs:
I am just about to launch my own kiddies line of 'hippy boys clothing and boy beads':D. shall keep you posted!
Luna Lovegood
21-04-2009, 07:41
I love shopping...have always loved it for myself, and now love it twice as more shopping for DD.
I have days when I am feeling lazy and wear dodgy clothes, but most of the time I am dressed well...at the moment I have an obsession with Review, Charlie Brown and Esprit...:D
Mum's are allowed to buy clothes for themselves???? :eek:
I cannot remember the last time I bought something for myself... before I got pregnant I would imagine, so over a year ago.
And now I am at a much smaller size than I was pre pregnancy, everything falls down on me. I am forever hitching up pants that are ALL now too big. Oh, except my tops are now too small in the bust. :rolleyes:
*sigh* But at least my boys look like little spunks!
buzzing bee
21-04-2009, 08:05
Yes definitely, my bub gets heaps of hand me downs and I swap clothes with friends. But they do grow quickly so I guess get new clothes more often.
LivinOnAPrayer
21-04-2009, 08:26
lol YES! way better than me
LachlansMun
21-04-2009, 08:31
Hello, my name is Crystal and I'm a Pumpkin Patch addict......
I only buy when things are on Sale (so they're not as expensive) but my kids pretty much ONLY wear Pumpkin Patch! I don't mind Target and Best N Less (Only for DS though don't like their girls clothes)
I find Kmart and Big W clothes just don't last. When they have outgrown their clothes I re-sell them on Ebay to make money for more clothes!! :yelclap:
flyawayfree
21-04-2009, 08:34
I was thinking about thies when doing the washing the other day!!! DS always has nice clothes - bonds, pp, etc... Whereas most of my stuff is OLD and from kmart... Seems I'm always buying good stuff for him and never myself...
2girls&1boy
21-04-2009, 08:40
I would have to say yes my kids are better dressed than me :yes:.
I get real enjoyment out of buying them cute clothes & matching accessories. They always look so cute (mind you they have some seriously daggy play clothes too).
Me on the other hand - I used to enjoy buying myself clothes a lot but I am a little heavier now than I used to be and just don't feel great trying clothes on in the stores so just don't bother much.
I have a few pretty nice outfits but nothing like my kids.
MommaBear
21-04-2009, 12:54
DDs wardrobe is overflowing and then mine has well a few pairs of jeans that are starting to get holey and is very bare.