View Full Version : 3 or 4 Wheeler Better?
Mrs Dolphin
11-06-2006, 16:52
We are beginning to think about what kind of pram we would like and are starting to do some research into all the different kinds. My DH thinks a 3 wheeler might be the way to go while I prefer a 4 wheeler - I would love some opinions on both 3 and 4 wheelers - and what you love and hate about each!
11-06-2006, 17:14
I have a three wheeler the Beema Q by Swallow (one of the safest 3 wheelers on the market) and I love it, but it is bulky and best used as a walking pram.
I also love the Quinny prams they are gorgeous ( I have their Zapp stroller for bubs older than 6mths and it is Fab!) they make two excellent pram also
so check them out here
www.quinny.com
I also like the Bugaboo but they are very $ pricey and we just couldnt justify spending that much $ but they are worth a look too:D
Definatly get a 4 wheeler.
I have seen too many 3 wheelers tip over in shopping centres coz bub has wriggled too much. I hate to think what might happen if it was on uneven ground and bub wriggled a little :eek:
I have a Childcare brand pram, $250 from Target and it's pretty good. Reverse handle, easy to push, I walk to the shops, and take it to parks and places without paths and it's great.
When the handle is reversed my 3yr old stands on the footrest and has a ride...kinda between DD and the handle of the pram if that makes sense...and the pram copes with that as well :)
Good luck choosing a pram :)
claireandbailey
11-06-2006, 23:31
I have a 3 wheeler Jeep and i love it. It has never tipped once and my DD is the biggest squirmer, My mum has a 4 wheeler and i hate it, its so uncomfortable to push and to steer. My jeep pram is so easy to push u can manouvre with one hand its that light and easy. It has the best shopping basket under it. I would definetly recommend a 3 wheeler over a four wheeler
aardvark
11-06-2006, 23:53
I have an aluminium framed 4 wheeled Emmaljunga, and I would not swap it for anything else.
It is easy to push all day, over rough ground or whatever, even with a 3 or 4 year old and a pile of shopping, and the big tray underneath will hold a picnic for the whole family for outings like zoo or melbourne show, plus baby things, or a decent amount of shopping.
I have had friends have their 3 wheelers overbalance. I'd never get one on that account.
i have a 4 wheeler and never considered a 3 wheeler... i just dont see how they can be safe and not tip over. they are also very unsafe with toddler seat attachements as the balance is put right off. they are supposed to serve a purpose, ie jogging. they are not really meant for everyday use.
little mermaid
12-06-2006, 01:03
Yep go the 4 wheeler for sure. I can not stand 3 wheelers I think they are not stable and have seen some tip over. Plus they are meant for jogging, not for turning sharp corners at a shopping centre.
But I am sure you will get lots and lots of conflicting opinions just try them out and see what you are happy with.
munchkin05
12-06-2006, 11:39
we started out with a 4 wheeler and i took it back to the shops after a month or so cause it started making weird noices
i never wanted a 3 wheeler but dp did so i gave in
and it was the best thing
its easy to turn and its great to use with one hand (ben likes to be carried sometimes in the shops )
even now when i push my nephew in his 4 wheeler i find it really strange
but its a personal choice goto target or a baby shop and play with some and see what you like better
I don't have a bub in my pram, so I don't know if I like my 3-wheeler yet (although it's fun to zoom around the house with it...) but I'm just a but curious about the number of times people say they've seen bubs tip the pram :eek:
I wouldn't think such a thing would be on the market if they were that unsafe :S now I'm a bit worried about my pram!
Briannabear
12-06-2006, 15:00
I have a four wheeler because I just though that the three wheelers looked unstable. Just my opinion. Got friends who love them though - so I guess it comes down to personal taste.
clairbear
12-06-2006, 15:34
My three wheeler has never tipped, and my son is a wriggly almost three year old. His baby brother now goes in the seat and the older one sits on the end quite comfortably and safely. We had to get the three wheeler (bambino jogger) as it had the highest handle for us (we are both over six ft)and it's been great, easily gliding over gutters and all types of terrain.
Maybe it's not necessarliy how many wheels but how good the quality and craftmanship is of the stroller?? There are probably shonky three wheelers and shonky four wheelers around.....check out the choice guide:fingerscrossed:
12-06-2006, 15:39
I don't have a bub in my pram, so I don't know if I like my 3-wheeler yet (although it's fun to zoom around the house with it...) but I'm just a but curious about the number of times people say they've seen bubs tip the pram :eek:
I wouldn't think such a thing would be on the market if they were that unsafe :S now I'm a bit worried about my pram!
I have the beemaQ 3 wheeler and it has never tipped over in two years!
What kind of pram did you get seekrit?
We have a mother's choice one.. i think that's the brand, my MIL bought it for us...
It's red which means it goes faster *nod*
12-06-2006, 18:54
lol:D :D :D
Mrs Dolphin
12-06-2006, 19:54
Thankyou so much everyone for your thoughts and opinions - I think DH and I will just have to go and 'try' some out at the shops - personally I am still for the 4 wheeler!! :yelclap:
I have the phil and teds E3, 3 wheeler and couldn't be happier, very stable, easy to manouver, light, folds very flat doesn't take up much room in the boot:thumbsup:
MumsieMel
13-06-2006, 06:48
I think 4 wheelers are best,
My fav pram is the Hauck Infinity, which i own now and love!! :thumbsup:
i love my 4 wheeler!
I have a pink childcare infinity aka hauck infinity its the easiest pram to push by far everyone that has pushed my pram has wanted one or even went and bought one!
JasmineLouise
13-06-2006, 13:12
Id be more than happy to help you in deciding. I would suggest getting together a shortlist of prams you are interested in and trying to then figure out the pros and cons of each item. It's important to remember that the item has to suit you and your families needs.. you will be the one pushing it a majority of the time so you def. have to be happy with it yourself!!
I have previously worked at the parents + babies expo and as a pram adviser for 4 years so i'd be more than happy to help. If you let me know what you are thinking about purchasing i'd be happy to source some info on the pram for you. :detective: e.g: If there is any problems like wheels falling off.. IT HAPPENS:eek:
But please dont hesitate to PM me.. I look forward to a good challenge!!
13-06-2006, 18:47
Wow what a great offer!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
I will pm you next time im on the market for a new pram (if thats ok:o :) )
Ta
Sxx
Mrs Dolphin
13-06-2006, 18:53
Truthfulsalesassistant - Thankyou so much for the generous offer - as yet we only have 2 in mind and both are 4 wheelers!! But if I can keep your offer open for when we make a definite short list that would be great - I really appreciate your help!!
anna&oli
14-06-2006, 10:32
Ive got a 4 wheeler and love it. I originally wanted a 3 wheeler before Oliver was born, but one day when i was out shopping with DH a 3- wheeler tipped over so easily whilst going up a small incline. Luckily the toddler was fine- DH caught him, but turned me off 3 wheelers. Also found them harder to use whilst going shopping - not many fit through the checkout isles especially in woolies
Anna
JasmineLouise
14-06-2006, 13:49
More than happy to help!:hugs:
25-06-2006, 13:48
I did have a 4 wheeler but found that it was hard to go for walks with it so I got a swallow beema q and it's great had no probs with it, heaps easier to handle and walk with.
Lillasmummy
25-06-2006, 14:33
I have a 3 wheeler (mountain buggy urban) and luv it!! light weight, easy to push and super safe - I think it rated as one of the best prams with choice mag!!
Good Luck;)
ourfirstbubba
25-06-2006, 15:13
we are buying a valco 3 wheeler....we have never considered a 4 wheeler because the wheels look so unstable...the 3 wheelers wheels can be pumped up...I have never heard of over tipping and doubt they would be sold if they did.....at the end of the day its a personal choice, but I like the idea that I can go for long walks when bub arrives and the 3 wheeler will allow us to do that......happy decision making!
oleander
25-06-2006, 21:18
Ive decided to get the Bugaboo Cameleon which is a four wheeler. I also feel the three wheelers could be unsafe as they might become unbalanced. If I was a serious jogger I would have considered a three wheeler for that purpose but for everyday use I dont see the point. I have a friend who has a Quinny AND has just bought a Mountain Buggy (both 3 wheelers) so I must ask her why she bought the second pram. I was just reading a post from a few days ago from Kymmy who found her son underneath the three wheeler pram - it tipped upside down and he was trapped underneath (hes ok). Glad now that mine has four wheels after reading that!