View Full Version : Nappy bags and what goes in them!!!
Alright, this might sound like a silly question but:
- what kind of nappy bag do you have
- what features should i be looking for
- how big does it have to be
- and what do you actualy have in your nappy bag????
Sorry if it sounds silly, but i cant seem to decide on a bag. So id love to hear all about yours!!
Beeza8906
15-04-2009, 16:35
what kind of nappy bag do you have? Mine is a BabyGear (got it from Big W)
what features should i be looking for? if bottlefeeding the insulated bottle holders.
how big does it have to be?i guess it really all depands what you intend to put in there.
what do you actualy have in your nappy bag????
I have:
-nappies
-bottles
-formula
-babyfood
-spoons
-bibs
-bongela
-bum wipes
-toys
-socks
-change of clothes
And because i also use mine as a handbag
-wallet
-phone
-smokes
-keys
I think thats about it.well all i can think of anyway.
Flashdance
15-04-2009, 16:43
I've got an Isoki reversible hobo bag. I love it.
It's a large bag, but then you need a large bag to fit everything that you need.
In mine, I have:
-nappies
-wipes
-barrier cream
-toys
-spare clothes, vests, socks, bibs, hats.
-baby sunscreen
-Lollies - for me to eat when feeding as I get SO hungry.
-Muslin wraps, warmer cotton blanket.
-Dummies
-change mat (came with bag)
I think you need to find a bag that will fit with your own needs. I find that you need compartments, that mine doesn't have. I have everything in ziplock bags inside though. Otherwise it all jumbles in together and looks messy:hair: Compartments that are insulated are a big plus too, mine has a separate insulated compartment that you can carry bottles or other foods in.
Also look for straps so that you can carry it either over shoulder or hang off pram, but I think most nappy bags have this anyway. There are the backpack styles too, but I'm not really a backpack kinda girl.
Good luck with your search! It can be daunting. You can also get inserts that fit into a regular bag, so that it kind of divides your bag into little compartments. Search on ebay -there are loads of them on there!
HTH:flowerz:
PinkBinkie
15-04-2009, 16:43
I've got to buy a new one to, the strap broke on my last one after using it for 2 children plus it was second-hand to start with. I too used mine as a handbag, so much easier to have everything in together. I guess a good wide strap is important so it doesn't dig into your shoulder and can hang easily on the pram. The more compartments/sections/pockets the better. There's so many bits and pieces, having them in easy reach is a must. Places for drinks is good, even if just for your own water bottle. And a separate place for your keys, purse, phone etc so it's easy to grab.
Milktini
15-04-2009, 17:03
I have an OiOi Messenger Bag, I love it, it is so trendy, it is leopard print, and I brought it off Ebay brand new for only $88 (usually $190)
It is Big enough to hold everything I need but small enough to not get in the way.
It has 2 side pockets which I hold DS's bottles in. Comes with A change mat, and A wipes holder, and also another little bag to carry all my needs, phone, wallet etc.
When they are A new born I carry :
2 Blankets
Spare change of clothes
At least 3 nappies
Wipes
Nappy Bags
Socks
Breastpads
Pawpaw ointment (for my breasts)
Hat
Sunscreen
Burping Pads
Washclothes
Bepanthen/Nappy Rash Cream
When Bubby gets older I add
Spoons and Food/Snacks
Bonjela and Panadol
Bottles / Sippy Cup
Formula
Also A dummy or 2 if you plan on using them
I know im forrgetting stuff I just cant remember the rest lol
peanutbutter&jelly
15-04-2009, 17:09
Loads went into mine, especially when he was little and hard reflux!!
Now we have... nappies, wipes, plastic bags with knots tied in them, change mat, usually a wrap or blanket depending on the temp, a sling in case he really loses it, snacks, a straw cup plus a bottle of water, spare dummies, a spare set of clothes + an extra top & a couple of bibs plus my normal stuff... and paw paw ointment!
Mine now is an Oi Oi messenger bag (the giraffe print one!) and is relatively good in size. Also comes with a change mat and bottle cooler.
Bunnyhugs
15-04-2009, 17:11
Mine is Quiksilver messenger bag which I bought from the 2nd's store on the Gold Coast for $20 :laughing:
I then bought a change pad/mat thing to go in it which cost about $7 from Big W I think.
In my nappy bag I generally had -
a bottle or 2 (depending on how long we'll be out)
a formula divider container thingy (the one that holds measured amounts of formula)
nappies
wipes
change of clothes
nappy sacks
keys, wallet, phone.
I'll be using the same bag again this time around :D
NibbleCurlynBub
15-04-2009, 17:18
I have two in nappies and one who can occasionally have an accident.
I'm probably a bit of a dag of a Mum.. But here goes.
I have a sesame street backpack from a showbag 2 years ago with two disposables for backup and a clothie for riley. I have whatever pack of wipes I'm using, my wallet, whatever papers or lists I need, two mini boxes of sultanas (plastic boxes, I won't be ripped off!) and MAYBE drinks.
It all fits fine, I didn't spend money on a bag that was only going to get covered in spilt juice and hold poopie nappies.
Maybe I'm just not a 'trendy' Mum. But I don't care... Its a bag to carry stuff I need when I have kids around, not for me to look pretty.
Not a silly question at all!
- what kind of nappy bag do you have?
I have a needlessly expensive one! :p It is by Cath Kidston. It is made from oilcoth so can be wiped clean and is a messager style one.
- what features should i be looking for?
Lots of pockets so you can keep it organised! Something that will wear well (ie. won't be haggard after a few months) and is reasonably babyproof as the chances of it getting thrown up on, chewed and worse are pretty high! A built in or matching change mat for changing on hard surfaces. And as previously mentioned an insulated bottle holder (if you end up bottle feeding) or other insulated compartments are a great help. Mine came with a bottle holder and also has insulated side pockets.
- how big does it have to be?
Depends on how much you need to take with you, but generally the older the kid gets the more junk you need to lug around! Enough space to hold about 4-6 nappies (the more it holds the longer you can be away from home) plus a change of clothes is generally enough.
I have:
-nappies (obviously!) I fit about 4 -5 cloth nappies in mine.
-change of outfit for DD (usually just a jumpsuit or t-shirt and pants)
-singlets (in case we have to bathe her somewhere else and needs something to wear afterwards. Plus they don't take up much room)
-change mat (came with the bag)
-bibs
-spoons
-wipes
-facewashers in a ziplock bag (so I can wet them for wiping)
-small pot of sudocreme
-snacks like biscuits, sultanas etc in a plastic container
-flannel blanket in case DD needs something to snuggle to go to sleep
-dummies
-bonjella
-toys
-anything else I need at the time or DD picks up and wants! :p
Sorry if it sounds silly, but i cant seem to decide on a bag. So id love to hear all about yours!!
I found the most practical bag for me to be the coles printed eco bags. For 2 kids (1yr&2yr) I have nappies, wipes, nappy bags, a change of clothes for each, then I have a little mini deco cooler bag (cost $8) that I put in both kids drinks and snacks. It is easy to find stuff in these bags and it is cheap ($2) to replace. They fit well over the handles of both my prams, can hang a handle over each handle and still access while carrying one of my kids. So far we have had a Wiggles, a Mr Happy, a dafodil day bag etc..
I was given a fancy oroton nappy bag as a present when my first was born with all the dividers and change mats etc... but I only use it for going away on long car trip or plane when the nappy bag seems to get messy and you need a lot of stuff.
Like NibbleCurlynBun said I must not be a 'trendy' Mum either....but I don't care...it is not a designer handbag for me it is a kids bag that needs to be practical!!
I have 2 kapoochie bags, a satchal(sp)/messenger style one and a backpack style one, love them both
both are roomy, and open up so its easier to fish things out of, both can either be a backpack, or have one strap that hangs on the pram
I would have in them
about 4-6 nappies
wipes
nappie bags
2 changes of clothes (incase of spews or explosions :eek:)
toys
bottles of EBM and formula when they went onto formula
blanket
bum creams
face cloths
bibs
food
cups
spoons
sunscreen
I think thats about it
floodprincess
15-04-2009, 17:36
I've got a smallish backpack from babyco...can't remember brand sorry.
But it's got all kinds of compartments (including insulated ones for bottles) and a mobile phone holder :laughing:
I bought it for it's convienience, I do a lot of walking/hiking with bub so it's great (it's also got an easy access zipper so you don't have to dig through the whole bag).
DD2 is only a squidge so I don't carry bibs, spoons etc. but I do have blue book, wipes, 4 nappies, change mat (came with bag) 3 changes of clothes (2 warm & 1 cool set), nappy sacks, muslin wrap, cotton wrap (for cooler weather) a bright little toy thing, sunscreen, hat/beanie (depending on weather) and it usually holds my car keys, house keys, mobile phone wallet and sunnies....
NibbleCurlynBub
15-04-2009, 17:38
Like NibbleCurlynBun said I must not be a 'trendy' Mum either....but I don't care...it is not a designer handbag for me it is a kids bag that needs to be practical!!
We should start a club. :)
Thank you ladies this information is much appretiated.
Im not one to spend a lot of money either. The cheaper the better.
Was having a look at Target today but couldnt make up my mind.
Do you have to pack the nappy bag differently to take to the hospital??
I think i was told you need a labour bag, a hospital bag and a nappy bag???
Does that sound right??
NibbleCurlynBub
15-04-2009, 18:06
Mine was the same bag.
For DS when I went to hospital I took clothes for me for about 2 days (I did end up needing more), two baby gowns and a blanket for Jayden and my toiletries.
That was about it honestly.
Hospitals provide nappies and also have blankets and clothes for babies.
You don't really need to pretend at moving house. :no:
Oh, take about double the undies you think you will need. Post-baby bleeding can be a little messy. :o
An avent one that has the hard sides so and then side pockets, it can open it right up and get to everything
easy acces to all parts of it
depends on how much stuf you need to take
Nappies
wipes
purse
phone
DDs medications
spare feed lines
syringes
feed refill
diary
spare clothes
breathing treatments
think thats about it
Oh and girl things for that time of the month
I'm on my third nappy bag.
I have the Oi Oi quilted backpack - too small and can't hang it off the pram. I also have a really nice striped Kecci bag which has 2 handles. Its a really roomy bag but again I can't hang off the pram. I use it if I am going to someone's house with the 2 boys as its got lots of room for DS1's drink bottle etc.
The bag I mostly use is a black Ryco messenger style bag from Target on sale for $37. It doesn't have the flap though, just a zip at the top so its really easy to get into plus it has 5 pockets on the outside including 2 to keep bottles in.
In my bag I have nappies, Huggies travel wipes container, change mat, nappy sacks, a muslin wrap, a light blanket, a couple of baby toys, snacks for DS1, hand sanitiser, baby sunscreen and a spare outfit for DS2. I also put my purse, phone and car keys in there.
I didn't take my nappy bag to the hospital, just packed some wipes, clothes, wraps etc for the baby as they give you a pack of Huggies so I didn't need to take nappies.
LivinOnAPrayer
15-04-2009, 18:26
hmmm
nappies,
wet bag
wipes
spacer
puffers
syringes
meds
spare line
sippy cup
bolus tube
gauze
tissues
dummy
tic tacs
keys
smokes
phone
wallet
change of clothes
face washer
zip lock bag (for puked on stuff)
and ive got a box in the car with
3 days of clothes (for both of us)
nappies
wipes
tape
syringes
feed bag
giving set
towel
toiletries
i think thats it. that box is for just incase alex is admitted. sick of driving 200k with a change of clothes to spend a month in.
I have a Pebbles Pouchmiss nappy bag insert that converts any bag into a nappy bag- I have last years design, which you can still get online from cheekytots com.au but the new style looks even better- go to thepouchmiss .com.au
I put it a large tote bag, a beach bag, a back pack, basically any bag I want to use, and in it I keep:
-3 or 4 nappies
-Wipes
-Change mat (came with the bag)
-Nappy Sacks
-Hand sanitiser
-Change of clothes- Singlet, long sleeve body suit, pants and a wondersuit so that there is something for all weather, and pair of socks
-Muslin Wrap
-My junk, phone, wallet, keys, water bottle and muesli bar
The pouchmiss also has insulated pockets for bottles, and a little purse for loose change.
Milktini
15-04-2009, 20:50
Hospitals provide nappies and also have blankets and clothes for babies.
The hospital I went to didnt provide any of those things, actually they didnt provide anything at all :laughing: Maybe thats because I went Public...
Milktini
15-04-2009, 20:53
they give you a pack of Huggies so I didn't need to take nappies.
Am I the only one gettin jibbed on my hospital stay :laughing: All I got was A bounty Bag
I have a kapoochi one and I also have a back pack that my DH won at golf. DH likes the backpack and will quite happily carry that around. Also it does have heaps more compartments and room. Also I find it better being able to carry it on my back when I have the two kids.
multiple areas so you dont have to stack everything in on top of each other, easier to get things out!
we need a big one cause normally it has to hold enough stuff for a 12 hr trip.
-nappies ( i put nappies in a nappy sack and pack them like that so its one less thing to find when im in a rush
- nappy rash cream
- spare clothes normally 2 or 3 sets
- dummies
- bottles and formula
- bibs
- rugs
- change mat
- cloth nappy- just the square towelling - comes in handy for many things
- breast pads if bf
- wipes
then all the stuff for my toddler!
Thank you ladies this information is much appretiated.
Im not one to spend a lot of money either. The cheaper the better.
Was having a look at Target today but couldnt make up my mind.
Do you have to pack the nappy bag differently to take to the hospital??
I think i was told you need a labour bag, a hospital bag and a nappy bag???
Does that sound right??
Yes to all of the above!
Labour bag is just the goodies for you during labour, lollies, mags, lip balm ect ect
Hospital bag for you with maternity pads and clothes toiletries and the like.
Hospital bag for baby, clothes, wipes, creams, ect.
Check with your hospital they should give you a list of things that you need to bring and what they supply.
I also had a nappy bag packed int he car for the trip home.
Am I the only one gettin jibbed on my hospital stay :laughing: All I got was A bounty Bag
I didn't even get that! I got absolutely nothing!
NibbleCurlynBub
16-04-2009, 13:09
The hospital I went to didnt provide any of those things, actually they didnt provide anything at all :laughing: Maybe thats because I went Public...
I've never been private... Both places I went to had that, even the FBC.
You really did get ripped off :laughing:
A'sMummy
16-04-2009, 14:05
I didn't get nappies, wipes or gowns supplied at the hospital I went to either. My baby girl came out really really dry and cracked and they didn't even want to give me a bit of sorbolene to rub on her skin!! :banghead:
So I would recommed to anyone packing there hospital bag to pack nappies, wipes and clothes for bubs, enough to last atleast a couple of days without going overboard.
:iagree::iagree: The public hospital I went to didn't provide anything. I had to provide all the things you mentioned.
embryonichappyperson
16-04-2009, 17:36
I haven't had the chance to use my new nappy bag as I haven't had my baby yet but with DS I used to put in:
Wipes
Nappies
Nappy sacks
Breast pads
A blanket
Spare clothes
My new nappy bag is a backpack and it has a insulated pocket on one side and on the other another compartment you zip down to put a bottle in. I have a front bit that zips open with a change mat that fits nicely in it with pockets for nappies and another one for say nappy sacks. There is another compartment im the front of that for keys and stuff. There is a lil dangly thing on the side to hold a spare dummy. The inside has mesh pockets and YET under hidden zip area behind the bag. My fave thing is the special lil straps where you can hang it off a pram and still wear it as a backpack! :D
NibbleCurlynBub
16-04-2009, 17:48
My fave thing is the special lil straps where you can hang it off a pram and still wear it as a backpack! :D
For when you want to walk backwards and push the pram forwards at the same time? :confused: