View Full Version : How old were you when you got engaged?
BayleysMum
15-04-2009, 13:41
I am just interested in how old you were when you got engaged. I have been looking forward to getting engaged / married since I was so little and I love all the stories people have.
So share them with me!!! If you want to tell me how you got engaged as well I dont mind :) I feel like listening to some romantic stories.
I am 22 and cant wait to the day that I get engaged and married :) but a lot of my friends are not interested at all. Is it weird for a 22 year old to think about getting married??
Anyway I look forward to hearing your stories :smiliedance:
I got engaged at 19...none of my friends were interested in marriage, buying a house ect but we sure were :yes:
We got married when I was 20...already buying our 1st house and both working fulltime.
First baby was planned right after my 21st b'day...by the time I was nearly 22, I was well on my way with building my family.
Now...I'm 33, yes we have had rough times, we sold our house as it was too small for our growing family and pets..now happy to rent (been in the same house for 8 yrs...so we don't move about ect..nice and settled)..seperated a cpl of times but never in view to divorse...just needed the break...but all is good, 4 kids, heaps of pets and a 12.5 yr marriage :yelclap:
Chunkydunks
15-04-2009, 14:44
21. Got married when I was 24.
missie_mack
15-04-2009, 14:45
I was 26. At your age I had no interest in getting married or having children TBH... I was still trying to find my place in life and I sure as hell didn't want to rush into marriage or babies until I had that worked out.
But everyone is different. Make sure you find the perfect husband and father and that they want the same things that you do, and don't settle for second best!
qldmummy
15-04-2009, 15:53
I was engaged at 18 and married at 19. We are still together now with 1 DS and one on the way. Extremely happy.
I figured I had met the man I wanted to marry, why should I bother waiting.
engaged at 18, married at 19.
had been together since i was 15, and was the right man for me to marry.
have only just had our first bub, still happily married....:yes:
when we got married, my freinds did think i was mad tho...:laughing:
'when you know you know!'
The first time I was 25, we were married about 6 months later and divorced 8 years after that.
This time, I was um, 34 I think. We'll get married one day... :rolleyes:
Mathermy
15-04-2009, 20:02
:Dancient!
Mamalicious
15-04-2009, 20:49
16...well I kinda just went from having a boyfriend to being married, the 'engagement' lasted about a week. :laughing:
It didn't work out either.
JasmineLouise
15-04-2009, 20:52
engaged at 22, as yet to be married, and 21 when we bought our first house!! :)
maisymum
15-04-2009, 20:54
23 and married at 24 :)
Skittles
15-04-2009, 21:02
Met at 17. Engaged at 18. Married at 19. He was 23, 24, 25. Only been married two and a half years so far but things are really good at the moment. Lol makes me laugh at all the people who said it wouldnt even last 6 months
Chunkydunks
15-04-2009, 21:06
Yeah I'm laughing too skittles. DH and I met online so a lot of people thought it wouldn't work out.
tootiredtosleep
15-04-2009, 21:06
I was engaged at 24, and married just before I was 26. I didn't want kids or a husband until I met DH, he changed my mind.
The actual proposal was very lame and disapointing - he's pretty much kept that up all along.
nugglyboysmum
15-04-2009, 21:09
I was 21 when I got engaged. We had discussed getting engaged and I had picked out a ring and put it on layby. Our plan was that DH would propse at my 21st party in front of family and friends, but DH got too excited. One morning I was having a shower and then my naked DH came in, got down on 1 knee and proposed, then jumped in the shower with me!
Looshkin
15-04-2009, 21:15
Met at 15 :p
unofficially started living together at 16.
Was proposed to when I was 17 but I said no way, lets just never get married - we don't need no stinkin bit of paper:rolleyes:
Proposed to at 22.
Said yes. Got gorgeous antique saphire and diamond ring that goes with no wedding band and is to chunky to go with any wedding band.
Planned wedding for march just gone, got pregnant, postponed wedding so I wouldn't end up looking like I was having a shot gun wedding 8 years into a relationship..
We are thinking of getting married on the 10.10.10 now.
It is the month (october) of our 10th anniversary so would be fitting.
Plus 101010 is 42 in binary, which also happens to be the answer to life, the universe and everything.
We are massive nerds.
floodprincess
15-04-2009, 21:16
We began 'dating' when I was about 17....got officially engaged when I was about 19 (mind you we just kinda evolved from one phase to antoher in our relationship).
DD1 was born just before I turned 21 and we were married the year after.
In about 4 weeks we celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary...there have been many ups and downs in our journey, but we've made it together :)
Oh and there was nothing romantic about his proposal.....it came up in conversation and he said well how bout it, and I said, yeah ok :laughing: (mind you once we bought the ring, he did go down on one knee to put it on my finger, in the car park of the local shopping centre:yelclap:)
3blue&1pink
15-04-2009, 21:31
Met at 15, had our first son at 16, engaged at 17 (shortly after DS2's birth).. had our third son at 20 and also married at 20, now finishing the family at 21 with DD1 and still happily together.
I laugh as well at all the people who said we would never make it.. and even the people who like to think we are nothing like when we couldn't be any more alike.. we finish each others sentences.. know what one another is feeling just by looking at each other.
Met through friends when i was 16 and thought he was an arogant so and so.
Started seeing each other when i was 19, got engaged the week after i turned 21 (he didn't want to take the spotlight away from my bday)
Married at 23 and been married for 7.5 years. Had our ups and downs but still together and he still makes me laugh!:kiss:
kimberlee
15-04-2009, 21:46
First time I was 26 - he asked me to go pick up photos at the shop that he had put in to be developed - last pic was him holding up a sign saying "will you marry me" - broke up 3 yrs later.
Last time - age 30 - I arrived at the airport - cleared customs - walked out the door - he jumped the railing, got down on one knee, sang a song that he wrote for me asking me to marry him with a ring and flowers and a huge audience as I was one of the first off the plane...
we had known each other 6 months - married 6 months later, pregnant 6 months after the wedding with first daughter..
he's my soul mate for sure.
(these were 2 different guys - just realized that might not be clear...)
First time around, 18 and that was one big flop so I guess it doesn't really count! :p
This time around my real DF proposed on my 26th birthday which was also his 23rd birthday! This time it's for real!
32 lol happened a few weeks ago and we're getting married in 4 weeks. We've been together for a while now and two kids we thought we should get on with it lol
I keep saying bet we're divorced before our 1st anniversary lol
Meet him at 19 got engaged five months later (20) and got married six months after that ( still 20). We have been happily married 16 years now.
I was 21 when we got engaged. We'd been together for 5 months. 23 when we got married.
We've been married for 8 years, together for 10, have a gorgeous son and are about to have another baby. He is the love of my life - the dearest, funniest, sweetest most kind-hearted man alive:valentine:.
jess_live_die
16-04-2009, 22:41
haha ive been asked 3 time lol once wen i was 14 lol of course i said no
the 2nd when i was 19 and said not sure and the 3rd at 21 and said yes what a freakin mistake that was
BayleysMum
18-04-2009, 06:39
Hi again everyone, :wave:
I just wanted to say that the stories that I read about couples marrying young and now having been together for many years are amazing. I loved reading all your stories :)
I cant see myself getting engaged or married for a few years yet, but I am so excited for it to be my turn. :laughing:
I wish everyone much happiness with their relationships and good luck to those that are getting married soon.
TripleTime
18-04-2009, 11:53
Went to school together & didnt evan realise it.
Starting seeing each other Nov 07, engaged March 08, kids due June 09 & wedding Sept 10.
I've been engaged before & ended that one with a bang & a 'I never want to see you a again' & vowed to myself i wouldnt do it again. When i met DF everything changed & i couldnt more happy.
Met two days after I turned 15, had DD1 at 22, got engaged at 23, found out I was pregnant two weeks later. Got married on our 9th anniversary, 4 months after the engagement. I had just turned 24 two days earlier.
Now I've recently turned 26, been together 11 years, married two and we're completing our family with no. 3 in early Nov.
nsmonkey
18-04-2009, 14:24
I got engaged on my 18th birthday, well thats when I got the ring. :) DH and I had been together for 5years before that and we had DS1.
beaniebabez
18-04-2009, 14:28
I was 18 when we got engaged and I got married when I was 19. We have now been married a yr and have a lovely son who was born last December.
I was 22 when we got engaged, 24 when we got married. We got together when I was 18. I'm now 26 and we are about to have our first baby. :cloud9: Wouldn't change a thing!!
Kema:bee:
I was 20 when we got engaged (turned 21 a month later) :) getting married this year and ill be 23
Bubs'n'Roses
18-04-2009, 20:20
DP and I were both 18. We still aren't married, but we do plan too sometime next year probably.
Though, we've been engaged so long, most of our families have just referred to us as being married anyway...
mummysangels
18-04-2009, 20:33
meet him when I was 18 fell preg when i was 20 had DD1 when I was 21 ... got engaged at 22 married at 23 ... Have had another 2 DD's since then and I'm now 32 :)
:babydust2: Been together for 15 years August 2009 :valentine: Married for 10 years November 2009 :babydust2:
miraclemum
18-04-2009, 20:56
Together since I was 15, engaged 17, married and 1st child at 20.
MonkeyMum05
18-04-2009, 21:02
Engaged at 20, married a few days after I turned 21.
lolly137
18-04-2009, 23:06
We met at 15, were friends at 16, best friends at 17, started dating at 18, engaged at at 19, married at 20.6 (me) & 21.3 (him), kids started arriving at almost 24. Been together 10yrs in May, married 8 in Oct
Engagement ring was an antique Diamond & Ruby design which has the significance of being both of our birth stones.
Actually got told by my cousin in front of hubby-to-be, "that i should be sleeping around rather than getting married, your wasting your life". Hubby almost decked him for that.
staceylee
19-04-2009, 17:33
We got together when we were 16, then engaged at 17 (the night of my yr 12 prom!) and married at 18 and expecting baby #1 at 24.
We met in Dec 06 (23) when went on holidays to visit a friend from uni in Qld (his sister! :eek:) then we got together in Feb, when he moved back to perth to be with me... got engaged Sept 07, bought a house Oct 07, got pregnant April 08 (24) had our little boy in Dec 08 (25). Just before we found out I was preg we were going to elope to singapore on my 25th bday, but our little boy had other plans.
I wouldnt have it any other way though :cloud9:
We will get married.... one day!
borntobemummy
19-04-2009, 18:13
we were both 18 when we got engaged and I was 19 and he was 20 when we got married:D
Engaged at 24. Married at 25. Together 2 years before we got married but were living together within 6 months. Thirteen years together in total - the last 3 were not good. Separated after 11 years of marriage.
Engaged at 40. Wont be getting married though cos we have now split.
Don't think there will be a third engagement.
*~alegna~*
19-04-2009, 19:56
we were both 18 when we got engaged and I was 19 and he was 20 when we got married:D
SAME! It is our 6th Wedding Anniversary today!:yelclap::valentine:
Bought our first house at 23, engaged at 24. Been married almost 8 months :D
hakuna matata
26-05-2009, 12:57
So much love in the air!!!!
Started dating DF when I was 16, he proposed 10 days after my 19th birthday, getting maried in November next year (I will be 21)
I know people say we are too young, but when you see us together you can tell, we are soul mates:valentine:
He is my best friend, and I cannot wait to marry him
peanutbutter&jelly
26-05-2009, 14:14
Have known DF since I was 12 or 13, started going out at 17. Engaged (with a promise ring since neither of us were working at the time) on our 1 year anni. A few months after that we were both working and discovered I was pregnant with DS. My ring still hasn't been replaced, though it will be by the end of next year - its something we've discussed and agreed on, there are more important things to us at the moment, adding to our family and saving money so we actually have an emergency stash... At the moment I want a very light aquamarine with three diamons on either side. It changes constantly, I really want to decide on what I want before we make such a huge purchase :laughing: :D
Wedding... well, as I keep saying. We'll get there eventually. I think we'll be like 30 though by the time it actually happens (which only seems like a long way off... because it is. I'll be 21 in October lol)
MumOf4Monsters
26-05-2009, 14:24
I was engaged when i was 16 and got married 5 weeks after my 17th birthday. we now have 4 kids and will celebrate our 10th wedding aniversary this year! :cloud9:
meandmymum
21-06-2009, 22:57
14 Years - Started dating
16 Years - Moved in together
17 Years - 1st Child born
19 Years - Engaged
20 Years - 2nd Child and hoping to get married at some point
We didn't really do anything exciting when he proposed, he bought the ring on NYE and was going to propose at the fireworks but it just wasn't right, bought flowers and was going to do it on a picnic on NYD but the weather was bad, then he wanted to take me to the beach but it never happened so 2.5 months later he gave up and came home one day with lots of flowers, choccies and drinks and told me to put DD to bed as we needed to talk.
dormouse
22-06-2009, 00:52
Met him at 16, dated for a couple of months then split up, started dating again at 17, got engaged at 18, bought our first house at 19, got married at 21 & fell pregnant with DD on our honeymoon.
We got married 4 years & 1 day after we started dating (the second time round, I don't count the first time) & in Novemeber, we will celebrate 9 years together & 5 years of marriage. We are now 26 with 2 kiddies & still very happy!
content mumma
22-06-2009, 06:54
Engaged at 21 and married at 22. We bought our house together at 20. It didn't really seem young at the time but looking back it seems young :)
Oh well. We've been happily married ever since.
onabreak
22-06-2009, 08:03
I got engaged at 20 married at 21 back in 1999. Divorced 2 years later at 23 because he left me for my best friend.
I got engaged again at 27 and married at 27. We got married 7 months after getting engaged. This November we will be married for 5 years.
First marriage was a big mistake LOL!!! :laughing:
Hey :wave:
We met when I was 17, engaged when I was 20, married when I was 23 and had first bub when I was 25. DH is only 2 years older than me.
these were pretty much the ages I was thinking about as I was growing up. Wanted to have all my kids by the time I hit 30/31.
I don't think it's strange that you've been thinking about it at all. But maybe that's cause I was the same :laughing: Nothing wrong with some short/long term planning!
Cheers, Shaz :)
15/16 the first husband
30 the second time...:D
MummasPrinces
22-06-2009, 09:56
I got engaged at 19. :doh: Biggest mistake of my life and I'm very glad we never made it down the aisle! I'm thankful for the son I got out of the relationship though.
Having said that though, I never wish to be engaged again, or get married. He has completely put me off the entire idea! I much prefer the idea of a spiritual marriage than one based on a big day, lots of money and piece of paper iykwim. (Not meaning to offend anyone here either! :o)
little_froglette
22-06-2009, 10:20
built first house at 20, engaged at 21..
Engaged at 24 (after being together 5 years) and married 4 months later ( I turned 25 in the middle somewhere).
Always wanted to have had all my kids by 30 (I'm done now at 25).
Engaged at 20 after being together 3 months, and then married at 22.
Tam-I-Am
22-06-2009, 15:20
I was engaged at 18 years of age, and married at 23, 3 days after our 5th anniversary of being together. We've just celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary, so we've been together for a decade! :eek: :D
sockstealingpoltergeist
22-06-2009, 15:26
I was 16 the first time, and 24 the second time.
Beckybug
22-06-2009, 16:19
I got engaged at 21, married at 22, DH and I met on the 14th September 2007 and it all went from there. We moved in together on the 15th February 2008, got engaged on the 11th March 2008 and married on the 21st march 2009!
DH is my only my 2nd serious relationship I've ever had. He finds that hard to believe!
DF and I were 31. We've been engaged not even a year yet. We did things the wrong way round :D bought a house, had baby, got engaged, bought a bigger house. We met when we were 28.
I travelled the world. I went to uni when I finished school, worked for a few years then went to London when I was 24 and lived there for 4 years then came back home and met DF!!!
DF and i met in Jan 2007, moved in together Feb 2007 was pregnant with DS July 07, engaged October 2007(I turned 21 on the 1st of October, he was 24), had DS April 2008, our wedding is on 30th October 2010.
RockmelonDreams
24-06-2009, 10:40
I was 18 when I got engaged and 18 when I first got married. Divorced at 23 and engaged again at 25 & married again at 27 :)
I was engaged at 19 and married at 20. I'm 22, been married for 2 years almost. I never wanted to get married early. I wanted children and a husband but not at 20 but then I met Andrew and partying and spending money on clothes and material things didn't matter anymore, all I wanted was a family with the man I loved. I would have married him after our first date if I could have.
LoveMyBoys
24-06-2009, 14:25
I was engaged at 18, married at 19.......have now been married for almost 7yrs :)
mother of six
24-06-2009, 14:27
engaged at 19 married at 20 although we had been childhood sweethearts, since grade 6 lol
hi,
i dont think its wiered at all!!!
im 20 and have been engaged sinse september last year!
we havent set a date yet though!
lilmizamy
01-11-2009, 08:33
we met when i 20, he proposed on my 21st and we have planned teh wedding for the 10th of the 10th 2010.
I got engaged when I was about 8 months pregnant, aged 17. No one took it seriously at all, except my parents who DH asked permission of before he asked me (he was almost 20). When DS was born the nurses laughed at me and my little ring.
Anyway we got married 3 months after my 18th birthday, in the May of the following year (so engaged 11 months). We're now older as ou can see down there, lol and it'll be our 10 year anniversary next year.
Just like to say, it's been frikking hard sometimes, especially early on (us young, 2 babies to look after as our 2nd was born when I was 19 etc) but it's awesome now and we really feel like we just lucked out and met our soulmate super early in our lives :o
eta you should have seen the look on the nurses' faces when we went in to have number 2 - married, still together and very happy, lol. dh and ds have unusual names that they remembered.
Ardentwhispers
01-11-2009, 17:26
It's really surprising to see so many people were married young!
I was engaged when I was 16 and married a year later at 17 :rolleyes:. Seperated at 18!
Biggest mistake of my life! (aside from the fact that I had my son..which was the best part of my life to date).
That was over 10 years ago and in a way I don't count it now...I feel I am a completely different person living a completely different life.
Baldie's Mum
01-11-2009, 17:33
Engaged at 19 and married at 21!
missie_mack
01-11-2009, 17:49
I say 25 and DH thinks it was more 26. We got married a few months later
We got engaged this year, and I'm 26. We've been together for almost 5 years and have a 1 and 1/2 year old daughter. In fact we got engaged 1 month before we found out we were expecting #2! :D
maisymum
01-11-2009, 18:20
23....married at 24 been together 19 years :valentine:
missmilliesmum
01-11-2009, 18:51
Met and became friends when I was 17 and he was 20.
Started dating when I was 19 and he was 22.
Bought our first house when I was 22 and he was 25.
Engaged (Finally! A running joke between all our friends who all met, got engaged and married before we even got engaged!) when I was 24 and he was 27.
Married 2 weeks after my 26th Birthday! DH was 29.
Our first daugher was born when I was 27 and Dh was 30.
Expecting our second child now! I will be 29 when he/she is born and DH will be 32.
(DH proposed on a private beach on the SA coast where his family have a holiday house where we were staying. Got down on one knee and gave me a beautiful ring! Then lead me to a lovely picnic with prawns and champagne (My favourite!) It was worth the 6 1/2 year wait in the end ;) !)
youngmumof3wa
03-11-2009, 23:42
We meet when I was 13, engaged, married and bought our home at 19 had first baby when I was 20.
We now have three kids and have been together for over 11 years and have been married 5 years this December. :)
. I didn't want kids or a husband until I met DH, he changed my mind.
20 and married ten mths later at 21
THE BEST DECISION EVER!!!!:yelclap:
lil miss
12-11-2009, 09:05
I got engaged when i was 17 and dp was 21, we had only been together 3 months. we had our first baby when i was 18 and when she was a year old, we split for 10 months. i am now 21 and we are back together going strong. Im not sure if i want to get engaged again, as i think i need to piece of paper to tell me we love each other, but we have spoken about a 'commitment ceromony' down the track instead of a propper wedding. its pretty much the wedding without all the stress and legal mumbo jumbo. i may change my mind in the future, but im no hurry now.
Got engaged at 26 (only 4 weeks ago) after being together 6 and a half years with 2 kids. Planning on getting married in 2 years.
mummajugs
16-11-2009, 22:16
May this yr, so i was 21. and we are planning a 2012 wedding :)
I got engaged exactly a year after we met, 6 months pregnant, on my mum's birthday, lol. I was 17 and now DH was 19. We got married the following May, in 2000 (had to wait for me to turn 18 because you can't get married underage in NSW now - or couldn't then - even with parental consent). We've been married now for 9.5 years :)
DD wants us to do it again because she's jealous as anything that DS got to be there (he was 10 months old and remembers nothing, mind you but that doesn't matter to her).
SquishyWishy
03-12-2009, 17:27
We started going out when I was 22 and DH was 25. Then we got engaged 3.5 years later at 26 and 29. Have now been married for 2 weeks at 27 and 30.
I previously was engaged to a boy at 21 yrs old... we had been seeing each other since age 16. But I was not ready for all that back then. Probably just wasn't the right person.
DH proposed on my 21st :). our engagement story was in Take5 in September ;)
TripleTime
04-12-2009, 06:08
DH proposed on my 21st :). our engagement story was in Take5 in September ;)
Oooo, whats the article name? I wanna look see.
Little-Pink-Hen
04-12-2009, 07:37
We starting "dating" when I was 18 and he was 20. We got engaged a year later when I was 19 and he was 21
he proposed when we were walking along the Paramatta river we had booked a night at a hotel for our anniversary
we got married a year later when I was 20 he was 22
his parents freaked out, people said we were way to young
we were the first of our friends to get married, our friends who were together longer than us got shirty at us, and some people sat at our wedding and actually took bets how long we'd last whist the ceremony was happening
now we are coming up to our 8th wedding aniversary and have a four month old DD.
We have gone through family deaths, infertility, and cancer and still strong :)
Cordelia
08-12-2009, 01:18
met at 17,
engaged at 21,
married at 22,
first baby at 25,
second baby at 27
happy as ever :)
cookie087
08-12-2009, 01:26
Together at 18, engaged at 20 and to be married in feb at 22. First bub was born this yr at 21
katieinwa
08-12-2009, 01:46
no engagement here
don't think i will either, waste of time for me when i already have house, dogs, baby and another on the way, if i did get married i would jump straight to it and bypass all that other stuff :)
Maybelline
08-12-2009, 07:10
We met when i was 24 ..he 38..engaged when i was 25..
baby girl at 28(one week before i turned 29)...
not married yet..not rteally in a rush to!!
will be 30 on Black Sat!!!!!ahhhhh
Lil Bugs Mummy
08-12-2009, 07:53
Met when i was 15 and he was 17 engaged at :valentine:20, had dd at 21, not married yet as i haven't had that morning where i wake up and want to plan our wedding we would be if up to him and also have more children lol, we are ttc for a second prolly have 4 then we will get married the honeymoon will be GREAT as it will be a break from the kid lol.
tired*mummy
08-12-2009, 13:15
I met DH i was 12 & he was 16. His sister is my best friend & we all went to school together lol
We got together just after i turned 17. Then we were engaged 3 months later. Married at 18, first bub (stillborn) at 20, DD1 at 21, DD2 at 22 & DD3 at 26.
We will be married for 10 yrs in Feb!!
PookieLady
08-12-2009, 13:23
I was 20, 2 weeks later found out we were pregnant.:D
Oooo, whats the article name? I wanna look see.
'mummy, will you marry daddy?"
Myosotis
08-12-2009, 18:31
A few weeks ago, on my 24th birthday.
Our Little Family
08-12-2009, 20:55
We met when i was 20 in Septemeber 2007 (he was my manager... ;)). DH was 26
We started dating in November 07, got engaged in March 08... He bought the ring without me having the slightest idea and took me the the city, made me walk for an hour and a half with a broken toe (happened at work!) then we sat down under the harbour bridge in Sydney and got on one knee and proposed i was 20 and we were together exactly 4 months.. :valentine: DH was 27
We got married 21st March this year (21yrs old & DH 28) and had our little girl in September this year @ 22yrs only just (DH 28), my waters broke on my birthday and she arrived 6 hours later on the 1st of September. :baby:
2009 has been a huge year! :D
mummajugs
08-12-2009, 20:57
engaged at 21 and will be getting married at 24 :)
abegailjohnson
10-12-2009, 14:09
hi guys..heheh..I'm abegail from new york..i was engage when i was 21 ... know i'm 29 and still happy with my husband..:D:xmas:
Babblings
10-12-2009, 14:44
i was 18years and 8 months old when DF and i got engaged....he is only 7 months older than me:D
Been happily engaged for 4 yrs now, just waiting till we finish having kids so that they can share the special day with us and be in the photos:yes:
I had just turned 22 and we got married three months later :D
garfield13
14-12-2009, 13:56
Together at 20, purchased first place at 22, engaged at 25, married at 26, 1st bub at 29
So at your age we were very much in settling down mode, at the same age from friends would have been split 50/50 between settling & not
ChelsLuke
14-12-2009, 21:53
Met at 15 he was 19. Were good friends through my work he was a customer, At 16 I asked him out he refused. Stopped talking to each other haha
I moved to his town at 16.5, at 17 (02) he asked me out. I said yup yup yup.
Got pregnant 4 months later. Moved into togehter the day we found out I was pregnant as his brother kicked him outa his house. Got engaged at 17 yrs 9ish month (Adelaide Cup day before it was placed in March). Had Chels at 18 years 2 wk. Got Married April 18th 2004, had Luke April 18th 2005. Had Aaron 4 years later, and now TTC #4. Our marraige is up and down. But its been a whirl wind for us and have had alot of family issues, his borther and his Brothers wife nad her family dont like me and have tried to continually break us up. All cos he married me and not her sister. so stupid.
But we ahve been together for 7 and a bit years. Have the 7 yr itch but i figure we will make it. We both have too much to loose if we dont.
I figure age is nothing but a number, as long as you are happy and it feels right. "Whats worth the prize is always worth the fight.'' Good luck i wish you all teh happiness nad hope it happens for you and works out well
Engaged at 19, a fortnight before our 1 yr 'first date' anniversary, we'd been living together 7 months. We got married at 21, first bub at 23.
Engaged at 28, married at 29, DD1 at 30, DD2 at 32.
I was off traveling the world and working at 22, having the time of my life! Why rush things? I too wanted to get married but I was happy to wait. I am sooooo glad that I traveled everywhere I wanted to whilst I was single and child free.
I love being a SAHM now and have no regrets. Just see what happens, it all depends when you meet Mr Right!
BayleysMum
11-01-2010, 00:43
Congratulations to those who got married at such a young age and are now celebrating 5 and 10 year wedding anniversaries! It is really inspirational. I have known my partner since just before I was 13. We were very close and started dating when we were both 17. We had our first baby just before we were 20, our second at 21 and will be having our third at 23 :) We have been through so much together but now we know we will be able to make it through marriage. He proposed to me when I was pregnant with our first because he felt he had to. We didnt tell many people which is good because now we are going to start over and do it right. I am glad that we had kids young as we have so much more than all our friends. It made us grow up, and work hard so that we could buy a house and give our babies a good life.
I cant wait to get engaged and married. It will really make us feel like a real family. I'm pretty sure we wont be getting married until around our 10 year anniversary though. But I will only be 27! I actually feel proud now to have waited so long :)
oleander
11-01-2010, 01:12
First time engaged I was 25 nearly 26. Married for 6 months.
Recently engaged 2nd time at 30 nearly 31. This time it feels right. :)
Noahmischiefsmum
11-01-2010, 02:03
met when i was in high school (dp was brothers basketball coach), worked together but never really spoke and then started dating when i was 19 and him 23, have spent maybe 4 nights away from each other since then.
engaged at 21, due to be married at 23 on october 25th but ds was due october 24th, so that didnt work out.
we're planning on getting married at hamilton island just after our second bub is born (ttc at the moment), our family is the most important thing to us and we want our wedding to reflect that.
meet at 18 df was 17, 1st house and engaged at 21 found out i was pregnant the day after we got engaged, 1st baby 22 married at 23 (7 weeks and counting!!)
GabberQueeN83
11-01-2010, 13:54
Met DH at 14, starting dating at 16,engaged at 18, married at 20 :hugs:
Now expecting our first and our 6 year wedding anniversary is coming up on the 24 of this month:valentine:
bubbalove83
20-01-2010, 09:56
DH & I met when we were 18 & got engaged at 21 & married at 25.
tired*mummy
21-01-2010, 09:59
Met when i was 13 & DH was 17... got together when i turned 17 & got engaged 3 months later.
Married 4 months after i turned 18 & married for 10yrs next month & we are expecting our 5th child this year.
RubyRedToes
14-02-2010, 22:18
Together 5 months before I fell pregnant when I was 18. Bought our house at 19, our son was born, pregnant again at 20 and I'm now 21 and our daughter was born 7 weeks ago.
Two days ago, DP says "I s'pose after 2 kids and a house I guess things are getting serious...". My early Valentine's Day present was a beautiful ring :) So 21 for me! He wants to get married next year, I'm just ecstatic to be engaged in the first place!
Met at 18. Engaged at 18.Married at 21. 20 years later we're still together. :cloud9:
hailsntwang
18-02-2010, 20:29
Engaged at 22.
We went on a short vacation to Torquay. It was a real crappy weather kind of day and the ocean looked absolutely amazing. Dh asked if I'd married him at one of the lookouts there.:valentine:
It was even more romantic though that he had taken the ring over to my mums house and asked her permission first:skywriter: (and this came from a man who I believed didn't have one romantic bone in his body!!)
Met at 18, Engaged at 18, Married at 21 and now (we are both 23) trying for our first baby and still together and forever happy.
LeanneJO
11-03-2010, 20:58
I got engaged at 22 and married 9 months later, been married for 5 years this September. :-)
Blonde Assassin
12-03-2010, 15:43
I got engaged at 24 & we'll be married later this year so I'll be 26 :D
bubbasmum
12-03-2010, 15:45
I think I was 23.
Got engaged to DD1 father when I was 16 - that lasted 2 years then got engaged to DH when I was 20, got married the same year.
Another oldie, thread.
I got engaged at 17, 3 months after starting to date him.
WE planned a long term engagement, it was. We married in 2008. 15 year anniversary of our engagement party.
So far things are working, out.:laughing:
EvangelinaOne
13-03-2010, 18:16
Met when I was 31
engaged at 32
married at 33
first baby at 34
second baby at 36
I feel old reading this thread.
Little Boys Blue
14-03-2010, 19:52
Met when I was 15 and he was 16.
Engaged at 20.
First Bub at 20.
Married at 21 on our 6 year anniversary.
Second Bub will be when I'm 22.
Mummaholic
14-03-2010, 20:19
I was 16
melbryan
14-03-2010, 20:49
24 married at 25.
newmummy2010
22-07-2010, 16:15
Everyone is different..
I travelled overseas at 18, engaged at 22 and expecting our first baby in a month.
I love it and it was the right time for us
24...married a year later at 25 :)
DH and I got engaged Christmas Day 2008.
He was 21 and I was 22.
We had been together for 9 months and pregnant with our DD.
We got married 10th July this year. DH is 23 and I'm 24 and we're expecting our DS at the end of August :)
I got engaged for the first time when I was 18/19 We broke up when i was 21...glad we didnt get married
And the 2nd time I got engaged was on my 27th brithday and we got married at the age of 28.
1CrazyMoose
22-07-2010, 16:30
Got engaged when I just turned 19, he was 23 (turning 24). :bee:
Got married 1 month off 21 and he will be 26 in a few months (got married this year):valentine:
We have a 2 year old boy and are having our little girl next week.:yelclap:
We also own our own home :D
waterlily
22-07-2010, 17:01
Met when I was 19 DF was 24.
Engaged at 22, pregnant 4 months later.
Will be married in October, I'll be 23 and DF 27.
Thermolicious
22-07-2010, 17:33
I was 23 he was 27, we had been together just shy of 6 mths :kiss: we had DS1 14mths later and DS2 14mths after that :)
FantaPants
22-07-2010, 18:20
We had known each other for a couple of years. Hooked up when I was 19 he was almost 20. Engaged a year later ... married a year after that I was 21 and a half he was almost 22! Been married 3 years in August & our son is 14 months old.
Lifes a pain at times, but others have it tougher. I have a wonderful hubby and a gorgeous baby boy - everything else is trivial....
Engaged 18, married 19, 22 in a couple of months and we are finally pregnant after 2+ years of trying and going to build our third house this year :)
the first time? 15 arghhh :no:
Happy2be3
23-07-2010, 17:30
LOL I think a poll would have worked better..
Got engaged a month before I turned 26.. turns out that DS was concieved around the same time, got married 5 months later, gave birth to DS 4 months after that... 2007 was a BUSY year :)
MyCheekyMonkey
24-07-2010, 23:15
23 when we got engaged and 24 when we got married.
DH was 27 and 28.
At 25 happily vowed I'd stay single forever at my sister wedding along with a fellow single mum came back met DH got engaged at 26 married 10 months later at 27 :-)
petalwings
24-07-2010, 23:25
Poll would be great- how old were you the first time you were engaged? 19 for me. :)
He was 26, I was 20! :D
He will be 27 and I will be 21 when we get married in 7 weeks!
(To the same man)
First time he asked me: I was 18
Second time he asked me: I was 30 and married him at 31.
futureherder
26-07-2010, 13:52
started dating at 16 (me) and 17 (him)
had DD at 18 and 19
engaged 3 months after at 18 and 19
had DS at 19 and 20
married at 20 and 21
bought first house at 22 and 23
now 23 and 24 and TTC #3
:goodvibes: :valentine: :flowerz: :kiss:
Blairysmum
26-07-2010, 14:17
He asked me in may I had just turned 18!
I turned him down!
Again in November I said yes! And we married the following January! Had dd two years later:)
TheCatsMeow
08-08-2010, 12:10
I was engaged and married at 23!!! In hindsight I feel I was a little too young, but I don't regret doing it :)
PuppyGuts
10-08-2010, 10:37
i was 17 and 6 months preggo. we got married just under a year later when DD was 7 months old and we were were 18.
weve been together for 5 years this feb, married for two.
lil miss
11-08-2010, 13:26
The first time I got engaged I was 17. Dp and i had been together for about 3 months, and had been living together since 1 week after we started dating. We split for a year in 2008 and reunited in 2009. We recently welcomed our 2nd baby girl.
We are engaged again, although we havent made it official. Dp wants to ask my grandfather (who raised me) for his permission first. Things are a lot different this time. We are both more mature and know what we want in life. We have pretty much planned the major details of the wedding already and hehasnt even officially propoed yet :laughing:
26, and all our friends thought we were soooo young!
lemongrass
14-08-2010, 19:58
26 years old.
met at 22, engaged at 24, married at 25.
it is now 7 years since out first date and i am more in love with my dh than ever:kiss:
there is no right age, just the right time for you:flowerz:
mummythreetimes
14-08-2010, 20:10
Together 6weeks was 19 at the time and he popped the question i said yes, 3months later we brought our first house and moved in together then married at 20 and was a mummy to twins at 21 and now expecting our 3rd baby.........
TurnedBatty
14-08-2010, 20:13
Last July, I was 22. we are getting married in November, I will be 24. (birthday is in august).
earthfairy
14-08-2010, 20:29
I got engaged on my 21st birthday on the beach, as the sun came up....DH proposed with a diamond in a shell....so we could then go & get the ring designed together:goodvibes:
We got married when I was 22 :valentine:
MrsLozza
14-08-2010, 20:32
Engaged at 19 and Married at 21
Crazyfiasco
14-08-2010, 20:36
Had been living and going out with Hubby for 2 years when he proposed I was 21, he took me out for dinner at Aria on Sydney harbour, we had a view of the bridge. Then walked me down to the Opera house and got down on one knee. It was beautiful.
We were married two years later and now are about to celebrate four years married, 8 years together.
Jadiekins
19-09-2010, 20:02
19- still planning the wedding.
20 when i got engaged and ill be 22 when i get married