View Full Version : unusual baby names

cherrypip
10-06-2006, 23:26
My baby girls name is Gypsy and from the day we named her this we realised that everyone has an opinion when you give your baby an unusual name and they simply must tell you whether it be kind or not so kind. My husband and i both love her name and never considered another through my pregnancy. I would love to hear from other mums who decided to give thier babies unusual names.
bel:p

wa mum of 4
11-06-2006, 01:10
When I named my chldren they were unusual.
I found that once you pick a different name other start to use them :mad:
Mine are:
Kye 9
Tahj 6
Rhaan 4
and baby Taeha 9mths, she was going to be called Tahiha but no one could say it:laughing:

SassyMummy
11-06-2006, 01:11
It's not THAT unusual...but I named DD Chanel. It's not the most common name...

I think that it's "trendy" to name your child a not-very-common name at the moment. Check out celeb-kids...Suri (TomKat's DD), Shiloh (Brangelina's DD), Apple (Gwyn and Chris Martin's bub)...Frank Zapper named his daughter "Moon Unit Zapper"...ew.

I'm actually beginning to wonder if anyone will have the name "John" when DD is an adult...lol.

the_queen
11-06-2006, 02:10
I absolutely LOVE the name Gypsy!! I want to use it on a future daughter - but sadly it doesn't go well with our surname at all.

I think my kids' names are uncommon, not particularly unusual but definitely uncommon.

11-06-2006, 07:36
I dont know if my ds name is that unusual these days......

Although we have only met two other children with this name so I guess it kinda is

Its Orlando:smiliedance: We love it and called him that from the moment we found out we were having him!

Alot of family made the comment "well its your baby" while rolling their eyes at us

And others said "OMG I Love it!"

So I guess not everyone can love the name you choose, but as long as you like it who cares:D

btw I love the name Gypsy soooooo cute:p hehehehehe

Spewiesmum
11-06-2006, 08:23
I have a cousin in the UK called "Unity Faith". I think she must be about 19 by now...her father was an Israelie (sp?) neuro-surgeon that my aunt carefully selected to be the father. She's a perpetual student and artist in Oxford:rolleyes: .

A friend of mine called her daughter Atlanta Rain (there may be an 'e' on Rain). Atlanta suits her perfectly.

11-06-2006, 19:59
Well or daughter's name is Hayley so its not really unusual, but I still have to spell it for people.

My nieces name is Chrishelle (which I don't find unusual at all) its a combo of Christine and Michelle. I have heard some really wierd names but as long as you like it then go ahead and use it, I want to name my next baby Skye if its a girl or Nathan if its a boy. :)

SamanthaJane
12-06-2006, 00:53
Nemosmum- I wanted to use orlando for a boy but my dp said no way:shame: He thinks i was naming him after the actor...... as if........;)

And i love gypsy!!! Do u remember Gypsy Nash from home and away?? I used to always name my barbie gypsy coz i loved her name and i thought she was so kool. I insisted i'd call my daughter gypsy as well!! But i've never thought of that name until now.... i wonder what my dp would think of it... lol

I love unique names (wish my dp shared this love tho:p):smiliedance:

Bubble*Crazy
12-06-2006, 01:21
Friends named their girl Kyarna (Ky-arn-a: it quite often gets Key-arn-a though) as they couldn't agree on a name they both liked, so they put two together:-

Kylie (I think?!) and Alannah and got Kyarna out of it all.

dannii
12-06-2006, 01:27
i named my first 2 kids pretty common names.. then my last daughter a more unusual name (indy) but my DSD is another name i havent heard from anyone else, Katarna.
so we have 2 common and 2 unique sorta names.

Jodiee
12-06-2006, 19:47
I get alot of comments from my daughters name, its Ainsley Summer, Ainsley is a family name on my husbands side, and my cousin named her daughter Annan Ainsley, so I begged her to steal ainsley for myself! I loooooovvvvveeeee her name, its beautiful!

I have a niece Bacardee Rain (no joke)
and her sister is Saffire
brother Kree.... My sister definately gives weird names....

but my other 3 are quite common

Callum, Laura and charlotte, mind you, charlotte was VERY weird when she was born, it wasnt "trendy" then, like it is now, she is 3, and there was only 2 born in SA that year, so, it wasnt common at all....

Mrs Little
12-06-2006, 21:07
We named our DS Reuel (Pronounced roo-elle). Lots of people don't seem to be able to pronounce it right, but we just correct it for them and move on. I remind them that the first part of his name is like Reuben ( Reu) and the last part is el.

My first name isn't very unsual but i hardly ever get people pronouncing or spelling it right. You get over it after a while...so i'm sure DS will too.

We loved the meaning of Reuel- friend of God. And if it was going to be a boy we wanted his name to start with R- Like daddy's name.

I think you should always consider carefully what name you want to use before the bub is born. Do you want to correct everyone all the time? Do you care if people have an opinion on it? etc. Then pick the name you want!

We didn't care what people though....DH and i fell in love with both our girl and boy names and we wouldn't change them for anything!

Mrs Little & Son.

Femme-Fetale
12-06-2006, 21:11
i named my son Ezekiel (zeak for short) and altho it isnt a very uncommon name any more, i still have to repeat it and then spell it for ppl! :laughing:

12-06-2006, 21:11
when we thought of Nugget's name 3 years ago it was unique... :p but now there's not much unique about Eva :D We love it anyway. Although when I type it people still ask me how to pronounce it :confused: Ee-vah, Ay-va or Ev-ah. (ee-vah, btw)

I wanted to name her Eva Soleil (Sole-ay) but Chris wasn't going to have a bar of it :( I love Soleil....

borntobemummy
12-06-2006, 21:23
My DD's name is Israelle Hope. A lot of people have a problem with it (especially our families!!) and a lot of people love it. We love it, it was a very hard decision to make, but we loved it from the start. We call her Isi-Rae or Isi for short.

cherrypip
12-06-2006, 21:45
Hope is a name that has been in my family for many generations my grandmother never had a daughter so my dad named me Belinda Hope to keep the tradition going. Hopefully Gypsy will be just as proud of it as i am.

MissSparkle
12-06-2006, 23:04
My DS is Angelo and besides DF's dad (who he is named after) Ive never met anyone else called Angelo.

I always wanted to call my first DD Angel but I guess that won't bet happening now! When I do have a DD I love the names Matia (Met-ea), Tatiana, Adara, Isabella and Aliqua (A-lee-ca)

Crissie
14-06-2006, 08:19
my gals name isnt that unusual... Calli- like in 2pac's song California love and he sings 'shake it calli'!! but ppl are always calling her Kelly! :o

14-06-2006, 10:30
my gals name isnt that unusual... Calli- like in 2pac's song California love and he sings 'shake it calli'!! but ppl are always calling her Kelly! :o

My name is Cassie (spelt the right way) and people STILL get it wrong, they spell it Kassy or Cassy, people also call me Cathy, Kasey or even Shelly and Stacie :rolleyes:

zenifa
14-06-2006, 11:54
My DD's name is Romilly and despite being not that common I have found there are quite a few out there www.romilly.plus.com

OceBel
14-06-2006, 12:00
my daughters name is Oceana and the inlaws said whyd you name her that, and made jokes about the sea etc, its a very common name in france, and also used as Oceane aswell. i love the unusual names, my next child will have an unusual name aswell.

14-06-2006, 12:31
my daughters name is Oceana and the inlaws said whyd you name her that, and made jokes about the sea etc, its a very common name in france, and also used as Oceane aswell. i love the unusual names, my next child will have an unusual name aswell.

I went to school with a boy named Ocean I like this name as well. :)

shed
14-06-2006, 13:46
Everyone has a comment.

Even when you name your kid something common.

THEN they comment on how common it is.

Ya can't win!

mummajuice
14-06-2006, 14:09
We decided about 3 weeks b4 my due date to call our little one "annika paige" and everyone looked at us funny. However once we had her and introduced her in person everybody oohed and ahhhed over how pretty her name is and how much it suits her.

I have found that if you say the name with confidence most people don't say anything.

Personally I think there are too many names that are way past their used-by dates!!

14-06-2006, 14:29
Everyone has a comment.

Ya can't win!

:rolleyes: I know exactly what you mean, if you name your child something like Sarah then its too commen or if you name it something like Taybel then its too unusual. My daughter's name is Hayley, my fiance is Grant and I'm Cassie and we STILL have to spell it to everyone, last night on the phone Grant was called Brent :no:

jessi
14-06-2006, 15:18
My name is Jess and I get Jeff. WHAT THE?! Dont even ask about my last name, I always have to spell it about 50 times.
DF's name is worse... He has 4 names in total and putting them all together is hell... its hard enough spelling his FIRST and LAST name let alone the two middle names!

DF and I were talking last night about what to name our baby... again. We are so confused as to what to call her... but we like unusual names! I like most of the names that have been said here- I mentioned 'Calli' last night but DF dismissed it pretty quickly because it sounds too much like Kelly.

Other names we like are Sylke (Silky), Aoen (A-O-win)... Actually, they are the only 2 we have agreed on. We are going to have 2 middle names (DF's choice), one will be Elsa (DF's grandmothers name) and I get to choose the other... I like either Lily or Nalani for the other middle name... but who knows what she will be called!!

SO- So far what we have:

Sylke Elsa Nalani - Sylke Nalani Elsa
Sylke Elsa Lily - Sylke Lily Elsa
Aoen Lily Elsa - Aoen Elsa Lily
Aoen Nalani Elsa - Aoen Elsa Nalani

:confused: heh, so confusing.

Cinta
14-06-2006, 16:18
Well my DD will be Imogen Rose, so its not really a different name.

I love the name Taj for a boy though. And i love Jamon for a boy. Their both quite unusual i think.

I love unusual names though. Gypsy is just beautiful!!

lukaelmo
14-06-2006, 16:53
The dude's first name, Luka, isn't unusual, but his middle name is Elmo... Hence the username...

You can imagine the looks we got around the staff room for that one!

Like everyone else though, we loved the name and didn't really care what anyone else thought. We care what Luka might think though, and our opinion is that you often don't know people's middle names anyway. If he hates it later on then it is fine by us for him to say he doesn't have one :D .

spring
16-06-2006, 15:41
I have never met anyone else that shares a name with my little girl Azalea. I also named my brother Blaise thats getting a bit common but most spell it Blaze.
I think Gypsy is cute. ;)

shed
16-06-2006, 16:20
I love the name Azalea.

Do you pronounce it Azar-lea or Azay-lea?

Sweetbabe
16-06-2006, 17:17
I really like Gypsy too. I think it's very sweet. At the end of the day you can never keep everyone happy, nor should you try too. As long as you and DH are happy with it stuff everyone else :)

My childrens names aren't even that unusual but still I copped the looks, especially for the younger 2 Noah and Tehya. I copped samrt comments of several people when I told them that I was planning on calling our son Noah - the most common "oh like the ark" **** like that. And "oh he's going to get picked on at school because of Noahs Ark". Mostly these comments came from DH family, of course this made me more determind to name him that.

With Tehya we were searching on the interent for baby names and Mark suggested we look at Cherokee Indian names, we came across this and loved the way it looked and the meaning (precious) we knew then it was for us. I usully get oh Taylor, nope it's not..... How do you spell it... Unfortunately she will be spelling out forever, it even took me a while to grasp it. LOL, I could've changed the spelling but didn't want another spellling to have a different meaning (iykwim).

Sorry alittle off track there. I have found though, generally if you tell people while you are still pg they are more likely to have a negative response as opposed to introducing your baby as "xyz" I mean who looks at a baby and oges "oh cute kid, but shocking name" :)

diamonds22
16-06-2006, 17:22
lol unusual names are in at the moment! (according to NW I think it was..)

There Designer names!!!:smiliedance: if anyone tells you different...tell them there to "old school, 'designer' names are so hot right now..what are they thinking??" heheh:p

my_lot
16-06-2006, 19:10
my ds is JOSIAH :D . i have only heard this name used once since he was born. he never gets a nic name out of it other than "de-siah" from friends at kindy that cant say it yet. when he was born and the time most strangers walk up to the new baby to look and always seem to ask "whats his name?" i would say it with pride and i did get a few odd looks. one lady said how overly relegious it was, then shot the DDs a look and asked what on earth their names were..lol to this lady i said "mary and jesus" and walked off laughing. its great to give your child a name that is only theirs.

Sweetbabe
16-06-2006, 19:16
I also really like Josiah, it was one of the names I had picked out for Noah, then Tehya - before we knew she was a girl that is :) LMAO@ your come back too, good on you :D

spring
16-06-2006, 20:06
I love the name Azalea.

Do you pronounce it Azar-lea or Azay-lea?

:yes: I pronounce it Azay-lea but alot of people say it Azar-lea.

hugomum
17-06-2006, 21:24
Our Little Boys name is Hugo and we havn't met too many people with that name. I logged on tonight thinking of starting a post on the name Tayah and I have just seen it mentioned a couple of times with different spelling - how bizarre I wonder if that is a sign. all the different spellings is interesting

kazza1
17-06-2006, 21:30
My niece is called Raquel. I think that is unique..haven't met any others
(think her mum got it from Raquel Welsh actually, now I think about it)
It's still nice and abit different

Sweetbabe
18-06-2006, 07:22
I logged on tonight thinking of starting a post on the name Tayah and I have just seen it mentioned a couple of times with different spelling - how bizarre I wonder if that is a sign. all the different spellings is interesting

I have found it spelt:

Teya } derived from Tia
Teyah

Tayah } dervied from Taylor
Taya

Taeha, Taiya, Taiha. I think all of these different spellings ave different meanings.

The way my daughters is spelt is Tehya - It's Native American and means Precious :)

18-06-2006, 19:04
Ahh..the looks we are given when I say my kids names
"What?"
Not so much my girl cos hers is so common now...

cherrypip
05-07-2006, 20:43
r the names that u have listed on your post their real names, if so LOVE your originality:smiliedance: .

Blessed Mum
06-07-2006, 12:56
Absolutely love Gypsy for a girl - Dh said no way :(

~Danni~
06-07-2006, 15:15
I like all the unusual names that have been postedif we had another gitl she would have been Cadence which is not as unusual as some but still not in 'commen' use here:o

my name is 'boring' (to me:rolleyes: don't want to offend anyone:p ) and I get called Daniel all the time, it's pretty obvious i'm a girl being preggie and all.....:laughing:

oleander
06-07-2006, 16:57
Everyone has a comment.

Ya can't win!

Yep! So in the end as long as your happy with it then stuff the rest of them!

reddwarf
06-07-2006, 18:32
I came across Eithne when pregnant with my daughter. I loved it but my dh didn't. He wanted to call her Sheila (if a girl) or Gunther (if a boy) :laughing: . When she was born I suggested Eithne and he loved it :banghead: . We settled in my first pregnancy on Declan for a boy as we had never heard it and so when we had a boy in 2004 there was no argument on the name but since then there seems to be Declan's everywhere :rolleyes:

I say go with what you are happy with. As one person said to me when pregnant with dd - once people have the baby in their arms they wouldn't care if their name was Horatio they would just love the baby for being themself!

GIZMOE
06-07-2006, 19:11
Hello - We called our daughter Poppy and if we have a boy next time he will be called Ryna, Tobias or Elias ( can't decide!! )

kristin5
06-07-2006, 20:24
I love unusual/original names, but unfortunately DH doesn't. I always wanted to call a girl Kassidy Alixandra (I also love original spelling!) but he won't have a bar of that because his ex had Cassidy as a surname :(

I also like Zed or Tsar/Zar for a boy but DH doesn't like 'z' names.

Gloominous
07-07-2006, 12:06
I have 2 DD with unusual names, and everyone will comment or "ohh" when you tell them, but just remind them that they asked what the name was but you didn't ask for an opinion on weather they liked it or not!! We had trouble with the MIL using middle names instead cos she liked them better (v-rude). I even found the midwives in hosp a bit rude, but nice to the lady next to me with "normal" baby name!

MrsMiggins
07-07-2006, 12:25
Our Little Boys name is Hugo and we havn't met too many people with that name. I logged on tonight thinking of starting a post on the name Tayah and I have just seen it mentioned a couple of times with different spelling - how bizarre I wonder if that is a sign. all the different spellings is interesting

I love the name Hugo!!! My DH has vetoed it though!! :no: It goes so well with our surname, which is really tricky to match up names with.

We picked Claire for our DD, which I call "generationally unique". Not many babes nowadays with this name (except Clarabelle!! :wave: my bubhub twin!!) I really hope that it is not going to become a "Grace" or "Emily" in a few years time. I certainly don't have anything against these names, I think they are beautiful, it's just that they are a part of the ever-growing trend of re-hashing old-fashioned names. I want my DD to have a unique name!

Now we're facing the problem of coming up with a similarly "generationally unique" name for #2 due in March!

MrsMiggins
07-07-2006, 12:26
I love unusual/original names, but unfortunately DH doesn't. I always wanted to call a girl Kassidy Alixandra (I also love original spelling!) but he won't have a bar of that because his ex had Cassidy as a surname :(

I also like Zed or Tsar/Zar for a boy but DH doesn't like 'z' names.

Ooh! I have a friend who's DS is Zed!! It soooo suits him!! :yes:

Imamum2b
07-07-2006, 12:45
I love the name Claire too!!

We like uncommon names. I'm Peta and have always complained that I hate spelling my name to everyone , but now that I'm preggers and choosing a name, I realise that because of all the unusual spelings, everyone has to spell their names these days. Claire could be Clare, Kate could be Cate, so I reckon - go with what you like.

We've picked Kiki for a girl (since Bella is so common now) and Rex for a boy (DH wanted a name with an X in it!). We've told a few people and when we say KIKI, you can see them go "right....", spec the oldies who like traditional names.

who cares - like many ladies have said before, once they see the bubba they most likely will love it because they'll associate it with baby.

TTannyaa
07-07-2006, 16:27
Being Italian my name is spelt the Italian way for Tarnya. I constantly get called Tan-ya, Toby, Tori - someone even called me Victoria once because they assumed that's what Tori was short for :rolleyes: Toni, Terri the list goes on....................
When we were picking Chloes name, we liked it because we didn't know or know of any other Chloes and liked its originallity. Now there are Chloe's everywhere, we still love it though and the name really suits her. Simone was another name that we liked for being uncommon, so far so good :thumbsup:

~Danni~
07-07-2006, 16:35
He wanted to call her Sheila (if a girl) or Gunther (if a boy)

Gunther makes me think of a large puppy:laughing:

It probably suits some people though (just incase you are thinking of calling your bub gunther or know somone called gunther, don't want to offend any one)

I like large puppies by the way:p )