View Full Version : Birthday ideas

Littletreasures
08-06-2006, 21:04
Hi everybody

well it is my DS 1st Bday in 3 weeks and im just wondering what to do i have 2 options that i thought of.
1. Order in pizza ( expensive)
2. make up some party pies sausage rolls, little boys, mini pizzas, fairy bread. and chips

Any other suggestions would be great

08-06-2006, 21:07
I reckon you should go with option 2 :thumbsup: I did that with Summers 1st birthday party as well. It gives more variety i reckon.

My3kids
08-06-2006, 21:49
I think depending on who comes

If there were more adults maybe the pizza but if the majority are children than option 2.

Another suggestion I had a BBQ for my sons birthday, A couple of salads, snags and Steak. Easy to organish and doesn't cost to much!

Good luck

pebilz
09-06-2006, 13:34
For my daughters first birthday we had about 30 people all of which were adults but three. However I did it with all your typical childhood party food. Sausage rolls, party pies, mini hotdogs, white choc crackles, fairy bread etc. It was a hit!!

Ky
09-06-2006, 15:22
We recently had my dd's 5th birthday with somewhere around 50 people attending.

I asked her what she wanted and only put the foods she had asked for on the table ... it may surprise you what she had on her wish list!

Cocktail franks with tomato sauce, chopped raw veges (carrot, brocolli, celery, cucumber, capsicum) and cheese with onion dip, cherry tomatoes, fruit pieces (watermelon, apple, banana, pineapple, peach, nectarine), baby beetroot, hard boiled eggs, egg and lettuce sandwiches, vegemite and cheese sandwiches, crackers and dip, salt and vinegar chips, gherkins, pickled onions and cabanossi, dried fruit (dates, pineapple, prunes, sultanas, mango and apricots) and some chewy chocolate bikkies from woolies! We did cupcakes for her cake with mini marsmallows and smarties made into flower design on pink and purple icing.

She didn't want lollies except for a few in the party bags and you know, it all went down a treat with the parents and children alike! None of them asked where the lollies or party pies were, it was all really easy to prepare and the parents have been asking me for a list of the food so that they can use it for future parties ever since!

We served icy cold cottees apple and raspberry cordial (great flavour, low colour!) and no-one asked for "bubbles"!

I find that when my kids go to birthday parties, they are not really interested in the overly sweet or junky food as we have a little bit of it at home on a regular basis and they seem to enjoy more flavoursome and filling foods much more! They are usually more interested in playing with thier friends than eating, anyway!

Make the "special treat" aspect of parties the balloons, streamers, special friends, games and exciting atmosphere ... your kids will be happy every time!

As for a 1 year olds party ... do the same, let the little kids play beside each other and make a huge fuss ... take heaps of photos and enjoy the company of your friends ... relax and make happy memories!

cwsmum
09-06-2006, 16:17
Another suggestion I had a BBQ for my sons birthday, A couple of salads, snags and Steak. Easy to organish and doesn't cost to much!

This is what we do for almost every birthday/christmas/anything the gives us an excuse to get together....
Here is what we usually have on the table
- Roast chicken, cold or hot depending on if we cook/buy it that day or the day before.
- BBQ food, eg sausages, steak, onions, also capsicum, mushrooms & tomato if it's a dinner.
- Pasta salad
- Rice salad (homemade)
- Coleslaw
- Lettuce salad (usually just a plate with lettuce, tomato, carrot & cheese)
- Fresh bread rolls, sometimes warmed thru...or fresh bread
- Chips/potato wedges...only if we are feeling particularly motivated tho...

For desert...if we aren't all stuffed after all that...any 2, sometimes 3, of the following
- Ice-cream
- Fresh fruit salad
- Jelly
- Pavlova
- Chocolate cake
In the winter if it's a dinner sometimes
- Golden syrup dumplings
- Chocolate self saucing pudding

Yasmeena
17-06-2006, 12:24
If you were interested in a healthier option
A fruit platter is great with littlies especially with yummy watermelon and strawberries :)
instead of unhealthy pies and little boys why not make some salad lavash breads rolled up and cut into quarters? delicious, healthy finger food.
Or make some baby bruschettas with cherry tomatoes on a sliced baguette, maybe add some baby spinach leaves or basil. yum!
For my kids birthdays I always make some spinach and fetta triangles, kids love them and they are really easy to make

chop up one spanish onion, crumbled 150gms of fetta cheese, defrost a 250gm pack of frozen finely chopped spinach, and mix together with a handful of grated cheddar (half a cup?) and an egg. wrap in either puff or filo pastry and bake until golden. Delicious!

I know it's traditional to have loads of junk at birthday parties, but with todays concerns about childhood obesity and the general unhealthy diets of many australians, I think it's a great idea to show kids how healthy foods can be 'fun' and yummy and even yummier than chips and pies :thumbsup:

OscarTheGrouch
17-06-2006, 14:37
Great ideas Yasmeena.:thumbsup:

the_queen
17-06-2006, 15:36
mmmmmmmmmmmm spinach and fetta ....... :idea: :chef: :yes: