View Full Version : Mums of young toddlers in Chelsea area - meetup?
interplanetjanet
01-04-2009, 12:07
Hi, I'm relatively new to Melbourne and have recently moved to Bonbeach. I'm an ex-scientist-now-SAHM of a 17 month old boy and have a little girl due at the beginning of August. I've been trying to find a good mums group nearby, but as far as I can tell mums groups here seem to start at birth and be pretty closed to outsiders. I've seen women at the park near my house, but they seem to huddle in one corner of the park while their kids play and certainly don't seem interested in meeting others. I checked into Playgroups Victoria, but the ones nearby are all either at a church (I'm not religious), meet during my son's nap or charge for each meetup. I'd ideally just like to find some mums who'd like to meet at a park or other play venue for a couple hours a week. Anyone in the Chelsea/Bonbeach/Carrum area interested in having a toddler meetup?
KeithCheggers
03-04-2009, 07:32
I'm in Bonbeach and about to be a first time Mum, I've only been in Melbourne for about 18 months and originally from the UK so am now starting to think of Playgroups and how I go about meeting other Mums (moral support, advice & keeping sane being my main motives!). I'm on maternity leave and my due date is the 17th of this month. I'd be more than happy meeting up for a chat once bubs makes their arrival if you want some company at the park or a coffee.
Vicky
JoJoMart
03-04-2009, 13:54
I live near Moorabbin and have a 2 year old and will be TTC #2 in a month's time.
Don't be put off playgroups that are run at church facilities. I'm joining one soon that is running at the Uniting Church but they just hire out the room and it's a non-religious group. Just ring and ask directly if they are religious or not.
interplanetjanet
03-04-2009, 14:14
Thanks Jojo! I figured it might be just a room rental thing. I'm not against going to a play group at a church. I just don't want to join one that's religion-oriented. One of the church groups is during my son's nap time, but there's another that doesn't say when they meet. I've been meaning to call. I just haven't gotten around to it. Thanks for the motivation!
Vicky - I'm not from around here either. I'm originally from California, and my (Aussie) husband and I just moved out here about 7 months ago. I'm still getting used to the system here myself. The whole maternal and child health nurse thing kind of threw me off. Back home children see a pediatrician from the day they're born. We could probably learn from each other, given that I've got the experience of an older child and you'll have your little one going through all the first year appointments here before mine!
Wow, less than two weeks to go...you must be getting so excited! Just send me a message if you'd like to get together for a coffee or something after your little one arrives. Best of luck with your impending labor!
lovelymum
04-04-2009, 21:40
Hi I am from Frankston which is about 10 mins from chelsea. I am a SAHM I have a 5 yr old son and 19 mth old daughter and have been looking around for playdates and adult contact!!! Most of my friends had their children closer together so our Aimee has no little friends (makes me sad but it just took so long to get preg the 2nd time) so if you are interested in meeting let me know. We have some fantastic fully enclosed parks beach forshore park and botanical gardens in frankston (its a kiddy wonderland)
myusernamewoohoo
04-04-2009, 22:24
Im also from frankston ,I have 7 yes 7 children lol my 3 younger ones are girl 5 months and 2 boys aged 2 and 3 .Why dont you check out the frankson thread on here.We all meet up once a week and the girls there are great .Pop in on the thread everyone is very nice .It sure is nice to have adult contact now and again
pen
interplanetjanet
05-04-2009, 02:10
Hi Cath! I'm glad to see there actually are other people nearby looking for playgroups. I was beginning to think everybody already had one but me! We should definitely plan a meetup (that's why I started this thread, after all). I'm open as far as locations go. I'm pretty new to the area, so I have a limited amount of knowledge of good venues.
Pen, I've kind of been putting off joining the Frankston thread, though I know I should. It's not that I don't think people will be welcoming - everyone seems very friendly - but the thread is already sooo long it's a bit daunting feeling like I need to go through it all to catch up on the ongoing conversation. I jumped to the last couple pages, and everyone already seems to know each other in person, talking about baby showers and the like. It's hard to jump into an continuing discussion like that without feeling like the dorky new kid interrupting the flow of conversation. I guess I've just been waiting for someone to start a new thread.
madhousemum
07-04-2009, 07:53
hiya im from the frankston thread too, i can see how you would think that way, but please dont we love to have newbies come along and chat to everyone is more than welcome as pen said , we arnt a "clicky" group and we meet almost every week i have 5 kids and we all have children of different ages and stages so its really good to talk to others with kids of same ages and realise that your not alone etc,...
we are meeting this week at a park in hastings as its the holidays so the kids can have a run and play your welcome to come :)
kiwicrew
07-04-2009, 08:11
Hey :)
Im from the Frankston thread too and feel free to come join us :) ... 6 months ago I didn't know anyone either and I was welcomed with open arms when I joined and didn't feel excluded at all :flowerz:
You should come along on Thursday :hugs:
I'm also in Bonbeach! :)
We moved here in November from the UK so I'm all new to everything here too. We have 2 kids, DS 4.5 and DD 2 next month - and another bun in the oven.
I go to one playgroup in Elwood on Fridays but that is a Dutch one (I'm dutch, DH is from UK) so would love to meet other mums closer to home.
interplanetjanet
22-04-2009, 11:04
Hi Marijke! I'll be taking my son down to a park in Chelsea tomorrow or Friday (or both). I've got a great wagon with air-filled tyres that can fit a few small kids, and it's only a 15 minute walk from Bonbeach. Send me a PM if you'd like to join me, and I'll send you details.
Btw, I spent a few months working in Dwingeloo, NL several years back. Ever been there?
Anyone else interested is welcome to come too, so if you want to join in just PM me!
interplanetjanet
24-04-2009, 11:59
Well the weather killed our park trip, so we're just going to go to the play area at the shopping centre instead. I'd be happy to make a park trip sometime next week, if anyone's interested.
JoJoMart
24-04-2009, 15:03
That's interesting that in the states your baby sees a Pediatrician from word go (instead of a maternal & child health nurse). We saw a pediatrician for Liam but it was due to his reflux when a baby and saw the nurse for all the general check ups & weigh ins. I know the health system is different in the US to here. I gather you needed private health insurance to see the pediatrician as they are quite costly (over here anyway).
interplanetjanet
25-04-2009, 16:05
I gather you needed private health insurance to see the pediatrician as they are quite costly (over here anyway).
The system in the US is completely different, and since there's no public health care you need private health insurance for everything. The system works great when it works, but it also unfortunately fails miserably when it fails. The vast majority of people in the US get private health insurance through their jobs as part of a benefits package, and it's actually substantially cheaper than what most people pay through their taxes for public health care in countries that provide it. This is because the company you work for pays the bulk of the insurance, and the individual contribution is relatively small. Where the US system fails is with the minority who either work for a small company that can't afford to offer health coverage or who are unemployed. Without a public system to fall back on, those people fall through the cracks. I think the US system could actually be a good one if the government subsidised health care packages for small businesses and offered some kind of minimal coverage for those who are unemployed.
Sorry, I'm sure that's a lot more information than you cared to hear. In all the time I've lived outside the US, both here and in Europe, I've learned that there are a lot of misconceptions out there about the US health care system.
tinkerlel
25-04-2009, 21:52
G'day there,
I am very new to all this, but am giving it a go. Bub (not so bub anymore) is now 13 months. I am in Carrum. There are some great parks around the area, and the river is great for walks. I have only been back in oz for 2 years after living in the UK. Would be nice to catch up with some other mums in the area.
Daniella
interplanetjanet
27-04-2009, 10:46
Hi Daniella! Is your little one walking yet? There's not a whole lot around for toddler play areas, but there's a great park in Chelsea that has a low play structure that's really good for my (18 month old) son. They also have the only proper infant swing I've seen that even has head support. I also like going to the play areas in Southland and at Bayside in Frankston, because they're just the right size for him and work out well in this cruddy weather. We went to Southland Friday evening, and it was loaded with kids his age.
Hello again!
Sorry I havent replied before! DD has been ill with a tummy bug so we've been stuck indoors. Unfortunately it seems that being doting and caring mother means that I now have it too, hopefully it will pass soon though - I was just starting to believe the end of my morning sickness was in sight!
Anyway, I would love to meet up at some point. My two love playgrounds, and anywhere new is always a bonus :thumbsup:
interplanetjanet
27-04-2009, 14:41
Hi Marijke!
Sorry you're not feeling well. We're in a similar predicament. My son had a viral infection a couple weeks ago and got tonsillitis. He gave it to me and then to my husband. Well, my husband never got over it, and while his immune system was down it seems he caught a bacterial infection! That's finally almost cleared up. Then last night after being healthy for over a week my son barely slept at all, and he woke up this morning packed full of yellow-green snot, his eyes are weepy and he won't eat anything. I'm assuming I'll be getting it next, since my son keeps hugging me and wiping his nose all over my clothes (not to mention I get his snot all over my hands every time I wipe his nose!).
I'll check back in when we're all better. Maybe this weather will have cleared up a bit by then. Hopefully we won't catch anything else!
tinkerlel
29-04-2009, 11:04
Poor everyone! I hope all are feeling better soon. Bub is toddling everywhere and getting a bit too fast, really! Chelsea playground sounds good, is that the one off Thames Prom by the skate park?
Might try it on Monday if the weather is alright.
interplanetjanet
30-04-2009, 22:55
Thanks, Daniella! I'm in the midst of the yuck right now, but hopefully we'll all be better by next week. The playground I like in Chelsea is the one right next to the beach and the lifesaving club between The Beachway and The Strand. Have a look at it on Google maps in satellite view (I can't remember the name of it, but you can find it if you search Google maps for the Chelsea Lifesaving Club). The satellite picture only shows one play area, but there's been a second one built right next to it and a bit has been added to the existing one as well. There are three play structures total and two swing sets with a total of four swings - one regular swing, two toddler swings and an infant swing. From what I recall there are at least four slides, a couple diggers, a tube to crawl through, at least four bridges, two poles to slide down and a little lighthouse plus other activities (wheels, a little climbing wall, etc.).
I suggest that anyone who's interested in meeting there should say so on this thread, and any further discussion about specific plans (days, times, etc.) should be made via private messages. This is, after all, a public forum, and any random creepy character could be reading it.
I look forward to meeting you!
That sounds good! So I'd be in to do that at some point!
interplanetjanet
04-05-2009, 12:07
Ugh, we're all still ill, and I had a horrible stabbing headache all weekend. I'm a bit annoyed at the doctor. We were all sick one after the other three weeks ago. My husband was the last one, and his viral infection was immediately followed by a bacterial one. The doc put him on two courses of antibiotics for the second infection, and he was finally getting better a few days ago. Of course, in the meantime both Jack and I got his bacterial infection, and I tried to tell the doc, but he insisted it was viral and told us to take panadol. Now it's a week and a half later and neither of us is any better. Worse yet, after the antibiotics made my husband all better, he's starting to catch it back again from us! :(
We'll make it to the park one day!
coogeemum
05-05-2009, 20:29
:hugs: to all the sickies! my DS included... though just a runny nose. I'd love to be included for future meet ups. I live in Bentleigh and will be moving to Chelsea this coming Summer (we're building a house). I moved to Melbourne from Sydney just after my DS was born. He's 2.5 now.
interplanetjanet
07-05-2009, 08:34
I think we're finally all starting to get over this crud. Anyone want to make tentative plans for next week, say Tuesday?
tinkerlel
09-05-2009, 21:09
Tuesday sounds good, hope everyone is on the mend.
interplanetjanet
10-05-2009, 20:36
I've sent a PM to those who've expressed interest in a meetup. If anyone else is interested and would like to be added to the PM list, then just send me a message. First meetup is Tuesday!
Just thought I'd add - Happy Mother's Day! I hope everyone had a great one. :)
lovelymum
10-05-2009, 21:04
if its tuesday am we would love to be inclueded!! Please let us know xxx
interplanetjanet
13-05-2009, 10:17
tinkerlel and coogeemum, it was great meeting you both yesterday! Jack had so much fun and slept for a LONG time afterward. lovelymum, I sent you a pm on Monday, but maybe I sent it too late. I just got a pm from mabo, who was busy on Tuesday but is interested in getting together next time. I propose we make a regular weekly meetup time that's convenient for everyone, and then whoever can come each week can come. It doesn't have to be at the same playground, so if everyone agrees on a different place that's good too. Or we can just make the Chelsea playground our default and decide on any changes week by week.
If you're interested in a regular get together, please pm me the times and days that are best for you. We're pretty much available anytime from 10am-12pm or 3pm onward, and since we don't have any other playgroups or regularly scheduled activities any day is good.
I look forward to meeting the rest of you!
interplanetjanet
25-05-2009, 09:24
Anyone interested in getting together sometime this week? I've got an OB appointment Wednesday morning, but any other morning or afternoon works for me.
I live in Aspendale Gardens and would be interested in catching up. Has anyone thought of going to the Silly Seahorse on Wells Road in Chelsea? It's $5 but loads of fun when the weather is bad. My DS is 14 months and he loves it.
Anyway, am interested in catching up. Thursday morning of Friday afternoon is good for us.
Julie
interplanetjanet
25-05-2009, 18:03
Hi Julie!
I've never heard of the Silly Seahorse, but I'm always up for finding new places to take my son, especially if they're good for toddlers (he's 19 months). I haven't yet looked into any of the indoor playgrounds in the area, and I'd really like to. Either of those times would work for me, so I'm up for whatever works for anyone else who wants to go.
Linda
No problems. I would love to meet up there if you're interested. They have a cafe too so you can have a coffee while bub plays. There is also a playgroup I've started going to at Fit4Kids in Braeside on Wells Road, near Governor Road, which is also $5 a visit. It's on a Monday arvo at 1.30 pm.
interplanetjanet
26-05-2009, 10:54
Aw, that sounds like it would be fun for him, but he's never up from his afternoon nap until 2pm at the earliest. I'm very fortunate to have an excellent sleeper, and at 19 months he's still sleeping at least 3 hours every afternoon!
I guess we should just set a time for Silly Seahorse if nobody else has replied by tomorrow afternoon...
Okay. Sounds good. Yeah I have a good sleeper aswell. Took him a long time to sleep through but he sleeps twelve hours every night at the moment and still has at least three hours every day. I'm so grateful.
coogeemum
26-05-2009, 14:11
I can make it Friday afternoon! - park or play centre is fine by me.
I'm not sure I can make it this Friday now. What time were you thinking?
interplanetjanet
27-05-2009, 10:06
Could you make it around 3:00 or 3:30? If we're going to meet in the afternoon, it may be best to meet at the indoor place given how early the sun goes down now. Do you know the hours for the Silly Seahorse?
tinkerlel
27-05-2009, 10:38
Friday afternoon works for us, silly seahorse or the park is fine too! Hope everyone is having a lovely week.
Daniella
interplanetjanet
28-05-2009, 11:45
Is everyone ok then with 3:30 at the Silly Seahorse?
coogeemum
28-05-2009, 16:24
OK with me.
interplanetjanet
29-05-2009, 09:09
Alright, 3:30 it is. Hope to see you all there!
For those who have not yet met me, I'm the short blonde with the big baby belly.
tinkerlel
01-06-2009, 14:27
Ahhh bubs, asleep when you want the awake and awake when you want them asleep. :sleeping:Patrick slept last Friday when I was planning on heading to the silly seahorse. We moved house over the weekend and are now in Chelsea. If anyone fancies a play in the park sometime, let me know.
Daniella
interplanetjanet
01-06-2009, 20:32
You didn't miss much, actually. It was a bit disappointing being there in the afternoon on a beautiful day. I guess I should have checked beforehand, but we didn't know until we were there that they closed at just 4:30. There was almost nobody there since it was later in the day and nice outside. It would definitely be a great place to go earlier on a rainy day, though, and the facilities are very good. We were just there at the wrong time. Since it was so nice out, we went to the park near the beach afterward.
I'd be up for a play in the park, and my schedule's pretty open aside from the usual nap time in the middle of the day.
I'm glad you liked the silly seahorse. I thought it closed at 5.00 pm. Yeah the facilities are great and it certainly caters for all ages (including coffee for us mums). I would definitely be up for a meet though if you want to arrange something again soon. Thursday is good for me this week.
interplanetjanet
02-06-2009, 22:47
Thursday works for me.
Same place? How about 1.30 pm?
interplanetjanet
03-06-2009, 12:50
1:30 is a bit early for us given Jack's afternoon nap, but we could probably make 2:30.
By the way, someone said previously that Silly Seahorse is $5. It's actually $7.50 for children over 18 months. Not a big deal, but just thought I'd mention it.
There is another place nearby whichi s $5.00. It's called FitStart4Kids and it's on Wells Road near the Governor Road roundabout. We should be okay for 2.30 pm. Is that tomorrow then?
interplanetjanet
03-06-2009, 18:07
I just looked up FitStart4Kids, and they're closed on Thursdays, so it looks like it'll be Silly Seahorse. See you there tomorrow at 2:30!
Interplanetjanet - thanks for the meet today!! We had a ball! Such a gorgeous day.
interplanetjanet
06-06-2009, 10:13
No, thank you! We had a very good time as well. Jack really didn't want to leave and was clearly melting down as we got into the car. His dummy made him happy, though. :)
Haha! I gave Blake his too when we got in the car and he was so relaxed.
interplanetjanet
06-06-2009, 22:41
Just a note for those who read this thread - if you don't check it very often but would like to be notified each week when people get together, then please PM me your email address. I will try to limit emails to at most two per week (one early on with suggested times and one the afternoon or evening before the meetup with the decided time). If enough people want to get together regularly, then maybe eventually we can settle for a single day and time and stick with that. So far it's been sporadic, so we'll just keep it flexible.
At this point I've got coogeemum's, morganj's and mabo's phone numbers but no email addresses.
I'd also like to add that if anyone showed up at the Silly Seahorse on Thursday, I apologize for not being there! The only person who confirmed the time and date was morganj, and we changed days at the last minute. Since we hadn't heard from anyone else, I assumed we were the only two meeting up and didn't bother posting the change.
interplanetjanet
07-06-2009, 12:58
I wish I could be there on Tuesday, but I won't be able to make it. Sounds fun, though! My in-laws are coming back from several months of travels so they can surprise my husband for his birthday. I imagine we'll be spending most of our time with them this week. They'll be eager to see their grandson. That means I'll probably have to skip any meetups this week. Hope to see people next week, though!
Have a great week everyone!
Hi Ladies. As you can see I've had a name change - various reasons - won't bore you!
Linda - have a great week with your family! Hope DH had a lovely surprise on his birthday!
Looking forward to meeting up soon!!
Hey Linda,
Okay finally made my way thru the forums.
Let me know when you're going to meet again and I will see if we are free etc... I know little miss would love to see your little man again.
=0)
interplanetjanet
10-06-2009, 23:29
Why don't we just shoot for Monday or Tuesday? Those are your days off, right?
By the way, also check out the Frankston Area thread. They meet in Hastings, which would be much more convenient for you.
I probably won't be free for a meet Monday or Tuesday I'm afraid. Wednesday, Thursday or Friday work for me. Anyway, let me know what works for you and if I can make it then I'll join you.
Hi Ladies, I would love to met up with more mums I also go to the frankston thread mets which are iin crib point..
Im 30 SAHM with a 21month old daughter and i live in frankston, would love to met more mums
Wednesdays are good too Linda, but I will be looking into to Frankston thread a bit more.
Nikki, When do they meet up in Crib Point, I would be interested in that :)
Hey Nikki - I think we met at PD's place last year on Oak's Day?! How are you? Where is Crib Point?
Wednesday afternoons are good for us!
tinkerlel
12-06-2009, 09:41
Hope everyone has had a good week. Bub and I have had a cold this week (blah). Getting better now.
Wondering if anyone is interested in catching up Monday. The park at Chelsea is a big hit at the moment with us.
What do you think?
Tinker - sorry to hear you've been sick with colds. We can't make it Monday unfortunately!! How old is your little one?
interplanetjanet
14-06-2009, 08:33
Sorry I haven't been on here. It's been a pretty busy week, and on top of that I'm starting to get to the point in my pregnancy where I feel like I'm just going to explode. I can't get any sleep at night, so I spend my son's nap time sleeping, and it's all I can do to get everything done. I'm so ready for this little bub to be on the outside.
I suppose I should try to get out and be more active, so I can probably do both Monday and Wednesday. What time are you thinking about on Monday, Daniella?
tinkerlel
15-06-2009, 09:35
Hmmmmm, organisation seems to be somewhat lacking in my life at present. I might head to the park later today. But thats no good for a catch up if you have not read this post. Wednesday afternoon should be alright after mr nutso has his sleep. (Patrick was born 16/3/08 - gosh that time has flown). Sleep should be done by 3ish wednesday.... how does that work?
Well I hope that babble makes sense.
Hooray for the last week of term!
Daniella
interplanetjanet
15-06-2009, 11:15
Hi Daniella, I just sent you an sms. I can meet later today around 2:30 or a bit later, if you like. It would be good to get out of the house, but I don't think I could make it any sooner than that since Jack and I both need a nap. I'm up for Wednesday as well. There's not much in my schedule, since at this point I'm just waiting (somewhat) patiently for this baby to be born!
Oooh I'm finally back online!
I've been off for a month as my laptop packed up last month :geek: and have only just got it back up talking on the weekend.
Linda, I'll PM you my email as I'd definitely still like to meet at some point :yes:
Cant wait to get uptodate with the forum!
interplanetjanet
15-06-2009, 23:32
It was good seeing you today, Daniella! It was especially nice seeing the boys really interact this time. :)
I'm still up for Wednesday if others are as well. Afternoon is good, particularly from 3pm onward. Earlier than that and I have to plan ahead for an earlier nap. I can also do mornings, but I think a couple people so far have expressed a preference for the afternoon.
How did the Wednesday meet go? Sorry we couldn't make it. Are you planning another meet next week?
Not much to report. Blake still not walking! Hopefully soon as he's getting heavy!
interplanetjanet
19-06-2009, 16:13
Very well! Daniella, Marijke and I were there with the littlies. It was good to see Daniella again and finally meet Marijke!
I'd like to get together again next week sometime. If it works for everyone else, I'm happy with doing afternoons. They seem to work out well with the weather, since mornings have been overcast. As for what day, I'm open.
Oh yes it was nice! :thumbsup:
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and it was nice finally meeting up. It turned out to be such a lovely afternoon too so I'd say as long as its so cold in the mornings then afternoons are good for us too.
All days next week are good for us apart from friday.
Sounds like you all had a fab time. Wednesday and Friday afternoons are always best for me! Am happy to organise a regular if that suits too!!
interplanetjanet
22-06-2009, 09:50
Sounds like Wednesday would be a good day, then? Works for me. Everyone happy with that?
interplanetjanet
23-06-2009, 10:47
Any suggestions? Would you like to meet somewhere new? I don't know many of the parks in the area.
It depends on the weather really. We prefer an indoor play centre 'cos Blake isn't really on his feet yet, but are happy to go to a park if that's what everyone else would prefer. There's FitStart4Kids for $5 or Silly Seahorse for $7.50.
interplanetjanet
23-06-2009, 18:01
FitStart4Kids won't work for me, because they're only open until 1pm on Wednesdays, and I've got an OB appointment in Frankston in the morning. Silly Seahorse would probably be a lot easier to get to, either in the late morning or afternoon. They close at 4:30, though, so it would probably be best to get there by 2:30 or so if we meet in the afternoon.
tinkerlel
23-06-2009, 20:09
We might be a bit too late to make it to the play centre, but will txt if we are out and about early enough.
Have a great time!
Daniella
I'm sorry ladies but we've woken with the sniffles today - so probably best we stay awake I think. Really sorry. Enjoy!!!
interplanetjanet
24-06-2009, 10:28
I hope you feel better! Sorry we won't see you all this week. Hopefully next time.
I'm sure I'll be the one canceling soon, though, because it's really starting to feel like I'm nearing the end. I'm only two days away from the point when Jack was born, and my body is definitely letting me know it even if this one does hold out another five weeks. All I did yesterday was a couple loads of laundry and some dishes, and I was a mess for the rest of the day! My poor belly was rock hard and crampy, and my back was killing me. I had to sit down and try to relax for most of the rest of the day.
Actually, on that note, maybe I'll cancel this week too and try to get some rest. Marijke, if you still want to get together let me know. Maybe we can just meet for a bit at the park down the road, since you're practically my neighbor.
Sorry only just seen this - I wasnt going to be able to make it to the play centre today as DH had to take the car for work, and Anna is still having her nap now :sleeping:
I'm probably going to take them to the playground down the road tomorrow morning though as DH will have the car again so I cant go far!
interplanetjanet
24-06-2009, 15:33
Well, I'm glad you weren't able to make it, because I just woke up from a nap myself! I've got some errands to run this afternoon anyway. Let me know what time you'll be heading down there tomorrow morning, and we'll head down to meet you.
I'm sorry we can't catch up this week. Hopefully we'll see you again soon before bub arrives. How about Friday afternoon then? Or do you think you'd like to just rest for the rest of the week - completely understand.
interplanetjanet
25-06-2009, 22:38
Today was pretty hectic, so I think I'm going to rest as much as possible during the daytime tomorrow. I'm going to meet my husband in Cheltenham in the evening so we can take Jack to the play area at Southland. You're welcome to meet us there if you like. It's actually one of my favorite places to go, since it's perfectly suited for toddlers, and it's great when there are lots of kids to play with when the mall is open late.
That's understandable. We're all still a bit under the weather so might give tonight a miss. Hope you have fun.
interplanetjanet
27-06-2009, 00:01
Oh man, that was so much fun! I really love that place, because Jack always has such a great time. It's by far his favorite, probably mainly because there are always so many kids there. I like that it's a nice, contained area that's the perfect setup for toddlers, and there's coffee and snacks right there and tables that are convenient to keep an eye on the kids. I just wish some of the parents would back off a bit, though. Some tend to hover over their kids, so they not only take up some of the play area, but they also tend to block the view of those of us who would like to (or, in my current case, have to) sit down to watch.
MelindaJem
27-06-2009, 19:25
I'm in Parkdale and only just moved here this year so would love to catch up with other mums in the area.
I have just started going to a playgroup here in Parkdale and the mums are great. Its called Pied Piper playgroup :-)
Hi Melinda
I used to live in Parkdale - great place! Haven't heard of that playgroup - can I ask where and when it is? Would love to meet up!
Julie
interplanetjanet
30-06-2009, 08:46
Hi Melinda, welcome to our thread! I haven't heard of that group either. How did you find out about it? Playgroups Victoria?
Anyone keen on another meet next week? Went to silly seahorse yesterday - it was crazy seahorse!! Big kids running around the joint. Blake still loved it though. Hope everyone is keeping warm.
Interplanetjanet - any news yet???
interplanetjanet
05-07-2009, 11:03
Nope, no news yet. I'm just biding my time at this point, dealing with intense reflux, an impatient little bub and a severe lack of sleep. I haven't been reading the forum much, because I've been so tired I'm taking 2-3 hour naps every afternoon!
I bet the Silly Seahorse was busy! I went to Southland three times last week, and the play area there was packed, too. On my way into the mall on Friday, I ran into coogeemum, who was on her way out. I was a bit startled and must have looked really confused, because I'm not used to running into people I know here!
I'd be up for getting together sometime this week. As usual, most of my days are open with the exception of Wednesday this week as I've got plans.
You must be exhausted. Am happy to meet up any day this week too. tomorrow and Friday afternoons are good.
interplanetjanet
06-07-2009, 16:08
Now that I said I'd be up for meeting, I think I'm going to have to just play it by ear. Tomorrow works better for me than Friday, but today I'm feeling really exhausted and crampy, and it's all I can do to get my laundry done. I'll let you know tomorrow before lunchtime whether or not I'm feeling up to meeting in the afternoon, ok?
interplanetjanet
16-07-2009, 08:51
Anyone interested in meeting up on Friday?
Yeah I am free in the afternoon after Blake's nap. About 2.30 or 3? He's changing his naps now to one big one it seems.
Interplanetjanet - how are you feeling now??
Good news - Blake is walking!! :yelclap:
interplanetjanet
16-07-2009, 11:05
Yay, go Blake! I can't wait to see him walking. :)
3pm is a good time. Any preference for a location? It's beautiful outside now and is supposed to be sunny tomorrow as well, so perhaps somewhere outside would be good. Same place in Chelsea or somewhere else?
I'm feeling ok. I'm doing well, but I'm definitely getting to the point where I have to really limit what I do. My back just can't take doing it all anymore. My husband has been wonderful and has been cooking most dinners, which helps a lot.
Oh if its dry we'll come too! I went out to the local one earlier today whilst it was still beautiful but that big raincloud hit almost as soon as we got home!
interplanetjanet: I'm sorry I never got in touch earlier in the week, we made a last minute trip up to Mt Buller to enjoy the snow whilst its there and got back late last night.
Jules: Well done to Blake walking!! Cant wait to see him pottering around :D
That sounds good to me!! It will be fun to take Blake to the park now he's walking!! Same park as last time?
interplanetjanet
17-07-2009, 08:27
Same park works for me. See you at 3 then.
No worries about not getting in touch sooner, Marijke. Sounds like a fun trip!
tinkerlel
17-07-2009, 10:35
Hello all,
Back from sunny holidays and been getting used to chilly Melbourne. Patrick is busy as ever and if he is up in time, we will head to the park too.
Hopefully see you then,
Daniella
I'm sorry but I've lost everyone's numbers as Blake has been using my phone as a teether!!
Anyway, Blake's still asleep so will see what time he wakes - so not sure if we will be there.
Have fun!!
interplanetjanet
31-07-2009, 00:50
I just had my 40 week appointment, so I thought I'd post an update.
Today is 40 weeks according to my ultrasound, though by my period it's not until Saturday. The OB clinic was really busy, because two of the doctors were called over to the hospital for emergencies. I think that the woman I saw was just filling in, because she was a doctor, not a midwife, but she wasn't an OB. She left the room saying she needed to consult the OB a couple times during my appointment. She seemed quite negative about my prospect for a VBAC.
She said my cervix was 2 cm long and soft. I asked her if I was dilated at all, but she didn't answer and started counting numbers in her head to determine whether or not I'm favorable for an induction. The baby's head hasn't come down into the pelvis at all. I guess I ended up with a Bishop's score of 5, and they want 7 for induction. After speaking with the OB, she gave me a couple options, 1) come back in a week, and if nothing's changed we'll be in a hurry to schedule a cesarean or 2) just schedule one and hope to go into labor in the meantime. After speaking with my husband, we decided that maybe it would be good to schedule the cesarean for next week to get a slot and then ask them to check me again first (which she kept insisting they would 'probably' be willing to do) to see if they can induce instead.
She immediately called the hospital and then said they'd schedule me in on Tuesday! No choice, just Tuesday. They sent me across the road to the hospital to book in with someone there, and I felt pressured to take that day since they're really booked and normally schedule them three weeks ahead of time. Ever since I left, though, I've been feeling very ambivalent about it. If I go by my period, then Tuesday is only 40 weeks + 3 days, and that just seems so soon to me. I really want to avoid surgery if I can. On the other hand, I'm also worried from my identical twin sister's experience and from a comment my cesarean doctor made that my pelvis might be too small for a beyond full term baby, so at the same time part of me wants to avoid having a long labor again only to end up with an emergency cesarean.
I think I'm going to call the hospital in the morning and tell them that I want to wait until the end of next week. I just really feel uncomfortable letting them pencil me in for Tuesday just because it's convenient for them. The woman I spoke to today made me feel like it's not looking promising for me, but after reading up a bit I don't see any reason why the Bishop's score might not go up the 2 points necessary to be considered favorable within the next week! After all, doesn't the baby normally drop only a day or two before going into labor for second and later pregnancies, and don't most of the cervical changes actually occur during labor?
Is it a bad idea to have a cesarean scheduled at the last minute versus having one fit into their set schedule?
Needless to say, I'm going to try to do a lot of walking every day before then. If anyone feels up for a walk sometime between now and then, just let me know!
Oh wow :hugs: to you!
I'm not really sure about you should do regarding the appointment. I think personally I would prefer to have a scheduled c-section as opposed to an emergency one... more because I dont like the idea of things like that happening at the last minute.
But I do understand where you are coming from with your dates - and I would not be 100% certain that they would check you on Tuesday and try induction first, they would probably wheel you straight into surgery...
I guess the problem is that you are not 100% guaranteed to have a VBAC, especially not as time goes on, but there is still a chance that you could.
Have you called them already?
Eitherway, I'm still happy to meet up on Monday morning if you'd like :)
:hugs: :hugs:. How stressful for you. I know what you mean about the appointment - suiting them!! It doesn't sound like they are being very helpful. I have a friend who is a Doula and training to be a midwife who might be great to talk to to bounce off. She only lives in Frankston aswell so not far from you. She was at my birth and was a great support.
Have you called the hospital yet?
I am keen for a walk anytime!!
interplanetjanet
31-07-2009, 15:41
I rang the c/s booking in woman at the hospital this morning, and she kept insisting there was no other date I could schedule, not even a week later. She even went so far as to say she was going to be really stressed if anyone else called to try to schedule since there was no room. I told her that I still don't want to come in Tuesday and that I shouldn't have to schedule in early for major surgery that may not even be necessary just to make things easier for her. She finally told me that she'd have the woman I initially spoke to when I booked in yesterday call me back after her lunch break, but that was five hours ago and she still hasn't called. I tried calling again and got the first woman's voicemail.
I rang the OB clinic where this all started out yesterday, and I finally just heard back from a woman there. She was really nice and helpful. She sent an email to the person in charge there, who's out of the office today, but said I'd have to wait until Monday morning to hear back. She said if I don't hear from her first thing on Monday, then to give her a call (she gave me her number there and her mobile) and that she'd be my best friend and advocate and would do what she could to get things sorted out. So now I'm just waiting. I really hope that the people at the hospital don't make this a big fight.
I guess in the meantime I'll just walk as much as possible and hope this baby decides it's time to come out! I walked to Aldi and back home this morning, which was a good walk, and I'll be doing a bit of walking later with my husband. Looks like the rest of the weekend will be spent on my feet or bouncing up and down on the exercise ball!
Marijke, I'll let you know how things go Monday morning. I'd love to go for a walk then, but of course I've got to sort this all out first. As it stands, I'm supposed to go in Monday afternoon for blood tests and meetings with the doctor and anaesthetist, since they want me in at 7am the next day!
How did you go today? Have been thinking of you. Am happy to come for a walk anytime too. Hope things are starting to move for you!!
interplanetjanet
03-08-2009, 23:01
So I scheduled an appointment at the midwife/OB clinic today. I did everything I could over the weekend to try to encourage this baby, including eating spicy curries, bouncing on my exercise ball, having sex and going for at least a one hour walk every day. I went to my appointment fully expecting to see some progress, especially since the baby felt a bit lower this morning, and my plan was to cancel the cesarean and schedule an induction for later in the week. I figured it was at least worth a shot, even though there's a good chance I'd end up with a cesarean anyway.
Well, things didn't go at all how I planned, and I'll be going in first thing in the morning for the cesarean. I sat down with the doc and explained my desires and my concerns. He asked me about my last cesarean, and I told him everything I knew. One of the things he asked was how they knew I had developed an infection. I told him the three things they told me - that I had a fever, my son's heart rate was way up and there was blood in my urine. Then he asked me what I thought the blood in my urine indicated. I said I thought it was one of the signs of infection. He said no, it's a sign of obstruction. So I guess that's probably the reason why my last doctor said I may not have been able to push my son out anyway! According to what this doc told me, it sounds like he was already getting stuck by the time I had the cesarean. The previous doc didn't mention this.
The doc I saw today seemed pretty sure that there would be no way I'd pass this baby, given that I couldn't pass a 6 lb 6 oz one. He even said that from all his 30 years of experience he could almost guarantee just looking at how tiny I am and how huge my belly is that there's no way it would happen. I still wanted him to do an exam, and that was even more disconcerting. When examining my belly, he said that the baby was so high up that he could fit a finger in between the top of the baby's head and the top of my pelvis. He said that I wouldn't be dilated at all, given how high the baby was, but I asked him to please check anyway so I had all the facts. Sure enough, my cervix is still tightly closed. He said there's no way they'd induce me now, and it's highly unlikely that I'd become favorable for induction anytime this week. The baby is probably not descending, because she just won't fit.
So there you have it. After having the weekend to think about it and having done all I could to try to at least get this baby in a position where induction was possible, I think I've finally learned to be at peace with the result. I would really have liked to do the VBAC, even if induced, but in any case I get my little baby! Now I can't believe it's going to be tomorrow!
It sounds like you've done all the right things and and have made a good decision as a result. Well done. And you're probably holding your gorgeous little girl in your arms right now!!! I can't wait to hear your news!! I'm so excited for you.
Marijka - have you heard anything?
Oh huge :hugs: to you!
I was really hoping there would be some good news for the VBAC.
Sending you massive hugs and wishing you all the best for today!
Marijka - have you heard anything?
I just had a txt from her saying that she is waiting in the hospital and should be seen in the next hour or so. So fingers crossed they are able to fit her in soon!
I'll post another update if I hear anything (or can actually send you a txt too :yes:)
A text would be great!! Thank you. I'm so excited for her.
interplanetjanet
04-08-2009, 17:17
Well, it turns out that the caesar definitely WAS the right move. Would you believe that my (not so) little girl weighs 10 lbs (4.55 kg)?! She's huge, and everyone in the theatre gasped when they saw her. There's absolutely no way I could have pushed this little one out of me. So in the end, I'm feeling very good about today, because I clearly made the right decision.
She's beautiful and alert and very curious about the world around her. She was with us from the moment she was born and had her first feed within 1/2 hour while we were in recovery. She came straight back to the room with us and has been here ever since.
Anyway, I'll post more when I get a chance, but I better get back to feeding her. Thanks for the well wishes! I hope to meet up with you all to show her off soon.
Her name is Zoe Alyssa, and she was born at 11:52 this morning. She's doing great. :)
:smiliedance: YEAAAAY!
Congratulations with her safe arrival!! And woah at her birthweight!!!! I agree that it would have been difficult for anyone to push that out, let alone for you with a small pelvis.
Welcome Zoe! What a lovely name :yes: cant wait to meet her.
Congratulations to Jack too for becoming a big brother - how did he react to her?
Hope your recovery proceeds smoothly and that you are soon home to enjoy your new bundle :hugs: Well done!
congratulations of the safe arrival of your daughter Zoe
All the best for u and your family
coogeemum
04-08-2009, 22:28
:smiliedance: wow! Congratulations on the safe arrival of Zoe. Well done for baking her so beautifully. I've not been on bubhub a while and only just caught up on all the history. Hope you settle back in at home and recover quickly.
Great news!! Zoe is a gorgeous name!! Congratulations to all of you!! Hope you are recovering well and will be going home soon.
I'm in Highett with an 11 month old and expecting number 2 in April. I too am looking for a local group to meet up with, and its hard to find one which doesn't clash with sleeptime! Let me know if you arrange a meet up.
interplanetjanet
31-08-2009, 18:24
Hi rlz! I haven't been reading the forum in quite awhile, so sorry it's taken so long for you to get a reply! There are a few of us who get together somewhat regularly, but we don't post on the forum very much anymore. We usually just exchange texts, phone calls or emails. You're welcome to get together with us sometime when we meet up, though. We normally meet in the mid-afternoon, since some of our little ones still nap for quite awhile. If you PM me your mobile number and/or email address, I can keep you updated.
Thanks everyone for all the congratulations! :) Zoe's now almost four weeks and doing great, despite a trip back to the hospital at one week for viral meningitis. She's already into size 000 and is growing so fast. I'd swear she was born a 2 month old!
Anyone up for meeting sometime this week?
Yes I'd love a catch up - how about Wednesday arvo? Am looking forward to meeting Zoe! Sounds like she's growing very quickly.
Unfortunately tomorrow is no good now unless it's a really quick meet at about 4ish as I have to work in the morning now. How about Thursday???
interplanetjanet
02-09-2009, 08:04
Thursday works for me. Maybe we can plan on meeting at the park if it's nice and somewhere inside if it's rainy/windy.
Sounds like she's growing very quicklyShe certainly is...we just had her four week appointment yesterday, and she's gained more than 500g in the last two weeks (they like to see 300)!
interplanetjanet
02-09-2009, 12:46
What a gorgeous day! It was so nice out that I decided to head straight to the park after Zoe's pediatrician appointment this morning. I'm really glad we went. It's so nice to get out in the sun after the dreary weather we've been having. I hope it stays this way for awhile!
By the way, the doctor was really happy with her progress, and even though we were originally told that we'd have to go in every three months to monitor her for after effects of the meningitis, she didn't think that would be necessary. She was quite confident that it wouldn't be an issue. Yay! So now we have to take her to the audiologist for a hearing test just to be sure, but that's really just a precaution. She should be just fine (and she seems to respond to our voices, so we're not too worried about it).
Thursday is fine for us too...
There is a new park open in the Chelsea Heights area, its massive with a huuuuuge slide. Going to check it out later after naps :yes:
Will send a separate message out with details for tomorrow - if anyone else wants to join, just PM me :)
interplanetjanet
02-09-2009, 13:40
Is that the one they were rebuilding because vandals had burned it down? I'm glad to hear it's open already. I thought it wasn't supposed to be open until the end of the year.
Both morning and afternoon work for us.
tinkerlel
02-09-2009, 13:52
I will not be able to come Thurs, but very keen to meet Zoe (and how fabulous that she is now doing so well). Might head to the park this arvo, hopefully can catch you, Marijke.
Hooray for sunshine!
Daniella
Just let me know what you decide time wise via sms if that is okay. Look forward to catching up.
cheyreecekiara
05-09-2009, 14:43
Hi everyone... :wave: Have just had a quick read of this thread & would love to meet other people in the area. I'm in Seaford which isn't far from Chelsea. Have only been in Australia for 20 months having moved from NZ. My daughter is only 9months but it would be good for us to get out n about & meet others.
interplanetjanet
19-09-2009, 14:33
Hi cheyreecekiara! We don't always meet up every week, and it's not always the same people, but we do get together somewhat regularly. We don't usually post here when we're getting together anymore, but if you PM me your contact info (name and email and/or phone #), I can let you know when and where we're getting together next if you'd like to join us.
By the way, I'm just a couple suburbs north of you in Bonbeach.
angellee80
19-09-2009, 16:19
Hi, I'm relatively new to Melbourne and have recently moved to Bonbeach. I'm an ex-scientist-now-SAHM of a 17 month old boy and have a little girl due at the beginning of August. I've been trying to find a good mums group nearby, but as far as I can tell mums groups here seem to start at birth and be pretty closed to outsiders. I've seen women at the park near my house, but they seem to huddle in one corner of the park while their kids play and certainly don't seem interested in meeting others. I checked into Playgroups Victoria, but the ones nearby are all either at a church (I'm not religious), meet during my son's nap or charge for each meetup. I'd ideally just like to find some mums who'd like to meet at a park or other play venue for a couple hours a week. Anyone in the Chelsea/Bonbeach/Carrum area interested in having a toddler meetup?
Hi there im from chelsea.. a mum to 1 boy age 11 and 3 girls ages 9,7,5 and no 5 on way its a boy ..:) :flowerz:
KeithCheggers
19-09-2009, 20:34
It's been a while since I posted here but please let me know when your next planned meet up locally is and I'll try to get along with my son, now almost 5 months - where has the time gone!! It would be good to meet some fellow bubhubbers!
interplanetjanet
22-09-2009, 00:22
Hi everyone! The weather looks pretty unpredictable this week (as usual). Anyone up for a morning Silly Seahorse meetup sometime this week? We can always switch to somewhere outdoors at the last minute if the weather behaves.
Sounds good to me! Although I can only really do Thursday afternoon at this stage. Sorry to be a pooper. Thursday mornings are usually pretty busy though.
interplanetjanet
23-09-2009, 13:30
I can do Thursday afternoon, but not too late. 3pm would be good.
Okie doke. Do you want to text me (I haven't got your number - do you have mine?) at say 2ish just to confirm. Just in case we have any nap disasters etc as I have a crazy morning seeing the ob etc. so am hoping we're back in time.
Sorry ladies, wont be joining you tomorrow as DS has a really bad cough so wouldnt want him to pass it on to more kids than necessary, especially as it might be busy due to the holidays.
Hope you all have a good time though!
angellee80 - Do you ever go to the playground on Bicentennial Park?
KeithCheggers - I remember you from before you were due, and often wondered how you were doing with your LO now. Not sure if you remember me, I posted around feb/march time asking for advice as I was new to Bonbeach (well Australia in general) and didnt have clue where to go when I found out I was expecting!
That is a good point! Silly Seahorse could be ridiculously packed - especially if it's raining!!
Mabo - hope DS is feeling better soon.
I got a great job today - 9.30 to 2.30 two days a week - nice short days. On a Monday and Thursday! :yelclap:
I've got conjunctivitis and a sore throat - so not a good idea for me to meet anyone today!! Enjoy your meet!!
interplanetjanet
24-09-2009, 10:23
Ok, I hope everyone feels better! Perhaps we'll see you next week.