View Full Version : Anyone live near Ferny Hills, Arana Hills etc?
Horseymum
07-06-2006, 16:16
I missed the get together in the park today due to very sleep deprived teething son, but would really love to meet with some other mums and bubs - been feeling very isolated :(
I was wondering if there is anyone who lives around Ferny Hills, Everton Park, or surrounding areas etc etc that would be interested in getting together locally. There is a great park (George Willmore, i think) just across from the Ferny Hills Primary school - maybe there?
Just thought I would put out feelers....:)
Karen & Jett
There are a few Bubhubbers in your area - I'm a bit further away at The Gap though. George Wilmore (sp?) park is great :)
08-06-2006, 08:32
I am near K-mart Plaza and yeah would love to meet up in the park!
Hi :)
I also live in Ferny Grove and also feel Isolated. I would love to meet up with all those who live nearby. I can make it to the park, or anywhere else??
Amanda & Matt
Ethan DOB 29/12/05
Horseymum
08-06-2006, 10:24
Hi Noo, OscarsMum and Ziggy
Hooray!!!! people in my neighbourhood:yelclap:
OscarsMum i remember you said you lived close by from the RWBH thread i started (by the way did you get into the Pegasus program??)
Hi Ziggy, i live in Ferny Hills not far from the ferny grove train station so we are pretty close too.
It would be great to get together and if you have any other suggestions about where, I am open to anything - open spaces are always good because my little man loves to run!!! but I would be happy to get coffee instead....
I am free any day except for Mondays and Sundays (work) and can do any time (depending on how badly Jett and I need a sleep!) so let me know what works for you guys.
Im all excited now!!!
Karen
sam's mum
08-06-2006, 10:58
I am at Albany Creek and would love to know if you organise something.
btw two of the bubs with the same birthday - 22/2/05!
Hello again :)
Meeting up sounds good, I am free all days. :thumbsup:
My boy sleeps three times a day - mid morning or mid afternoon is probably best.
Amanda (32)
Matt (29)
Ethan DOB 29/12/05
08-06-2006, 16:28
Horseymum - I havn't found out if I got into the group yet but fingers are crossed tightly:fingerscrossed: lol
Sam's Mum - Funny eh about the b'day for Noo's little man and my little man, and they pretty much started walking the same time too!:laughing:
Umm well Tuesday suits me the best!
Horseymum
08-06-2006, 19:35
How about next Tuesday then?
Morning 10.30 at the park?
Let me know if this suits and we can finalise some details.
Noo - the Gap isn't too far away, hope you can come!
SamsMum - it would be great to have you along
OscarsMum - good luck with the midwife program, although I got in easy so you should too
Ziggy - does 10.30 work in with your sleeps? we can change it to suit...
Karen
sam's mum
08-06-2006, 20:32
Tuesday sounds fine to me and 10.30 fits well with our schedule. :yes:
Sorry guys, I'm going to be on the way to Adelaide as of Saturday and won't be back in town for two weeks.
Would love to catch up when I get back though!!
Hi :) :smiliedance:
Tuesday at 10.30am suits us as well.
Are we meeting at the part straight across from Kmart?
I assume I will just look out for women with babies?
Amanda
Matt
Ethan DOB 29/12/05
09-06-2006, 10:03
Are we meeting at the part straight across from Kmart?
Ooh that park would suit me better;)
Hello:) :smiliedance:
Tuesday 10.30am suits us.
Are we meeting right across the road from Kmart on Dawson Parade?
I assume I wil just look out for women with babies / children
Amanda
Matt
Ethan DOB 29/12/05
Horseymum
09-06-2006, 13:24
Hi Guys
So we will meet at the park across from Kmart (Dawsons Pde) at 10.30am on tuesday (13 June).
we could do the ribbon on the pram thing so we know each other but I don't really think there will be that many mums there - maybe I will stick one on my pram just incase!
Samsmum - are you familiar with the park we are talking about? (its at the intersection of Dawsons Parade and Patricks Road - Hungry jacks is straight across the road from it.
I am very excited:smiliedance: I might have a friend joining us from Rosewood that morning too. She has a 5mnth boy.
Karen
sam's mum
09-06-2006, 17:44
I should be able to find it. I know where the KMart is. Is the park really obvious? Is there only one parking area?
09-06-2006, 17:46
I should be able to find it. I know where the KMart is. Is the park really obvious? Is there only one parking area?
The park is on Dawson Pde right opposite Hungry Jacks and the service station! And yep only one carpark! It isn't a big park!
Kassiasmum
09-06-2006, 19:55
OOOh, I might come on Tuesday too if that's alright. My dd is 2.3 yrs.
Horseymum
10-06-2006, 11:01
It will be nice to meet you Kassiasmum:wave:
Tea Lady
10-06-2006, 20:48
I might be there as well if I'm over my :barf: See you then (hopefully) :wave:
Hi Im newish to Bris- living in Enoggera & I dont know anyone I would love to have the opportunity to meet some other mums. Also I heard about these mummy toddler yoga classes for mums & bubs crawling-2 years Im pretty sure they said Arana Hills if any one would want to try it with me.
Hello Again:)
Congradulations Horseymum, you have managed to organise and attract an extra few people along for our park meeting.:yelclap:
Looking forward to meeting you all.
Amanda
Matt
Ethan DOB 29/12/05
Horseymum
12-06-2006, 17:43
I know - I can't believe how many people have replied!!!! Excellent!
Spring - welcome to the neighbourhood! Hope you can make it tomorrow. I would love to do Baby and Mum yoga but as I am 6 months preg I don't know If those classes would suit me...but it would be lots of fun doing yoga with my little man!
I can't wait to meet everyone tomorrow...hopefully it wont be too windy
See you there
Karen
PS Does everyone know where the park is?????
Horseymum
13-06-2006, 17:44
Thanks heaps for everyone turning up today, it was really nice to meet you all and to get out of the house and be social!!!!
We should do something again soon...:thumbsup:
jsnowdon
15-06-2006, 14:21
what a shame!!! i only just read this!!! i live in ferny grove with my 3 yr old and 6 mth old. let me know if you have another meet up. i would love to meet some more mums around my area!!!
oscarsmum - i think you go to my playgroup - that photo of your boy looks really familiar!!
Oh, I just read this too! Not that I'm ready for playgroups yet, but will definitely keep things like this in mind, we're in Arana Hills!
15-06-2006, 15:34
oscarsmum - i think you go to my playgroup - that photo of your boy looks really familiar!!
lol oh really! That is funny! Do you go to the one at the Church of Christ?
Edited to add: I just checked the playgroup list and yep:yes: we do go to the same playgroup! lmao!
Small world isn't it!;)
I slept in last time (bummer) but if theres a next time Im keen:thumbsup:
Azalea Jae-2/10/05
Me-19
Reidymac
15-06-2006, 22:49
Wow, I’m just kicking myself about missing this thread. I also live in the area and have a 2.5 yr old and a 6 mth old. We would dearly love to meet up with some local mothers and play friends. If you are planning another get together any time soon please let us know too. :)
Horseymum
17-06-2006, 07:55
Hi Jsnowdon, V&M, Reidymac and Spring (and all the others!)
I would be happy to have another get together, its always nice to be able to do something with bubs close to home. V&M you are more than welcome to come if you want to meet some mums from your area...
What about Wednesday 28 June (not this coming wednesday, but next one) at George Willmore park on Ferny Way across from the Ferny Hills Primary School ? Say 10.30am?
There is also a good park just near Brookside, and one past the old dump at Upper Kedron...
I am open to any other suggestions...
Let me know what you think
Karen
Hi, the 28th is good for me I don't really mind where but if I was to pick one Id say Brookside because I don't have private transport & it's not far from the train station but any of those places are cool. Ill get there!:thumbsup:
Ill keep checking this thread for a final decision.
Azalea Jae-2/10/05
Me (Renee)- 20 in September
Horseymum
17-06-2006, 21:13
Hi Renee
If there is somewhere closer to you, then maybe we could work around that? Otherwise I think the Brookside park is good, or we could meet at the same park we did last time which is on Dawsons Pde (across from Kmart,Hungry Jacks etc) and is just down the street from Grovely Train Station.
As I said I am pretty open to any ideas so let me know what you think....
Karen:wave:
sam's mum
17-06-2006, 22:03
won't be able to make the 28th :no: going to Townsville for first week of school holidays.
But let me know where the next one is after that. :yes:
We both enjoyed the last one. :smiliedance:
jsnowdon
18-06-2006, 13:41
wed 28th is a good day for me, just let me know where and i'll be there
jocelyn
I'm not far from y'all either and have my car .. 10mnth old Miss Ashley and I would love to meet some new mums and bubs. 28th sounds great ... someone just confirm a place and we're in!
I wouldn't mind going to the park across from K-mart :yes: Iv never been to that one & it doesn't really make much difference to me its the same train just one or two stations up (gives me an excuse to have a look through K-mart & put some $ on my lay-by)
19-06-2006, 09:10
That date suits me fine!
Kassiasmum
19-06-2006, 14:41
I can't do Wednesday but will keep an eye on this thread for the next one after that and see if I can come to that one.
I would love to come, but my poor car died. If i have it back in time ill come but i doubt it.
Good thing is DH has mentioned just buying a new one!!:smiliedance:
19-06-2006, 17:26
I would love to come, but my poor car died. If i have it back in time ill come but i doubt it.
Good thing is DH has mentioned just buying a new one!!:smiliedance:
Ooh a new car!:thumbsup:
28th June suits me too :) - just let me know when and where!
Ethan and I enjoyed the last catch up at the park at K-Mart.
I am open to all ideas and next week should be a drier one for the park.
Keep me posted.
Amanda
Matthew
Ethan DOB 29/12/05
Could someone PM me the details when it is confirmed whereabouts you are going to meet.
Would love to try and come and meet you all.
My ds is 4mths old and I would love for him to get out and meet other babies and mums for me.
Cheers!:yelclap:
Horseymum
21-06-2006, 11:55
Maybe for convenience sake we should meet up at the Kmart park again as it seems to be central to everyone and close to public transport for those without a car...
Also liked the fact that it was fenced so didn't have to worry about Jett wandering too far!!
So it will be 10.30 next Wednesday at the park on Dawsons Pde across from Kmart. Bring a blanket and any snacks you want, and I will try not to be late this time:thumbsup:
Hope those that can't make it this time will be able to catch up with us next get together!
Karen
no.4ontheway
22-06-2006, 10:26
Hi, I am living in Arana Hills and would be interested in meeting in a park and hopefully finding out information about playgroups etc for the area from other mums. I have a 10 month old boy (12.8.05) and one due in late September. I also have 2 other kids (girl 12 and boy 8).:smiliedance:
Horseymum
25-06-2006, 15:31
fingers crossed for nice sunny weather for Wednesday - Jett is soooooo sick of not being able to run around outside:banghead:
Does everyone know where the park is?? Let me know if you don't.......
no.4ontheway - we would love to meet you so hope you can come along
See you all then
Karen
BelindaL
26-06-2006, 09:53
I'm a new mum & live at Ferny Hills. Do you mind if I come along too? I need to get out of the house and meet some new people; I'm starting to go stir crazy! :p So, it's this wednesday 28th June? I think I know the park at Arana Hills..... Is there a daycare centre next to it??? Could someone please PM me to confirm I have the right information - thanx -
Looking forward to meeting you all.
Me - 28
DH - 34
Annaleise Kate - 23 April 2006
(9 wks old)
26-06-2006, 12:11
Did I say I would come, if not I am coming!;)
This is a really STUPID question but.......where is arana hills/ferny hills???? I'm not a brissie girl (obviously) and have no idea where anything is!!!! I'm in Paddington..... am i close? (I am such a doofus......:o )
Reidymac
26-06-2006, 13:14
H everyone
Count us in too. We are really looking forward to meeting you all on Wednesday.
Hi MJF, not a doofus at all
Arana Hills/ Ferny Hills is in the north west of Brisbane about 20 minutes by drive from Paddington. I get the impression from the ladies in this thread that everyone is welcome and the more the merrier. If you feel like a drive from paddington could just head out this way on Kelvin Grove road. Keep on going as Kelvin grove road merges into Samford road and continues all the way out to Arana Hills, you will eventually turn right on to Dawson Parade and travel down until you reach the intersection near the Kmart shopping centre. The park we are meeting at is on the right hand side of the road (opposite the kmart, hungry jacks etc). There is a big sign out front ‘Lesley Patric Park’
Horseymum
26-06-2006, 18:48
Wow - what a turn out! I think I have counted 10 mums that might be coming?
Spring
Ziggy
Jsnowdon
Reidymac
Leanda
Iros34
no.4ontheway
BelindaL
OscarsMum
MJF (maybe?)
I am going to send PM to those that aren't sure where the park is...
Fingers crossed that this rain goes away - otherwise we might need to think of another meeting place - perhaps one of the cafes or my place......
Can't wait to see you all then:smiliedance:
Karen
Ethan and I have come down with a cold / flu over the weekend :( so we are going to have to give this one a miss - I wouldn't want to give anyone a cold.
Keep me posted for your next cath-up - we are both disappointed we can't make this one. :thumbsdown:
Amanda
Matt
Ethan DOB 29/12/05
My little sisters B.day party had to be put forward a day & my step mum asked if I could still help out so Azalea & I won't be coming tomorrow:(
We were really looking forward to it but I cant say no when its for my little sis. I hope there is another meet soon that we can come.
28-06-2006, 07:13
It's at 10.30am today right?
Horseymum
28-06-2006, 08:28
Yep - 10.30 today
I had about two hours sleep last night as Jett was up every hour until three and then didn't go back to sleep so I have been up with him all night - I might be a little worse for wear:thumbsdown:
But I will see you then...
Karen
Horseymum
28-06-2006, 09:31
no one will probably see this before 10.30 but i wont be able to make it today:crying:
I am having lots of trouble with Jett (very cranky and tired but won't go to sleep) and I am not coping too well from lack of sleep so I think it best that I give it a miss today - I am so sorry, I was really looking forward to catching up with everyone.
Have fun - I will see you at the next get together...
Karen:sleeping:
tupper_lady
28-06-2006, 10:54
I have just moved into Botanics estate behind brookside shopping centre so I am not far away! Would love to meet some north brissie mums the next time something is arranged! Cheers
BelindaL
28-06-2006, 14:30
I just have to appologise for not showing up thismorning. I had a friend pop in with her 6mth old bubba and we had our own little play group at home. I would love to come to the next catch up though! How often do you all meet?
Me - 28
DH - 34
Annaleise Kate - 23 April 2006
(9wks)
Oh no - we didn't make it either!
We had Ashley up at the hospital the other night - she has croup and is on steroids and Demazin so she just wants to sleep or cling to me.
Slightly annoyed that we missed out, but didn't want to pass on this nasty virus.
Next time!
jsnowdon
30-06-2006, 12:28
i'm really annoyed i missed another one!! how did it go?? i've two cranky snotty children for the past week so i've been hibernating at home, trying to get them better. keep me up to date, i would love to meet up with you guys.
Hi mums :wave:
I have a question that I was going to post in childcare but though I'd try my luck here first!
We're going to have to put our baby into childcare in June next year. It'll be almost 4 months. I was considering childcare near the uni I'll be going to but decided it'll be easier to have one near home so I can drop them in late morning and my husband finishes work at around 3pm so he can pick it up on the way home.
So my question is, what childcare centres would you recommend around our area? We are in Arana Hills and obviously happy to travel outside our immediate area for good childcare.
Thanks for your help :yes:
05-07-2006, 17:09
So my question is, what childcare centres would you recommend around our area?
I havn't used childcare myself, but have heard great things about Dixies childcare centre near Bunya Rd and Arlington Estate!;)
Thanks! We moved to Brisbane 2 years ago and have very few friends and have no friends with children so I can't ask around :no: Even if you haven't used them, I'm sure mums in the area would have heard things about different centres - good and bad! I'd like to hear both too :yes:
Thank you!
jsnowdon
07-07-2006, 13:50
my 3 yr old goes to busy bunnies at everton hills and i have no complaints - they are really good.
Mumshmum
07-07-2006, 13:54
I have heard that the C&K community ChildCare centre on Blackwood street is really good.
i walk past this sometimes and the kids are always really happy and well cared for (from what i can see!)
Horseymum
12-07-2006, 17:56
how about another meet up soon?
Any suggestions for dates and times?
Promise that I will make it to this one:fingerscrossed:
Karen & Jett
sam's mum
12-07-2006, 18:03
we'll be there as long as it is not next Wednesday or Thursday next week (19 and 20 July). :wave:
:wave: Yeah Azalea & I will do our best to come to the next one.
Would Friday 21st be good for everyone?:o otherwise any day except Wednesday or Thursday I could probably make it.:yes:
Georgie47
14-07-2006, 19:56
I am at Albany Creek and would love to know if you organise something.
btw two of the bubs with the same birthday - 22/2/05!
Hi Sams mum,
Just saw your in Albany Creek and wondered if you knew of any nice playgroups, not long been in Aus from uk and am getting to know 'the Creek' slowly!!!:thumbsup:
Cheers!
sam's mum
14-07-2006, 20:02
I have been to a Friday morning playgroup at the Uniting Church. There are a few other ones around. I want to go, and I try to go. But they are all between 9am and 11am, and this is when Sam sleeps!!!! aaarrrggghhh
HEy, I am in Ferny Hills too:) We have had a couple of bubhub meetups at George Wilmore park:) Can't wait to get back online properly so I can keep up tol date with what's happening:)
Georgie47
15-07-2006, 18:06
I have been to a Friday morning playgroup at the Uniting Church. There are a few other ones around. I want to go, and I try to go. But they are all between 9am and 11am, and this is when Sam sleeps!!!! aaarrrggghhh
Thanks for that, i'll get my bum into gear and check them out, Max has just turned 2 and now only has one afternoon sleep! I miss that morning sleep, i'm only 33 but he wears me out already!!:sleeping:
Horseymum
17-07-2006, 19:25
How does everyone else feel about friday 21st? it is good for me
can anyone else make it on that day?
Hi Ffrenchstar - nice to meet another mum from Ferny Hills!
How does everyone else feel about friday 21st? it is good for me
can anyone else make it on that day?
Hi Ffrenchstar - nice to meet another mum from Ferny Hills!
:thumbsup: :thumbsup:
:yes:
Me and Jake will be there!:smiliedance:
18-07-2006, 08:54
I will be there too!;)
Horseymum
18-07-2006, 11:02
Excellent - can't wait to catch up with everyone again.:wave:
I am just wondering if we could make it earlier or later than 10.30am because this seems to be Jetts new sleep time and as he is only having one sleep on most days now I can't really afford to miss it.
Any time suggestions?
Oh I'm so jealous I can't go yet! I barely even have a baby bump.... please tell me we'll still be organising these kinds of meets when I actually have a baby to bring and when I'll no doubt be craving adult conversation :laughing:. I'd love to meet other mums in my area but I'm only 10.5w and still working fulltime!
Have fun ladies, looking forward to hearing how it went :yes: :D
18-07-2006, 12:22
Oh I'm so jealous I can't go yet! I barely even have a baby bump....
Barely there baby bumps are always welcome to come too!;) So if you ever get a day off come along!
Excellent - can't wait to catch up with everyone again.:wave:
I am just wondering if we could make it earlier or later than 10.30am because this seems to be Jetts new sleep time and as he is only having one sleep on most days now I can't really afford to miss it.
Any time suggestions?
Maybe in the afternoon then? Azalea only has one sleep a day too at about 11:30-1:45:confused:
Otherwise I guess I could do earlier Id just have to set an alarm because we don't ussually get out of bed till about 8:30. I don't really mind though whatever suits everyone else.
Horseymum
18-07-2006, 15:13
Yeah I'm thinking later aswell. Maybe around 2.00pm?????????????Just throwing it out there!!!?
19-07-2006, 07:21
Yeah I'm thinking later aswell. Maybe around 2.00pm?????????????Just throwing it out there!!!?
I am easy going, whatever!;)
2:00 sounds good, I might be a little late depending on when Azalea wakes up but shouldn't be more than 15 minutes.
Horseymum
20-07-2006, 07:45
Okay 2.00pm it is at the usual place!
Will see you there......:wave:
I can't make it today - DH is playing Dad whilst I help my parents in their business today.
I do like the afternoon timing though instead of the morning - great suggestion.
Look forward to meeting you all next time instead.
Horseymum
21-07-2006, 11:19
Ahhhhhhhhhhhh buggers!:banghead:
I might not be able to make it this afternoon now!!!! SORRY - I know this is the second time I have had to pull out at the last second.
I have a friend that needs me today:hugs: - I will try to get back by 2.00pm but I don't know if I will make it by then.
Also Jett has developed a cold so maybe it is not a good idea for him to be mixing with the other little ones!!!!!! (What is the "ettiquete" on these things??????:confused: )
Well I might see you guys later - have fun if I don't and maybe we can organise another one really soon.
Karen and sneezy Jett
Hello:)
It seems I also have missed the park catch-up. I haven't been on line for awhile. We went on a well deserved holiday to Alexander Headlands. It is really nice up there and great for kids as well. I found cheap Acommodation on Wotif.com.
Well keep me posted for next time
Amanda
Matt
Ethan 29/12/05
22-07-2006, 16:03
Ladies - only 3 of us turned up, what's with that???????????
Last time there was only 4 of us no one bites;)
Oh that bites :thumbsdown: Hopefully you'll have a better turn out at the next meet.
sam's mum
22-07-2006, 18:29
sorry couldn't make it at that time - gotta be home for the school girl!
Horseymum
24-07-2006, 19:49
Yeah sorry about that guys - I feel really bad about organising it and then not be able to show!!!!!!!!!
Turns out Jetts cold was a lot worse than I thougt it was so maybe it was a good thing we didn't come and spread the germs.....
I am very keen to try again soon so don't give up on me yet!!!!!!!
photoprone
16-02-2009, 15:54
Bridgeman Downes Baptist church have a community playgroup running Tue, Wed and Thurs. Great atmosphere!
10 min from Arana Hills
avanicolesmummy
20-02-2009, 12:00
hi everyone
im victoria and im 22 i have a little girl ava who is 6 months and we live in ferny hills and the park that was mentioned in this thread is our local park... noticed its quite an old thread but was just wondering if anyone is still interested in meeting there one day...
Hi Victoria,
I am unsure if this group still meets.
I have a little boy who is 4 days younger than ava named ash we would love to meet up with other mums. We are at kobble creek but are happy to travel to ferny hills. SO please let me know.
Regards
Angela