View Full Version : Gestational Diabetes
Hi. I'm wondering how mums to be are coping/coped with gestational diabetes.
I had my GTT done last week and I rang up the next day. The lady told me my results were fine and that I was all clear. Then I received a letter in the mail yesterday with 2 appointment dates to attend the diabetes clinic. I rang the hospital back to find out what was goin on, and apparantly the woman had given me the WRONG result. :mad:
NOT HAPPY!!!
So my appt is next week. How did you cope? What sort of difference did it make to your pregnancy, delivery and baby?
luckie_me
07-06-2006, 06:26
I have Gestational Diabetes and i havent really found it much of a problem
I just eat healthy ( bugga all suger :crying: ) excersise a little more and pick myself 4 times a day to check my BSL. Its usually pretty good so i dont have to have insulan which im happy about lol
07-06-2006, 08:22
I had GD with my last pg. Mine was diet controlled. I can't say I was paticulary happy about that especially as I was pg all through the x-mas period so I missed out on all that yummy food.
I think I found the worst part to be the portion sizes not that I am a big eater, I do however like the feeling of being full especially at dinner which isn't really possible unless you want to fill up on heaps and heaps of vegies every night!
The finger pricking part wasn't too nice either, I felt a bit like a pin cushion, but all in all I did cope!
I found having GD a bit of a hassle. Having to watch absolutely everything I put in my mouth got to be a bit much.... even though this is what I should be doing all the time, not just when pregnant.:yes:
Mine was diet controlled and I really missed my icecream (I'm addicted to the stuff).
As you probably know GD can tend to increase the growth rate of babies and I ended up having to be induced because they thought DD was getting to big. (They were wrong). Scans indicated she was over 10pound, but was born 8pound 12.
I hate to scare anyone who is going to be induced soon, but it was not a pleasent experience. Lots of pain, very quickly...no gradual build up like in natural labour IYKWIM? Not having had a natural birth, I can't really make to many comparisons, but next time around I am definately going to avoid an induction if at all possible.
Going for my test today.. Wish me luck. :fingerscrossed:
How many test do we need to do till the baby comes?
Hi, I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes after the 28 week test. I started on diet but had to go onto insulin. Some people just get it worse than others, its not necessarily about how much youa re eating etc. I had to monitor my blood sugar level 4 times a day, in the morning when I woke up, then 2 hours after each main meal.
I had to have insulin 4 times a day. The needles really aren't that bad, the blood sugar needle hurts more than the insulin one. If you are public they will organise a glucometer through the hospital for you.
The diet is basically a low GI diet. This means no white bread (unless its low GI white bread) or potatoes - these have the highest GI. Lots of veges, some fruit (although fruit contains natural sugars). The hardest thing was watching portion size and what time I ate, also not being able to eat dessert when out (actually icecream is OK in small amounts but no other desserts unless just fruit). A dietician will give you lists of what you should eat lots of and what you should avoid.
The good thing is that at least you can do something about it, unlike a lot of other problems in pregnancy. The bad thing is that every time your sugar is high it is affecting your baby (a good motivator for being careful with diet!!).
I had an elective caesar as the scans said he was big. However he was right on the 50th centile when he was born, which I was very proud of!!
In most cases the diabetes goes away as soon as the baby is born, and it did in my case.
I guess the big thing for me was that I was quite large (in the tummy) by 30 weeks, I looked like I was about to deliver. So I did get tired earlier.
The news that I had GD stressed me out at first but there's lots of info and good recipes out there. Its not too hard when you get used to it. I found I had to write everything I ate down for the first week or two, then it was just the blood sugar reading.
Anyway, hope that helps. Its a fairly common complication in pregnancy so there a quite a few people around who have had it.
Let us know how you are going!!
Sue
PS There is a new magazine out about living with diabetes with recipes etc, saw it in the newsagent the other day)
I think the hardest part is finding out which food combinations work for you. I was to the obsessive I know, but in talking to others have found they weren't given a lot of info to help keep it under control.
I stuck to my diet to the letter no more than two serves of carbs per snack and no more than 3 serves of carbs per main meal. I still read labels now and exercise after each time I eat.
I think that was the key, exercise. After I sorted out testing myself (I hated that bit) and food and exercise I had no problems what so ever. Not only was I 14kg lighter when I had DS2 but I also had my levels back to normal by 38 weeks and was able to stop testing.
i found it to be very hard and frustrating. they didnt outline exactly what would affect my blood sugar at first but later i got the hang of it.
everyone that gets GD has different tolerances to food. i controlled it at first with dieat but my fasting levels (from bedtime to morning) were too high so i was put on insulin. but just one shot at night, not 4 a day like some other women have to. and its true, the needle for the finger prick hurts more than the insulin one.
i had to be induced a week and a half early because of DS being a large baby but i suspect it had more to do with him being a large baby in general not being a big baby coz the diabetes.
but i was more concerned about DS being born healthy than me having GD.
i had to be induced a week and a half early because of DS being a large baby but i suspect it had more to do with him being a large baby in general not being a big baby coz the diabetes.
but i was more concerned about DS being born healthy than me having GD.
It's the GD that causes them to be big. I was boarderline with DS1 and he was 9lbs, with the diet an exercise DS2 was 8lbs4oz, where he was on track to be the same size if not bigger than DS1.
i know its supposed to but i think it only played a part in why my ds is a big boy.
when he was born he was a big boy but not really fat iykwim...
and if the diabetes made him big wouldnt he be more fat than anything? and would his weight slow down once he was born?
DP is pretty big so DS has the same build. broad shoulders, small hips. tall with big hands and feet. i know that hasnt anything to do with the GD.
well i could be wrong but thats just my theory.....:p
I don't believe it makes them fat fat, just bigger all over. DS1 was a whopper, he didn't look massive though till he started running around and losing weight. DS2 is much the same, while he doesn't have the same small frame of DS1 he was much slimmer in the face but still big.
I know diet and exercise certainly helped keep him smaller (his feet are huge two 15 months and in a size 6 shoe:eek: ) so now I'm TTC again I'm back on the old routine. I know I had it easy compared to some, but it I was determind not to go on insulin, I worked pretty hard. We did a lot of research before I managed to get to a dietician (was diagnosed two days before Christmas) and I'm glad I did, most of the info I found out came from research we had already done.
:barf: the stuff they have you drink an hour before taking your blood - argh!. Talk about sugar overdose.
so gross huh? its sweet n bitter at the same time...
DS was doing backflips in my stomach when i had to take that test after i had the drink..
Mummy 2B
07-06-2006, 16:37
Yuk!! I hate that drink and I have to have it again this Friday. :barf:
My test result last week turned out positive for GD so they are sending me in for more tests to make sure the result was correct. Very very scared of what the result might be :(
You're not alone there. I am afraid too. Will know in a few days.
it doesnt always turn out positive again for GD but it can. miine did. it'll be alright if u get it... its not that hard to deal with and u get plenty of support from bubhub...i wish i knew about this site when i was pregnant...
Yes it's great to have everyone's support here. I find it so frustrating that the staff at the hospital treat me like I'm a complete moron, and nothing is ever explained.
It's also annoying that I rang the hospital a month ago and asked to do the tests as quickly as possible because I could tell there was a problem every time I ate sugar. It all just seems to be taking forever. :banghead:
The main things to remember are to try and avoid sugar and fatty foods. Watch your carbs (14 grams = 1 serve) 1-2 serves per snack and 2-3 per main meal. Try to exercise in the two hours after you eat, even if it's just walking on the spot for ten minutes and drink lots of water!
I'm a bit late on this one, but wanted to share my experiences.
I have had insulin dependent GD three times ... my dd was born at 37 weeks by c/section weighing 8lb 7oz, absolutely perfect and with apgars of 9 and 10. She didn't need any special care and I was just monitored due to low amniotic fluid levels and high blood pressure leading to pre-eclampsia (mild).
My ds was born by c/section at 36 weeks weighing in at 13lb 2oz with low blood sugars and apgars of 9 and 10 also. I was in hospital for 7 weeks due to polyhydramnious (measured to be an excess 6 litres of fluid!) and low blood pressure.
The third time I lost my baby at 11 weeks due to my having bi-lateral pneumonia ... I was on insulin from 10 weeks.
The diet becomes second nature, the finger pricks no more than an inconvenience and the insulin something that you just do without thinking! The main thing is that you are doing it for the most wonderful end result that any diet could give and you feel really good as you are having healthy food and exercising! I lost 15kg over each pregnancy, but that is probably because it takes so much out of me!
The jury is out as to whether GD makes babies "big" or "fat" ...
HERE (http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b23/kytw/Scan10003.jpg) is a link to a picture of my ds at 26 hours old ... you be the judge:thumbsup:
08-06-2006, 16:03
I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when i was 14 and was put on insullin immediatly because i was quite sick my sugar levels were very high and it pointed to type 1 juvenile diabtetes.I was on insullin 3 times a day and had to test my sugars 4 times a day i was like this for 3 years when i noticed my sugars were getting low.I went onto tablets and were still low so went on a strict diet.It has been under control for 2 years without insullin through both my pregnancies i was pretty normal had 3 meals a day with vegies and meat non fatty stuff and stayed away from sugar but every now and again i do treat myself which my body seems to handle.My last Hb1ac blood test which is how much in control you have been over the last three months and that was 4.2 so the doctors are very happy with it.I ask them if i dont have diabetes anymore and they say very unlikely:laughing: just my wishful thinking.I just go with the flow eat healthy excercise and treat myself but thats only cause im well controlled and my body seems to handle it otherwise i wouldnt be able to have anything sugary:( .Doctors now say that i am type 2 diabetic because its controlled with diet.
08-06-2006, 16:20
My ds was born by c/section at 36 weeks weighing in at 13lb 2oz with low blood sugars and apgars of 9 and 10 also. I was in hospital for 7 weeks due to polyhydramnious (measured to be an excess 6 litres of fluid!) and low blood pressure.
OMG I checked out your link of your DS that is incredible! Did you go into labour naturally or were you induced due to his size??????
08-06-2006, 17:49
I've got GD and am on insulin as diet control didnt work. I will be having a csect 1.5 weeks early due to the GD but also I have preeclampsia as well so its not just the GD.
I find that about 25% of the injections are 100% painfree and the other 75% really hurt. I've got terribleeeeeeee bruises from the injections and I bled about 50% of the time I do them. My fingers are also bruised and swollen from the 4 finger pricks her day. Some people tolerate it better than others im guessing, my body doesnt seem to like being pricked :S
The diet was a really big change and is still hard but now i have a bit of room to move because of the insulin which is good! I even get to sneak a piece of chocky when my BSL is low! I also found it really difficult for the first 6 weeks to adjust to eating the 6 small meals a day instead of 3 meals a day like 'normal' but now thats easy, i just basically don't stop eating small meals as long as im awake!!
Everyone is different with how food reacts with them, I find ALL bread pushes my levels up high, potato hardly makes a difference to me, quiche and fish are great for keeping my levels down, lasagne and spag bol keep my levels fine, ALL breakfast cereals make my levels go up except plain porridge (oats and skim milk) which has it bordering high but still okay. Apples are my life saver, i eat 3-4 EVERY day....
I never had GD with my first pregnancys only this one. I'm told my baby is on the 60th percentile size wise and am expecting around an 8lber which is huge as previously ive had a 2lb 12 ounce and 5lb 12 ounce bub!
The benefit definitely is the weight loss tho, i gained 20kg in my first pregnancy and 6kg in my second... then in my 3rd I had gained 5.5kg but then LOST 12.5 kg in 2 weeks after starting on the diabetic diet and have been stable ever since, not gained any not lost any. and also I like how I've been educated so greatly at how bad a lot of things i was eating actually are!!!!! I've learnt things that will help me through the rest of my life with my healthy eating choices! :D
08-06-2006, 17:59
The benefit definitely is the weight loss tho
I actually ballooned following the GD diet!:eek: No matter what I ate I put on weight it was horrible!
Hi I had diet controlled GD and while it wasn't a lot of fun (jeeze I missed cheese cake and chips), it was good because I got into the best shape I'd been in for ages - due to the low carb diet and exercise - there was not an ounce of fat on me - I was totally lean. I even lost my baby belly within a week:thumbsup:
I had a normal delivery a week and a day after my EDD and a healthy 3.62 kg baby:yelclap: .
I hope all goes well with you - I know I was a bit bummed out when I first got my diagnosis, but at least it's only for a little while and it goes away as soon as the baby arrives:hugs: .
OMG I checked out your link of your DS that is incredible! Did you go into labour naturally or were you induced due to his size??????
I went into labour at 32 weeks but they managed to stop it. I had a c/section with my dd so they weren't going to let me have him vbac. They wouldn't tell me a realistic estimate of what size he could be, only that he may be a 10lber! They thought that I would freak if told the truth!
I ended up with a scheduled c/section - hip to hip and no problems with healing etc afterwards ... I was getting up and down from the floor playing with my dd the next day!
SuperWoman
11-06-2006, 00:36
I had GD with my DS and at first I found it so annoying, I didnt know what to eat, then I was too scared too eat anything, didnt know what I was doing. It was controlled by diet and finger pricking 2 hours after each meal. i really missed my choccies, sweets and junk food and portion sizes were a hassle, but eventually you get used to it and find it easier to manage.:)
I'm wondering do they just determine bubs size by measuring with a tape measure, or will I be likely to have a scan?
Last time they told me ds would be around 10lbs, but he was 8lbs. Not sure that the tape measure thing is all that accurate.
I'm wondering do they just determine bubs size by measuring with a tape measure, or will I be likely to have a scan?
Last time they told me ds would be around 10lbs, but he was 8lbs. Not sure that the tape measure thing is all that accurate.
When i had GD with Samuel they measured (with a tape measure) my belly quite regularily.. Once i was quite a bit big ( measurements for dates) i was 41cm at 36 weeks they booked a scan.
When they scanned me they estimated 8 1/2 lb's Samuel was born two days after that scan at 6lb 7oz!!! So dont believe anything they say to you about size they are always "guesstimates"
once i found out i had GD i had regular scans, sometimes weekly ones, where they kept monitoring DS's weight. they were pretty much on track with how big he was.
12-06-2006, 22:55
I've been having once-twice weekly scans checking bubs and measuring her to make sure everythings okay and shes growing nicely. They estimate she will be around 8lbs at my csect which is in 14 days when I'm 38w4d if I make it that far!
They have been checking my fundal height each time too but I dont trust that either.
They are definitely all guesstimates... my DD they told me at 32 weeks that she would be 'no more than 5lbs fullterm' then born at 35 weeks she was 5lb 12 ounces already.... with DS on the DAY he was born they said 'at least 1500grams' and he was only 1200! both by ultrasounds
Just called the clinic to find out my test results. Seems all is clear. :)
Great news Tulp! You can celebrate with a big fat yummy chocolate. :)
I went to the GD clinic today and received my glucometer, so it will be interesting to see how my readings go.
Did that with yummy chocolate chip ice-cream.
I just wanted to see if there are any other mums to be that have been diagnosed with gestational diabetes and obstetric cholestasis in the same pregnancy. I am 31 weeks and found out at 28 weeks that I had obstetric cholestasis which means 3 visits a week to the hospital.
My glucose levels were only just over at 28 weeks and I was only booked in for the 2nd glucose screening this morning. This showed that I have gestational diabetes. My grandmother had diabetes so I am not at all suprised.
Feels like I am copping one blow after another at the moment. So are there any other mums to be that are suffering the same?? Maybe we can complain about how much it sucks together....lol.
Lisa
14-06-2006, 11:39
I just wanted to see if there are any other mums to be that have been diagnosed with gestational diabetes and obstetric cholestasis in the same pregnancy.
Sorry I have no idea what obstetric cholestasis is? Can you please tell me?
maybe1more
17-06-2006, 23:57
Hi all, i had to do the ttc last week, as my blood test do by the prick of the finger was 7.3 and the midwife said i was supose to be around 5!!!
That drink "load" is so gross and to comsume it within 5 minutes:eek:
I find out at my next antenatal appoitment what my results will be, which is in 3 weeks. Im wondering why i had this test at 21 weeks, i thought i was at 28 weeks??? My midwife did say i had to do the finger prick test at 28 weeks aswell. I hope i dont have it but if i do, you ladies have sure given so great advice:thumbsup:
I didn't have to do the finger prick test till I actually had GD and that was only to keep an eye on my levels (4 times a day), but usually they don't pick up GD till 26 weeks with the glocose drink, did they tell you to do the carbo loading before your test?
maybe1more
19-06-2006, 13:53
Sarie- no they didnt what is that carbo loading test??? All i had to do was fast from the night before and untill after may test was complete. :confused:
Before I did my the test in my last pregnacy I was told for the 3 days before the test to have extra carbs in the main meals, I'm sorry but I can't remember how much extra I was sposed to have, then fast the night before. It should give a more acurate reading, also I waited an hour between drinking the drink and them doing the blood test, no walking around during that time, except to go to the toilet.
maybe1more
19-06-2006, 14:11
Thats is interesting, i was told to eat what i normally would in the days leading up to my test!!! I also has to sit down and wasnt allowed to walk around as apartantly this can effect the results. My arms did look like pin cushions afterwards. Im just ancious for my next appotiment to come up so i can get my results, or maybe if i do have gd they will call me before that.
When I ended up with GD last time, my reading was 7.8, from what I've heard 7.5 is the cut off, so you should be right.
If not, I wouldn't be too stressed, change your diet to a low carb, low GI, low fat and sugar and with a bit of exercise you will notice a difference. Even if you don't have GD if your reading is still in the 7's if you look at changing your diet and exercise a bit it may help you get a bub that's not too big.
I'm only 5 weeks pregnant now, but I have started back on my GD diet and exercise routine from my last pregnancy. My hope is to beat it and make sure I don't get it (I've lost 20kg since I last fell pregnant so that will help me big time also) and if I do end up with it I hope to have it well under control from the start.
maybe1more
19-06-2006, 17:06
Saire- thanks alot you have given me some great awnsers and you are so right, im going to watch my diet from now on, its kind of like a reality check, also congratulation on your pregnancy and well done on losing 20 kg!!!
Well I've been monitoring for a week and my results aren't as good as I was hoping for. I've had four readings over 7, and today I had an 8.2!!!!!! OMG. :eek:
Tomorrow I have my appointment with the GD doctor, so fingers and toes are :fingerscrossed: . I will be extreeeeeeemely unimpressed if I have become insulin dependent.
Yes, this pregnancy has been really hard work - 4 months of terrible morning sickness incl hospitalisation, some nasty ongoing gastric thing, reflux, ptyalism (constant overproduction of saliva), pubic symphsis thingy and now this. Aaaaaaaagh.:banghead: Why why why? Ok, my official whinge is over now, thanks for listening.......er reading. hehe.
Thanks Jenny! I hope to lose a couple more kg's over the next couple of weeks, if I weren't pregnant I would have liked to have dropped about 10, but doing what I am with eating and exercise I think I'll lose around 2-5kgs over the next few weeks.
Cathy, don't be too concerned when you've only been monitoring for a week, I don't think they really look at putting you on insulin to you are consistantly getting 9's. It took me quite a while to get the hang of the foods that I could tolerate and testing myself. You'll get there! :hugs: for you!!
Thanks Sarie. I went for my appointments this morning. Fortunately the diabetes educator said that although my levels were high, she didn't want me to go on insulin just yet. PHEW :smiliedance: I need to monitor closely for the next week and increase my exercise.
I've been a bit (ok, really) stressed too so that's probably bumped up my readings as well. I know all this healthy eating is great for bub and I, but I'd love to hook into a feed of KFC and a big glass of coke. :rolleyes:
:hugs: Cathy! Try not to stress out too much, give yourself a break. You know if you're really hanging for that KFC give yourself a week to get your readings under control then give yourself a treat. You could work a burger or a small chips into one of your main meals, just not both.
If I had a treat like that I would do it at lunch time and make sure I did extra exercise to compensate.
Make sure you drink plenty of water too, but I whole heartedly believe exercise is the key, if you've got an exercise bike try and ride it for as long as your backside will allow you and try to add five minutes every day. I can now ride it for nearly an hour before I need to get off, but I'm trying to alternate with a stepping machine at the moment.
mama anne
20-06-2006, 23:49
hey to all, just diagnosed with gd last week and had my meetings with the endochrinologust, obs, dietician, and diabetes educator today.
i have to test 4 times a day ... feeling okay about it all actually.
just wondering about a few things .... thought this might be a good place to ask questions :)
it says on my info sheet that (apart from the b4 brekky prick which is under 5.3) i should be trying to keep my levels between 5.3 and 6.7 ... if my levels are under 5.3 then should i be eating something to raise them?
in terms of finding which foods raise my levels and which are ok ... do you ladies find that becomes clear after one test or after a couple ....
anyway hope you are all feelin well.
by the way, i've been on the diet for one day and i can totally relate to wanting a burger and a big glass of coke ... only 9 weeks to go :)
Hi Anne. Welcome
It's weird how everyone is told something slightly different. They said to me that if you have levels over 7 to be careful so don't worry too much about figures under that.
My after breakfast levels were around 6.5 - 7.0 for 3 or 4 days, so I stopped eating porridge and changed to one slice of burgen bread with vegemite and some fruit and no fat plain yoghurt. It made a big difference, so I'll stick with that. It's just a matter of trying different meals and seeing how your body reacts.
I have found that stress bumps up my readings and exercise lowers them. Even if you can't go walking, do some arm exercises as it seems to be that using your muscles is the key rather than raising your heartbeat - although that is helpful too.
mama anne
23-06-2006, 17:53
ok this might not make sense .... but try to bear with me (maybe someone else with preggy brain will be able to understand me ;) )
i have to test 4 times a day .... pre and 2 hours post brekky, then 2 hours after lunch, 2 hours after tea
and obviously am meant to be having snacks in between
but when would the food that i'm eating for snacks show up in the readings?
example
if i had brekky at 10am, had morning tea at about 11:30am, tested at 12 noon .... then would my morning tea affect the reading?
just trying to figure out which foods make my readings go up significantly .... but i'm eating all the time and can't figure out what is affecting what reading .... :banghead:
Hi, yes your snacks would affect your readings. I tried to snack AFTER the 2 hour reading (as a kind of reward too!) - eg breakfast at 0700, test at 0900, M.tea at 1000, lunch at 1200, test at 1400,a/tea at 1500 etc...
Plus the 2 hours goes from the beginning of your meal (I had to ask the doctor that one!!).
HTH
Sue
it says on my info sheet that (apart from the b4 brekky prick which is under 5.3) i should be trying to keep my levels between 5.3 and 6.7 ... if my levels are under 5.3 then should i be eating something to raise them?:)
Dont' worry about your levels being too low unless they are around the 3.0 mark ... at that point, if your meal is still a long way off, a slice of wholegrain bread with a small sugary drink (softdrink or cordial) should get your levels back up and steady until your next meal.
I was always advised to have a peanut butter sandwich before going to bed as this would keep my levels up during the night ... I was insulin dependent though, so it may be different for you.
mama anne
24-06-2006, 11:17
hey thanks ladies for the replies ....
when we initially left the diabetes educator/dietician i thought they'd given us heaps of info, and they did, but not so much about what stuff means in real life .... if that makes sense!!!
my lowest has been 3.7 .... and my highest has been 5.9 .... and that's with having apple crumble and icecream the other night, a chocolate bar the other day, a chocolate brownie yesterday .................
i know i'm not meant to be eating bad stuff but i ate it kindof to do research about levels and stuff (and probably cause i wanted them also, i won't lie) and they did nothing to my levels .......
anyway, thanks for your replies!
Hi Anne, sounds like your levels are great. Good on you!
After having a series of ridiculous readings I came to the conclusion there is a problem with my glucometer. I rang the company that makes them and they said that it wasn't likely and the lady was rather snitchy on the phone about it. She said she'd send me some test liquid though to make sure.
My readings continued to go all over the place, so I borrowed my FIL's machine and guess what........... totally different results! Eg his machine would say 5.5 and mine would give me a reading of 7.3. :mad:
So now I am testing with both machines each time until my next appointment.
Sorry I have no idea what obstetric cholestasis is? Can you please tell me?
Hi Oscar's Mum,
Obstetric cholestasis is when you itch all over. The levels of bile salts in your body are high so the liver is not functioning at full capacity. Means extra monitoring for growth and health of baby and induction at 36-37 weeks because of an increased risk in stillbirth. I found itchymoms.com to be a good site if you want to know more.
Thanks Lisa
Oh that sounds very unpleasant. It really is amazing how our bodies all react so differently to pregnancy.
I'm looking forward to my appointment on thursday with the birthing centre to see how things are progressing. I've lost 1kg in the last week (I'm 31 weeks now) and I'm a little concerned.:eek: Perhaps it's just the GD diet that I'm on, and the extra exercise.
Did anyone else notice their weight not increasing when they found out they had GD?
Yep, I definitely lost weight - there were weeks late in the pregnancy when I didn't gain any weight (and my memory is a bit hazy, but I think I may have even lost a kg or two at times) - and lots of the nurses noticed how lean I was.
The great thing about it was that after the birth I lost my baby belly within a week - I'd never looked so good:thumbsup:
Unfortunately once I had bub and was BF, my appetite came back big time, and I ate all those yummy things I couldn't for so long, but once those cravings settled, so did my weight - it was great to use the info I'd gained from my GD days to help get my weight under control.
Thanks BJelly, very reassuring. Hopefully I won't have to work as hard as I did after last pregnancy (when I put on over 20kg!!).
I lost 14kg all up, so by the last time I was weighed before I had DS2 I was 2kg under my prepregnancy weight!
I also lost weight on the GD diet. Unfortunately once I had bubs I started eating all the foods I had missed whilst pregas. I have been meaning to start the GD diet again...but the best of intentions aren't going to help. I have to get off my butt and excersize/ eat well.
I lost 5 kilos when on the GD diet with Samuel...
26-06-2006, 15:39
I posted a thread about this but seeing as though quite a few ladies with GD frequent this thread I thought I might ask here too!
Is the purple skinner sweet potato low GI because when you peel it the flesh is white underneath so looks like a normal potato. If anyone happens to remember my silly question when they are visiting the Dr would you mind asking for me!:fingerscrossed: ;)
I found this info which might help:
Sweet potatoes. Despite its name, the sweet potato is not related to the potato. Potatoes are classified as tubers, while the sweet potato is a storage root.
The colour of the sweet potato doesn't make any difference to the GI, all sweet potatoes are the same GI level.
26-06-2006, 17:21
I found this info which might help:
Sweet potatoes. Despite its name, the sweet potato is not related to the potato. Potatoes are classified as tubers, while the sweet potato is a storage root.
The colour of the sweet potato doesn't make any difference to the GI, all sweet potatoes are the same GI level.
Thanks soooo much for that info Wattle!;)
I was diagnosed this last wednesday - has upset and stressed me out quite a bit because I'm just worried that our little boy will be ok.
I have to admit that in the last 3 weeks I had been having a lot of sugar cravings and attacking works lollie jar which is not good - basically all my fault really. But on the other hand, I was being very good at lunch with salad sandwiches, apples, mandarins, low fat yoghurt etc....but my obstetrician told me mandarins and the yoghurt are high in sugar - you kind of don't think about it because you think it's good for you.
I'm monitoring my blood at the moment - after meals has been within range, but the fasting period has been rather high. My obstetrician unfortunately didn't give me alot of information on diet as he doesn't like to be 'strict' about those things, but basically told me to keep away from sugar - which every single thing in the supermarket has!!! I'm a bit confused about the sugar/carbohydrates thing. I have bad preggo brain!
I'm going to see the diabetes education centre at the hospital on tuesday though so hopefully they'll be able to help me out a bit more and i will be less confused. I did buy a diabetes cookbook (available from bookstores) that is done by Diabetes Australia which has some yummy recipes - but still some things with sugar etc. It gives you the carb content, but as I said, I'm just confused by it all. i spoke to a Diabetes Australia dietician yesterday and she said limit snacks to 15g of carbs and main meals to about 30g???!?!?!? I look forward to tuesday i think!!!
Hi Wattle, I had GD and I was very upset at first because I couldn't eat chocolate! Lol.
Really though, it's not that bad, it keeps you healthy and bubs more importantly.
I lived off Basmati Rice, it tastes so nice.
I was worried my baby would be large, but he wasn't. Just make sure you keep your BSL low and things should be fine!
Also, breastfeeding is good for you and the baby if you had GD. It lowers the chances of you developing diabetes and the chances of your baby developing childhood diabetes.
Hi again...i just read through the entire thread....
Interesting how everyone gets told different things. My ob said my levels should be between 4-5 in the morning and 5-8 2 hours after meals - seems rather high compared to what some of you have been told!
I guess the diabetes educator will help me out a bit more - everything crossed!
It's all so confusing isn't it. I also found that my machine gave me totally different readings when I did several tests to compare results within 5 minutes. I even rang the company that makes the testing machines and they said that this is normal. :banghead: So it makes you wonder how accurate the whole system is.
Anyway.....
Here's a few sites that I found to be really helpful
http://www.diabeticmommy.com/34-gestational-diabetes-diet.html
http://diabeticgourmet.com/recipes/
Meals that have worked well for me have been:
Chicken kebabs, with tomato, onion, mushrooms etc. I lightly marinated the meat, and grilled the kebabs.
Low fat lasagne - I made with low fat cheese, extra lean mince, no white sauce and threw a few vegies in too.
Lean burgers
Vegie soup - sweet potato & other vegies
Another (cheeky) thing is that, if you are not over weight, you don't have to limit fats too much whilst pregnant (you are not supposed to be losing weight while pregnant). So full-fat cheese is OK, meat is OK etc etc...I had lots of meat and salad / meat and vege dishes, omelettes with ham and cheese etc.
You do have to watch sugar but its actually more carbohydrates than sugar as such...so you can get away with some chocolate (esp dark) etc.
My readings used to vary from minute to minute too, if you get a high reading it is often worth repeating it on a different finger as it might come back to normal!
Sue