View Full Version : Bumgenius OSFA vs BBH Magicalls AIO
Jaspat24
17-03-2009, 18:52
Hi i showed a friend my stash of MCN's today which includes the two types listed in the title. She is a mum of two who has/is using disposables. She loves the idea of MCN's but isn't in a position to change over.
Her feedback was that the Magicall's would probably be easier and the middle wouldn't 'twist' around whereas the OSFA wouldn't be as good to use. I like the idea of using the OSFA cos it grows with the child.
I have 8 of the Bumgenius OSFA that i haven't washed etc and she rcommended selling some/all and buying more AIO's.
I've noticed thatothers like and use the Bumgenius, are these the OSFA or the bumgenius AIO's?
What do you girls think?
mmm, i have only used the BG OSFA and i love them! haven't had a problem with them and love how you can vary the inserts/boosters to suit your needs. i love BG but haven't gone the AIO as i wanted a nappy that would last bub a few years. didn't go the magic-alls for the same reason, although there are plenty of great reviews for them
hope that kinda helps. i reckon your stash sounds pretty good. nice to have a bit of variety rather than just all of the same:)
kezzaskids
18-03-2009, 13:04
I have BG AIO and BG OSFM and I love them equally and they are pretty much the same! The one size was a little bulkier on DD as a 2 week old but now she is 4 months old and I have her in a large or the OSFM and there is no difference except that her small BG AIO do not fit at all and the mediums are getting a little small. I think now that I should have got more One size but in saying that I love my sized magic alls and ittis and Bg.
Maybe your friend wants to buy your BG and thats why she is telling you to sell them? But there is definitly no reason to sell them off unless you dont like them!
Jaspat24
18-03-2009, 19:06
Thanks heaps for your quick replies girls!
So far i have 5 newborn Magicalls AIO's, 6 small Magicall AIO's (with 8 more on the way), 3 medium Magicall AIO and 8 BG OSFA.
I will def keep all of BG OSFA following your advice! I know i have heaps of smalls so the BG will probably get the most use as bub grows out of the Magicalls!
Thanks again! Jasmine
katieinwa
19-03-2009, 01:53
i didnt start from birth for DD, i think she was 3.5 months old?? i have 6 BG AIO sized, 1 BG OSFA and 9 med magicalls. i found the magicalls were bad for BF poosposions. I never had a leak in either BG type. The elastic just fit more snugly around her legs. The magicalls are more bulky and take soooo much longer to dry. They are a good wear-around-the-house-nappy. You will get the least amount of time from the smalls/newborns, they grow so fast
GraceUnhearing
19-03-2009, 02:14
i cannot stand the BG
there are soooooooo many betternappies out there that arent so over priced either
that have a much better fit too.
not to mention the elastic in the bgs go very quickly!
GraceUnhearing
19-03-2009, 02:24
oh and the small sized majicals were one of my favs when Zeke was a newborn
they were great!
Jaspat24
19-03-2009, 09:21
I know it will ultimately depend on my bub in regards to wetting habits, poosplosions, leg sizes etc. I've done the ultimate preggo brain mistake: i think i've ordered too many new small magicalls, and now i'm interested in some of the bamboo fitted from BBH. I bought 6 small magicalls over the net ($11 each) washed, not used though and with the 8 i've ordered, makes 14.
Oh well, i spose what's not used can be swapped or put aside for other bubs!
Thanks heaps for your replies, its so helpful to hear from others what has/hasn't worked and for what reasons too!
I've got 2 wks to go and am just so excited.