View Full Version : A few Q's for anyone who hs been induced
So, there is a strong possibility of being induced due to my blood pressure.
I want to know a coupl of things...
Did you go straight for the epi?
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time?
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif?
How did it go?
What sort of pain releif did you use?
Was it effective?
Any advice on how to handle an induction would be apreciated.
(i understand all births are different, just looking for some persectives)
Chunkydunks
14-03-2009, 19:23
Did you go straight for the epi? Never had an epi
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? no
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif? I wish I hadn't because the peth did nothing but make me throw up and the gas did nothing but make me spacey.
How did it go?
What sort of pain releif did you use? Peth and gas
Was it effective? far from it.
I was induced with the gel not the drip so that could make a huge difference. I was able to feel my contractions gradually get stronger whereas I think those that have the drip get them strong and fast right from the start. Thing is I was in pre labour for 3 weeks before they induced me so thats probably why the gel worked for me an hour after they applied it. The gel doesn't work for many women.
Best of luck with it all.:hugs::hugs:
Electric Rodeo
14-03-2009, 19:23
How did it go?
Was it effective?
I was induced with my first for the same reason.
I didn't have an epi, in hind sight would have loved one but now with 2 labour/births without one will aim for not having one again. Tempted though:p
For pain relief with my induction I had pethedine(hated it made me feel really out of it but still in pain) and gas, that helped me concetrate on my breathing cause I kept breath holding in contractions.
My 2nd birth was spontaneous and much preferred pain wise(sorry) but I would be induced again if the need arose.
Good luck with whatever happens:flowerz:
Electric Rodeo
14-03-2009, 19:28
CDunks reminded me, I had the gel the night before, waters broken the next morning and drip put in straight away. If I am ever induced again, I can handle the waters being broken but will try to avoid the drip, it's a killer( not literally but full on from word go, no lead up):no:
Thanks for th quick reply girls!
They were talking drip, which from what i have read HURTS:p
I had panedene forte for bad toothache a few years ago, and it was hideous! i was tripping all over the place, and was so sick!
Now, correct me if im wrong, pethadine, is the active ingredient in panedene forte?
I had pretty much written that one of because of the ill side effects i had with that.
I heard that the gas didnt help with the pain, which sounds like it for what you have described.
Mitake, thats reassuring that you would do it again if need be.:D did you use any techniques with the labour to help you through?
(we've been studying acupressure and calm birthing, im just hoping some o it will still be handy if i have to be induced)
CD, i havnt had an internal to see if gel would work, i would prefer the gel, but i think if they are going to do it, they will want it done in the 'quickest' way possible. (damn)
I have another check tomorrow, u/s first up monday morning to check 'fetal wellbeing', (bubs is ok, on the ctg today, was moving round like a trooper,lol). They were planning inductoin yesterday, but i stabalised to 140/95
(after 150/105!!)
Induction is scaring me, so your responses are greatly apprecited!!!
Chunkydunks
14-03-2009, 19:43
Codeine is the main ingredient in panadine forte. Pethidine is much stronger.
Hi there!
I was also induced with the gel first and then they put the drip in (incredibly painful, sorry!) to get things moving quicker. I had 2 lots of pethadine which worked wonderfully as the gas did nothing but make me dizzy. I also used a TENs machine, I don't know if you are familiar with that but it doesn't affect the baby at all and I honestly don't know how I would have coped without it. Good luck, you'll be fine :)
Hi, I had to be induced because I had strep b and my waters brke. It is dangerous for a baby to stay inside after the waters break with strep b so 7 hours after they ruptured, I was induced. I had already gone into labour but it wasn;t going fast enough.
My body reacted straight away adn DD was born 50mins later.
Did you go straight for the epi? I didn't have an epi but at the height of the pain, I asjed for one but it was too late. Am so glad I didnlt now as I walked to the labour ward with my baby in my arms!!!
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? Not if it was going to be as quick :)
What sort of pain releif did you use? I had gas and pethidine. I felt like the gas was useless. The pethidine did nothing either. She was born so quickly though, even the midwives weren't epxecting it. they start by giving 30ml in the drip and go up to 150ml in 30ml incemernts but they actually turned mine back to 15ml.
Was it effective? Not until after she was born, she had to be monitored because o the strep b plus she arrived so quickly after I had the pethidine. I was pretty ditzy for an hour afterwards but felt it did nothing to ease pain during labour.
I was induced with DD2. Gel and then labour 20 minutes later. Very intense very quickly. Gas worked a treat. I found the induction sooooooooo much better than my "natural" labour with DD1, although she was posterior. Hope that helps!
Electric Rodeo
14-03-2009, 20:05
They were talking drip, which from what i have read HURTS:p
Mitake, thats reassuring that you would do it again if need be.:D did you use any techniques with the labour to help you through?
(we've been studying acupressure and calm birthing, im just hoping some o it will still be handy if i have to be induced)
I have another check tomorrow, u/s first up monday morning to check 'fetal wellbeing', (bubs is ok, on the ctg today, was moving round like a trooper,lol). They were planning inductoin yesterday, but i stabalised to 140/95
(after 150/105!!)
Induction is scaring me, so your responses are greatly apprecited!!!
Don't be scared, hope I didn't say anything that makes you worry.
I used the shower alot for pain, I can't really complain as the whole labour was just over 3 hours, full on but quick, thank goodness. My 2nd labour was only 45 mins so I'm hoping if I have to be induced this time things will go pretty quickly and knowing I've survived twice(bad choice of words sorry) will be encouragement enough to get through the pain.
From what I've read the drip can speed things up and is totally doable.
As for something to help you through, do whatever you feel like. sounds dumb but I clearly remember feeling guilty cause the pain was intense and I couldn't walk the halls or even stand up. Everyone says you have to e active for labour to be quicker. So however you feel, do what feels right at the time(my fav position was laying on my side on the bed).
Fingers crossed it isn't too painful, doesn't sound like it will be long before your holding your little bundle. How exciting.:goodvibes:
I was induced for hypertension. I was already 3cm, so had waters broken then the drip for 12 hours. I had an active labour, with a portable ctg monitor and took 2 panadeine. After 12 hours I was only 4cm, so I had a caesar. I'd recommend staying upright and off the bed, as the only time the pain was unbearable was when they made me lie down for examinations. In retrospect I do wonder if I'd have dilated further if I'd have had an epidural. It was all rather unpleasant, TBH, and I'll be doing everything I can to avoid induction next time. I'd have the gel, but I'd fight tooth and nail to not have my waters broken again, cos once they do that, the baby has only a predetermined amount of time to come out before they caesar you.
MummyDaddy
14-03-2009, 20:11
No - I was told I had to get to 3-4cms before I could have an epi for the best possible chance of a natural birth.
I would demand that I not be induced.
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif? How did it go?
Not me - I tried for a good 12 hours - the pain was like instant transition labour for me and as such I couldn't cope, gas wouldn't do it, i finally gave in and had the epidural which I was thankfully 3-4cm dilated and as such enough.
Was it effective?
Gas, to begin with - it was fine until the drugs kicked in then all it did was kind of send me off to another place where there was still pain.
Shot of pethidine - did nothing.
Epidural, the only thing that removed the pain, but it didn't work in one spot so I still felt the labour in that area.
Stay calm. Surrender to your body. If at all possible get up and walk around. Remember your breathing, and tell them to turn it up gradually. Good luck.
abibelsmum
14-03-2009, 20:17
No
No
Was it effective?
DD1 Gas then an epi. She was posterior. Gas was making me throw up - I couldn't handle that and the constant back pain so had the epi (bliss after that)
DD2 Shot of pethidine - didn't relieve pain but didn't get any worse. Liked the fact that I got up straight away after the birth (unlike with the epi).
I had my gel with DD1 and I hated it, it did nothing but make me feel awful. I then had my waters broken and the drip put in. With DD2 I refused the gel and just went straight for the drip. Both times the contractions started off very mild and gradually increased - every 30 minutes the midwife would come in and increase the drip level.
Don't let them tell you you can't do anything just because of the gel or drip ie if you don't want to be stuck on a bed then don't. Get in the shower if you want, move around, bounce on a ball.
Jinglebells
14-03-2009, 20:20
Hi there, i've been induced 3 times now, each one because my waters broke early
i've never had a epi, but I sure did beg for one each time, so glad I didn't have one though
2 of my inductions were done by a sepository (can't remember the name of it) and one of my inductions was done with the drip
i've only used the gas, yes it does make you space out, and you do have to time the sucking of the gas so it has a effect on the pain
my only advice is to relax as much as possible, move around alot (I managed to move around even though strapped to a machine) even if its just around the bed, also if you havn't progressed much after a while, don't get dishartened, because your being induced before bubs is ready it can take longer, if the OB mentions a csect because of this, and you don't want one, then hold off, as long as bubs is alright, with my last baby, it took 5hrs to get to 3cm, another 3 or so to get to 5cm, then was less than 2hrs later DD was out,
mitake, no, your post didnt scare me, llthe research i've done scares me!:D I appreciate the feedback, it helps me to mentally prepare.
Im hoping that if i do have to go to the drip, that fingers crossed, it will only be a few hours of pain (hpefully!)
Thankyou so much girls!
It just goes to show all the experiences are so different.
So im still leaning away from gas and pethadene, but i also dont want an epi!;)
sooo, we'll see how things go i spose, with any luck bubs wants to escape in the next day or 2, and i can avoid te induction all together!
(wishful thinking!!!)
3blue&1pink
14-03-2009, 20:36
Did you go straight for the epi? No
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? No
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif? Yes
How did it go? It all went fine. I had a normal vaginal delivery. I found that when the drugs hit though I went from nothing to bang.
What sort of pain releif did you use? None, I focused on my breathing and remaining calm.
Was it effective?
I am being induced again with this pregnancy.
maorimama
14-03-2009, 20:40
I was induced with all four with gel, ARM and drip for the same reason, hypertension.
With my first, second and fourth labours, they were all well established before I was advised to have an epi to help lower my BP, I was also hooked up to a drip and CTG which made moving around really difficult. My third was without pain relief, nice and fast and with no drip which meant I was constantly on the move. I think being mobile was what sped the labour up.
To be honest I hated the epi all 3 times. It was only effective on one side of my body so intensified the pain on the side that I still felt it. With my fourth it was given at 5cm dilation and before it had taken effect I felt pushy and had dilated completely and had him so waste of time really but the midwife and OB said that it probably relaxed my body enough to open right up, plus it lowered my BP.
I would advise you to move as much as possible and try hold off as long as you can from having an epi.
Good luck :flowerz:
Hi Tash, i promise im not stalking your threads:D
I was induced as my DD was 2 weeks overdue. I also had borderline high blood pressure.
I had the drip inserted in my hand and spent the first few hours labouring without any pain relief. My plan was to get through it all without any kind of relief. I had done alot of reading about induced births and knew that syntocinon tended to make contractions worse but i was willing to work through it.
I was constantly hooked up to a monitor and after an hour or two my DDs heartrate started to drop with every contraction. She was pressing on the cord. I was told to roll on my side (which i still regret doing to this day). DD turned posterior at that point. From then on i couldnt labour in the bed. So i stood next to the bed for like 4 hours. I was in lots of pain by this point and had been using gas for a few hours to help me breathe through the contractions (it did nothing for me besides numb my face, but it helped me keep my focus on breathing as opposed to how much pain i was in)
DDs heart rate was dropping again and i had this sudden urge to push. I started asking for an epi but was told it was too late. I had to get up on the bed and was fully dilated. I tried to push her out for an hour but was then told that she wasnt moving down properly and was stuck. She was going into distress. So we made the decision to go to theatre. Had an Epi at this point and DD was born via csection.
My advice. Stay calm. You dont have to labour on the bed if they have you hooked up to monitors. Ask questions. Dont let them bully you into anything. Go in armed with as much information as you can.
If you have any questions, you know where to find me mate:hugs:
Juzzy,
(no one IRL life knows whats going on, so please don't mention it, or on FB;).)
I feel that alot of the midwives down here are open to 'alterative' measures for pain releif, so thats helpful.
After hearing alot of yor stories, im more confident that with the methods i've practiced, i will hopefully get through using them.
knowledge=power:)
(i apologise for all my spelling mistakes, my keyboard s paying up!)
Juzzy,
(no one IRL life knows whats going on, so please don't mention it, or on FB;).)
No worries ;)
I know what thats like. I wont say a word :)
The more confident you are the better you will be able to deal with the situation. It sounds like you have done alot of research (i knew you would :laughing:).
Thanks Juzz, we're trying to keep it all under wraps.
The less pressure surrounding the labour the better!
We dont want people getting their hopes up that we'll be going soon either, ahh, the pressure:laughing::laughing:
yeah, i feel i have enough knowledge to take a midwifery test with all the research ive done on pregnancy!:laughing:
(but im sure you have done the same!;))
Thanks Juzz, we're trying to keep it all under wraps.
The less pressure surrounding the labour the better!
We dont want people getting their hopes up that we'll be going soon either, ahh, the pressure:laughing::laughing:
yeah, i feel i have enough knowledge to take a midwifery test with all the research ive done on pregnancy!:laughing:
(but im sure you have done the same!;))
Ohhhh mate... hearin' ya!
I had phone calls from my mum from 38 weeks onwards... keeping in mind i ended up going 2 weeks over! Talk about pressure!! Next time, im not mentioning the EDD at all. LOL
In all seriousness. You will be fine hun. At the end of the day as long as you and bubs are healthy, it doenst matter what you have to go through to get them here.
pegasaurus
14-03-2009, 22:02
I was overdue both times and in the public system they wait 14 days before intervention.
First time I went into labour six days late. Had an EPI (godsend - but slowed everything and may have contributed to forceps birth as couldn't feel) Went on drip and lost control of contractions; but knew no different.
Second time, paid more attention to using gas/pethidine; really wanted to avoid catheter. Drove home with baby 11 hours after birth. No regrets.
misskittyfantastico
14-03-2009, 22:09
How did it go?
Was it effective?
I have polysystic kidney disease - big high BP.
Was induced with both births.
I should just link the birth story for my son....If you're interested I'll link it - otherwise just search Hamish Joseph...I have to go do mumming. Will be back.
I was induced at 39 weeks due to GD. I had the gel at 6pm and they were going to break my waters at 7am. I went to the toilet at 3.30am and had what I thought was very painful BH, went back to sit on the bed and my waters broke.
Cause I had the gel I was in the hospital so they gave me a shot of peth and told me to try and go back to sleep (being my first labour they expected it to go on for some time). DD had other plans though. By 5am I was in the birthing suite. By 5.30am DH turned up and I was already in the shower. DD was posterior and it was very painful. I begged for an epi, but they gave me gas and a ball to sit on in the shower. I begged for an epi again at about 7.30am. They did an internal when I first went to the birthing suite and I was only 1cm so they estimated that I would have been only an extra cm along and said they woulf be back in an hour to check to see if I was ready for the epi... I called the MW in 20min later because the gas was doing nothing and I just wanted my epi... They decided to do an internal then and I was 91/2 cm... I had DD at 10.54am (71/2 hours from when my waters broke). The best pain relief for me was puhing her out :D
Juzz, yes, next time, dates will not be discussed! if im due mid jan, they will be told early feb!:laughing:
pegasaurus, the lack of movement is what scares me wth the epi. i think i will avoid it.
misskittyfantastico, il do a search and have a read, thankyou.
Tls5431, see, you just never know how the body will react! you would have been exstatic when you found out you were 91/2!
Well, slept briliiantly last, cooking some pancakes for dh and i for brekky, then heading to the hospy for another check. 'Feeling' fine (but thats the thing, i was feeling fine when my BP was of the charts,lol!), So thinking nothing will be happening today.
I will kepp all of you lovely ladies informed of how its all going:D
15-03-2009, 10:35
i had pethidine/morphine when i was about 3 cms dilated... but only because im hopeless at relaxing during contractions, so when i get it, i breathe through them and dilate very quick:D
ive been induced 4 times.. so heres my "things to do"
ive never had a drip..so i cant give you advice on that.
as soon as you can, get up, and walk around.. it really helps..
when the contractions start to get strong, jump in the shower..serious, they dont feel as bad.. and if you can, opt for a disabled shower, they have bars going around it, and they are the right height to rest your arms on as you squat in the shower... oh squat in the shower. rock in the shower, sway your hips..
when the contractions get so bad that you think "i cant do this anymore"..relax, your almost finished:thumbsup:
SiarasMummy
15-03-2009, 12:45
I was induced also due to high blood pressure and signs of pre-eclampsia. My labor was horrible.
I'm sure a lot of women had worse than me but I found it really traumatic and cried about it for days afterwards.
I was induced with the gel in the morning and started having pains right away - I was told I would have my waters broken the following morning. They gave me another dose of the gel at 5pm same day.
I ended up going in to labor myself later that day, I hadn't slept for 36 hours (I had been in hospital for observation beforehand and found it impossible to sleep). My waters broke at 5am the next day and I held out for as long as possible with pain relief. The contractions were so painful because my baby was in the posterior position and I couldnt get out of the bed to help move her position.
I started pushing at 10am and still hadn't gotten anywhere by 12pm because she was posterior which is when they gave me the epidural, episiotomy and forceps. The worst experience I could ever imagine. But I must admit the epidural was vvvveeerrrryyy nice. It left me wishing I had asked for it a lot earlier.
Another friend of mine was induced with the drip and went in to full labor straight away which she said was very painful but her labor was over in 3 hours - it just depends what you think you can handle. I think I would have preferred her 3 hour labor over my 24 hour ordeal. But you know, all women handle it differently.
The only good advice I could offer is to try and get a lot of sleep the night before and if possible get out of bed and move around during the labor - I was not permitted to get up and found it really hard to be in bed for such a long time. I think if I could have walked around the labor would have been a bit easier and it might have helped turn the baby around to the right position. And for the early pains I had heat packs which helped - make sure you ask your midwife for them!
Ys_Woman
15-03-2009, 21:12
[quote=tommo787;3574093]
Did you go straight for the epi? I've never required an epidural but have always said I would take anything and everything if I needed it. It is a personal choice as each delivery is different.
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? n/a
How did it go? Yes, with my last bub I was induced and went fine without pain meds but it was a short labour and it was really only the last three contractions that were hard. Again, if I were in agony for hours on end I would probably want them to bring it all on..lol.
Was it effective? n/a
Don't really know what to add here. I decided I wanted to be induced after labour hadn't started within 12hrs of my waters breaking. My midwife took me from the birthing centre to the labour ward where a doctor hooked up the drip to the back of my hand then left us. I then slept for the next 45 mins waiting for the pains to come. From the FHM readout it appears I was having contractions but not feeling them. They were not consistent until six minutes before he was born then I really felt those last three..oh boy I felt them..lol.
Being induced (without an epi of course) doesn't limit you either, you can still birth in any way, shape or form.
I hope that when the time comes you have thoughtful practitioners and a great labour experience. Of course you will get a lovely bub out of it whichever way you birth.:cloud9:
Good luck!
Amy:)
Seacretsquirrel
15-03-2009, 22:03
I was induced with both mine was well overdue with both, and had Group B strep with #2
Did you go straight for the epi? Nope!
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? Nope!
What sort of pain releif did you use? Just the Gas
Was it effective? The first time round it made me really spacey and sick and so I told the MW at my second birth this and she gave me something to stop the nausea (maxalon I think) and it made such a big difference. I only used the gas for the transition with my first as it made me feel sick - (so nothing for the actual delivery) biut with the second I only used the gas toowards the end and it helped focus my breathing and took the edge off the pain, didn't kill the pain but made it a bit more bearable.
Go in with an open mind and try to go with the flow it will happen fairly fast (usually) once it gets going so be aware that you might go from go to who in quick sucession.
If you have the drip make sure they don't put it in the elbow they did this with my second (after trying to get it in my right hand, right arm near my elbow but on the outside, left hand and left wrist - my veins kept collapsing but I was very bruised after all that) and it meant that each time I bent my arm it blocked the drip and my contractions stopped! - which gave me a break but made my labour longer. Not to mention it was rather uncomfortable to labour on all fours with a straight arm and breast feeding was a bit of a pain until the canula came out!
Good luck I am sure you will be fine whatever you decide regarding pain relief - remember this is the only type of pain that actually gives a fantastic reward at the end of it!:hugs:
Seacretsquirrel
15-03-2009, 22:06
I was induced with both mine was well overdue with both, and had Group B strep with #2.
1st was the tape, then ARM and the drip.
2nd was ARM and the drip. Both labours around the 5 hour mark from ARM.
Did you go straight for the epi? Nope!
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? Nope!
What sort of pain releif did you use? Just the Gas
Was it effective? The first time round it made me really spacey and sick and so I told the MW at my second birth this and she gave me something to stop the nausea (maxalon I think) and it made such a big difference. I only used the gas a bit during the transition with my first as it made me feel sick - (so nothing for the actual delivery) but with the second I only used the gas towards the end and it helped focus my breathing and took the edge off the pain, didn't kill the pain but made it a bit more bearable.
Go in with an open mind and try to go with the flow it will happen fairly fast (usually) once it gets going so be aware that you might go from go to who in quick sucession.
If you have the drip make sure they don't put it in the elbow they did this with my second (after trying to get it in my right hand, right arm near my elbow but on the outside, left hand and left wrist - my veins kept collapsing but I was very bruised after all that) and it meant that each time I bent my arm it blocked the drip and my contractions stopped! - which gave me a break but made my labour longer. Not to mention it was rather uncomfortable to labour on all fours with a straight arm and breast feeding was a bit of a pain until the canula came out!
Good luck I am sure you will be fine whatever you decide regarding pain relief - remember this is the only type of pain that actually gives a fantastic reward at the end of it!:hugs:
I was induced with DS. I was already 3cm dilated so my waters were artificially broken (no need for gel etc). 20 minutes later I was having full-blown contractions 2/3 mins apart. DS was born about 7 and a half hours later. It was very intense very quickly but I felt I could cope. I tried some gas in transition but couldn't stand having something in my mouth so ditched it!!
I feel my induction was a positive experience. I hope to go into labour naturally this time but if I need to be induced again, so be it. Try to keep an open mind about the experience. If you go in with a sense of acceptance I believe everything is much easier to handle (that goes for any type of labour - induction or not).:)
lucysmama
16-03-2009, 09:16
Hi - I was also induced (2 doses of gel) as I was large for dates. I also had a epi - but this was very late in the labour. I also had pethadine which did not make me sick, however was only effective for a short time. I have been since told it is better to use pethadine earlier in the labour to allow you to get some rest...as induced births can often be very long!
Have a read of my bubba's birth story under 'birth stories' section of this forum. Title is 'Lucy's Induced Birth'.
Hope this helps....Goodluck! :flowerz:
MissMetal
16-03-2009, 10:10
Did you go straight for the epi? I was in so much pain from the word go (I seriously thought I was dying) I was begging them to give me something (screaming, convolsing, spewing)... but by the time they came back to me (stupid drs where all too busy apparently :rolleyes:) to see how I was progressing, it was too late.. I was at the pushing stage & I had to deal with it all drug free :hissy: (something I will NEVER do again)
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? YES!!! without a doubt in the world... i will not do it drug free ever again (apparently induction is much more painful though, but i had no choice)
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif? Yep :(
How did it go? as I said, I seriously thought I was dying... no exaduration.. my body was possessed I swear.... shaking uncontrolably, throwing up, passing out... not a pretty experience...
What sort of pain releif did you use? hahaha I begged them for anything, but noooooo they took their sweet a$$ time & it was too late :banghead:
Was it effective? nooo
listen to your own body, only you know whats going on, even if it is your first... No one listened to me & believed how quickly I was progressing... i was left alone for long periods of time, then got to the pushing stage, they still didnt believe me... my sister had to run out there & scream at them saying "she needs to push" they looked at her & said yeah we will be there soon.. she screams again "no im serious she needs to push NOW" then they come back in & of course its too late to give me anything :cool:
I was not impressed....
good luck hun :fingerscrossed: you have a much better experience
rascals3
16-03-2009, 13:54
Did you go straight for the epi? I didnt have one, i only had gas
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? YES YES YES!!!! it was the most EXCRUCIATING PAIN i`ve ever experienced! And it was bub No.3!!
How did it go?
What sort of pain releif did you use? Gas only
Was it effective? In the beginning yes but as it progressed....no.
Any advice on how to handle an induction would be apreciated. My doc broke my waters, then couple hrs later and mild contractions, put in the drip. They gave me the choice of epi early on but i said no....big mistake for me. I suggest you go for an epi, because inductions can take a long time. I hope this helps!
Thanks GOOD LUCK on saturday!! :)
I was induced with my second baby at 39 weeks...
Did you go straight for the epi? No
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? No definately not, I have quick labours and know that I can deal with the pain for that short amount of time (45 minutes). Once the labour is over the pain is gone and I didnt feel "out of it" as I did with my first labour where I used gas and a pethadine shot
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif? Yes
How did it go? They broke my waters in the morning, I got some contactions and then they stopped (looking back on it now I think I got anxious cause things werent happening which hindered the natural process)... They gave me 30ml of syntocin at 1.30pm and bubby was out by 2.15pm
What sort of pain releif did you use? No
Was it effective? Yes
I am not sure if this is your first labour or not, and even if its not - I know labours can be different each time around. I would try and let your body decide - you may surprise yourself.
Things that I found helped were staying off the bed, back massages and next time I would definately try using the shower and if you are lucky enough a bath to help ...
Wishing you all the best! :):)
Wondering if you've already had your bubs...:detective: Good luck to you either way:fingerscrossed:
Anyway...I was induced at 40 weeks + 4d due to my high BP and low fluid levels around the baby.
Did you go straight for the epi? YES!:thumbsup:
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? Yes, if the induction were done in the same way. I was already 2.5cm at the start but they gave me the drip and broke my waters straight away so it all came on very hard and fast. The epi actually wore off and they checked and it was time to push. Was so glad to have had that pain relief for the 3 hours of intense contractions.
What sort of pain releif did you use? Epi
Was it effective? Yes - until it wore off near the end, which was good actually (for me to move around more and feel to push), but at the time I was thinking - why am I in so much pain???:crying:I opted for the epi!!! This is not what I bargained for!!!
Lots of good advice so far...next time if I were to need induction again for same reasons at the same time I think I would try and do it without the drip or the epi. I would ask that they just start by rupturing membranes and see how I go from that point.
An update girls:D
No bubby yet, bugger.
Its good and bad eh.
my BP has normalised, its actual almost perfect, it hasn't been that since about 24weeks! not sure whats happening there!
saw my doc mon, bubs doesnt look like they are at all ready to enter this world, im not 'favourable' for induction either...
so the c word came up...
so many things going through my head...
so, back to the waiting game,being watched every day, but absolutley no clue as to where we are going!
Thankyou for all of your responses, they have been fantastic, I hope this thread will be useful for other ladies with similar Q's.
PookieLady
18-03-2009, 08:18
At 41 weeks i was induced 4 times and it didnt work :no: Not 1 single contraction.
cookie087
18-03-2009, 09:25
Hi tommo787, there have been alot of reports about how painful and horrible labour is and just thought i would share my story...
I was induced at 40wks and 4days sue to extreme high blood pressure, i had high bp for the majority of my 3rd trimester, but nothing like this. They wouldnt even let me out of the room to get my clothes in case i fitted. Anyways i had my waters broken at 7am and the syntocin drip started at 8am. They turned the drip up really high from the beginning. I had been quiet sick with a bug that morning before being induced and had been throwing up/diaohrea (sorry if TMI) all morning so spent the majority of the labour sitting on the toilet with the CTG machine hooked up! At 10 i was given something to stop me feeling sick. By 11 I felt ready to come back to the bed and asked for the gas, which worked a treat. No lighthededness or anything, just took the edge of the contractions. I went til 12.20 with just the gas then an internal showed i was ready to push. I didnt use the gas at all for the last hour while pushing. My baby boy was born at 1.27pm the same day.
If i had to do it all again i wouldnt change a thing. Although i originally wanted an active labour, it wasnt best for my baby - and after all its all about one result, your baby, doesnt matter how u get there. My mw said that that fact i had mentally prepared myself for the pain and sitting on the toilet while contracting are the two best ways to dialate quicker, and this is why they thought my labour was so short (they originally thought id still be in labour the following morning!)
Goodluck and remember it doesnt matter how ur baby arrives, natuarally, with drugs or via c-sect, as long as he/she arrives safely!
18-03-2009, 14:44
I wanted one but told the staff before being hooked up to the drip that I did not want to be given one.... big mistake :hissy:
Yes. I won't be induced ever again though!
How did it go?
It wasn't the sort of pain that I could deal with- I was frantic and out-of-control. It felt unnatural to the point that I was frightened.
Was it effective?
They tried me on the nitrous oxide but I flipped out and started self-harming (bashing head on shower wall and taps etc) and it did not relieve the pain. Hence the self-harming perhaps? I don't have any memory of this, but the midwives' notes filled in the gaps for me...
I didn't have the gas with my second (natural) birth because I what it did to me with my induction.
So I did the rest of the laboring and the birth without pain relief.
Honestly- don't have one unless you have to for STRICT medical reasons. Not because you are overdue, only because of being overdue and the baby is showing actual signs of needing to be delivered ASAP. Of course, an induction is preferable to a c-section. But oh how I hated my induction :(
I was overdue and they tried the gel three times and it just worked on the last go
They then broke the waters which was a bit traumatic and the ob said if you want an epidural I will give you one as soon as we put the drip in
I said no thinking it would go very quick
Well 12 hours later there was no baby I was in alot of pain and only 2 cms dilated
The ob came in again and said maybe you should have an epi as it may relax everything inside and the baby may come quicker
I said yes please and it was bliss
5 hours later and my baby was born but there was alot of talk about a c section
My ob was very persistent which assisted the process greatly and if I was to go again I think I would make the decision earlier to have the epi instead of struggling through as the drip works very quickly
Good luck I hope it all goes well
ButterflyKissesX
18-03-2009, 15:27
Noway I was deadset against them!!:no:
HELL YESSSS I will never ever be induced again unless I absoulutley have to!!:(
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif? Im sure they have dont no how its soo painful.
How did it go?
I was deadset against an epidural from day dot but after 25 hours of labour with a drip contractions on top of each other and still only 3cm I had the choice Epi to relax me or Cesar I choose the Epi BEST DECISION ever I should have taken it 10 hours prior when it was offered to me. The thing I found with the drip is you get no lead up its just BAM full on labour instead of slowly building up so it shocks your system and also they are apparently ALOT WORSE and ALOT MORE PAINFUL.
Was it effective?
The only Pain relief I used was the gas and that was great except it didnt ease the pain at all just helped me consentrate on breathing because I was hooked up to the machines for the whole time I couldnt have the active birth I wonted nor could I have a bath or shower so gas was it until 25 hours in then they gave me the Epi.. It was BEAUTIFULLLLLLLL:hugs:
My Advice DONT HAVE an Induction!! I will have to be seriously needing one before I will ever agree to it again!!
No I wanted to try it without pain relief, I have some friends who were induced and they never needed pain relief. This was with gel insertion first and then my waters were broken. Ended up having an epidural after about 5 hours, bubs was posterior and I was having a real hard time, and it was great. But until that time I was fine to go without it.
I need to have c-sections from now on, so can't speak on that. But let me say if you are going straight for the drip be prepared to have an epi as it is very quick and hard. But with ARM or gel it is possible to go without. It is hard to say if labour would have been as hard without the induction, you just have to take it as it comes.
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif? I know of alot of people
How did it go?
For the people I know that didn't use one, they had the gel and it started labour easily for them, and they had a normal labour after that. For me bubs position and other factors made my labour the way it was, induction didn't play a part in it. But I am glad I had the epi.
Was it effective?
Tried the gas and it did nothing. Had the epi and it was great!
Take it as it comes. It is your experience, who's to say that your labour wouldn't have been as hard/easy with or without it. Just have a plan in your head before you go and be prepared to abandon it if you have to. I really didn't want a ceaser and I was neally about to go to theatre for one cause I was so just over it, but they vacumned my bubs out in the end, looking back the ceaser should have been the way to go. ANYWAYS.... my philosophy is do what it takes to get bubs out with you and bubs as healthy as possible!
Did you go straight for the epi? No I had gas from the start & a morphine shot at 8cms. I had the gel on Sunday night, waters broken at 8am Monday morn & I was in labor within 5 minutes.Tess was born at 2pm Monday, no drip, which from what I hear makes things a lot faster, so put off the drip as long as you can if possible.
No I was happy with the last experience, my recovery was great & I felt in control the entire time.
How did it go?
Was it effective? I found the gas helped to give me something to really concentrate on during contractions, other than the contraction itself.
(i understand all births are different, just looking for some persectives) Just go with the flow, if you want epi, have it, if you want gas have it, if you want nothing go for it ! You will be guided by your midwives & doctors. My best advice would be to go in with a open mind, that way you will always feel you are in control & no "plan" has gone wrong.
Just believe in yourself, your body is a amazing thing ! Good Luck :smiliedance:
wild at heart
26-03-2009, 13:54
I HAD THE GEL, THE RUPTURED MEMBRANES AND FINALLY THE DRIP AFTER NOTHING ELSE HAD WORKED.MY LABOUR WAS VERY FAST. I HAD BUBS AFTER ONLY 2 HRS OF FULL BLOWN LABOUR.
NO DEFINITELY NOT
NO NO NO NO NO- WAS A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE
How did it go?
I HAD ONE FOUR MONTHS AGO AND I WAS DETERMINED NOT TO USE PAIN RELIEF. I ENDED UP USING GAS WHICH I FOUND REALLY HELPED ME FOCUS ON BREATHING THROUGH THYE CONTRACTIONS. IT WORKED VERY VERY WELL.
I WOULD NEVER HAVE AN EPIDURAL AGAIN (HAD ONE FOR FIRST BIRTH WHICH WAS V TRAUMATIC AND PAINFUL AFTER).
MY BIRTH WAS VERY FAST AND EXACTLY HOW I WANTED IT. BECAUSE I DIDN'T HAVE AN EPIDURAL, I HAD LESS TEARING AND I WAS ABLE TO GET UP THE NEXT DAY FEELING GREAT.
Was it effective?
I USED THE GAS. EVEN THOUGH I THOUGHT IT WOULD MAKE ME PUKE, IT WAS AWESOME.
I had to be induced as DS was in distress. They broke my waters and I had the drip. Having never given birth before I had nothing to compare it to but the pain came hard and fast and this time round I'm avoiding induction at all costs, sometimes though it's just not possible and YOU WILL BE OK!
I requested an epi a few hours in after the gas was starting to make me spacey. I also used a TENS but it just irritated the cr@p out of me!! Sadly my epi didn't work and it gave me no relief, having had investigations post epi there was no reason it shouldn't work perhaps the Dr was just a little off with the placement so I have therefore not ruled out an epi this time. I am all for whatever gets you through. I was unable to have anything else for pain as my blood pressure was really low and peth would have dropped it lower. By this point they just needed to get bub out.
Every birth is different and you'll make the best choices for you at the time. If you have to be induced don't fear it, try to go with it and do what you feel you need to. Good luck, I hope your birth is a positive experience for you :hugs:
I was induced with the drip due to waters breaking and nothing happening for more than 36 hours.
Did you go straight for the epi? No. Contrary to everyone else, my contractions came nice and slow and slowly built up. By the time that I was thinking about an epi it was time to push.
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? No I want to try to have as drug free birth as possible. Will see how I go when the pain hits :laughing: Going into labour naturally would be nice as well.
How did it go? I had 3 sucks of the gas and then threw it away. I don't think I sucked very effectively cause my midwife was telling me to suck harder. No other pain killers.
Was it effective? gas. Did absolutely nothing cause I wasn't using it effectively.
RockmelonDreams
31-03-2009, 15:59
No, I didn't have an epidural at all.
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? No, I would still avoid an epidural.
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif?No, I used pain relief
How did it go?
What sort of pain releif did you use? Gas/Air & Pethadine
Was it effective? I didn't find the Gas/Air effective but LOVED the Pethadine
Just go with the flow and stick to what you feel is right for you. My daughters birth was quicker with an induction and I'd do it again in a heart beat but it's not for everyone. Go with what your comfortable with and don't let anyone sway you into doing something you don't feel is right.
My DS was 10 days overdue so I was induced with gel, ARM and drip. It was pretty horrible, and I found the gas was good - not to take the pain away, but help me cope with it and help me focus on my breathing. The gas was definitely my friend!! I did beg for an epi during transition, also swore I'd never go through that again....but when I was pregnant with DD I begged to be induced again because the baby was in the 97th percentile for size and my first was 10lb 4oz! So I in effect elected to be induced, only gel and ARM (wouldn't let them give me the drip for a couple of hours) and again just the gas. Being induced isn't totally evil, I would definitely do it again with just the gas but every experience is different. I was terrified of tearing or being cut and they say the more interventions you have the more likely you will need interventions so that's probably why I avoided peth or epi. Good luck!
Beeza8906
31-03-2009, 21:39
I was induced with the Cervidil but was told that proberly wasnt going to work since i was only 37weeks and DD most likely wasn't going to work,(they had everything organised to go ahead with the drip in the morning if nothing had happened). But DD had different plans.. I pretty much got pains straight after they did the cervidil(but i wasnt in labour, they said that they were cervidil contractions). By 7:30pm i was taking to the birthing suite because i wasn't coping very well(cervidil inserted at 11am), i was only 1cm dilated. i was asked if i had thought about what pain relief i wanted and all i could say was ANYTHING and EVERYTHING:laughing:. By 11pm my waters broke and i was 3cm dilated(they told me to try and sleep cos i would need my energy for tomorrow)They also offered a shot of morphine that i refused cos i was too scared of having a needle:laughing: I had 2sleeping tablets and 2 penadene forte(which did nothing), Then i had Gas which just made me vomit.. And by 12:38pm DD was born to all the midwives and doctors surprise..(she was 12hours earlier then they expected). So after my waters broke i was in labour 1 and a half hours.(i guess i was lucky).
I wouldnt of had time for an epi which im happy about(i dont like the thought of not feeling my legs.:no:).
I also felt i was being treated like a silly young girl that didnt no what was happening(which i guess was true) but when i had to push i was told not to,but maybe that was because noone expected DD to come when she did..maybe im just looking to far into it:laughing::laughing:i have that habit..
our little treasures
31-03-2009, 22:05
I have had 2 births with the drip to "speed things up" DD1 was still 39hrs and DD2 was 19hrs so it didn't really work in my eyes.
It was harder than my DS' labour the pain was just complete agony. I had no drugs for his birth.
With DD1 I only had 1 shot of peth and it had worn off way before pushing. I do recall screaming for more but they didn't get it as apparently I was too close, hmmm they were wrong!
DD2 I had 1 shot as well but I had 6 hours of time I don't remember but I do recall the pain really hit at the end of those 6 hrs.. My DH said I was talking to my brothers (who were not there) and about tax etc but I have no recollection of even being awake. That may not be a good thing but I am grateful I had a little bit of relaxing time.
No, I didn't have an epidural at all.
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? No, I would still avoid an epidural.
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif?No, I used pain relief
How did it go?
What sort of pain releif did you use? Gas/Air & Pethadine
Was it effective? I found the gas to be great for taking my mind of things but you really need to use it at the right time. Even a second to late and you suffer!! Pethidine really did take some edge of the pain
Any advice on how to handle an induction would be appreciated.
(i understand all births are different, just looking for some perspectives)
Try to relax and just do what you want to do especially trying to keep mobile. I couldn't with my 2 inductions as I have had to be monitored
kazarina
13-04-2009, 21:41
didn't have one at all.
no i still would not do it
Was it effective?
i had the gas and it made me feel a bit spacey at first but it was a godsend because it did make it better. they also gave me a shot of peth and seriously all it did was make me tired it did nothing for the pain.just spaced my baby out.
i had an induction at 38 weeks due to hypertension my blood pressure was always up and they were afraid of an onset of p-e.i had the drip because i was already 3 cm and they broke my waters. the contractions didn't start huge at first but when they upped it the last time they hit full on. i had over lapping contractions with no breaks in the last hour.If i had a choice i would not have an induction again its definently not for me and i found it horrible but having said that i do not know what a nat birth feels like. it may work for you but most of all relax your body will do its thing and hey it doesn't last forever!
Courtney83
17-04-2009, 12:26
How did it go?
Was it effective?
Hi, I see that you've already had the baby in question - congratulations!
But I thought I'd still share my induction story for those who may still be interested :)
Mine is actually not very positive, however, but it gives a different side of the process.
Ok, so it was January 2004...absolutely SWELTERING, and my ankles were constantly swollen and my back was killing me - I was MASSIVE!! So my due date had come and gone (28/12/03) and I went to my OB and said "Pleeeease heeeelp meeee!", and quick as a flash, without any further discussion he said "Ok, be here Friday, 8am". I took a proverbial step back...it was Wednesday afternoon!! Gulp!
So now I realise...5 years later...that he acquiesced to my sooking a little too easily. He put me in to be induced for no good medical reason.
So Friday morning 8am came. I believe first they injected a gel onto my cervix, designed to soften it for birth...forgive me, my memory of that day has been somewhat blocked out!!
So it began. Contractions. That went on for a few hours. Next came a drip. Pretty much as soon as they inserted the canula I went into hard labour - urgh! Hard labour continued for another few hours. Lucky I had company! My DH, my mum, dad and brother were all in the delivery room waiting patiently, doing anything they could to help with the pain. I was offered the gas..I think it was working - I can't really remember.
Hours of hard labour- still nothing. So then, I had a lovely procedure performed- my waters were broken. I can only explain the "utensil" or "instrument" (whichever you prefer) as like a knitting needle with a hook on the end...lol...it sounds like something out of a Saw movie- but really, I didn't feel any pain, it wasn't an uncomfortable process (probably due to the contractions wracking through me!) So I felt a strange pulling sensation, and out gushed the water like Niagara Falls. I was like "Whoa!" it felt like wetting my pants without being able to control it- for a few minutes! It gushed over the sides of the plastic-covered bed, a tsunami of amniotic fluid crashed onto the floor. Feeling rather shocked, somewhat embarrassed and a tiny bit amused I sat up. Just in time for my family to come back in (yes- I was clothed!). Seeing the pooling liquid my brother (then 18) fled.
My DH saw that there was bits of goo and "red stuff" all over the place, turned a bit green and helped me into the shower.
A few hours later. Still nothing. My this stage it was probably about 4pm? I continued with the gas but it was making me feel sick so I had a pethidine injection.
A few hours later. Still nothing. I had slipped into the seventh circle of HEEELL! All this time in hard labour with no urge to push at all.
Night came. I told the waiting masses to have something to eat. I used the hot packs. I remember my annoyance at the midwives who felt the need to burst in every time I was in the shower- they say your modesty is left at the door when you go into labour- but mine remained with me, clinging defiantley until the end.
Ok, so it's now about 10pm. THe midwife tells me that I can either have another pethidine injection or an epidural. But I have to choose. Apparently I can only have one more pethidine injection and that's it-period- or I can have an epidural that can be topped up at various intervals.
I never wanted to have an epidural (needles invoke the fear of God in me)...but it seemed like the best option. After all this, I couldn't imagine being left high-and-dry without anything to help with the pain.
So I had the epidural. I didn't lay eyes on the devil's instrument. I kept looking at DH who held my hand and smiled readily enough until he saw "it". A faint green tinge crossed his face...he told me later just how big it really was. Thank God I didn't know or I would have run screaming for the hills.
The epidural did allow me to sleep (in between vomiting), and gave me full relief from the contractions. So I was grateful.
The next morning, my OB pops in cheerfully. I am still wallowing in self-pity everytime I look at my canula. He decides to check my dialation. After 26 hours of hard, continuous labour I had dialated 3cm. At that point, I could have cried.
So, after the induction, after the painkillers and epidural..I had to have an emergency c/section...(which took about 30mins) to the relief of my anxious family.
My DD Lily arrived safely at 9lbs 5...and they say she was still covered in vernix? (You know what I mean- the white, waxy stuff that covers the baby in its final weeks of incubation). Apparently she could have gone for at least another week or so.
Moral of the story - don't get induced unless it's for medical reasons...not because you're sick of putting your feet up with swollen ankles!!
Starstruck
25-04-2009, 10:41
i had an emergency induction with my last bub, i was put on a syntocin drip and they kept fidlding with the rate of infusion because it kept effecting bubs heart rate, for pain relief i was given 2 lots of pethadeine not that it did much.
if i could of had an epi in those circumstances i would of because i was bed ridden due to pre-partem hemmoraging but otherwise i would of proberbly opted for the bath tub and used water as a pain relief.
other friends that have been induced due to blood pressure, diabetes or been over due have all said it wasn't that bad
good luck:flowerz:
So, after all of you girls have been kind enough to share, here is my story!!
So i was 41 weeks, went in for a check with the midwife, all ok, they called doc to see where we were going with it all. he explained that we would induce tonight, due to 7days post dates, hypertension during pregnancy, and not wanting me to go more than 10 days over (which would put me on a sunday, obviously wont induce then...)
so 7.30 thur night, induced, gel, things not great, still high and long, and bubs head still high. head home for some sleep. contractions start almost straight away, but just a dull aching.
fri, 3am, contractoins getting strong, around 5 mins apart and b/w 30-45seconds long.
5.30am, lots of blood loss, with clots, possible placenta pulling a way too early, so head to hospy.
contractions are 2 mins apart by now,
at 7.00 get checked, 3cm, not effacing well, still high, they break my waters, and gave 15ml syntocin(drip), waters blood stained.
(when they broke my waters-huge gush of water, not really painful, but the internal he was doing at the time was! as a PP said, like peeing yourself with no control. i would no a contraction was coming as i would feel fluid come out before each one.)
contractions full on, they said they were as strong as they could be really, so no more syntocin, offered pain releif many times, never felt out of control to need it.
Used breathing, and heatpacks for pain releif till 11.40, when doc checked again, midwife sure i was in transistion and at any time pushing was coming.
Checked me, still 3cm, no further down, still not effacing, bubs heart rate was droppiing with each contraction. also said bubs head seemed to be stuck.
So, we talked over options, he was sure bubs could not come on his own, so after 17 hours of labour, 8 hours of which was hard labour, we went to the emergency c-section.
the 1/2 hour waiting for the spinal was hideous, i had lost ALL concentration, i was all over the place, truly horrible. When they finally got the spinal in, i have to admit, it was really NICE!
By 12.47pm, fri, he was born, cord wrapped round the neck three times, placenta had come away, and wanst in great shape. His head was pushing against my pelvis, as it is arched in a funny way, also a very small pelvis.
He had his eyes open, VERY alert in every way, pink, strong, fantastic.
pretty much no vernix, put pink, not red, so had come out at just the right time!
I feel it all went well, they could have pushed a c-section before labour, but they knew i wanted to try, they intervened at the right time, he was not in distress when he came out, but another hour, and it all would have been different.
I was up the next day, and able to do everything on my own (except get out of bed) by sunday morning. im healing fantastically, they said i was getting around heaps better than any of the vaginal birth ladies, so that was good to know! by 2 weeks, i felt great,
I would recommend the gel, or having your waters broken, it seemed to be quite natural.
-oh, the pain was hideous, i wont lie to you, breathe breathe breathe!!!-
Chunkydunks
25-04-2009, 11:44
Congrats on the arrival of bub. Is that him in your AV?
yup, ah, he's 2 weeks old there:D
Chunkydunks
25-04-2009, 12:12
he's very very cute:cloud9:
Congratulations on the arrival of your gorgeous baby :flowerz:
Thanks for updating us and letting us know how everything went.
I had a very positive labur despite being induced, although apparently my cervix was soft and favourable so don't know if that made a difference?
Was given the gel at 1am, and started to get cramps and back ache straight away which lasted all night. At 7am my ob broke my waters and my contractions came on straight away about 2-3mins apart.
I had an epidural cocktail which was bliss! I loved that I could still feel my legs and was even able to walk to the toilet before they topped it up.
Examined at around 12pm and I was 10cm dilated. By 1pm I decided that I wanted to push and my little boy was born at 1:30pm.
Definitely not as scary as I thought it was going to be.
JackzMumma
27-04-2009, 08:22
Hi,:wave:
I was induced due to my waters breaking and being GBS+. For me it was no different to the contactions in my 2nd birth. Just a quicker onset. :yes:
I have recently been told by a midwife that you can't have an epidural til you are 3cm dilated. Otherwise I was going to go for epidural too straight away, but now going to try to avoid it. And try showers or bath and gas and maybe pethidine. If they let me since this will be another VBAC!!!! :D
But they also told me that birthing is harder coz with the epidural you have to be reclined in bed, you can't move, it results in more assisted births (forceps/vaccuum extraction/caesarean) so before opting for an epi, look into other methods. Take it from the person who was never told the 1st 2 times!:(
Good Luck!!:thumbsup:
1CrazyMoose
28-04-2009, 11:54
Did you go straight for the epi? Never had an epi. I really didn't want one, there is huge risk that you could have what is called a window (parts of your body where the epidural doesn't work, eg. a friend of mine had one and only her legs went numb, which is not uncommon)
Knowing what you know now, would you go with an epi for an induction next time? Definately not!
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain releif? I went through most of my labour with no pain relief, however I did have pethadine in the end. Most don't like it cause it makes you sick. For me I felt very dopey. I would have a contraction (felt very painful) and then would have a power nap in between (felt like an hour each time, it was only 1-2mins though) I did like the pethdaine and I would do it again
How did it go?
I went really well with being induced.
At the time i lived in a small town with no birthing facilities. So I had to go away 2 weeks before my due date and wait for the arrival of my little boy. My Doctor suggested that as soon as my cervix was ripe that i should be induced which we thought would be a week before my due date. (If your cervix isn't ready it causes you to have a very long and painful experience). However for me it wasn't, so I waited. My due date came and went. When i saw my obstertrian he told me he was happy and that my cervix was ripe enough for me to be induced on the Wednesday (2 days later).
On the wednesday morning he inserted the gel. I had cramps and some contractions but they stoped after lunch. I again had the gell inserted that evening and still nothing happened.
The following day my obstertrian broke my waters, the midwife put a drip in my hand to help keep the contractions regular. (The needle didnt hurt me but does some). I also had a monitor around my belly measuring my baby's heart rate and my contractions (which was great because i could see when i was about to have a contration and I could prepare myself).
My labour started almost straight away. My labour went for only 8 hours. Which isn't bad for your first. seeing the average is 8 to 24 hours.
I ended up having my son 4 days after his due date, i was happy that i wasn't going to have to wait any longer.
I strongly believe if your body is ready then being induced is great! Its always better to have a natural birth with no assistance but the longer your baby is in the womb the bigger he/she grows. Putting more stress on you and on your baby during labour.
What sort of pain releif did you use? Pethadine: they injected the pethdaine into my thigh, which hurt alot and did bruize!
Was it effective? Not so much with pain but definately helped with the exhaustion.
I hope my experience helps you and other women prepare for labour! Best advice do some reading on the drugs available and make your own decission. Go in there expecting the worst pain imaginable. That way you will be prepared for any experience you may have.
For me i thought the worst going in and honestly i really didn't have much trouble, so my experience wasn't as bad as i thought it would have been! Which was a plus!
I love JJJ
29-04-2009, 09:46
No, but knowing what I know now, I will be next time- induced or not!
See above answer.
As above.
How did it go?
Once they finally got me into labour, it went great!
Epi only.
Was it effective?
Yes, it sure was!
sairbair
29-04-2009, 10:10
My Ob suggested that I have the epi before I was induced and I would do the same again. It wasn't at all painful as you have not begun labour so you're not trying to hold still while in the throws of labour. I have a massive needle phobia, bujt I have to say, the epi wasn't at all painful. Thank God!
My labour went for 6.5hrs... and the entire dilation I had no pain yet could feel my body contracting. SO it's not like you don't feel a thing. I would do the same again, but keep the epi topped up. I had no pain relief for the actual birth. The epi wears off after about 1 hr (up to an hour and a half) so you are under no obligation to keep it topped up. I should have, in hindsight.
The other great thing about having an induction is that you head into the hospital in teh moring, your hair is done, your bag neatly packed and your waxing done! No rushing or fussing. I say go for it. Cheers, Sarah
brookeluvsted
29-04-2009, 10:37
I was induced with the gel which gave me contractions but i wasn't dilating.. after the third lot my waters were broken which wasn't painful but about 10 minutes after that my contractions really started to become painful, A few hours later i was told my contractions were at there worst but i still hadn't dilated past 3cm so the dr came in and told me i had to have the drip. He also said he was going to give me an epidural so i could sleep. It was such a relief and i fell asleep straight away 3hrs later at 5am i woke up and called the midwife in saying i need to push, she checked and sure enough my babies head was there lol. at 6:46am my baby girl was born on Australia day. Not for one minute have i been disappointed for not doing it without pain relief.
i had the gas first but that was no good, next time ill ask for an epidural asap, and you can feel when you need to push, as well as the midwife is right next to you counting with you helping.
cheeky1107
05-05-2009, 23:44
I was induced at 36and 1/2 weeks and I had an Epi because of my blood pressure (high and then extremely low never constant) and I was on the monitor the whole time and in the birthing suite for 2 days (from Tuesday 8:00am to Wednesday 8:48pm when my little one was born). If I needed another one I would.
Opinionated
06-05-2009, 00:38
No way- needle in my spine scares me to death.
Has anyone had an induction, and not used pain relief?
How did it go?
What sort of pain relief did you use?
Was it effective?
I used a bit of gas at the very end when contractions had no break. I was having one continuous contraction.
Any advice on how to handle an induction would be appreciated.
(i understand all births are different, just looking for some perspective)
Try to relax and go with it. Each pain is one less. Use positive visualizations. Try not to tense up your body, when you do, refocus on breathing and relaxing your body. If you are being continuously monitored (as I was) stand next to the monitor or bounce on the birth ball there. The longer you are upright, the faster it all happens. Gravity helps.
When you think you can't take it anymore, there is often no more to take and it is time to push out your baby.
Try to avoid induction unless it is necessary for your or your babies health. Interventions (drugs, inductions etc) lead to c/s, so the less you can have the better if a v/b is your goal. I will try not to be induced again. Not because it is bad, I am just more confident with less intervention.
Opinionated
06-05-2009, 00:42
Sorry, I should learn to read the thread rather than reply to the OP.
Congratulations on your little boy.
Sorry, I should learn to read the thread rather than reply to the OP.
Congratulations on your little boy.
oh no, dont stop on my account, i think its a great resource for other ladies:D