View Full Version : Same Sex Parents TTC Update List

Green Mum to be
11-03-2009, 12:44

There are plenty of testing threads and updates all over the place so i thought that we could do with one too. Especially with the very exciting announcements of two recent pregnancies!:smiliedance:

Respond to this message and i'll put everyones names/ details on it. I got a few names from the other thread to start.

I've removed the list as it is getting hugely out of date! Check later in the posts for details of who is around

Green Mum to be
12-03-2009, 13:41
Is this everyone? Have i got you all in the right spots?

astrogal
12-03-2009, 17:45
I am in the right spot :)

Nurse27
12-03-2009, 21:41
Well done Green mum! It is great to keep an eye on where people are up to, and of course to hear their wonderful news, so that it keeps the rest of us in a positive mindset :) :flowerz:

ontheway
13-03-2009, 08:59
We are due in Two weeks!!!
I cann't belive it.

Green Mum to be
15-03-2009, 18:18
Thanks for the great response girls :D added in the two other :bfp:

CONGRATULATIONS (although a little late) ontheway & michky

:fingerscrossed: and :babydust2: to everyone!

ShellKiz
19-03-2009, 14:18
Hey all,
Just thought id give you an update.

We just had our first ultra sound and we are currently proud parents of a 5 week old sac of cells lol We also have a offical due date of 18th November which were stoked about!!

Hope everyone else is doing well out there and having the same success as us.

Fingers crossed for :bfp: for all..

Green Mum to be
19-03-2009, 18:27
Excellent Shell! Great to hear it is all going well. :yelclap:

I've included your due date in the list as well!

AFM: We are going through some tests after a lot of mid cycle bleeding this month :confused:. Currently 10dpo but not thinking it is looking good for this month. Might test on Saturday as i want to go and have a few beverages that night!

:babydust2: to all

Green Mum to be
23-03-2009, 14:15

We are out again this month. AF arrived today... that's 5 :bfn: so far.

:fingerscrossed: for a :bfp: soon.

Hope you are all doing well would love to hear some more updates

readymummies28
23-03-2009, 15:27
Hi green mum to be i love this new thread. Can you add us on here too?:yelclap:

Well partner and i are hoping March is our month. My Birthday is at the end of the week (28th) and i am hoping that a positive will be my birthday gift. That is all i want:smiliedance:

Anyway congrats to all the newly preggers out there! Hey ShellKiz how are you doing?

Will update soon hopefully i will be able to shout out to the world that i will be a mummy too!:yelclap:

Aleli(Me)= 25:)
Angie (Partner)= 22:yelclap:

Green Mum to be
23-03-2009, 17:17
Hi Readymummies28,

I've got you under unknown, where would you like to be put (other than the HPT positives which is where we all want to be! :laughing:) IUI or at home insemination?

Great to see another couple on here!

ShellKiz
23-03-2009, 22:39
Hey Ready,

were doing well over here. we were so stoked and excited to see our little one there on the screen. I was a little worried at one stage cause when she was looking on one side there wasnt anything there, then she scanned over to the over side and there it was. our lil bundle. we have our next ultrasound on 16th april with the hospital which we cant wait for.. I still cant believe that everything took 1st time round. we feel so lucky that weve had this success so quick when there are so many others out there that have been trying so long. I almost dont want to get to excited to people because i dont want to look like im gloating or anything, does that make any sense?

How are you girls doing over there?

readymummies28
24-03-2009, 07:42
Hi Green mum to be,

We are doing home insemination:yelclap:

How are you by the way?

Aleli=25
Angie=22

readymummies28
25-03-2009, 08:04
Hey ShellKiz,:wave:

That really sounds like a magical moment where you can see your bundle of joy on the screen.

Be excited! Its a magical moment and dont worry about being to excited because as you said others have been trying for a while and still no luck. Thats doesnt mean you guys shouldnt celebrate. Dont worry we will all get there eventually.

Hopefully for us its this month. I am wishing for it as my birthday gift.LOL:yelclap:

Keep us updated on your next ultra sound ok? Its a shame you guys are in Melbourne it would be good to have new friends in the same boat as us.

Aleli=25
Angie=22

ShellKiz
25-03-2009, 16:06
Heya Readymummies,

Thanks for your reply. It nice to sorta have permission to get all excited and tell the world :yelclap:

We have got our fingers, arms, toes and legs crossed that you guys have a successful month. And yes, what a perfect birthday present it would be. We actually have our 1st appt with our hospital April 16th, 4 days before my birthday so it would be awesome to see our bubba again just before my bday. Its koll to because bubba is due a month after Kuris 21st bday which is a great present for her. Just hope i dont go into labour at her 21st celerbration lol

Were actually in Adelaide not melbourne but yeah it would be awesome to be around people who are going through the same thing as us. We feel kinda isolated from our friends cause none of them have kids. When we told our 'so called' best mates all they could say is 'oh thats good'. Not quite the reaction i was expecting espically when i told you girls on here and it was overwhelming the messages of congrats we got. Its kinda bizzare.

readymummies28
26-03-2009, 17:07
Hi ShellKiz,

Yeah i know ive got everything crossed. Even the body parts that can cross ive crossed them!:laughing:

Really? That is so bizzare of them. Did you guys tell them of your plan before hand? Our friends are more excited than us which is great atleast we know they support us you know.

I dont care if i dont get a present for every occasion from now on. If i get blessed with our angel i will be the happiest person.:smiliedance:

Let us know how your first appointment goes ok?

Just another question what sypmtoms did you feel?

Aleli=25
Angie=22

DrGirl72
30-03-2009, 19:58
Hi, I thought it was about time I posted here and had our details added to the growing list. We are doing IVF using a known donor. We are part way through our third ICSI cycle- had EPU today and got 18 eggs which is a huge number for us. Will find out how many fertilized tomorrow.

Congrtaulations Shellkiz, great to see more adelaide rainbow babies on the way!

Good luck and :babydust2: to all still trying

Nurse27
31-03-2009, 10:37
Hey Dr Girl,

WAY TO GO ON 18 EGGIES!!:smiliedance:

What an eggcellent result :laughing:!!

:fingerscrossed: for lots of fertilised eggs now :)

After my HSG a couple of weeks ago, managed to convince FS/FN to bring our appointment forward by 5 weeks, so we are seeing them on the 22nd of April now..... Here's hoping they say let's go ahead for full IVF straight away! rather than dilly dallying around with DI that probably would be less than ideal given HSG reults.

Hope everyone's pregnancies are going great!

Green Mum to be
31-03-2009, 15:35
Welcome DrGirl72! :wave: A great result in terms of eggs YAY. :fingerscrossed: That they ALL fertilise and are strong sticky little ones!

Nurse27 (Kaz & Jay) Well done on getting the appointment brought forward :yelclap: I find the waiting the most painfull !

Shellkiz - i feel for you about your friends. Ours have been less than supportive when they found out we were trying. In fact those who i thought were closest to us are now estranged. PM if you need to chat and i'm in Adelaide too so coffee (or non caffinated substitute) is always an option :yes:. We are all excited for you here and will be just as excited as you when it is our turn. I personally hope that i'm not too far behind you so we can hang at Pink Parents together!! Actually, i just hope that i'm soon anyway :laughing:

Readymummies28 - I hope that you get a great birthday present.

Keep the updates coming!!

Green Mum to be
31-03-2009, 15:42
What an eggcellent result :laughing:!!

:laughing: I just re-read that and got it :laughing:

Nurse27
31-03-2009, 16:40

i was hoping people would laugh at it!

It can be a hard road to travel TTC particulary if friends aren't interested in it. All you can do is wait until the baby is here and then they will all come visiting :)

Green Mum to be
07-04-2009, 15:49

We insemmed over the weekend so i am officially at day 1 of the TWW :hair:

Not a big fan of the tww myself so lets see how i go without temping this cycle.

I also have day 21 bloods over the weekend and then an appointment the week after to look at all the results :fingerscrossed:

Any other updates?

:party: HAPPY EASTER :babydust2:

Nurse27
08-04-2009, 09:48
We insemmed over the weekend so i am officially at day 1 of the TWW :hair:

Good Luck! hope that the 2WW flies for you!:bee:

ShellKiz
10-04-2009, 15:17

Things are so far so good atm. Got lots of all day sickness atm which is wonderful, i knew it was all to good to be true lol.

We have our next scan on the 16th, we cant wait to see our lil jellybean again!!!

Hope everyone is going well and having success.

Green Mum to be
25-04-2009, 14:21
I just put GayDad2b on here even though he hasn't asked... :p He's been posting though.

:smiliedance:CONGRATULATIONS DRGIRL72:smiliedance:

Although, you too haven't announced it yet... i just saw the change in your signature!!!

:babydust2: to all that are trying!!

Nurse27
25-04-2009, 15:15
hey all

Hope everything is going well for everyone!:rain:

We had our FS appointment this week and have been left feeling a bit bummed.

After enduring the HSG last month, they have decided that we need to do a second one, plus a saline sonogram. Each of which need to be done on days 7-10 of the cycle, so we are looking at another couple of months at least before starting everything. :hissy::crying: It makes things so hard when they have specific days of the cycle that hings need to happen, especially when I have cycles as short as 19 days, or as long as 60 + days

We had both assumed, as had the counsellor we have seen that given the result of the 1st HSG that things would go straight ahead to IVF as opposed to fluffing around with donor insemination, but no. More tests and then DI and then if needed hysteroscopy and removal of uterine septum, and THEN IVF.

SO MUCH WAITING. It is so depressing.

To top things off DP's Brother and his girlfriend are 12 weeks pregnant, so it is a bit sadder even. I keep telling DP to be happy for her brother, but we are both jealous as all hell just wishing it was us.

Anyway, enough raving on. :rolleyes::ecomcity:

Hope that everyone is going great with their TTC/pregnancies and that everyone is staying warm and dry in the glorious winter weather that is apon us.

Green Mum to be
25-04-2009, 17:50
:hugs:I'm so sorry Nurse27 :hugs: I thought that you were headed straight down that path as well. That is incredibly hard having to wait again. Thinking of you both :hugs:

GayDad2Be
25-04-2009, 19:32
Aww thanks Green Mum!

Rainbow Mum
25-04-2009, 19:34
Nurse 27

So so sorry to hear about your delays !
I can understand where your partner is coming from not wanting to get all excited about her brothers baby. :(

It hurts to see everyone else getting pregnant as easily as falling off a log when you have to jump through hoops and then some !

Time seems to stand still but before you know it you will have a toddler on your hands doing the 2 yr old tantrum while you tear your hair out LOL :laughing::hair:

Keep smilin':fingerscrossed:

ontheway
26-04-2009, 14:41
:wave:Just letting you know we had a little boy two weeks ago, He is gorgeous. :smiliedance:

Green Mum to be
27-04-2009, 18:30
:yelclap: Congratulations Ontheway :yelclap: What a beautiful name too! :yes:

DrGirl72
27-04-2009, 18:46
More congratulations to Ontheway and your family:yelclap:

Green Mum to be- thanks for youe congrats re BFP... although have changed my signature and added preg ticker have been very hesitant to post our news eg, in preg/due dates threads. our first BT was a lower than ideal HCG (68) and the clinic wanted it to triple in three days which it did (210). However, this is still a little low for the 4w5d that I was at the time.... now we just wait for the uss to see if there is a heartbeat. I am 6w today, no bleeding etc but am soooo worried that there will be no heartbeat next week. So I prob will just keep lurking until I can hopefull post some good news on 5/5:fingerscrossed:

Hope everyone's journey is going well

ShellKiz
27-04-2009, 19:17
Hey all,
well so far so good for us this end. We got to hear and see bubbas heart beat on the 16th and it was the most overwhelming feeling. i cant describe it. Kuri adn i were both crying messes lol

DrGirl,
Keep your chin up and think positive hun. Youve come this far and with no problems so far things should be fine. I was a paranoid mess undrenerath the over confident exterior i portrayed when i was at the same stage as you. I know it doenst mean much coming from someone you dont know, but its the most reassuring thing i can say.:hugs:

Ontheway,
HUGE congrats on the birth of your lil man. Hope everything continues to go well. :smiliedance:

Nurse27,
Im sorry to hear you and your DP are going thru such a hard time. I can only imagine how hard it is for you to have so much reassurance that things are going to move quickly and then have things delayed. I hope you and your Dp have some positive news soon. :hugs:

GayDad2Be
30-04-2009, 20:14
We are going for our first AI attempt in the first week of May :smiliedance:

Green Mum to be
01-05-2009, 18:09
:yelclap: Congratulations!! :yelclap:

I have a cycle buddy!!! We are to inseminate this week too :yes:

Great to hear it is all doing well Shellkiz.

Looking forward to the good news DrGirl72!

GayDad2Be
13-05-2009, 14:28
We did a home insem on 6th May, and while it's too early to test, we are starting to see some symptoms pointing to success.

I'm probably just looking for these out of wishful thinking, but fingers crossed nonetheless.

The Mum-to-be has been very very tired lately, has developed a massive appetite, and is complaining of sore breasts (the last in particular she assures me she has only ever experienced in the past during the very early stages of pregnancy).

Just had to vent/share! He he. :ecomcity:

Green Mum to be
13-05-2009, 19:47
Congratulations Gaydad.... only another week before you will know for sure! :fingerscrossed: for a :bfp:

DrGirl72 Any news?? :confused:

I'm in the tww... not feeling any symptoms so thinking it is another negative :no:

GayDad2Be
13-05-2009, 20:41
Keep positive Green Mum - and try to de-stress! (Easier said that done huh)

MissM
14-05-2009, 21:49

Just thought I'd pop in to say hi :wave: and congratulations ontheway on the birth of your son Elliot (love the name).

ShellKiz, how exciting to hear your bubs heartbeat. It is a wonderful time isn't it.

Our baby Alice is 14 weeks old now, growing and changing everyday.

Goodluck to everyone on your journey.

Melissa and Sylvia

Green Mum to be
20-05-2009, 12:13
I'm out this month as i thought... gearing up for our next cycle now.

GayDad any news???

DrGirl72 an update???

Nurse27 - how is it going? Next appointment coming up?

:babydust2::babydust2::babydust2::babydust2:

Nurse27
20-05-2009, 18:21
Hey there Green Mum!

Our next tests are due on the 26th of may - Saline sonogram, and another HSG. After reaching cycle day 67 I am now having AF from HELL!!! FS gave me short cycle of provera to cause AF to come - and god almighty it is here (sorry if TMI).

Things are looking up though - We have nurse appointment and another FS appoinment for 3rd of june and then ummmm 18th i think - to sign consents, and pick donor, and to get meds and all that kind of stuff. So FINALLY things seem to be moving forward.

I saw in your blog that things are not going as you hope... :fingerscrossed: that this next cycle is the one for you :)

Hope that all is going well for DrGirl and GayDad too :)

GayDad2Be
21-05-2009, 10:42

This might sound stupid, but we are actually too scared to test! If the test is negative, that kinda makes it real that it hasn't worked, and I just don't want to hear that yet! Silly huh.

AF was due to visit yesterday and hasn't, so that's a good sign I guess.

Although a week ago the Mum had some spotting, not much, but still. I've read this is either a very good or a very bad sign, depending on which source you read!

Will keep you posted very soon once we know something.

GayDad2Be
21-05-2009, 20:41

We've done a home test for now, the 2 red line type, and we have one strong red line and one faint red line.

Read a few other posts, and not really sure if this means good or bad???

Nurse27
21-05-2009, 23:19
Gay Dad! That sounds like it could be something to get a bit excited about! I would be suggesting that you both head off to the docs and ask for a blood test!!!!

GOOD LUCK!! :smiliedance:

ShellKiz
22-05-2009, 09:37
Gay dad, im gonna back Nurse up 100%, those tests are basically 99.9% accurate and a blood test is definatly in order. I did 6 of those tests over 3 days and each one got darker and darker in colour.. things are sounding really positive for you. heres hopeing your whole future is about to change :fingerscrossed:

Ronskii
22-05-2009, 10:39

I was wondering if I could jump in here to chat.

Bit about us Me 37 Partner 37 Baby girl 1.

We had our daughter using IVF and are currerntly trying again. I am classed as a poor responder so even though being on 450 injections I still only have one folical!!!

Picup is schedualed for tomorrow so fingers crossed there is an egg in there.

We only had two egss with our daughter. One embryo made it to transfere and that little embry is her!!

Ronskii
22-05-2009, 10:42
OOPs hit the wrong key.

At least I know first hand that really does only take one.

So any way I would like to chat in here if thats o.k.

Goodluck to all.

Its a long but very rewarding journey.

Fiona :)

ontheway
22-05-2009, 16:03
Congratulations Gay Dad!
We also had a faint line and 20months later a little boy!!

Been to Docs and ask for a blood test yet!!

GayDad2Be
22-05-2009, 22:12
We are heading into the Doc on monday or tuesday for a blood test. So fingers crossed :)

GayDad2Be
22-05-2009, 22:34
By the way, welcome Ronskii! How rude of me! Lol

GayDad2Be
25-05-2009, 19:34
It's official - BIG FAT POSITIVE

Nurse27
25-05-2009, 21:11
:flowerz: CONGRATULATIONS:flowerz:

Way to go Gay Dad! What a fantastic result!!!!

Did you see the story on 60 minutes last night about gay dads and surrogate mums??

OOOHH it is so exciting!

GayDad2Be
26-05-2009, 00:01
Aww fanks Nurse!

I didn't see the story no, but I read about it elsewhere. It's nice to see that Queensland is slowly catching up with the rest of the world with legislation etc, still a bit of a way to go though.

Oh, had to play around with my new signature thingy hehe.

I'm trying so hard not to feel a little guilty actually - for getting this on the first try. I can only hope that some of my luck and blessings rub off on the rest of you here, and you all get the same wonderful news that I did today.

Oh, and I can't remember if I mentioned it or not, but bub was conceived on May 6, my birthday! Such a cool pressie, haha.

How is everyone else travelling?

brisam
26-05-2009, 13:57
Hi All!

It's great to see where everyone's at and to see so many success stories.
Briony and I are very excited to announce we've found a donor here in brisbane. We met with him last night and he's great! So we plan to start AI in July!!

We will keep you updated!:smiliedance:

Sam (23) & Briony (26) the very excited couple!:hugs:

brisam
26-05-2009, 13:59
Also! Sorry CONGRATS Gay Dad!!!
How exciting!:yelclap:

Nurse27
26-05-2009, 19:17
What a great birthday present Gay Dad!

You have a very cool signature thingo now :yelclap:

Please don't feel guilty about anything! Obviously it is the right time for things to happen for you!! I do hope that things rub off on the rest of us though lol

ShellKiz
28-05-2009, 12:08
GayDad: that is absolutely brillant, we are so happy for you! I know what you mean by not wanting to get to excited infront of peeps on here cause you concieved on first attempt. I felt exactly the same when it came to telling the girls on here we had concieved! The girls on here are so supportive that youve got nothing to worry about.

Brisam: congrats on finding yourselves a donor. I know how frusterating it can be to have troubles finding a doner but once you do, its like a weight off!

Update on us: Been in and out of hospital for the past 3 weeks. Bubs is fine thank goodness! Ive got lower abdominal pain that theyve only just been able to diagnose as ligament pain. Take pain killers and rest for a few weeks they say, unfortunatly duty calls and have been nackat work for a week now. Its kinda funny cause people go is bubs ok, i say yeah bubs is more than fine, just my body isnt lol!!

Hope everyone is doing well out there.

:babydust2::babydust2::babydust2: to all

Green Mum to be
30-05-2009, 08:16
:smiliedance::smiliedance:CONGRATULATIONS:smilieda nce::smiliedance:

That is brilliant news! I am so happy for you and your signature looks great now x

And welcome to Brisam and Bralii (I know that is wrong but I'm in a hurry!)

Will update the initial list further later.

We finally moved into our new business premises this week so i am actually busier than i was before.... not that i can believe it... and i haven't been on much lately! Hoping to have some time later to update.

:babydust2: EveryonE!

GayDad2Be
02-06-2009, 10:39
Hi everybody,

I urge you all to read my post about journalists in the same sex parenting forum.

As a result of this, I have decided not to post any further in here. This is disappointing, as I came here to chat to other people in similar situations, and enjoy the support of all you lovely people here. Instead , I had a rather disappointing and disheartening experience with the journo mentioned.

If you would like to keep in touch privately by email, just shoot me through your contact details/email addy by PM. I would love to keep in touch!

ShellKiz
10-07-2009, 08:35
Hey all,

Just wanted to drop a line and give you all a update.

We have offically been told bubs is a BOY!! all measurements tell us that bubs is healthy and growing at a healthy rate. :yelclap:

We both so happy and over the moon about it all that i couldnt help but share it with you guys!!

mumofmrc
23-07-2009, 13:44
Hi everybody, I am new to this site and hope you don't mind me crashing in! My partner and I have a 15 month old boy and have recently found out that we are expecting no 2, so we are very excited.

Amelijah
23-07-2009, 23:49
hello...that is fantastic news

C :flowerz: N G R A T S

We also have a 7 year old boy and are expecting number 2 :D

ontheway
24-07-2009, 07:53
Welcome to The Bub Hub mumofmrc. hope you find your place here.:thumbsup:

mumofmrc
27-07-2009, 21:09
thanks for the congrats froozipops, hope everything is going well with your no 2 on the way! :) think this forum is great

Thinking2010
24-08-2009, 18:04

I am new to bub hub and as you can see by my name - my partner and I are at the 'thinking' stage of falling pregnant.

One of the options that we have discussed is using my partners gay brother a a donor (obviously with me being the birth mother) initially we thought this was a good idea as the baby would then be a genetic link to both of us - but then we got a bit woried about the daddy/ uncle thing...

I still think that this is a good option for us but my partner thinks it will be hard for the child to comprehend.. what do you think??

Rainbow Mum
25-08-2009, 07:58
I know a couple who have this arrangement, but the brother is straight.

The child is 3 so a bit early to tell regarding his perspective.

Ask the same question in a yahoo group called Lesbian Parents Australia .........the couple might answer you. as they are members.

I believe as long as the child is brought up with open honesty there shouldn't be any major dramas. With age appropriate information available throughout the childs life and no big "shocks" or unveiled secrets at a vulnerable time of development like the teens it is a workable option.

Nurse27
28-08-2009, 13:47

Congratulations to all those who have had success, and good luck to all those still trying.

It has been a long time since I have posted in here. As of yet we have still not had our first cycle. :(

I had a hysteroscopy in june after 2 HSGs and a saline sonogram. The HSGs and sonogram showed polyps and blocked tubes, hence the hysteroscopy. We have then waited the obligatory 6 weeks prior to being able to commence IVF as explained previously by our FS.

Last week we went to the FS expecting to pay for our cycle and collect our drugs as AF was due in a couple of days.

We assumed that if anything had been shown up as wrong in the hysteroscopy we would have been told on the day or soon after.

Not so

I sat there while the FS (who we love, and who did not do my hysteroscopy, as he has been away) asked me if anyone had gone through the results with us. I froze on my chair.

He told me that the uterine biopsy they took showed cell changes, and he showed me a picture of my uterus, which instead of being smooth like a normal uterus, was all bumpy like a dragon fruit. Multiple polyps, complex hyperplasia with atypical and typical apperance, with potential for causing cancer in the future, if not treated soon.

I sat there and cried while I listened to him.
DP was good and tried to be very strong. We both then cried the whole way home -- flinders to salisbury is a huge drive at 4:30 in the arvo.

We had gone there with the intention of paying for our treatment, and preparing to start, instead we are now waiting to hear on what treatment the "tumour review panel" will be suggesting for me to treat this. Facing more surgery and a likely 6-8 month wait before we can start - meaning if the IVF medicare changes are passed this is the end of our IVF journey.

:gloomy:

Good luck everyone :flowerz:

ShellKiz
30-08-2009, 17:48
Hey guys,

Im so sorry to hear that you have still been unable to proceed with making your dreams come true.

Both Kuri and i have our fingers crossed that everything turns out well for you girls.

Lotsa :babydust2:

katiana
04-09-2009, 23:04

Congratulations to all those who have had success, and good luck to all those still trying.

It has been a long time since I have posted in here. As of yet we have still not had our first cycle. :(

I had a hysteroscopy in june after 2 HSGs and a saline sonogram. The HSGs and sonogram showed polyps and blocked tubes, hence the hysteroscopy. We have then waited the obligatory 6 weeks prior to being able to commence IVF as explained previously by our FS.

Last week we went to the FS expecting to pay for our cycle and collect our drugs as AF was due in a couple of days.

We assumed that if anything had been shown up as wrong in the hysteroscopy we would have been told on the day or soon after.

Not so

I sat there while the FS (who we love, and who did not do my hysteroscopy, as he has been away) asked me if anyone had gone through the results with us. I froze on my chair.

He told me that the uterine biopsy they took showed cell changes, and he showed me a picture of my uterus, which instead of being smooth like a normal uterus, was all bumpy like a dragon fruit. Multiple polyps, complex hyperplasia with atypical and typical apperance, with potential for causing cancer in the future, if not treated soon.

I sat there and cried while I listened to him.
DP was good and tried to be very strong. We both then cried the whole way home -- flinders to salisbury is a huge drive at 4:30 in the arvo.

We had gone there with the intention of paying for our treatment, and preparing to start, instead we are now waiting to hear on what treatment the "tumour review panel" will be suggesting for me to treat this. Facing more surgery and a likely 6-8 month wait before we can start - meaning if the IVF medicare changes are passed this is the end of our IVF journey.

:gloomy:

Good luck everyone :flowerz:

im sorry about ure news, take gentle care of ureselves.

viclex
26-09-2009, 16:05
Hi my partner and I have a 5 year old daughter and we have been trying for number 2 now for around 3 years now. We are just about to embark on our 1st IVF journey EPU will be in early December all going to plan.

Goodluck to everyone.:fingerscrossed:

ontheway
28-09-2009, 09:11
Good luck on you IVF journey may it be fast and successful.

DJNelly
08-10-2009, 14:08

It has been a little while since i have been on this forum. I originally joined the forum to find out about home insemination laws, as this was the way I wanted to do it.
We found out that you could only do it that way if you had a donor willing to donate some fresh sperm. We had no one, so instead decided to do it through a fertility clinic. We started the IUI treatment halfway through my cycle, and so did not have the full course of the fertility drugs before I ovulated. After a week of being on the IUI cycle I ovulated, and before I knew it we were chosing a donor, and having the sperm inseminated.
To our surprise and Joy, I fell pregnant on that first try! We still can't believe it! We are 18 weeks pregnant. The due date is March 15th.

A quote from my older sister "We are a very fertile family. We only need to look at sperm to fall pregnant!"
She said this to me before our first try. I guess she was right!
I just wanted to share my story with you all.
Has anyone else fallen pregnant on the first try?
I am curious to know how common or uncommon it is.

babedreamer
09-10-2009, 11:27
Hi Green mum
I'm just new to this site so thought I'd add my name to the list.
We live in Brissie and are looking for an egg donnor....:flowerz:

viclex
22-10-2009, 09:33
Hi all. :wave: hope everyone is doing well.
We have finally started our IVF journey I have started pill popping and have appointment to pick up the rest of the drugs in 2 weeks!! So excited now that we have finally started. We are now :fingerscrossed: our fingers that the journey is kind to us and results in a BFP!!
:babydust2: for all those still trying.

chicaenlosarboles
23-10-2009, 09:59
Hey all, just wanted to say that we just had our 19wk scan and got the 'normal' tick of approval.

DJ Nelly - our baby is also due on the 15th March! We went through IVF straight up and it worked first go.

katiana
23-10-2009, 15:46
hi all, i havent posted in ages, and thought id get back into it :) lots of new faces around, good to see , hi all and welcome :)

as for us update :

started foir our 17th FET on the puregon and having day 12 bloods/scan monday, will be going for 2 day 5 blasts, and we only have 4 frosties left, hoping i wont have to recollect as im always getting OHSS... so here we go again in our quest for a BFP.

sicky vibes to all.

Green Mum to be
02-11-2009, 17:01
Welcome to all the newbies

and

Congratulations :yelclap: to the announcements :bfp:

I don't know how you do it Katiana! Our thoughts are with you that this time will be your turn!

ShellKiz
04-11-2009, 08:36

Just wanted to give the update. Hit the 38 week mark tomorrow and have to have a ultra sound today as my belly isnt growing as much as they would like and alos looks like he will be born by or on the 19th as my doc wont let me go past my due date because any added stess on my body could cause me to have seizures... Its all happening so quick and its kinds daunting really lol....

Hope all is well out there for everyone else.
:babydust2:for all xx

chicaenlosarboles
04-11-2009, 09:41
Good luck Katiana! Hoping for a BFP for you :thumbsup:

And Shellkiz hope everything goes well with the ultrasound!

ShellKiz
06-11-2009, 12:26
Well, GREAT news, it turns out that im just carrying him alot through my back as aposed to through my ftont. At 38 weeks his estimated weight is 8lb so theres nothing wrong with his sizing at all! Gotta love all that worrying over nothing ;)

Green Mum to be
06-11-2009, 13:34
Well that is brilliant Shell!

:yelclap: great news :yelclap:

ShellKiz
24-11-2009, 15:52
HE'S ARRIVED!!!!:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap::yelclap:

Phoenix Cooper born 16/11/09 @ 4:13am, 28 hours labour, born naturally and with epidural. 7lb11, 51cm long and absolutly gorgeous!! Mum suffered pre eclampsia during the birth but after 24hours on Magnesium Sulfate drip came good.

ontheway
25-11-2009, 08:42
Congratulations! That's fantastic news. :smiliedance:

And welcome little Phoenix Cooper.

katiana
25-11-2009, 15:42
CONGRATULATIONS shell on the safe arrival of ure little boy,

AFM : ITS A BFP!!!!!!!!

after over 3 and a half years of all BFN, FET 17 stuck :)

ShellKiz
26-11-2009, 11:37
Katiana,

HUGE CONGRATS!!!:yelclap::yelclap::yelclap::yelclap::ye lclap::yelclap:

That is the best news ive heard all day. were so stoked for you girls!!! it couldnt happen to a more deserving couple!!!

MissM
08-12-2009, 10:08
That’s fantastic news Katiana, we are really happy to finally read you are pregnant..what a lovely christmas present:santa:

Congratulations ShellKiz on the arrival of your little boy Phoenix, hopefully the settling in period hasn't been too tiring..Alice is finally sleeping just over an hour each day, it only took us 10 months! :yelclap:

Great news to Chicaenlosarboles, DJNelly, mumofmrc and froozipops :smiliedance:

Ontheway - How is your little bubs going?

Melissa xo

sugarbaby
09-12-2009, 04:33
Hi there everyone! :D

Wow, it's so great to see so many people supporting each other and sharing their success stories! It's wonderful. I just wanted to stop in and introduce myself. I am 27 and will hopefully start TCC early 2010 so hope to get to know all of you over the next few months as I feel really outta my league with this stuff!

Hoping you all see BFPs for christmas...

:goodvibes:

fickwalker
13-01-2010, 12:43

My DP is seven weeks along today. :) Just wanted to drop in and see if we could be added to your list.

Wishing you all the best in your bids to get pregnant. *fingers crossed*

waiting2bmum
13-01-2010, 13:14
Hi There!
My partner and I are TTC and have done the tests and are about to undertake insemination in 2 weeks for the first time. It's a little daunting, and exciting. Here's to trying!! :)

fickwalker
13-01-2010, 13:24
Good luck, waiting2bmum! Wishing you all the very best in 2 weeks time. :)

waiting2bmum
14-01-2010, 09:04
Thanks Fickwalker!
Best of wishes to you and your DP too....we'll keep our fingers crossed for you too :) Here's to a successfull pregnancy for you both!!! xoxox

bridgeedidge
20-01-2010, 14:15
Gday everyone-

Just wanted to give everyone a shout out and show some support for us same sex parents (parents to-be). My DP and I are from brisbane and are currently on the 'looking for a donor' path. We both have our heads screwed on and have planned most things to a tee. Hopefully we will have sort out our donor by April/May and start inseminating in JUNE..!!!

GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!

waiting2bmum
24-01-2010, 15:23
Goodluck...we'll keep our fingers crossed for you :)

FLP
01-03-2010, 14:38
I've been browsing this forum now and again for the last couple of months (although I haven't done much posting myself!) & felt like it was time to get a little more involved.

My girl & I have been together over 6 years and have been doing our research re TTC for the past 12 months or so.

We're using a known donor with the help of a fertility clinic & have had our first appointment. We're at the testing stage at the moment & should know more next month as to whether things can happen as we would like.
I'll have to apologise in advance as my understanding of most of the abbreviations used on here is pretty poor (I'm catching on slowly though!).

So, that's me anyway... I'll keep popping in from time to time and see how everyone is doing - it's really helpful to know there are people travelling on the same course!

PS: Katiana, if you read this - I have been reading over your thread since Christmas and just have to say that you are absolutely amazing in that you remain so focussed and positive to achieve your dreams, despite the hurdles you've had to overcome . You deserve every happiness mate and I hope 2010 brings you what you're hoping for.

katiana
10-04-2010, 20:35
^^ hi and welcome flp, i hope ure journey to parenthood is short and sweet :)

squidge4us
21-04-2010, 18:39
Hi :) have been browsing here the last couple of weeks, but finally got up the courage to join.
So we just wanted to introduce ourselves, we are a rainbow family, currently with 3 children and we are currently TTC#4. Number 1 for my wife!! Very exciting and very daunting all at the same time. This is our first cycle and currently we're in the 2ww... We are 3 DPO/AI

We are thinking of doing an early test 8-10dpo but not sure what brand of test to buy that is known for its accuracy in early pregnancy...

Leeee
21-04-2010, 19:33
first response maybe? apparently that's a good brand.
welcome btw! we want 3 or 4 ultimately :) oh and i love your username!

rheens
22-04-2010, 12:45
:wave: Hi, I am new to the site and looking for other same sex parents in Brisbane.

On Feb 13, 2010 (our early Valentines gift) my partner and I had a beautiful baby girl, and we are looking to meet other lesbian couples who have children to chat with. I'm not sure if a group already exists though so would love to hear from you all

Leeee
22-04-2010, 16:12
we are in logan and sort of ttc. there's a story there :rolleyes: but i am really really impatient to be a mum lol
can i be really nosy and ask how you concieved?

Hoping42
22-04-2010, 21:41
squidge4us, I have pm'd you.

readymummies28
01-05-2010, 10:56

Geez it has been ages since i posted in this thread. Well a lot has happened since last time i was on here. Ill tell our little stories for evyerone who doesnt know our hisstory yet.

Well my partner and I have been together going on 10 years. Benn TTC through home insemination for 2 years. A very stressful time for us:banghead:.
We then finally decided to seek help. We then found out the reason why we were not getting pregnant was because my partner has PCOS. So our doctor recommended we do ICSI because our known donor also has low sperm and moticlity count. But our doctor said it is no problems and we have 8 straws to use!!!:smiliedance:

We are currently going through the quarintine period and we start October this year. Im a very impatient person so hmmmmmmm wonder how i will cope. Hopefully this is the one for us.

Just thought i might share our story as it is good to support each other and hear others lovely miracles.

me:yes: Aleli (27)
Partner :o (23)

welstante
10-06-2010, 08:49
hello everyone!
we are new to this site and new to this thread! in my search to find other "mums to be x2" out there i stumbled across you guys...great to see so many of you out there....

im currently on 7dpt5dt with about 7 HPT that all say :bfn: :hair:
im struggling, but my blood test is tomorrow so i will remain positive until then.
this is our second go, we transferred one beautiful blastie ad have 3 more on ice.
Green mum could you add us to your list ?? - we are doing IVF with donor sperm.
thanks so much :)

we also have a beautiful son who is 8 this year and are so desperately trying to make him a big brother :yelclap:

:fingerscrossed: for you all TTC - what a rollercoaster ride!!!!!
cheers :sunshine:

Green Mum to be
12-07-2010, 12:10

I'm back on board after a very long break on bubhub.

I'm back at it with my diary .... it is fairly obvious which on it is if you have a look! I'll post the latest details for you in a later post anyway.

I'll fix up and update the roll call... but please post through where you are at.

ROLL CALL!!!!

:wave: to all those i haven't spoken to for a while, miss you terribly!

Green Mum to be
12-07-2010, 12:25
So since the last post we went the donor option at the ivf clinic and chose one from the very short and very un informative list!!

We have been through one round of ICSI with one embryo implanted and no success.

Numbers include:

13 follicles
9 eggs harvested
6 mature eggs
5 fertilised
1 transferred
2 frozen

July we are embarking on a frozen natural cycle which is now due for implantation on THURSDAY!!! We have signed off to have both of the embryo's defrosted and if they both survive :fingerscrossed: then we will implant them both.

We aren't looking for twins just hoping that this one will be the :bfp: we are looking for and if that can increase our chances then so be it. Also, i'm not sure how i would feel about having one frozen embryo in storage... i wouldn't chance a FET on just one!!!

I am back on line trying to gain some support as we have decided not to let anyone know this try. Honestly i am struggling emotionally with the failure and scared of what is going to happen the next time.
The transfer was yesterday and.... *drum roll please*

Both of the little frosties thawed perfectly with all 8 cells alive at the time of transfer!!!

I hope that i get the elusive "double line" this month. :fingerscrossed:

Blood test is on the 26th of July but i'm not going to make it that long.. have made a pact with dp to test on the 19th of July. I apparently ovulated on Monday this week so it will be 14 days from the ovulation. As it's a natural cycle there wont be any interferrence with drugs giving false positives.

After two years of ttc i still strugle in the tww... it's gotten worse not better too.

FLP
13-07-2010, 10:13
Is this everyone? Have i got you all in the right spots?

Could you please take me out of home insemination and put me in iui? Thankyou!

craftyfemme
13-07-2010, 19:04

We're on CD 9 of our first IVF/ICSI cycle. EP is estimated for Monday as long as eggs are ready! Fingers crossed.

Glad to have found you!

Green Mum to be
19-07-2010, 13:27

Crafty Femme I've included you in the IVF part.

AFM the transfer didn't work. :bfn: on an at home test yesterday and AF today.

miss87
30-08-2010, 17:38
Oooh I can't wait to be added to the list!! DP and I are going to start IUI next cycle. If it ever hurries up - CD23 and still no sign of ovulation, grr!

craftyfemme
01-09-2010, 08:00
Green Mum to be- I'm so sorry to hear about your negative! I had my fingers and toes crossed for you. I hope that September is your cycle!

After a marathon IVF cycle we decided not to transfer any of our little embryos for fear of OHSS. I travelled back home and will go back for a Natural FET when i lose weight to control PCOS. I feel pretty blah about the whole thing now that its over. I really thought July was my month and I think it could have been if my Doctor hadn't been so cautious. Now I have to take my chances with FET. Such is the rollercoaster!

mumandmum
20-11-2010, 07:23
Hello everyone,

Well my dp and I are on our second round of IUI.

Stressfull yes! we are now 4dp iui with donor sperm...... fingers crossed as its not cheap each time my body decides it would like to reject our efforts!!

good luck everyone else

round 1 = :bfn:
Me - 26
Beautiful DP - 26 :kiss:

waiting2bmum
23-11-2010, 17:43
It is that time...I can finally ask for us to be added as expecting. We're due with our first child on 17 july 2011. Counting down to first scan on 15 of Dec. Yay!!

bridgeedidge
24-11-2010, 07:04
Hi everyone, We have had quite a long break from bubhub and now are back. We are expecting our first baby in June 2011 and had our first scan yesterday. It was so incredible. Just wondering if there are any other lesbian mums to be in the Brisbane area?

Have a great day everyone.

ShellKiz
30-11-2010, 18:35
Huge Congrats girls. I was just going through my emails and saw an alert with your post. Im so glad that after having problems finding donor things have gone so well for u girls!!

shansar
03-12-2010, 12:19
Just wanted to add our names to this list. My partner and I have been TTC for a year now. It has been a drawn out process as I am 39, was 38 when we started, and discovered on the first tests that I have fibroids. Have had 2 surgeries to remove fibroids, 3 IUIs, and one IVF collection. We only got 3 eggs from the IVF but all fertilised. 2 were put back but didn't take. Will be transferring the FET next week. Fingers crossed this works as my partner is getting very weary of the whole process. I'm sure everyone on here would agree it is very exhausting and emotionally draining. I will give IVF one more go if this one doesn't work and then my partner can take over when she is ready in a couple of years. She is much younger at 32 so not as much pressure.

Anyway, just wanted to say Hi. These forums are a great comfort and we would love to meet up with any same sex couples going through the same thing in the gold coast area.

Leeee
10-12-2010, 12:59
looks like we have a donor and, dp's cycle permitting, we are trying in janruary. it's been misbehaving for the last 3 or so months in a rather bad way. i really hope it co-operates with us. i also really hope that the 4 months we tried last year aren't indicative of some kind of problem.
i need this desperately. i keep slipping in and out of depression over it :(

2mummies
15-12-2010, 22:03
Hi my partner & I are pregnant & are looking to connect with some other same sex parent families in Sydney. Would love to hear from anyone! :)

mumandmum
05-01-2011, 11:40
Well add us to the expecting table :bfp: 9 W 1 D !!!! :celebrate: had scan last about a week ago and it said bub was 7 w 2 d??? someone explain to us what is going on LMP 3/11/10 IUI on 16/11 all the calculators say we 9 weeks but they say we a week or so behind.

yes it early but we have a good feeling about our little sparkles :babydust1: DP super excited ME SCARED AND NERVOUSE but getting used to the idea that she might just hang in there!

Good luck all :fingerscrossed:

Me 26, 2x m/c 2yrs ago DP 26, super excited.
expecting :babydust1:sparkles:babydust2:August 2011

bridgeedidge
06-01-2011, 06:39
Hi there, Congratulations on your little excitement. It is so surreal, unbelievable and exciting! My partner is due in June with our first little one.

We also had the same confusion with the amount of weeks pregnant, we went to our doctor at 4 weeks for a pregnancy confirmation and we thought we had the weeks down pat, from there we got a due date of 9th June. We then went for our first scan and then the expected date was bumped to 11th June, very confusing. I think the most confusing part is counting down. Thats where I get confused. Lol

My partner is now nearly 18 weeks pregnant and we have our second morphology scan in a fortnight. Then we will get a confirmed sex also. Very smug indeed. Morning sickness has subsided and the gnarly second trimester migraines have enter our life. lol DP's bump is getting bigger and bigger everyday!

There are a few couples in Brisbane that are due in June, July and Aug. We were going to start some form of parent and baby support group this year. It would be awesome to have some women to talk to and support each other with the arrivals of a hoard of Brisbane rainbow babies. It would be good to just have a chat and see where everybody is at, it would be very healthy for our Pregnant beauties, Partners and our expected bubbas.

keep in touch.
Have a great day.
Koreigh.

readymummies28
06-01-2011, 08:34
Hello everyone,

I am proud to say after 2 years of trying and going through emotional rollercoaster ride, after our cycle in 2010 just before christmas we have been blessed with a:bfp:!!!!!

At first we didnt believe it because after trying and having no luck it was hard to believe. But it was finally confirmed on ablood test.

Fingers crossed our little BooBoo will stick to full term.

We have our first ultrasound tomorrow. Can not wait to see our little blessing.

:highfive:

bridgeedidge
07-01-2011, 06:23
Hello, congratulations on your little bundle of joy. Your first ultrasound will be so exciting for you. In a week and a bit we go for our second ultrasound and find out little spuds gender. VERY excited indeed. There are a few rainbow babies due this year and we all were looking at setting up a meeting so parents can have a chat and then when babies are born they will have other little rainbow kidlets to talk to and so on. We all want our children to grow up proud so it would be good to support each other and the like. Good luck with your scan!

Keep us posted.
KOREIGH

MissM
07-01-2011, 19:25

We're back again after a long break from Bub Hub as we're pregnant with our second! :smiliedance:

It's very early days though, I'm only 7 weeks with frozen transfer #2. Alice our 2 yo daughter was born after first go of IVF. My DP donated her eggs to me and I carried Alice.

We transferred 1 frozen blastocyst in Nov 2010 but it was unsuccessful. But when we transferred two blastocysts in December, one stuck! I've already had a very early scan (5 weeks) that confirmed one gestational sac with a blurry fetal pole and am having another scan on monday to see if there's a heartbeat. I'm very excited indeed!!

So a big hello to everyone here :wave: and hope for :babydust1: for everyone!

mumandmum
21-01-2011, 11:27
:angel: you can take us off the list. 11 weeks m/c.

good luck everyone.

bye.

waiting2bmum
22-01-2011, 21:15
Mumandmum,
So very sorry to hear. Our thoughts, blessings and best wishes are with you.
May there be better things to come...xoxo
waiting2bmumxoxo

Green Mum to be
31-01-2011, 21:49
so sorry mumand mum :hugs:

Green Mum to be
31-01-2011, 22:04
I think that we should set up a cut and paste on the the same sex couples situation. I'm having trouble keeping up as its been so long i'm on and off bubhub depending on what's going on!!

You should be able to copy and paste the information below into your own post with the formatting in tact and add your own names.

Same Sex Updates

Families :familybed1:

Pregnant :bfp:

TTC :fingerscrossed:
Green Mum to be (IVF)

bridgeedidge
01-02-2011, 06:31
Same Sex Updates

bridgeedidge (21 weeks)

Green Mum to be (IVF)

Great Idea GM2B!
Perhaps for easier meet ups in the future, we could put our cities beside our names? What do you think?

Good Luck To You.!

waiting2bmum
01-02-2011, 08:54
Same Sex Updates

bridgeedidge (21 weeks)
waiting2bmum (16 weeks) Brisbane

Green Mum to be (IVF)

Green Mum to be
01-02-2011, 12:50
Same Sex Updates

bridgeedidge (21 weeks)

Green Mum to be (IVF) (Adelaide)

I like the cities idea...

ontheway
01-02-2011, 14:53
Same Sex Updates

ontheway DS1 4/09 DS2 5/10(Syd)

bridgeedidge (21 weeks)

ontheway (DYI in feb) #3 (SYD)

Bubba2in2011
01-02-2011, 15:23
Same Sex Updates

ontheway DS1 4/09 DS2 5/10(Syd)
bubba2in2011- DD 8/2004 DS 12/2010, DS 12/2010, DD 12/2010 (triplets!)

bridgeedidge (21 weeks)

ontheway (DYI in feb) #3

kateandjess
22-02-2011, 17:58
Hi there, My partner and I are from Lismore, have been together for 7 years, TTC for the past 2 years doing DIY at home using known donor. No luck there, so just had our first IUI this week, am now in the dreaded TWW where each second feels like a lifetime and you invariably spend the whole time on a rollercoaster between feeling hopeful and despairing because you dont really think its worked.. anyway.. fingers crossed! We are also hoping to meet other couples in our area that are going through or have been through the same thing

Kate:wave:

readymummies28
23-02-2011, 06:30
Hi Kate & Jess,

We also dreaded the TWW! It felt like the longest 2 weeks of my life!

My partner and I have been together for 10 years and we also have been TTC for 2 years with a known donor at home. We finally gave up and went to a fertility doctor and went through ICSI. The process was emotionally and draining and felt like forever.

Abyway i am pleased to say there is a happy ending, our embryo was transferred back in 15/12/2010 and we had to go through the TWW wait. But my partner could not wait and decided to do a test 1 week before the blood test and came up positive!!:bfp:

We are now 12 weeks and 5 days:celebrate:

Sometimes i still can not believe we are our little bubbles inside, its a beautiful feeling.

Do not stress out too much, i know its hard but what is meant to be, is meant to be, Everything happnes for a reason.:)

We are from the Parramtta area. Not really sure how far that is from Lismore but it is good to talk to couples who have been through the same path as us.

shansar
25-02-2011, 15:51
Hi Kate and Jess,

My partner and I live on the Gold Coast but we were living in Lismore before this. Actually, I think my partner may possibly know Jess?!! And I may have met her one night at the Winsome but not sure.

Anyway, we have been trying through a fertility clinic for a year and did get pregnant once but ended in miscarriage. Now we have switched to home inseminations for a while as need a break from the clinics and want to make it more personal. Just did an insem two days ago and doing one again tonight.

We would be happy to meet up sometime for a chat. Maybe somewhere half way.

Let me know if you are interested.

Shani and Sarah.

kateandrik
04-03-2011, 19:41
Hi Kate and Jess,

We are just about to get on the crazy rollercoaster too. We have our first appointment at QFG in 2 weeks (we will be doing IUI with an unknown donor). We live just out of Lismore, in Coffee Camp. We've recently moved from Newcastle and we'd been keen to pick your brains over coffee (herbal tea) if you're ever free.

Good luck, I hope this is the month!

Kate and Rikki

kateandjess
05-03-2011, 08:48
Hi everyone! congrats to the Parramatta girls- I know exactly where Parra is- I grew up near there! Lismore is about 10 hours away..

Shani and Sara- Good luck to you! Would love to meet up sometime halfway, it feels like we are forever trudging up and down the coast to some appointment or another!

Kate and Rikki- How cool is that?? We are seriously just up the road at Keerrong Valley! We could car pool to QFG..lol.. which clinic are you going to? We go to Southbank, to Dr Kroon.

Unfortunately this month just wasnt meant to be.. I had a bit of a cry last night, even though I promised myself I wouldnt get my hopes up, it still feels like a major let down. It's been a full on, very tiring month, and we have decided that there is no way I can do injectables 2 months in a row, so we will have a break and go back in April. In the meantime we have lots to concentrate on, a new house to renovate.. Good luck to everyone on the baby train!!

craftyfemme
06-03-2011, 08:57

My partner and I have been at TTC for two years off and on. We used two known donors before going to QFG and having a cycle of IVF. Because we live in the Northern Territory I wasn't able to have a trasfer because Dr. Ilbery was worried about OHSS, so I came home after a really long and awful 6 weeks away from home with nothing but exhaustion and 4 frozen embies. We'll get back there eventually (to QFG) but for now we're in the dreaded TWW with a clomid known donor cycle. Our timing was questionable but if a miracle is meant to happen this is the month!

Good luck and congrats to everyone. We'll be testing next saturday the 12th.:fingerscrossed:

missa

hope2bemum
07-03-2011, 19:50

Newbie to this site, just looking for any info you can give me.

My partner(30) & I(26) live near Parramatta, we have our first app at Fertility First Hurstville in 10 days (not that I'm counting lol). Hoping to do IUI with unknown donor ASAP all going well.
Any advice you could give on the process or any tips?

ontheway
07-03-2011, 20:53
Hi hope2bemum, Welcome to the hub
We are also live near Parrmatta and visited fertility First as our first step a number of years ago now.
Advice - relax I know it's easier to say then do. Have a list for questions for Anne (doctor) and be prepared for both of you to have bloods taken.

Good luck:hyper:

readymummies28
08-03-2011, 07:40
Hi Hope2bemum,

We are also from Parramatta.

We went to Next Generation Fertility.

My advice is do not stress about the whole process and try to ask as mnay questions as you can.

I know its hard relax when you are going through all the process but it just makes it that little bit easier.

We did an ICSO process and our embies were transferred in December. My partner is now going on 15 weeks pregnant.

Goodluck to both of you

Etienne
08-03-2011, 07:50
Hey everyone :)
As some mightve read we had out first cycle this month. Testing tomorow although it will still be early, I feel like it'll be a BFP due to waking up five times a night to pee and crying religiously throughout the day lol. Goodluck to everyone else testing or TTC.

hope2bemum
08-03-2011, 08:46
Hi readymummies28,

Thank you and congratulations :-)

Trying very hard to stay positive and not stress...as I have a few but not so serious autoimmune diseases I just fear they are going to find something else and say I can't carry which would be devastating...

Once I have the initial tests and get the all clear I hope I can relax a little more :-)

bekim11
19-03-2011, 16:55
Hi all, :wave:

I have recently joined this thread as my partner and I have been TTC. My partner and I have been together for 6 years now and have thought about this for a few years now. We started the process back in Sep but it took a while to start the first IUI due to FS appts.

We have done 2 cycles of IUI which resulted in BPN. We have just started an IVF cycle with ICSI and unknown donor sperm. I am day 9. Why does it go so slowly? Although the 2WW is worse. :fingerscrossed: this cycle works. I hate that feeling of failure when AF arrives.

Just wanted to wish everyone goodluck in their efforts to conceive. :smiliedance:

Baby dust to all! :babydust1:

Bekim
me (30)
DP (35)

readymummies28
22-03-2011, 19:11
Hi Greenmumtobe,

You can take us of the IVF list.

We are expexting our first child in Spetember after a successful IVF cycle.

Baby Dust to all:cheerleader1:

ontheway
23-03-2011, 08:10
Congratulations:celebrate: may your next 8 months go fast.

Green Mum to be
23-03-2011, 09:50
:smiliedance: Congratulations :smiliedance:

alwaysinthekitchen
20-04-2011, 12:38
Hi Green Mum to Be

We're new to this forum but my partner and I have just started ttc with home insemination... we are 5 days into the ttw on cycle #1.

Fingers crossed and good luck to everyone.

FLP
30-04-2011, 20:19

I'm usually pretty quiet on here... i prefer to read than comment normally, but I just want to announce our BFP!
2nd IUI was successful & got the blood test result last night. I know its really early days so am trying to be cautiously optimistic but we are totally stoked.
:hyper::smiliedance::hyper::smiliedance:

underadifferentsky
04-05-2011, 19:04
Big congrats FLP!!!!

We are set to go again next month with IUI. our story is on a few posts already but we've had two shots so far - one with a BFP and the next a m/c at 5 weeks.

Looking forward to trying again come June :-))))

Good luck all!

catemer
04-05-2011, 19:08

I am new to the site and the forum. We have just recently decided to go down the baby path after 8 years together. At this stage we're looking into clinics etc. Although after the Legislative changes in NSW re donor sperm and register etc it seems like its going to be really hard trying to find an unknown donor.

Has anyone used Fertility First at Hurstville and if so were they any good? Any recommendations?

As the non-birth mother (for the first at least) I'm a little nervous and anxious. Am I just being stupid and over thinking? is there anyone out there who is the non-biological other and can put my anxiety to ease?

Thanks.
Cath.

FLP
06-05-2011, 08:46
[QUOTE=catemer;5795583]Hi,

At this stage we're looking into clinics etc. Although after the Legislative changes in NSW re donor sperm and register etc it seems like its going to be really hard trying to find an unknown donor.

Has anyone used Fertility First at Hurstville and if so were they any good? Any recommendations?

Hi cath,

We are with Fertility First and I would highly recommend them. Everyone from Dr Clark to the nurses, lab staff and the girls at reception are wonderful. We used a known donor so I dont know as much about anon stuff, but I do know that FF have a register of US donors whose sperm they have in storage because of the shortage of Aussie donors, if that's what you want to look in to.

All the best,

FLP

catemer
06-05-2011, 10:44
Thanks a bunch FLP.

Great to know they have their own donors available.

I really appreciate your reply.:smiliedance:

Fingerscrossd11
14-05-2011, 17:13
hi all we are from sydney (st george area) but are doing it through qfg (qld). Just had the insem today so doing the TWW. Looking 4ward to talking to u all

Leeee
29-05-2011, 13:30
we've been dropped again, a few days ago now. that's 4 donors who have dropped us. insert rage and disbelief here.

admittedly he had a bloody good reason and it would be irresponsible of him to be sharing bodily fluids right about now, but it's so unfair!

ontheway
29-05-2011, 16:51
Whats the deal!:confused:
So sorry hearing your back on the man Hunt.

Ozzymonster
29-05-2011, 18:48
Hi there.. Im not trying atm but would love to have a bub with my partner in the future... Im very curious about the whole prosses... Can anyone tell me how much and if u can buy sperm for home insamination? Or can anyone tell me any helpful sites? Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Bubhub

Ree888
16-06-2011, 08:03
Hello all!

I've just found this thread so thought I'd post a reply even though it doesnt seem to be used that much recently. My partner and I have just done our first IVF cycle, and are currently in the TWW! Day 7 today, only 7 more days to go!

We used donor sperm from America, which our clinic (QFG) supplied. It has been interesting reading the other methods other same sex couples have used to concieve. Personally, we preferred sourcing a donor that we didn't know, so there were no extra complications with visitation etc.

With American sperm, it's much better quality than Australian, as they get paid to donate over there, and have to have a high sperm count to qualify. You also get a photo and a more detailed profile, so we thought the extra money was worth it!

Anyway, thats it for now!

Fingerscrossd11
29-06-2011, 16:29
Hello all!

I've just found this thread so thought I'd post a reply even though it doesnt seem to be used that much recently. My partner and I have just done our first IVF cycle, and are currently in the TWW! Day 7 today, only 7 more days to go!

We used donor sperm from America, which our clinic (QFG) supplied. It has been interesting reading the other methods other same sex couples have used to concieve. Personally, we preferred sourcing a donor that we didn't know, so there were no extra complications with visitation etc.

With American sperm, it's much better quality than Australian, as they get paid to donate over there, and have to have a high sperm count to qualify. You also get a photo and a more detailed profile, so we thought the extra money was worth it!

Anyway, thats it for now!

Hey, know all about QFG and the US sperm, we had our first insem in May but it didnt go so well. Next step is checking out full IVF. Good luck with it all.

lovetobe
15-07-2011, 09:37
Hey all, we are a lesbian couple who are TTC at the moment - using a fertility clinic. We are very excited....it would be great to be in touch with others in similar situations. We are in Sydney's Inner West.

readymummies28
15-07-2011, 23:12

Just thought i drop everyone a line after a long break from this forum.

Lovetobe- we are from the inner west as well. If you need anyobe to talk to during your cycle we are more than happy to chat as we havr been through that very stressful but rewarding road.

Well we are well into our third trimester after a successful first attempt in december. Only 7 more weeka to go and we finally meet our little man. Someone we have waited and worked so hard for for so long.

Ladies think positive, we once though when are we going to have our chance and it seemed like it was never going to happen, but if its our time, its our time.

So baby dust to everyone and will keep you updated.

Readymummies28

lovetobe
17-07-2011, 10:06
Hi there Ready mummies28

Thanks for the warm words of encouragement; it is success stories like yours that are boosting us as we embark on the fertility journey.

It would be great to chat about the lows and enormous highs of it all.

fleursydney@gmail.com

Biggest congratulations to you both.

Fingerscrossd11
19-07-2011, 15:49
Hello lovetobe,

We are currently trying also, we are from sydney (st george district) and are also using a fertility clinic (we are using one in Brisbane). We were trying ourselves for awhile (using a known donor) but that fell through. We had one insem earlier in the year with no success, our next appointment is in Sept with a new doctor (who is well know with a lot of girls on this website) so fingers crossed he will help us out.

Talk soon

Annemarie:cheerleader2:

lovetobe
23-07-2011, 17:44
Hey Annemarie,
We are using Fertility First in Hurstville - may I ask why you chose to use a clinic in Brisbane? (are we missing something?!) Our next appointment is also in September....Fingers crossed for you both.

catemer
25-07-2011, 16:25
Hey Annemarie,
We are using Fertility First in Hurstville - may I ask why you chose to use a clinic in Brisbane? (are we missing something?!) Our next appointment is also in September....Fingers crossed for you both.

Hi Lovetobe, we are also going with fertility first. Our first appointment is on 11/8 but that is just with the counsellor and then on 19/8 to see the FS. How far along the TTC journey are you? We are very excited and can't wait. In fact we have just spent the weekend visiting the in-laws to tell them our plans and despite our anxiety about telling them it went down really well. In fact my father in law is now trying to figure out just how he can turn his study into a nursery!

catemer
25-07-2011, 16:26
Hey Annemarie,

Hi Lovetobe, we are also going with fertility first. Our first appointment is on 11/8 but that is just with the counsellor and then on 19/8 to see the FS. How far along the TTC journey are you? We are very excited and can't wait. In fact we have just spent the weekend visiting the in-laws to tell them our plans and despite our anxiety about telling them it went down really well. In fact my father in law is now trying to figure out just how he can turn his study into a nursery!

Fingerscrossd11
26-07-2011, 08:25
why qld? There are a few reasons, but one is that we were referred to them as the dr we are now going to is top in his field without being excy at the same time. Also, we have family and friends in qld that we normally wouldnt be able to catch up with so we are killing two birds. My dp is a pvt person so we also didnt want to chance running in2 any1 we knew lol

AsKa
27-07-2011, 11:55

My partner and I are also doing our IUI/DI cycle with Fertility first, they are really nice people and make you feel very comfortable i think.

Wish you all the best!

Ashley :wave:

catemer
28-07-2011, 04:31

My partner and I are also doing our IUI/DI cycle with Fertility first, they are really nice people and make you feel very comfortable i think.

Wish you all the best!

Ashley :wave:

Hi Ashley,
Thanks very much. We are really excited and can't wait. It seems like the whole year has flown by, but the weeks leading up to thirds appts seems to be going so slow!
How did it work at FF with choosing your donor? WhT info did they give you? A photo? Feel free to PM me if you want.
Thanks again,
Cath :D

AsKa
29-07-2011, 06:00
Hi Ashley,
Thanks very much. We are really excited and can't wait. It seems like the whole year has flown by, but the weeks leading up to thirds appts seems to be going so slow!
How did it work at FF with choosing your donor? WhT info did they give you? A photo? Feel free to PM me if you want.
Thanks again,
Cath :D

Hi Cath,

Once they start your cycle they give you all your drugs if you need them and a donor list, which unfortunately is updated every fortnight i think, so if you dont have your insemination in the first fortnight, you then have to choose again.

You can veiw enhanced profiles of the donors at www.xytex.com (http://www.xytex.com) but it costs around $185.00, but it gives you 3 months full acess. I would recommend doing it because you also get extra info about the donors and pictures etc. But you need the donor list first, because the list only has select donors, not all that are on xytex.

Good Luck, i hope it all goes well for you!!!

fickwalker
03-08-2011, 12:12

Just wanted to pop in and add our names to the list. We're expecting our little girl, Peaches (just a nickname), in early September with massive thanks to the wonderful Dr Anne Clark at Fertility First. :)

Much love to all. <3

katiana
06-08-2011, 13:03
to all the lovely ladies here, does anyone know where my dp AND i can go to pre birth classes with couples like us? im thinking it may be more comfortable for my DP to have other non birth mothers to share her experience's with. we are birthing at Hurstville private (we think at this time lol) we are also happy to travel , any suggestions will help

babydust to all

:babydust1::babydust1::babydust1:

fickwalker
06-08-2011, 19:10
Anne Clark at FF in Hurstville is also a top physician in her field. She's is also the only female FS in Australia. Wazza is amazing tho, so all the best ladies. :)

lovetobe
07-08-2011, 11:06
Hey! How amazing that you received such a positive response. That must be a big weight off your shoulders. We have had a couple of appointments now and will start the process in September. Very exciting! x

lovetobe
07-08-2011, 11:14
Hi all, my partner and I have been talking and it seems there are so many people in a similar situation as us (We are currently TTC with FF) we would love to get to know like minded people in Sydney - we were thinking a coffee group or similar may be a good idea? would any one be interested? We are in Newtown, we could meet at a cafe around here or we are more than happy to travel elsewhere. Let us know your thoughts x

Fingerscrossd11
09-08-2011, 15:40
Hi all, my partner and I have been talking and it seems there are so many people in a similar situation as us (We are currently TTC with FF) we would love to get to know like minded people in Sydney - we were thinking a coffee group or similar may be a good idea? would any one be interested? We are in Newtown, we could meet at a cafe around here or we are more than happy to travel elsewhere. Let us know your thoughts x

Sounds like an idea

Well we have bit the bullet (due to a stuff up at Qld and we took it as a sign), we have an appointment on the 20 Sept at FF. Now we just have to get the referrals and copies of my DP's files from Qld.

katiana
14-08-2011, 13:32
we would like to meet like minded people too,sounds great, congrats fingerscrossed11 for ure app with FF, :cheerleader2::cheerleader2:go dr clark :cheerleader2:

catemer
15-08-2011, 20:34
Hey fingerscrossed, congrats on your appt at fertility first. We went there last Thursday for the mandatory counsellor appt. The place was wonderful. Everyone we met were really friendly and really nice. Rhea the counsellor was amazing swell, really pleasant, professional and again really friendly.
We have our appt with dr Anne on Friday and are so excited. DP has just finished her AF so who knows we could be jumping in head first by the end of the onto if cycle works out right! Omg! That has only just sunk in! Woo hoo!

catemer
15-08-2011, 20:37
We would also be interested in meeting up and saying hi to everyone. We are in the MacArthur area but can come closer to the city or Sutherland shire area. Although we are all using fertility first maybe somewhere around hurstville ish?

Fingerscrossd11
16-08-2011, 10:32
Hey there,

we have already done the whole counsellor thing etc up in qld so we just have to bring a copy of our files, thats one thing ticked... lol

Looking forward to the appt, I can't believe how close FF is to me....

Hey fingerscrossed, congrats on your appt at fertility first. We went there last Thursday for the mandatory counsellor appt. The place was wonderful. Everyone we met were really friendly and really nice. Rhea the counsellor was amazing swell, really pleasant, professional and again really friendly.
We have our appt with dr Anne on Friday and are so excited. DP has just finished her AF so who knows we could be jumping in head first by the end of the onto if cycle works out right! Omg! That has only just sunk in! Woo hoo!

lovetobe
26-08-2011, 07:20
Hi ladies, how is everyone?

We are one step closer to TTC after having some scans done this week...not pleasant but we are sure it will be worth it!
I also told my mother we are TTC, i guess I was a little worried about her reaction..needless to say she is starting to knit a blanket and has told us we 'have to have a girl' oh gosh - no pressure!!

Can't wait for our next appointment with Anne Clark to get the ball rolling now.

I have set up an email address. For those of you who are interested in meeting up for coffee. Drop me an email at: ttccoffeemeetup@gmail.com and we can make arrangements that way.

Hope all is well :smiliedance:

catemer
27-08-2011, 15:21
Good Idea Lovetobe. Will email you in a jiffy.

As for us. We went and saw Anne Clark on Friday last week (19/8), and were told we had missed this cycle by a few days, so we had our bloods done, have the forms for the scans and are waiting for DP's "visitor" to get the ball rolling again! While a little disappointed we couldn't try this month, it at least gives us another few weeks to make sure my DP's vitamin levels etc are all hunky dory before we get the magic juice!
My DP was a little disappointed too as she is the sort of person who once she decides she wants to do it she does it right then and there!
But, now we wait! Although try delicately explaining to DP's dad why we have to wait just under 4 weeks before we go back to see the dr and that is one very funny conversation! Especially when it ends part way through with him saying 'ewwwww too much information'!
Sorry now I'm rambling!

kleeandtammy
28-08-2011, 18:30
Can you add us on here too please. we are new on here and have no idea where to get any help

katiana
30-08-2011, 11:39
I have set up an email address. For those of you who are interested in meeting up for coffee. Drop me an email at: ttccoffeemeetup@gmail.com and we can make arrangements that way.

Hope all is well :smiliedance:

have emailed u :hyper:

seen button yesterday, LOOOOVVEEEEE getting scans and now a dvd to replay lol

hope everyone is well, welcome to the newbies - dont be afraid to ask questions.

babydust to all :babydust1:

lovetobe
30-08-2011, 19:35
Great to hear from those of you who are keen to meet up.
The plan so far is a lunch on Sunday 25th of September (at a location to be confirmed) will email details closer to the time.
For anyone who is interested in coming. Feel free to drop me an email - ttccoffeemeetup@gmail.com
Fleur

lovetobe
30-08-2011, 19:38
Katiana - must be SO exciting to have scans!! Wow! Amazing :)

fickwalker
30-08-2011, 21:20
We would love to meet up, just can't make any concrete plans right now..... We're actually in the hospital right now going through an induction. :)

Once we're home again, I'll send through an email.

MuminMind
31-08-2011, 20:29
Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum but am already following this thread with great enjoyment and anticipation. I really hope that the ones of you who are TTC do so successfully and get to experience what often is considered a privilege available only to straight individuals.

Your future kids are such an integral part of a modern society, and I can't wait until this heteronomous society is just a distant memory!

catemer
01-09-2011, 08:24
Great to hear from those of you who are keen to meet up.
The plan so far is a lunch on Sunday 25th of September (at a location to be confirmed) will email details closer to the time.
For anyone who is interested in coming. Feel free to drop me an email - ttccoffeemeetup@gmail.com
Fleur

Hi Fleur, that sounds good, we will have to check our work rosters, but hopefully at least one of us will be able to make it

lovetobe
02-09-2011, 06:52
We would love to meet up, just can't make any concrete plans right now..... We're actually in the hospital right now going through an induction. :)

Once we're home again, I'll send through an email.

WOW!! how exciting. How is it all going? wishing you all the best :)

lovetobe
02-09-2011, 06:57
Welcome KleeandTammy, Is there anything in particular you need help with? let me know if we can help at all. We are currently trying to conceive using a fertility clinic....it is a long road but we are sure it will be worth it :)

lovetobe
11-09-2011, 15:42
So far it's looking like 4-5 couples are interested in meeting up.
The plan for the 25th of September is to meet at Sydney Park (in Alexandria) for a picnic/coffee - It is a great park with excellent facilities (kiosk, playground, toilets, parking etc) It is very gay, dog and child friendly!!
Lets meet around 12.30 -1pm (by the kiosk) you can bring your own picnic or buy food/coffee from the kiosk. Probably a good idea to bring a rug or chair to chill out on.
If anyone else is interested please feel free to come along. You can contact me on here or at ttccoffeemeetup@gmail.com
Fleur :)

fickwalker
12-09-2011, 06:00

Just popping in to let you know that Georgia Malia made her surprisingly quick entrance to the world on the 31st of August.

We have spent the last ten days at Sydney Children's Hospital as it was discovered shortly after birth that our Gia has a little problem with her plumbing. We are hopeful that mum and bub will be home with Mama sometime very soon.

Much love to all. <3

Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub

katiana
14-09-2011, 15:31
hoping bub and mum get home soon. thinking of u.

lovetobe
14-10-2011, 08:12
:smiliedance:Hi All, just wanted to let you know our good news. I am pregnant :) very early days, I am only 5 weeks. We are so excited & feel incredibly lucky.

http://www.bubhub.com.au/tickers/image.php?image=MDZgYDMzYGAwOWBgMDlgYDIwMTFgYDAxYG BgYHByZWduYW5jeWBgMTVgYDA2YGAyMDEy=.png (http://www.bubhub.com.au)

FLP
15-10-2011, 18:43
Good luck... wishing you a healthy and non-eventful pregnancy!
Our triplets are hopefully gonna wait till early Dec to make an appearance if all goes as planned!

jali
18-10-2011, 19:51
Hi everyone :), I would love to join thread/group. My partner and I have been together for 13 years. 1st ICSI resulted in BFN in September, had FET this month, currently in the 2WW - half way there, can't it already be two weeks!! Have been trying to hold off on HPT as long as possible. Great to see the support on bubhub. :wave: jali

Fingerscrossd11
20-10-2011, 10:02
hey, welcome to bubhub. I have only been on this site this year and I love it. All gals here are very supportive of each other and it is great to see.

good luck with the 2WW

fickwalker
21-10-2011, 13:02
Welcome jali and good luck! The TWW is utterly horrendous, I hope you get good news!

rainbow road
21-10-2011, 13:09
I'd like to join! Not TTC until mid 2012 (DP is starting new job in dec) but already thinking about it constantly! I will be carrying bub no. 1 and one of my best friends is going to be our donor for as many children as we want :goodvibes:

So- hi!!! Hope everyone is going well!

jali
24-10-2011, 06:02
fingerscrossd11 and fickwalker - thankyou for welcome and wishes re 2WW - nearly there, BT 2 days away

forkie - welcome to bubhub, great support and wealth of information, good luck on your TTC journey:)

Fingerscrossd11
24-10-2011, 10:46
welcome Forkie,

I see you are in sydney, there are a few of us sydney gals on this forum. Which area of sydney?

Bubba2in2011
01-11-2011, 01:19
Our triplets are hopefully gonna wait till early Dec to make an appearance if all goes as planned!

WOW another set of triplets!! Congratulations! We are the proud parents of 10mth old triplets. What combination are you having? We have identical boys and a little girl!! What is your due date? We were due 24th Feb this year but our trio decided to come 9weeks early and came into the world on boxing day. What an adventure you are about to start. I don't get on BH much anymore but will have to try to pop in to see how you are going. (Spend lots of time on Fb talking to multiple mummies). Wishing you all the best and hoping your trio stay put for as long as possible :yes:

jali
01-11-2011, 07:11
We got a BFP last week :celebrate:!!!
Early days, my scan is Thursday next week - can't wait, yet another wait... but I'm sure it will be worth it.
Now to see if we have one or two:smiliedance: jali

Etienne
03-11-2011, 19:20
Congrats jali! Enjoy the next 9 months it is The most amazing ride of your life that's for sure.

I hvent been around here for a little while but We've currently got 2 weeks left. I cannot wait to meet my beautiful baby girl :)

Best of luck to everyone ttc

Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub app

katiana
04-11-2011, 15:11
congrats jali :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedanc e:

jali
05-11-2011, 06:23
Etienne and Katiana - thanks! Wow Etienee under two weeks to go, and Katiana 11 weeks :celebrate:- how exciting.

Wishing you both an amazing birth, not long now to add to your rainbow family:hugs:

My first scan is this coming Thursday, counting down the days...jali

FLP
06-11-2011, 17:25
WOW another set of triplets!! Congratulations! We are the proud parents of 10mth old triplets. What combination are you having? We have identical boys and a little girl!! What is your due date? We were due 24th Feb this year but our trio decided to come 9weeks early and came into the world on boxing day. What an adventure you are about to start. I don't get on BH much anymore but will have to try to pop in to see how you are going. (Spend lots of time on Fb talking to multiple mummies). Wishing you all the best and hoping your trio stay put for as long as possible :yes:

Thanks for your positive words. We've got two girls and a boy (all fraternal). Our official due date is 3rd Jan but the average of 33-34 weeks makes them expected around late Nov. Dr is hoping to get us past 35 weeks though so fingers (and legs) crossed for now! I havent been on here in a while either - I spent alot longer on here when we were planning and TTC... Im the same as you - spending my time pouring over multiples forums these days looking for tips and tricks, ha!

fickwalker
06-11-2011, 20:12
Congrats Jali and FLP! Such exciting times around here.

As for us? We're sleep deprived and loving it. Gia is ten weeks old this coming Wednesday and she has us wrapped around her little finger. :)

katiana
07-11-2011, 16:59
fickwalker - glad to hear u girls are sleep deprived ;) been thinking of u all.

Tobster
15-11-2011, 11:51

My partner & I are expecting our first baby, just 7 weeks pregnant at this stage so very early days! We were lucky and our first ICSI took, now we just have to get prepared!

We are in Sydney (north shore) and were wondering if there were any social groups set up for lesbian mums or mums to be?

Thanks for your assistance!

Di & Melinda:smiliedance:

Fingerscrossd11
16-11-2011, 13:44
Welcome Di & Melinda and congrats on the pregnancy news.

Are you on FB? there is a Lesbian parents group on there that posts the going ons etc around Australia. Its called Australian lesbian Parents on Facebook. Not sure if you can search for it if you arent a member of the group but find me on FB and I can invite you. Look for Annemarie Manning (and that goes for everyone out there lol) my picture has trophies in it.

A little about us, my partner and I are TCC and are currently starting the IVF process through Fertility First with Dr Anne. We are happy to meet new couples in Sydney so hopefully speak to you soon.

Annemarie & Linda

rainbow road
16-11-2011, 13:47
Hi Di and Melinda - congrats on your pregnancy news!

I am in Inner West Sydney and my DP and I are TTC mid next year! Would love to meet new couples in Sydney though to give us tips and advice though!

We have a donor lined up so we are going to do home insemination when the time is right...I really hope we will be ready to start trying by April/May!

lovetobe
17-11-2011, 07:24
Hi Di & Melinda, my partner and I are also newly pregnant :) I am 10 weeks with our first. Very exciting. We are friends with Annemarie and Linda and would be keen to meet up also if you are interested. We live in Newtown. You can find us on facebook under Fleur'Janine Sydney. Wishing you all the best with your pregnancy. Fleur & Janine :wave:

lovetobe
17-11-2011, 07:26
Hi Forkie, we are also in the Inner West (Newtown) and keen to be in touch with other couples. I am currently 10 weeks pregnant with our first. You can find us on facebook under Fleur'Janine Sydney. All the best, Fleur & Janine :)

fickwalker
18-11-2011, 14:39
Hi Di & Melinda, welcome to BubHub. :)

My partner and I are located in the Inner West (Glebe) and would love to meet up with people. Our beautiful Georgia Malia arrived at the end of August and we're positively giddy with happiness. Big congratulations to you on your wonderful news.

fickwalker
18-11-2011, 14:46
PS: Fingerscrossed and lovetobe, I've just added you on Facebook. I'm Glory. :)

rainbow road
18-11-2011, 15:33
I've added you on facebook too :)

Will be lovely to chat. I am in Rozelle. Fickwalker, I currently nanny for 1 and sometimes 2 12 month olds in Glebe, so if you were keen for coffee one day we could do that?

I love your daughter's name. Beautiful! DP and I have already picked out our future bubbas names! :o

ETA I am on facebook. K.i.m.b.e.r.l.e.i.g.h S.i.m.p.k.i.n.s (obviously no spaces). Feel free to add :waves:

fickwalker
18-11-2011, 18:48
Forkie - I'm at work during the week, but DP is definitely available. Luckily, work is just around the corner on Ross St. We will definitely have to catch up sometime soon. :)

I really have to figure out how to post pictures here. You can find a bunch of pictures on my FB page. No surprise, I know. lol.

rainbow road
19-11-2011, 19:05
Fantastic. I work on Bridge Rd, so pretty close. I love the inner west!

Fingerscrossd11
21-11-2011, 09:53
howdy all,

Thanks for the FB adds, sorry if i didnt know who you are, i didnt see these messages til now :)

Forkie, I hope you didnt mind me adding you to the FB Lesbian Parenting group, i know you both arent parents yet, but that is a good group as well as this forum to find other gals the same. :smiliedance:

Talk soon

rainbow road
21-11-2011, 09:59
Not at all, I think it's a fantastic group and great opportunity to make friends for when I do have a million and one questions to ask!

lovetobe
21-11-2011, 10:23
Hi everyone, Just a question.....has anyone given birth at the RPA Birth Centre in Sydney?

fickwalker
21-11-2011, 12:23
Hi lovetobe, as I said on FB, our Georgia was born at RPA. Okay, granted, she was actually born on the antenatal ward but we were then transferred down to the Birth Centre, and then transferred again to the Labour Ward. This was more due to DP having a tear that eventually needed repairing in surgery, but we did get to see and experience all facets of the birthing facilities.

Please don't pay any attention to people who actively advocate against hospital deliveries due to their own unhappy experiences. Labour and birth are things that only you can decide on. The only thing I will suggest is that you make sure you are comfortable with wherever you may be. I wholeheartedly vouch for the wonderful staff, doctors and midwives at RPA (bar one crotchety old midwife who was just a sourpuss regardless of where she worked), they are mostly kind and compassionate people who will do anything to help. RPA is also very big on encouraging women to birth naturally and actively. They don't like to intervene unless there is an actual reason for it.

Case in point... My DP was induced and between the actual induction and when Gia was born? She didn't even get an internal examination. She was encouraged to move around the room and get herself as comfortable as possible and to do whatever it was that she felt she needed to in order to cope with the pain of contractions.

Bottom line? Just make sure that you're happy and comfortable with whatever decision you make. RPA is a wonderful hospital that I cannot speak highly of. Also, aiming for the Birth Centre is a good plan as the speed at which they can transfer you to the Labour Ward is fantastic - Labour Ward is right across the foyer. The only other thing I would suggest is for you to book yourself in NOW. RPA is the busiest hospital in the state when it comes to births.

Good luck and I can't wait to hear all about your experience. :)

Tobster
26-11-2011, 15:13
Hi Annemarie, Linda, Forkie, lovetobe, and fickwalker!

Thanks for the replies, sorry for the delay, I have been overseas and then of course got sick when I got back (germ planes) and got to experience a cold with no drugs lol.

Melinda & I would love to catch up with you all and since you seem to be over on the Newtown side, how about we meet over that way? We could do bank or something less cliched if you like? ;)

I will search for that facebook group as well!

We had our first ultrasound on Monday and got to see the babies heart beat, very exciting!!

Di & Melinda

Fingerscrossd11
28-11-2011, 14:02
who are you on FB? lol

Tobster
28-11-2011, 21:16
Hi Annemarie,

I couldn't find the group so I have sent you a friend request. Could you please invite me to the group? My name is Diana Jones.

Thanks again,

Di

lovetobe
05-01-2012, 11:16
Hi everyone, Just wanted to check in and see how you are all going?

I am 17 weeks now and enjoying the second trimester much more than the first! Hope you all had a lovely Christmas & New Years.
Take care, Fleur & Janine :smiliedance:

MuminMind
05-01-2012, 11:49
*Threadcrashing Alert*

Sorry to crash, I am not in a same-sex relationship but I follow this thread with great interest and cheer! And I just wanted to comment to lovetobe. I hope that is ok.

Hi everyone, Just a question.....has anyone given birth at the RPA Birth Centre in Sydney?

As I said, I am not a same-sex parent, but I gave birth at the birth centre within RPA, and had a fantastic experience. My DP and I stayed a night in the post delivery ward, and were pleased with the care we received before going home. We also attended 7 week antenatal classes, which were pretty good. And when I was diagnosed with PND after birth, I was admitted to the psychiatric unit at RPA, where this fantastic care continued. RPA has a special place in my <3

I also know two same-sex couples who gave birth at the birth centre, and they had great experiences too.

Best of luck with it all - all of you! :goodvibes:

Green Mum to be
13-01-2012, 13:18

I don't frequent bub hub as often as i used too but thought I'd pop in to say hello! :wave:

As you can see from my signature (and i also have a diary) TTC has been very difficult for us but we are still hanging in there. :fingerscrossed: we get some good vibes soon!!

There aren't many people that i recognise in this forum anymore!! So.... HI!