View Full Version : how much zofran is safe?

rascals3
06-03-2009, 10:20
:barf:I`m 12.1weeks with my 4th and LAST child...having all day nausea and vomiting since week 5!! had same with other pregnancies, it lasted till around week 16-20. I`m taking 8mg tablets once a day, i`m wondering how safe for bubs this is?? My doc said its up to me to decide because the research isnt conclusive enough. please help!!

Sheer Bliss
06-03-2009, 14:39
I took 8mg/day for most of my pregnancy with DS. I did have problems with my liver towards the end, and he was induced at 36weeks, I had PE, but the Zofran *may* have contributed, nothing is conclusive enough to tell. At times I have been so bad this time that I have been on 16mg/day through the drip, then 12-16mg on discharge. I have dropped back to 4mg/day since about 18-20weeks, as I improved drastically.

tomtom
06-03-2009, 22:42
Congratulations!:smiliedance: I am 10.2 weeks pregnant with my fourth and last also.
Can't help you out with the zofran. I also feel nausea all day and am stuck on the couch.My doctor prescribed Maxolon which I found has been great.

MelandBen
07-03-2009, 21:10
I used Zofran for about 5 weeks of my pregnancy, I know your pain and I am so sorry you have to go through it, it is horrible.

My lil girl is yet to arrive, so I can't say 100% no probs, but so far she is doing well and growing well.

Good luck, I hope you feel better soon!

debplus3
17-03-2009, 11:06
Just to let you know, I used Zofran twice daily for about 20 weeks of my pregnancy with my third child. Worst morning sickness I have ever had!! Then used it sparingly for the rest of the PG. Baby now 5 weeks old and neither I or bubs seem to have suffered any ill-efects. The zofran saved me...nothing else was working and I was soooooo sick!!

PS - delivering this baby was easy compared to being sick for so long!! LOL!!

Herchy
17-03-2009, 11:09
I hope that the zofran works!!
Does nothing for me... I just throw up the entire pregnancy.
Not sure on the safety, I would say take what you feel comfortable taking.

Nickimumto1
18-03-2009, 08:20
With my first pregnancy i took 8mg tablets daily for the first 20 weeks and second pregnancy only need 4mg tablets. Both pregnancies went well and bub and mum fine.

If i did not take Zofran i would have to stay in hospital. I think Zofran is a better option than that.

MummyStar
15-04-2009, 21:21
I hope that Zofran is safe since my Obs prescribed it for me to take, I'm now 16wks PG & I've been sick since week 7...I can't stand it!!! It's been the decider that we will only be having 2 children as I wouldn't put myself through this again. I had really bad MS with my 1st Pregnancy & vomitted constantly for 6 weeks until I was advised that I could take Maxalon for it! I only started taking Maxalon from about week 13 then most of the pregnancy - I even threw up about 4 times just after DS was born & had to have Maxalon via a drip. This time around the Maxalon does nothing but make me really tired. I'm on my 3rd box of Zofran (How expensive!!!), the first two boxes were tablets & I was taking 8mg per day but now I'm on the wafers & cut them in half so they last 20days which means that I'm only taking 4mg per day. I'm pretty sure that my Obs said that they were Category B. Category A is the safest medication to take during pregnancy Eg: Panadol. How are you feeling now?

Nowhere
15-04-2009, 21:27
I didnt take it when pregy but DD takes it and has for a long time with no ill efect and she was a baby when started taking it she is now 3 and on 3 mg a day

misschicken86
20-04-2009, 22:34
i got prescribed about 25-30 dissolvable tablets called "ondansetron" which is the same as zofran because i had severe hyperemesis gravidarum when preggers too i lost 12.5 kg and was in hospital for a day a a time over 10 times for fluid drips n stuff

but i made them last over a few months

only really took them when i had to stand up and do stuff like food shopping going to friends house (we didnt do much of that) haha

at first i got daily maxalon shots then tablet then they just didnt do anything

but i read heaps about it and they reckon like the recommended dosage every 8-12 hours or so.....i would exceed that, but it depends on the mg.....

my DD is now 11 months and almost walking! no effects whatso ever

goodluck x

good luck

k1ss9ie
22-04-2009, 20:43
i had sever morning sickness the whole way through my pregnancy i was on 1 4mg tablet every 8 hours wafers are best absorbed quicker n cannot be thrown back up if u let them dissolve under ur tongue they are absorbed much quicker still. i gave birth to a baby boy on the 19th of february who aside from a lower end of the schale birth weight was perfectly healthy and did not seem the least bit bothered by the zofran he is flourishing an advanced for his age so has had no mental impact. i only hope you can keep down more than i did my baby was just under 3kg because i was so ill and that was with the zofran absolutely the only relief i had all pregnancy i was bed bound and had a minimum of 4 trips to the emergency department before i discovered it an got a bit of my life back but never went any where without something to throw up in

MummyGoingMad
24-04-2009, 21:42
I feel so sad reading this thread as I would love to have #3 now that DD and DS are almost 4 and 3.. but my M/s was so bad during my 1st 2 pregs that its the sole reason preventing me from ttc.

I was considering starting to save up for zofran to get me thru a preg as i used maxalon during my pregs but it only worked so much, i was still dizzy and sick but it kept me from vomiting continuously which was the case b4 i started maxalon. I still ended up thrice in hospy with DD and once with DS.

stemetil didnt touch me, maxalon worked to a certain degree and zofran i had on special occassions eg a wedding and it was by far the best, but the cost is so expensive i wouldnt be able to afford it without saving specifically enough money for it.

i never even considered side effects to bub (doc told me maxalon was safe to use, is that the case!?), i feel so stupid!! grr so now its not only the cost its also this which is even more important obviously :(

Butterfliez
27-04-2009, 08:41
I am 11 weeks pregnant and suffering Hyperemesis again with this bub. I am on Zofran 8mg morning and again in the afternoon. It is costing me $200 a week to be on this, but at least it helps to keep some fluids down. I have lost 6 kgs already (after stupidly dieting before TTC and already getting to my goal weight) I still have to go and be put on a drip every so often due to dehyration. Even with the Zofran, I have been pretty much bed-ridden for 5 weeks now. Just hoping it subsides soon.

mumof2andtwinsontheway
30-04-2009, 15:20
My twins are now 7 months. I took Zofran from week 11 to week 32. Initially 4mg once a day and then slowly tapered off by halving the tablet.

I had bad morning sickness with my first 2 and managed to avoid taking anything but with the twins I couldnt function. Zofran saved my sanity and neither the babies or I have suffered any ill effects. In fact they gave Zofran to my 2 year old when she had severe gastro and was hospitalised. I think it is now being used more and more for other nausea causing conditions.

I know its scary as I really didnt want to take anything but I think that the physical and mental wellbeing of mum when pregnant can have a massive impact on bubs so if you feel you cant cope I see no problem with taking something to help if you have done your homework. Dont feel guilty or scared!:)

MummyGoingMad
30-04-2009, 21:38
I am 11 weeks pregnant and suffering Hyperemesis again with this bub. I am on Zofran 8mg morning and again in the afternoon. It is costing me $200 a week to be on this, but at least it helps to keep some fluids down. I have lost 6 kgs already (after stupidly dieting before TTC and already getting to my goal weight) I still have to go and be put on a drip every so often due to dehyration. Even with the Zofran, I have been pretty much bed-ridden for 5 weeks now. Just hoping it subsides soon.

Oh I feel for u :( I hope it gets better soon!!!!

Butterfliez
02-05-2009, 07:55
Oh I feel for u :( I hope it gets better soon!!!!

Aww, thank you so much. Dr has put me back on steroids for 3 days to give me a few days respite. Hoping it works.

loving_life
09-05-2009, 18:50
I was just about to start a thread about this same topic when I saw there was already one. I've been taking Zofran for a few days after taking Maxolon for a week and found all it did was knock me out and make me want to sleep although I was able to eat and drink a little.

My pharmacist told me there is a generic version, can't remember the name, starts with A, but that was about $45 instead of $139 if anyone is interested for the same thing. I decided to go for Zofran in the end and would claim it on Health Insurance since it's a non PBS but your ob or doc can put in a request to get it at PBS prices which is about $35.

Anyone taking Zofran, have you found you're getting stomach cramping? Do you find it helps alot? I'm getting some stomach pains which I don't get if I don't take the Zofran. I hate taking these tablets but I hate not being able to eat or drink and throwing up the little I do have and falling in a heap.:(

nick's mum
06-06-2009, 19:30
I took Zofran 4mg twice a day I think from 12weeks preg to 22 weeks then cut down to 1 a day until about 26 weeks. It's expensive but a lifesaver - and baby is perfectly fine. I tried maxalon from 6 weeks preg to 12 weeks but still felt sick/vomiting and made me really really tired and dizzy. I was also taking Losec (for heartburn from 20 weeks to the end of the pregnancy - zantac wasn't working). If I ever have any more I'm getting both as soon as I show any signs of m/s - absolute lifesavers and had absolutely no adverse effects for me or bub.

MummyGoingMad
07-06-2009, 13:05
I was just about to start a thread about this same topic when I saw there was already one. I've been taking Zofran for a few days after taking Maxolon for a week and found all it did was knock me out and make me want to sleep although I was able to eat and drink a little.

My pharmacist told me there is a generic version, can't remember the name, starts with A, but that was about $45 instead of $139 if anyone is interested for the same thing. I decided to go for Zofran in the end and would claim it on Health Insurance since it's a non PBS but your ob or doc can put in a request to get it at PBS prices which is about $35.

Anyone taking Zofran, have you found you're getting stomach cramping? Do you find it helps alot? I'm getting some stomach pains which I don't get if I don't take the Zofran. I hate taking these tablets but I hate not being able to eat or drink and throwing up the little I do have and falling in a heap.:(

I didnt know there is a generic, has anyone else seen or used this?

I asked about PBS for zofran and the doc said u cant get put on it for pregnancies, only chemotherapy etc.

Also not sure how u claim on ur health insurance? Mine doesnt allow drug claims, i didnt know u could get this type of health insurance?

msro82
08-06-2009, 21:48

I had Hyperemesis gravidarum whilst pregnant with DD. I took a minimum of 8mg a day until about 20 weeks, then dropped back to 4mg at that point but jumped back up to 8mg around the 32 week mark. I took it from 10 weeks until the day after DD was born.

DD (now 2 years old) was born perfectly healthy spot on the 50% for length and weight (smaller than average head circ but normal in my family). She has had no health issues, shocking sleeping still but I can't blame Zofran for that!

I honestly couldn't have gotten by without those wonderful little wafers. I did read a study whilst pregnant that indicated out of 1000 women tested taking the drug there was no increase in abnormalities or pre-term labour.

I used maxolon first which was crap and then took a few weeks off work thinking that it would stop around that magic 12 week mark. I had never anticipated to use for my whole pregnancy but if you need it you need it.

Good luck and I hope the dreaded M/S passes soon.

MummyStar
08-06-2009, 23:56
I feel so sad reading this thread as I would love to have #3 now that DD and DS are almost 4 and 3.. but my M/s was so bad during my 1st 2 pregs that its the sole reason preventing me from ttc.

i never even considered side effects to bub (doc told me maxalon was safe to use, is that the case!?), i feel so stupid!! grr so now its not only the cost its also this which is even more important obviously :(

That's why we're only having two, cos I couldn't stand to be this sick again, Zofran has been great but it is soo expensive. I think if you have a strong desire for a 3rd baby I would save up for the Zofran - You might be lucky & have a totally different pregnancy :fingerscrossed: & not need anything. My Obs advised me that Maxalon was safe to use, it worked during PG1 & we had a healthy baby boy but hasn't worked this time & it made me too tired to function with a Toddler. Good Luck!

I didnt know there is a generic, has anyone else seen or used this?

Also not sure how u claim on ur health insurance? Mine doesnt allow drug claims, i didnt know u could get this type of health insurance?

I bought 1 box of Ondaz but it's only about $5 cheaper so I stuck to Zofran. I was only able to claim back $100 in total from my Private Health Insurer (2 x $50 from 2 seperate scripts for Zantac) & I can't get anymore back this year. I would contact your Insurer & ask them to check you cover.

I'm taking half a wafer almost everyday (4mg per day), the MS is finally starting to ease now at 23wks!!! I haven't had any cramping & it has given me a life, so yes it has 100% helped me through this pregnancy.

I took Zofran 4mg twice a day I think from 12weeks preg to 22 weeks then cut down to 1 a day until about 26 weeks. It's expensive but a lifesaver - and baby is perfectly fine. I tried maxalon from 6 weeks preg to 12 weeks but still felt sick/vomiting and made me really really tired and dizzy. I was also taking Losec (for heartburn from 20 weeks to the end of the pregnancy - zantac wasn't working). If I ever have any more I'm getting both as soon as I show any signs of m/s - absolute lifesavers and had absolutely no adverse effects for me or bub.

:iagree:
I totally agree with everything you've said about Zofran & Maxalon. I'm even getting really bad heartburn & Zantac isn't doing a thing!:hair:
I'm so glad that you mentioned Losec, we had DS1 on Losec for reflux from 7wks to 7mths & I had totally forgotten about it - I'll contact my Obs tomorrow & ask him to fax the chemist a script. Thanks :)

neekynoo
09-06-2009, 15:43
Like many others I too had HG for my entire pregnancy and took Zofran from 16 weeks ( when they finally put me on it after losing 12kg already :rolleyes: ) until the day DD was born. I took 4mg 3 times a until 32 weeks then twice a day. I tried and tried to cut it back but only ended up back in hospy each time. DD was born at 38 weeks by emergency ceasar because a routine check revealed her heart rate to be very unstable. After she was born the docs said that the placenta was deteriorating quite a bit but it was never said that was because of meds, or that it was the reason she wasn't stable in utero. We have recently learned that she has mild cerebral palsy in her left leg but that too isn't related in any way to the Zofran.

If I have learnt anything from having HG it's that you do what is necessary for a healthy bub which means making sure the mumma is healthy too. If that means taking meds then thats what you do. Otherwise the risk of weight loss and dehydration puts your baby in jeopardy too. Try not to stress about. :hugs:

On another note... I got my perscriptions filled by the hospital pharmacy and only had to pay $10 a packet (can't remember how many were in a packet but they lasted me about two weeks i think) We would go along to my appointments each month and they would assess my condition a get a script filled out from an OB then all we had to do was take it too the hospital pharmacy. Saved us a fortune. Maybe thats worth looking into?

Best of luck honey and don't worry too much xx