View Full Version : i am trying ivf first time

motherof4
04-06-2006, 12:31 PM
hello everyone
first time on here so dont know if i am doing it right .
i would love to hear from anyone that is doing ivf as i am going to start soon and i am very worry about the side effects to the medication

Miss Ellie
04-06-2006, 12:49 PM
Hi motherof4

There are heaps of caring, supportive people who'd love to have you join the thread "First IVF Cycle in a Few Day". We're up to part two, but don't let that put you off!

I've had two cycles of IVF, I'm just about to find out if my latest one was successful.

Side effects of the medication depend on a lot of factors... not least of all which medication you will be using! Do you know yet? I used Synarel, Puregon, and progesterone pessaries. Others use Lucrin, GonalF and Crinone, so as you can see it will depend on your doctor and clinic.

Melanie&Lucky
04-06-2006, 01:23 PM

I am up to my 7th cycle. Unfortunately no success so far :(

In answer to your question, side effects depend on which medication is used. The side effects are nothing too stressing and are not scarey. If you know about them in advance, then you know what to look out for and understand why you might be feeling whatever it is you are feeling.

Side effects include:

Synarel nasel spray:- mood swings, cranky, emotional & teary, few headaches, lethargic, flustered. I call this stuff "Insane-arel"!!

FSH:- (ie follicle stimulating hormone, eg Puregon, Gonal F): Tiredness, a bit bloated, bit of fluid retention, bit lethargic, can cause a little bit of tenderness around the ovary area of your abdomen.

Other druggs I have used include:

Pregnyl: Sore & swollen breasts (but boobies do look pretty good for about a week!!!!).

Progesterone Pessaries: didn't notice any side effects.

Crinone Gel: didn't notice any side effects.

Sorry, but don't mean to sound personal with what I am going to say next, but after a cycle, if it doesn't work, then you probably can expect the "red flood gates" to be an absolute corker.

Out of all the drugs, I hate the Synarel Nasal Spray the most. :thumbsdown:

I do wish you all the best and I hope that any of the side effects I have mentioned don't scare you. It is good to know what to expect, because on my first cycle, I didn't have an absolute clue and I almost felt as though I needed to be put into a padded cell with a straight jacket !!!!!!! Now that I have done a few cycles, I know what to expect and can get through it alot better.

GOOD LUCK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shajbm
07-06-2006, 08:20 AM
Motherof4...Welcome and good luck on your ivf journey...

My DH and I already have a 3 year old son and were shocked and devastated when we found out that medically our son was a miracle and our only hope for another child will need to be through ivf. We have just completed our first cycle and I have a blood test tommorrow to confirm if our efforts paid off.

If you'd like to chat some more, then feel free to ask me anything you like(nothing is silly or embarrassing) or if you feel more comfortable then you can pm/email me.

Please come in a chat with us on this thread or on "First ivf cycle in a few days part 2". The ladies in there have all been through ivf at some point or are currently undergoing treatment and are a wonderful bunch...Come in and say hi.

Best of luck

Meljem
08-06-2006, 05:02 PM
MOTHEROF4 Hi welcome. I wish you all the best. We are about to start our 2nd ivf cycle. 1st one i didnt complete due to poor response to drugs.

Goodluck and feel free to email for any questions. Join the thread "First ivf cycle in a few days part 2". Its fantastic. So much support.:D

Cian's Mum
08-06-2006, 05:52 PM
HI Motherof4 .

To answer your question : YES you are doing it right !!!! and welcome on board ...

You won't feel alone at all on your journey with IVF .. you are more then welcome to join us on this thread : " First cycle in few days, part 2 " where you will find heaps of people going through the same thing as you ... don't be afraid to jump in ...

To give you a little bit of hope and Sunshine , I got pregnant with IVF on my first cycle ... and now 17 weeks pregnant ... so , yes ... it does work ....

Hope to see you there if you want to ... otherwise , feel free to ask me any questions .... :yes:

Take care ...

motherof4
09-06-2006, 05:23 PM
:) i just wont to say thankyou all .you all have been very nice to me and the info has been great , i will be doing my ivf with queensland fertility group has anyone been through them? toowoomba . i have to say you all are very strong to go through ivf so many times and i wish you all the luck in the world .
best wish to you all:fingerscrossed:

my babyemmy
10-06-2006, 07:56 AM
hello and welcome to bub hub:hugs:
best of luck with the ivf:fingerscrossed:

whitsundaysmumma
10-06-2006, 01:58 PM
I just wanted to send my best of luck wishes to all the mums on or about to undergo IVF.:yes:

SuperWoman
10-06-2006, 02:46 PM
Good luck with your IVF treatment! Welcome on board!!!

daddysgirl
24-06-2006, 09:08 PM
1st time on here tonight. I went through 3 cycles of IVF, the 3rd resulting in our beautiful baby daughter, 9 mnths old.
Have just reached the 2nd cycle, trying for baby number 2. Two weeks until results, fingers crossed.
Have been on Crinone, one major horrible side effect :banghead: Has anyone else experienced any effects from this?

Melanie&Lucky
24-06-2006, 10:01 PM
Hi daddysgirl

Yes, have had many side effects from Crinone on previous cycles, list goes on and on...:ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity: , one obvious one is up 2 bra sizes! :D

But am now on TOO many medications during my 2 ww that it is hard to know what is caused from which medicaiton.

Check out the little brochure inside the box - give you the whole run down on side effects and I reckon I have had all of them except for the diarrhoea and vomiting.

Good luck and hope you get the BFP that you are hoping for.