View Full Version : leftover cooked chicken ideas

jag5000
03-03-2009, 23:08
I just found that my local Coles on a Wednesday night reduces the price of their cooked chickens to 2 or 3 dollars. I'm planning on going tomorrow and stock up, shred the meat and freeze it in meal sizes.

does anyone have any great recipes (dinner) using cooked chicken?

I use it in curries and crepes and I'm sure there are more ways I have in the past but I have gone blank!

ideas? thanks! :)

melly75
03-03-2009, 23:11
Chicken patties....Just put the chicken in a blender or break it up real fine..egg and mashed potato or deb (instant potato) and what ever else u want to add...then cover in breadcrumbs and cook..Yummy....I bet even your little man will love them

Should add if u want to make it blend the chicken then add it to the potato.Make mixture into balls then put in egg (have egg in bowl seperate to dunk the patties in) dont add it to the mix itself.. then coat in breadcrumbs..well thats how i do it anyway :P

confusd
03-03-2009, 23:21
chicken and asparagus pasta bake.

creamy chicken and pesto ghnocci (sp?)

chicken and vege soup..

you could use it for alot of things that have chicken pieces in it.

melly75
03-03-2009, 23:28
You could also do a chicken casserole

Vespa
03-03-2009, 23:30
Chicken chow mein, make chow mein as usual and throw in some shredded chicken at the end.

A stir fry of fresh veg and noodles, sauces to suit and some shredded chicken tossed in.

Vespa
03-03-2009, 23:32
Oh we have chick/cheese/bacon burgers, like red rooster.

Fry some bacon, top a roll with chicken, mayo, cheese slice and cooked bacon, wrap in greaseproof paper zapp in microwave till cheese melts (30sec) and serve with chips or salad...YUM

jag5000
03-03-2009, 23:39
oh yum! great ideas gals! thanks

def going to try those croquette things melly!

Looshkin
03-03-2009, 23:41
one of my favourite comfort foods is chicken -pasta-salad.

Usually throw some tomatoes, avo, warm penne, boiled eggs, whatever I have kicking around and then pop some creamy salad dressing like thousand island or something.. hmm I'm a bit brain dead tonight it could be ceasor.

Some Pasta with Pesto stired through with cooked chicken, some lightly fried mushrooms and penne or pasta (sometimes a teeny bit of cream) and some parmesan.

Chicken + vegie pie
Some boiled sweet potatoe/potatoe/pumpkin with some steamed broccoli/asparagas/corn/whatever you have left in the crisper
Mix the chicken and vegies all together and either mix in a few spoons of a korma or curry paste or something for some flavour and pop into some puff pastry - or even just in a caserole thing with puff pastry just on top.

Chicken tacos/buritoes etc.
Grate an onion and fry off with a
few tablespoons of Ground Cumin and coriander and a couple cloves of garlic and capsicum and a couple of tomatoes simmer down and add chicken and/or kidney beans.

The carcasses from the roast chickens make really good soup as well, so you can save them and boil it up with some root veg I tend to grate heaps of pumpkin in to thicken it and either use a can of chickpeas or lentils,throw some chicken in towards the end with a bit of cumin and some fresh mint to make it a yum morrocan chicken soup.

melly75
03-03-2009, 23:44
Have fun making stuff and enjoy the end result :chef:

jag5000
03-03-2009, 23:47
ahhh - I just thought

make chicken pasta and enter the new bake off comp! :D

seriously, thanks gals. I just went so blank there!

melly75
03-03-2009, 23:49
Just thought of something else ..you could even make your own chicken nuggets for the kids..or big kids too if they like them :laughing:

Lastcenturymum
03-03-2009, 23:50
I used to do some quick chicken dish, it was savory chicken soup (can't remember if it was packet made up or a tin maybe, but a nice creamy one) corn, carrots, beans (you can use frozen) shred the chicken and wack a small packet of crunched up potato chips on the top.

That is terrible, I wouldn't eat or cook anything like that these days!!:laughing:

03-03-2009, 23:52
Ok I now want chicken :hissy:

04-03-2009, 12:33
I don't really have any recipes as such but maybe you could do chicken pasta, chicken salad, chicken pie, chicken soup?

Or maybe a chicken pasta bake. Just cook the pasta then put it in a oven safe dish with the left over chicken pieces and maybe some cauliflower and brocoli and some pasta bake sauce (make your own or get one from the shops in a jar) then add some grated cheese on top and bake for half our or whatever.

SomewhereOverTheRainbow
05-03-2009, 23:32
We make the quickest meal ever. Boil up some pasta, strain it, stir the chicken through with some veges and add a tiny bit of lemon juice, basil pesto and any other herbs you like. Reheats really well and DS and DH love it, its so so quick, we sometimes just get a BBQ chook and do that. :thumbsup: