View Full Version : Strange places you've breastfed?
I was in IKEA today, and we were in the middle of selecting shelving.
Baby desperately wanted a feed, but once you're in the middle of IKEA you're kind of stuck. there were no chairs close, and there was no way I was trekking the 2km (or what feels like 2km, :)) back to the parents room, and leaving my partner in charge of choosing the shelves.
So I just sat down on a pile of shelves (two of which we later bought) and pulled my boob out.
Half of Brisbane walked by, but luckily nobody was after those particular shelves at that moment.
It just made me realise how far I've come. I was so shy the first time I breastfed in public, now anywhere goes.
Do other people just feed wherever they find somewhere to sit? I'm sure other people have far stranger places than IKEA...
Mrs Nietzsche
28-02-2009, 23:16
Oh god I had that exact same experience in Ikea! TOtal nightmare. I felt like I walked for kms looking for a bl00dy seat to feed DS on... finally I found a footstool in the bedding section.
On the way in he needed feeding again so I sat on that red couch at the bottom of the escalator - the parents room right close by was full - and a lady came and told me 'wouldn't you be more comfortable in the parents room' which she probably meant well by but made me feel very self conscious.
I can't believe it is *so* hard to find a chair to sit down and feed your baby on in a furniture store!
jimmysmummy
28-02-2009, 23:16
Wow, that's pretty strange- I don't think I can top that!
Some I can think of off the top of my head:
-in the pool
-in the bath
-in the shower
-on the floor of the bathroom while I'm trying to dress or dry him
Pretty boring really!
Chunkydunks
28-02-2009, 23:24
I was waiting in line to look at DS's pixi photos (in Kmart) and he started crying so I found a bench and started feeding him...as soon as I started I was called up. So I stood there looking at the photos feeding DS.
maire: yeah, I was thinking of going back to the chairs section but I had IKEA fatigue (you know, when you've spent two hours navigating their cunningly designed maze just to leave with my normal comment of "gee, they have a lot of expensive chipboard there" (sorry, I have a like/hate relationship with IKEA! - today I saw a sign that explained what "solid wood" is...)
I fed after a swim at the ocean a couple of weeks ago. It was kind of sandy but he didn't seem to mind!
I express in my office when I work. My colleagues were a bit timid initially but now I think the whole office has seen my boobs and think nothing of coming in to drop things on my desk or ask a question while I'm expressing. I often express while I'm talking to clients on the phone - I'm dreading the day when somebody asks what that's whirring noise in the background.
Mrs Nietzsche
28-02-2009, 23:28
Another time I was in the line at Kmart with a stack of stuff... DS wanted a feed so I started looking around for a seat. Finally I went into the changing room and they asked me how many items I had - I said I just want to feed the baby and need to sit down (he is too heavy to stand with). The girl told me that wasn't allowed! So I said can't I just say I'm trying something on... and walked past, sat down in the cubicle and fed DS. It really irritated me.
Later I thought I probably could have sat on a stool in the shoe section.
I don't care though, I feed DS anywhere. I fed him at a funeral a couple of weeks ago, and then afterwards in the reception - my DH told me he heard an old lady commenting on how i was 'still breastfeeding!' ??? he is only 6 months? lol.
jimmysmummy
28-02-2009, 23:30
my DH told me he heard an old lady commenting on how i was 'still breastfeeding!' ??? he is only 6 months? lol.
Stupid old ladies...they have an opinion on EVERYTHING!!!!
The girl told me that wasn't allowed! So I said can't I just say I'm trying something on... and walked past, sat down in the cubicle and fed DS. It really irritated me.
:laughing: People should know better than to mess with breastfeeding mothers!
Lastcenturymum
28-02-2009, 23:35
And so will you be entitled to when you are an old lady!!;)
I've fed at the stove while cooking dinner (no knives involved, just a pot and a spoon and a well protected baby.
Also picking in the washing - undo peg, make sure basket is underneath, move line or basket, undo pegs....never could manage to do it while pegging OUT the washing though :D
I remember I was feeding him at a cafe a couple of months ago and some older women at a nearby table seemed to be giving me a bit of a disapproving look. I just gave them a lovely smile as if I was thanking them for admiring my baby!
I initially tried using muslin wraps to cover up, but just let it all hang out now as my son hates being covered up.
I really don't understand why people wouldn't approve of breastfeeding in public. It's truly a mystery to me.
Mrs Nietzsche
28-02-2009, 23:38
Lol. Yeah you are right though, how you get so blase about it... I felt self conscious when DS was very new - even though he was my second child strangely enough.
I fed my DD (first child) til she was getting pretty geriatric as breastfeeding infants go (nearly 4) but I was definitely too self conscious to feed her after about 2 in public... had quite a few comments and stares once she was no longer a small baby.
Now I am pregnant and intending to tandem feed so no doubt htat will draw stares too.
You would think with all these mums having to drop in strange places in Ikea to breastfeed that they would cotton on and have a few more chairs around the place!
I fed my DD (first child) til she was getting pretty geriatric as breastfeeding infants go (nearly 4) but I was definitely too self conscious to feed her after about 2 in public... had quite a few comments and stares once she was no longer a small baby.
It's funny that a woman breastfeeding a 4yo gets stares, but if you were feeding him a Big Mac, fries and a coke, nobody would bat an eye.
(just to be clear, I'm not disparaging anybody who feeds their child that type of food, i'm just using it as a comparison :)).
Mrs Nietzsche
28-02-2009, 23:52
Yeah you are right.
I actually went and saw a dietician last night as I just wanted info on breastfeeding during pregnancy, making sure nobody got deficient etc. She said that breastfeeding til 4 or so, and breastfeeding multiple children, is the biological norm for humans etc.
(She did say I need 4-5 serves of red meat a week! Yikes!)
I still feel like I don't see many other mums breastfeeding in public (I live in Redlands) but you know I think all the other breastfeeding mums on BH make me feel somehow as though it's far more common than my daily experience tells me... which is good...
Chunkydunks
28-02-2009, 23:56
I never saw many breastfeeding mums....there were 3 of us out of 12 in our mums group and 1 gave up due to PND within the first 6 weeks. The other was still going when she left the group. I fed till 3 months but DS was losing weight while the dr and I were trying to sort out my supply issues so I had no choice but to FF. I really wish I could have fed him to 12 months and beyond.
yeah, I don't notice a lot in "public" public places, but I think there was 100% BF in my mothers' group and when I take my son to the Paddo clinic for immunisations, there are lots as well.
laylasmumma23
01-03-2009, 00:21
This thread got me thinking about strange places i've breastfed..and made me realise that ppl would have been looking at me mighty strange LOL
-I have fed dd in the front seat of my car, because there was no parents room. (the car was parked, wasn't driving lol)
-waiting in line at coles to pay for food, she was in a sling so i could multi-task lol
-funny you should mention Ikea, i have fed her there to..i went to the kids furniture section and sat in one of the rocking chairs!! comfy!
-Babyco (a baby shop) i was actually looking for a sling...go figure!
-a coffee shop with friends, i was actually asked to leave because i was offending people..i replied "well im offended by the way they eat as well"!
-a babes in arms session at the movies..
-the beach, although with the amount of topless sun bathers at the beach that day i didn't think anyone cared!
thats just a couple :) thought i would throw in my 2cents!
PunkyDiva
01-03-2009, 01:48
I've fed everywhere and anywhere, initially with bub number one I would find toilets or sit in the car and even at home cover up if we had visitors but 18 years and five more breast fed bubs later I have no inhabitions :D I even breastfeed now whilst participating in Board Meetings (I'm sure a couple of the old fuddy duddies don't like it but it was my stipulation that I would only be on the committee if DS could come with me) As it is our local Health Board committee they really wouldn't wanna kick up a fuss about it. :p
The most strangest feeding I have done happened 3 weeks ago, while helping DH clean up our farm for takeover, i was driving the car and he was walking beside putting rubbish in, bub decided he needed food!! So at 1km/hr i fed!! LOL
I was asked in a shopping centre would i please move to the parents room. I told him where to go and we have never been back to that shopping centre.
I have breast fed at the beach, cricket, pub, dinner party, everywhere and anywhere i have needed too!!
Sheer Bliss
01-03-2009, 07:25
Buckingham Palace! :thumbsup: Well, not in the palace itself, but in the grounds! We were in the UK when DD was 5months, and it was one of the times the palace was open for tours. So after the tour, we were out the ba, and had to change DD's nappy in the mobile parents room they had there...there were also a few chairs, so I sat down for a bit and fed her there!
Also fed DS in the ergo at spotlight - a MUCH more pleasant way to get a longer shopping trip in :yelclap:.
Ms Mummy I too am an IKEA feeder!! We were half way through, and bubs was desperate so I fed her while standing in the fabrics section!
I breastfeed anywhere and everywhere! I have had to breastfeed in the art gallery halfway through an exhibition... living art!
I have fed on the bus, on the train, in the supermarket, cafes & restaurants, in the bath, in the bush, in the car (while parked) basically anywhere I go, I'm comfortable to breastfeed. Strange things is though, our house is for sale and we had an open house where 50 odd ppl came through, it was the first time I felt too uncomfortable to breastfeed. So I'm fine in public, but not in the privacy of my own home when it is being invaded by the public!!:)
chaiseandlarasmummy
01-03-2009, 08:20
I had to stop and feed DD whilst in target on Friday, i sat in the shoe department. Was very strange when an old lady came up and sat beside me talking to me about babies. Maybe she didn't realise i was feeding?
The other time that stands out was at the Melb show DD was 3 months old so 3 hourly feeding i was feeding her everywhere. I had her in the sling and managed to feed her whilst picking out showbags.
My hubby does get a bit :o sometimes and will say to feed in the parent rooms if ones available. Also when you get good at it you can feed so discretely i think most wouldn't even know what was going on.
I can't imagine being asked to leave somewhere for feeding bubs that is SO rude!
-Babyco (a baby shop) i was actually looking for a sling...go figure!
-a babes in arms session at the movies..
The baby shop in the Valley in Brisbane has a feeding and changing section. (which is great for mums, and also very clever of them. I sat in one of the chairs, and liked it so much I bought one!)
Babes in arms sessions are great places to feed! I wish my baby would feed more during them to keep him quiet for the movie. Unfortunately, he's taken to having a quick drink and fights to see the screen!
My hubby does get a bit :o sometimes and will say to feed in the parent rooms if ones available. Also when you get good at it you can feed so discretely i think most wouldn't even know what was going on.
I can't imagine being asked to leave somewhere for feeding bubs that is SO rude!
Five months later and I never got the hang of the discrete feeding thing - I have largish boobs and wear mostly dresses, so it's all out there.:)
If I'm by myself and close to a good parents room, I'll feed there. but if I'm out with other people or having a meal, then I'll just do it wherever as I hate being locked away!
I'm feisty at the best of times, and wouldn't take well to anybody telling me I couldn't breastfeed!:)
The coolest places I've breastfed were:
-in flight (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3639/3284176188_9939b6f9c7.jpg?v=0)/mile high booby club
-public swimming pool (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3481/3224121921_b54b7a6022.jpg?v=0)
-national art gallery (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3517/3196556368_e8716c62b1.jpg?v=0)
I've also fed while walking around shopping plazas, yesterday I had a woman shove her face in between my daughter and my breast to check she wasn't seeing things, then she gave me a dirty look :rolleyes: if anyone deserved the dirty look...:shame:
kezzaskids
07-03-2009, 18:55
in the top of the fort at the playground at the perth zoo!!!
LoveMyBoys
07-03-2009, 18:57
At school!! I had my first ds when i was 17 and still at school, and i used to take him to class with me....no one ever knew i was b/f tho!!
I too will feed any where any time.....walking around the shops, at resturants etc....dh always jokes that everyone in town has seen my boobs :laughing:
oh and while serving customers at work :D
in the top of the fort at the playground at the perth zoo!!!
I think this is the winner!
becca022
07-03-2009, 20:00
I also pretty much feed dd wherever I go.
We went to a charity auction last weekend & was going to feed her on one of the chairs, but opted for the car instead.
I used to be embarrassed to feed her out in public, but one day thought 'stuff it, I'll feed her wherever we might be that she needs a feed'. I'm not feeding her in stinky toilets.
oh and while serving customers at work :D
That's some fantastic multitasking!:laughing:
debplus3
12-03-2009, 15:09
I managed to keep bub on the boob while I helped DS on and off the toilet the other day!! And managed to wipe his butt too!! :laughing:
JabberJaw
12-03-2009, 15:27
I have fed everywhere, although never IKEA, as we dont have one! (next time i am in Brissie i am going to IKEA so i can be in the IKEA boobie club :laughing:)
My best/strangest one though was not long back at Hervey Bay Qld. We where on a camping trip there, and at low tide you can walk literally KM's out into the ocean with the water only getting to knee deep, we got out a fair way (probably over a km) and bub was wanting a feed so i plopped myself down and fed her, the water was waist deep when i sat so bub was having a great old time thrashing her legs around and splashing while also having a feed....its one i will never forget! ( i was all splashed out i tell ya!)
I am happy to feed anywhere though. If i see another mum breastfeeding i am like :eek: because it is so rare to see. I generally give them a smile or go have a chat so they know i am not giving them an :eek: because i am disgusted, more an :eek: because i am shocked to see a Breastfeeding mummy.
I luff breastfeeding :goodvibes:
Walking around doing the shopping at Coles:D
I would love to be able to walk and breastfeed. I still have to use both hands (one to hold him, one to hold my boob) and concentrate, so I'd probably fall over if I tried to do all of that and walk!:laughing:
I can tell you I never thought after months of expressing that I would get there either! It should get easier for you as bub grows. There is a HUGE difference between the way a 6 month old feeds and the way my 13 month old does:yes:
yeah, I'm really looking forward to when he can find it for himself a bit more. he still kind of lies there and just opens his mouth expectantly.
What amazes me though is that he can attach perfectly in bed with the lights off.:confused:
I need to teach him hunting and gathering skills starting with the breast.:D
no where special actually
in the mothers room:laughing: but the one i go to is always packed so sometimes you cant feed in there
in several cafes
in Woolworths
in the car, in pubs (while having dinner not out drinking :laughing:)
in a fancy restaurant in surfers. went there for my 21st and wanted DD to have another feed before i had my cocktail :p the staff where very unimpressed that i got my boob out in there ladi-da restaurant.
I would love to be able to walk and breastfeed. I still have to use both hands (one to hold him, one to hold my boob) and concentrate, so I'd probably fall over if I tried to do all of that and walk!:laughing:The trick is using a sling ;) DD sits in her ring sling and holds the boob closest to her up so she can get a latch (my boobs are big, if I lowered her to where she could get a latch I'd have the sling hanging round my ankles :laughing:)
Buckingham Palace! :thumbsup: Well, not in the palace itself, but in the grounds! We were in the UK when DD was 5months, and it was one of the times the palace was open for tours. So after the tour, we were out the ba, and had to change DD's nappy in the mobile parents room they had there...there were also a few chairs, so I sat down for a bit and fed her there!
Well, well aren't you fancy! :laughing: DD1 has been to Buckingham Palace too....well the grounds. she was just in utero...she's also been on a contiki tour...in utero!
For me...
at an Australian Citizenship ceremony while my DH got his AC.
At a beautician's having a pedicure just before my bestie's wedding.
at the zoo...in front of the monkey's who were getting lots of 'awww look' comments because one of the mother monkey's was breastfeeding their baby. I didn't get the same reaction ;)
At the Aquarium, underneath the sharks.
Oh and not a weird place, but a little weird anyway. Was at my bestie's house warming party with her family and all her il's family. Her SIL had a 5 month old and everytime he needed to be fed she went to another room and closed the door. When DD2 (who was 16 months at the time) needed to be fed I plonked myself down in the middle of everyone and got my boobs out. I am assuming from the way that the IL's were talking to the SIL about bf'ing, and how uncomfortable my bestie's DH is with me bf'ing in front of him is that she was leaving the room to be discreet, not because her bub was easily distracted. Me...meh. I didn't want to miss out on the party!
ElizaDoLittle
13-03-2009, 21:23
I breastfed 8 month DD in the middle of a funeral today :gloomy:. I thought of this thread at the time, the beautiful man we were burying loved kids, I'm sure he would have been smiling :yes:
yeah, I'm really looking forward to when he can find it for himself a bit more. he still kind of lies there and just opens his mouth expectantly.
What amazes me though is that he can attach perfectly in bed with the lights off.:confused:
I need to teach him hunting and gathering skills starting with the breast.:D
:laughing: Typical man, just sits there hoping someone will put some food in his mouth:D (No offence to our beloved male BHers:hugs:)
hmm..everywhere really...at my computer desk at work, shopping, anywhere he needs a feed really
CrankyAndTired
13-03-2009, 21:48
In the food department at David Jones.. I was standing up choosing chocolates from their "pick you own selection" and he was 3 weeks old... One of my happiest memories of BFing.. :cloud9:
NewBeginnings
13-03-2009, 23:11
I managed to keep bub on the boob while I helped DS on and off the toilet the other day!! And managed to wipe his butt too!! :laughing:
:laughing: done that one too! So glad it's not just me who's done that one! But when that sort of mother duty calls... well I guess it has to be done hey!
I've breastfed at a Centrelink interview... the poor bloke giving it didn't know what to do or where to look :p
In the drivers side of the car - numerous times. Parked or course.
I'd love to have the guts to do it walking around Coles or something similar... but I have no idea how to hide my gut and back from where the shirt is lifted :o
:laughing: love these stories.
My worst one was once not long after we bought bub home, we had a terrible storm, and something happened to the chimney on the roof of the house.
For some reason the fire started billowing smoke out of it, and quickly filled the house.
My hubby had the car and was out, I couldn't leave as it was raining and too cold outside, and I couldn't do anything about the smoke, either.
SO I had to lock myself in the toilet, with a wet towel, and myself and bub, while we waited for hubby to come home after my frantic phone call.
BUB was fine, she was happily feeding, with a wet towel over her face to stop her getting any smoke.
It was the longest 10 minutes of my life.
I spent two days at his mums house, cause I refused to come home until the fire was fixed so it would never happen again.
she went to another room and closed the door.... When DD2 (who was 16 months at the time) needed to be fed I plonked myself down in the middle of everyone and got my boobs out....Me...meh. I didn't want to miss out on the party!
Completely agree. I'm not locking myself away in dark rooms during social occasions. I hate this idea that breastfeeding women should be tucked away, not seen and not heard.
LoveMyBoys
14-03-2009, 11:55
I'd love to have the guts to do it walking around Coles or something similar... but I have no idea how to hide my gut and back from where the shirt is lifted :o
i wear a singlet or boob tube under all my tops so i can lift the top layer up and pull the bottom layer down under my boob so im not exposing my belly!
I think it would be more a case of where haven't we fed...the zoo, the aquarium, the harbour bridge(not climbing it, just walking across it), at the beach, Centrelink, standing in line at the bank, countless plane trips...where we are ALWAYS sat next to 2 men (the pits of being a single Mum) who are complete strangers, and mortified, but never comment, try to act cool about it. The races, the side of the highway, a 3hr stint on the train on xmas day with a man leering the whole way.Waiting in line to sit on Santa's knee, a christening, pubs, restaurants.
My friends are always telling me to put my boobs away, but Dd is only happy if they are out..and usually in public. She is only pretending she wants a feed, when really she wants to say, "Look at my Mummy's lovely big boobies, and they are mine, all mine."
Midwifery Student Megan
07-04-2009, 06:02
I breastfed my DD while I was getting my eyes tested!! The poor optometrist had her skills seriously tested then cause she had to do things the old fashioned way (optometry that is).
I b/f in public when ever my DD decides she's hungry - except for when I have a certain dress on which requires me to basically derobe. I couldn't care less about people seeing my boobs but I really don't want anyone seeing my belly!
trin_007
29-04-2009, 21:29
My husband and I had a meeting with a franchise consulant, in the food court in the Brisbane Mall to discuss a business opportunity we were considering. DS was about 6 months at the time and decided to wake up for a feed - so I said excuse me, picked up my son, turned a little sideways and started feeding him.
Not sure what the consultant thought, but meh - my son was hungry!
2girls&1angelboy
29-04-2009, 22:00
with my 1st i was 2 scared to feed in public i had DD1 a month b4 my 18th but with DD2 i fed her anywhere n still do i geta few more looks from people as she is 14 months but i just ignore now cause they cant legally stop me i hope
MelindaJem
05-05-2009, 15:00
I had to feed my son on the train on the way home from the city.
It was packed with people coming home from the football.
I'm so used to it now it didn't bother me though. :)
centerlink..... have spent so much time there from them stuffing up i was sick of going accros the road or to the car to do it so off i went and fed him while i was on the phone... some strange looks but hey when bub needs to eat and mum needs stuff done he gets it where we are. lol
sweetseven
07-05-2009, 11:02
I'll feed almost anywhere, though I get complaints from my eldest child (15yo) that she finds it embarrassing. I don't like to stop or sit down, but will just continue on with whatever else I'm doing at the time.
I am of the opinion that most times people dont realise I'm feeding. Whilst shopping I've had people come up to look at the baby, trying to see her face, then apologise when they discover she is feeding at the time.
The only place I've had negative feedback is at church, and it was handled politely. One of the staff spoke to me at a quiet moment (when no-one else was around) that they were concerned that some of the older people may be offended and thus requested that I use their parent room in future.
The other, related complaint I had, which completely surprized me, was at school. There were no complaints about feeding, but the principal complained about me changing the baby in the back of the prep room, because it wasn't polite for the youngsters to be able to see the bubs privates. This objection completely shocked me.
Lastcenturymum
08-05-2009, 00:09
Probably it would have distracted the inquisitive kids from their school work!! Or if it had been on the nose....:rolleyes:
The other week my neck was killing me (from falling asleep sitting up breast feeding) so I dropped into one of those Asian pressure point massage places in the middle of a shopping centre. You know wherethey have a few fold out charis set up, and they do 10min/$5 type of thing.
Gabriel got restless in his pram.. so I ended up feeding him while the girl was pounding/kneeding etc my neck. She was fine about it. I think there was a shocked old man waiting in line.. but I didnt care..was heaven on my neck!
madlaina
08-05-2009, 19:30
I don't know about strange places, but I fed DS everywhere - at the coffee shop, on the train, in the car in the carpark, sitting on the ground in the train station while waiting for the train, various places in the Ikea maze...
I breastfed him for 18 months and was never shy about doing it publicly. Surprisingly, from the comments I read on here, I never once got a negative comment. I did have a lot of women of all ages comment on how lovely it was that I was breastfeeding though.
I just feed anywhere,usually when I am at the shops(I always check no-ones around and duck outta the way of security cameras first while whipping the boob :laughing:)
I always pull my top down instead of up,so ppl probably see my whole boob but I figure they see just as much as when I am not feeding;)
sweetseven
09-05-2009, 00:38
Oh, and I typically wear button-up shirts and dresses, so I can just pop open a couple of buttons and feed without difficulty.
NonnyMouse
10-05-2009, 22:48
I'm also an IKEA BF'er, only mine was in the foodhall part. I was all set to go behind the nice discreet curtained off bit in the kids eating area, but my friend had to go and line up for her food and I needed to stay where I could keep an eye on the prams, so I just fed at the table. No big deal really.
Toda however I was ina garden centre looking at palms, and DS starting fussing rather loudly so I looked around, saw we were alone in that part of the centre, and flopped a boob out for him while standing holding him. Suddenly a staff member popped out from behind some plants she'd been pruning and smiled at me and said they had a nice comfy seat if I would prefer to sit there and feed him. As we didn't want to spend too much time there I just smiled and said "I am woman... I can multitask!" and so she happily showed me around and helped me with my plant selection while I was walking and feeding DS under a muslin cloth (to keep the sun off him as well as to stop him rubbernecking - silly boy won't stay latched if there's something worth looking at elsewhere).
Opinionated
10-05-2009, 22:57
I fed in Aldi once. Baby breastfeeding in a sling, me pushing the trolley with a toddler in it and selecting items off the shelves at the same time.
Have also fed on a packed tram. I figure it is better to feed than have screaming.
I will feed anywhere, anytime. I don't care if others are offended. It's their problem, not mine.
InSaneOne
11-05-2009, 07:13
with daniel i fed him walking through myer in the city feeding him in the sling.
with beth it was on the bus in the middle of peak hour commuters. and i would like to thank the teenager who gave up his seat for us.:yelclap:
LuvMy4Babes
26-05-2009, 23:54
Wow after BF all of my children I have done it in lots of strange places.
In the car, walking around Target, in the middle of shops, doing puzzles with my son at kindy, anywhere and everywhere :laughing: