View Full Version : what does your day consist of?

27-02-2009, 17:31
hey ladies.. im just wondering what do you every day?
are you at home all day?
cleaning etc..

do you go out during the day?

my life just seems to be the same, everyday..
how about yours..

any ideas on ways to spice up my time:thumbsup:

NibbleCurlynBub
27-02-2009, 17:44
Umm it depends I guess.

Usually, I'm here.

Kids get up, I put a movie on and hop back in bed. If they sit down quietly for a half hour, lucky me, if not.. Oh well.
Its always worth a try because I am EXHAUSTED lately (only 4 weeks to go!) and they both still get me up at night.

Breakfast, showers and dressed, washing goes on and dishes occasionally get attended to.

Its often the same old stuff, but if I need to go out for some reason or another I will. :yes:

Ideas on making things more interesting though? No. None.

Knocked_for_six
27-02-2009, 17:48
I take the kids to the library once a week (sometimes that have free activities)
Head to the park usually every second day
Boys have piano lessons at home once a week
Eldest son is now in Prep, so I help out one day a week in his classroom
I catch up for coffee during the day with friends usually once a week
I used to go to Yoga one afternoon a week before Lacey but haven't found the time since

I find that all that breaks up my day/weeks so I don't get bored or stuck in a rut! :)

workin'mumof2
27-02-2009, 18:00
hey ladies.. im just wondering what do you every day?
look after 2 kids, i try and get all my cleaning done in the morning b4 and after rubys nap 9am but if not i then have a new goal of lunch time so i leave the arvo free. as its always hectic here
are you at home all day? depends on the day
cleaning etc..

do you go out during the day? at the moment yes because
1. we have to look for a place to rent
2. seth has alot of appointments recently
my life just seems to be the same, everyday..
life is interesting with my boy :p
how about yours.. i like going out, because if i go out ruby feeds less. if im home she feeds every 40mins.. YES IM SERIOUS :dizzy:

any ideas on ways to spice up my time:thumbsup:
field trips to the zoo,beach, oh play water fairys with the left over bath water. you put water in a spray bottle get them to lay on the floor with there eyes closed and then you spray them.. its sooooo fun.. i used to play it in prep :o

Blueberry Crumble
27-02-2009, 18:02
I haveto get out with DS every day, mostly mornings or we both go mad! We dont have a backyard, so I need to be able to let him run off energy. We will go to playgroup, kindergym, the park, shopping, visiting friends/family etc etc sometimes play cafe. Then we get home about midday and he is exhausted so he has his sleep for 2-3 hrs usually. While he sleeps I either clean (rarely LOL) have a nap myself, read, sit here or watch TV. Then when he wakes up we both just bum around the house for the rest of the day. I play with him a bit, he watches a DVD and plays with his toys. Same old LOL

MothersMilk
27-02-2009, 18:12
I usually get woken up about 7am. Change, feed and dress bub. Take a shower. Eat breakfast, usually toast and coffee. Check bubhub/facebook. Do dishes. If i need to go to the shops this is the time i'll do it (nice and early).
Spend the rest of the day looking after bub, cleaning and hanging around the house. I'm usually on here while bub has her naps and at 7 (or 7.30 if i'm interested in the currant home and away storyline) i give bub a bath and get her ready for bed and rock her in the rocking chair while on the computer.
I used to take bub for a walk everyday in the afternoon but i'm slack these days.
Every Thursday night i have an accounting course.
I visit my in-laws at least once a week.
I have an occasional event here and there.
That's my life :party:

I'm obviously in no position to be handing out advice on how spice up your day :laughing:

hayleylea
27-02-2009, 18:34
I usually get woken by 7-8.30

We get up - switch ABC kids on, get breakfast ready, put a load of washing on.

Then we all get dressed..by now its about playschool time, so the kids play around and watch that while i do the house work tat has to be attended too...or tey grab a cloth and help clean lol

We are at home most days - we live out of town (25 minutes) so we only go into town twice a week. Once on thursdays for DS's Kindermusik and we do te shopping on this day too, and to the MIL's on sunday and for all the shopping/needs i have forgotten lol. Friday is our local playgroup out here which gets us out of the house. usually tuesdays we all bake a cake or make cookies or something together - the kids basically do all the work (even my one year old) it keeps them busy for an afternoon or morning.

We have a craft day aswell - painting, make things, sticker book etc. Have picnics, play outside. Sometimes it does seem like groundhog day but most of the time we find something different to do which gets us out of that feeling! :D

if your looking for stuff to do with the kids - try story time at the local library gets them out of hair for an hour or so and they love it! We also go to te local park every now and again too and the fresh air does everyone good.

Zada
27-02-2009, 18:45
we get up around 7am, kids have breakky while I come on here. They watch abc kids for a little bit while I do the washing, dishes etc. DD has kindy 4 days a week so we do alot of drop offs/pick ups. Monday mornings we have swimming lessons, thursday mornings playgroup. Im between all that we go to the park, down the street etc. Boring some days but I dunno wat else to do lol

*babygirl*
27-02-2009, 18:53
i feel like im NEVER at home for very long lately..

mondays: lilly has kindy she is normally there by 9:30 as she doesnt wake until about ten to nine.
then i have personal training at 10:30 then come home, have lunch, do some cleaning, study some.then i go do the groceries, then clean kitchen, and cook dinner.

tuesdays: lilly is with me and i go to personal training.. after that me and a friend normally take our little girls to wet'n'wild (love unlimited entry:p)
then i come home, clean some and then cook dinner.

wednesdays are normally spent at home resting, washing etc.

thursdays are the same as tuesdays, training then maybe a theme park/swimming/park. more study then dinner prep etc. :p

fridays are 'get as much done before the weekend' days where i run last minute errands, clean like mad, study like mad, make sure we have food to last the weekend/various events.

weekends are when anything goes:laughing: we often go out at night... or stay in with baby.

lilly comes with me everywhere unless she is at kindy or my brother and sister want to play with her while i duck out.

27-02-2009, 19:01
We got to playgroup on Friday and every second Tuesday Hayley has speech theoropy (other Tuesdays we either stay home or go to the library where the kids have story time and arts and crafts), otherwise I am just home most of the time. Hayley has kinder 3 days a week and Skye goes to occasional care which gives me a few hours break which is good. We go to the park/shops/for walks etc too.

zenifa
27-02-2009, 19:10
My days are a mix of going out and being at home with the girls, like most SAHMs. My day usually starts around 6am, but can start as early as 5am and the girls are usually in bed no later than 7.30pm, so it can make for a long day. DD2 still naps during the day, and DD1 has a nap or rest, more often the latter.
Outings include going to the park, library, playgroup, playdates, swimming and/or gymnastics classes with my girls.
Plus there is lots of meal preparation - breakfast, morning and afternoon tea, lunch and dinner. Some days it feels like I hardly get out of the kitchen before I hear a 'mum can I please have.......?'
Not to mention the fun of grocery shopping, laundry, dishes, cleaning and other household duties.
I also spend lots of time singing songs, dancing, reading stories and playing with the girls - yes I will do anything to avoid housework :laughing:

Some days it does get a bit tedious and repetitive but occasionally I do spice things up by letting my 3.5yo dictate how the day will go and what we will do, eat, wear etc, sounds a bit odd, but its hilarious :laughing:
We do simple things like craft, playdough, painting, jumping on the trampoline and lots and lots of imaginative play!!

I am trying to enjoy each day, as I know its precious and they are growing so quickly but I can understand where you are coming from with the OP.

munchie
27-02-2009, 19:14
My days are almost always spent at home...

I study full time from home, mostly when dd sleeps..

We go shopping once a week and do stuff on weekends...I have being meaning to take her to the park lately.....we go occasionally.

Starlet
27-02-2009, 19:34
I'm always busy. I do the school run first thing, then I nip to the shops(I always need to get something lol).

Mondays and Thursdays and the weekend I usually clean. Tuesday arvo I am at the school running a craft froup with the P&C. Wednesday I have mothers group and Friday we go to tumble tots.

Bracket
08-03-2009, 11:24

Stay at Home Dad here, I hope it's okay to post in the mums forum.

My day is pretty much like the everybody else's days.

I'm usually up at 6/6:30 to get the Harry and Molly ready for school whilst getting Ruby breakfast. Then i Harry and molly to school and come back to help my wife get ready for work.

After that Ruby and I do some housework, mostly washing, vacuuming, dishes and feeding the pets (she loves to play with Doggies.) Then we play and Ruby has sleep.

Then whilst she is asleep i do all the phone calls and fiddly jobs that need doing.
Afterwards i do my own thing if the cleaning is done, reading, video games, painting etc. etc.

Afterwards Ruby wakes up we have lunch, we play and we read, we have a shower/bath then we pick up Harry and Molly.

Afternoon tea for everybody then ensues and maybe another sleep for Ruby.

Then we play some more and bring in the washing and start dinner.

When the wife comes home Ruby goes out for her walk with mum and then i cook dinner. eat dinner and clean up and get the lunches ready for the next day

JabberJaw
08-03-2009, 11:41
My life is Boring.(with a capital,bolded B)

Get up 6am, get kids breakfast, showered, dressed and walk them to school. Get home put bub to bed, tidy up breakfast mess, hang out washing, put more on, sit on bubhub, lunch, shower bub,hang washing, tidy bedrooms, get tea ready, hubby gets home, picks up kids plays with bub i cook tea, cleanup, bath kids, get em to bed and get back on here again...
GROUNDHOG day here!

I shop thurs nights, no kids!
Take bub to park or for a walk each day.
One day a week i take bub to library then we go have lunch (well i have a coffee and we share lasagne LOL)
I really do need to get a life and some real life friends :yes:
I need a job i think!

tyler's mum
08-03-2009, 11:44
Mon we have book club we dont alway go because not alot of people go. Then mon afternoon we go to mums place and stay the nite

Tue we come home from mums dont normally go anywhere unless i have avon to take to people

Wed & Fri tyler has day care I come home do some house work do the shopping pick up avon books.

Thur we have play group, After play group we come home some times go out

Sat tyler spend most sat at mum and dads i stay home. then me my sister and her hubby go over for dinner we had a yummy bbq last nite

sun normally just stay home today im being lazy have'nt even had a shower

08-03-2009, 12:43
Monday, get up & get MJs lunch ready for preschool, then take MJ to school, come home & clean the house while playing with Ani & feeding him. Then at midday he goes to bed, so I check bubhub for about 30, then go study till he wakes around 2.30 then we go collect DH from work. Drop DH & Ani back home & I take MJ to swimming at 4. Then come home, cook dinner, eat, bath & bed routine. In bed by 7.30.

Tuesday, get up & get MJs lunch ready for preschool, take her to preschool. Take Ani to swimming at 9am, then either to the shops to walk around or back home & play with Ani till he goes to bed at midday, I check bubhub for about 30, then go study till he wakes around 2.30 then we go collect DH from work. Come home & rest till we get MJ at 4.30. Then come home, kill time playing with kids till its time to cook dinner, eat, bath & bed routine. In bed by 7.30.

Wed is stay home & veg day :p MJ has a lazy day too, she's exhausted after school the 2 previous days. Do a general vac of the house, wash clothes etc.

Thursday, get up & get MJs lunch ready for preschool, take her to preschool. Take Ani to shops if we're meething anyoneor walk around the shops till around 11.30 so Ani can go to bed at midday, I check bubhub for about 30, then go study till he wakes around 2.30 then we go collect DH from work. Come home & rest till we get MJ at 4.30. Then come home, kill time playing with kids till its time to cook dinner, eat, bath & bed routine. In bed by 7.30.

Friday is the same as wed :)

Cicho
08-03-2009, 14:26
I get up with hubby in the mornings at 5.00am.... (yes I am an early bird!), see him off, have coffee and toast, browse BH and facebook, read the paper on the net, get DD out of bed at 7.00am so she can be ready for school:yelclap:

Drop DD off at school, pick up bread and milk on the way home, give DS some breakfast while he watches Scooby Doo, and I get all my cleaning/washing done before about 11.00am so I can watch some telly

DD catches the bus home, so I don't need to go back out, and I shop/do doctors appts. etc on a Friday when DD is at school and DS is at kindy, so that is my free day!

Although I am really tired, I feel like I am carrying a baby elephant! So I try and rest as much as I can :)

jaq
08-03-2009, 15:00
I get up between 7 and 7.30 most days, depending on how long Annika stays in bed.

Get kids breakfast, and browse Hub while having breakfast and Coffee. Then dress kids (or supervise Annika's choices :rolleyes:), pack bags for school or creche.

Drop Annika at school at 9am, take Sofia to whatever we have got on that day. Monday morning is playgroup, Wednesday mornings Sofia has occasional care, and Friday mornings she has swimming lessons. Tuesdays and Thursdays I tend to go to the gym, or stay home if I'm not up to it. So mornings are usually busy ...

Pick up Annika at 12, home for lunch. Most days Sofia will have a sleep 1-2.30ish, and sometimes we'll all go out after that - the library, shopping, or a playground. Often though, the kids just racket around here, while I look at the Hub/dart outside to check on them/read a book on the lounger outside/hang washing/sweep floors/prepare dinner/generally loaf about.

On my Wednesday mornings, I read, write, browse the net, dream, sleep, have a massage, go clothes shopping etc. Anything that is NOT housework, and doesn't involve the word "Mum" at 101 decibels. :goodvibes:

justmum
08-03-2009, 15:15
I have a great time with my kids. We go out a lot and have lots of catch ups with other mums and kids. We are very social.

Mondays we go to our local ABA meeting or a play date in the morning, and in the afternoons, we do cleaning or have another play date or go the park.

Tuesdays wiggly woo or a play date the morning, afternoons is cleaning etc, or another play date or the park.

Wednesdays playgroup and in the afternoon I have a mummy nanny come to my house and I get out with DD to the shops and running errands while DS stays in the with the nanny and plays or they go tot he park.

Thursdays, play date in the mornings or we go to the park, afternoons, cleaning and hanging out at home or another play date / park.

Fridays Montessori play group or wiggly woo in the morning and in the afternoons, cleaning or another play date or a visit to the park.

Most evenings I go for a long walk with one or both kids in the pram. I also have book club one evening a month and try to get out once a week for a pedicure, haircut or something for me (with DD in tow of course).

bada
08-03-2009, 15:33
I have a great time with my kids. We go out a lot and have lots of catch ups with other mums and kids. We are very social.

Mondays we go to our local ABA meeting or a play date in the morning, and in the afternoons, we do cleaning or have another play date or go the park.

Tuesdays wiggly woo or a play date the morning, afternoons is cleaning etc, or another play date or the park.

Wednesdays playgroup and in the afternoon I have a mummy nanny come to my house and I get out with DD to the shops and running errands while DS stays in the with the nanny and plays or they go tot he park.

Thursdays, play date in the mornings or we go to the park, afternoons, cleaning and hanging out at home or another play date / park.

Fridays Montessori play group or wiggly woo in the morning and in the afternoons, cleaning or another play date or a visit to the park.

Most evenings I go for a long walk with one or both kids in the pram. I also have book club one evening a month and try to get out once a week for a pedicure, haircut or something for me (with DD in tow of course).

Your post made me feel worn out, I think I need a nap :laughing:
We have some busy days, some quiet days, that's the way we like it. I find DD becomes restless and won't sleep if we go out for too many days in a row. Sometimes we go to the park, sometimes we meet up with friends, sometimes we go shopping, and swimming lessons are now on the to-do list...

Jender
08-03-2009, 20:54
One bummer about a c-section - no driving for 6 weeks so not being very social at the moment. But C will still have gymberoo on Mondays (if I can get Mum to take us), Kindermusik on Tuesdays (my aunt takes her) and swimming on Wednesdays, still to be determined as I can take her in the water yet

Afternoons never as social as C sleeps quite late if she has a sleep. Must try and work on it though - I just don't have a lot of friends with babies at the moment

misskittyfantastico
08-03-2009, 21:00
We do "town" generally on Mon, Wed and Fri. Wed am is bookclub and Fri is playgroup. Other than that we do a lot of playing and painting, playdough, craft, baking etc...plus the neverending joy that is housework.

08-03-2009, 21:55
Ours is pretty standard boring GroundHog day but we do have a lot of appts to go to etc so we do get some variation !

Queen
08-03-2009, 22:17
Well I feel my life is boring, and I do the same thing everyday, must be a standard thing:o

These are the days I have something on....and go out
Monday - Catch up with other Mums
Tuesday - Meet Mothers Group 9am then swimming at 2pm
Thursday - Gymnastics at 10.30
Friday - Mum comes up and I sleep.

In there we have the standard cooking, cleaning, entertaining child, shopping etc.

As for spicing things up, we go to a fun centre where kids can play and adults can drink coffee and watch.
Park? Swimming?
Aerobics, Gym etc kids in creche
Mother group?
Playgroup?

SilverStarfish
10-03-2009, 01:16
One bummer about a c-section - no driving for 6 weeks so not being very social at the moment.

If you're not feeling up to driving (and you have someone who can help out :)) then take the 6 weeks - but it's not a "requirement" so to speak. Most insurance companies don't have any legal rules (call them to check, mine didn't) and for the most part it's more about listening to your body. My recovery after my youngest daughter was fantastic. I was driving about 2 weeks afterwards. I would have been capable sooner, but there was no need as DH was home. And I was back at the gym 3 weeks later. It's different for each mum :yes:

Kangaskippy
10-03-2009, 23:22
Mondays - stay home, washing, clean, picnic outside, play with kids

Tuesday - Playgroup, grocery shopping

Wednesday - Playdate or stay home

Thursday - Stay home

Friday - Top up groceries/milk/bread for the weekend

Saturday/Sunday - Family time at home or go visiting friends/ markets

Also I go to a Bubhub meet every week or so, and like to visit my family/friends whenever we get a bit stir crazy, so we sometimes stay home heaps of are out heaps...just depends on weather, and mine or the boys moods really....

Lately we have been spending the afternoons out under the trees playing and having a picnic...which has been very lovely...