View Full Version : Public healthcare - do you pay for an epidural?
FluffyFaery
27-02-2009, 13:46
Hi all, I am going public because the private option isn't available to me having only been in the country for 8 months and private cover doesn't cover maternity issues for the first year :ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity:
... anyhoo, I was reading through some generic info given to me at my birthing classes the other day and it indicated that you had to pay for an epidural if you choose to have one when going public.
I wasn't aware of this at all - is this the case with all pain relief or just the stuff that requires specialist involvement? Or am I just making it all up and epidurals are free (so to speak)??
If I do have to pay for it could somebody give me an indication on how much I should expect to pay as this will have a big impact on whether my DH will allow me to have one or not (but that's another story altogether!!!).
I haven't decided to have one yet, I'm just considering all of my options.
Thanks in advance. :smiliedance:
mum2lianah
27-02-2009, 19:50
As far as I was aware I thought epidurals were free if you were a public patient in a public hospital. Double check with one of the midwives at your hospital. Maybe it's different in QLD?
If it is not covered then I think you would be looking at $800 upwards, probably closer to $1000 but don't quote me.
Does anyone else know?
I do know however that some (I don't know if it's standard) anaesthetists (who put in the epidurals) charge by 10 minute slots. So if he/she was having difficulty finding your epidural space then he/she gets more $$$.
Hope this helps.
Blueberry Crumble
27-02-2009, 19:52
I always figured that everything, including epis were free at public hospys?
SorenLorensen
27-02-2009, 19:53
I always figured that everything, including epis were free at public hospys?
:iagree: were for me :yes:
mum_I'm_hungry
27-02-2009, 19:59
If you are a public patient at a public hospital, they are free :yes: My husband did heaps of them today and didn't charge anyone, lol!
As a general rule, yes epi's are free in a public hospital, but you say you've only been in the country for 8 months.. What visa are you on? Which country have you migrated from?
I know when my DH migrated here from Canada, it took him a little while before he was allowed to use medicare. Could that perhaps be the issue for you?
I had one in September at the RBH (Australian public patient at public hospital) and there was no charge.
re the comment about the cost of one - gee, anaesthetists are on a good wicket. The one who did mine, came in, read me the warning, threw all the packaging and rubbish on the floor for the midwife to pick up, jabbed me and left! Maybe he charges extra for a good bedside manner!
ETA: oh, mum_I'm_hungry - hopefully I didn't just accidentally speak badly of your husband! I'm sure he's much more charming!
perrywinkle
27-02-2009, 20:05
Both epis were free for me with my kids.
mum_I'm_hungry
27-02-2009, 20:06
ETA: oh, mum_I'm_hungry - hopefully I didn't just accidentally speak badly of your husband! I'm sure he's much more charming!
:laughing: he needs to be because he doesn't work privately. I only keep him around because he's cute :D (Don't forget it takes you seven years of uni/medical school and five years of anaesthetic training including two painfully huge exams to be on that good wicket! ;))
(Don't forget it takes you seven years of uni/medical school and five years of anaesthetic training including two painfully huge exams to be on that good wicket! ;))
:)Don't worry, I don't begrudge doctors a cent! They work hard. I work in an area where people are always complaining about our fees and speaking ill of us, despite our years of studying and hard work. Sigh. At least people like doctors!
OP - sorry for the diversion.
mum_I'm_hungry
27-02-2009, 20:25
As a general rule, yes epi's are free in a public hospital, but you say you've only been in the country for 8 months.. What visa are you on? Which country have you migrated from?
I know when my DH migrated here from Canada, it took him a little while before he was allowed to use medicare. Could that perhaps be the issue for you?
I was wondering about this too, but if it's generic info from the birthing class... seems a bit weird to be talking about the cost of an epidural :confused:
FluffyFaery
28-02-2009, 08:38
Thanks ladies,
I'm starting to think the info was just generic stuff printed off of the internet so I guess maybe it covers private and public care..? I'll ask next week.
Also, I'm a permenant resident from the UK so am fully covered by Medicare. :)
Then you definitely have no worries about charges as a public patient.
But if you go private, no insurance will guarantee avoiding hefty charges.
Good luck!
Hi all, I am going public because the private option isn't available to me having only been in the country for 8 months and private cover doesn't cover maternity issues for the first year
... anyhoo, I was reading through some generic info given to me at my birthing classes the other day and it indicated that you had to pay for an epidural if you choose to have one when going public.
I wasn't aware of this at all - is this the case with all pain relief or just the stuff that requires specialist involvement? Or am I just making it all up and epidurals are free (so to speak)??
so, you already have your MEDICARE card?
if YES- then NO charge, if NO- then i don't know.. sorry!
HugsBunny
04-03-2009, 15:16
I was wondering about this too, but if it's generic info from the birthing class... seems a bit weird to be talking about the cost of an epidural :confused:
perhaps it was talking about a private patient in a public hospital??
I didnt pay anything for my epidural at a public hosp. And that was on xmas day!
I would have paid well over $1000 for one though :laughing: was worth every cent.
bectomandbub
04-03-2009, 15:26
I am in the public system and i havent paid for a thing, if i wanted an epi it would be free of charge
FluffyFaery
04-03-2009, 16:42
so, you already have your MEDICARE card?
if YES- then NO charge, if NO- then i don't know.. sorry!
Urr yes, I assumed that was obvious. It's been happily sat in my wallet since shortly after we arrived - about 8 months now
littlemissleft
05-03-2009, 10:07
Wow, I can't believe I have had 4 kiddies and the conversation of an epidural never once came up! I am going to ask my ob. about this when I go for my next visit. I had all my labors in hospital and they were loooong and drawn out, so it's not like I wasn't there long enough or anything? I think I assumed that an epidural was given if things went pear shaped... I have been reading into it this morning and it seems like the hospital prefers not to give an epi. as it tends to slow down the process. I don't think I would really mind if it was slow but virtually painless. :) regarding the fee, as far as I can work out it is free if you need one. The fact that you are new to the country is another story, depending on where you are from. My hubby is from the UK and I know that until he was covered by medicare he was covered by a reciprocal agreement that Australia has with Britain when it comes to health care. So everything was covered right from the start (though he never gave birth lol, he did try to cut his thumb off at work!)... I think from my research the best way to go about getting an epidural is to scream alot! They might want to give you one to shut you up. :thumbsup: That was probably my problem as I tried to be as trouble free and quiet as I could when I was giving birth, I was told that all I said the whole time was 'Ouch, I'm sorry... I'm sorry' LOL What was that about?
i was not charged for my epidural...public patient at a public hospital...
:yes:DB - two years old
:baby:DB - one month old
rascals3
16-03-2009, 13:47
Perriwinkle, can i ask where you had your bub? I want an epi with this one....my 4th and LAST....and will be having it at the South Coast hospital in Victor Harbor! I havent yet found out if it`ll cost!!
SurNuage9
16-03-2009, 14:01
I was in the same boat as you, only in the country for 6 months when DS was born so had to go public as my private wouldn't cover the birth. I had the works (ie epidural, c-section) and I didn't pay for anything
LuvMy4Babes
22-03-2009, 23:19
I had all 4 babies at a public hospital and had epidurals with 3 of them - all free of charge.