View Full Version : 20 questions about covers/newborns etc!

faroutbrusselsprout
21-02-2009, 10:05
I have just purchased three SMALL BB covers..(whooo my stash is starting to build up, very exciting!)

*Are they better used with BB fitteds or ok with prefolds?

*Did you use them from birth?

*Did you find them to big with prefolds?

*How did they go with newborn pooplosions?

*How big was your baby before they fit perfectly?

*Did you need to get tiny covers (bummis etc) to work with your prefolds for the first few weeks?

*How long did you stick with the prefold/cover thing? Was it just while your baby was teeny tiny?

*Did you use a booster/insert with prefold/covers?

Also I got a BB newborn AIO, what weight can you use this up too? Would it be worth getting a few more (they are on special at the moment in newborn size!)
Tell me what you think of them!

Ummmm, I think that's all for now

Oh one more thing, has anyone used the chinese cotton prefolds form Booroi?
What were they like?
(NCB I'm looking at you! :p)

megant
21-02-2009, 15:05
Hi Beachmum,
I've got the chinese prefolds pack from booroi too. Still a few weeks until I give it a go!

I've also bought
4x bummis small covers (2 of each type)
2x tots bots small PUL covers (much bigger than bummis!)
1x tots bots small fleece cover
6x bbh newborn AIOs (got these used for cheap)
1x tots bots bamboozle small
1x booroi bamboo prefold

The bbh magicalls say 2.5 - 4.5kg
50th percentile for boys at 1 month is 4.5kg, and girls hit 4.5kg at about 6 wks, so I'm not planning to be able to use them for long. They'll be passed on to my SIL who's due in August.

I figure I'll stick with prefolds as long as we're comfortable with them. But because they were so crazy cheap, I won't cry if we move on to bamboo fitteds or AIOs before too long.

I'm due halfway through march, so I'm hoping to be able to see what DH and I like and buy some on sale during the nappy hunt specials. Probably wishful thinking... ;)

Also, the prefolds are supposed to work just like boosters - if you don't want to snappi them, just fold in thirds and place in the cover. If baby needs more, just use a thicker/bigger prefold, or use 2. Or buy bamboo like NCB if you've got the funds. The bamboo is so soft!!!!

NibbleCurlynBub
21-02-2009, 18:05
Oh one more thing, has anyone used the chinese cotton prefolds form Booroi?
What were they like?
(NCB I'm looking at you! :p)
I haven't used the Chinese cotton ones, I only have the bamboo fleece ones. No idea what they are like. :no:

I do keep hearing though that BBH covers are quite a large fit and I can see from my small BBH cover that it will fit either a very bulky nappy or will be too big for a while.

Also, I haven't found that any particular cover needs to stay with any particular brand nappy. They don't have to match at all. If they fit, they fit. If they don't, they don't.
I haven't found that brands have made a difference in compatibility yet.

tales
21-02-2009, 19:42
Yeh I think I'm going to have to find some alternative covers to start off with, though I balk at paying a fortune for a cover that I'm probably only going to use for a couple of months. The thirsties and the bummis look nice, but they aren't cheap. Anyone used the snibbs? Are they at all effective?

faroutbrusselsprout
21-02-2009, 20:18
I have heard ok things about the snibbs..but I'm more confident with actual covers with velcros/snaps etc
I think I'm going to buy a few bummis covers in newborn, maybe 4?
They look great and can start from 2kg's.
They range between 12-15 dollars each depending on what style and where you get them.
I agree with NCB and think the BBH smalls look a little big for the first few weeks.
I will more than likely have a small baby with my history so I'll be nice and prepared. Brand name covers/napppies have great resale value too!
God this is hard!
I think I have it all sorted one day and the next change my mind and find something else!
aaarrrggghhh

NibbleCurlynBub
21-02-2009, 20:28
Bummi's covers in NB or small size are quite small (depending on the nappy going underneath of course).. Maybe just keep an eye out for specials and grab some when they go on special. :)

katieinwa
22-02-2009, 01:07
i can only *just* fit a large BBH wool cover over a BBB fitted

tales
22-02-2009, 07:00
I don't know if this it OT (my apologies if so), but what's the deal with the wool covers? People say they're great for night time (i.e. extended wear) but I thought the point of covers is to keep clothes/bedding from getting wet and my left brain simply can't fathom how wool covers/soakers do this as their whole function appears to be a draw the moisture away from the nappy and into the wool. Maybe I'm missing something, but they aren't a waterproof cover, are they? I can understand bubs running around in one during the day, where it has a chance to evaporate, but in bed?

kezzaskids
22-02-2009, 08:33
You need to lanolise the woolies to make them waterproof. I have on BBwool cover and have never used it because I didnt like it. Personal choice though.

The Bummis covers are very very small in newborn as NCB said (she has mine I never used except once or twice as they were to small and my DD was only 7lb110z born) and I would at least choose a small size instead of NB in that size.

Personally I like my AIO etc heaps better then covers and fitteds as they are so much easier to use. I never had newborn size magicalls but I did have small bumgenius and small magicalls. The small magicalls are pretty small and DD only fit hers up until about 8 weeks. I can still squeeze her into the bumgenius AIO but they really are to small now (at 14 weeks) and do leak if she does a big wee and cut into her fat rolls on her legs a bit .
At 14 weeks she wears medium ittis, magicalls and one size green kids all the time now with BBB fitteds for nights sometimes with a stray dry liner.

tales
22-02-2009, 09:03
Ahh ok. I knew you had to lanolise them, but I didn't know if that made them waterproof or not. Cheers :)

faroutbrusselsprout
22-02-2009, 10:55
You need to lanolise the woolies to make them waterproof. I have on BBwool cover and have never used it because I didnt like it. Personal choice though.

The Bummis covers are very very small in newborn as NCB said (she has mine I never used except once or twice as they were to small and my DD was only 7lb110z born) and I would at least choose a small size instead of NB in that size.

Personally I like my AIO etc heaps better then covers and fitteds as they are so much easier to use. I never had newborn size magicalls but I did have small bumgenius and small magicalls. The small magicalls are pretty small and DD only fit hers up until about 8 weeks. I can still squeeze her into the bumgenius AIO but they really are to small now (at 14 weeks) and do leak if she does a big wee and cut into her fat rolls on her legs a bit .
At 14 weeks she wears medium ittis, magicalls and one size green kids all the time now with BBB fitteds for nights sometimes with a stray dry liner.

Hmmmm! You've given me even MORE to think about! Goodness I am confused! :laughing:
I've got some small pockets and small itti's which I thought may be too big, but I think I am forgetting how fast they grow....
If they are too big I'm happy to do covers and prefolds until he/she grows into a small/OSFM size (if I have another 2kg baby).
Right! I'm getting there!

NibbleCurlynBub
23-02-2009, 10:00
If I were you, I wouldn't worry about wool yet.

I personally haven't ventured into wool covers at all, the PUL for now is convenient and is stretchy so since that does fine for me I'm sticking with it.

Some people love wool, some people don't like it at all.
I personally just don't think I have the patience or expertise (it needs a certain kind of washing and needs lanolin put on occasionally) and I doubt that I would be able to pull it off. Especially with two in cloth, it doesn't seem like it would be worth the effort. :no:

wild at heart
24-02-2009, 10:15
1x booroi bamboo prefold

i would get a million of these with thirsties x-sml and sml covers. I find you need a cover with GUSSETT to contaion the runny poos. The bamboo prefolds can be used as inserts in pockets later on. I know some people say ot to worry about bamboo nappies for newborns but I think in my case bamboo nappies were ESSENTIAL. Maybe build uup lots lots more bamboo prefolds during nappy hunt.

You can get bamboo prefolds from bits for bots, and mandy mac (that's all I can think of atm :sleeping:).

I ahve chinese cotton prefolds which I didn't really use as ds would wee through them 5 mins after I put them on him. Alternatively I found terry flats a million times better than cotton prefolds. If you use the jo fold witha snappi you will have a very absorbent nappy and if you want you can boost with bamboo insert from sustainable hemp (called newborn nappy boosters) or boosters from mandy mac or greenkids. You can still use your BBH covers and the terr flast dry so quick and are v cheap..

IN terms of newborn fitteds I would go:

cute tooshies bamboo delights (OSFM) but firt very ealy on.
BBB fitteds fit from about 3 wks old (in my case that is)
daysies small fitted bamboo nappies from sustainable hemp.
thirsties fab fitteds are very trim but not partic absorbent
good luck..

wild at heart
24-02-2009, 10:18
If I were you, I wouldn't worry about wool yet.

I personally haven't ventured into wool covers at all, the PUL for now is convenient and is stretchy so since that does fine for me I'm sticking with it.

Some people love wool, some people don't like it at all.
I personally just don't think I have the patience or expertise (it needs a certain kind of washing and needs lanolin put on occasionally) and I doubt that I would be able to pull it off. Especially with two in cloth, it doesn't seem like it would be worth the effort. :no:

if you have a heavy wetter and you want to avoid complete bed changes at nights I would go for a wool cover... I really would.. we started at about 2-3 weeks. I used to have to put a wool soaker over a bamboo pocket nappy to ensure no leaks and ensure a long stretch of sleep- 7 hours when I started using wool. Breathes m,uch better than sticky PUL.. but that's juts my opinion...

wild at heart
24-02-2009, 10:21

you only need to wash when the cover stays smelly or doesn't keep bubs dry. That may only be every couple of weeks. If only using at night time it probably wouldn't get too dirty too quickly.
You can buy lanolising wool wash which avoids need for separate lanolising or you can machine wash the woollies and then soak in lanolin overnight and dry on clothes horse..

but that's just my opinion..

besides knitting is a good thing to do with kids as it is easy to pick up when you ahev 5- 10 extra minutes to yourself..

I probably like woolllies because I like knitting ha ha ha ha