View Full Version : More MCN Help? please?

YMo7
20-02-2009, 11:25
ok - i am finally due to have my baby.. being induced on Sunday...

i have ordered my nappies and will be delivered to me on Monday.... i got 21 AI2's to begin with ... i also have about 3 pkts of terry flats...

i got Amolin to wash them in and I got a little squirt too...

i got nappy liners (although big w, kmart and woollies only had homebrand ones and i dunno how much i like them).

now my questions:
*did i get the right laundry liquid?
*i have read somewhere that its good to use half or less of the recommended amount. is that right?
*if i use the little squirt, that means i wont be dry pailing, yeah? but what do i do in that instance?
*how do i dispose of a disposable nappy liner? i have read that there are certain regulations, but i dont know what they are.
*where can i get flushable liners?
*should i use liners?
*what should i use for nappy wipes? i am getting some made but
wont be receiving them for a few weeks.
*do i add anything to the wipe? water? chamomile tea? etc?
*am i a big pain in the butt for asking so many naive questions? :yes:
*what do i do while i am in hospital? like will they stink while i am waiting for DH to wash them?
*if i dont use liners, wont the poo stains stain the nappy or be harder to remove if i dry pail?
*anything else i should know? :confused: i want everything just right! :)

NibbleCurlynBub
20-02-2009, 11:37
*did i get the right laundry liquid? I'm sure Amolin is fine, I have heard women on here that use that.
*i have read somewhere that its good to use half or less of the recommended amount. is that right? Yeap. :yes:
*if i use the little squirt, that means i wont be dry pailing, yeah? but what do i do in that instance? No, you can still dry pail. Once you rinse your nappy off just pop it in the bucket.
*how do i dispose of a disposable nappy liner? In the toilet if theyre flushable, in the bin if they aren't. :)
i have read that there are certain regulations, but i dont know what they are.
*where can i get flushable liners? Most cloth nappy shops online, or in person if you have one near you.
*should i use liners? Its up to you, some people do, some don't. Some prefer cloth liners like microfleece or polar fleece and some prefer flushable.
Face washers are ok, if you have some.
*do i add anything to the wipe? water? chamomile tea? etc?
You can, you don't have to. Chamomile tea (not too strong) does seem like a very nice choice.
*am i a big pain in the butt for asking so many naive questions? :yes:
Nope, once you ask and know the answer, chances are you probably won't ask the same stuff again anyway.
*what do i do while i am in hospital? like will they stink while i am waiting for DH to wash them?
You can use disposables if you like or you can wrap them in bags or you can send them home to be washed in the meantime, its up to you.
*if i dont use liners, wont the poo stains stain the nappy or be harder to remove if i dry pail?
Not really, you would be surprised what a few days in the sun will do to a poop stain, no matter how bad.
*anything else i should know? :confused: i want everything just right! :)

Not that I can think of that you haven't already thought of. :no:

JabberJaw
20-02-2009, 11:41
As above!!!

All sounds good.

When i had my kids, they provided terry flats, we just had to take in a pin or a snappi,,does yr hospi not do that? basically we took nothing for bub except clothes to come home in and of course a nappy to come home in, which you get in yr bounty baby bag anyway!

Good luck with bub....YAY

SpottySocks
20-02-2009, 12:15
ok - i am finally due to have my baby.. being induced on Sunday... Yayyy, congratulations!!!

i have ordered my nappies and will be delivered to me on Monday.... i got 21 AI2's to begin with ... i also have about 3 pkts of terry flats...

i got Amolin to wash them in and I got a little squirt too...

i got nappy liners (although big w, kmart and woollies only had homebrand ones and i dunno how much i like them).

now my questions:
*did i get the right laundry liquid? As long as it doesn't contain a fabric softener you should be ok (I don't know Amolin).

*i have read somewhere that its good to use half or less of the recommended amount. is that right? Yes, less is better. I use about 1/4 cup of powder, maybe less.

*if i use the little squirt, that means i wont be dry pailing, yeah? but what do i do in that instance? Still dry pail - once you have rinsed off the poo you just put the nappy into the bucket and put the lid on - no water etc in the bucket.

*how do i dispose of a disposable nappy liner? i have read that there are certain regulations, but i dont know what they are. I use the woolies home brand liners - they can be washed and reused. I used to use the Johnstons blue liners and they can also be reused but the woolies one's actually last longer. For really pooey ones I put them in the bin, but mostly I was and reuse.

*where can i get flushable liners? Look online - Nuture Nappies is a good place to start.

*should i use liners? I prefer them as it contains the poo a bit more - even runny BF poos were a bit more easy to deal with. Now she's on solids I usually just pick up the liner and tip the poo into the toilet.

*do i add anything to the wipe? water? chamomile tea? etc? Coles has face washers for $1 each in the baby section also Best & Less is good for cheap face washers. I use a spray bottle of plain water.

*am i a big pain in the butt for asking so many naive questions? :yes: No not at all - we've all been there!!!

*what do i do while i am in hospital? like will they stink while i am waiting for DH to wash them? Up to you really, I used disposables in hospital and started with cloth once I got home. If you have 2 wetbags - one for him to take when he goes and one to use until he comes back (hopefully with the empty wetbag!) you would probably be ok, the wetbag would be just like dry pailing. Make sure you give him good instrucions about washing, not too much powder, hang in sun etc! You might want flushable liners for the sticky meconium poos in the first few days.

*if i dont use liners, wont the poo stains stain the nappy or be harder to remove if i dry pail? SUN SUN SUN - it is amazing how a day in the sun (even 1/2 day) gets rid of the worst looking yellow stains. Even with liners the newborn BF poo is very runny and it does go through the liners - but the liners are still helpful. I used to oak my nappies when I had my first baby and now I am dry pailing which I find much easier. I also used to stress about poo stains and soak all the pooey ones - now I just wash and hang in the sun, they are clean and don't smell.

*anything else i should know? :confused: i want everything just right! :) When washing my nappies I put them through a rinse cycle first with no powder and then a longer wash cycle with powder. I try and wash every second morning and hang out as early as possible so they have all day in the sun. My first 2 babies pooed heaps - every time they had a feed, before and after, they pooed! Number 3 came along and she poos every 3 or 4 days so the washing wasn't as bad. With the oldest 2 I washed every day simply because they used more nappies!

My advice would be don't stress too much about nappies the first week or so - if you find you can then use them, if it all seems too much use sposies. I found that sposies were conveneint at night time until they started sleeping for longer, but that was just my personal preference. I tried to make nights as quick and easy as possible so disposables suited me. From about 3 months I went to cloth full time.

Hope I haven't scared you off with my long reply!!

Goodluck.

flutiemum
20-02-2009, 20:20
Make sure you prewash your nappies (keep the terries separate from the AI2's as they'll fluff everywhere), and if you have bamboo or hemp they need a few washes to reach max absorbancy.

We used disposables until I had the energy to look after the clothies (which was about 3 weeks or so), and by about 6 or 7 weeks we went full time to MCN's.

We use Imse Vimse flushable liners and I find that I can wash them with the nappies and reuse if they're not pooey.

Good luck with the birth! :flowerz: It'll be wonderful!

flutiemum
20-02-2009, 20:22
Oh and I forgot to say, have a look at the faq page on the ozcloth nappies website (it has just about everything you need to know)