View Full Version : Thread for June

Pages : [1] 2

sare
02-06-2006, 10:01 AM
Time to start another thread again...one month closer to meeting our babies :smiliedance:

Lesley - Well done on the pram. It's amazing the mark ups they put on some products.

Loulousmum - I know what you mean about not remembering it being like this the first time around. I can't believe how tired I still am and I'm well out of my 1st trimester, but no where near the 3rd.

Eloise's new bed is getting delivered next week - does any body have any proven strategies to make it a nice easy move from the cot to a bed? I'm dreading the thought of a 5am wake-up call every morning when she makes her way to our bedroom - I need my sleep!!!

Only 4 more sleeps to my scan :yelclap: Good luck to briannabear, mumto2cheekyboys and Samantha-Jane who have scans next week too (and anyone else still to have one).

Have a great Friday :thumbsup:

Becbabe
02-06-2006, 10:30 AM
hey Sare - I missed the boat a bit with your posting! I tried to load mine half an hour ago, but it wouldn't let me as the server was being uploaded - oh well we're just so enthusiastic we have two June threads! I'll direct people over here.

Have a good weekend,
Bec.

Briannabear
02-06-2006, 10:47 AM
Eloise's new bed is getting delivered next week - does any body have any proven strategies to make it a nice easy move from the cot to a bed? I'm dreading the thought of a 5am wake-up call every morning when she makes her way to our bedroom - I need my sleep!!!
We are approaching that issue too. We're buying a bed for Brianna on saturday. Hoping to start the changeover in the next month or so. (I know she's young, but I want her to get used to the big bed before this next baby comes)
I heard that its easier to place the mattress on the floor in the same position as the cot (so they dont get disorientated), then graduate to the fully set up bed once they're used to that.
Another idea is a trundle bed. That way they dont fall on the floor if they roll.
Im very keen to hear other ideas to make the transition smooth too!:fingerscrossed:

brideofjabba
02-06-2006, 11:14 AM
Welcome to JUNE!!! wow time is going fast.

I changed ds over to a bed about a month or so ago but was still putting him down in his cot for day time naps, but yesterday he went to sleep all by himself in his big bed!!! MILESTONE!! lol I hope he keeps it up.
He just has a mattress on the floor for now though, since we couldn't afford a whole bed. lol and he loves it, so thats the main thing.

I also discovered that my glucose test isnt for 24 weeks, it is 28 wks(which is normal) but i read my path form incorrectly. silly me!! on the 24th of July i will be 28 wks. So thats good. Leaves me 2 more months.

I am feeling sick today :( damn m/s. I wish it would go away!! I feel fine then have a bad day every now and then. sucks.

Have a great day everyone...i'm off to pay the rent!

brideofjabba
02-06-2006, 11:18 AM
Oh and we did put his mattress in the same spot as his cot and i got him to help me move stuff around and he chose his new bedding and helped make the bed up etc. I still have his cot in his room but he really doesn't like it anymore. I will take it out when he is consistantly sleeping in his bed for naps...hopefully before the baby is born! lol

Briannabear
02-06-2006, 11:27 AM
I am feeling sick today :( damn m/s. I wish it would go away!! I feel fine then have a bad day every now and then. sucks.
Oh I know what you mean! I still have yucky days too. :crying:

pebilz
02-06-2006, 12:14 PM

I'll have to apologise as I keep forgetting that these threads exist.

Anyway I had my 18wk scan on Wednesday and all went well. Squishy was moving around like crazy but had to go for a 15min walk in the middle so he/she would roll over onto her belly so they could check out his/her spine. We have to go back at 24 weeks for another one as my DD was born with a heart murmur so they want to have another check of this bub when it's a bit bigger. That makes me happy as they'll be able to check his/her heart again and I'll get to see him/her again. Also as I have a high risk for DS they noted that squishy does have a decent nasal bone which makes me a bit more positive. (we are not having an amnio even though we are high risk).

I've just started feeling kicks in the last week too which is very exciting as it took to 24weeks with my daughter due to her anterior placenta.

Hope everyone is doing well and getting lots of kicks and swishes!

suemp
02-06-2006, 03:29 PM
well iwas wrong girls...its a boy

either that or our daughter is growing a strange limb out of her groin :laughing:
atleast i know how to change a boy bum:thumbsup:
ps the chocolate worked...jnr never stopped moving was actually kicking the probe thing

Briannabear
02-06-2006, 03:36 PM
Congrats Sue!! :thumbsup: :yelclap:

ikis84
02-06-2006, 05:58 PM
Congratulations suemp...

The boys are winning at the moment!

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: Yay! It's Friday!!

ikis84
02-06-2006, 06:00 PM
Is anyone else begining to miss thier belly button? As I was soaping up my belly in the shower this morning, I realised that my once very inny belly button is getting very shallow... Im guessing about 5wks and it will say hello to the world!er

Very strange!

lesley
02-06-2006, 07:08 PM
hey all
i got my maternity leave approved today the 13/8 wooo hoo not long now and trust me after today i cant wait till then its only 10w 3 days away

i really dont have much to say so have a good weekend and i will check in with you all later

~Kimba~
02-06-2006, 07:37 PM
Congratulations Sue on your little boy! :yelclap:

Pam my belly button is getting a bit shallower but I'm not sure if it will 'pop' or not...it was pretty deep to start with! :laughing:

I just had tomato soup and toasted muffins and now my belly is so full and hard it feels like it's going to burst! Can't fit much in there any more...I shudder to think what it'll be like in 4 months time! :eek:

It's freezing here tonight...think I'll go to bed early since that's the warmest place in the house. Getting up early tomorrow to make the trek down the coast to see my little baby nephew for the first time! :smiliedance: I'm excited, he's the first baby in our family (my brother and his wife just beat us to it by a few months!)

Have a great weekend all!

Mookie
02-06-2006, 08:18 PM
Congratulations Sue on your baby BOY!!!

I hope you are all well. I havent had a chance all week to hop on & see what everyone's up to. I've now caught up but dont have much spare time as I'm busy packing for Port Douglas. DH & I decided to have 1 last holiday while it's just us, so we're heading up there on Sunday for 8 nights. I cant wait!!

Hope you all have a nice weekend.

By the way, I know what you mean about belly buttons slowly disappearing - I'm not sure how much longer it will be until I dont have one anymore!!!!

Also, Rian, I laughed until tears rolled down my face at your chemist story - that's absolutely hilarious!!!!

SamanthaJane
02-06-2006, 10:28 PM
My belly button hasnt changed one teeny bit!

But my podge is definitley showing now!!

Scan on Monday!!! I cant wait!! But im soooooooo nervous:eek:

Briannabear
03-06-2006, 07:27 AM
On the belly button issue - With my first pregnancy it didnt pop out. It got flat looking but never went the whole way! I have a very deep innie normally.
This time it seems to be flattening out earlier so I think it may actually pop out eventually!

sare
03-06-2006, 01:51 PM
Congratulations Sue on your baby boy :yelclap:

My Belly button didn't pop out with dd either. I got this hideous stretch mark just above it though. It feels like it's a bit flatter this time around too. So who knows it may just pop out this time.

DH got to feel baby move for the 1st time last night. It might get him a little more excited about the whole thing. I know that he is looking forward to meeting the baby, but he has been no where near as excited as he was with Eloise. He was so cute then, he used to count down how many days I was pregnant and how many days I had left to go, now he asks me how many weeks I am :rolleyes: He's looking forward to the scan on Tues though.

Ann - Have a great holiday. Lucky you!!!

Have a great weekend everyone. :)

brideofjabba
03-06-2006, 02:36 PM
Sue - congrats on your boy!!!

My belly button didn't pop out last time. I gained like 19kgs too and i'm only 5'3 so yes i was HUGE!! and it still didn't poke out. It's really deep. It didnt even get flat! It was still an innie the whole time! lol But i got killer stretch marks so maybe that helped. :rolleyes:

Since i am hoping to not gain that much weight again this time, i'm pretty confident that it won't poke out.....i hope i don't have to eat my words! lol

Jeffy
03-06-2006, 02:51 PM
Firstly, I have to say that my belly button is freaking me out and I hope it doesn't pop out all the way - it just looks weird under tight tops...speaking of which - frou frou baby have some really nice new stuff on their site. Now for my latest story - this beats me passing out at work:

Last night my husband had a work party to attend. I opted out because I've been off sick and dropped him around 6:30. Well - I knew he would have a few bevvies but when he turned up at 4 this morning I was a little concerned.

He jumped in the shower (once he'd found the right door) and after 1/2 hour I thought I'd better get him out. I found him passed out sitting on the floor in there. So, I had to try and coax him out of the shower and dry him off. Just as I thought he was asleep he coughed and screamed in agony. I was terrified and kept asking him what was wrong.

The idiot kept passing out, so I had to slap him a few times to try and make him tell me what the problem was. He couldn't even construct a basic sentence. So, I spent the next couple of hours watching him sleep, then woke him and tried again. Turns out he had stabbing pains in his chest whenever he breathed too deeply or coughed. I figured he'd cracked a couple of ribs or something.

So, off to the hospital we went. After x-rays it turns out he has bronchitis, a chest infection and has torn all the muscles under his ribs on the left side of his body. I feel very sorry for him but what sort of idiot drinks that much when they've been sick and coughing for a week?! I have never seen him like this in the 8 years we have been together. I called my mother-in-law and had her give him a talking to. :shame:

So - I'm still sick, my loving husband is all tucked into bed with a hangover as well as the rest of it :sleeping: and I was so bored and stressed out, I thought I'd write it up to help everyone feel better about their own partner's efforts!

I am so hoping next week won't suck as badly as this one did. Got our new replacement TV this morning but it is too heavy for me to lift. No DVD's for me for a while until I can get someone over to help me with it. It's days like this I wish I could drink :crying:

Anyone got any funny stories to lighten my mood?

sare
03-06-2006, 02:55 PM
Ooops...forgot to add last time thanks for the tips for moving dd into a bed. I think we'll just pop her in for her day sleeps initially and then move on to night sleeps closer to the baby being born. We're actually leaving her room as the nursery and moving her into the spare room. We've made a big deal of it by painting it and letting her show everyone who visits her new bedroom...we'll just have to see how it goes.

AnnaT
03-06-2006, 04:57 PM
Hey long time no see. Not much to update just been really busy with life. Feeling better and better as the weeks go by, about time I started enjoying this! Getting very excited that Im getting closer and closer to having my boy in my arms, it couldnt go fast enough!
Just wanted to say re: belly buttons, mine is officially an outtie :thumbsdown: It doesnt look horrible with my tops just yet but its def going to get there. I really didnt think it would do this as I have a very deep innie but I guess all the surgeries Ive had has built up scar tissue underneath my navel and thats helping it pop out sooner than usual.

ikis84
03-06-2006, 05:26 PM
Sorry Jeffy, no funny stories here... but a gross one...
I was helping my 9yo nephew (who I have custody of) clean his room today, and in his cupboard I found little pieces of poo... yes, little nuggets of dried up human poo... very, very disgusting, as I picked them up and only realised what they were after I had smelled them... Needless to say I then went and had a hot shower! :barf: Baby poo is one thing... but hidden poo from a nine year old is just revolting!

The joys of children!

I am feeling really good today - I had a long overdue visit to the hairdresser, and a visit to the waxing lady - boy oh boy was that overdue lol... she said (regarding my bikini area) "oh, I like them like this, it makes you feel like you've accomplished something when it's finished". I won't be leaving it that long anymore! Although, it is getting increasingly difficult to actually see down there!

I also did a bit of clothes shopping.. Katies had a sale on and I bought some lovely warm tops that aren't maternity but they fit really well.. really shows of the bump and makes everywhere else look thin.. gotta love that.
Hubby decided that he would do some retail therapy himself and bought heaps of baby clothes and a carseat! He was so excited about the clothes... it was very cute :D

Hope you're all having a great weekend! Give those bumps a rub for me!

lesley
03-06-2006, 06:15 PM
[QUOTE=sare
DH got to feel baby move for the 1st time last night. It might get him a little more excited about the whole thing. I know that he is looking forward to meeting the baby, but he has been no where near as excited as he was with Eloise. He was so cute then, he used to count down how many days I was pregnant and how many days I had left to go, now he asks me how many weeks I am :rolleyes: He's looking forward to the scan on Tues though.

Ann - Have a great holiday. Lucky you!!!

Have a great weekend everyone. :)[/QUOTE]
i thought i was the only one thats dh dose not seem intersted in this pregnancy i mean when i was pregnant with dd he was so excited but he siad it just him being worried about his bond with dd but he will be excited when its time to go to the hospital he is just impatent and hates to wait
as 4 the belly botton thing mine will pop but not all the way it is more then half way there now well i better go enjoy the rest of your weekends
and take care
say hi to those bumps for me !!!!!!! :thumbsup:

brideofjabba
03-06-2006, 06:24 PM
Ikis - i got a Katies card in the mail saying they are having a 50% sale starting monday!! I'm going shopping!!! I need some t-shirts. Oh and that is gross about your nephew, do you know why he did that?

My dh doesn't seem that excited this time either. He was at the start but not really into it now. I guess he has his own things to worry about. He has a displaced fracture in his arm and its in a cast and we are waiting to hear back from the dr since it doesn't look like its healing. Not sure whats going on! Plus he has been really sick with a bad cold and has been spending heaps of extra time at work.

suemp
03-06-2006, 07:20 PM
my dp is sortof into the preg...prob the same amount as for ds 1. its not like he goes on and on about it but every now and than he'll let a comment slip that lets me know he's thinking about it. he has started to ask when we are gonna try for a girl!!...men!!!he can carry the next one!!!
sorry no funny stories jeffy but i have been there with dp before, they never know when to stop when the mates are around.its like they cant be seen a wimp by stop drinking??? oh this is sortof funny, we went to the pub for an hour friday afternoon (no im not a pub tart, first time i been there in ages) and it was that time in the afternoon when its full of workman, so they had promo girls wearing virtually nothing and fishnet stockings. in qld you are aloud your children inside bars so the kids where running around and for some reason my mates 3 year old daughter went and poked her finger in the promo girls bum. all the boys thought that was funny and her stepdad told her to get the promo girls number next time. than for some reason the little girl became fascinated with their stockings and kept going up to the promo girls rubbing their legs. my friend said to the lady" if my daughters annoying you you can tell her to stop," the promo chick said" no shes ok i dont mind her touching me." straight away all the men put their hands up and said can i go next....men!!! than as we were going i stood up and my bestmates fiancee goes infront of all the fellas..gee sue your boobs are getting big! i tell you men have no class at times.
i wanted to ask for those whose second or third preg it is and they have found out its the same sex as their older child , do they have people assume that they must be disappointed? about half the people i told have been excited, the other half have been like oh well maybe next time like i autimatically wanted a boy and a girl. im very happy to have 2 of the same sex
any way enough:ecomcity:

AnnaT
04-06-2006, 11:33 AM
Morning ladies!
My hubby is so into this pregnancy youd think HE was the one having the baby lol its nice though, took him until 12wks to get into it but I appreciate the excitement now. He is an "expert" on the nursery and breastfeeding already :laughing: and he looooooves touching my belly and talking to the baby about what he has to do to help me when Im in labour.

m_jelly
04-06-2006, 03:51 PM
You know, i've been reading all these threads and seeing everyone counting down to their maternity leave, and feeling jealous. But duh! I just realised today I only have 10 weeks work left too - hurray!!!!!

Baby has been kicking and flailing wildly at times, i can feel it from the outside now, and so can dp. She had the hiccups the other night - right on my bladder!
And you know what is the weirdest sensation so far? She was kicking while i was going #2 on the loo. TMI but VERY WEIRD!

Just had to take a packet of skittles back to woolworths for suspected tampering - they tasted of a really strong chemical - i spat it out straight away and flushed my mouth but i still have the aftertaste. I hope even that small amount of whatever it was doesnt hurt baby. Mr Skittles will be hearing about it if it does! I suggested to the manager at woolworths that the other packs should be removed from the shelf and it raised asap, but I dont know if it will be. I hope so, given all the problems in the media lately.

Claire R
04-06-2006, 05:53 PM
Hello All, I've been super busy at work and haven't been posting - but I do sneak in and read what you're all up to! Lucky for me I am feeling much more energetic the last couple of weeks so I am actually getting a few things done - unlike the first 4.5 months!!
Hope you've all had a nice weekend......

Briannabear
04-06-2006, 07:11 PM
Hi All!
Hope your weekends went well!
Im so excited that our scan is tomorrow morning! Yay!
I have a question though - Do I need to have a full bladder? With my first baby I think they told me to, but this time they told me nothing. Its with a different place though.
I had my first pregnancy comment from a stranger today! I walked into a chemist and the girl behind the counter goes 'Oh you're pregnant!! How exciting!' - and I thought Yay! I dont just look fat! :laughing:

DH took a belly photo today! Here's the link: PICCIE! (http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/653/10005107qx.jpg)

Gumby
04-06-2006, 07:41 PM
Evaning all. Hope everyone is feeling ok.
I have had a pretty quiet day today but had a pretty scary one yesterday. Bubby decided not to move for me ALL DAY and i was in a panic last night and headed straight up the hospital only to find out he was fine and had swapped positions which a. made him tired and b. made him breach facing backwards, but i did get to go on a ctg and hear his heart beat for half hour straight so it wasnt all bad.
Dont have an other ob appointment for about 2.5 weeks and no more scans so thats about it. All i have are my kicks and sore (.)(.)'s to remind me i am pregnant.
Have a good night. Take care
Rian

loulousmum
04-06-2006, 08:35 PM
Have just realised that I typed the wrong number the other day and said I was in week 24 - well, that is now correct - I must have been secretly wishing myself a week further on than I was!! So - some stats that are helping me through the coming few weeks until school holidays:
3 - weeks until holidays and our baby free weekend away!
13 - weeks until maternity leave starts
2 - days until my next OB appointment
2 - number of public holidays before I go on leave
6 - weeks until Louella's 2nd birthday
30 - approximate number of full working days to go(as I am part-time)
8 - number of OB appointments left if all goes well!
13 - number of weeks to go if baby #2 comes at the same time Louella did!
:ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:
Best of luck to those with scans this week - heart burn and indigestion have begun, have now put on 10 kilos but feel fantastic!!!!

suemp
05-06-2006, 08:08 AM
brianna bear: (nice pic) i also have my scan today and its at 10 o clock so between 8:30 to 9 i have to empty my bladder and have a litre of water . hope that helps

heartburn: i remember someone asking about how to help it when quickeze etc is not sufficient. well i asked my dad who has severe reflux daily (ob not due to preg) and he said in nsw you can buy a tablet over the counter called zantac. its ment to work miracles but obviously ask first if its fine to have being pregnant.

we are still fighting over names but dont mind Wesley, or Blaise.

lesley
05-06-2006, 10:03 AM
hi all
well my weekend was good we didnt do much saturday we had a full day of football and the kids went to bed early beause my brother took them to luna park on sunday so another early nite for them last night so while they were at luna park dh and i had a massave clean up with a council clean up this morning but my shed is now nearly empty yeah

dh also went to a mates place on saturday nite for a few drinks so i dropped him over there and picked him up yesterday morning
and they have this huge dog as i was leaving i went to go down the stairs as the dog was comming up and the stupid thing almost made me fall down the stairs i had dh mate and his wife pulling me back not sure weather it was my fault or the dogs but i got a fright and the dog got sent to bed but i managed to come away with only a grazed ankle and that was it i think i did ok :yes:
well take care all :yes:

fablis
05-06-2006, 01:06 PM

I caved on Friday and phoned the clinic that did my 19 week scan to find out the gender of my babies. I am having two little boys!!! I am so excited and can't wait to meet my sons. My DH does not know that I phoned the clinic and I am not going to tell him, although in any case he is certain that the babies are both boys. He will be absolutely thrilled when they are born. I am not telling anyone what I am having, it is going to be my little secret.

I am growing so fast lately. When I saw my OB last Tuesday at 20 weeks he said that I am about the size of 23/24 weeks in a single pregnancy. Today my belly feels so hard and I feel like I am carrying a large basketball around inside of me. God, I just love it!!

I have only 15 weeks max to go, as the doctor told me last week that he very much doubts I will make it past 36 weeks, so I am counting down the weeks now. I am on fortnightly OB visits already. Is anyone else on fortnightly visits yet??

Have a great day ladies!!

Briannabear
05-06-2006, 03:34 PM
Fablis - Congratulations!!!
Im still on monthly visits, but Id imagine they'd need to monitor you a lot more than a single pregnancy.

I had my scan today and the baby is super healthy! Wouldnt stop wriggling the whole time! Bub actually measured a bit further along than I am but they're not changing dates though.
Here's a couple of photos!! CLICK HERE! (http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/5497/babyskehan219hh.png) AND HERE - 4d! (http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/6809/babyskehan2183dr.png)
We didnt find out the sex, but Im convinced that I saw a little doodle! I definately think its a boy! The heartrate was 140, which Ive heard can indicate a boy as well. My DD's was over 160.
We're happy either way though - just glad he/she is healthy! :yes:
Turned out I didnt need a full bladder. I wonder why some places ask you to and others dont?

Hope your scan went well today Sue!

fablis
05-06-2006, 04:27 PM
Hi Becca!!

That's great that your scan went well. I was convinced that I could see little doodles on both of my babies during my scan as well and that's what finally made me ring and find out. For some reason, I just had to know. At first I was a little disappointed that I didn't have the will power to wait but now I am kind of glad that I know that I have my two little boys growing inside of me and I really truly feel so in love with them. :D

sare
05-06-2006, 04:30 PM
Congratulations fablis on your 2 little boys :smiliedance:
There would have to be almost twice as many October boys to girls now. And only 15 weeks to go, that's so exciting.

Briannabear - You can definitely tell that you have a pregnant bump. Great ultrasound photos too. :fingerscrossed: that it's a little boy for you too.

Rian - I had a panic attack after not feeling the baby move for ages over the weekend. I was still chucking up on Saturday and thought something bad had happened, but when I felt my belly I thought that the baby had moved as the hard spot where it had been was no longer there. Today s/he has been kicking up a storm a lot lower down. I'm hoping s/he keeps this up for the ultrasound tomorrow. :fingerscrossed:

How did all those girls indulging in some retail therapy on the weekend go? Baby Bunting have a sale on this month and i'm thinking of heading there this weekend to layby a few things... a maxi-rider car seat for Eloise and toddler seat for the pram and maybe a few things for the baby.

suemp
05-06-2006, 04:54 PM
congrats fablis on the 2 boys..how cute having 2 little boys growing up together..im sure your hubby will be stoked.

brianna bear.my scan went well thanks and once again a doodle in full site, this lady told me 100% a boy. as for the heartbeat my bubs h/beat was 159 and its a boy so you cant rely on that one.
:rolleyes:

i have a friend who had a girl and her mum runs a lifeline so she just gave me all the boy rompers she does not want that her mum picked up for her. saves me a bundle:smiliedance:

sare: the chocolate works to get jnr dancing for the u/s. i had one for first u/s he did not stop moving. did not have one today and have way thru the radiographer made me go and eat one!!! good luck tomorrow:fingerscrossed:

Flower159
05-06-2006, 05:19 PM

Congrats on your little boys Fablis - Good luck in keeping the secret from your DH!:fingerscrossed:

Well, I went to the doctors on Friday. Everything is fine, bubs heartrate was 147 and he's kicking about just fine ( I can vouch for that!) I did find out that my placenta is quite low lying (just to the side of my cervix) and although they think with my uterus growing this shouldn't be a problem, but I now get a scan at 34 weeks! - I have only ever had scan's at 12w and 14 weeks with the girls, so this is very exciting to be seeing the baby at such a late date. Although I wont be so chuffed if they tell me I need a ceaser!! (but I'll cope). I've put on 4kgs and although I was quite chuffed with that doc doesn't want me to put on much more due to me being bigger before getting pregnant.

When I had my second little girl everyone I met asked me if I would try for a boy - it's just a foregone thing. Like, this time I would've still been happy with a girl, but they're all saying that now I don't need to try for a fourth. I just think people don't think before opening their mouths!! -Everyone's an expert at how you're feeling!

My DH is neither here nor there with this pregnancy. With the other two he was always at me to feel my tummy and stuff and asking how I was, this time he's OK, but I had to ask him the other day if he realised I was pregnant! It's not quite that bad, but I wanted to make a point in the hope that he'd respond more, but it wasn't really successful!! Never mind, at the birth I'm sure he'll work it out!!

I've also started being really dizzy. I got this with the other two and I'm hoping it might lift, but I've got a horrible feeling that I'm housebound for the rest of the time incase I keel over!! :eek: But we'll see.

Hope you are all well. Marion.

ikis84
05-06-2006, 06:48 PM
Glad to hear that the scans went well!

caved on Friday and phoned the clinic that did my 19 week scan to find out the gender of my babies. I am having two little boys!!!
That is so naughty lol :shame: Congratulations and good luck not telling hubby... that would be so great though! I found it made a huge difference to my feelings towards the baby once I knew the sex IYKWIM... It really made me realise that this is real, and I can imagine myself holding my little girl in 17wks!

Marion, that sux about the dizzyness.. hope it eases for you!

Okay, gotta go make dinner and get some socks on .... its freeeeeezzzing!

SamanthaJane
05-06-2006, 07:16 PM
Hey just a quick note to say im having a GIRL:smiliedance: .... well they are 99% sure:rolleyes:

Shes healthy so far, no sign of cleft pallet which i was worried about as it runs in the family:yelclap:

M~T~J~M
05-06-2006, 10:21 PM
I finally had my scan today!! I too ate a chocolate bar about 1/2 hour before hand, and the baby did not stop the whole time!! It was actually quite funny to watch!! We found out that we are having our third little BOY!!!
I was sure this one was a girl as my first two pregancies almost mirrored each other, then when I had such bad m/s with this one, I thought that it must of been a sign of growing a different gender baby.....but I was very wrong!! It was very clear that my baby has a little penis!! My mum was devasted. She has spent so much money on little girl stuff in the last couple of weeks, and now she has to go and change it all for little boy stuff. I would have liked a little girl, but a little boy is also just fine. All is healthy it seems, so that is all I am concerned about!!
I have my next Ob appoint on Thursday. Can't wait for that as it has been 10 weeks since I have seen him.
Hope all is good and congrats to all that had their scans today, and good luck Sare for tomorrow!!

lesley
06-06-2006, 09:18 AM
hey all
congrats to everyone on there scans glad to hear everthing is ok
my bub kicked me for the 1st time this morning while i was driving it was nice but felt strange and i love it.
I went and had a look at that stroller an i am not so sure now i know the price is cheap but it looks the same i thing i may go to baby co and get a beema q they are nice and have high handles as i am tall and always used to get a sore back from our 1str stroller with miss 9 but many things have changed now so we will see
I really don"t have much else to say bub and i are fine both growing and looking very pregnant now my belly has rounded off the girls at work are all hands when i come in always touching it but thats ok .

Well take care all say hi to those bubba's for us please

Becbabe
06-06-2006, 09:55 AM

DP felt the baby kick for the first time! So exciting for both of us. I'm glad it's something we can share now. I'm eating chocolate at the moment so there'll probably be some more somersaulting going on shortly :D

My sister told me that when they are most active, that's probably when they'll be born... in that case I'll be delivering little Ella at about 7pm (MASH time!) cos that's when she goes nuts! Might be something to do with the fact that I've usually just eaten then though!

Congratulations to Sue and Fablis on your little boys... exciting!

Jeffy, I'm with sue, sometimes the idiots just can't seem to say no with their mates... Me, I like to stop at a certain stage of drunkenness, but guys just seem to have that "drink to self destruction" urge! :mad: My DP did it quite a bit in early pregnancy but has settled down now, however I am preparing myself for his 30th this Sat, hopefully his mates can look after him and I can go to bed!! After the last episode I sat down and told him quite honestly how I felt about it, he was very contrite and it hasnt' happened again, but to tell the truth I felt so much better just talking about it.

hey Ikis, does that mean it's safe to get a bikini wax now?! I'm dying for one, I can't stand the regrowth forest that's going on down there (even if I have to bend over further to see it these days!)

Mjelly, we must be finishing work the same week - I can't wait, work is getting very tense these days!

With heartburn, I used to take Zantac before I was diagnosed yeast intolerant. It's great but you have to take it every day, it's no good taking it when you already have heartburn cos it's not a quick fix like that! Also I have NO idea whether it's safe in pregnancy.

That will have to do for now or I'll be here all day!:ecomcity:

Have a good one!
Bec.

Briannabear
06-06-2006, 10:52 AM
Congrats Samantha Jane on your little girl, and Mumto2cheekyboys on your little boy!!!

I just went and visited a friend of mine who had her baby on Sunday morning. Her labour was quite amazing! Thought Id share it with you all!
She was 9 days overdue so she took some castor oil in the hope to bring it on. A few hours later she had the runs :rolleyes: . She started to get cramps, and after about 20 mins she realised that they were contractions! She waited at home a few hours then they rushed to hospital. Apparently she felt like pushing the whole way there!
When she got there the midwife asked her to give a urine sample (she was already in the birthing suite). As she was trying to do a wee the baby's head popped out! :eek: She managed to make it over towards the bed and then the body slipped out as she leaned over. She did it easy! :D Today she looks like nothing has happened! She was up walking around, she'd even baked a cake for us all!!
All up her labour was just under 4 hours - from first contraction to birth of little Brodie!
Lets hope we all have easy births like her - hey!! :yes:

fablis
06-06-2006, 12:02 PM
Sarah - yes, probably less than 15 weeks to go for me. I can't wait. Speaking of retail therapy, I went shopping with my Mum on the weekend and bought all of my nursery linen, etc. I went to Babies Galore and bought the Monterey range from Kidsline which is gorgeous. I got the cot sheets, pillow cases, quilts, thermal blankets, cot bumper and headboard, throw pillows, clothes hamper, napper stacker and the matching lamp and photo frames. It is all so gorgeous and I can't wait to buy my cots so that I can set it up. I was pleased to find out when paying that I get a 10% discount because I am having multiples. Good one!!

Sue, thanks and congratulations to you too!! Another little boy - that's wonderful.

Marion, thanks for the congrats! I don't think I'll have any trouble keeping the babies' gender a secret from my DH because all along he has thought that both babies are boys and he always refers to them as "the boys". He is going to be so happy when they are born. I have been having little dizzy spells as well, but not to the extent that I feel like I am going to fall down. Usually they happen when I am sitting at my desk and my head just goes all fuzzy wuzzy. It passes after a minute or so.

Ikis, I know it was very naughty of me to ring the clinic, but I simply could not wait any longer. I am so happy that I did find out because like you, I now feel even more close to my baby boys.

Sam, Congrats on your baby girl. Glad to hear she is nice and healthy!

Mum2twocheekyboys, Congrats - another little boy!! That's wonderful!

Lesley, glad to hear that you're starting to feel baby kick. It's so special isn't it?

Becbabe, isn't it exciting when your DH feels the baby move? My DH loves it but misses out a lot because he doesn't have the patience to sit with his hand on my tummy for any lengthy period (lazy bones that he is).

Hope everyone is having a great day.

lil pumpkin
06-06-2006, 02:26 PM
Hello All,

Nothing major to report here, all going well. Jack is kicking heaps at times and not at others. It is great when he actually lets someone else feel a kick too. Usually he plays hide and seek.

Congratulations to the additional boys and girls to the tally.:smiliedance:

Take Care.

brideofjabba
06-06-2006, 02:40 PM
Congrats on those who found out their babies gender!!!! totally exciting....though Lisa i seriously don't know how your going to keep that secret from your dh!!! lol

fablis
06-06-2006, 02:58 PM
Hey Andrea! Don't worry, DH will never know that I know. As I said he has always thought they're both boys and since our 19 week scan when we're certain that we saw little doodles on both babies, we have both been referring to the babies as "the boys". He has no clue that I phoned and confirmed what we sort of already knew.

All in all though, I don't think he would mind if I told him that I know, but I want to keep it a secret because I can't wait to see the look of pure joy on his face when they are born.

little t's mum
06-06-2006, 02:59 PM
HI All
Well I have been off line for ages now. We have moved and can't get broadband in new area at the moment so don't get on very often.

Great to hear everyone is doing well scans are going well. We had our 20 week scan a couple of weeks ago and all was well. After I had suffered through 20mins of a full bladder the lady told me I could go and empty my bladder and I hadn't needed to drink the 600mls they had told me to. Thanks for that. Although we didn't find out the sex we were both convinced after the scan that we were having a boy then a couple of nights ago I had a dream that we were having a girl and the sonographer had told us during the scan not knowing that we didn't want to know. So now I am back to having no idea.

Anyway I am going to go and get warmed up it is freezing here. I am hoping it is going to rain so we can fill up the bath for a long soak tonight. (we're on tank water).

Good luck to all those still to have scans and to those moving littlies into big peoples beds. One thing I found good to stop the early morning wake ups was to put a gate across their door. This way you can still hear them but they are trapped safely in their rooms to play.

hugs to all mums and babies
Little T's Mum

Ruth1010
06-06-2006, 04:51 PM
Hello Ladies,

CONGRATULATIONS on all the little boys and girls out there.

We had our scan last Friday and all seems well - check out my avatar - I am a VERY proud mum to be. :smiliedance: We were soooooo brave, the lady asked us twice if we wanted to know the sex and both times we said a hesitant no!!! Baby is measuring bigger than original EDD and we have now been moved forward to the 1st of October!!! DH was sooo funny in that he related the EDD straight back to the AFL GF and is now hoping that the baby doesn't come a day early - heaven forbid!!!!! I think it would be hilarious DH having to watch the GF in the birthing suite while I'm in labour! Would prob stopping him from passing out though.

We went to check out the hospital on Sunday too and that makes it all seem so much more real! I am so excited!

We also started the baby shopping this time we were back in Perth. We bought a pram, a baby chair and a second car! The guy at the car yard was great - I didn't want to buy the car or even show interest if I wasn't able to get my new pram in the boot. As the pram was on order (not available till end of July) the car salesman drove us to a Baby on a Budget to see if our exact pram fitted - he was great!!! So we walked away with a new car on order! Next trip - nursery gear, cot, drawers, change table - here we come!!!!!

Anyway I am back to the grind at work again. My boss is still concidering letting me work 6 day weeks as oppose to 13 day fortnights. Apparently I will find out this arvo! The thing that gets me is the phone doesn't even ring on a Sunday and the other offices we deal with all have a weekend - it is DEAD quiet!

Anyway better go. Take care all XXX

AnnaT
06-06-2006, 08:25 PM
Ruth! Great to see you. Been thinking about how your scan went! Fantastic to hear all is well and yay on gaining a few days! I hear ya on the AFL GF thing, my hubby mentioned the same thing not so long ago. I calmly told him I will endevour to labour on GF day just to be a pain lol He has since had words with bubs about coming before GF day so he can watch too lol

Becbabe
07-06-2006, 09:10 AM
That's so funny about the AFL thing. My brother got married on the Rugby World Cup grand final day and it nearly caused a family ruction!

Congratulations on your scan, Ruth! They are the best.

I can't wait to go baby shopping....two more weeks. I am also going to get some more maternity pants and a couple of shirts... I am running a "3 pant rotation" at the moment as nothing else fits me anymore... at least if I get a couple of longer tops, I can get some more wear out of my normal pants plus Belly Belt.

Briannabear, that's an amazing story. May we all have labours like that!! :D

Bec.

lesley
07-06-2006, 09:32 AM
hi all
how is everyone doing
well i think i need help i cant find a stroller i like or is high enough for me as i am fairly tall but t he handle has to be ajustable because dh is shorter than me so are my mum , mother inlaw and rest of our family who have already booked there time with bubba (dont really care with my inlaws but my mum is a diffrent story)
not nice i know. But can anyone please help me i dont know where else to look as long as its not $1000 i can get dh to agree with it so PLEASE help me as this is really the only big thing i get to buy this time i have everything else . then it just cloths ,blankets and other little things for me

well i better go now i have arvo shift and a 3 1/2 yr old to get ready for pre school

so take care and say hi to those bubbas for me please
:hugs: :wave: :hugs:

Ruth1010
07-06-2006, 12:22 PM
Anna - thats hillarious! Dh has also had words with the bub to ensure that if it does come early that its not just a day early. I am sure if we knew we were having a boy that DH would like them to share the first GF together on the couch though - how cute!!!

Becca - Wow what an amazing delivery story!!! So how much castor oil did she take - I might start stocking up? :laughing: And up and baking a cake a few days later - geez she makes it look all too easy! :fingerscrossed: we all have similar stories to tell. X

Got some good news today - my boss has agreed to let me have every second Sunday off until I finish up on the 31/8 - YAY :smiliedance: Now I will only be working a 60 hour week. Oh well including my next R & R I only have 10 more weeks of work left!!! I am sure I can fit a few sickies in between all that time. Oops did I say that???? Ha ha, work is the furthest thing from my mind. To be honest a lot of my day is spent on baby websites.

Becbabe
07-06-2006, 02:32 PM
I had too much Maccas for lunch and now I feel sick... why do i always think it's a good idea???

DP's birthday today and he has a day off... it was his request for lunch but now I'm regretting it!

(I'm sure I'll still be at home eating chocolate this afternoon though)

Isn't it great that you can blame it all on cravings :laughing:

SamanthaJane
07-06-2006, 02:46 PM
:laughing: Bec i had maccas last night... couldnt resist.... i always regret it, i feel a bit queasy after it, but i never learn... :rolleyes:

I too blame it on the pregnancy.... i love that excuse, u cant beat it:laughing:

brideofjabba
07-06-2006, 03:40 PM
I just ate 2 bowls of doritos, home made salsa and sour cream. yuuuuummmm now i'm full and yes, its almost 4pm and that was my lunch! lol At least the salsa was healthy:chef:

I weighed myself this morning and i've only gained 3kgs. YAY! At this same time, with my ds, i'd gained 5kgs. So i'm happy that i haven't gained as much this time round. YET!
I'm 21 wks tomorrow!!

sare
07-06-2006, 04:22 PM

Congratulations samantha on your little girl and sarah on your little boy. :smiliedance:

We had our scan yesterday and were told that we had a perfectly healthy baby, which was as all that we wanted to hear. I had a chocolate bar about half an hour before my scan and boy did it make the baby move around heaps, so much so that the sonographer had a hard time getting measurements and checking the blood flow:p We didn't find out the sex, but when she told us that she had seen what we were having, I desperately wanted to find out.

Becbabe - The baby and I are loving chocolate too (see we can justify it by saying that the baby enjoys it too;) ). I'm eating Jaffas right now and boy are they yum.

Girls, I have to say I'm with your husbands here...Eloise was due 2 days after the AFL grand final and there was no way I wanted to miss the GF by being in labour, especially if the Pies made the final (as it turns out 04 wasn't a good year for them). We were lucky she hung on to her due date.

Ruth - Congratulations on your reduction in work hours. 60 hrs a week is still a heap, I don't know how you do it.

Lesley - I have a bertini shuttle pram that has a adjustable handle. My husband is 6 ft tall and he has no problems with it. I love that it has 4 wheel steering too. Maybe check out a few of the pram reviews.

I hope everyone is well. :wave:

ikis84
07-06-2006, 05:16 PM
I love hearing about everyones scans.... its almost a shame that their wont be any more soon... how many ppl are left to have scans?

My gf has been dying to feel the baby kick, and last night she held her hand on my belly for about 30mins and bubs went crazy! I could see my belly moving around... very, very strange!

The only problem I would have with bubs coming at the same time as a major sporting event is that the doctors might be a little distracted.. hubby and I are not sport fans!

Becbabe, regarding the bikini wax, i didn't know it was ever a no-no... I have been getting them while pregnant, although it had been awhile :o

I am 24 weeks today (if i go by the sep 27th date)!

To date I have gained 5kgs, which I suppose is quite normal, but I know I have not been eating well and I have been feeling a little guilty about my eating habits of late... they are not tooo bad, but given that I am not doing any excersise, I know that I am eating too much (and bad things!), and that it will only lead to weight gain... trying not to just blame it on pregnancy, as I really don't want to get into my old bad eating habits. Trying to keep it all in perspective though!

Have any of you noticed that bubhub now has a live chat? Very cool!

Jeffy
07-06-2006, 07:41 PM
Hi everyone. I cannot believe how many boys there are! I met my colleague's 11 day old baby boy today and I am now feeling really excited about meeting my own little boy. I am 23 weeks on Saturday and have put on 3kg. I have been eating non-stop and can't seem to give up the dark chocolate. Stuff it - you only have an excuse for a while, may as well take advantage of it!

I have booked 15 December for our work Christmas party and have told the husband that he is taking that day off to care for bub and to pick me up! I'm really hanging out for some wine. Gee, only six months or so until then...:thumbsdown:

Ikis - I had my hair cut on Saturday - it was last done in November! It has been falling out in clumps, so the hairdresser cut some very mod layers into it for me. It's amazing how much better I feel for it.

M_jelly - I bought a small plastic box of Skittles the other day and they are so child-proof I couldn't open them, I had to ask my boss to. I hope you are OK.

Ruth1010 - That picture is absolutely gorgeous. It gives you a fair idea of what bub is going to look like! I'm very jealous!

Lesley - I am 5'10", hubby is 6'4" and we bought a Bertini Bidwell Shuttle. You can't reverse the handle to face bub but it is fully adjustable and the pram has pneumatic tyres and can lock or unlock all four wheels. I got it off Ebay for $400 brand new. Might be worth a look?

Anyway, feeling really good this week and eating like a horse. I even treated myself to some new make up and I can honestly say it makes a huge difference - I bought some cream blusher because people keep telling me I look pale and sick! It worked a treat, all day today people commented on how well I look. I hope everyone else is feeling good.

And my belly button is getting very close to becoming an outie.

Horseymum
08-06-2006, 09:44 AM
Hi October mums!!!!!

I have been meaning to introduce myself here for ages but keep running out of time!

I am expecting my second boy (hooray, a little brother!) on the 6 October, and I can't wait!!!!!

I have been getting a lot of comments about how hard it will be with 2 bubs under 2 (DS was born in May last year) but I am focussing only on the good and can't wait to meet my new little man.

My pregnancy has been great so far exept for some intense MS early in the first trimester and aggravating my Pubis Synthesis (sp?) a few weeks ago, but I am feeling great now. (apart from tiredness of course but that is just par for the course :sleeping: :rolleyes: )

Anyway, nice to be share the experience with you all

Karen

lesley
08-06-2006, 10:59 AM
hey all

well i think i have done it i found two strollers that i like one is the beema q and the other is a steelcraft three wheeler called swivelrite in cocoa it looks like the beema q just a little cheaper and has the same features i just have to go and see both of the but the only store close to me that sells the steelcraft is out of stock ((just my luck) so the lady said if i want it they have to order it in for me but thats all good they have it in another colour so i just want the hight factors b4 we order it .

We have decided that we are going to go away this weekend not to far my inlaws have a holiday house in umina so we are going to go there on saturday morning as my inlaws will be there from tonite till saturday morning so we will be back on monday nite so that should be ok i am not going to say relaxing because its the samething just in a diffrent place but i am still excited about it we have not told the kids yet keeping it a SUPRISE for now.

I also wanted to say thank you to jeffy and sare for your help with the stroller the one you both chose was very nice but i kind of wanted a three wheeler
my aim is to buy the three wheeler then i will feel inspired to walk instead of drive every where i mean the kids school is only about a 15min walk from here and the shops would be about 5mins but i still drive there and even work is only 5 mins and i still drive thats pritty sad and lazy for me seen as 4 years ago we only had one car and the kids and i walked every where
:ecomcity: :ecomcity:

well i better go sorry for the spelling
my bub is saying hi so take care all
and say hi to those bubbas for me

loulousmum
08-06-2006, 11:07 AM
I have been reading everybody's posts but have nothing exciting to reply with or say - but I was feeling a bit lazy not even saying hi! So - HI!:wave:

I'd forgotten this week that we have a public holiday this weekend!!! Fantastic! I have just ordered Lou's birthday invites from a gorgeous site called inviteme.com.au. They also do birth announcements etc. They seem expensive, but I worked out that by the time I made something special for myself and wrote or printed them all - it probably works out about the same. If you are checking them out, you'll see the ones I ordered, they are little ladybeetles!

Nothing else to say - not that I'm complaining - my life is normally hectic and out of control, so a few quiet days/weeks will be a welcome change.

Have a fantastic Thursday everyone!

hoping4another
08-06-2006, 11:52 AM

Just wanted to post a :bday: :bday: to firstbubs (jenny) for yesterday so now it a belated happy birthday.
I hope you had a wonderful day and got lots of presents big:hugs: :kiss: for yesterday i didn't forget.

Wendy

Claire R
08-06-2006, 02:28 PM
Congrats to all of the new boys and it's so exciting to hear about all your shopping sprees.

I'm so jealous of you girls who've only put on a little bit of weight...I've put on 7kG and I'm only at week 20/21!!

Does anyone know how it's meant to go? I know it's 11-14kg over the whole pg but what about by month or trimester? I've been reading that from now on you put on 0.5-1kg per week!

This probably sounds very vain (and there is definitely an element of that - caught site of myself from behind in the bathroom mirror this morning - aarh scary - white whale landing alert!!) but actually I have a more serious reason. I have a chronic problem with one of my hips and the more weight I put on the more pain I have, I am now in pain just walking around the kitchen preparing tea so I'm getting really freaked out about what's coming!!

Gumby
08-06-2006, 03:26 PM
claire- I havent gained weight yet and i am neally 24 weeks but i know it will come soon enough. I did put on 40kg with my first daughter and i swore never to do that to myself again because i ended up in excrusiating pain but 7kg in 20 + weeks sounds about right to me.
" Although a variety of factors may influence weight gain in pregnancy, a gain of 0.7-1.3 kg during the first 3 months and 2 kg per month during the 2nd and 3rd trimesters is considered average. " This is from the blackmores web site.

M~T~J~M
08-06-2006, 08:42 PM
Hello to all!! I had my Ob appoint today, and I was in and out in under 5 minutes...as usual! Anyway, he told me that my ultrasound results were great, but I have a low lying placenta and I have to have another scan at 32 weeks. I had this with DS #1 and it moved, so all was fine. I will just have to wait and see, but at this stage, I am not going to be too concerned. Anyone else have low placenta's?
Went shopping today (again!!) and put a few little things on lay buy. I don't usually lay buy, but hey, I don't need the stuff for a couple of months yet, so why not?? Kmart have 30% off newborn stuff this week, and they had some really cute things in there. I don't need any clothes for bubs, as we have plenty already, but it is still nice to have new stuff for each bubba.
I am quite tired today, I feel like I haven't stopped, so off to bed for me.
Hope all is good with everyone.

JuzP
08-06-2006, 09:34 PM
:wave: Hi there everyone - JuzP here

Haven't posted in a while as we were waiting until our 20 week scan, which we had on Tuesday. Didn't find out the sex but it was tempting. Funny all the stories about your babies moving around heaps, I did have some chocolate and a couple of drinks of water before we left. The nurse kept saying that my bladder wasn't full enough and it would make it very difficult to see what they needed to see (not sure what she expected me to do about it right there and then). Anyway, she was pretty negative all round but then the head consultant came in and he had a look and said everything was fine - only concern is the low lying placenta, so yes, I have that too. Nurse said it shouldn't be a problem, but I also have to have another scan at 32 weeks to make sure.

It seems it is becoming a little more real day by day as the size of the stomach grows and I can't wait, my dh is also very excited. We have started lay-by's on some of the stuff we need but because we have to move house in August I am hesitant to get too much cause then we have to move it all. Anyway, I just can't help myself.

I hope everyone has a great long weekend. Take care mummies and babies.

Ciao

suemp
09-06-2006, 11:34 AM
my best mate had a low lying placenta which moved by 32 weeks.
anyone having freaky baby dreams?
i dreamt last night i suddenly remembered that id brought the baby home yesterday and hadnt fed it yet so i went in to feed it which by now was starving. as i was feeding him i was walking around the bathroom and i dropped the baby landing it head first on the tiles. did not know whether to pretend i had done nothing or admit id stuffed up:eek: horrible dream!!!!!!

Briannabear
09-06-2006, 12:20 PM
Hi everyone!! Nothing much to say this week. Bubby is kicking heaps now, and I can finally feel them on the outside! Ive been getting annoying cramps and pains - will get them checked out if they get worse.

Sue - I havent had any freaky baby dreams, but both my mum and my friend did. When mum was pg with my youngest bro she dreamt that she gave birth, then the midwives put him up on her chest and he had an old mans face on a baby's body! She totally freaked! :eek:

Ruth1010
09-06-2006, 01:23 PM
:wave: Becca - I was reading in a Pregnancy Book (sorry can't remember the name) at home the other day that the 2nd trimester is the worst for cramps and pains in the abdomen. This has put my mind at ease a little as I have also been experiencing horrible pains and cramps in the stomach, I sometimes wish I had a bath to sit in to relax the pain with the warmth. They are not too nice at all ar they!!! Hope they ease up for you soon. X

loulousmum
09-06-2006, 02:01 PM
Don't worry about weight gain anyone - I think I must take the cake with 9kgs gained so far! I'm not too worried though - the size 12 maternity clothes are fitting just fine and people keep telling me that I only look like I've gained at the tummy and boobs area! :fingerscrossed:

Of course, that can't be true and I know I've put it on elsewhere - but as I've said here before - I lost the weight so quickly after LouLou was born and being breastfed that a couple of well-meaning friends actually asked me if I was tyring too hard to lose weight!!! My theory is that there's no point worrying anyway - you can make better food choices but you absolutely can't diet when pregnant - so get worrying about the things you can control!!!!:yes:

As for funny dreams - I'm either having really rude and raunchy ones or I'm having horrible ones about the type of nappy change that requires use of 25 wipes and an industrial water blaster!!!!:eek:

Flower159
09-06-2006, 03:32 PM

Hope you're all doing fine. Nothing new here to update - still dizzy and sick! This boy had better be a wee darling as I'm really suffering!! Haven't been out the house in 4 days and it's BORING! Never mind, I'll get hubby to take me out when he's off and he can catch me if I fall!! (how pathetic!)

I also have a low lying placenta, scan again at 34 weeks and they don't think it will be too much of a problem. :fingerscrossed:

And that's about it! Weather is freezing here in Perth, was saying to DH isn't it funny that a couple of months ago I was moaning about the heat and now I can't stop moaning about the cold - some people are just never happy!! (and just now that would be me!!)

Hope you are all doing fine. Marion.

maybe1more
10-06-2006, 11:24 AM
Good morning all!!! Thanks Wendy i had a great birthday, the big 28!!!!!

Weight gain, i would worry to much but here`s a website with so info on weight gain dueing http://paternityangel.com/Preg_info_zone/Weight/CalcWeight.htm But remember its just a guide.

Oh yeah ive been having very werid dreams, indeed but if i told anyone, ill probably be asigned to the nut house:laughing:

Ive been feeling my bub alot more lately, and whoo i think i have a soccer player on the hands:D

sare
11-06-2006, 01:55 PM
Happy belated birthday Jenny.

Not really much to report on here. The baby's moving heaps, but dh has only been able to feel it from the outside once. I had my first person ask if I was pregnant today...a bit surprising that it's taken so long, because I feel huge.

I just have to brag here...I think I have the best dd in the world (no offence to all you other mums, it's just my opinion ;) ). After all the worry about moving dd to her new bed and how we were going to do it, we decided just to bite the bullet and put her in. Well she loved it. She slept in it last night with no problems and has just gone down for her afternoon nap an hour or so ago. I know I shouldn't get too excited, because it's still early days and is all a bit of a novelty to her, but I'm so proud of her.

We're not doing anything exciting this long weekend. Did a bit of lay-bying yesterday - all for Eloise, as her stuff will go to the baby. Off to mum and dad's for dinner tonight and then the footy tomorrow(to hopefully see the Pies win). Oh and I finally hit the halfway mark tomorrow! :yelclap: I think I must be the last person to do so.

I hope everyone is doing well (and keeping warm in the cold snap...brrrr). Enjoy the rest of the long weekend.

Gumby
11-06-2006, 07:40 PM
Evaning ladies. Wow is has been quiet in here.

Hope everything is going ok for everyone. Not alot to report from my end. I have been getting alot of kicks from bubs and alot of :smiliedance: tonight after a quiet day.

I guess everyone has hit the halfway mark now which is great. I am booked in on my due date for an induction so i only have 15 weeks 6 days to go which is 111 days which makes it seem like ages away. Bit scary but a bit exciting as well. Thats if i make it to then. I didnt consider that...lol

Is everyone getting organised? I have everything i need but it is nowhere near organised.

Oh i have been naughty and me and DH told MIL that bub is coming mid OCT just so she doesnt come up til after he is born on the 1st :devil6: .
We really just want some personel time when bubby gets here and we couldnt seem to get it threw to her. Does it sound really mean? lol

Well i hope you are all having a good night.
Rian

suemp
11-06-2006, 08:38 PM
yeah it has been quiet..i guess heaps of us went away for the long weekend??? we went down to round mountain today to watch the jet sprint boats and its pretty noisy so bub was moving all day. i think he wanted to poke his head out for a sticky beak!!!
if you dont mind me asking RIAN how come you are booked in for an induction?
im the opposite to you (about the mil issue). my mum is flying up and was going to leave it to a few weeks after i had him but i convinced her to come sooner. i miss having mum around for special events:crying:

maybe1more
12-06-2006, 12:21 AM
Sare- well done to your little princess for sleeping in a "big bed" now with no problem, i must admit my son is 1 month of 3 and is still in his cot:eek: only because we live with the brother in-law and we dont have room for his bed, we are moving in two months thou so i hope my little boy takes to a big bed well like your daughter.

Rian- Naughty girl!!! Just kidding you do need time to get into some kind of routine when your bubba is born and time to adjust so i think its a really good idea to tell your mil to come mid october, you have to do whats right for you:yes:

Flower- it sure is getting cold here in perth, the mornings are freezing, and even so days it feels like it hasnt warmed up. If you still have alow lyeing placenta at 34 weeks does that mean you will be having a c-section? I wouldnt worry too much, hopefully all will be just fine.

Juzp- you avoided temptation by not finding out the sex, i wish i was that strong but i couldnt help myself:o You have a low liying placenta, like flower, i would worry too much my sister also has this (she`s due 4 weeks before me) and her doctor said most of the time it moves up when the baby grows.

Briannabear- ive been feeling my bub kick on the outside too, its such an amazing feeling, when bub kicks i try and get my df to feel it, but bub stops:laughing: Im sure he will feel it soon enought.

I hope you all had a great weekend, i had my df birthday, (ours are 2 days apart) ! Here comes another week!!!

loulousmum
12-06-2006, 12:00 PM
It has been quiet in here over the weekend!! We didn't go away or anything - but I have been in a nesting fever!!!!!:smiliedance:

During the course of the weekend I've made two trips to Ikea, done major groceries, had house guests and on top of that:

- Put together furniture (well, watched hubby put together furniture)
- Took down queen bed and put up cot
- Set up baby's room
- Moved change table etc. from Lou's room and set up her new furniture
- Pulled everything out of the linen cupboard, purged old stuff and folded everything else so the cupboard looks like a Family Circle picture!
- Emptied out bathroom cupboards, purged stuff I've had for years and rearranged stuff to be kept in cool ikea storage boxes etc.
- Made lasagne and butter chicken (for different evenings!)
- Hosted a big hot breakfast this morning
- Rearranged and cleaned out pantry

Of course I now feel like :sleeping:

But the house looks great - like we just moved in! And the kids rooms look like they could be in the ikea catalogue! I have some more tasks I'd like to tackle this afternoon, but right now, Lou and dh have just started napping on the couch together, so I'm escaping to the bedroom! I love long weekends!:ecomcity:

Gumby
12-06-2006, 12:39 PM
Hi.
The reason i am being induced on my due date is because i will be delivering in a small country town with not too much intervention. My last daughter was 9lb a week early and doc doesnt want me to need any intervention to get this one out so he has set a date so bubs doesnt get too big...lol

Ruth1010
12-06-2006, 05:00 PM
Sare - Just wanted to be a stirrer!!! GO THE DEES!!!! :smiliedance: XX

m_jelly
12-06-2006, 08:11 PM
All is going well here, I can really sympathise with the ladies experiencing cramps though. Had some horrid ones a couple nights ago, low down, right on my abdomen. They felt so painful I was considering waking up my partner and demanding he take me to the Dr. I could still feel baby moving around near my tummy button though, so was more attributing it to a build up of gas than a threat to baby (its the iced coffee, I shouldn't drink it, but I CRAVE it).

Fortunately whatever it was has passed :laughing: now and no embarrassing visits to Dr were required.

I'm so jealous of you loulousmum, getting so organised, magazine style too! I need to move house before baby comes so I really see no reason to do anything here. I just keep buying "stuff" and piling it in the corner, creating a cluttered mess I'm afraid to face in August when moving.

I saw my father for the first time since being pregnant last week, he was all set to rub my tummy and was really disappointed that I didn't have the textbook bump. I cant help it I'm carrying low and wide! I look like an egg, with legs. A waddly egg, with stumpy legs!

I have my next midwife appointment on the 23rd, and I'll be about due for the GD test. Does anyone know if the midwives can do this themselves, or will they try to send me along to some strange registrar for it?

ourfirstbubba
12-06-2006, 11:20 PM
hi girls

glad to hear that you are all well! I am going great, my little (I should say huge!) haemmorhoids have shrunk alot and I am taking my Metamucil religiously!

Bubba has been moving and kicking alot recently, especially when I am laying down or resting....my poor hubby has only felt the baby once..every time I say "quick, bubba is kicking", he races over and the little bubba stops...as soon as he goes again the bubba starts again!

Yesterday we went to an engagement party and as you do when you go to these things, you dance...well, I had all these women sayi ng "Mary, you need to sit down, baby is getting tired" huh???? I was not running a marathon and I felt fine...funny how some people worry!

Also, I heard so many times "You are having a boy" .. we have not found out, but I think its a little girl......

We haven't started our baby shopping yet but I know what I want and just need to go and buy it...my in laws (bless them, they are like my own parents) are buying us the three wheeler, my parents are buying us the car seat and high chair, my sister is buying us a monitor and is also giving us her cot and sheets and quilts etc and change table and lots of baby clothes......so we are very lucky...I know there is still alot of stuff that we have to buy but alot of the big things are covered.......

well, the socceroos are playing and I hope they win!

take care all

:smiliedance: :yelclap:

Briannabear
13-06-2006, 07:37 AM
(its the iced coffee, I shouldn't drink it, but I CRAVE it).
Oh my gosh!!! Ive been craving Ice Break Ice Coffee soooooo bad!! I know I shouldnt have it but I just cant help myself!

Hope everyones weekends went well! Loulousmum - sounds like you got lots done you lucky thing!! :D
My weekend was absolutely awful. Saturday I got a heap of packing done (we're moving house soon), but sunday morning I woke up at 2:00am spewing my guts up. I had a shocking vomiting wog. :crying: I was so sick I couldnt even get out of bed (except to throw up) for the entire day. I didnt eat for 2 days. I feel a bit better today - but not 100%.
Last night my DH came down with the same wog...poor thing. Silly bugga went to work anyway today. (we own a business so he doesnt really have a choice).
Brianna has been off colour all weekend, but thankfully she hasnt spewed yet. :fingerscrossed: She's had the runs though. Poor little princess.

So we're just a barrel of fun today! Yippee..........not!

Dont worry Ourfirstbubba - With my first that always seemed to happen! This time for some reason the kicks are stronger and DH can feel them easily!

ikis84
13-06-2006, 08:38 AM
Briannabear, sorry to hear about the sickness going through your family - hope you all have a speedy recovery! Some of those iced coffees arent too bad - they have coffee flavouring, not actual coffee with caffeine... but remember, two cups of coffee a day is OK...
...I still have to have my diet coke every now and then!

MJelly, I am having my next antenatal app. on the 22nd and the midwife wants me to get my GTT on the same day, however, they don't do it at my hospital, I have to go to a patholigist to get it done... I will have to get a good book to read for the hour long wait!

Bubs is moving around heaps - basically as soon as I lay down, she starts up. DH has never really had a problem with feeling kicks... at night when we are snuggling DH can feel the baby kick his stomach lol. I can always give the belly a bit of a prod and baby wake up. It is so strange seeing my belly move around though - it reminds me of the alien movie - very strange, but I love it :D

Loulous mum, sounds like you had a very productive weekend! Wow... that makes me want to get into cleaning mode... only its sooo cold brrrrr... I think when I have finished this post I will write a to do list and get stuck into it! (I don't know why, but I always have to have a to do list lol!)

We bought a new lounge on the weekend... it gets delivered friday - cant wait to rearrange everything (well, direct DH to rearrange everything ehehe) Have to get the carpet steam cleaned too... can anyone recommend a good, affordable company?

lesley
13-06-2006, 09:19 AM
hey all
i just wanted to drop in and see how everyone spent there long weekends we went to umina and froze sat and sun but because we were comming home yesterday it was lovely (well in the sun antway) but we enjoyed it .
speak to you all soon
take care :)

Briannabear
13-06-2006, 10:22 AM
We bought a new lounge on the weekend... it gets delivered friday - cant wait to rearrange everything (well, direct DH to rearrange everything ehehe) Have to get the carpet steam cleaned too... can anyone recommend a good, affordable company?
Oooh yay! Our new lounge is being delivered on friday too! I cant wait!!

Flower159
13-06-2006, 10:39 AM

It was quiet here over the weekend - hope you all had fun out and about.

Firstbub - yes, if the placenta's still low I need to have a caeser. Not really what I want, but we'll see. Doc seemed to think it would move up OK, so here's hoping.

Briannabear that's horrible - poor you being ill and then having to look after a house full of ill people. Hope it's all passed now.

and Ourfirstbubba - Congrats on the shrinkage! I had haemmorhoids after DD #2 and I can still remember, 7 years later! Not a pleasent experience at all!

I'm doing fine. Still sick and dizzy, think that's me for the long haul. Sickness is nothing compared to what it was, so I almost feel quite cheeky moaning about it, but every morning, without fail, I'm in the loo. Ah well.

Bubs is kicking non-stop, but it's not interrupting my sleep, so long may that last! I had a dream the other night that my mum died - it was horrible and so real. Pregnancy dreams are horrible!

We built the pram last night to make sure all the bits were there and we were happy with it and I just sat staring at it thinking to myself 'there's going to be someone in that soon' - it's still freaking me out a bit!! You'd think that at 22 weeks I'd have come to terms with the new person coming, but I'm still surprised! Newver mind, it'll be real soon enough!

Take care. Marion.x

Becbabe
13-06-2006, 11:17 AM

Well the big 30th birthday bash went off almost without a hitch... only bad part was that DP, his brother and two mates went out on the town on Friday night (party was on Sat) and didn't come home til 4.30am! And then they were incredibly noisy as only boisterous drunks can be. So I got up at 7.30 on saturday and wanted to call the whole thing off as I had already been awake for 3 hours and was so tired and cranky!! :mad: But as the day wore on my excitement overcame the crankies, and in the end I was only sorry that my tiredness drove me into bed at 11.30pm... it went so fast and it was soooo great to see my best buds, who had travelled 4 and 5 hours to see me!:)

I slept 11 hours last night, felt like I had a bit to catch up on!

So now that's out of the way, next weekend we are doing the trip round the rellies to pick up all the hand me downs. Well the ones that will fit in the car anyway. I am really exicted about beginning to pick up the things that we need. Once we've catalogued all the freebies, it's off to the shops to top up! Yay!

m_jelly, aren't the cramps the worst! And its like there is NO room for wind in there anymore, if you don't pass it when you need to (regardless of situation and company, tee hee), it really hurts you later! Mind you, my house full of hungover men yesterday were actually quite impressed...boys! :laughing:

Still loving the kicks, now instead of a poke in a particular spot, it's like I can feel her moving her whole body when she kicks... it's so nice. But the kicks in the bladder region can sure make me jump!

Briannabear, hope your family recover soon, those things are so awful!

The low lying placenta thing - it's weird to think of it moving... I had a mental image of it creeping up the womb like a version of "the blob"! :laughing:

Bec.

~Kimba~
13-06-2006, 12:38 PM
Hi All!

I went to post a long reply the other day and lost it and couldnt' be bothered re-typing the whole thing :no:

Glad to hear that everyone is moslty doing well, with lots of kicks (don't you love it?) although Marion I'm sorry you're still feeling cruddy, and Briannabear I'm sorry your poor family has been sick, hope you feel better soon!

My whole weekend was a total NESTING FEST, my goodness, I loved it! My Dad came to stay for the long weekend and brought all his tools and stuff with him, we had a list of things we wanted to do around the house, and got almost all of it done, it was great! I feel so SATISFIED now :laughing:

We also braved Babyco, IKEA and Bunnings, not once, but twice :eek: (no mean feat on a cold, rainy long weekend with clearance sales on - sooooo many people!)

This is what we got done (well actually DH and my Dad got most of the heavy work done, I mostly supervised and cleaned and shopped, and made hot drinks and kept them fed, heh) -

Completely re-tiled the kitchen floor (not an easy task!)
Took down the old curtains in our room and the baby's room
Installed venetian blinds in our bedroom, the baby's room, and the laundry
Put up pretty, sheer curtains in the bedroom and baby's room
Hung 4 pictures and a tribal mask on the wall
Put up hook racks to hang jackets/ hats near the front door
Put up shelves in the kitchen
Re-mounted the microwave in a wall cabinet
Installed a wall-mounted spice rack in the kitchen
Put up 3 shelves in the bedroom
Put up a towel rail in the bathroom
Fixed the toilet roll holder
Fixed the bathroom light fitting
Re-organised the laundry
Bought a carseat on sale (yay!)
Bought some more baby paraphernalia (wash cloths, bibs, bunny rugs etc)
Bought and assembled a change table
Bought wall decorations for the baby's room
Bought new light fittings
Cleaned up the balcony & pulled dead plants from pots (brown thumb)
Cleared out and gave away an old bookcase and chest of drawers
And the usual cleaning, vacuuming, washing etc.

Now I'm itching to get a few more things done, I still have a long list - bring on next weekend! :smiliedance:

~Kimba~
13-06-2006, 12:40 PM
The low lying placenta thing - it's weird to think of it moving... I had a mental image of it creeping up the womb like a version of "the blob"! :laughing:

I know!!!! That image is hilarious - I'm laughing here at work, people are looking at me funny! :laughing:

loulousmum
13-06-2006, 01:37 PM
Kimbaleo - I'm glad to hear that there is someone else out there who has as much energy to spare as I do!! Congrats on all that progress!

People have asked me what I will do when my leave starts if everything is already done first - my answer - relax, see movies, get a pedicure, haircut etc. and spend a lot of special time with LouLou to prepare for baby's arrival! I'm already looking forward to it - 11 weeks until maternity leave starts - BUT only two weeks until my two week school holidays start!!!

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

~Kimba~
13-06-2006, 02:19 PM
Loulou'smum I think I'm just trying to make up for the first few months when all I could do was drag myself to work (barely), sleep, and lay on the couch! :laughing: but it does feel great to know that almost everything is done now.

At least I know that when I'm too big to move comfortably, I won't have to do anything if I don't feel like it! Hello, couch and daytime TV :D

And I'll be doing exactly the same as you in my last month before the baby comes - relaxing, pampering myself and spending some time with my family, friends, and DH before bubs takes over my world!

12 weeks of work to go for me :yelclap:

Sometimes it seems really unbelievable how fast time is flying! :smiliedance:

maybe1more
13-06-2006, 04:00 PM
Kimbaloo- wow girl your making me tried just thinking of the stuff you have done!!!

Just wondering if anyone had there glucose test done???? I had finger prick test done and my levels were 7.3 and they are supose to be at 5 or below (must be all the chocolate iev been eating:o ) due to my high levels i have to drink what they called "load" and have a blood test before the wait a hour and have another blood test then wait ANOTHER hour and have another, if my levels are high in my boot test after this is means i have gestational diabetes, has anyone else been thru this????

Bec- sorry to hear the family is sick, wishing a speedy recovery to all!!!

Loulous mum- you sound so very organised, great stuff!!! I bet you cant wait untill your maternity level, its it funny when peolpe ask what your going to get up to,Do they think your going to dash overseas for a few weeks:laughing:

Becbabe- im glad all went well for the big 30th bash, apart for you being woken up, i hate that especially when im in a deep sleep Grrrrr!!!

Ikis- Do you get may fliers in the mail about carpet cleaning??? If you get a community paper i would start looking in there as it will be more local and hopefully cheaper, it might be worth doing a ring around (even if you have to get out the yellow pages) and compare costs. I would recommend the chem dry carpet cleaner that lets you walk on your carpet 1 hour after they are done, just make sure the products they used arent going to be harmfull to you, just ask them first to be sure, good luck:D

brideofjabba
13-06-2006, 05:36 PM
Hi girls. Glad to see almost eveyrone is doing ok. Marion, i hope you feel better soon. that totally sucks.

Speaking of lounges. I own my sister $200. I am buying hers. She is buying a new one when they move into their new house next month. Its a 3 seater and 2 recliners!! Its in really good condtion and she had it cleaned before going into storage(they are living with the ILs at the moment) I am excited to get it. We currently have one of those lame futtons from The Warehouse...its a disgusting yellow colour and the mattress is flat. lol

Yesterday we also ordered a new bed!!!! First new bed EVER! We currently have a double bed...quite squashy when my dh is like 6'1 and i have a belly the size of a small country. Plus ds makes frequent night time trips to our bed. So, because of my increasing discomfort we went and bought a new one. QUEEN size, nice big wooden thing. New mattress - one with the pillow layer on the top(not sure what they are really called, lol) and since it was a bedding package we got pillows and doona and sheets and mattress protector as well. For about $1700. We were going to wait until we got the baby bonus to buy it but my hips have been killing me, plus the room issue so we decided to put it on the credit card:rolleyes:
Not the best solution but it will be ok for now. Lucky for tax time soon! lol

I am having my glucose test towards the end of next month. The baby has been kicking heaps. Last night i'm sure he was doing some sort of aerobics move. lol
We have 2 names on our list now...only 2 but its a start!
Nicholas and Issac. What do you think?? I'm kinda really liking Nicholas. But that may change! lol

Have a great night everyone!

Gumby
13-06-2006, 06:01 PM
Hi all. I have my glucose test mid next month @ 28 weeks. Plus I have my 28 week injection because i am rhesus negative blood type. Lucky I have gotten over my fear of needles because i get tested once a month of anti-bodies in my blood.

Hope everyone is feeling good I know I am (apart from bubs kicking me in the (.) (.)'s as we speak) lol

Bit tired to do personals atm but I got weighed today and have put on 3.5 kgs so not happy and I have to exercise more. I hadnt put on any weight up until 2 weeks ago so I am scared what my doc will say...lol

Well take care all
Rian

suemp
13-06-2006, 06:13 PM
put on 9 kilos so far. not too worried. at 6 foot 3 i can kinda hide it abit easier..well thats wat i tell myself any way:D
hope you feeling better becca
rian.. bugger about the needles and the induction.
went to hospital for antenatal visit today. saw a lovely ob who sat talking to me for over half an hour. she insists i stay at the hospital. must of just been an informed trainee last time telling me to go thru share care.
i recieved a brochure on vbac and in it is a list of reasons NOT to have a vbac. out of about ten i ticked 5 so looks like i will stick with my decision to have a caeser.
the ob said i could have my tubes tied during the c/s. although i am under 30 i will have to convince the head of ob to do it. as i am epileptic drugs they make the pill
less effective and my only option for me is permenant, so it a big decision to make. also going public it wont cost anything:smiliedance:
told today by the measurements of my scan jnr is a big boy. my son was "apparently big" but came out only weighing 7 pound 9 but was 60 cm long. so he was long and skinny. being tall myself its to be expected.
:wave: bye for now

AnnaT
13-06-2006, 07:15 PM
Short hello, Im knackered and hungry.

Glad to hear everyone is doing well, except for the colds going around of which I am a sufferer :gloomy:
Apart from feeling sick, these braxton hicks are really starting to tick me off, they DO NOT feel nice at all. Plus they make me need to pee :rolleyes: Bub is still kicking up a storm and the tum is growing ever bigger. We have the nursery just about finished so check out the new piccies on my webpage :)

Check back in later when Im fed and happy :)

Claire R
13-06-2006, 07:43 PM
Hello everyone and hope you had a good long weekend. I went to Brisbane to visit family and friends. My mum is having palliative care for cancer which takes the gloss off the pregnancy a bit but I just try and think it is the circle of life and hopefully it will make her happy to see little bubby before her time comes. It was great to see all my girlfriends...I am nearly the last to be a mum so I felt almost like I finally have admission into the club...not that they ever tried to make me feel left out but of course you can't really share that stuff until you've been there yourself!

Managed to shop up a storm at Indooroopilly...Damn that is one fine shopping centre. And great to have temperatures above 10! It was really really hard to get back on the plane to Launceston let me tell you. It is so cold here that DH and I eat our breakfast with beanies and scarves on despite having the heaters on full bore. Yikes! Lucky bubby is safely tucked away in his little warm nest.

Sorry to hear about those of you with viruses, sore tums etc...I have picked one up on the plane I think....hopefully just a couple of days of misery.

What size baby clothes are you buying? In the Choice book it says get 00 but they look so huge!! I guess you don't really know until it's born? xxx Claire R

suemp
14-06-2006, 07:59 AM
hi just wanted to be post 100!!!!
sorry to hear about your mum claire R. i have worked in pallative care and can only imagine wat you are going thru.
dont envy you about weather in launceston. here i am whinging about the weather on the gold coast!!!!
as for baby clothes you will find 0000 should fit bub for a couple of weeks but it depends on the make. some are huge and some not so much. 00 wont fit a newborn for ages!!!

lesley
14-06-2006, 08:23 AM
hey all
all is good here i have 8 weeks left of work and i cant wait :smiliedance:
and my next appointment tomorrow so i better remember to go my brain is just not working .
Dose anyone else get like a stich in there side when they are walking at work/ home i have been getting it for a while now and am going to ask tomorrow but dont think it is too bad baby is still moving around a little she must moove more when i am a sleep because its not much during the day.
Well i really dont have much more to say toady so enjoy your day :wave:

take care

maybe1more
14-06-2006, 11:40 AM
Claire- im so sorry to hear about your mum, it must be really hard for you to go thru, i hope the treatments helps:hugs:
When i had my son weighting 7 pound 12 oz, i had 0000 clothes to put him in to leave the hospital and it was too big, it covered his hands and swamped his feet, so i brought a few 00000 size outfits for leaving hospital and for the first couple of weeks.

AnnaT- cant wait for your nursary webpage to be done, its just so exciting, it makes you want your bub now so you can start using it all and see your darling bub.

I hope everyone with colds will be better soon, there`s nothing wrost then being pregnant and feeling run down with the flu.

brideofjabba
14-06-2006, 11:46 AM
Claire - Sorry to hear about your mum. My dad passed away March last year from cancer. The Pallitive care room was very depressing.
My ds was 9lbs and wore 0000 when he was born. 00 would have been HUGE on him. lol

Lesley - i get stitches easily too. Not pleasant.

loulousmum
14-06-2006, 11:52 AM
I agree that 00 is way too big! 0000 should fit most newborns I reckon - some will wear that size for a month, others for only a few days!!!! My friends just had a baby and he is a big boy! They have realised that they have far too many 0000 clothes. So my advice is to leave tags on everything and take them off only as you need them, that way you can change things over if the sizes aren't right!

I know this will scare those who haven't started getting organised yet, but I even have a drawer of things in the nursery stacked in order of what my hubby needs to take tags off and wash to bring to me in the hospital once we know if our boy is big or small! Call me obsessive - but I like the idea of not stressing down the track! And even though most hospitals provide clothes for babys, I wanted LouLou to have her own nice clothes and bunny rugs and I want the same thing this time around - it just feels nicer and more personal!

Anyway, I really should be working and not posting but the network was down at morning tea when I wanted to post!:ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:

AnnaT
14-06-2006, 12:16 PM
Sorry to hear about your Mum Claire :hugs:

As for the clothes issues, I have about 5 or 6 rompers in 0000, everything else is in 000 or larger (more 000 than anything). I didnt want to buy too much 0000 stuff as more times than not they outgrow them very quickly (plus its the first size people buy as pressies). So if his 000 are a tiny bit big for a few weeks well he'll manage lol

sare
14-06-2006, 12:16 PM
Hi everyone, I hope everyone is doing ok and those that have been sick are feeling better.

Still nothing new to report on the baby...it's moving heaps, but it's still mainly little flutters. I have an anterior placenta again so not likely to feel huge movements.

Claire - sorry to hear about your mum. I loved Launceston when we visited there last year. In fact I can't wait to go back to Tassie to see more, although dh has insisted that we go in summer or autumn next time as it was freezing in July.

I haven't bought much at all for this baby and the only item of clothing that I have bought for this bub is a blue bonds growth suit in case we have a boy this time around, but with dd we put her straight into the 000 bond suits (the midwife said that the 0000 would be a little too snug on her) . She weighed 3690g (8lb2oz) and was 51cm long, but it really will depend on what clothes you buy. For what it's worth, I have found that bonds and cotton on kids are on the small side, target's seem to be on the large side, k-mart and pumpkin patch are what I tend to go by as the 'norm' for Eloise. Hope that helps.

Speaking of Eloise she's still doing great in her new bed. No early wake up calls yet :fingerscrossed: .

Rian - Can I ask why you have to go for monthly blood tests to check your antibodies? I'm rh -ive too and only had to have the 2 anti-d shots during the pregnancy last time and a blood test to check my antibodies after dd was born. It's funny how OBs do everything differently. I have a girlfriend who had to give a urine sample at every OB visit and another whose OB used to check her fingers and ankles for swelling...mine doesn't do anything like that and he doesn't check weight either, which I'm grateful for!

Anna - I checked out your nursery on your webpage. It looks great and little Jett certainly has a great wardrobe already. :thumbsup:

Jenny - That's the glucose test I had with dd. I'm presuming I had to have that one instead of the 1hr one as my dad has type 2 diabetes. I was fine though. It's not that bad, just take a good book along for the wait.

Loulousmum - Gosh you're so organised. I wish some of it would rub off on me. I know that I'm going to pack 3 bags for the baby, but that's as far as I have gone in organising things. We will take one in for the delivery, a girls bag with some pink things and a boys bag with some blue things (as we're having a surprise). Mum will bring one of the 'coloured' bags to the hospital when she brings Eloise in to meet her little brother or sister for the first time. I know it sounds hugely stereotypical, but I hated the fact that Eloise didn't have any pink clothes or blankets at the hospital, so I want to be a little more prepared this time around.

Gosh, I've blabbed on this time. Take care :wave:

Gumby
14-06-2006, 12:45 PM
SARE- I have my blood tested monthly just to check that my anti-bodies level doesnt increase because then it becomes a prob for bubs.
I have my b/p, urine, weight, fundal height and bubs heart beat checked at every visit. It was the same for my 2 daughters as well and I thought was the norm.
I think they like to check your urine because of the chance of a undiagnosed UTI or other nastys in your body...

Rian

Ruth1010
14-06-2006, 01:38 PM

Claire - So sorry to hear about your mum. Lots of hugs being sent your way :hugs:

Anna - Hope you get over that cold of yours. Re: Braxton Hicks Contractions, when did these start and what do they feel like? I didn't think you got them till the 7th 8th month but that shows how green I am with the whole pregnancy. Oh and your website is great! When on earth do you get the time to keep it so updated.

I hope everyone else is keeping well. I am so jealous hearing all these nursery stories. They all sound fab! I can't wait till we can get into our place and start setting up. On that note we evicted our tennant and she finally moved out as of Monday. I am so looking forward to being in our own place next time we are on R & R. I think we will be non stop buying for the baby next time as we have only a pram and car seat so far - exciting stuff though!

I have noticed that a few of you have been talking about Glucose Testing. My Ob has not even mentioned any of this to me. Is it something we all need doing? What week? Sorry I am very green. :confused:

Not much else to tell. Baby kicking heaps. In fact this morning when I rolled over for my morning cuddle DH was feeling kicks against his stomach and said "how on earth do you sleep with all that going on in there?"

Anyway Bye for now :wave:

jessgray
14-06-2006, 03:42 PM
hi guys
long time no see lol havent had net for a little while. i had my u/s on the 30th may and the guy who did it is 90%sure #2 is a boy :)
so yeah nothing much exciting here lol

Briannabear
14-06-2006, 04:07 PM
What size baby clothes are you buying? In the Choice book it says get 00 but they look so huge!! I guess you don't really know until it's born? xxx Claire R
My DD didnt fit in 00 clothes until she was about 6 or 7 months old!! She was in 5 0's when she was born.
You're best to buy some 0000 clothes and 000 clothes to start with.

brideofjabba
14-06-2006, 04:19 PM
Ruth - when i was pregnant with #1ds i didn't have a glucose test even though diabetes does run in my family. My dr just did a finger prick test if my urine showed a bit of sugar.
This time at my 20wk appointment at the antenatal clinic the OB wrote me out a path form to have my rubella immunity checked(my dr forgot it on the initial blood tests), glucose test and a full blood count. I am having that done at 28 wks. 28 wks is the normal time to have it done. Just ask your dr about it at your next check up.
As for Braxton Hicks - I think you can get them earlier for your second and subsequent pregnancies but i think generally they don't start until the 3rd trimester. With #1 i didn't get them until my 9th month. They never hurt though, just a tightening of my tummy. Everyone is different though :)

jessgray
14-06-2006, 04:42 PM
My DD didnt fit in 00 clothes until she was about 6 or 7 months old!! She was in 5 0's when she was born.
You're best to buy some 0000 clothes and 000 clothes to start with.

Cody wore 000 for about 3 weeks lol he was a big bubba. he got alot more wear out of his 00's though :) he was 8 pound 15 when he was born lol i would say buy 000's leave the tags on and if bub is samll get some clothes exchanged for 0000 or 00 if bub is big :)

ikis84
14-06-2006, 06:20 PM
Congratulations on the boy jessiegray - boys really are outnumbering girls now - maybe all of the surprises are girls?

I think I have been having Braxton-Hicks, though I am not entirely sure :o My belly will go really hard for about 40-60 secs, and then back to normal again... this only happens a couple of times a day... I don't know if that's what they are, but from what I have read, it sounds like it. I have heard that they happen throughout the pregnancy, but are not strong enough to feel until later on, but as with everything, it is different for everyone!!

As I said earlier, I am having my GTT at 26 weeks (that's next week :eek: ) 25 weeks today! I was reading today that 50% of babies born at 25 weeks gestation survive with little or no long term side effects... I don't know how true this is, and I definately don't want to go into pre-term labour, but it is reassuring to know that if bubs came now, there would at least be a decent chance of her surviving IYKWIM...

So exciting.... not many more months to go, ladies! Although you are all making me nervous with how organised you are!! So far I have a pram, carseat x 2, cot, change table/cupboard (but it needs to be sanded back and stained!) a portacot and a few bits of clothing. Nothing is organised though, and the baby's room looks like a bomb hit it... it is a bit of a dumping ground at the moment!!

Have a good one ladies!

AnnaT
14-06-2006, 06:56 PM
Sare - thanks for the compliments about Jetts nursery, Ive put alot of effort into it (and into buying his clothes lol) Im determined my son will be a stud muffin from the start and NOT a dag like his dad :laughing:

Ruth - Hmm well my BH xtions started about 24wks and I get 3 a day on average. My tummy gets tight and I get the urge to pee even though I dont need to go, its like a heavy pressure lasting about 30-40 secs. You can get them anytime from 2nd tri onwards really and it varies from person to person.
As for my website well its the only way to get my interstate family and friends off my back about sending pics and/or flying over so they can see me in all my waddling preggo glory :rolleyes: Also means I dont have to speak to my Mum as often as normal as she can just check my webpage for updates. Only reason Im so on top of it!

Im was supposed to have my GTT by 26wks but my OB has decided even though I am more prone to have GD he will do it when Im 28wks like normal. So I guess that will be after my next appointment on 29th June. I fully expect to be told I have it, both my Mum and Nan are diabetics and both had GD during pregnancy.

maybe1more
14-06-2006, 09:08 PM
Ruth- the GGT test "glucose test" is usely done around the 26 weeks mark, i had my finger prick test done on monday (20 weeks 6 day) im not sure why i had it done early as i was never tested for this with my first baby, but now its routine for every pregnacy. My 3 hour test is tomorrow:o and i cant say im looking foward to it, if all is well i still have to have the finger prick test at 26 weeks aswell. Im not relly sure what they do it my test is still high:confused:

Ive gotten my baby a some new cupboard and ive put heaps off clothes in them, the top draw i have size 00000 and 0000, the second draw i have 000 and 00 and the bottom draw i have size 0 and 1! I cant help my self!!! Ebay doesnt help im a junkie:laughing: Ive also bought a breast feeding pillow, which look really comfy. Im pretty much all ready, as i already had the cot and bassinette from my son, i just brought new sheets and mattresses for both of them and a new car seat, i even pick the outfit for my bub to come home it!!! Now all i need is the baby:thumbsup:

maybe1more
14-06-2006, 09:15 PM
Anna- your babys website is awesome, how beautiful, Jett going to be one lucky little boy, and much loved!!! Great photos too! :thumbsup:

AnnaT
14-06-2006, 10:07 PM
Thanks Jenny, you almost made me cry saying that :laughing: :thumbsup:
Yes I cant believe how much I love him already and how much I cannot wait to have him out and be his mum. It outshines all the nerves and reservations Ive had. Probably because I never thought I'd get to this stage, esp with the m/c only 3wks before we conceived and all.

Not that any of your babies are any less loved or wanted! Dont want anyone to think I think Im better or something :o

Briannabear
15-06-2006, 06:22 AM
Anna you have every right to be excited and proud!! :yes:

ikis84
15-06-2006, 10:46 AM
Heheh... yes anna, Jett's nursery is amazing... and boy oh boy, what a wardrobe lol!!!

Ditto with Briannabear... be excited and proud - I don't think anyone would think you thought you were better then them because you are excited about being a mum... If they did, they have issues!

brideofjabba
15-06-2006, 11:38 AM
Anna your making me feel horribly guilty. lol i have nothing organised for the new baby. NOTHING!! Your web page is awesome! But you have inspired me today once my ds has his nap i'm going to start cleaning up the spare room aka the nursery. Theres nothing like guilt to get me motivated. LOL

Hope everyone is having a great day!

loulousmum
15-06-2006, 02:09 PM
For any of you girls who can't survive winter without your opaque tights - I have great news!!! I have just got my new maternity opaques in the mail and they are fantastic! - Skirts are back at my house!!!:smiliedance:

I got them on the Fertile Mind website and they were only about $16. I have also ordered a pair of maternity pj's (mainly for third trimester and in hospital) on the Expecting Nights website.

:confused: Question: have any of you tried the "Belly Bra"? They look really comfy but at $80 a go I want to be sure. Particularly if you know if the sizing is big or small....there is no retail outlet near my house, so I'd be buying on-line!

Just did our two-hour refresher course at the hospital...it is suddenly feeling like it won't be long at all until this baby arrives!!!!:eek:

brideofjabba
15-06-2006, 04:09 PM
Ohhhh i am so missing my opaque tights!!!!! When i lived in Canberra i wore them all the time! Here in Toowoomba it isn't as cold but i still miss them, i love wearing skirts, i find them so much more compfy during pregnancy. I might have to make a purchase;) Thanks for that!
Haven't tried a Belly Bra, i was thinking about that as well, but don't want to fork out the money for nothing.

lesley
15-06-2006, 08:29 PM
hey all
I just wanted to pop in and hi and let you all know i had my midwifes appointment today all is fine i hav put on 1750g bp was 130/60 and fundal hight is 25.5 cm heart beat is 130bpm i also got my form for the glucose test to be done by next visit i only have one more monthly visit then i am on fortnightly visits it just seems to be flying for me i have 7w1d till i finish work and am 24w3d now .
i feel great except the slight cramps witch they told me today was liggament streching and normal

well take care all
lesley :ecomcity:

ikis84
16-06-2006, 07:46 AM
Morning all,

Hope you are all feeling well...

I have heard of the belly bra and was also wondering what it was like... perhaps you should try posting in the product recommendations section? You might get more responses that way.

I really need to update my avatar, cause my belly is getting much bigger *rubs belly* I love it :D

So excited - my new lounge comes today :smiliedance:

Well, I am off to put my joggers on - I so need to excercise! (it has been a very, very long time lol!) I am going to brave the cold and go for a walk! Although, what I would really like to do is go for a swim in a heated pool! That would be bliss!

TTFN

Becbabe
16-06-2006, 08:59 AM
Hey all you girls & babies,

Brideofjabba I'm with you, not a thing organised yet, in fact someone has kind of "moved in" to the spare room.... DP's mate lost his license a couple of weeks ago, & he's staying at our place when he's not rostered on for work (works on the railway). He's a nice bloke and it's fine having him around, but I feel a bit intruded on as this is kind of a really special time just for me and DP!

I'm going to feel bad shifting him out into the sun room (it's freezing out there! my hands go numb at the keyboard!) but too bad, cos I want to set up a little sanctum for our baby girl! So excited about gathering all the stuff for her next weekend. Of course we'll have to take the boy clothes too... otherwise our secret will be out.

I'm lucky with the newborn sizings thing, my sister's first baby was only in 000's for a couple of weeks (big girl!) so there are heaps of stuff she was given & never wore. All those cute little pink pieces as her next baby was a boy it stayed in the packaging!

Lesley good to hear everything is going well. I really look forward to those appointments just to hear that! I'm off to my GP on Friday for a checkup, my OB said I was healthy enough to not come back to him for 8 weeks! So I get my GD, antibodies and red blood cell count tests done in another couple of weeks, then off to him for my rhesus negative injection and another check up.

I feel like I've gotten heaps bigger in the last week... none of my snuggly winter coats will do up around me anymore, even the big ones!

Have a good day, rub your bellies for me!
Bec.

~Kimba~
16-06-2006, 09:37 AM
Hello Mums and Bubs!

Have been reading the 'Due in June' threads, it's so exciting to hear of their bubs arriving. That will be us in a few short months! Isn't time flying.

My belly is getting bigger by the day it seems. Bec I'm the same as you - I have to go shopping this weekend to try and find some jackets that will fit around my bump! because walking to the train station in the morning is getting colder and colder, I get like a 'stitch' feeling under my bump and into my groin when I walk, and I'm sure the cold makes it worse.

It's interesting to read about your visits to obs/ midwives because they all seem to have such a different approach. My doc is a Shared Care GP and all that she checks at my visits is my BP, my weight, the fundal height (although she doesn't measure it in cm's), and listens for the