View Full Version : Bumbo?

Queen
11-02-2009, 14:01
When DD was little, I am not sure if they were not out or I just did not know about them.

Anyhoo, I have seen them, but I am wondering what people think?
They are quite expensive, and wondering if they are worth it?
Thoughts please?

Thanks Rowie:hugs:

Mrs Potts
11-02-2009, 14:18
I considered one for DD1 but I'm so glad I didn't. She started rolling around at 4 months - was never still. She would have hated being stuck sitting still.

But DD2 is now constantly doing crunches because she wants to be upright, but isn't rolling yet. So we went and bought one today. I really hope she doesn't start moving any time soon!;)

Either way, from what I've seen they're easy to sell 2nd hand when you're done with it.

mini munchkin
11-02-2009, 15:04
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my bumbo!!

We were given one and DD can still use it (it's tight for her, and she is a slight little thing at 2.5)

Great for taking to restaurants as a boost seat/ high chair just AWESOME!!

And yes, the resell is good! If you can afford it - get one! :D

Queen
11-02-2009, 16:52
Well, I might have to look into one:D I have heard from friends they do not recommend them, but I really like the idea of them.
I have seen some on ebay also.:detective:

becca022
11-02-2009, 19:38
DS' physio recomended getting him one at 5 months & we loved it.
We recently got one for our 4 month old dd because she's been trying to sit up for a few weeks & even she likes it. Will be used for a while longer I think.
We're also going to get the tray for hers sometime soon.

NibbleCurlynBub
11-02-2009, 19:41
Personally I don't think so. :no:

I have heard numerous complains about the leg-holes being too small for chubbier babies and therefore totally useless in that case.

I'd also worry about putting pressure or forcing immature back muscles to work too hard.. It might not be an issue but personally I would much rather stick with my cheap rocker in the sit-up position, a pillow and allowing them to do it at their own pace.

But the price is a HUGE put-off, at $60 each, its not a cheap buy. :no:

Mrs Potts
11-02-2009, 19:44
But the price is a HUGE put-off, at $60 each, its not a cheap buy. :no:
They're actually $80 ;)

NibbleCurlynBub
11-02-2009, 19:47
They're actually $80 ;)
Maybe the last time I was looking at them they were on special. :o

Ouch.
I wouldn't buy one, my rocker cost me $30 and because it lies down as well gets months of use.

If you want a sit-up device perhaps a chair-top high chair as they can sit on the floor as well and would last much longer. I actually believe they are on special somewhere for only $50. :yes:

rinkeroo
11-02-2009, 19:49
I have heard numerous complains about the leg-holes being too small for chubbier babies and therefore totally useless in that case.

:iagree: This was the case with ds1 - luckily we hadn't bought one ourselves, but we tried putting him in one that belonged to a friend with a baby the same age as ds, and there was no way his legs would've fit in it.

Electric Rodeo
11-02-2009, 19:49
I used one with DS2, a friend lent me one. I liked it cause he could sit up and look around, great for when he first started solids and super easy to wipe clean. As for whether I'd buy one myself, not sure. I liked it but our house is so full up with baby bits and bobs that i don't think we could fit another thing in.:p
Was handy though.

SPC
11-02-2009, 19:56
I have a bebepod - very similar to a bumbo and it's a life saver. I can plonk Esme, 4 months, in it, with the tray that comes with a spinning toy thing and she has a grand old time for 10 minutes. If I park it in front of the washing maching with a load of colourful nappies going round she'll be mesmerised long enough to have a shower. She hated her rocker. I can put her in the bebepod in the garden and she plays with the parsley whilst I hang out the washing, and she sits in it when I eat dinner. She has very chubby thighs, so I'm not sure she'll get into it for long, but it's great at the moment.

Nomsie
11-02-2009, 20:03
Maybe the last time I was looking at them they were on special. :o

Ouch.
I wouldn't buy one, my rocker cost me $30 and because it lies down as well gets months of use.

If you want a sit-up device perhaps a chair-top high chair as they can sit on the floor as well and would last much longer. I actually believe they are on special somewhere for only $50. :yes:
:yes: We have the chair top high chairs.. they are fantastic IMO... so portable, can be taken anywhere... and NCB is right- Big W have them on sale for $50 at the moment.

mini munchkin
11-02-2009, 20:08
I'd also worry about putting pressure or forcing immature back muscles to work too hard.. It might not be an issue

I was recommended bumbo by several physio friends. Obviously, like most things, if you had the bub in it for extended periods I can see there perhaps would be an issue. Totally worth doing the research for anyone considering a purchase, to make sure you're comfortable with it though:yes:

Moops
11-02-2009, 20:35
DS never like the bumbo, he always looked a bit uncomfortable in it. Plus at around 9months he could easily get out of it so there is no way I could use it as a booster seat now!

JabberJaw
11-02-2009, 20:45
I love my bumbo. :valentine: It still goes with us everywhere and bub is 11.5 months old. It is great when we are out, at the beach anywhere.

My DD has chubby legs but the bumbo is soft plasticy stuff and you kinda pull the centre over to fit the legs and she cant fall out.

It had to be the best $80 i ever spent.
I looked on ebay but found with postage, they ended up being more $$ than the shops. I did get a tray from ebay though and now she is older it is great for a portable high chair :D

Worth the money in my opinion and as you see, can be re sold on ebay......

SmileyBJ
12-02-2009, 07:51
I recently got one and DS LOVES it. Spends time everyday sitting up in it. His at the age where he loves to interact with the older kids although his a little late in sitting up so this gives him the chance to.

Picked one up 2nd hand & love it :yes:

PKKXP
12-02-2009, 08:12
I loved my Bumbo. I used it heaps in the beginning when DD was too small for the highchair. I could just sit it on the table and feed her and the whole thing wipes clean. It was also great to take with us when we went out to friend's or the beach. DD is 14 months and still fits in it as she is a skinny minny. A friend whos son was a late sitter and crawler borrowed it heaps too. There are tray tables you can get for them now as well so they can be used as a high chair.

They have great resale value on ebay as well...

Moops
12-02-2009, 08:58
There are tray tables you can get for them now as well so they can be used as a high chair.

Just following on from my earlier post about DS being able to get out of this from an early age, I also bought the tray table and he could easily rip it off. Just something to keep in mind, although DS might just be a little hercules :laughing:

RoarsomeMum
12-02-2009, 09:10
:wave: Moops! lol

Roar's legs were WAY too fat for the Bumbo at 4 months. So was Beyond Useless for us :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

confusd
12-02-2009, 09:21
i have one of the bebepods. DD loved it it came in handly when we were traveling around also.

i actually still have it and DD tries to sit into it still but her legs are just about to chubby now.

Skittles
12-02-2009, 09:42
I borrowed one from a mate for DS. It was the best thing ever!! Honestly. He still uses it from time to time and is now a chubby 17 month old.