View Full Version : MORE questions from a cloth newbie....

faroutbrusselsprout
10-02-2009, 09:47
Tell me about OSFA's
DH is super keen on us getting these purely for the fact that they LAST and there isn't a constant need to keep buying every size?
I have heard mixed things about them though?
Leaking around legs etc
What's been your experience with them and what are some good brands? (Is bumgenius REALLY all it's cracked up to be? 6 nappies for $220?...hmmmm...)

I have some BBH newborn covers and getting some bamboo flats (can they be used as boosters later on?) to have when the baby is tiny, but looking for some direction after the 4/5kg mark...

How do you keep track of ALL the brands?
I'm obsessed with nuturenappies.com.au and want to try EVERYTHING! :laughing:

Is there a post anywhere that has everyone's opinions on what brands they love and use etc?

Anyway!
All comments/opinions MUCH appreciated!

NibbleCurlynBub
10-02-2009, 09:53
Go bamboo prefolds from Booroi!!

My bubby hasn't even arrived yet and they boost a mean night nappy for my DD. I adore them. :yes:

My favourite nappies have been BBH Magic-Alls. The fitteds are good too, but the magic-alls have been my absolute favourite out of everything I have tried.

Nex
10-02-2009, 09:57
I used an OSFM pattern to make my pockets and didn't have any problems with leakage when bub was little.

She's still wearing the same nappies at 11 months, and I anticipate them going on for quite a bit longer as she trims down (she's already down from three leg rolls to two)

I did buy a sized commercial nappy once and was annoyed at how quickly she grew out of it.

Yes, the OSFM look enormous on a little bub, but the ones I had WORKED and that's what was important and they STILL work.

tales
10-02-2009, 10:08
There's lots of brand recommendations buried in a few posts in this forum - maybe do a forum search for some brand names and see what it comes up with..?

mumto3girls
10-02-2009, 14:07
Have been using Issy Bear Nappies for a couple of weeks.

Really good designs and value for money. 6 nappies for $159.00 plus two free extra inserts. They are AIO OSFA pocket nappies (with velcro fastener) and there is no need to buy the inserts separately as Michelle gives you one insert per nappy ordered.

DD3 still does messy poos and I have never had an "accident". She did one at the shops today and it was all contained:laughing:. She is 12 weeks old and they fit really well.

Check out www.issybearnappies.com.au (http://www.issybearnappies.com.au)

kezzaskids
10-02-2009, 14:14
Check out Green kids pocket nappies. I have been using them onDD since she was 2 weeks old and although they are bulky I have never had a leak during the day or over night.

westerner
10-02-2009, 14:55
Im a Greenkids fan here.. :thumbsup:

ETA- just looked at Issy bear, wow they look identical to GK..

manxgirl77
10-02-2009, 20:21
Although I now make my own, I still use my greenkids pockets for night nappies (with a double hemp & bamboo booster and my litle bloke sleeps through with them no worries at all. He has worn them since 2 weeks (3kg) and is now about 20months and around 13.5kg. I bought a few bumgenius pockets and they fit really well, except the leg elastic seems to give out after about 12months of use. My friend had hers replaced under warranty. I replaced mine easily enough. After I bought these I then went for haute pockets as they had snaps rather than velcro fastenings - and I thought they'd stay on longer when ds figured out how to rip the velcro (and it didn't take long!) Although they look a bit big at first, I never had any issues with leaks (on any of the OSFA). So, if you can afford it, I'd recommend any of these. I had purchased 12 baby beehinds bamboo and hemp fitteds and my little bloke didn't seem to like them as they don't draw away the wetness, but heaps of people love them. Good luck!

JabberJaw
10-02-2009, 20:28
$220 does seem like an awful lot but in reality they will last till toilet training and honestly $220 would maybe get you 2 month supply of sposies......just looking at it from that angle, it seems $220 is not so bad after all.

I have a few brands of MCN's but recently got some green kids which i found to be really good, stuff extra in for nights and have had no dramas. (except bub has worked out how to get them off :mad:)

I really like BBH magicals, the new snap ones, i got the minkees and they are great but are a sized nappy. Lou Lou's are good, also sized.

Could you use maybe flats and just get a few different brands, find out what works for you? It seems to me that different bubs suit different brands. I use alot of terry flats now, but my stash is growing daily so i doubt i will bother using them much longer.

ETA, just re read yr post, i use Itti bittis for covers, work well and yes i will use my flats to boost if i need to. I also use peapods as a cover at home or boost them if i am going out.

sweetjean
11-02-2009, 15:54
I'm always on the hunt for a good OSFM nappy. I love my green kids but my boy has discovered the velcro so they're ending up on the floor!!

I never really liked bumgenius very much- although I think it's just me - I prefer "pretty" nappies. The fit is quite good (except very bulky when little)

I recently came across these guys, babybullfrogs.blogspot.com and they are my latest favourites. They are really trim, a great fit and so pretty!! I'm definatley getting some more of them.

katieinwa
12-02-2009, 00:58
the BG wait till they are on special....every now and then they still mark them down as i imagine they are a bit overstocked at the moment ;)

those issybear nappies....first thing i thought woah...identical to the greenkids nappies....and for an extra $5 i would go the GK for the resale