View Full Version : small head circumference

lucyp
04-07-2005, 15:45
Has anyone else had a bub with a head circuference that was below the low range on the chart in their childs blue book??

Our pediatrician ordered xrays and blood tests and all have come back ok with his advice that he would monitor bubs growth and he must just have a "small head". However he has also recommended us to see a pediatric neorolgist to check for microcephaly ....... From what I can read on the internet this is like a form of retardation???? Has anyone come across anything similar or can offer any advice...????

jamb
04-07-2005, 15:55
I dont know much on this but my hubby's sister-in-law was told exactly the same thing about her little girl aged 2yrs. This is a little girl who is full of beans, well spoken, alert and very switched on- so i reckon unless there are developmental problems (which could be related to something else anyway) it is just one of those things where if you dont fit the norm (ie weight, height) then the experts tend to hit panic stations. Trust yourself and do what feels right for you- i think mums intuition is pretty dam good. We all grow at different rates and are different shapes.

lucyp
04-07-2005, 16:04
I think you are probably right -the pediatrician said he was erring on the side of caution and by all other accounts bub is a happy, healthy, meeting milestones, 5 month old boy. I am probably worrying over nothing :)

TwoBlue
04-07-2005, 17:50
My son (15 mths) has a little head and always had. He is 100% A-OK

Milly
04-07-2005, 18:54
Yep. our daughter is in the 10 % for head circumference and 25 % everywhere else. She is bright, healthy and great in reaching her milestones well. Quite normal and fine. She also reflects the build of my husband and I of a fine frame.

Remember that those books are only an average and to get an average of the population you have to have the biggest and smallest of the population. Additionally, they are now regarded as outdated and based on predominently formula fed babies who gain weight differently to breastfed babies and given that babies feeding is much more diverse that it was when the charts were done, the World Health Organisation is issuing new ones due out soon that reflect the current diversity of babies. People have to fit elsewhere on those charts and not on the average line. Additionally, if my husband and I were put on such chart we would not be on the average anyway. People have to sit somewhere so do not be too alarmed. As long as they are following a curve (does not have to be on the average line) of growth then that is all you need to worry about.

As long as they are sure that the skull has not prematurely fused and the fontanelles are still open (depending on your baby's age of course) then that is fine. Additionally, when your child's fontanelles have closed later, the head will still continue to grow.

We went through this dilemma 10 months ago at my daughter's 4 month checkup. I had a dry old Clinic Nurse who put me into a spin. I then went back to my GP who referred me back to my daughter's paediatrician for a double check. It ended up that our daughter was quite fine. In fact well advanced in many of her milestones etc. She, like many people in the population, just has a small head. But then, I know of many people who complain that hats don't fit as their head is small. Quite normal :)

Try not to stress. Those charts (and some medical practioners interpretation of those charts) can put unnessary worry on new parents. Get a double check with the paediatrician as suggested and have a good chat to him. Hopefully all will be well.

Kassiasmum
04-07-2005, 20:29
My daughter has a very small head, in the lower 5% on the charts but then her dad and his mum and brother are all the same. The ped checked her against her dad's measurement and he was also in the lower 5%. She is reaching all her milestones as she should be if not before, is quite bright, very alert and very active, she is also very little, 16months old and weighs about 6.5kg so we are also on the specialist trail with them trying to find why she is so little. I don't believe there is anything wrong with her, but we are still getting all the tests done just to make sure, would hate to not do them and then find out down the track that there was something wrong. I think you just have to trust your motherly instincts, follow what the ped is recommending but keep an open mind and try not to worry too much(I know this is the hardest part).

Tracey

annismum
14-09-2006, 19:12
hi there,
My daughter is going through the same thing. The pedatrition has done x rays, ultrasounds and blood tests. He still didnt know what was wrong so her referred me to Randwick childrens hospital to the neurosergen and also to a genetics team from sydney and he also wants her to go to early intervention. It all seem so much. Her head is suposed to be growing at an average rate of 1.5cm per month and she is only reaching .2 of a cm. have to get everything done is sydney next week so ill let you know how we go.
thanks heaps.:)

catalicious
14-09-2006, 19:16
Hey Anniesmum are you going to see DR Kwok. Over there at Randwick Hospital??

lucyp
16-09-2006, 14:26
Hi Annismum!!

Hope you and your little one are coping ok :)

I started this thread because my little boy's head circumference was tracking below the line in his blue book. ( and still is)

This was some time ago - he is now 19 months old - but I hope I can help you with any questions etc that you might have as I too have been to the neuro , had every test under the sun performed on my little one and also been frequenting the genetics department of Westmead at regular intervals. So I know how you feel!

I was wondering how old you little one is?? Please donot hesitate to PM me should you have any questions - I would love to try and help.

Cheers and try to keep a positive frame of mind. As some of the other posts have meantioned - some kids just have a small head.

Lucy