View Full Version : when to take new baby to the shops?

jennababe
30-05-2006, 17:30
i was just wondering when every one took there new addition out to the shops?? not that im thinking about it just yet.. lol.. walking hurts a bit right now!!! but i do wanna take him in the next few days.. cos everytime i go out and see a baby im like awww so cute.. so im excited to see people do that over my bubby.. but then again im scared to take him out cos hes so young and little.. and my mums on my back about it saying its noisy theres to many people and germs.. and i understand that.. but cant stay in side for ever!.. anyway just wanted to know how everyone else went with this kinda thing?? ta xox

carls
30-05-2006, 17:32
I took James at 2 weeks but he didnt do very well...I took him into the city and to David Jones but I think he found it all a bit too loud and overwhelming, but a couple more trips and he was fine.

30-05-2006, 17:34
I took Ozzy out in the first week!;)

the_queen
30-05-2006, 17:37
With my first bubba I was a bit more wary, but this time around I've had no choice!! No other bugger is going to do the shopping and take Vally to kindy for me! :laughing:
I think Vallerie was 9 days old when I took her for a walk down to the local shops, and about 3 weeks old when I took her out to a big shopping centre. Curtis was 4 days old when I took him to a big shopping centre, after taking Vally to kindy.

Some cultures like bubba's to stay inside with the mumma for the first month or so... I like the idea of that.

Taylors_mum
I took bubs out within the first week.... she loved it.. eyes wide open looking around... and now she loves shopping so much she REFUSES to sleep. I can be out all day and i wont hear beep out of her.

Takes after her mum and LOVES shopping.:laughing:

sshellzp
I took Emerald about a week after she came home. She slept the whole way through. The jiggling of the pram soothes her.

2 Cherubs
30-05-2006, 17:40
The day we left Hospital was my B'day so went home and settled in a bit then we went to the shops for alittle walk around...
As someone else said....Do it when your ready !

Your bubs is very cute...I love seeing new bubs @ shopping I always get clucky

Good Luck

Baby Girl
30-05-2006, 17:40
I took DD1 to the shops on the way home from hospital - 2 days old! I needed a nipple shield so we stopped and got one!!

And DD2 was not even 24 hours when she had her first outing!! The day after she was born (born the night before, home from hosp next morning), we went and did grocery shopping (mainly maternity pads :eek: ) and then picked DD1 up from day care!

30-05-2006, 17:43
MJ was just over a week old when we went out to the shops. She was always a fan of noise when sleeping.

zenifa
30-05-2006, 17:49
We took DD out shopping when she was 2 weeks old (also to apply for her medicare card/maternity payment, post birth registration etc) and we were very surprised and overwhelmed by all the attention we got. My advice is take baby out, once he's woken up from a nap, give a feed, clean nappy and don't plan to be out for too long - as it can be quite noisy and overstimulating for them, and if you don't let strangers/sick people get too close, the germs shouldn't be too much of a problem!! Good luck and enjoy mothermood!!

30-05-2006, 17:52
and if you don't let strangers/sick people get too close, the germs shouldn't be too much of a problem!! Good luck and enjoy mothermood!!

Actually if you are breastfeeding bub should have a good defence against minor germs anyway!

I think also if you are not breastfeeding they too will still have a build up of antibodies from utero! Correct me if I am wrong!

30-05-2006, 17:53
I took Summer in the first week...she did well!

cwsmum
30-05-2006, 17:55
I took both my bubs to the shops when they were 6days old. I had no choice, I had rent and other bills that had to be paid and needed veges so DH didn't starve :rolleyes:
I don't think it's a bad thing to take tiny bubs out. Both my bubs have come shopping with me 1-3 times a week, and have gotten used to the noise. I have never had any problems with them not wanting to sleep in the pram, or getting distracted when feeding.

Don't worry about the germs either, if bub is in a pram there's not much chance of them getting sick. If you are putting bub in a trolley then make sure it is really well covered.

Just take bub out when you are ready :thumbsup: I had bad tears with both bubs, and lots of stitches, and I think getting out and moving around actually helped them to feel better. You start to feel normal again once you can start getting out of the house again too :)

ozzysmum
30-05-2006, 18:03
i took ozzy out at 3days and he was totally fine - it was great for me coz everyone pays good attention to you when they're that tiny and it's so nice to hear all the 'isn't he precious' 'wow what a gorgeous baby' comments! go when you're ready and not a minute before :D and congratulations on such a little cutie!

SassyMummy
30-05-2006, 18:39
I took DD out hte first day I left the hospital - when she was 5 days old. Mind you, that was to the local supermarket for milk...and I just sat on a bench the whole time because I had underestimated the pain of my c-section scar. (A woman with a walking frame over took me! FOR REAL!).

I then went out again when DD was 10 days old. We did a FULL DAY of shopping. I hadn't known her sex before the birth, so I wanted to load up on girly things. I managed the ENTIRE day...but DD wasn't disturbed by noises. Never has been. She slept most of the day.

RuthK
30-05-2006, 19:29
With my first we went to the supermarket on the way home, put him in the pram and he cried the whole time, but the next week he was much more settled when we put him in the Baby Bjorn carrier.

With my 3rd he was in Santa's arms getting his photo taken at the shopping centre on Day 4. He was great, probably because he was in the Baby Bjorn and felt quite snug.

Mahjong
30-05-2006, 19:32
I took Wyatt when he was roughly 1 week old. Mum and DH came with me though. I was still feeling very overwelmed by things and though everyone was staring at me LOL!

I know of people taking Bub's to the shops the day they leave hospital, I guess it's whenever you feel comfortable doing it.

Good luck! :thumbsup:

LittleBoysRock
30-05-2006, 19:32
DS was roughly a week old on his first trip to the shops!! Him and DH were attracting all the ladies while I was in the change rooms!!

FourAngelKisses
30-05-2006, 19:41
My first two went out for the first time at 6 days (day I left hospital) as we had to do grocery shopping. I think Matthew was about 10 days old though......it was about 2 degrees for a week after I left hospital so I didn't bother doing the shopping.

munchkin05
30-05-2006, 20:12
we went shopping on the way home from hospital

we wanted to buy this blanket we seem before i had him but didnt know what colour to buy pink or blue (we didnt know the sex of ben till he was born)

so we went around the shops and people stopped to look at ben and they were amazed that i was up and out shopping already

but once you feel good and want to get out go for it

InSaneOne
30-05-2006, 20:22
we took beth to the shops when she was 3 days old and she then went and sociallised at our girls youth meeting the very next day.

the poor thing has so many aunties and big sisters now. everytime we go out with the youth group i never see her as she is constantly passed from one person to the next. the girls even line up to hold her. my mum went with us ine day and when she went to hold bubs she was told no you can't your after ... and ... and .... when she came pouting to me i couldn't help but laugh.

(p.s. i have thought about selling raffle tickets for the next hold. she would have had all of her university paid for before she is 2)

Melo
30-05-2006, 20:41
We took DS to the shop when he was 3 days old, we needed to stock up on some baby items before we made the big 6 hour drive home! :)

Good luck, and your little boy is so cute! :D

misskittyfantastico
30-05-2006, 20:55
We took DD out when she was about 5 days old. If you want to go and show your bub off then go for it!

Mylittleboy
31-05-2006, 01:21
I took my Ds when he was 5 days old, I think it's great to get yourself out of the house, take bubs, have a walk, a chat with anybody who will (and they will).
It will help your recovery, just getting out of the house will help you not be so sore, things have changed from when our mums had us, shopping centres are MADE for babies, lol

ETsMum
31-05-2006, 10:38
I don't think I went further than the clothes line or letter box for 3 weeks. So it would have been after that.

joe
31-05-2006, 12:52
Our first trip to the shops was when DS was 6 days old but I had Mum with me. I got lots of compliments on my bub from clucky sales assistants which was nice.:D

Jenko
31-05-2006, 12:59
Congratulations Jenna on your new bundle of joy! (Nice name by the way my DD is Jenna)
We took DD to a birthday party in the park when she was 3 days old and went to the shops when she was 4 days old.

Will
31-05-2006, 15:48
i dont remember how old ds was, but i took himout when i was ready to go out. We just went down to the local shop firstly lol

Rell
31-05-2006, 15:59
I took both my kids out the day we got home from hospital wich was 5 days (dd) and 2 days (ds).
It is such a great feeling showing your little one off to the world.

janellejori
31-05-2006, 16:09
we went out two days kater and did our christmas shopping. Cause Hannah was late we thought we'd have plenty of time to do it but i kept putting it off then i had no choice!!!

jennababe
01-06-2006, 00:00
took everyones advice...

took bub out today.. 6 days old.. made sure i wasnt out for to long.. he was changed and fed.. was asleep when i put him in the car.. asleep when we were in the shops asleep when we got home lol... went well!! loved everyone getting clucky over him hehe.. we didnt take the pram cos i havent worked out how to fold it down yet:thumbsdown: anyway put him in those trolleys with the baby bit on top.. (with blanket down ofcourse, cos trolleys have germs!) anyway i think he loved it cos the trolley was making it rock.. was pretty much in and out of shops.. got what i needed to get.. but im pretty happy with first outing!! :smiliedance:

Blessed Mum
01-06-2006, 07:20
Charlotte was out shopping with her Daddy & I at 4 days old. Just to get some 0000 suits coz she was so tiny:)(how time flies) oh & forgot to mention we are shopaholics:o(charlotte & I that is, DH isn't too keen) . Like some of the others have said just a short trip is probably better for the first few times.:)

MummyoftheMuffins
01-06-2006, 22:40
I hate to sound like a bad mum but i went home from the hospital and had a shower then went straight to the shops! lol I was funny hobbling around after a caesar but it was good to go out and walk around (VERY SLOWLY)... after being in hospital for nearly a week...

~Emmylou~
02-06-2006, 10:30
Emily first went shopping at 4 days old.
My mum insisted on carrying her around, according to her she was too little to be in the pram LOL.
So every second person stopped us to coo over her and have a look...it was nice though and of course my mum just lapped it all up :laughing:

sharvs
02-06-2006, 10:39
We took Kayden out the day I came home from hospital - 4 days old. DF had left no food in the house at all. He told me to make a list & he would go but I knew he would only come back with chips & coke! :D It was just before Christmas, the shops were so busy & I was really sore but we got through it. DS was fine, he just slept & had every Tom **** & Harry gawking at him!

Nan
02-06-2006, 23:17
Congratulations Jenna! You have a gorgeous little man, there. I hope your birth went well. Do post your story when you can. I'd love to read it.
Well done to get out of the house so soon.
It was about 3 weeks for myself & DD. We went to Marion. I would have loved to go sooner, but I was getting over mastitis! Ouch!
Love,
Nan. xx

k15s
07-06-2006, 16:41
DS #1 went on day 2 'cause I needed a wondersuit. My mum siad buy everything in 00 and he was normal weight and needed a 0000 - heeelloooooo!!
DS #2 went through Red Rooster drive thru on his way home from hospital at 4 hours old! Start 'em young I say! :p

SMBT
07-06-2006, 16:47
DS was approx 6 weeks before I ventured to the shops, but DD was three days old (had to drop in Medicare forms)

jennababe
07-06-2006, 16:47
DS #1 went on day 2 'cause I needed a wondersuit. My mum siad buy everything in 00 and he was normal weight and needed a 0000 - heeelloooooo!!
DS #2 went through Red Rooster drive thru on his way home from hospital at 4 hours old! Start 'em young I say! :p

4 hours old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wow you were keen to get home!!.. didnt know they let you out that quick?.. i asked to go home 2nd day.. and they made me stay a 3rd night!!!!:(

FourAngelKisses
07-06-2006, 16:52
I think they make you stay a bit longer for your first one.

k15s
07-06-2006, 16:58
4 hours old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wow you were keen to get home!!.. didnt know they let you out that quick?.. i asked to go home 2nd day.. and they made me stay a 3rd night!!!!:(

Yep. Headed in at 7am, bubs born at 7.50am and home for lunch with DS #1. Got Red Rooster 'cause we thought we should feed our sitter! Had lunch then DH headed in to work! Life doesn't stop too much around here. Poor child, can tell he's no2! :yes:

12-06-2006, 19:15
I took Hayley when she was just 4 days old, took ages to get a loaf of bread having a tiny newborn. :)

jessgray
16-06-2006, 17:08
the first trip to the shops for cody was about 4 or 5 weeks old i think ti may have been earlier but i am not sure..lol preggy brain lol
we did have people not visiting us coz they all had the flu or colds and didnt want cody to get it :)

KiLLaKaZ
26-06-2006, 15:22
Qila was a week old when i first took her out. she slept nearly the whole time (except when she wanted feeds). i had her hidden away in a sling, so not too many ppl got to see her & it meant NO ONE except me could touch her ;)

i had to catch the bus to & from the shops & had an old lady having a go at me for taking the baby on the bus! but what was i supposed to do - leave her at home ALONE while i got the groceries? or, maybe just starve??? :(

26-06-2006, 16:04
4 days old :)

HugsAndKisses
26-06-2006, 16:23
i was out with my little one a 4 days old also...i was just sooooooooo excited to show him:hugs: off it was the best :yes:

26-06-2006, 16:43
I do DS out when he was 4 days old just to pick up a few things we had a capsule so I just carried that in and out of the car was a breeze didn't wake up. No probs

Poopa
26-06-2006, 16:51
I took my little bubba out shopping when he was 6 days old. He was fine. He loves getting out of the house :).

Pixie
26-06-2006, 16:54
Well I was still in Hospy but needed a walk + a trip lol Eliza was 2 days old DP and I went to coles bought some food for my fridge in my room :D

~Danni~
27-06-2006, 20:51
:rolleyes: we left the hospital and whent straight to the shops before even going home:D DD was out and about from three days old

tyler's mum
27-06-2006, 20:55
:rolleyes: we left the hospital and whent straight to the shops before even going home:D DD was out and about from three days old

i was the same, it took ages but not because of tyler it was me i could hardly walk:(

evesmum
03-07-2006, 12:43
I like the idea that Queen noted that some cultures keep mum and bub at home for first month or so.

bub was about 6/7wks before we went to the shops as we mostly just snuggled in bed and bonded before that.

whatever you feel comfortable with
(we were also a little paranoid about bub catching something too but their immune system is usually pretty strong, especially if your breastfeeding)

Elijahsmama
03-07-2006, 16:06
I took DS out to a cafe for lunch with my parents when he was 4 days old. I was extremely tired and hobbling around because of my ceaser but it was nice to get out of the house and have people come up and coo over my baby boy - now im the one who coos at others new bubs! Like others have said, its completely up to the individual and what your comfortable with.

Bubble*Crazy
03-07-2006, 16:22
We took DD to the shop on the way home from hospy @ 4 days old as of course, DP wasn't capable of going on his own!!!

With DS, DP wasn't able to take time off in the first week, so I took him out on my own (to once again do the groceries) when he was 4 days old. We unfortunately don't have the luxury of supermarkets staying open after 6pm (when DP usually gets home), so I had no choice.

I do try to go to the shops whilst DD is at school as I don't like having to shop for groceries with DS and keep an eye on DD all at the same time! Besides, I don't have to buy all the junk if she's not there ... :rolleyes:

KiLLaKaZ
03-07-2006, 17:16
i forgot - i took bubs into woolies (where i worked b4 i had her) when she was just 3 days old, on the way home from hospital. it was night time, but she was VERY warmly wrapped up, so she was ok.i've actually been trying to get out of the house as often as possible over the last few days & am trying to keep at it - so q. can get some fresh air & sunshine & build up resilience to things ;)

T Bear
03-07-2006, 17:32
When my younger sister was born (homebirth) my mum was asleep and my dad took her to the shops (approx 6 hours old). When mum woke up and found out she was FURIOUS.