View Full Version : Colds/Flu

Emmal
04-07-2005, 12:20 PM
I have had a cold/flu on and off for 2 months now and I'm 29 weeks pregnant. Just when I think its gone its back again. I've been to the chemist and got Dura-tuss for the cough and throat lozenges for the throat but now its back in the head. I started to worry about my bub but the mid-wife said bub is blooming and is okay (bub's taking all the good stuff and leaving me the leftovers!). Does anyone have any suggestions for relieving headcolds. Apparently I'm one of the lucky ones this winter in tassie, I've heard various reports that a lot of pregnant women have been hospitalised because they can't shake it.

TwoBlue
04-07-2005, 05:48 PM
I suffered so badly when preggas with my son and also when breastfeeding ...
It SUCKS because there is so little you can do!!!

If you are stuffed up i suggest breathing in boiled water with vicks or bear eukyrub.... just one teaspoon in the boiling water in a bowl and breath it in with a towel over your head....

Very primative but effective.....

I really hope you start feeling better soon

Miaow
06-07-2005, 08:06 AM
My BF was sick all weekend with the Flu and now lucky me has got it:(

This cough is so bad - dont think the baby really appreciates getting jolted around like this:(

Panadol is helping the headache and muscle pains - but butter mentols (which i think are ok???) dont really do much for the throat at pres..

nkenward
06-07-2005, 04:47 PM

At this stage I am lucky and haven't come down with the dreaded bronchitis that I ususally get every year (knock wood!!!) Anyway, one year I actually went to a good chemist and they said that usually we are to have at least 250mg of Vit C a day, but when you have a cold you should have about 3000mg Vit C - so just having the orange vit C tablet a day isn't enough.

I took this advice - spent a bit more on Vit C (the higher dosages are a bit more expensive), drank Orange juice all day - and took Garlic tablets at nighttime. The symptons lasted a day. But you have to keep it up for a few days to get rid of it completely. Having lots of garlic also helps too.

To help with your head cold I would recommend buying a vaporiser (it will be well worth it for many years to come), this can be used during the night along with an inhalant that you get from the chemist and will make you breath easier for a great nights sleep, which will also be benefical.

Good Luck.

BJelly
06-07-2005, 05:16 PM
I can second the suggestion to have garlic. When I feel a cold coming on, I get a clove of garlic and a chilli - chop them up, and swallow with icecream - I'm not a fan of garlic or chilli. This can really stop a cold in it's tracks.

I can't remember the last time I got a cold, and I used to get them all the time.

nkenward
08-07-2005, 04:28 PM
Hi BJelly,

I forgot about the chilli (spicy food), I too think that eating something spicy allows the sinuses to unblock and you usually fell lots better afterwards.

Good stuff!!

Emmal
29-07-2005, 10:08 PM
Thanks everyone. I like the chilli and garlic one. I eventually got myself to the doctor and I actually had a bad case of sinus infection which can't actually be caught but develops from when you catch a cold (if that makes sense). Anyway I was put on a 7 day course of antibiotics (Category A - been tried for 40 years with no effect on babies - otherwise I wouldn't dream of taking them). And it cleared up straight away. So virtually for the first time since I've been pregnant again I was healthy (7 mths). But as life has it, my daughter came home from daycare yesterday with the sniffles and guess who she has given it too. So I'm going to hit that chilli and garlic recipe I think. Unfortunately I can't do the Vit C thing, I get ulcers. Geez I sound like a hypochondriac. I used to be a healthy person before children. :rolleyes:

nkenward
02-08-2005, 03:35 PM
With the Vit C thing and ulcers - is that mouth ulcers?

If so, I have been a long time suffer of the same thing. But I would get them with just about everything. Except I don't anymore - discovered Honey. Yep it works a treat. If you have a teaspoon of honey on some ceral or toast everyday - they just don't come out.

lucyp
02-08-2005, 07:18 PM
I too was really crook with the flu whilst pregnant. Unfortunatley it does take a little while longer to get over things when you are pregnant. The things that worked for me were also the panadol - but honey,lemon and hotwater drinks and the real clincher was salt water gargle. it kills all the germs in your throat - where they apparently orignate for colds. Also Fess spray for blocked nose is safe.

Hope you feel better soon :)