View Full Version : No idea what to do and not to do!
readytogo
29-01-2009, 02:11
Ok so after many months of debating I have decided to try cloth nappies once all the disposables run out. Although I have no idea where to start or what to get. I hear so many types mentioned and liners etc that its very confusing for an oblivious person like me!:rolleyes:
Bub will most likely be around the 5-6kg mark once we run out of what we have so what do I do and where do I go to get them and how many do I need....see I really have no idea!:laughing:
TIA
Oh I do have a nappy bucket so I guess thats one thing I dont need:D
You can buy cloth nappies in Woolworths, in the baby section.. I noticed them because I need some and will have to get my act together!
You can also buy liners and fasteners, either pins or a snappy, there as well....
It's your one stop shop!
SilverStarfish
29-01-2009, 08:53
That's true... but there is SO SO SO SO much more about there in the cloth nappy world than the few things they sell at Woolies.
Seriously! :yes:
Google Modern Cloth Nappies
gonnabeaGR8mum
29-01-2009, 09:04
hi RTG- good on you for giving cloth nappies a go!!! as Faeml said there is a lot of options out there in the MCN (modern cloth nappy) world.
the general advice seems to be to get a couple of trial packs of different brands- different ones apparently fit different babies- a matter of trial and error??
or you could go with prefolds and covers (no longer the icky plastic ones that sweat, there are so many other options)
when i first started looking i read the sticky's at the top of this section to learn what the different types of MCNs were, decided i wanted pockets and went from there.
someone recommended looking at Darlings downunder so i checked them out and then just started googling!
i ended up getting mine from China, they look really good quality came with heaps of inserts and come in all sorts of colours, and they were only $11 each so bargain!! (of course they may be absolute cr4p! will let you know when i've used them on a real baby :D)
have fun, try not to get too adicted, you can spend as much or as little as you want
SpottySocks
29-01-2009, 09:06
I don't have much time right now - but i can recommend you look up the Itti Bitti web site and get a trial pack from them - it gives you 2 of there nappies and for total novices it really helps to understand what they are talking about once you are holding them. I'd get them in medium for your size bub.
Goodluck!
flutiemum
29-01-2009, 09:29
I would recommend looking at www.ozclothnappies.org/info.html (http://www.ozclothnappies.org/info.html)
I found out so much useful info there, but until I'd used some different nappies I didn't have much clue about it all. We've had lots of problems with poo leakage because the nappies we initially had were loose around bubs legs. So I'd say try some different ones
kezzaskids
29-01-2009, 12:10
I have way too many already but you could have 12 nappies minimum or 30 - 40 nappies. I reccomend washing every 2 days no matter how many you have, in this heat im washing every day! I use planet arc sensitive washing powder, dont use a powder that has whitners or softeners in them. All the nappy websites have cleaning instructions but so does the info at the top of this section!
My favourite nappies are Greenkids with bamboo inserts, itti delish sewn in, baby beehind magicalls and bumgenius all in ones (these are now difficult to come by. Imnot sure if they are making them anymore?) Greenkids are one size, I would get a medium in ittis and magicalls but the magicalls are a big fit and dont fit my DD properly yet.
Hope that helps :)
KatieLou
29-01-2009, 12:53
You remind me of myself 5 months ago! :p There is heaps of info in the stickies at the top of this forum though, hopefully they help.
Great decision to change to cloth - you will have room in your rubbish bin again! :D
I agree with what every one else says. If you google an online shop called Nurture Nappies, it stocks lots of different brands and will show you what types of nappies are available without having to go to heaps of different web sites. They also have a trial pack but it just depends what type of nappy you are thinking of. We (DH & I) prefer AIO's (all in ones) or AI2's (all in two's) which dry faster. These are the ones most like a disposable but also are the most expensive. I bought trial packs with fitteds and covers but after using each of them about twice we decided to stick to the aio's. You can sell anything you don't like on the secondhand market (google buy for baby) or you could even buy some 2nd hand if you are comfortable with that to try different brands for less $$. There is more demand and better resale for the popular brands though. If you wanted to try aio's/ai2's I would recommend trying these brands - Itti Bitti, Bumgenius, Baby Beehinds Magic Alls & Green Kids for a start.
Give them all a good try and decide what you like. Don't be like a friend of mine who tried 1 once and then bought 13 more, just to work out that these nappies didn't hold her DS's poo!
If your bub is solely breastfed then you can just chuck the soiled nappies straight in the washing machine with an extra rinse, if not then you will have to dispose of the poo before washing. That is what many people use liners for, it makes it easier to shake the poo off (or flush if you get flushable liners). Liners are also good if you want to put cream on your bubs butt, as some creams ruin the nappies.
I found that about 18 - 20 nappies is a good number for us, that's washing every 2nd day in Melb where it can take a day to dry (not today though!)
Let us know if you have any more questions, or pm me if you like. I went through all this not long ago. There's a whole world of mcn's out there, and most of it is on the internet. I love internet shopping :yes:
Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy!