View Full Version : what brand?

luckie_me
30-05-2006, 12:22
Hi i just want to know what the best brands are to buy for baby? Nappies Lotions etc. What have u found better for ur baby? Its a little confusing for me, are the more costly bands better or cheaper ones just as good?

Megan

Jem
30-05-2006, 12:27
I buy whats on special... not always the top brands... some cheaper brands i find are alot better then the expenive ones...

experement a bit, try different things.. find out what works best for you :)

luckie_me
30-05-2006, 12:32
Yeh i have brought huggies nappies but i can see that it would work out to be really expensive in the end! I was at bilo just b4 lookin at things wondering what babylove might be like and ?comforts? (i think is the name) i have been told that snugglers are not that good... i really have no idea! Yes i think i will be doing a little experimenting with all this!

Ange&Seth
30-05-2006, 12:32
Hi Megan :wave:

I've found Mamia brand nappies and wipes to be the cheapest and best for DS. They are from Aldi supermarkets and are only $17.00 for approx 60 newborn nappies and the wipes are only about $2 or $3 a packet. We use Heinz Nurture formula, which from K-mart or Big W is only $11, as opposed to S-26 which is over $20 a tin.

I make DS food, though occasionally if I've been slack, I'll buy a few jars of food for him. Generally when they're on special, same with yoghurt which I've just bought for him.

We use J&J products in his bath, but I've heard alot of ppl only use water to bath their bubs. We also just use the J&J baby powder.

Hope this helps - oh and we found the best thing we did was to stock up on Nappies and wipes while I was still pregnant. Just buy what you can when you can. It'll definitely get used!

Ange&Seth
30-05-2006, 12:35
Babylove are just as good too - we don't have an Aldi supermarket here in our town, so when I run out of Mamia, I use babylove. IGA supermarkets sometimes have them on special for $6 a packet.

luckie_me
30-05-2006, 12:40
hey Ange thanks for ur help!
I just get so confused with everything! I dont know what i really have to buy! My SIL her youngest is 3 and she told me she wounldnt buy anything but huggies! So she wants me to do the same.. I want good quality but i dont want to pay the earth for it! I will go down to Aldi and check out the mamia naps and wipes thanks for the suggestion will see how they go... oh this is all fun lol!!

cjb/jbvd
30-05-2006, 12:41
go the woolies 'select' nappies!!!
really really great nappies for an awesome price.

as for nappy cream, it's whatever works best for your bub. i found the gaia nappy cream works the best for mine (very expensive as nappy cream goes, but i tried about 11 kinds befoe deciding on that one). it's entirely up to what baby's skin will accept. and you'll probably have to alternate between a couple anyway, as they sometimes develop a reaction or build up a tolerance to one kind after a while.

bath wash, gotta reccommend the johnsons baby bedtime bath. smells great, not drying, and you only need a little bit. you can use it as shampoo too.

luckie_me
i suppose the midwives will help me out aswell!

sugar n spice
i do find huggies nappies to be the best but i have to say that i have just tried woolworths select nappies where you get more for the same price as huggies and ive found them to be pretty good so i will be buying them again, they absorb just as good as huggies. baby wipes i use curash with my first but i find j&j is on special more so i usually buy them and i always buy the three pack works out cheaper. I dont like huggies wipes, i find them dearer and thick yes but not as moist. Palmers cocoa butter nappy paste i have found the best or michaels nappy paste. I use s - 26 formula.

Nappies i used snugglers with my first when he got older and found them soooo good but then i went to use them on my youngest when he came along and i think they had changed them so i no longer reccomend them. When i was pregnant with my first everyone gave me cosifits and babylove nappies and i really thought those nappies were ****. plus i wont use nappies that dont have a proper grip tab those plastic tabs just dont stick down properly.

Hope this helps

giggles
30-05-2006, 12:54
This is what we use and love

Nappies - Huggies
Cream - Amolin
Wipes - HUggies Unscented
Moisturiser - Sorbolene Cream
Wash - QV Wash

My DD has sensitive skin and the she has no reaction with the above.

I found J&J really bad for her skin and havent bothered to try any of the other brands now we have found things that work.

uptheduff
30-05-2006, 13:04
I use either huggies, babylove, woolworths, or coles nappies. The woolworths brand is great, but my oldest usually takes the larges size of any nappy...and personally, i find the largest woolworths nappy to be a bit tight for him. They're fine for DS2 though! I always have to buy 2 different brands otherwize i get confused as to which nappy goes on which baby lol.

I use Huggies wipes....only started when they got the great new pop up tubs! efore that, they were too hard to get out!

I use huggies baby wash stuff....johnsons is also good....well, all the ones i've used have been ok so far lol. I wash their hair with this easy rinsing stuff...i think it's johnson's...it comes in a yellow bottle with a pump on it. It comes out as a foam, and washes out really easily!

I like Sudocrem for nappy rash coz i find it easier to use in the tub rather than a tube.

Blessed Mum
30-05-2006, 13:12
We are Huggies all the way here. I have tried others but am happy with huggies. Love the new pop-up lid on the wipes too (makes life a little easier) now she is getting bigger & doesn't like the idea of changing nappies:rolleyes: .

~Emmylou~
30-05-2006, 13:25
Nappies - ALDI Mamia or Cosifits
Wipes - Aldi or Woolworths Homebrand
Bathwash - Curash
Shampoo - Amolin

I started off as "Huggies nappies and wipes only" but eventually I started trying other things and finding they did the job for much, much less. I couldn't justify the outlay for huggies anymore and we're happy with the other brands. Especially when I will have two in nappies soon!

ETsMum
31-05-2006, 10:51
This is what we use:

Nappies - Huggies at night. During the day Baby Love as they are often on special and I stock up. I'll also buy Woolworth Select.
Cream - Bepanthen (sp)
Wipes - Coles (I think these are pretty good) or Amolin (often on special at chemists)
Wash - Johnsons Bedtime Bath (purple one)

31-05-2006, 10:57
some things you can't skimp on
eg. huggies seem to be the best
don't waste too much money on Johnsons stuff
We only use the bedtime bath which smells nice too
there are some good wipes available
the worst chain together which is annoying when you have only
one hand free and a dirty crying bub
we use amolin wipes which we get cheaply
and they best for sensitive skin

OceBel
31-05-2006, 11:01
i buy curash nappy cream, its the best cream ever, and its around $6- $7 in the chemists. and home brand nappy wipes are great aswell.

Taylors_mum
31-05-2006, 11:07
Nappies - Huggies

Cream - Sudocream

Wipes - Huggies, the Woolies brand is also good.

Wash - Johnsons Bedtime Bath (smells great) I also use Amolin Liquid Talc after each bath. I love it... makes her skin so soft, she has sensitive skin but has had no reaction to this, and you only need the smallest amount (put it this way i have only used one bottle since she was born and she is 7mths old. Its a 200ml bottle)

Agree with Blessed Mum the new Huggies pop-up lid wipes are great. Even if you arent going to use Huggies wipes i recommend you buy just one tub with the pop-up lid and then you can put the other brand in there. I noticed that the other brands dont come in a plastic tub so if you dont close the packet properly they dry out pretty quick.

I started DD out on the S26 Gold formular but when she was 6 months we changed to Heinz. Its just as good and HEAPS cheaper. They also have a "Gold" formular.

aprilbaby
31-05-2006, 12:18
I was told only to use huggies as the others don't absorb as well but i was given some baby love nappies and they are fine. I think the absorbtion is more important when they're bigger, but with a newborn you change their nappies so often (trust me!) that it's not really an issue.

Having said that, my DS has just moved up to infant size (so sad he's not a newborn anymore!) and I'm finding the baby love are leaking out the side on a big nappy so might go back to huggies.

So you can probably save money while bubs is in newborns but then go to huggies from then on.

Also agree the new huggies wipes pop up top is the best.

For baths I use Alphi Keri oil. It lasts for ages and is good for dry skin. I find J&J smells too strong and I like the way DS smells naturally!

Like the others said, it's trial and error to see what you like best. Good luck with your new baby. xx

meiko
01-06-2006, 10:55
We use JJ milk bath and find that there is no need to put crams on DS.

Nappies we have used Huggies but I am trying others to see if I like them so far I like baby love price difference Hugggies 40cents each and Baby love 25cents. DOnt get me wrong huggies are great but baby love seem to be softer.

Baby wipes huggies are good now with the pop top easier to use, I also like JJ they seem to be moist and easier to get dry poo off.:eek:

I would recommend that you start with your junk mail and a calculator and work out the price per nappy, you may be surprised. eg.

Woolworths select ($ in current cataloge) all $19.95 a box
46 toddler $0.43 each
42 junior $0.475 each
52 crawler $0.38 each
62 newborn $0.32
54 infant $0.369

I am sure that you can do the rest. Good luck

01-06-2006, 12:51
Nappies for DD I use modern cloth and for DS I was using Snugglers 116 Large nappies at $35 a box is 30.1cents per nappy for a newborn its 144 nappies works out to be 24.3cents per nappy (these megabulk blocks are only available at Big W as far as i know)

Wipes I use cloth wipes at home or huggies when I'm out - cheap disposable wipes give DD a really bad rash!

Baby bath i use j&j

I use curash nappyrash powder for nappy rash or just a homebrand one for every other nappy change

joe
01-06-2006, 13:08
I only use disposies when we go out somewhere and was buying huggies but were way too expensive considering how often I was changing them. I have started to buy babylove and Woolies homebrand nappies and haven't had any dramas with them. I use J&J top-to-toe bath (was what they used at the hospital), J&J nappy cream and coles wipes.
Good luck with your shopping!:)

Milis
01-06-2006, 17:36
I use Huggies nappies (tried babylove but found they leaked), and the best wipes I have found are the pigeon ones which are often on special at our local chemist.

For baby bath we tried Johnsons but found it really drying so we use the gaia one which works fine. I bought loads of baby shampoo when I was pregnant but so far haven't used any (DS is only just starting to get hair now).

DS has infant acne so I use sorbolene cream which was really cheap from IGA.

I've found that a lot of places like Big W and Toys R us regularly have specials on big boxes of nappies and bulk baby wipes so I usually stock up whenever I can.

Have fun shopping!

SassyMummy
02-06-2006, 01:57
For nappies, I use the Woolworths Select Brand.

Someone suggested that they may be more expensive than Huggies...but I don't think so. Not in my experience anyway. For a bulk pack (not box) of Huggies nappies it's roughly $20. For a box of Woolies nappies I get 10 extra nappies for the same amount of money. (In Toddler size though...smaller and larger sizes will be different). Depending on how often you need to change bubs nappies, 10 nappies could give you a couple of days extra (or at least 1 if your bub has the runs! lol).

I also find that the Woolies nappies have extra high backs...they're not as "low-cut" as the Huggies. Think of them like Jeans. Huggies are hipsters which risk showing bum-crack if the nappy is full...Woolies are like waist-jeans...maybe not as "cool" but at least there's no crack on display!

I DO NOT recommend Snugglers - I figured I'd buy a pack and get more nappies for my money...but it ended up costing more as I had to change them more often. They also FEEL a lot thinner than Huggies or Woolies. Most of them leaked on poor DD (and we were on holiday so it sucked!).

Also didn't like BabyLove as I found them to be very "plastic-y"...in Summer I tried them, and as I removed them from DD, it made a "peeling-off" noise. Quite gross.

Haven't tried any other brands.

DD has Karicare Gold formula. Was recommended by a pharmacist friend, and was the brand used in my hospital.

I use the pump-packs of Huggies bath wash. DD isn't sensitive and i like the smells of the huggies stuff...so I use that. It's a body and hair wash...so I don't have to mess around with different bottles. (Otherwise I used J&Js stuff).

Use Huggies wipes. I find I get less poo on my fingers because they're thicker. Also love the tub (even before it was pop-up).

Use Bepanthen nappy-wrash cream (it's packaging looks like it should be a "perscription" cream). Tried the Herron brand (given to me) and it actually made DD get worse nappy rash.

Use Bonjela teething gel. It's been around for ages...no wonder why!

Use Pidgeon Peristaltic Teat Wide-Necked Bottles. Find them to work best for DD, and are good when mixing breast and bottle.

I DID use NUK dummies because they have cute colours and the teat-shape was good for DD...they've been found to be unsafe though. I think the NAM dummies are pretty good if you want a nice-looking dummy...reasonably expensive though. DD also liked the HEINZ dummies. She didn't like Tommee Tippee or anything cherry-shaped as a newborn...now at 10 months I can get her ANY dummy and she's happy.

Hope all this helps!

Oh - Breast pads...LOVE the pidgeon ones...but there's also a brand that LOOKS like the pidgeon ones but are like, half the price. They're AWESOME too. (Forget the name...sorry!)

almond eyes
02-06-2006, 13:35
Hi there :wave:

My samuel also has very sensitive skin and as a newborn would get atopic dermatitis. These are the products that work for him (after trying several brands)

nappies- Huggies or Baby Love
nappy cream- Avent bottom balm (but I think they've repackaged this to Magic Soothing Cream) and Innoxa Nappy Cream
Shampoo/Body Wash- Avent Moisturising Body Wash (could also be used for hair) or Innoxa Shampoo and Innoxa Baby Wash
Formula- Nan 2 HA (Hypoallergenic)
Lotion-Physiogel Cream
Wipes- J&J Unscented, Curash Unscented, and Huggies Sensitive

Hope you find the products that suit your baby best. Good luck! :thumbsup: